什么是下降航运?

Dropshipping / Drop送货降运是什么意思?

零售商不会对此发货产品进行盘点的策略,将送货地址传递给分销商或制造商,以便直接运送给客户。 降价运输减少了零售商的工作量,使产品能够更快地交付给客户。

在线订购产品时,您可能经常会找到让产品掉线的选项。 这项服务将产生费用,但是当您直接从制造商处购买产品而不必通过分销商时,您将以更快的速度收到货物。 零售商还将向制造商支付下降运输服务的费用。

如果您是商家,有很多充分的理由可以考虑降低运费,但也存在一些缺点。 我们将仔细研究下面的优点和缺点。

降低运输利益

最低资本要求 - 导致商家选择降运的最大优势之一是资本要求极低。 随着运输量下降,您几乎可以开始在线业务,因为没有必要购买价值数千美元的库存。 您只需接受客户订单并指示您的下落船公司在哪里装运货物。

快速简便的启动 - 电子商务业务已经非常容易上手,但如果您不需要库存任何库存,或者担心包装和运输订单,它们就更容易了。 降低运输消除了存储库存的成本,包装和运输的麻烦,为会计和税务原因跟踪库存的需要,担心如何处理退货和进货以及管理库存水平。

极低的开销 - 由于您没有库存,您可以从家庭办公室运行直销业务。 您可能每月支付少于$ 100来运营您的业务,唯一的实际费用是您的互联网连接和笔记本电脑的初始成本。

位置独立 - 您可以在任何有互联网连接的地方运行快递运输业务。 只要您能够与供应商和客户沟通,您就可以开展业务。

产品选择 - 因为您不必担心库存成本,所以您可以为客户提供更广泛的产品选择。 只要下落托运人列出待售商品,您也可以在您的网站上列出待售,无需自付费用。

易于扩展 - 使用传统的商业模式,如果您收到两倍的订单,您还需要做两倍的工作。 随着下降运输模式,订单增加不会转化为增加的工作,只是增加了利润。 即将与其他电子商务业务类型相比,下降运输供应商将承担大部分额外工作的冲击,使得降低运输业务变得非常容易。

这些优势可以使降价运输听起来像理想的电子商务解决方案,但并不是关于运输的一切都是理想的。 也有缺点,我们需要看看这些。

降低运输缺点

低利润率 - 降低运输的最大劣势是由于在极具竞争力的市场中运营所带来的非常薄的利润空间。 它易于上手的事实意味着许多商家将建立一个在线商店,以尽可能低的价格提供下降的产品,以尝试和快速启动业务。 由于他们对业务的投资最少,运营成本最低,因此他们能够以最小的利润率工作。

虽然这些商家通常拥有糟糕的网站和不存在的客户服务,但它并不能阻止客户从他们那里订购,或者至少使用他们的价格作为与您的价格进行比较。 当商家开始积极竞争价格时,不久之后利润率几乎降至零。 避免这种情况的最佳方法是选择一个非常适合放弃运输的利基市场。

库存管理 - 虽然在库存所有自己的产品时管理库存可能并不容易,但至少在一天结束时您知道库存水平是多少。 对于运输业务来说,情况并非如此,您可能会从全球各地的多个供应商和仓库采购,库存每天(如果不是每小时)更改一次。 有一些方法可以将库存水平与供应商的库存水平同步,但并非所有供应商都支持这些解决方案,这可能导致您无法实际交付订购的产品。

运输问题 - 如果您有多个不同的供应商提供您的运送产品,则会增加运输图片的复杂性,这会使运输成本复杂化。 在某些情况下,您可能需要从多个仓库运送物料以满足单个订单。 您将负责所有仓库的运输成本,但您无法将所有这些成本转嫁给客户,因为他们会认为您的运费过高!

供应商的错误 - 您是否能够对不属于您的错误承担责任? 如果您正在开始下降运输业务,您可能需要。 即使是最好的下降托运人也会犯错误,当发生这种情况时,您需要对错误承担责任,并向您的客户道歉,可能会提供一些补偿来抵消错误。 如果您正在与低质量的运输公司打交道,您很快就会因为缺少物品,拙劣的货物和低质量的包装而感到沮丧,这可能会损害您的业务声誉。

成为电子商务专家

输入您的电子邮件以开始派对

What is Drop Shipping?

Dropshipping / Drop ShippingWhat does drop shipping mean?

A strategy by which a retailer does not make an inventory of this shipped product, passing the shipping address to the distributor or manufacturer for direct shipping to the customer. Drop shipping cuts out the workload of the retailer, allowing products to be delivered more quickly to the customer.

When ordering a product online, you may often find the option to have the product drop shipped. This service will incur a fee, but as you are buying the product directly from the manufacturer without it having to pass via a distributor you will receive the goods on a much faster timescale. The retailer will also pay a fee to the manufacturer for the drop shipping service.

There are a number of good reasons to consider drop shipping if you are a merchant, but there are also some drawbacks. We’ll look more closely at both benefits and drawbacks below.

Drop Shipping Benefits

Minimum Capital Requirements – One of the biggest advantages that cause merchants to choose drop shipping is the extremely low capital requirements. With drop shipping you can start on online business for almost nothing, since there’s no need to purchase thousands of dollars worth of inventory. You simply take customer orders and instruct your drop ship company where to ship the goods.

Quick and Easy Start-up – Ecommerce businesses are already pretty easy to get started, but they’re even easier if you don’t have to stock any inventory, or worry about packaging and shipping orders. Drop shipping eliminates the cost of storing inventory, the hassle of packaging and shipping, the need to track inventory for accounting and tax reasons, worrying about how to handle returns and incoming shipments, and managing inventory levels.

Extremely Low Overhead – Because you have no inventory, you can run a dropshipping business from your home office. You might pay even less than $100 a month to run your business, with the only real expense being your internet connection and the initial cost of your laptop.

Location Independence – You can run a drop shipping business from anywhere you have an internet connection. As long as you’re able to communicate with your suppliers and customers, you can run your business.

Product Selection – Because you don’t have to worry about inventory costs you can offer a much wider selection of products to your customers. As long as a drop shipper lists the item for sale, you can also list it for sale on your website for no out of pocket cost to yourself.

Ease of Scaling – With a traditional business model, if you receive twice as many orders you’ll also need to do nearly twice as much work. With the drop shipping model, increased orders don’t translate to increased work for you, just increased profits. The drop shipping suppliers will bear the brunt of most of the additional work, making it quite easy to scale a drop shipping business, even when compared with other ecommerce business types.

These benefits can make drop shipping sound like the ideal ecommerce solution, but not everything about drop shipping is ideal. There are drawbacks as well, and we need to have a look at these.

Drop Shipping Disadvantages

Low Profit Margins – The largest disadvantage to drop shipping is the very thin profit margins due to operating in what is an extremely competitive niche. The fact that it’s easy to get started means many merchants will set up an online shop to offer drop shipped products at the lowest prices possible to try and jumpstart the business. Because they have a minimal investment in the business, and minimal operating costs, they are able to work with the smallest of profit margins.

While it is true that these merchants often have poor websites and non-existent customer service, it doesn’t stop customers from ordering from them, or at least using their prices as a comparison to yours. When merchants begin competing aggressively on price it isn’t long until profit margins drop nearly to zero. The best way to avoid this is to choose a niche that is well-suited to drop shipping.

Inventory Management – While it might not be exactly easy to manage inventory when you’re stocking all your own products, at least you know at the end of the day what your stock levels are. This isn’t true of a drop shipping business, where you might be sourcing from multiple vendors and warehouses all across the globe, with inventory changing on a daily, if not hourly basis. There are ways to synch inventory levels with those of your vendors, but not all vendors support these solutions, which can lead to situations where you can’t actually deliver products ordered.

Shipping Issues – If you have several different vendors supplying your drop shipped products you add complexity to your shipping picture which can complicate your shipping costs. In some cases you may need to ship items from multiple warehouses to satisfy a single order. You’ll be responsible for the shipping costs from all the warehouses, but you can’t pass all of these costs along to the customer because they’ll think you’re grossly overcharging for shipping!

Supplier Mistakes – Are you able to accept responsibility for mistakes that weren’t yours? If you’re start a drop shipping business you may have to. Even the best drop shippers will make mistakes, and when this happens you’ll need to take responsibility for the mistakes, and apologize to your customers, likely providing some compensation to offset the error. And if you’re dealing with a low quality drop shipping company you could quickly become overwhelmed with frustration over missing items, botched shipments and low-quality packing, which can damage your business's reputation.

Try-Shopify
Become an ecommerce expert

Enter your email to get the party started