什么是零售商?

零售是什么意思?

零售是直接向消费​​者销售商品和服务的过程。 它通过多个销售渠道完成,以赚取利润。

a 零售商?

基本上,零售商是指通过以下方式经营业务的任何个人 砖和灰浆 存储或在线 电子商务平台 喜欢 Shopify or BigCommerce.

一旦买方支付所收到的货物或服务,零售交易通常就完成了。 大零售商如 亚马逊 Walmart,Tesco和Sainsbury's旨在展示制造商或批发商的商品。 它们随后根据加价定价技术出售给消费者。

市场上有特定商品需要零售商正式注册。 例如,如果我想向我店里的消费者销售Apple产品,我需要适当的文件证明我是授权经销商。 请记住,我需要真诚地将产品保证从制造商转移给我的客户。

这支持了从认证零售商处购买电子产品的基本原因。 如果产品存在制造商缺陷,则买方受到包含有效退货政策的保修的保护。 在大多数情况下,零售商不销售他们自己生产的商品。 相反,它们作为制造商,分销商或批发商与最终买家之间的中间人。

在这一点上,您必须对以下事实有所了解:著名零售商如亚马逊,甚至 Alibaba 不是市场上唯一的参与者。 足够有趣的是,零售商可能是您街区周围的小商店,出售品牌服装。 在一般情况下,零售商经常将此类产品出售给其潜在客户。

  • 家具和其他家居用品
  • 衣着
  • 图书
  • 汽车配件
  • 首饰

零售商的主要职能

预计零售商将为消费者提供出色的服务。

通常,批发商从制造商处获得他们的产品。 然后零售商将从批发商处采购产品。 就这么简单。 制造商全力以赴寻找原材料,劳动力和生产成品。 然后,零售商需要以建议的零售价格向消费者出售商品。

所有仓储和仓储任务都由零售商负责。 这是整个物流过程的一部分。 但实际上,他们不能单独做到这一点。 他们需要外包全球秩序服务 履行 平台。

为了最大限度地提高客户满意度,有些情况下零售商必须通过信贷向买方提供货物。 因此,他们需要包括风险管理计划,以免积累如此多的坏账。 除此之外,产品质量需要处于商家目标的最前沿。

逻辑非常简单。 避免退货甚至退单,最终降低您的利润率。 他们在市场上推出新产品,并与所有潜在客户联系,以便对他们进行相同的教育。

零售商如何推广他们的产品?

零售商有很多营销策略。 在这个时代,社交媒体已经超越了传统的广告方法。 赞助Facebook和Instagram广告甚至电子邮件营销是零售商用于宣传其产品的主要策略。 换句话说,在社交网络中可见是商家经常依赖的获胜游戏计划。

对大多数零售商来说似乎有用的是品牌。 拥有独特的名称和徽标可以让客户建立对您产品的信心。 零售商可以从经销商处采购产品,并将包装定制为促进其商业品牌的手段。

Flash销售是电子商务行业的新常态。 这是吸引顾客眼球的一种手段。 毕竟,商家将以极低的价格销售产品,从而吸引顾客进行购买。

砖和砂浆与电子商务零售

毫无疑问,没有经过试验和测试的计划,对大多数零售商来说,这是一个可怕的梦想。 这两种途径是几乎所有零售商最主要的策略。 然而,后者在许多方面获得了动力。 首先,有一些特殊的电子商务零售平台被证明对大多数零售商来说是高效的。 其中包括;

  1. Shopify (在这里完整的评论)
  2. BigCommerce (在这里完整的评论)
  3. WooCommerce (在这里完整的评论)
  4. Volusion (在这里完整的评论)
  5. 3dcart (在这里完整的评论)

仅举几个。

很明显,降落运输业务将继续存在。 与实体店不同,零售商不需要在街道的某个地方设置店面。 他们只需要在他们的在线商店帐户上传他们的产品。 毫无疑问,零售商在网上销售产品比购买实体店更便宜。

另一方面,你应该考虑市场需求。 像消耗品这样的东西肯定需要零售商投资实体店以加快快速服务的提供。

利基零售

这是一种共同的营销策略,目前正处于中心位置。 零售商了解如何成为所有行业的杰出人物。 利基零售商是那些在市场上处理特定产品的商家。

而且这还不是全部。

为了充分利用这种风险,零售商需要熟悉目标市场。 此外,他们密切关注大多数客户的来源。 随着谷歌趋势的普及,人们可以很容易地知道特定利基如何在某个地区获得了它的知名度。

假设我想选择健身服作为我的利基,我会看到得分等于在Google上搜索关键短语及其相关主题的频率。 零售商发现更容易专注于特定的利基,因为他们可以将所有精力投入到产品营销上。

零售商是否需要销售点?

A 销售点 对许多零售店老板来说非常重要。 证明其重要性的是处理客户付款的能力。 移动支付处理器是零售业务中必不可少的。 此外,零售商需要使用系统地对库存进行分类的系统。

零售商需要使用准确的数据,这就是强大的POS零售系统的用武之地。如果零售商选择在线销售商品,那么整个结账流程应该是无缝的。

在任何零售业务中,店主需要记录所有支付交易。 他们怎么知道实际利润率? 除此之外,熟练的POS系统可帮助商家获得所有销售的所有库存级别更新。 在寻找最合适的POS系统时,零售商应注意通过信用卡付款的客户。 他们需要考虑使用接受主要卡品牌的读卡器,并轻松与POS系统集成。

以下是零售业的一些基本术语

  1. 库存单位- 它更像是一个库存编码系统。 每个产品都有一个SKU编号,用于识别变体,价格和品牌等功能。
  2. 现金周转- 它指的是业务的流动性方面。 零售商需要跟踪进入的金额和业务量。 商家需要为所有债务和运营费用提供准备金,以便根据现金流量有效地运营业务。
  3. 折旧 - 这是用于经营零售业务的资产价值的减少。 一旦商品耗尽其寿命,商家就会留出一些钱来替换资产。
  4. 毛利 - 这是商家扣除制造和销售产品所附带的所有成本后所赚取的总金额。 这包括作为销售的一部分的服务,如运输,如果它是零售商必须支付它。 它需要反映损益表并计算它,您需要从总销售额中减去销售成本。
  5. 存货周转率- 它是一个比率,表示在规定的时间段内库存被使用或更换的总次数。 这比较了库存水平与一年中销售总数的比较。 要计算库存周转率,需要在特定时间(通常为一年)内将销售的总成本除以平均库存。
  6. 损益表 - 这是一份报告,清楚地​​描述了特定时期内的所有收入和支出。 它也被称为损益表。 它有助于分析业务如何进行销售,所有费用和总收入。
  7. 销售费用- 这些都是在营销和分配产品时产生的所有费用。 营销费用来自社交媒体上的广告费用。 如果零售商通过第三方电子商务渠道(例如 Shopify 需要每月支付该计划。

零售商一词也可用于描述不那么传统的卖家。 在市场或博览会上出售雕刻或绘画的艺术家也是零售商。 如果他们向公众出售以赚取利润的目的,那么食品卡车也是如此。

除销售产品外,零售商也可以是服务提供商。 例如,大多数家电零售商还以延长保修的形式为其产品提供保险,有些还提供交付,设置或维修服务。

成为电子商务专家

输入您的电子邮件以开始派对

What is a Retailer?

What does retail mean?

Retail is the process of selling goods and services directly to consumers. It's done via multiple sale channels in a bid to make a profit.

And a retailer?

Basically, a retailer is any individual who operates their business either through a brick and mortar store or over an online ecommerce platform.

A retail transaction is usually complete once the buyer pays for the goods or services received. Big retailers such as Amazon, Walmart, Tesco, and Sainsbury's are designed to display goods from manufacturers or wholesalers. They are later sold to the consumers in line with the mark-up pricing technique.

There are specific commodities in the market which require a retailer to be duly registered. If for instance, I want to sell Apple products to the consumers in my store, I need proper documentation which ascertains that I'm an authorized dealer. Remember, I need to transfer the product guarantee from the manufacturer to my customers in good faith.

This supports the basic reason why it's highly advisable to buy electronics from certified retailers. In case the product has manufacturer defects, a buyer is protected by the warranty which contains an effective return policy. In most cases, retailers don't sell goods which they've manufactured on their own. Rather, they work as intermediaries between the manufacturer, distributor, or wholesaler and the end buyer.

At this point, you must be privy to the fact that notable retailers like Amazon or even Alibaba aren't the only players in the market. Interesting enough, a retailer could be that small store around your block which sells branded clothes. In the ordinary run of things, retailers often sell such kind products to their potential customers;

  • furniture and other household goods
  • clothing
  • books
  • automotive accessories
  • jewelry

Retailers' major functions

A retailer is expected to deliver outstanding services to consumers.

Typically, the wholesalers get their products from manufacturers. A retailer will then source the products from the wholesaler. It's that simple. A manufacturer puts all efforts to look for raw materials, labor and produce a finished product. A retailer will then need to sell the goods to the consumer at a recommended retail price.

All the warehousing and storage task are left at the hands of retailers. It's part of the entire logistics process. But practically speaking, they can't do it alone. They will need to outsource the services of global order fulfillment platforms.

To maximize customer satisfaction, there are instances where a retailer has to offer goods to the buyer on credit. As a result, they need to include a risk management plan so as not to accumulate so many bad debts. Aside from that, the product quality needs to be at the forefront of a merchant's objectives.

And the logic is quite simple. To avoid returns or even chargebacks which ultimately reduce your profit margins. They introduce new products in the market and reach out to all potential customers to educate them on the same.

How do retailers promote their products?

There are so many marketing strategies open to retailers. At this day and age, social media has gained traction over traditional advertising methods. Sponsored Facebook and Instagram ads or even email marketing are some of the dominant strategies retailers use to advertise their products. In other words, being visible in the social network is a winning game plan which the merchants often count on.

What seems to work for most retailers is branding. Having a unique name, and logo makes the customers build confidence in your products. Retailers can source products from distributors and customize the packaging as a means to promote their business brand.

Flash sales are the new norm in the E-commerce industry. It's a means to catch the eyes of customers. After all, the merchant will sell products at a very low price which lures the customers into making a purchase.

Brick and Mortar Vs E-commerce Retail

It's beyond question that working without a tried and tested plan is a frightening dream for most retailers. These two avenues are the most dominant strategies for nearly all retailers. The latter is, however, gaining momentum in a number of ways. To begin with, there are exceptional e-commerce retail platforms which are proven to be highly productive for most retailers. Among them include;

  1. Shopify (full review here)
  2. BigCommerce (full review here)
  3. WooCommerce (full review here)
  4. Volusion (full review here)
  5. 3dcart (full review here)

Just to name a few.

It's quite evident that the drop-shipping business is here to stay. Unlike a brick and mortar store, a retailer doesn't need to have a storefront somewhere around the streets. They just need to upload their products on their online store account. It's undoubtedly cheaper for a retailer to sell their products online than going for a physical location.

On the other hand, you ought to consider the market needs. Things like consumables will definitely need a retailer to invest in a brick and mortar store to enhance quick service delivery.

Niche Retailing

This is a common marketing strategy which is currently taking center stage. Retailers understand how overwhelming it's to be a jack of all trades. Niche retailers are those merchants who deal with specific products in the market.

And that's not all.

To make the most out of such a venture, a retailer needs to be acquainted with the target market. In addition, they closely monitor where most customers come from. With the prevalence of Google Trends, one can easily know how a specific niche has garnered its popularity in a certain region.

Suppose I want to choose gym wear as my niche, I get to see the score which equates to the frequency at which the keyphrase and its related topics have been searched on Google. Retailers find it easier to focus on a specific niche since they can put all their energy on marketing the product.

Does a Retailer need a Point Of Sale?

A Point of Sale is quite essential for many retail store owners. What proves its significance is the capacity to handle payments from the customers. A mobile payment processor is a must have in the retail business. Also, the retailer needs to use a system which sorts the inventory in a systematic manner.

A retailer needs to work with accurate figures and this is where a powerful POS retail system comes in. If a retailer opts to sell items online, then the entire checkout process ought to be seamless.

In any retail business, a store owner needs to record all payment transactions. How else will they know the actual profit margins? Besides that, a proficient POS system helps a merchant get all stock level updates for all sales. While hunting for the most suitable POS system, retailers should be mindful of the customers who make payments via credit cards. They need to consider using a card reader which accepts major card brands and easily integrates with the POS system.

Here are a few basic terms in retail

  1. Stock keeping unit- It's more of an inventory coding system. Each product is given an SKU number to identify the variant, the price and the brand among other features.
  2. Cash flow- It refers to the liquidity aspect of the business. A retailer needs to keep track of how much money is coming in and the amount coming out of the business. The merchant needs to make a provision for all debts and operating expenses so as to run the business efficiently based on the cash flow.
  3. Depreciation– This is the decrease in value of the asset one uses to operate the retail business. The merchant sets aside some money to replace the assets once they deplete their lifespan.
  4. Gross Profit– It's the total amount of money a merchant makes after they deduct all costs attached to making and selling a product. This includes services which come as part of the sale such as shipping if at all it's the retailer who has to pay for it. It needs to reflect on the income statement and to calculate it, you need to subtract the cost of goods sold from the total sales.
  5. Inventory turnover- It's a ratio which indicates the total number of times which the inventory has been used or replaced over a stipulated period of time. This compares the stock levels over the total number of sales in a year. To calculate the Inventory turnover, one needs to divide the total cost of goods sold over the average inventory in a specific time which is usually one year.
  6. Profit & Loss Statement- It's a report which gives a clear depiction of all the revenues and expenses over a specific period. It's also referred to as an income statement. It helps to analyze how the business is making its sales, all expenses, and the total revenues.
  7. Selling expenses- These are all the costs which accrue while marketing and distributing a product. The marketing expenses come about due to the advertising fees on social media. If a retailer is selling via a third-party e-commerce channel like Shopify the need to pay for the plan on a monthly basis.

The term retailer can also be used to describe the less traditional sellers as well. An artist who sells carvings or paintings at markets or fairs is also a retailer. So is a food truck if they are selling to the public with the aim of making a profit.

In addition to selling products, retailers can also be service providers. For example, most appliance retailers also offer insurance on their products in the form of extended warranties, and some also offer delivery, set-up or repair services.

Become an ecommerce expert

Enter your email to get the party started