WooCommerce 评论(2021 年 XNUMX 月):WordPress 电子商务插件之王

如果您已将WordPress用于电子商务,则可能听说过 WooCommerce。 它是电子商务世界的皇冠上的明珠,被认为是WordPress最好的插件之一。

不仅如此 WooCommerce 在一个紧凑的WordPress插件中拥有大量功能,但是它是完全免费的。 在这个 WooCommerce 回顾一下,我将概述其中的一些最佳工具 WooCommerce 以及有关您在安装电子商务插件时实际花费多少的一些信息。

比较是很常见的 WooCommerce 像这样的平台 Shopify or BigCommerce。 这很好,但重要的是要意识到主要的差异。 首先,所有这些电子商务平台都能提供类似的结果。

事实:

目标是拥有一个具有电子商务功能的网站,这就是您所获得的 WooCommerce, Shopify, BigCommerce,以及其他所有内容。

付款处理已为您完成,您可以设置产品并设计一个网站,而无需太多的编码知识。 然而, WooCommerce 由于一个重要原因,这些平台有所不同:它与开源WordPress内容管理系统集成。

woocommerce 评论-主页

这意味着您可以更好地控制您的网站,但它还需要更多关于托管,域名和网站设计的知识。 而 Shopify or BigCommerce 提供完整的电子商务软件包,托管,工具,处理和设计都包含在一个整洁的计划中。

话虽如此,这些“打包的”平台在主题和功能部门中可能会有局限性。 这是为什么 WooCommerce 在更高级的开发人员中变得如此受欢迎。

因此,既然我们已经涵盖了主要差异,请继续阅读我们广泛的内容 WooCommerce 进行审核以了解其功能,然后查看它是否适合您。

WooCommerce 评论:功能

woocommerce 评论-功能

很难涵盖所有 WooCommerce 一篇博客文章中的功能,但我一定会尝试。 简要说明一下 WooCommerce 充当WordPress插件,您可以在其中安装该插件以将WordPress网站转变为功能全面的在线商店。 之后,它会带您浏览商店配置页面,您将在其中填写以下内容:

  • 存储联系信息
  • 付款细节
  • 配送信息
  • 自动税等额外服务
  • 批量上传产品

完成后,两个选项卡将显示在WordPress仪表板的左侧,一个选项卡用于产品,另一个选项卡用于主要 WooCommerce 设置。 一切都在这里进行了整合,可以轻松添加到您的商店中并管理将来发生的事情。

至于我们最喜欢的一些功能,这里有什么值得期待的:

  • 一个美丽的内容管理系统 (以来 WooCommerce 在WordPress上运行)。
  • 一个允许您自定义设计的系统 使用可视化构建器或通过代码。
  • 通过400扩展和数千个其他WordPress插件 用于推进商店的外观和功能。 例如,您可能想要建立会员网站或添加简单的联系表单。 插件和扩展都是可能的。
  • 访问REST API 用于管理和集成从产品到订单的所有内容。
  • 无数主题使您的在线商店看起来完全符合您的要求。 其中一些主题是免费的,而其中一些是通过第三方供应商销售的。
  • 漂亮的产品和结帐页面。 这些还有目标网页以及您期望从完整的电子商务平台获得的各种其他可自定义选项。
  • 产品评级和评论,以提高您的SEO 并为您的客户提供更丰富的购物体验。
  • 无限的产品,图像和画廊。 几乎所有东西都是无限的 WooCommerce,因此您不必担心任何限制。
  • 高级产品分类和过滤:t他使您的搜索引擎排名更好,并通过大量产品指导您的客户。
  • 支持物理,数字和联盟产品。 可以使用无限制的变体,您可以导入和导出大型产品列表。
  • 可定制的结账区域,客人结账,自动电子邮件,税收选项,免费送货,内置付款处理等。

如您所见,功能列表非常长。 这只是表面上的问题。

事实是这样的:如果 WooCommerce 没有所需的功能,很可能不会包含在任何其他电子商务平台中。 而且,如果您很难找到独特的东西(例如订阅引擎),则可以使用扩展程序和插件来满足您的需求。

WooCommerce 评论:易用性

我谈了一下 WooCommerce 界面,但现在我们可以从头到尾完成整个过程。 WooCommerce 最近,安装变得非常容易,许多托管公司提供免费或付费安装。

如果您决定自己安装插件,就像点击两个按钮一样简单:安装和激活。

配置模块将指导您完成诸如运输,添加产品,税金和公司详细信息之类的细节。 然后,WordPress仪表板会显示 WooCommerce 和左侧的产品标签。

这很好用,因为所有功能都合并到一个区域。 选项卡打开订单,优惠券,报告和设置等设置。 您还将看到添加产品,设置类别和管理属性的选项。

网站自定义的难易程度取决于 WooCommerce 您决定的主题。 但是,WordPress视觉定制器也可以在其中快速上传徽标,管理字体以及调整其他功能,例如颜色。

至于添加产品,它类似于在WordPress上发布帖子或页面。 您所要做的就是制作产品标题,打入描述并确定类别。

当您想要了解您的产品时,产品数据部分将发挥作用。 该区域包括使其成为虚拟或可下载产品的选项,甚至包括简单,分组或可变产品。

送货,库存,属性和链接产品都有自己的选项卡,因此您可以根据需要自定义产品。

当然,您必须添加一些图片和视频,这可以通过产品库,产品图像和文本编辑器模块实现。

WooCommerce 毫无疑问,它是最容易使用的电子商务平台之一。

主要的缺点是设置(考虑到你必须找到自己的网络主机,获取主题,并转移域名)和WordPress可能带来的学习曲线。 当前的WordPress用户应该没有问题,但一个完整的初学者可能会发现WordPress令人生畏。

就是说,WordPress的范围很广,很容易学习 博客,论坛和其他在线社区.

WooCommerce 评论:定价

定价是有点棘手的地方 WooCommerce。 如前所述, WooCommerce WordPress插件可以免费下载。 不仅如此,WordPress CMS软件也是免费的。

从某种意义上说 WooCommerce 网站每月只需花费您几美元。 但这是假设您找到了最便宜的主机,决定了免费的主题,并且不为任何插件,扩展或网页设计工作付费。

因此,我想分解使用成本 WooCommerce 进行平均安装。

这是你需要的:

  • WordPress - 自由
  •  WooCommerce 插入 - 自由
  • 网络主机 –每月3美元到数百美元不等(我们建议 SiteGround or WP Engine)。 很可能 一个小型网站可以使用每月$ 5至$ 10的共享托管计划。 但是随着扩展,您可能需要VPS或专用服务器。 这些花费更多。
  • A WooCommerce 主题 –免费到大约$ 200。 我个人不会为一个主题支付超过100美元的费用。 50美元到100美元的主题很多,效果很好。 请记住,这是一次性费用。
  • 一个域名 –您每年不必支付超过$ 10的费用。
  • 插件和扩展 –大多数电子商务商店无需为此付费。 但是,利基网站需要某些扩展,并且您可能会发现高级插件符合您的喜好。 尽管这可能是免费的,但我打算为此每月预算10美元,因为我通常最终要为一两个插件付费。
  • 网页设计服务 –您不能在上面加上数字,但可能会成千上万。 我的建议是您自己完成尽可能多的设计工作。 然后,也许在这里和那里花500美元进行高质量的自由职业。

好吧,那那让我们继续前进 WooCommerce 价钱?

对于新的,较小的 WooCommerce 站点 我预算在一个主题,随机设计任务和一个或两个高级插件的前面预算$ 500。 

每月费用约为$ 10 对于一个体面的共享主机。

一旦您开始发展您的网站并获得更多客户,成本就会增加。 例如,我不介意每月支付$ 200用于伟大的专用托管,我也会用一些很棒的设计工作来改造我的网站。 除此之外,域名费用保持不变。

WooCommerce 评论:模板和设计

世界 WooCommerce 主题 是巨大而混乱的。 WordPress的问题在于,每个人都可以创建主题并将其出售给客户。 从好的方面来说,这为您提供了各种选择。 但是,您必须小心 WooCommerce 主题的编码不正确(会损坏您的网站或影响您的其中一个插件)。

woocommerce 主题和模板-envato

我建议您前往ThemeForest并使用评分系统,或选择信誉良好的主题创建者,例如 ElegantThemes, 的StudioPress,ThemeFuse或Templatic。

divi woocommerce 主题

使用免费的WordPress主题并不是一个糟糕的主意 WordPress主题库。 但我个人认为,如果你经营一家真正的企业,你应该选择一个你知道会发光的主题。 不仅如此,高端主题公司还提供支持。

至于设计质量,这些优质主题公司很少令人失望。 您将能够在几分钟内启动您的在线商店并导入一些演示数据,因此您无需从头开始构建您的站点。

通过主题的自定义工具完成设计。 但是,您也可以通过使用WordPress定制器来调整设置。

WooCommerce 审查:插件和扩展

使用的主要优点之一 WooCommerce 是与第三方WordPress插件以及通过以下渠道出售的扩展的集成 WooCommerce 本身。

这些扩展更适合电子商务领域,通常仅在您尝试添加一些独特的产品功能或要创建一个收取会员费(或类似费用)的网站时出现在扩展程序中。

扩展通常要花钱,但是 WooCommerce 卖很多。 例如,您可能想在结帐过程中包括附加组件。 有一个扩展。 它还具有表单,结帐字段编辑,命名价格工具和最小/最大数量等功能的扩展。

woocommerce 扩展

一些WordPress插件专为 WooCommerce,但其中绝大部分只是为了使您的整体网站更好。 无需担心,因为所有WordPress插件均可与 WooCommerce 插件。

因此,如果您想添加联系表单,可以使用联系表格7。 还有大量的反垃圾邮件,社交媒体,电子邮件,营销,会计和SEO插件。 只需快速搜索即可找到您要查找的内容,因此插件和扩展程序在构建完美的在线商店时至关重要。

WooCommerce 评论:市场营销和SEO

WooCommerce 相对擅长以几种方式帮助您扩展功能。

您可以通过优惠券,会员计划和积分来奖励与您一起购物的客户。 或者 WooCommerce 还支持免费赠送礼物以鼓励销售。

对于社会证明,您可以要求客户留下评论或星级,从而提高商店的信誉。

对于内容营销, WooCommerce 希望您能利用WordPress网站上的博客。 除了从WordPress获得的功能外,这里没有实际的博客功能。 与SEO相同,您应该使用现有的SEO。

在搜索引擎优化方面, WooCommerce 受WordPress中基本搜索引擎工具的支持。 这意味着它将自动为您的搜索引擎结果创建标题和元数据。 WooCommerce 本身没有任何SEO功能,但您可以添加Yoast之类的插件来改善定位关键字的方式。

WooCommerce 没有很多内置的营销功能。 购买某人时会自动发送电子邮件,因此您绝对可以使用这些电子邮件进行品牌宣传,并让其他人知道其他产品。 但是,最好的选择是考虑像MailChimp这样的电子邮件营销服务,然后整合电子邮件选择表格。 社交媒体工具和登录页面也可以通过不同的主题和插件获得。

改善您的销售 WooCommerce 商店,但是,您可以在客户进行结帐时添加新的要约,加价销售和交叉销售。 产品页面上的相关产品部分也可以选择,以鼓励客户购买更多产品。

与各种插件的兼容性可确保您也有各种机会通过电子邮件营销来提高转换率。 您可以将您的电子商务网站连接到电子邮件插件,以恢复废弃的购物车并建立自动化的电子邮件营销策略。 电子商务解决方案的选项范围从Campaign Monitor到Mail Chimp。

WooCommerce 还可以帮助您吸引潜在客户,以获得更多潜在的信用卡转化机会。 这还包括提供对Facebook Ads,Amazon,eBay和Google Ads的访问。

WooCommerce 评论:付款处理

Stripe和PayPal是以下最受欢迎的付款处理商 WooCommerce。 该插件为这两种工具提供即时配置工具。

WooCommerce 它还支持100多个其他支付网关,因此您可以从庞大的列表中进行选择,并找出哪个在您所在的地区或您的预算中效果最好。 这很重要,因为您可能最终会为一个支付网关支付比另一个支付网关更高的交易费用。 然而, WooCommerce 不收取任何额外的交易费用,因此这当然是一个加号。

我喜欢这些许多支付网关的原因之一是因为它为所有类型的企业开辟了在线商务。 有些网关不允许高风险国家的企业使用。 有时你会发现特定行业或非营利组织的门票价格更便宜。 有了超过100网关,您一定会找到适合您业务的东西。

WooCommerce 就是使用最适合您的付款解决方案。

由于有很多不同的支付提供商,很可能您会找到适合您需求的东西。 甚至还有专门为以下目的设计的付款处理解决方案: WooCommerce 被称为 WooCommerce 付款。

WooCommerce Payments允许您从WordPress仪表板查看和管理交易。 您可以安全地接受所有类型的付款,设置经常性收入的策略以及访问 WooCommerce 订阅也是如此。

WooCommerce 评论:安全性

WooCommerce Sucuri会定期审核该平台,因此您会不断在插件的整个生态系统中拥有一个知名的安全品牌。 除此之外 WooCommerce 代码是安全的,但是您还必须找到一个好的Web主机,该主机不会向黑客开放您的文件。

所有的在线支付都是安全可靠的,但这也取决于您的支付网关。 我还没有审查过每个网关 WooCommerce 支持,但我想公司已经对所有这些都进行了检查。

您应该能够轻松地知道您的网站是安全的并且您的客户信息是加密的。 唯一要记住的是您必须获得自己的SSL证书。 可以通过Let的加密站点获取共享SSL。 或者您可以选择购买私人。

如果您要建立一个电子商务网站, WooCommerce,您应该自己完成一些安全工作。 尽管安全措施是自动在WordPress中提供的,但您还需要处理好讨价还价的事情。

WooCommerce 建议从信誉良好且可靠的主机开始,该主机提供以下信息:

  • 攻击预防与监控
  • 主动审核和安全威胁修补
  • 最新的服务器软件
  • 隔离传播感染的能力

在开始构建之前,请与您的房东谈谈他们提供的安全性 WooCommerce。 除了选择合适的主机之外,您还应该使用高质量的插件,实施强密码,并寻找防止暴力攻击的机会。

如果您将各种插件与WordPress和 WooCommerce –使它们保持最新状态! 过时的插件是安全的噩梦。

请记住,您还应该研究诸如用户访问级别,SSL证书,备份,站点监视,防火墙和在线商店的安全身份验证之类的内容。

WooCommerce 评论:客户服务

顾客服务与 WooCommerce。在这 WooCommerce 评论,您可能已经注意到,有很多人 WooCommerce 产品和谈论 WooCommerce 每一天。

自 WooCommerce 免费提供其产品,但不提供直接支持。 但是,这并不意味着您无法通过少量研究解决问题。 例如, WooCommerce 提供了一个很棒的文档页面,如果您有特定的要求,则可以发送电子邮件。

另一个好消息是,尽管 WooCommerce 不会像其他商店制造商那样提供期望的支持,它将为解决问题提供帮助。 一旦发现产品中的任何缺陷,公司将自动对其进行修复。 他们还可以通过服务台为较小的问题提供帮助,以帮助您在计划的更新之前解决所有问题。

提供的支持服务 WooCommerce 不涵盖不是第三方特定经销商的第三方提供的产品的任何帮助 WooCommerce 技术。 公司可能会要求公司停用与产品安装在一起的第三方产品 WooCommerce 解决方案,然后他们才能提供帮助。

woocommerce 文件

许多博客和论坛也致力于 WooCommerce 插件,因此大多数情况下,您只需要完成一次Google快速搜索即可找到所需内容。

WordPress是一样的方式。 大多数时候你必须自己解决问题并在论坛上提问。 我通常从谷歌开始,然后去一些我最喜欢的博客,以确保我可以解决问题。

托管您的电子商务商店

如果您决定使用以下方式创建商店 WooCommerce,那么您将不得不考虑一些不同的事情。 例如,您可能需要弄清楚如何更新自己的 WooCommerce CSS代码或CSV文件的功能,或者是否需要允许您收集电子商务网站客户评论的插件。

您肯定需要托管服务提供商。 有很多选项可供选择,但是我们在这里选择了一些我们的最爱。

SiteGround

轻松成为最吸引人的托管解决方案之一 WooCommerce, SiteGround 是零售商和企业主的理想选择。 这 SiteGround WooCommerce 计划与基本共享托管程序包具有相同的功能,其中包括 WooCommerce 开箱即用的设置经验,一个SSL证书(让我们加密)以提供额外的保护以及一个集成的CDN。

Siteground 承诺出色的加载时间,并为小企业主提供符合PCI标准的服务器,以支付详细信息。 SiteGround 赚得棒极了 WooCommerce 产品评论,它是免费的购物车安装选项,且易于使用的环境。

而 SiteGround 并不是每个企业领导者的完美解决方案,这是一个好选择,还是大多数选择,最简单的包装起价为$ 6.99。

DreamHost的

另一个出色的托管服务提供商, DreamHost的 公司提供专家 WooCommerce 为专用的WordPress用户托管。 您将可以访问 WooCommerce 并且店面已预先安装到您的网站中,以实现最佳性能。 您可以使用 WooCommerce 支持减少流量峰值,降低网站速度并防止黑客入侵。 还提供VaultPress备份来保护您的商店数据。

您可以免费获得此托管服务提供商随附的JetPack Professional插件,该插件可为您提供监视停机时间,运费计算以及其他好处的方法,从而有助于反击负面评论。 所有这些,您也可以享受免费的SSL证书。 DreamHost易于使用,但可能比其他一些昂贵。 WooCommerce 市场上的托管选项。 价格起价为每月16.95美元,最多可容纳100位访客。

WP Engine

我们对的最终建议 WooCommerce 托管是 WP Engine。 这个出色的WordPress解决方案非常适合 WooCommerce 和WordPress。 WP Engine的基础架构可以处理各种大型商店,因此成为 WooCommerce,并带有集成的CDN和SSL证书。 您还将获得一个内置的暂存环境,以测试对商店的更改以及自动备份。

WP Engine 带有自定义托管仪表板,该仪表板非常适合专业人士使用,但使用起来却不像市场上的其他某些选项那么容易。 幸运的是,该公司确实通过电子商务工具之类的工具超越一切地帮助您充分利用您的商店kit。 起价为每月约25美元,这使得该选项的价格都不是最便宜的 WooCommerce 产品,也不是最昂贵的。

谁应该考虑 WooCommerce 作为他们的电子商务平台?

如果您没有兴趣为像这样的平台支付月费 Shopify or BigCommerce, WooCommerce 可能适合你。 我建议 WooCommerce 对于不希望对其在线商店有任何限制的电子商务企业主。 它允许您扩展和自定义您想要的任何内容,并且学习曲线也不是那么糟糕。

WooCommerce 为您提供多种方式,为您的客户提供出色的体验,同时为您的公司提供银行转帐服务。 您可以使用审阅插件和旨在与WordPress配合使用的其他功能来增强服务。 甚至还有可以使用的SEO工具 WooCommerce 和WordPress,以带您进入丰富的摘要,并改善您的Google Analytics(分析)。 但是,要适应该技术确实需要一点时间。

但是,如果你是一个完整的网站设计初学者,一些比较容易的平台 Wix 以及 Shopify 可能会更好。

特征图像 Sona Psotova 

WooCommerce
评分: 4.5 - 审查

Joe Warnimont

Joe Warnimont 是一位芝加哥作家,专注于电子商务工具、WordPress 和社交媒体。 不钓鱼或练习瑜伽时,他会在国家公园收集邮票(尽管这主要是给孩子们的)。 查看乔的投资组合 联系他并查看过去的工作。

WooCommerce Review: The King of Ecommerce Plugins on WordPress

If you've used WordPress for e-commerce, you've probably heard of WooCommerce. It's the crown jewel of the e-commerce world and considered one of the best plugins for WordPress.

Not only does WooCommerce boast a large collection of features in a compact WordPress plugin, but it's completely free. In this WooCommerce review, I'll outline some of the best tools inside WooCommerce along with some information on how much you'll actually be spending when you install the e-commerce plugin.

It's rather common to compare WooCommerce to platforms like Shopify or Bigcommerce. That's perfectly fine, but it's important to realize the major differences. To start, all of these e-commerce platforms deliver similar results.

Fact:

The goal is to have a website with e-commerce functionality, and that's what you get with Shopify, WooCommerce, Bigcommerce, and everything else.

The payment processing is done for you, you can set up products, and design a website without much coding knowledge. However, WooCommerce varies from these platforms due to one important reason: It integrates with the opensource WordPress content management system.

woocommerce review

This means that you'll have more control over your website, but it also requires a little more knowledge about hosting, domain names, and website design. Whereas Shopify and Bigcommerce offer complete e-commerce packages, with hosting, tools, processing, and design all wrapped into a neat plan.

That being said, these “packaged” platforms may have limitations within the theme and feature departments. This is a major reason why WooCommerce has become so popular with more advanced developers.

So, now that we've covered the main differences, keep reading our extensive WooCommerce review to understand its features and see if it's right for you.

WooCommerce Features

It's tough to cover all of the WooCommerce features in one blog post, but I'll certainly try. To explain briefly, WooCommerce works as a WordPress plugin, where you install the plugin to turn your WordPress website into a fully functional online store. After that, it walks you through a store configuration page where you'll fill in the following:

  • Store contact information
  • Payment details
  • Shipping information
  • Extras like automated taxes
  • Bulk product uploads

Upon completion, two tabs show up on the left-hand side of your WordPress dashboard–one for products and the other for your primary WooCommerce settings. It's all consolidated there, making it easy to add to your store and manage what goes on in the future.

As for some of our favorite features, here's what to look forward to:

  • A beautiful content management system (since WooCommerce runs on WordPress).
  • A system that allows you to customize your design with a visual builder or through the code.
  • Over 400 extensions and thousands of other WordPress plugins for advancing the look and functionality of your store. For instance, you might want to make a membership site or add a simple contact form. It's all possible with plugins and extensions.
  • Access to the REST API for managing and integrating with everything from products to orders.
  • Countless themes to make your online store look exactly the way you want. Some of these themes are free, while some of them are sold through third-party vendors.
  • Beautiful products and checkout pages. These are complemented by landing pages and a wide variety of other customizable options you would expect from a full e-commerce platform.
  • Product ratings and reviews to boost your SEO and make the shopping experience more informative for your customers.
  • Unlimited products, images, and galleries. Pretty much everything is unlimited in WooCommerce, so you won't have to worry about any limitations.
  • Advanced product sorting and filtering. This makes your search engine rankings better and also guides your customers through lots of products.
  • Support for physical, digital, and affiliate products. Unlimited variations are available, and you can import and export large product lists.
  • Customizable checkout areas with guest checkout, automated emails, tax options, free shipping, built in payment processing, and more.

As you can see, the feature list is pretty long. And that's only scratching the surface.

The fact of the matter is this: If WooCommerce doesn't have the feature you need it's most likely not going to be included in any other e-commerce platform. And if you're hard-pressed to find something unique, like a subscription engine, you can use extensions and plugins to satisfy your needs.

WooCommerce Ease of Use

I talked a little about the WooCommerce interface already, but we can go through the process from start to finish now. WooCommerce has become much easier to install recently, with lots of hosting companies offering free or paid installation.

If you decide to install the plugin yourself, it's as easy as hitting two buttons: Install and Activate.

The configuration module guides you through the specifics like shipping, adding products, taxes, and company details. The WordPress dashboard then reveals the WooCommerce and Products tabs on the left.

This works nicely since all features are consolidated into one area. The tabs open settings for things like orders, coupons, reports, and settings. You'll also see options for adding products, setting categories, and managing attributes.

The easiness of your site customization depends on the WooCommerce theme you decide on. However, the WordPress visual customizer is also there for quickly uploading logos, managing fonts, and adjusting other things like colors.

As for adding products, it's similar to making a post or page on WordPress. All you have to do is make a product title, punch in the description, and decide on a category.

The Product Data section comes into play when you'd like to get specific about your product. This area includes the option to make it a virtual or downloadable product or even a simple, grouped, or variable product.

Shipping, inventory, attributes, and linked products all have their own tabs, so you're able to customize the product however you want.

Of course, it's essential you add some pictures and videos, and that's possible through the product gallery, product image, and text editor modules.

WooCommerce is without a doubt one of the easiest ecommerce platforms to use.

The main downside is the set up (considering you have to find your own web host, get a theme, and transfer a domain name) and the learning curve that might come with WordPress. Current WordPress users should have no problem with this, but a complete beginner might find WordPress intimidating.

That said, WordPress is quite easy to learn with the wide range of blogs, forums, and other communities online.

WooCommerce Pricing

Pricing is where it gets a little tricky with WooCommerce. As we mentioned, the WooCommerce WordPress plugin is free to download. Not only that, but the WordPress CMS software is also free.

In a sense, a WooCommerce website could only cost you a few dollars per month. But that's assuming you find the cheapest possible hosting, decide on a free theme, and don't pay for any plugins, extensions, or web design work.

So, I want to break down the costs of using WooCommerce for an average installation.

Here's what you'll need:

  • WordPress – Free
  • The WooCommerce plugin – Free
  • A web host – From $3 to hundreds of dollars per month. It's likely a small website would be fine with a $5 to $10 per month shared hosting plan. But as you scale up you probably need a VPS or dedicated server. Those cost more.
  • A WooCommerce theme – Free to roughly $200. I personally wouldn't pay anything more than $100 for a theme. There are plenty of $50 to $100 themes that work great. Remember, this is a one-time cost.
  • A domain – You shouldn't have to pay any more than $10 per year.
  • Plugins and extensions – Most ecommerce stores don't need to pay for these. However, some of the extensions are required for niche sites, and you might find that a premium plugin is to your liking. Although this might be free, I'm going to budget $10 per month for this, since I usually end up paying for a plugin or two.
  • Web design services – You can't put a number on this but it could go into the tens of thousands. My recommendation is to complete as much of the design work as you can yourself. Then maybe spend $500 here and there for quality freelance work.

Alright, so where does that leave us on WooCommerce pricing?

For a new, smaller WooCommerce site, I'd budget around $500 upfront for a theme, random design tasks, and a premium plugin or two. 

The monthly cost will be around $10 for a decent shared host.

Once you start growing your site and getting more customers, the costs increase. For instance, I wouldn't mind paying $200 per month for great dedicated hosting, and I would also revamp my website with some awesome design work. Other than that, the domain name fees stay the same.

WooCommerce Templates and Designs

The world of WooCommerce themes is vast and confusing. The problem with WordPress is that everyone is allowed to create themes and sell them off to customers. On the bright side, this gives you all sorts of options when it comes to the selection. However, you have to be careful the WooCommerce theme isn't poorly coded (where it's going to damage your site or affect one of your plugins).

I recommend going to ThemeForest and using the rating system or opting for a reputable theme creator like ElegantThemes, StudioPress, ThemeFuse, or Templatic.

It's not a terrible idea to go with a free WordPress theme from the WordPress Theme library. But I personally think that if you're running a real business you should opt for a theme you know is going to shine. Not only that, but the premium theme companies offer support.

As for the design quality, those premium theme companies rarely disappoint. You'll be able to launch your online store within minutes and import some demo data so you don't have to construct your site from scratch.

The design is completed by working through the theme's custom tools. However, you can also adjust settings by working with the WordPress Customizer.

WooCommerce Plugins and Extensions

One of the main advantages of using WooCommerce is its integrations with both third-party WordPress plugins and the extensions sold through WooCommerce itself.

The extensions are more catered to the e-commerce world, and they typically only come into the picture when you're trying to add some unique product features or when you'd like to create a site that collects membership fees (or something of the sort).

Try-Shopify

The extensions usually cost money, but WooCommerce sells plenty of them. For instance, you might want to include add-ons during the checkout process. There's an extension for that. It also has extensions for things like forms, checkout field editing, name your price tools, and min/max quantities.

Some WordPress plugins are designed for WooCommerce, but the vast majority of them are simply for making your overall website better. No need to worry, since all of the WordPress plugins interact nicely with the WooCommerce plugin.

So, if you'd like to add a contact form you can go with Contact Form 7. There are also plenty of anti-spam, social media, email, marketing, accounting, and SEO plugins. It only takes a quick search to find what you're looking for, so the plugins and extensions are pivotal when building the perfect online store.

WooCommerce Marketing and SEO

In terms of search engine optimization, WooCommerce is supported by the basic search engine tools in WordPress. That means it automatically creates titles and metadata for your search engine results. WooCommerce doesn't have any SEO features itself, but you can add plugins like Yoast to improve the way you target keywords.

WooCommerce doesn't have many built-in marketing features. Automated emails are sent out when someone makes a purchase, so you can absolutely use those for branding and letting people know about other products. However, your best bet is to consider an email marketing service like MailChimp, then integrating an email optin form. Social media tools and landing pages are also available through different themes and plugins.

WooCommerce Payment Processing

Stripe and PayPal are the most popular payment processors on WooCommerce. The plugin offers instant configuration tools for both of those.

WooCommerce also supports over 100 other payment gateways, so you can choose from the gigantic list and figure out which one works best in your region or for your budget. This is important since you might end up paying more in transaction fees for one payment gateway over another. However, WooCommerce doesn't take any extra transaction fees, so that's certainly a plus.

One of the reasons I like these sort of many payment gateways is because it opens up online commerce for all types of businesses. Some gateways don't allow businesses in high-risk countries. And sometimes you'll find a gateway with cheaper rates for specific industries or non-profits. With over 100 gateways you're bound to find something for your business.

WooCommerce Security

The WooCommerce platform is regularly audited by Sucuri, so you constantly have a well-known security brand checking in on the overall ecosystem of your plugin. In addition, the WooCommerce code is secure, but you also have to find a good web host who's not going to open up your files to hackers.

All of the online payments are safe and secure, but it also depends on your payment gateway. I haven't reviewed every single gateway that WooCommerce supports, but I would like to think that the company has done a check on all of them.

You should be able to rest easy knowing that your site is safe and your customer information is encrypted. The only thing to remember is that you have to get your own SSL certificate. A shared SSL can be obtained through the Let's Encrypt site. Or you have the option to buy a private one.

WooCommerce Customer Service

Customer service is a mixed bag with WooCommerce. In this WooCommerce review, you've probably noticed that there's a large community of people who make WooCommerce products and talk about WooCommerce every day.

Since WooCommerce gives its product away for free, it doesn't provide direct support. However, that doesn't mean you can't resolve problems with a little research. For instance, WooCommerce offers a wonderful documentation page, and you are allowed to send in emails if you have something specific.

Many blogs and forums are also dedicated to the WooCommerce plugin, so most of the time you only have to complete a quick Google search to find what you're looking for.

WordPress is the same way. Most of the time you have to work out the kinks yourself and ask questions on forums. I usually start on Google, then go to some of my favorite blogs to make sure I can resolve a problem.

Who Should Consider WooCommerce as Their E-commerce Platform?

If you have no interest in paying a monthly fee for a platform like Shopify or Bigcommerce, WooCommerce might be for you. I recommend WooCommerce for ecommerce business owners who don't want any limitations with their online stores. It allows you to scale up and customize whatever you want, and the learning curve isn't that bad.

However, if you're a complete beginner to website design in general, some of the easier platforms like Wix and Shopify might work better.

Feature image by Sona Psotova 

Joe Warnimont

Joe Warnimont is a freelance writer who creates tools and resources to help other writers get more productive and market their work.