Stripe Review:具有高级开发和明确定价的支付处理器

Acker 条纹 支付处理器背后有一些浪漫。 它不仅拥有像Lyft,Target和Warby Parker这样的知名客户,而且令人印象深刻的联合创始人团队无疑为这个方程带来了一些魅力。 在这篇Stripe评论中,我们将发现Stripe是否已被破解。

Stripe公司和第三方背后有很多炒作 付款处理器,它提供了一些最好的开发工具,安全措施和国际业务模块 在线商务.

条纹审查 - 主页

Stripe的重点是让任何人都能轻松完成 在线业务。 如果您正在运行基于订阅的模型,Stripe会为您提供帮助。 如果您想为自己的购物车定制独特的东西,Stripe可以帮助您。

此外,Stripe的定价是固定费率,因此您不必过多考虑公司支付的费用。

目录:

  1. 快速浏览Stripe
    1. 好处
    2. 下行
  2. Stripe在哪里可用?
  3. 条纹评论:主要产品和服务
    1. 付款处理类别
    2. 开发者工具
  4. 条纹评论:费率和额外费用
    1. 您收到付款的速度有多快?
    2. 退款怎么样?
    3. Stripe定价和费用最适合哪些公司?
    4. 合同和早期终止
    5. 退款警告
  5. 规则条纹和条纹元素的区别
  6. Stripe Review:客户支持
  7. 谁应该将Stripe视为支付处理器?

条纹评论:快速浏览

像大多数支付处理器一样,Stripe并不完美。 然而,专业人士肯定超过了利弊,所以我们汇总了一个快速列表,列出了为什么或为什么你可能不会考虑Stripe为自己的在线业务。

好处:

  • 订阅功能简单而强大。
  • Stripe支持市场。
  • 国际商家对Stripe没有任何问题。
  • 报告易于理解和全面。
  • 统一价格是透明的,并不像许多竞争对手那样令人困惑。
  • 开发工具在高级定制方面脱颖而出。

下行道:

  • Stripe不支持高风险行业和国家。
  • 您没有直接的电话支持热线。
  • Stripe将自己的基础设施置于一切之上。 如果您违反条款,可能会发生看似随意的帐户暂停。
  • 许多工具迎合大公司的需求。 这有利于扩大规模,但有时候我会感觉Stripe最关心庞然大物。

条纹评论:哪里可用?

在本文撰写时,条纹在26国家/地区提供。 这些国家大多数位于欧洲和美洲,所以如果您居住在俄罗斯,亚洲大部分地区,非洲大部分地区以及中东和东欧的大部分地区,您将不得不寻找其他国家。

我认为位置限制是Stripe最大的缺点之一,但从业务角度来看,很明显Stripe正试图避开世界上风险最高的位置。

话虽如此,Stripe最近发布了针对印度的私人测试版。 因此,显然支付处理器正试图扩展到潜在风险更大的市场,并找出向全世界商家提供服务的方法。

至于Stripe可用的国家,这里是列表:

巴西和墨西哥都列在此列表中,但您需要在获得批准之前申请邀请。 如果您在以下国家/地区开展业务,则立即注册帐户应该没有问题:

  • 澳大利亚
  • 奥地利
  • 比利时
  • 加拿大
  • 丹麦
  • 芬兰
  • 法国
  • 德国
  • 香港
  • 爱尔兰
  • 日本
  • 卢森堡
  • 荷兰
  • New Zealand
  • 挪威
  • 新加坡
  • 西班牙
  • 瑞典
  • 瑞士
  • 英国
  • 美国
  • 意大利
  • 印度(测试版)
  • 葡萄牙

Stripe多年来一直在增长,因此您有机会注册电子邮件通知并指定您所在的国家/地区。 然后,Stripe会在该国家/地区发布后立即向您发送电子邮件。 唯一的问题是您所在地区可能永远不会发生Stripe发布。

所以,如果Stripe不适合您,您需要在其他地方查看。

如果你在一个不受支持的国家,但你仍然喜欢Stripe的优势,那么提供一个名为Stripe Atlas的计划,将你的在线业务设立为特拉华州的一家公司。

该计划向您收取$ 500的一次性费用,以及您的特拉华州注册代理商每年续签的100 $。 最后,每月收取$ 25费用以维持美国银行账户。

出于几个原因,美国企业是可取的,Stripe背后的安全性和易用性可能使这个风险对于高风险国家的一些企业来说是值得的。 但是,它仅适用于在线业务。 零售商店无法访问Stripe Atlas。

独特的欧洲付款方式

正如您可能已经假设的那样,Stripe在迎合美国和欧洲商店方面表现出色。 另一种完成方式是为欧洲和美国商家提供流行的欧洲支付方式支持。 其中一些包括Sofort,EPS,P24,Bancontact和Giropay。

条纹评论:主要产品和服务

Stripe品牌试图使包和服务尽可能简单。 当你登陆网站时,你可能想知道它是如何基本的。

Stripe通过将产品和服务分为两类来实现这一目标:支付处理和开发人员工具。

但是,一旦您开始筛选每个类别中的功能,很明显,提供的功能远远超过两个产品。

条纹审核:付款处理类别

条纹审核 - 付款处理

正如我们所提到的,支付处理工具在全球的25国家提供。 也就是说,它仍适用于这些地区的国际业务,因为Stripe接受135类型的货币。

因此,您可能无法在越南与Stripe开展业务,但美国或德国企业可以收取越南盾作为付款。

付款处理立即提供给在接受国家开展业务的公司。 它类似于 PayPal,您将第三方处理工具集成到您的在线商店。 这种即时访问支付处理的好坏。

好的部分是你几乎立即获得批准。 不好的是,您的帐户最终会在您开展业务时获得评估。 因此,如果Stripe不喜欢某些内容,您可能会看到自己的帐户已关闭。

另一方面,常规商家帐户会在您设置帐户之前进行审核。 因此,如果您担心以后关闭,商家帐户会更有意义。

Stripe Review:开发人员工具

Stripe的这一部分使得支付处理器在其他竞争中脱颖而出。 这是许多大公司与Stripe合作的原因之一,因为您可以自定义处理系统并随着公司的发展进行扩展。

例如,您可以在不编写代码行的情况下开始使用Stripe。 通过允许您访问Stripe的生态系统合作伙伴500,可以加快整个过程。

条纹评论 -  api

Stripe提供对API(应用程序编程接口)的访问,以便开发人员能够深入了解程序并将Stripe集成到独特的网站中。 然后,开发人员可以使用编程语言来调整处理器的工作和外观。

使用Stripe文档和开放API,它是完全控制的理想环境。

因此,一些在线商家可能只需要支付处理支持,但许多其他人对开发工具感兴趣。 无论如何,每个类别都包括各种其他产品和服务,如下所述:

  • 条纹结账模块 - 我们将讨论条纹元素(下面的内容),但它基本上是一种快速的方式来自定义您的结帐(使用预先构建的组件)。使用标准Stripe结帐工具和你有一个系统允许你快速设计和启动结帐。 简而言之,PCI合规性已经为您完成,您可以使您的签出适合您的网站,所有这些都没有复杂的设计工具。
  • 订阅工具 - PayPal对其订阅服务收费,但Stripe没有收费。 这意味着运行订阅站点允许您提供多个层,计划和订户类型。
  • 条纹计费 - 此Stripe模块提供了一套简化的工具,用于创建和管理您的订阅。 它还允许您测试定价,发送自定义发票以及创建重复的业务关系。
  • 条纹继电器 - Relay产品将移动应用商务与您的在线商店相结合。 因此,如果您想要一个独立的应用程序,您可以从您的网站上传您的产品并收集付款,就像您通过常规商店一样。
  • 条纹雷达2.0 - 大多数在线支付处理器都有某种欺诈检测,但Stripe将其提升到了一个新的水平。 由于欺诈在网络业务中如此普遍,Stripe相当突出。 Radar目前在其第二个版本中利用机器学习来识别欺诈和欺诈用户。 它还提供了一个仪表板,用于设置规则,以及当人们在您的网站上购物时查看哪些规则被破坏。 Stripe Radar可以将欺诈实例减少多达25%。
  • 条纹连接 - Connect产品与在线市场协同工作,商家获得对100货币的支持以及沿途所需的转换工具。 您可以验证各种国际卖家,并为在您的市场中销售的商家配置自动付款时间表。
  • 提供优惠券和免费试用 - 您需要的一些最好的营销工具已经在Stripe支付处理器中。 简而言之,您可以快速创建免费试用期,并为新客户提供季节性优惠券,这些客户在您的公司入门时可能更喜欢这笔交易。
  • 团队管理 - 许多公司希望向组织中的其他用户提供支付处理和数据访问权限。 使用Stripe,您可以使用团队管理工具来设置用户权限,以便其他人无需通过单个帐户即可查看此信息。 权限易于管理,您甚至可以合并硬件令牌和双因素身份验证,以增强安全性。
  • 构建自己的平台的选项 - Stripe支持构建完全独特的平台,其结账流程将比标准购物车和信息收集页面更加独特。 例如,Lyft有一个存储付款的平台,但它都是根据里程进行跟踪的。
  • 支持市场 - 市场是Stripe平台构建部分的一部分,但它更加精简,可以选择与您的商家合作,提供即时付款,以及设置佣金结构。
  • 钱包付款 - 普通消费者开始使用移动钱包进行支付。 因此,Stripe支持Microsoft Pay,Google Pay,Apple Pay,支付宝和微信支付等选项。
  • 移动商务 - Stripe Relay与此类似,但移动商务部门推广使用Android和iOS应用程序,以便您可以在这些应用程序表单中收集付款。 您甚至可以获得在应用程序中保存客户数据的功能,允许客户在将来快速付款。 您的所有统计信息,付款和业务详细信息都位于移动界面上。 都 Android系统iOS系统 版本可用。

条纹评论:费率和额外费用

正如我们之前谈到的那样,Stripe对所有交易都采用统一费率。 这使它透明且易于理解。

用Stripe,那个 一个统一费率是2.9%+ $ 0.30.

一句警告是Stripe不退还任何这些交易费用。 因此,如果您向客户退款,则Stripe将失去该交易费用。 这意味着如果客户希望退回产品,您可能需要支付这笔费用或向客户收取少量费用。

使用Stripe的一个优点是ACH支持。 交易费用为每笔交易0.8%,最高为$ 5。

试戴Shopify

一段时间Stripe将帮助商家处理比特​​币支付。 这些交易与ACH的费用相同。 但是,截至4月23,2018,Stripe停止了对比特币处理的所有支持。

您收到付款的速度有多快?

只要您不被视为高风险公司,Stripe就会在两天内向大多数美国商家支付费用。 至于美国以外的公司,七天的支付系统仍然有效。

退款怎么样?

这个行业的标准是为所有退款收取$ 15。 条纹也不例外。 Stripe确实对所有退款都有适当的评估流程。 有趣的是,如果退款纠纷导致您的青睐,Stripe实际上会退还$ 15费用。 然而,大多数商家表示,这是一件非常罕见的事情。

Stripe定价和费用最适合哪些公司?

条纹定价合理且易于理解。 也就是说,对许多在线商店而言,这并不是最便宜的。 例如,某些交换加计划使某些公司的价格更便宜。 还有许多支付处理器可以为某些品牌提供折扣,特别是非营利性品牌。

Stripe的主要优点是缺少月费和隐藏费。 这对于小批量商家尤其有利。

Stripe最近还增加了对小额支付的支持,您支付更高的交易费用,并且每笔交易费用减少。 这对于艺术家,音乐家和其他任何销售数字商品的人来说都很方便,因为对于你以0.30出售的商品而言,吃0.99的交易费很难。

合同和早期终止

您没有与Stripe签订任何合同,如果您想提前终止帐户,那么它就很有用。 事实上,Stripe并没有任何隐藏的费用,使其成为更透明的选择之一。

退款警告

读这篇文章很重要 服务条款 来自Stripe,因为它几乎表明Stripe可以因为它认为值得的任何原因冻结你的帐户。 因此,如果您正在寻求更高的稳定性,Stripe可能不适合您。

如果您的行业被认为是高风险,Stripe可能不适合您。 如果你有很多退款,Stripe可能不适合你。 实际上,Stripe声称它不适用于退款率超过1%的商家。

对于在线商家而言,这是一个难以理解的数字。

规则条纹和条纹元素的区别

条纹元素 实际上与常规Stripe支付处理器集成。 Stripe的核心功能是通过您的在线商店收取付款,而条纹元素工具是一组预先构建的模块,用于制作自定义结帐区域。

Stripe Elements结帐页面由Stripe团队构建,用于完全优化,本地化和实时验证。

简而言之,这是摆脱第三方或托管结账页面的简单方法 电子商务平台。 您知道预先构建的结帐模块已经过优化以提高销售额,您仍然可以获得常规Stripe系统的可靠定价和可靠界面。

不仅如此,您还可以调整结帐区域以完美契合您的品牌。 Elements使用的代码远少于平常,它为您提供了最佳的构建块,可以让您自己体验结账体验。

Stripe Elements也符合PCI标准。

Stripe Review:客户支持

Stripe客户支持的最佳部分在于其文档和在线资源。 首先,Stripe博客介绍了处理器的更新以及如何实现某些新功能。

开发页面已满 API参考模块,提供有关所有流行编码语言的信息。

条纹支持区域提供了一个知识库,用于查找某些主题并查找订阅,争议,欺诈,会计,退款等内容的文章。

文档区域也可用于更高级的研究。

至于直接联系信息,Stripe提供24×7电话和聊天支持。 这对于在线商家来说是非常巨大的,因为这种类型的持续支持对于支付处理器来说并不常见。 此外,Stripe过去没有电话支持,所以它正在向前推进以帮助其客户。

此外,您可以通过电子邮件联系Stripe支持团队。 通过电子邮件支持的一些语言包括英语,法语,德语,意大利语,日语和西班牙语。

关于Stripe支持如何对待客户的观点受到广泛争议。 一些商人说得很好,而另一些则认为完全相反。

它通常取决于您自己的独特体验,因为可以在业内几乎所有其他支付处理器中找到关于客户支持的同类辩论。 不仅如此,Stripe还是一个大型的,受欢迎的品牌,这实际上意味着你必须偶然发现许多优秀和糟糕的评论。

谁应该将Stripe视为支付处理器?

随着微支付的增加,艺术家和销售数字商品的人们在Stripe有一个家。 一般的在线电子商务店老板应该对Stripe做得很好,考虑到价格是标准的,你不必担心隐藏的费用或多个付款计划。

对于小批量销售商而言,无需支付月费。

大多数西方世界都可以访问Stripe Payments,但如果您的业务被认为风险太大,或者您可能会被Stripe拒绝或关闭 条纹 不支持您所在地区的公司。 对于高于1%退款率的在线商店也是如此。

除此之外, Stripe非常适合开发人员 和那些想要在结账模块上完全定制的公司。 该API可用于完全集成控制,“条带元素”构建器可确保您的创作过程能够为您提供更多帮助。

如果您对此Stripe评论有任何疑问,请在下面的评论中添加一行。 我们很乐意听到过去使用Stripe的客户,因为在谈论支付处理器时,它似乎总是很好的对话。

特征图像 Adewale Bobby

条纹 评分: 5.0 - 审查

Joe Warnimont

Joe Warnimont是一位自由撰稿人,他创造了工具和资源,帮助其他作家提高工作效率并推销他们的作品。

Stripe Review: Payment Processor With Advanced Development and Clear Pricing

The Stripe payment processor has some romance behind it. Not only does it have big-name clients like Lyft, Target, and Warby Parker, but the impressive team of co-founders certainly brings a bit of glamour into the equation. In this Stripe review, we'll uncover if Stripe is all it's cracked up to be.

There's plenty of hype behind the Stripe company, and as a third-party payment processor, it offers some of the best development tools, security measures, and international business modules for online commerce.

Stripe review - the homepage

The whole point of Stripe is to make it easy for anyone to do business online. If you're running a subscription-based model, Stripe has you covered. If you'd like to customize your shopping cart for something unique, Stripe is there to help you out.

In addition, Stripe has a flat rate for its pricing, so you don't have to think too much about how much your company pays.

Table of Contents:

  1. A Quick Glance at Stripe
    1. The Upsides
    2. The Downsides
  2. Where is Stripe Available?
  3. Stripe Review: The Primary Products and Services
    1. The Payment Processing Category
    2. Developer Tools
  4. Stripe Review: The Rates and Extra Fees
    1. How quickly do you receive your payments?
    2. What about chargebacks?
    3. Which companies are the Stripe pricing and fees best for?
    4. Contracts and Early Terminations
    5. A Warning on Chargebacks
  5. The Difference Between Regular Stripe and Stripe Elements
  6. Stripe Review: Customer Support
  7. Who Should Consider Stripe as a Payment Processor?

Stripe Review: A Quick Glance

Stripe, like most payment processors, isn't perfect. However, the pros definitely outweigh the cons, so we put together a quick list of why or why you might not consider Stripe for your own online business.

The Upsides:

  • The subscription features are easy and powerful.
  • Stripe supports marketplaces.
  • International merchants should have no problem with Stripe.
  • The reports are easy to understand and comprehensive.
  • The flat-rate pricing is transparent and not confusing like so many competitors.
  • The development tools stand out for advanced customization.

The Downsides:

  • High-risk industries and countries are not supported by Stripe.
  • You don't get a direct phone support line.
  • Stripe puts its own infrastructure over everything. A seemingly random account suspension might happen if you violate the terms.
  • Lots of the tools cater to larger companies. This is good for scaling up, but sometimes I get the feeling Stripe cares most about the behemoths.

Stripe Review: Where is it Available?

Stripe is offered in over 26 countries at the time of this article. Most of these countries are in Europe and the Americas, so you're going to have to look elsewhere if you live in Russia, most of Asia, all of Africa, and much of the Middle East and Eastern Europe.

I would argue that the locational limitations are one of the biggest downsides to Stripe, but from a business perspective, it's clear the Stripe is trying to avoid the highest risk locations in the world.

Having said that, Stripe recently released a private beta version for India. So, it's clear that the payment processor is trying to expand into potentially more risky markets and figuring out ways to offer its services to merchants all over the world.

As for the countries where Stripe is available, here's the list:

Both Brazil and Mexico are on this list, but you need to request an invite before being approved. If you run your business in the following countries you shouldn't have a problem signing up for an account immediately:

  • Australia
  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Canada
  • Denmark
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Hong Kong
  • Ireland
  • Japan
  • Luxembourg
  • Netherlands
  • New Zealand
  • Norway
  • Singapore
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland
  • United Kingdom
  • United States
  • Italy
  • India (beta)
  • Portugal

Stripe has been growing over the years, so you do have the opportunity to sign up for email notifications and specify your country. Then, Stripe sends you an email as soon as it launches in that country. The only problem is that a Stripe launch may never happen in your area.

So, you need to look elsewhere at the time being if Stripe isn't available for you.

If you're in a non-supported country, yet you'd still like the advantages of Stripe, a program called Stripe Atlas is offered to set up your online business as an incorporated company in Delaware.

This program costs you a one-time fee of $500, plus the $100 yearly renewal of your Delaware registered agent. Finally, a $25 per month fee is implemented to maintain an American bank account.

An American business is desirable for a few reasons, and the security and ease-of-use behind Stripe might make this venture worthwhile for some businesses in high-risk countries. However, it's only available to online businesses. A retail store can't get access to Stripe Atlas.

Unique, European Payment Methods

As you may have already assumed, Stripe does an excellent job of catering to US and European stores. Another way this is completed is by offering support for popular European payment methods for both European and US merchants. Some of these include Sofort, EPS, P24, Bancontact, and Giropay.

Stripe Review: The Primary Products and Services

The Stripe brand tries to make the packages and services as simple as possible. When you land on the website you might wonder how it could be so basic.

Stripe does this by breaking the products and services into two categories: Payment Processing and Developer Tools.

However, once you start to sift through the features in each of these categories, it becomes clear that far more is offered than just two products.

Stripe Review: The Payment Processing Category

Stripe review - payment processing

As we mentioned, the payment processing tools are offered in 25 countries around the world. That said, it still works well for international business in these locations, since Stripe accepts over 135 types of currencies.

So, you may not be able to run a business with Stripe in Vietnam, but an American or German business is able to collect Vietnamese Dong as payment.

Payment processing is immediately provided to those companies that run business in the accepted countries. It's similar to PayPal, where you would integrate the third party processing tool into your online store. This instant access to payment processing is good and bad.

The good part is that you get approved almost immediately. The bad is that your account eventually gets evaluated as you do business. Therefore, you might see your account shut down if Stripe doesn't like something.

A regular merchant account, on the other hand, does the vetting prior to you setting up an account. So, a merchant account would make more sense if you're worried about getting shut down later.

Stripe Review: Developer Tools

This part of Stripe is what makes the payment processor stand out from other competition. It's one of the reasons so many large companies partner with Stripe since you can customize the processing system and scale it up as your company grows.

For example, you can get started with Stripe without writing a line of code. This speeds up the whole process by allowing you access to over 500 of Stripe's ecosystem partners.

Stripe review - api

Stripe provides access to the API (application programming interface) so that developers can sink their teeth into the program and integrate Stripe into unique websites. Then, the developer can use programming languages to adjust how the processor works and looks.

With the Stripe documentation and open API, it's a desirable environment for full control.

So, some online merchants might only need the payment processing support, but many others are interested in the development tools. Regardless, each category includes a wide range of other products and services, as outlined here:

  • The Stripe Checkout Module – We'll talk about Stripe Elements (further below,) but it's basically a quick way to customize your checkout however you want (using pre-built components).Combine that with the standard Stripe checkout tools and you have a system that allows you to design and launch your checkout quickly. In short, PCI compliance is done for you, and you can make your check out fit your website, all without complicated design tools.
  • Subscription tools – PayPal charges for its subscription service, but Stripe does not. This means that running a subscription site allows you to offer multiple tiers, plans, and subscriber types.
  • Stripe Billing – This Stripe module offers a streamlined set of tools for creating and managing your subscriptions. It also lets you test your pricing, send out customized invoices, and create recurring business relationships.
  • Stripe Relay – The Relay product combines mobile app commerce with your online store. So, if you'd like to have a standalone app you can upload your products from your website and collect payments just like you would through your regular store.
  • Stripe Radar 2.0 – Most online payment processors have some sort of fraud detection, but Stripe takes it to a new level. Since fraud is so common in online business, Stripe stands out quite a bit. Currently in its second version, Radar utilizes machine learning to identify fraud and the users that commit fraud. It also provides a dashboard for setting rules and seeing which of these rules are broken when people make purchases on your site. Stripe Radar can reduce fraud instances by up to 25%.
  • Stripe Connect – The Connect product works with online marketplaces, where the merchant receives support for over 100 currencies along with the conversion tools needed along the way. You can verify a wide range of international sellers and configure automated payment schedules for the merchants selling in your marketplace.
  • Offering coupons and free trials – Some of the best marketing tools you'll need are already in the Stripe payment processor. In short, you can quickly create free trial periods and offer seasonal coupons for new customers who might prefer a deal when getting started with your company.
  • Team management – Many companies want to give payment processing and data access to other users in the organization. With Stripe, you have team management tools for setting user permissions so that other people can view this information without going through a single account. Permissions are easy to manage, and you can even incorporate hardware tokens and two-factor authentication for added security.
  • Options for building your own platform – Stripe supports the building of completely unique platforms, where the checkout process is going to be far more unique than your standard shopping cart and information collection page. For instance, Lyft has a platform where the payment is stored, but it's all tracked based on mileage.
  • Support for marketplaces – Marketplaces are part of the platform building portion of Stripe, but it's a little more streamlined, with options for working with your merchants, giving out instant payments, and setting up commission structures.
  • Wallet payments – Average consumers are beginning to use mobile wallets to make payments. Therefore, Stripe supports options like Microsoft Pay, Google Pay, Apple Pay, Alipay, and WeChat Pay.
  • Mobile commerce – Stripe Relay is similar to this, but the mobile commerce section promotes the use of Android and iOS apps so that you can collect the payments in those app forms. You even get a feature for saving customer data in the app, allowing customers to make quick payments in the future. All of your stats, payments, and business details are on the mobile interface. Both Android and iOS versions are available.

Stripe Review: The Rates and Extra Fees

As we talked about before, Stripe has a flat rate for all transactions. This makes it transparent and easy to understand.

With Stripe, that one flat rate is 2.9% +$0.30.

One word of warning is that Stripe doesn't refund any of these transaction fees. So, if you make a refund to a customer, that transaction fee is lost to Stripe. This means that you may have to eat this cost or charge a slight fee to your customers if they wish to return a product.

An advantage of going with Stripe is the ACH support. The transaction fee is 0.8% per transaction, with a maximum of $5.

Try-Shopify

For awhile Stripe would assist merchants in processing Bitcoin payments. Those transactions had the same fees as ACH. However, as of April 23, 2018, Stripe halted all support for Bitcoin processing. 

How quickly do you receive your payments?

As long as you're not considered a high-risk company, Stripe pays most US merchants within two days. As for companies outside of the US, a seven-day payout system is still in effect.

What about chargebacks?

It's standard in this industry to charge $15 for all chargebacks. Stripe is no different. Stripe does have an evaluation process in place for all chargebacks. What's nice is that Stripe actually refunds the $15 fee if a chargeback dispute results in your favor. However, most merchants state that this is a very rare thing to happen.

Which companies are the Stripe pricing and fees best for?

Stripe pricing is reasonable and easy to understand. That said, it's not the least expensive for many online stores. For instance, some interchange-plus plans out there make it cheaper for certain companies. There are also plenty of payment processors that offer discounts to certain brands, especially non-profits.

The main advantage of Stripe is the lack of monthly and hidden fees. This is especially advantageous for low volume merchants.

Stripe has also recently added support for micropayments, where you pay a higher percentage transaction fee and the flat per-transaction fee is dropped. This comes in handy for artists, musicians, and anyone else selling digital goods, since it would be tough to eat a transactional fee of $0.30 for an item you're selling for $0.99.

Contracts and Early Terminations

You're not locked into any contracts with Stripe, making it useful for if you want to terminate your account early. In fact, Stripe doesn't really have any hidden fees, making it one of the more transparent options out there.

A Warning on Chargebacks

It's important to read the terms of service from Stripe since it pretty much states that Stripe can freeze your account for any reason it deems worthy. So, if you are looking for more stability, Stripe might not be for you.

If your industry is considered high-risk, Stripe might not be for you. If you have lots of chargebacks, Stripe might not be for you. In fact, Stripe states that it doesn't work with merchants with chargeback rates of more than 1%.

That's a difficult number to stay under for online merchants.

The Difference Between Regular Stripe and Stripe Elements

Stripe Elements actually integrates with the regular Stripe payment processor. The core functionality of Stripe is to collect payments through your online store, while the Stripe Elements tool is a collection of pre-built modules for making a customized checkout area.

The Stripe Elements checkout pages are built by the Stripe team for full optimization, localization, and real-time validation.

In short, it's an easy way to get away from hosted checkout pages from third-parties or e-commerce platforms. You know the pre-built checkout modules are optimized to boost sales, and you still get the solid pricing and reliable interface of the regular Stripe system.

Not only that, but you can adjust your checkout area to fit your brand perfectly. Elements works with far less code than usual, and it gives you the best building blocks for making your own checkout experience.

Stripe Elements is also PCI-compliant.

Stripe Review: Customer Support

The best part of Stripe customer support resides in its documentation and online resources. To start, the Stripe blog covers updates on the processor and how you can implement some of the new features.

The development page has a full API reference module, with information on all popular coding languages.

The Stripe Support area provides a knowledge base for seeking out certain topics and locating articles for things like subscriptions, disputes, fraud, accounting, refunds, and more.

A documentation area is also there for more advanced research.

As for direct contact information, Stripe offers 24×7 phone and chat support. This is pretty huge for online merchants, since this type of constant support isn't all that common for payment processors. In addition, Stripe used to not have phone support, so it's moving forward to help out its customers.

Furthermore, you can contact the Stripe support team through email. Some of the languages supported through email include English, French, German, Italian, Japanese, and Spanish.

Opinions about how Stripe support treats customers is widely disputed. Some merchants have great words to say, while others think the complete opposite.

It typically depends on your own unique experience, as the same kind of debate on customer support can be found with just about every other payment processor in the industry. Not only that, but Stripe is a large, popular brand, which essentially means that you're bound to stumble upon lots of excellent and poor reviews.

Who Should Consider Stripe as a Payment Processor?

With the addition of micropayment support, artists and people selling digital goods have a home at Stripe. The average online e-commerce store owner should do just fine with Stripe, considering the pricing is standard and you don't have to worry about hidden fees or multiple payment plans.

Not having to pay a monthly fee is also great for low volume sellers.

Most of the western world has access to Stripe Payments, but you might get rejected or shut down from Stripe if your business is considered too risky or Stripe doesn't support companies in your particular region. The same goes for online stores with higher than a 1% chargeback rate.

Other than that, Stripe is perfect for developers and companies that want full customization over checkout modules. The API is available for complete integration control, and the Stripe Elements builder is sure to help you even more with your creative process.

If you have any questions about this Stripe review, drop a line in the comments below. We would love to hear from customers who have used Stripe in the past since it always seems to be a good conversation when talking about payment processors.

Feature image by Adewale Bobby

Stripe Rating: 5.0 - Review by

Joe Warnimont

Joe Warnimont is a freelance writer who creates tools and resources to help other writers get more productive and market their work.