什么是付款处理器?

支付处理器是什么意思?

作为企业的所有者,了解您的常规交易的实际运作方式非常重要。 了解付款处理的基础知识有助于您在客户遇到技术困难时避免常见问题。 不幸的是,大多数人根本不知道在借记卡和信用卡支付方面涉及什么样的技术。

今天,我们将向您介绍使用支付处理器、支付网关和类似工具的基本细节,以便您准确了解一切工作原理。

什么是付款处理器?

支付处理商是负责管理信用卡或借记卡交易流程的公司。 它充当消费者银行和商家之间的一种中间人,允许信息来回传递。

这是支付处理器的简单定义:

被授权处理卖家和买家之间的信用卡交易的公司。 支付处理方通常是第三方,由商家指定。 有两种类型的支付处理器; 前端和后端 结束。

A 前端处理器将连接到各种卡协会,并向商户银行的商户提供结算服务和授权。 后端处理器用于接受来自前端处理器的结算,并将资金从发行银行转移到商业银行,这个过程只需几秒钟即可完成。

这些处理器执行许多功能,例如评估交易是否有效和获得批准,使用反欺诈措施来确保购买交易是由其声称的来源发起的。 处理者遵守信用卡协会组织的标准和法规。 这些标准包括关于欺诈的规则、 退款,和身份盗窃。

支付处理器的基础知识

通过在两个银行机构之间进行通信,支付处理器可以确定账户中是否有足够的信用来进行交易。 对于接受 Mastercard 和 Visa 等集团信用卡付款的企业来说,支付处理器是数字环境或销售点的重要组成部分。

作为企业主,您的支付处理器会产生各种相关费用,包括退款费用、交易费用、租赁费用(如果您使用硬件设备接受付款)等。 但是,这是通过您的业务赚钱的必要费用。

请记住,支付处理器不是一个通用术语,在某些情况下,它与收单方等其他术语一起使用。 但是,重要的是要注意支付处理器与支付网关或商家帐户不同。

支付处理器与商户账户和支付网关

对于接受交易的公司来说,支付处理器只是卡网络中的一个组成部分。 您还需要了解支付网关和商家帐户的作用。 让我们从定义支付网关开始。

支付网关是第三方支付系统、商家账户和信用卡或借记卡公司之间的中间人。 支付网关软件处理传输持卡人信息的技术方面。 如果您没有支付网关,即使您需要的所有其他系统都已就位,您也不会收到客户的付款。

商家帐户是一种特定类型的银行帐户 - 接受借记卡和信用卡付款作为客户和实际银行之间的中间人。 您需要一个商户帐户来接受您网络中其他持卡人客户的付款。

虽然商家账户、支付处理器和支付网关有很大不同,但值得注意的是,它们都错综复杂地联系在一起。 作为企业主,如果您想成功经营您的商店,您将需要访问所有这些东西。

支付网关将负责处理转账过程,而支付处理器对您的交易进行身份验证并确保其安全。 商家帐户是您的银行在将资金支付到企业帐户之前结算资金的地方。

付款处理如何工作?

即使具备信用卡处理技术的基本知识,也很难理解系统如何处理各种支付方式。 支付生态系统通常很混乱,特别是对于处理从 PayPal 在线支付到店内美国运通交易的 POS 解决方案的所有小企业主而言。

如果您仍然不完全确定我们到目前为止提到的事情,请不要担心,这里有一个快速的分步指南,可以让您走上正轨。

  • 首先,客户在您的网站上或亲自完成您的结账流程,将他们的信用卡信息输入相应的终端。 他们可能会使用各种不同的卡,从发现卡到签证卡,具体取决于您的支付系统。
  • 然后,商家将收到的财务信息(包括持卡人详细信息)传输到支付网关。
  • 处理完交易细节后,支付网关会将信息传递给商家使用的第三方支付提供商。
  • 然后,支付处理器通过万事达卡或维萨卡将交易信息传输到卡网络。
  • 卡网络将信息传送到客户的银行,由银行检查是否有足够的资金来完成交易。
  • 系统向卡网络提交响应,突出显示交易是被拒绝还是被批准。
  • 响应通过卡网络,该网络将通知支付处理器是否应进行交易。 处理器将信息传送到支付网关,通知每个人结果。
  • 然后,客户的银行将资金存入商家账户,在那里它们一直存在,直到它们被支付到公司的银行账户中。

在线支付处理怎么样?

对于当今的电子商务公司来说,好消息是在线支付处理遵循与实体流程非常相似的格式。 在此您需要记住的重要一点是,在线处理需要聚合器或商家帐户。 根据您的购物车和您接受的付款方式,可能需要支付一些额外费用。 在线的:

  • 您的客户进行购买并输入他们的卡详细信息
  • 您(商家)提交信用卡交易
  • 您的支付网关发送安全交易的信息
  • 交易、批准和验证过程经过处理器
  • 您客户的银行账户将钱发送给处理者
  • 处理器向网关发送批准/拒绝状态
  • 获得批准后,商家会收到付款

领先的电商平台 喜欢 Shopify 以及 BigCommerce 支持大量支付处理器和网关。 但是,如果您想使用与实体店相同的支付处理器,您可能需要求助于第三方解决方案。 电子商务平台可能并不总是直接支持您的支付处理器。

付款处理成本

尽管支付处理器是经营成功企业的重要组成部分,但它们也是贵公司的一项开支。 定价在很大程度上取决于您与哪个提供商合作,但您经常会发现,根据您希望从支付处理器获得的功能,成本也会增加。 例如,如果你想要更多 ACH付款,或者接受更广泛的货币,那么您需要寻找更专业的解决方案。

为了处理收单银行账户与其他重要的支付处理工具之间的一些重要联系,支付处理商收取各种费用。 这些成本因您的业务需求和您选择的处理器类型而异。 如果您与支付处理器一起访问商家服务,您可能还需要支付各种交换费和金融机构费用。 常见的费用包括:

  • 固定费用:这是使用支付处理器处理支付信息的每月费用。
  • 交易手续费:这些是建立在每笔交易的基础上的。 它们通常基于支付处理公司的加价成本、评估费和交换费。 这些组件确保交易过程中所有合适的人都能获得所需费用的一部分。
  • 附加费用:这些是 Stripe 和 PayPal 等支付处理商可能会产生的额外杂费,例如当卡数据检查显示卡帐户没有正确资金时。

根据您选择的支付处理器,您可能会发现您的服务提供商提供了多种定价模型供您探索。 分层模型通常是最昂贵的,值得注意的是,您为接受信用卡和借记卡付款而支付的金额可能并不完全透明。

更透明的选择是使用交换加定价系统,该系统向您显示您为每笔交易支付的每月固定金额。 请记住,当您需要考虑的不仅仅是预算 选择理想的支付处理器.

在支付处理器中寻找什么

无论您是否觉得支付处理器的处理费用和复杂性令人讨厌,如果您要经营一家成功的企业,您仍然需要这些公司之一。 第三方支付处理器是在线接受信用卡和借记卡支付的重要工具。 但是,在做出正确选择时,需要考虑的不仅仅是成本。 不要忘记:

  • 客户服务:如果支付处理系统出现任何问题,那么您需要尽快从您的提供商那里获取信息。 您的付款处理商应该准备好接听您的电话并与您一起解决棘手的交易问题。
  • 兼容性:如果您已经在使用各种其他形式的软件来经营您的业务,那么您会希望您的支付处理解决方案能够很好地与该技术配合使用。 这包括任何 ERP 系统,以及付款处理结账。
  • PCI 合规性和安全性:您正在处理商店中的客户详细信息,这意味着您有责任确保信息受到保护且安全。 PCI 合规性是每个国家/地区对其零售商的要求。 确保您的处理器完全合规且安全。
  • 欺诈保护:安全的另一个方面是保护您自己和客户免受欺诈。 一些支付处理商的标准内置了帮助打击欺诈的工具。
  • 高度灵活:您的付款处理商应该能够快速处理一系列付款类型,即使您要快速连续进行大量付款。 在开始之前,请确保该公司具有良好的在线评论声誉。

尽管您可能认为如果没有支付网关,您可以避免支付处理器和网关费用,但除了要求银行或电汇之外,没有完全可靠的方式来接受其他人的在线支付。 您的客户需要一种可靠且简单的方式来支付他们想要的东西,而支付处理器提供了这一点。

与您的业务中的任何其他投资一样,为小型企业或初创公司成功选择合适的支付处理器的关键是进行研究。 考虑您的付款选项、您使用的销售点系统以及任何其他可能影响哪种付款处理器适合您的技术。

成为电子商务专家

输入您的电子邮件以开始派对

What is a Payment Processor?

What does payment processor mean?

As the owner of a business, it’s important to understand how your regular transactions really work. Knowing the basics of payment processing helps you to avoid common issues when your clients run into technical difficulties. Unfortunately, most people simply don’t know what kind of technology is involved when it comes to debit card and credit card payments.

Today, we’re going to walk you through the basic details of using a payment processor, payment gateway, and similar tools, so you know exactly how everything works.

What is a Payment Processor?

A payment processor is the company responsible for managing the credit card or debit card transaction process. It acts as a kind of middleman between the consumer bank and the merchant, allowing information to pass back and forth.

Here’s a simple definition of the payment processor:

A company that is authorized in the processing of credit card transactions between sellers and buyers. The payment processor is often the third party and will be appointed by the merchant. There are two types of payment processor; front end and back end.

A front-end processor will have a connection to various card associations and will supply settlement services and authorization to the merchant banks’ merchants. The back end processors are used to accept the settlements from the front end processors, and to move money from the issuing bank to the merchant bank, this process being complete in just a few seconds.

These processors perform many functions such as evaluating whether transactions are valid and approved, using anti-fraud measures to assure that a purchase transaction is initiated by the source it claims to be. Processors are held to standards and regulations organized by credit card associations. These standards include rules regarding fraud, chargebacks, and identity theft.

The Basics of Payment Processors

By communicating between two banking facilities, a payment processor can determine whether there’s enough credit in an account for a transaction to happen. For businesses accepting credit card payments from groups like Mastercard and Visa, a payment processor is an essential part of the digital environment or point of sale.

There are various fees associated with your payment processor as a business owner, including chargeback fees, transaction fees, lease charges if you’re using hardware equipment for accepting payments, and so on. However, this is a necessary expense for making money with your business.

Keep in mind that payment processor isn’t a universal term, and in some cases, it’s used with other terms like acquirer. However, it is important to note that a payment processor is not the same as a payment gateway or a merchant account.

Payment Processors vs Merchant Accounts and Payment Gateways

Payment processors are only one component in the card network for companies accepting transactions. You’ll also need to understand the role of payment gateways and merchant accounts too. Let’s start by defining a payment gateway.

A payment gateway is the middlemen between third-party payment systems, merchant accounts, and the credit card or debit card companies. The software for a payment gateway handles the technical side of transferring cardholder information. If you don’t have a payment gateway, you won’t receive payments from your customers, even when all the other systems you need are in place.

Merchant accounts are a specific kind of bank account – one that accepts debit and credit card payments as a middleman between your customer and your actual bank. You’ll need a merchant account to accept payments from other cardholder customers in your network.

While merchant accounts, payment processors, and payment gateways are quite different, it’s worth noting that they are all intricately connected. As a business owner, you’ll need to have access to all these things if you want to run your store successfully.

The payment gateway will be responsible for handling the transfer process, while the payment processor authenticates your transaction and keeps it secure. The merchant account is where your bank will settle the funds before they pay into the business account.

How Does Payment Processing Work?

Even with a basic knowledge of credit card processing technology, it can be difficult to understand how the system works with various payment methods. The payments ecosystem is often quite confusing, particularly for a small business owner that’s dealing with everything from PayPal for online payments, to POS solutions for in-store American Express transactions.

If you’re still not totally sure about the things we’ve mentioned so far, don’t worry, here’s a quick step by step guide to keep you on track.

  • First, the customer completes your checkout process on your website, or in-person, entering their credit card information into the appropriate terminal. They may use a variety of different cards, from discover to visa, depending on your payment system.
  • The merchant will then transfer the financial information received (including cardholder details) to the payment gateway.
  • After processing the transaction details, the payment gateway will pass the information along to the third-party payment provider the merchant uses.
  • The payment processor then transfers transaction information to the card network via Mastercard or Visa.
  • The card network will transfer information through to the bank of the customer, which checks whether there’s enough funds to complete the transaction.
  • The system submits a response to the card network which highlights whether the transaction was decline or approved.
  • The response goes through to the card network, which will inform the payment processor whether the transaction should take place. The processor moves the information through to the payment gateway, informing everyone of the outcome.
  • Funds are then deposited by the bank of the customer into the merchant account, where they remain until they are paid into the company’s bank account.

What About Online Payment Processing?

The good news for today’s ecommerce companies is that payment processing online follows a very similar format to the brick-and-mortar process. The important thing you’ll need to remember here is that processing online requires an aggregator or merchant account. There may be some extra fees to pay depending on your shopping cart and which payment methods you accept. Online:

  • Your customer makes a purchase and enters their card details
  • You (the merchant) submit a credit card transaction
  • Your payment gateway sends the information of the secure transaction
  • The transaction, approval, and verification process go through the processor
  • Your customer’s bank account sends the money to the processor
  • The processor sends the gateway an approved/ denied status
  • When approved, the merchant receives a payment

Leading ecommerce platforms like Shopify and BigCommerce support a host of payment processors and gateways. If you want to use the same payment processor you would use with your brick-and-mortar store, however, you may need to resort to a third-party solution. Your payment processor may not always be supported by an ecommerce platform directly.

Payment Processing Costs

Although payment processors are an essential part of running a successful business, they’re also an expense for your company. Pricing depends largely on which provider you work with, but you’ll often find that the cost also increases depending on the features you want from your payment processor. For instance, if you want more ACH payments, or a wider range of currencies to be accepted, then you’ll need to look for a more specialist solution.

To handle some of the important connections between acquiring bank accounts, and other important tools for payment processing, a payment processor charges a variety of fees. These costs differ depending on your business needs and the kind of processor you choose. You may also need to pay various interchange rates, and financial institution costs if you’re accessing merchant services alongside your payment processor. Common fees include:

  • Flat fees: This is the monthly cost of using a payment processor to process payment information.
  • Transaction fees: These are built on a per-transaction basis. They’re usually based on a payment processing company markup cost, the assessment fee, and the interchange fee. These components ensure that all the right people in the transaction journey get a portion of the required fees.
  • Additional fees: These are additional incidental fees that might happen with payment processors like Stripe and PayPal, such as when a card data check reveals that a card account doesn’t have the right funds.

Depending on the payment processor you choose, you might find that your service provider offers a variety of pricing models to explore. Tiered models are usually the most expensive, and it’s worth noting that the amount you pay to accept credit and debit card payments might not be entirely transparent.

The more transparent option would be to use the interchange plus pricing system, which shows you a flat monthly amount that you pay on each transaction. Keep in mind that there’s more to consider than budget alone when you’re choosing the ideal payment processor.

What to Look for in a Payment Processor

Whether you find the processing fees and complexity of payment processors annoying or not, you still need one of these companies if you’re going to run a successful business. A third-party payment processor is an essential tool for accepting credit and debit card payments online. However, there’s more to think about than just the cost when making the right choice. Don’t forget:

  • Customer service: If anything goes wrong with a payment processing system, then you need to get information from your provider as quickly as possible. Your payment processor should be ready to answer your call and sort through difficult transactional issues with you.
  • Compatibility: If you’re already using various other forms of software to run your business, then you’ll want your payment processing solution to work well with that technology. This includes any ERP systems, as well as payment processing checkouts.
  • PCI compliance and security: You’re dealing with customer details on your store, which means it’s up to you to ensure that the information remains protected and safe. PCI compliance is something that every country demands of its retailers. Make sure that your processor is fully compliant and secure.
  • Fraud protection: Another aspect of security is protecting yourself and customers from fraud. Some payment processors have tools to help fight against fraud built-in as standard.
  • Flexibility: Your payment processor should be able to handle a range of payment types quickly, even if you’re taking lots of payments in rapid succession. Make sure that the company has a good online review reputation before you get started.

Although you might think that you can avoid payment processor and gateway fees if you go without  a payment gateway, there’s no fully reliable way to accept payments online from others, aside from asking for a bank or wire transfer. Your customers need a reliable and simple way to pay for the things they want, and a payment processor provides that.

Like any other investment in your business, the key to successfully choosing the right payment processor for small businesses or startups, is doing your research. Consider your payment options, the point-of-sale system you use, and any other technology that may affect which payment processor is right for you.

Become an ecommerce expert

Enter your email to get the party started