什么是ACH付款?

ACH付款意味着什么?

首先,ACH是一个首字母缩写词 自动清算所。 通常,这是一种支付服务,它控制和超越其他电子支付交易。 从实际角度来看,您可以成为与通过无纸化交易支付商品和服务的客户打交道的商家。

比如说,偿还贷款,或直接支付工资单上的所有员工。 自动银行汇票和转账同样使用此方法。

在许多无限多样的交易中,ACH支付被认为是完美无缺的。 ACH更像是一个金融机构与另一个金融机构之间的电子资金转账(EFT),作为比其他方法更好的替代方案。

相应地,它是通过电汇,信用卡或其他情况现金将资金从一个银行账户转账到另一个银行账户的渠道。 作为清除电子支付的一种手段,与纸质支票相比,ACH被认为是清除银行机构待决交易的安全快速媒介。 对于后者,您可能需要忍受邮件服务的缓慢步伐。

那么主要使用ACH付款的确切位置是什么?

我们来看一下。

首先, 对于需要以电子方式支付账单的个人来说,ACH是一种需要的偏好。 同样,如果您想从客户那里收取单笔或定期付款,这种方法会派上用场。

如果你看到这个术语反映在你今后的银行对账单上,那么你现在已经看到了它意味着什么,这听起来应该不再奇怪。

ACH的借记和贷记交易都非常简单。 由于所有交易都是电子的,客户必须签发正式的同意书作为程序 发起付款.

在此之前,必须向原始机构或公司提供此授权,以便扣除一定数量的资金。 根据交易的性质,您可能需要签署官方授权表。 作为另一种选择,您可以通过电话交谈向必要的权威机构表示同意。

然而,ACH支付交易并不像购买商品和服务时直接通过信用卡和借记卡进行交易。 授权过程未实时验证。

截至目前,ACH支付有两个主要版本。

  • 直接ACH存款- 通过直接ACH存款交易,商业实体,消费者或其他机构可以通过安全的ACH支付处理器向其银行账户或其供应商汇款 Dwolla, Venmo or PayPal。 另一个例子是他们想通过向员工的银行账户汇款来结算工资单。
  • 直接ACH付款 - 这与上述术语完全相反。 个人和企业实体不是向其他账户汇款,而是从其他账户中提取资金。 以你的为例 Netflix订阅。 上一个计划到期后,公司会自动从您的银行帐户中提取资金。

从表面上看,ACH的基本含义对于任何一个门外汉来说都是完全合理的。 事实上,您需要考虑的金融市场中有许多重要的术语。

所以这里是ACH支付流程中使用的简短术语目录;

清算所

在银行业,这是批准支付交易的金融机构。 通常,ACH网络使用两个结算所; 美联储和清算所,作为使用ACH模型的所有金融机构之间的中间人。

自动化

简而言之,这意味着所有付款都会自动处理。 换句话说,没有涉及手动输入。 一旦您注册ACH支付交易,计算机就会启动。

NACHA

以前称为 国家自动化信息交换机构协会,它是一个管理ACH网络正在进行的所有交易的机构。 由于发生了数十亿的交易; 从B2B付款,电子账单支付等等,本机构通过预设的法律框架管理所有交易。

该法律机构行使其对银行机构的监督权, 商家帐户提供商,以及金融市场的所有其他利益相关者。

ODFI

嗯,缩写代表 原始存款金融机构 这主要在银行交易中提及。 它的作用是充当美联储基础设施或ACH系统与特定交易的发起者之间的中间人。 它具有检查通过ACH支付系统进行的所有交易是否符合实践规则和条例的法律权力。

通常,已获准在保护区存款的金融机构(发起人)通常被认为是ACH系统的成员。 这些银行总是在为客户的利益行事时开始所有交易。 如果你深入挖掘,你会发现对外直接投资的运作方式有严格的安全标准,比检查系统高出一个档次。

鼻祖

这句话在银行业中具有多重含义。 它最常用于指与抵押贷款机构合作或联系的抵押贷款银行家,该银行拥有抵押贷款设施,以资助借款人的透视购买。

在其他情况下,发起人最好被描述为金融机构,其形象性地保留通过将抵押品出售给另一方来促进抵押的权利,而另一方又与借款人协商条款。 值得注意的是,创始人可以是个人(私人房地产开发商/独资经营者)或公司。

RFDI

这代表Receiving Financial Depository Institution。 收款银行个人贷记账户持有人的账户。 在这种情况下,接收者将是雇员或记者。

那么ACH Payments如何运作?

如果账单有网站,发起人可能需要登录(通过用户名和密码),以完成客户身份验证过程。 这是通过ACH网络从您的帐户启动借记交易的第一步。 不言而喻,电子传输付款是一种安全,快速和安全的方式,可以将资金转移给另一个账户持有人。

一旦始发存托金融机构(ODFI)获得发起人的绝对同意,这将生效。 如果没有请求,ACH付款将无法获得授权。 作为标准做法,ACH交易通常在一到两个工作日内到期

让我们用一个真实的插图。

PayPal 最适合作为在这种情况下使用的完美示例。 作为客户,您首先需要查看发送给您的账单。 因此,我们假设您已正确填写结算信息。 一旦付款计划在特定日期结算,商家的网站就会使用 Payflow网关 并将准确的信息发送给PayPal。

为此,PayPal处理数据并根据客户的授权创建确切的预定付款日期。 因此,PayPal对ACH支付信息进行排序,并使用加密(端到端)支持的连接将其转发给ODFI进行审查。 问题是这些信息严格按照客户指定的具体日期发送。

一旦ODFI处理了所有细节,它就会以电子方式将其转发给美联储。 ACH网络将此请求分享给客户的银行。

所以这就是钱转手的地方......

美联储继续以审议的金额和客户约定的日期向ODFI提供信贷。 该金额与ACH系统以借记交易形式存入的金额相同。 然后,对外直接投资将根据从客户的信用卡或借记卡账户通过ACH系统发送的授权条款借记这笔确切的金额。

回到我们的插图。

PayPal 然后,他们有权加快对商家,账单或零售商账户的下属交易; 最适合你的。 如果预设付款日期已成熟,则此交易将账单中的账户记入发票金额。 客户将定期(每月)收到全面的银行对账单,其中显示每个ACH发起的交易的日期,时间和性质。

使用PayPal作为计费平台的商家也是如此。 PayPal的仪表板显示了客户之前每笔付款的简明准确报告。 以同样的方式,ODFI跟踪所有付款。

哪些是主流ACH支付处理器?

嗯,当然, PayPal 将进入我们的候选名单。 不是说这是一些联盟炒作,可以这么说。 这笔交易是,使用这款ACH处理器,您不会遇到任何重大缺陷。 它是一个包罗万象的工具,速度快但加工费用低。 由于我即将列出其中的一些等价物,我相信它会在各个方面均匀化。

使用这种软件,您可以轻松地以简单的方式完成这些其他任务;

  • 您可以选择首选付款方式。 无论是ACH交易,国际电汇,信用卡还是借记卡,您都可以为其命名。
  • 对于商家来说,令人高兴的消息是,从这一点来看,您可以选择最合适的方法来获得客户的付款。
  • 它适合移动设备。 它在iOS和Android设备上都具有惊人的响应能力。
  • 它通常遵循会计规则,相应地按“应付款”和“应收款”对您的资金进行分类。

那有什么选择呢?

Bill.Com

对于那些不知道的人, 法案 是一个同样令人印象深刻的支付处理器,自动执行通过ACH系统的所有交易。 它可以帮助您按时发送发票或付款。 关于这个特定的ACH导向系统最好的部分是它与会计应用程序集成 的Quickbooks, Xero的, Sage Intacct神谕, 仅举几个。 大部分都是,一切都完全是无纸化的。 真的可以节省您的时间。

的Skrill

的Skrill 具有与PayPal相同的费率。 您可以在Skrill帐户中添加银行帐户,但需经过预授权 借方和ACH的条款和条件。 在这里设置您的帐户非常简单。

该软件可帮助您通过ACH系统进行银行转账。 由于您的Skrill账户与您的信用卡或借记卡详细信息同步,因此进行电子转账非常可行。 与...一样 法案,这个ACH支付处理器非常精通并且能胜任这项任务。

条纹

这个支付处理器有巨大的设置标记在旁边。 随着喜欢 Lyft, WooCommerce, Xero的Shopify 同步到这个处理器, 条纹 基本上是 合适的ACH替代方案,以纳入您未来的交易.

Stripe允许用户访问用户友好的仪表板,他们可以将他们的银行帐户链接到ACH付款。 它有 条款和服务 这是确保任何授权请求的任务。

ACH付款与信用卡和借记卡与纸张支票和电汇

根据事实,ACH更具弹性,能够优化您的金融交易。 它是一个卓越的渠道,它超越了信用卡和借记卡的安全性,同时通过OFDI传输所有授权更新。 由于它与公认的法律框架保持联系,因此它具有处理批量交易的能力。

因此,与信用卡相比,它的处理费无疑会更低。 借助借记卡,它们同样以与ACH系统相同的方式从支票账户中提取资金,但是,由于它们在卡网络上运行,因此它们收取与信用卡相同的费用。

通过电汇选项,差异就在于此。

实际上,电汇是一种ETF,用于小额支付。 它们的处理时间总是实时的,不像ACH那样对不同层中的事务进行排序,然后通过相应的预定时间将它们发送给它们进行处理。 电汇进行每笔交易的处理。

ACH支付的缺点是什么?

人们往往会选择ACH,因为它在很多方面都很方便。 有充分理由说明为什么消费者和企业都应该使用ACH系统。 它的一些好处是;

  • 它的处理时间更快
  • 降低加工费。 对于接受客户信用卡和借记卡的供应商,ACH可以为您节省一些钱。
  • 这是经常性账单的理想渠道。 这带来了新的灵活性。 不再需要削减支票来支付你的会费。 您可以自动执行事务,只需单击按钮即可处理所有事务。 除此之外,它还是需要自动付款的消费者的理想选择,这样他们就不会超过截止日期。
  • 对于客户而言,它为他们提供了一个自动计费平台 提供基于订阅的服务的商家可以使用ACH处理器,例如 Dwolla or Chargebee.
  • 它是支票和信用卡交易的绝佳替代品。
  • 所有交易都是无纸化的。 这提升了 保安 对于客户和商家。付款是直接的,不包括任何第三方。 特别是关于支票的交易破坏者,他们很容易签名伪造。 另一方面,信用卡可能被盗。 ACH支付处理的好处是它在双方之间的交易获得批准之前执行和端到端的认证过程。 作为安全措施,提示客户确认接收付款的商家的数量和细节。
  • 抵御各种人为错误和差异。
  • 该系统对于具有远程工作人员或大量员工的公司和业务实体而言是灵活的。
  • 银行更加注重通过纸质支票识别ACH支付。
  • 它是无法访问信用卡的消费者的理想选择。

和缺点?

  • 您的银行帐户凭据对公司开放
  • 大公司的学习曲线有点模糊
  • 对于企业主,您必须设置预防措施以避免任何形式的欺诈

ACH Payments对我来说是一个完美的解决方案吗?

如果您经营的业务接受全球客户的付款,您可能需要使用自动化解决方案。 只要您倾向于最适用,ACH付款方式将满足您的需求 商家帐户。 就此而言,我指的是价格低且安全措施严格的一种。

通常,大多数普遍的服务提供商收取介于两者之间的固定费率 $0.20$1.50 每笔交易。 在其他情况下,支付处理器收取两者之间的百分比费用 0.51.5%。 按照这些费率,你肯定知道在哪里放置你的赌注。

对于高风险交易的商家,利率可能因此超出平均水平。 如果我有的话,我会这样做 重新计费 客户或 开支 一样。 如果您的业务是客户群,而不太信任信用卡和借记卡,那么请不要再犹豫了。 ACH是通过其高端安全技术处理所有交易的正确渠道。

事实上,银行通常更喜欢这种方法,这是一种最安全,最不屈不挠的方法,可以为各种商品和客户提供大量资金,同时为商家和顾客提供保护。

对所有客户而言,最重要的是它 ACH付款完全免费,对商家而言对预算友好。 最重要的是,它是一个通道,可以极大地降低您的交易遭受欺诈性尝试的机会。

成为电子商务专家

输入您的电子邮件以开始派对

What are ACH Payments?

What do ACH payments mean?

To start with, ACH is an acronym which stands for Automated Clearing House. Typically, this is a payment service which controls and transcends over other electronic payments transactions. From a practical standpoint, you could be a merchant dealing with customers who pay for goods and services via paperless transactions.

Say, for instance, loan repayment, or making direct payments to all the employees on your payroll. Automatic bank drafts and transfers equally use this method.

ACH payments are highly regarded as faultless and reliable in a number of limitless and diverse transactions. ACH is more of an electronic funds transfer (EFT) between one financial institution to another which serves as a better alternative over other methods.

Correspondingly, it's a channel to transfer money from one bank account to another, either via wire transfer, credit cards, or in other instances, cash. As a means to clear electronic payments, ACH is considered as a secure and fast medium to clear pending transactions in banking institutions in contrast to paper checks. With the latter, you might need to bear with the sluggish pace of the mailing services.

So where exactly are ACH payments predominantly used?

Let's have a look.

Primarily, ACH is a needful preference for individuals who need to pay their bills electronically. In the same effect, it's a method which comes in handy if you want to collect single or recurring payments from customers.

If you see this term reflecting on your bank statements henceforth, it shouldn't sound strange anymore now that you've got the glimpse of what it means.

Both debit and credit transactions on ACH are pretty much straightforward. Bearing that fact that all transactions are electronic, the customer must issue a formal consent as a procedure to initiate the payment.

Before anything else, this authorization must be given to the originating institution or corporation in order to debit a certain amount of money. Depending on the nature of your transactions, you might be required to sign an official authorization form. As another option, you can give your assent via a phone conversation to the requisite authorities.

The ACH payments transactions are, however, not as instantaneous as those made via credit and debit cards directly while shopping for goods and services. The authorization process is not verified in real-time.

As of now, there are two major versions of ACH payments.

  • Direct ACH Deposit– With direct ACH deposit transactions, business entities, consumers, or other establishments can send money to their bank accounts or to their suppliers via secure ACH payment processors like Dwolla, Venmo or PayPal. Another instance is when they want to settle their payroll by sending money to their employees' bank accounts.
  • Direct ACH Payment– This is the complete opposite of the above term. Instead of sending money to other accounts, individuals and business entities draw funds from other accounts. Take, for instance, your Netflix subscription. The company automatically pulls money from your bank account once the preceding plan expires.

On the face of it, the basic meaning of what ACH is makes perfect sense to any layman. The fact is, there are lots of weighty terminologies in the financial markets that you need to contemplate.

So here's a brief directory of terms used in the ACH payments process;

Clearing House

In banking, this is the financial institution which approves payment transactions. Ordinarily, the ACH network uses two clearinghouses; the Federal Reserve and the Clearing House which acts as an intermediary between all financial establishments that use the ACH model.

Automated

Simply put, it means that all payments are processed automatically. In other words, there are no manual entries involved. The computers take the wheel once you sign up for the ACH payments transactions.

NACHA

Formerly known as the National Automated Clearinghouse Association, it's a body which governs all transactions being carried out by the ACH network. Since there are billions worth of transactions taking place; from B2B payments, electronic bill payments, and much more, this body regulates all the transactions via a preset legal framework.

This legal body exercises its supervisory powers over banking institutions, merchants account providers, and all other stakeholders in the financial markets.

ODFI 

Well, the acronym stands for Originating Depository Financial Institution which is mostly mentioned in banking transactions. What it does is it acts as an intermediary between the Federal Reserve infrastructure or the ACH system, and the originator of a particular transaction. It has legal powers to check whether all transactions made via the ACH payments system comply with the rules and regulations of practice.

Customarily, the financial institutions(originators) that have been granted the warrant to make depositories at the Reserve are generally recognized as members of the ACH system. These banks always commence all transactions while acting for the sake of their clients. If you dig deeper, you'll realize that OFDI's mode of operation has rigorous security standards which are a notch higher than those of the checks system.

Originator

This phrase has multibranched meanings in the banking industry. It's most commonly used to mean a mortgage banker who works with or liaises with the bank that has a mortgage facility to finance the borrowers perspective purchase.

In other instances, an originator is best described as the financial institution which figuratively, reserves the right to facilitate the mortgage by selling it to another party, which in turn, negotiates the terms with the borrower. It's worth noting that an Originator can either be an individual (private real estate developer/ sole proprietor) or corporation.

RFDI

This stands for Receiving Financial Depository Institution. It's the receiving bank which personally credits the account holder's account. The receiver, in this context, will be the employee or biller.

So how do ACH Payments work?

If the biller has a website, the Originator may need to login in (via a username and password), to complete the customer authentication process. It's the first baby step to initiate a debit transaction from your account through the ACH network. Goes without saying that, the electronic transmission of payments is a safe, quick and secure way to transfer funds to another account holder.

This takes effect once the Originating Depository Financial Institution(ODFI)  has absolute consent from the Originator. In absence of a request, the ACH payment can't be authorized. As standard practice, ACH transactions usually mature within one or two business days

Let's use a real illustration.

PayPal serves best as a perfect example to use in this context. As a customer, you'll definitely need to first, review a bill sent to you.  So let's assume you've correctly filled the billing information. Once payment has been scheduled to be settled on a specific date, the merchant's website uses the Payflow gateway and sends precise information to PayPal.

From this end, PayPal processes the data and creates an exact scheduled payment date as authorized by the customer. As a result, PayPal sorts the ACH payment information and uses an encrypted(end-to-end) backed connection to forward the same to ODFI for scrutiny. The catch is this information is sent strictly on the specific date which a customer specifies.

Once the ODFI processes all the details, it electronically forwards it to the Federal Reserve. The ACH network shares this request to the customer's bank.

So this is where money changes hands…

The Federal Reserve moves on to credit the ODFI with the deliberated amount and on the client's agreed date.  The amount is the same as that which the ACH system deposits in the form of a debit transaction. The OFDI will then debit this exact amount as per the authorization terms sent to through the ACH system from the client's credit or debit card account.

Back to our illustration.

PayPal will then have a right to expedite a subordinate transaction to the merchant's, biller's or retailer's account; whichever relates to you best. This transaction credits the biller's account with the invoiced amount if the preset payment date has matured. The customer will receive comprehensive banks statement on a periodic basis(monthly) which shows the date, time and the nature of each ACH initiated transaction.

The same goes for merchants who use PayPal as a billing platform. PayPal's dashboard shows concise and accurate reports of each previous payments from customers.  In the same manner, the ODFI keeps track of all the payments.

Which are the mainstream ACH Payment Processors?

Well, of course, PayPal will make it to our shortlist. Not that this is some affiliate hype, so to speak. The deal is, with this ACH processor, you'll not face any major shortfalls. It's an all-inclusive tool which is fast yet has low processing fees. Since I'm about to list down a few of its equivalent, I believe it will even out all corners.

With such kind of software, you can easily do these other tasks in an oversimplified manner;

  • You can choose your preferred payment method. Be it ACH transactions, International wire transfers, credit, and debit cards, you name it.
  • For merchants, the pleasing news is that, from this single point, you can pick your most suitable method to get paid by customers.
  • It's mobile-friendly. It's strikingly responsive on both iOS and Android devices.
  • It routinely follows the accounting rules by sorting your funds by ‘Payables' and ‘Receivables', accordingly.

So what are the alternatives?

Bill.Com

For those who don't know, Bill is an equally impressive payment processor which is automated to carry out all transactions via the ACH system. It helps you send invoices or make a payment on time. The best part about this particular ACH oriented system is that it integrates with accounting apps like Quickbooks, Xero, Sage Intacct, and Oracle, just to name a few. Most of it all, everything is entirely paperless. Really saves you on time.

Skrill

Skrill has the same rates as those of PayPal. You can add your bank account on your Skrill account, subject to the pre-authorized debits and ACH's terms and conditions. It's pretty easy to set up your account here.

This software helps you make bank transfers in the amount which you dictate via the ACH system. Making an electronic transfer is quite feasible since your Skrill account is in sync with your credit or debit card details. Same as Bill, this ACH payment processor is quite proficient and up to the task.

Stripe

This payment processor has huge setups tagged alongside it. With the likes of Lyft, WooCommerce, Xero, and Shopify syncing to this processor, Stripe is basically, a suitable ACH alternative to incorporate in your future transactions.

Stripe gives its users access to a user-friendly dashboard where they can link their bank accounts to ACH payments. It has terms and services which are up to the task in securing any authorization request.

ACH Payments Vs Credit & Debit Cards Vs Paper Checks Vs Wire Transfer

Based on facts, the ACH is more resilient and well built to optimize your financial transactions. It's a pre-eminent channel which surpasses both credit and debit cards' security while transmitting all the authorization updates via the OFDI. Since it sort of liaises with a recognized legal framework, it has a capacity to handle bulk transactions.

For this reason, it's processing fees will unquestionably, be lower as compared to credit cards. With debit cards, they similarly draw money from the checking accounts in the same manner as the ACH system, however, since they operate on the card network, they charge the same fees as credit cards.

With the wire-transfer option, here comes the difference.

Practically, wire transfer is a type of ETF which is used for small volume payments. Their processing time is always in real-time, unlike ACH which sorts the transactions in different tiers then later sends them for processing via the respective scheduled time. Wire transfer does the processing per individual transaction.

What are the Cons of ACH payments?

More often than not, people go for ACH since it's sort of convenient in a number of ways. There are justifiable grounds why consumers and businesses, alike, should use the ACH system. Some of its benefits are;

  • It has a quicker processing time
  • Lower processing fees. For vendors who accept credit and debit cards from customers, ACH can save you some bucks.
  • It's an ideal channel for recurring bills. This brings a new breed of flexibility. No more cutting checks to pay your dues every now and then. You can automate your transactions to get everything handled at the click of a button. Otherwise stated, It's ideal for consumers who need to automate their payments so that they don't skip their due dates.
  • For customers, it gives them an automated billing platform. A merchant who offers subscription-based services can use an ACH processor such as Dwolla or Chargebee.
  • It's a pretty solid alternative to checks and credit card transactions.
  • All transactions are paperless. This elevates the security for both customers and merchants.ACH payments are direct and don't include any third parties.  The deal-breaker about checks, in particular, is that they're prone to signature forgery. Credit cards, on the other hand, can be stolen. The bright side with ACH payment processing is that it carries out and end-to-end authentication process before a  transaction between two parties is approved. As a security measure, the customer is prompted to confirm the amount and details of the merchant receiving the payment.
  • Fends off all sorts of human errors and discrepancies.
  • This system is flexible for corporations and business entities with remote workers or a large pool of employees.
  • Banks put more focus on recognizing ACH payments over paper checks.
  • It's ideal for consumers who can't have access to credit cards.

And the Cons?

  • Your bank account credentials are open to companies
  • The learning curve for big corporations is a bit blurry
  • For business owners, you must set precautionary measures to avoid any form of fraud

Is ACH Payments a perfect solution for me?

If you run a business which accepts payments from customers globally, you might need to work with an automated solution. The ACH payments method will suit your needs so long as you're inclined to the most applicable Merchant account. By that, I mean one which comes with low rates and has stringent security measures.

Ordinarily, most prevalent service providers charge a flat rate which lies anywhere between $0.20 to $1.50 per transaction. In other instances, the payment processors charge a percentage fee of between 0.5 to 1.5%. Going by these rates, you'll definitely know where to place your stakes.

For merchants with high-risk transactions, the rates could consequently go beyond the average. I'd make this my preference if I have reccuring billing customers or expenses alike. If your business is that of a customer base which doesn't put much faith in credit and debit cards, then look no further. ACH is the right channel to process all transactions by virtue of its high-end security technique.

As a matter of fact, banks often prefer this as the safest and most indomitable method to move large amounts of money and at the same time, create protection for both merchants and customers while making all sorts of settlements.

To all customers, the best part of it all is that ACH payments are absolutely free and fairly budget-friendly for merchants. Most imperatively, it's a channel which tremendously reduces the chances of your transactions from being exposed to fraudulent attempts.

Become an ecommerce expert

Enter your email to get the party started