什么是付款服务提供商?

如果您正在阅读本文,那么您很有可能已经在考虑开展业务。 您可能看了几篇有关电子商务的文章,发现如果您想采用在线支付方式,则需要正确的工具。

首先,诸如“支付服务提供商”或“支付网关”之类的术语可能会使初学者感到困惑。 当许多人似乎不知道商人帐户或支付服务提供商(两个独立的实体)之间的区别时,尤其如此。

今天,我们将为您提供真正开始在线使用信用卡和借记卡的帮助。 我们将定义什么是支付服务提供商,它如何帮助您处理不同的支付方式,等等。 让我们开始吧。

支付服务提供商:定义

支付服务提供商(PSP)为商家提供从信用卡,数字钱包等中进行电子支付所需的支持。 PayPal和Stripe都是付款服务提供商的类型。

支付服务提供商也可能被称为第三方支付处理公司。 但是,请务必注意,付款提供商和商家帐户不是同一个人。 传统商家帐户为商家提供了自己的帐户,而PSP在一个保护伞下将各种不同的商家组合在一起。 这意味着PSP承担与之相关的每项业务的全部财务风险。

支付服务提供商可以使商人受益,因为它使从签证,万事达卡和其他帐户访问付款变得更加容易。 此策略还可以减少通常与商家帐户相关的费用。

支付服务提供商是什么意思?

促进和帮助商家接受付款的第三方,也称为商家服务提供商或PSP。 在网上购物中,PSP将提供各种支付方式,包括直接借记,银行转账,使用网上银行的实时银行转账和信用卡。 基本上,他们将所有内容整合在一起,以允许商家接受信用卡,并以无缝方式进行,使整个过程对客户透明,对商家无压力。

PSP可以连接到多个收单银行以及支付和卡网络。 通过注册PSP的服务,商人可以减少对金融机构进行交易管理的依赖,因为PSP可以管理银行帐户以及与外部网络的关系。

支付服务提供商与商家帐户

支付服务提供商在处理帐户方面与商家帐户的最大不同。 使用PSP,集合,组或商人中有许多用户。 另一方面,商家帐户提供商会为每个卖方提供自己的个人帐户。 使用商家帐户模型,每个商家的审核过程也更加彻底。

商户帐户在其他方面也不同于支付服务提供商。 商家帐户非常专注于付款处理。 另一方面,第三方处理器可以为公司提供更完整的解决方案。 除了支付处理器外,您还可以访问诸如结帐工具和硬件之类的东西。

通过支付服务提供商进行卡支付的好处是,您通常不需要为安全支付额外费用。 您的帐户中已经可以使用PCI合规之类的功能。

支付服务提供商相对于商家服务的另一个重要好处是,您购买了整个工具平台。 收单方通过PSP获得的支持通常在处理付款处理方面更为全面。 像Square之类的工具 Shopify和Stripe等都包含发票工具和报告功能。

这些解决方案中还有许多提供了独特的网关,使人们更容易开始在线销售。 Square和PayPal用户可以轻松地从美国运通卡和其他付款方式进行付款,同时还可以从其付款解决方案中提供欺诈保护和忠诚度选项。

无需在预算和销售点上花费太多预算的企业肯定可以从支付服务提供商中受益。 但是,如果您需要从头开始的帮助,则不会获得很多支持。

使用支付服务提供商的问题

从PCI DSS到在线交易的其他附加功能,使用PSP处理支付卡服务有很多好处。 但是,PSP也有缺点。 例如,您没有大量的客户服务来帮助您进行在线交易。 如果您有任何直接的银行问题,则可以与开证行进行交易。 但是,没有很多方法可以从PSP获得帮助。

某些付款系统确实提供了技术资源,因此您可以找到自己的答案,例如有关全球付款或拒付的问题。 但是,您的聚合器将无法为您提供帮助。 可能需要在Google上进行大量搜索。

另一方面,通过商家帐户,您的信用卡处理功能确实获得了更多支持。 由于商家帐户旨在支持单个用户,因此您将获得大量的自定义支持。

PSP的另一个缺点是获得帐户非常容易。 尽管听起来不错,您可以立即设置一个帐户,但这也意味着,如果出现问题,您可能会突然取消或冻结您的帐户,这有较高的风险。 您使用商家帐户进行的额外审核过程可能看起来很烦人,但这增加了您掌握帐户顶部的机会。

商户帐户的某些变化会给您带来疑问的好处。 另一方面,对于付款服务提供商来说,如果您突然更改了一笔大笔的信用卡交易,或者其他使您看起来可疑的事情,您的帐户通常会立即被冻结。 由于出了什么问题,周围没有多少人可以帮助您,所以您只能独自奋斗。

一旦您的帐户被冻结,就有可能需要等待数周才能再次正确设置所有内容。

支付服务提供商要花多少钱?

使用在线支付服务提供商时,许多企业主首先要考虑的一件事是该帐户的成本。 此时,事情可能会变得棘手,因为针对您的企业的最佳解决方案可能与您认识的任何其他企业主的解决方案都不相同。 费用将取决于您的公司规模,您需要处理的平均交易等。

考虑到每笔交易的价格,业务量,合规性费用,硬件成本等因素时,商家帐户或PSP的价格有时会不利于您。 商家帐户的定价结构也需要提及。

大多数付款服务提供商使用统一费率结构进行定价。 基本上,这可以确保您为每笔交易支付相同的金额,而不管卡的类型如何。 无需担心月费,交易成本或通常不存在的其他成本也无济于事。

在某些情况下,可以采用简单的策略从每笔交易中扣除交易价格,以帮助小企业主管理费用。 大批量业务还受益于支付服务提供商的统一费率定价结构。

与使用基本商家帐户相关的费用通常很难理解。 这就是为什么业务主管需要大量时间来正确阅读其服务条款和条件的原因。

使用商家帐户,您可能需要支付以下结构的费用:

  • 互换加:基本上,这意味着您的付款处理器会向您提供卡网络的交换费以及少量加价。
  • 订阅价格:使用此策略,商户按月支付其使用商户帐户的会员资格的费用。 交易也需要支付少量费用。 此费用通常是固定费用,因此更容易计划。
  • 分层定价:此处的交易通常分为不合格和合格的类别,合格交易的成本较低。 此模型通常简化了付款处理,并导致商家从长远角度上支付更多款项。

除了基本成本外,定价结构还可以考虑其他额外费用,例如,为了确保支付系统安全而遵守PCI的费用,以及对帐单费用。 如果您是一家小型公司,没有很多钱可花,那么与付款服务提供商合作时,通常会获得便宜得多的体验。 另一方面,如果您每个月在公司赚很多钱,并且想要一些额外的支持,那么商家帐户提供商可能是更好的选择。

卡网价格如何

与合适的付款服务提供商建立业务时,您还需要考虑另一项费用。 卡品牌网络充当发行银行和服务提供商之间的中间人。 有信用卡协会和无PIN卡网络可供考虑。

每个需要接受信用卡和借记卡付款的企业都将需要一种服务来处理这些付款。 其中一些连接需要额外的第三方支付网关,这会导致更高的费用。 支付网关提供了销售点系统和平台之间的连接点。 另一方面,网关为希望访问适合他们的支付处理器的企业提供连接。

对于商店内和在线的各种业务配置,网关是适当的选择。 支付服务通常嵌入更全面的服务选择中。 一些电子商务网站的平台提供程序还为您要使用的付款处理器提供支持。

也有独立的销售组织与付款提供商合作处理商家关系。 这些公司转售来自付款处理方和服务提供商的服务和产品。 ISO还从签约商人的加工商那里获得佣金。

另一种选择是与增值经销商合作,该增值经销商与一个或多个付款处理器合作以向商家提供服务。 VAR提供额外的功能来补充付款处理选项,例如销售点硬件,库存管理等。

最后,银行在您的系统总费用中也起着一定的作用。 发行银行将向您的消费者提供信用卡或借记卡。 此外,收单行还为商人处理贷记和借记付款。 您需要使用您的商家帐户或通过付款服务提供商与收单银行签订合同。

与付款服务提供商的合同期限

在评估付款接受选项时,您可能需要考虑的另一件事是您需要在支付服务提供商处停留多长时间。 如果您在其他地方找到更好的选择,则被捆绑在特定交易上可能会使您难以改变策略。

从好的方面来说,有了付款服务提供商,您通常会获得按需付费的体验。 如果您决定要取消服务,则无需担心任何额外费用。 另一方面,如果您选择商家帐户,那么要摆脱不再想要的关系将变得更加困难。

尽管行业在不断发展,越来越多的商家帐户为企业提供了更大的发展和每月支付的自由,但是如果您为长期帐户付款,则确实会获得折扣。 帐户的年度合同和其他昂贵的期满或终止费用意味着您在尝试建立成功的业务时需要考虑更多的财务问题。 确保您不要匆忙进行比较绝对是个好主意。

检查您所在行业的情况,并确保您知道哪些公司可以长期为您提供最佳成本。 如果您仍然是一个相对较新的业务,并且不确定您的需求将以多快的速度变化,则按月定价结构可能是最适合您的。 如果您发现其他地方更负担得起的东西,则采用这种方法将使您能够切换帐户。

使用支付服务提供商的利与弊

有很多原因使您可能更倾向于使用PSP而不是商家帐户。 支付服务提供商比同行更灵活。 对于小型企业,您可以自由更改服务,并探索各种可用的选择。 即付即用定价也意味着您不会陷入任何困境。

与支付服务提供商相关联的许多受欢迎程度来自以下事实:您以低成本获得了很多便利。 支付服务提供商非常适合成长中的公司和小型企业。 您将获得付款安全之类的东西,并且各种高级工具都内置在您的包装中。 这意味着您可以轻松找到所需的内容。

此外,请记住,支付服务提供商非常适合快速启动并运行。 您可以填写申请表并几乎立即开始接受付款。 没有令人担心的令人恐惧的合同,也没有可能无法接受您的承销过程。 此外,尽管如今商家帐户提供商为企业提供了更多选择,但他们仍然没有让您轻松涉足这一领域。

那么,为什么任何人都不会获得PSP帐户?

好吧,也有一些缺点。 如上所述,支付服务提供商是第三方处理器。 采用这种销售方式存在一定的风险。 例如。 开设帐户很容易,因此,如果您购买的商品开始发生变化,有人会取消您的帐户的风险更大。

支付服务处理器的另一种常见合规性是,您的帐户始终存在发生风险的风险,您将无法获得所需的支持以使自己重回正轨。 当您注册此类帐户时,您需要了解,您的帐户可能会被冻结或终止,几乎没有任何警告。

尽管有些人可以与您联系,以了解发生了什么事情,但是通常需要一段时间才能获得所欠的钱。

您应该使用付款服务提供商吗?

因此,谁应该选择支付服务提供商。

让我们弄清一些事实。

优点:

  • 更容易为初学者设置
  • 每月付款意味着您可以保持较低的成本
  • 当您不确定长期需要什么时,灵活性极佳
  • 公司内置许多标准功能
  • 卓越的易用性和成长性
  • 一般需要减少的费用
  • 有限交易费
  • 非常适合在线和离线使用信用卡付款

缺点:

  • 对初学者的客户支持不多
  • 可能会有冻结或取消帐户的风险
  • 专业指导较少

对于特定类型的企业主而言,支付服务提供商可能是正确的选择。 在开始之前,您需要仔细考虑要完成的业务。 如果您想要一种灵活且价格合理的商品来开始在线销售,那么付款服务提供商很可能会吸引您。

对于那些大批量销售并希望将成本保持在最低水平的客户来说,支付服务提供商也是一个不错的选择。 但是,如果您经营着更大的业务,并且需要更多指导,那么商家帐户可能是适合您的正确方法。

成为电子商务专家

输入您的电子邮件以开始派对

What is a Payment Service Provider?

If you’re reading this, there’s a good chance you’re already thinking about launching a business. You might have looked up a few articles on ecommerce and discovered that if you want to take online payment methods, you need the right tools.

At first, terms like “payment service provider”, or “payment gateway” can be confusing for beginners. This is particularly true when many people don’t seem to know the difference between a merchant account, or a payment service provider – two separate entities.

Today, we’re going to deliver the help you really need to start taking credit and debit cards online. We’ll be defining what a payment service provider is, how it helps you to process different payment methods, and more. Let’s get started.

Payment Service Providers: A Definition

A payment service provider, or PSP, offers merchants the support they need to access electronic payments, from credit cards, digital wallets, and more. PayPal and Stripe are both types of payment service provider.

A payment service provider might also be referred to as a third-party payment processing company. However, it’s important to note that a payment provider and a merchant account aren’t the same thing. While traditional merchant account gives merchants their own account, a PSP combines a variety of different merchants under a single umbrella. This means that PSPs take on the complete financial risk of every business it connects with.

Payment service providers can be beneficial to merchants because it makes accessing payments from visa, Mastercard, and other accounts easier. This strategy also reduces the fees commonly associated with merchant accounts.

What does payment service provider mean?

A third party that facilitates and helps merchants in the accepting of payments, also known as a Merchant Services Provider or PSP. In online shopping, the PSP will provide various methods of payment including direct debit, bank transfer, real-time bank transfers using online banking, and credit card. Basically they bring everything together to allow a merchant to accept credit cards, and do so in a seamless fashion that makes the entire process transparent to customers and stress-free for merchants.

A PSP can connect to multiple acquiring banks as well as payment and card networks. By enlisting the services of a PSP, the merchant becomes less dependent on financial institutions to manage transactions, since the PSP can manage bank accounts as well as relationships with the external network.

Payment Service Provider vs Merchant Accounts

A payment service provider differs most from a merchant account in the way that it handles accounts. With a PSP, there are a number of users in a collection or group or merchants. On the other hand, a merchant account provider gives every seller their own individual accounts. The vetting process for each merchant is also more thorough with merchant account models.

Merchant accounts also differ from payment service providers in other ways. Merchant accounts are very concentrated on payment processing. A third-party processor, on the other hand, can provide a more complete solution for companies. As well as a payment processor, you might be able to access things like checkout tools, and hardware.

The good thing about taking card payments through a payment service provider is that you generally don’t need to pay extra fees for security. Things like PCI compliance are already available within your account.

Another big bonus of payment service providers over merchant services is that you buy an entire platform of tools. The support that an acquirer gets with a PSP is often much more comprehensive for handling payment processing. Tools like Square, Shopify, and Stripe all include invoicing tools and reporting features, for instance.

There’s also a unique gateway available with many of these solutions that make it easier for people to start selling online. Square and PayPal users could easily take payments from American express and other payment options, while also offering things like fraud protection and loyalty options from their payment solution.

Businesses without much of a budget to spend on their accounts and point of sale can definitely benefit from a payment service provider. However, you won’t get a lot of support if you need help starting from scratch.

Issues with Using Payment Service Providers

There are a lot of benefits to using a PSP to handle payment card services, from PCI DSS to other extra features for online transactions. However, there are downsides to a PSP too. For instance, you don’t get a great deal of customer service to help with your online transactions. You can deal with an issuing bank if you have any direct bank issues. However, there aren’t a lot of ways to get help from your PSP.

Some payment systems do provide technical resources so you can find your own answers to questions about global payments or chargeback for instance. However, your aggregator won’t be as available to help you. There may be a need to do a lot of searching on Google.

On the other hand, with a merchant account, you do get a lot more support with your credit card processing features. Because merchant accounts are designed to support individual users, you get a great deal of custom support.

Another downside for a PSP is how easy it is to get an account. Although it might sound great that you can set up an account immediately, this also means that you have a higher risk of someone suddenly cancelling or freezing your account if something goes wrong. The extra vetting process that you’re subject to with a merchant account might seem annoying, but it boosts your chances of staying on top of your account.

Merchant accounts give you the benefit of the doubt with something changes in your account. On the other hand, with a payment service provider, if you suddenly change a huge credit card transaction, or something else makes you seem suspicious, your account will often be frozen instantly. Since there aren’t as many people around to help you if something goes wrong, you’re left to struggle alone.

There’s a risk that once your account is frozen, you might have to wait weeks before you can get everything properly set up again.

How Much Does a Payment Service Provider Cost?

One of the first things that many business owners will look at when using online payment service providers, is how much the account is going to cost. Things can get tricky at this point, as the best solution for your business might not be the same as it is for any other business owner that you know. The fees will depend on the size of your company, the average transactions you need to handle, and so on.

The pricing of a merchant account or PSP can sometimes go against you when you consider things like price per transaction, business volume, compliance fees, hardware costs, and so on. The pricing structure of the merchant account also needs mentioning.

Most payment service providers use a flat rate structure for pricing. Basically, this ensures that you pay the same amount for every transaction, no matter what the card type might be. There’s no monthly fee to worry about, and other costs beyond transaction costs or usually non-existent too.

In some cases, the prices of transactions are deducted from each transaction in a simple strategy to help small business owners manage expenses. High volume businesses also benefit from the flat—rate pricing structure of a payment service provider.

The costs that are often associated with using a basic merchant account can be a lot harder to understand. This is why it takes a lot of time for business leaders to properly read through the terms and conditions of their services.

With a merchant account, you may need to pay for the following structures:

  • Interchange-plus: This basically means that your payment processor delivers the interchange fees of the card networks to you, along with a small markup.
  • Subscription pricing: With this strategy, merchants pay a monthly fee for their membership with the merchant account. There’s also another small fee to pay with transactions too. This cost often comes at a flat rate, so it’s easier to plan.
  • Tiered pricing: Transactions here are often grouped into non-qualified and qualified categories, with qualified transactions costing less. This model often simplifies payment processing and leads to merchants paying more in the long-term.

Aside from the basic costs, pricing structures can also come with other extra fees to think about, such as costs for PCI compliance to keep your payment system secure, and fees for statements. If you’re a smaller company without a lot of money to spend, you’ll usually get a much cheaper experience when you’re working with a payment service provider. On the other hand, if you’re making a lot of cash every month with your company and you want some extra support, then a merchant account provider might be the better choice.

What About Prices for Card Networks

There’s another cost you’ll need to think about when you’re setting up your business with the right payment provider. Card brand networks act as a middleman between an issuing bank and service provider. There are credit card associations, and PIN-less card networks to consider.

Every business which needs to accept credit and debit cards for payment will need a service for processing those payments. Some of these connections require extra third-party payment gateways that lead to greater fees. Payment gateways offer a point of connection between point of sale systems and platforms. Gateways, on the other hand, offer connectivity for businesses that want to access the payment processor that’s right for them.

Gateways are an appropriate option for a wide array of business configurations in-store and online. Payment services are often embedded in more comprehensive service choices. Some platform providers for ecommerce sites also give you support for the payment processor that you want to use.

There are also independent sales organizations that work with payment providers to handle merchant relationships. These companies resell services and products from payment processors, and service providers. ISOs also receive commission from processors which they sign up merchants for.

Another option is to work with a value-added reseller which works in partnership with one or more payment processors to deliver services to merchants. VARs offer extra features that complement payment processing options like point of sale hardware, inventory management, and so on.

Finally, banks also play a part in the overall expense of your system. The issuing bank will deliver credit or debit card to your consumers. Additionally, acquiring banks handle credit and debit payments for merchants. You’ll need to enter a contract with an acquiring bank with your merchant account, or through a payment service provider.

Contract Lengths with Payment Service Providers

Another thing that you might need to consider when you’re evaluating your payment acceptance options, is how long you need to stay with a payment service provider. Being tied into a specific deal can make it difficult to change your strategy if you find a better option elsewhere.

On the plus side, with a payment service provider, you’ll usually get a pay-as-you—go experience. There’s no extra fee to worry about if you decide that you want to cancel your service. On the other hand, if you choose a merchant account, then it’s a lot tougher to get out of a relationship that you no longer want to be in.

Although the industry is evolving and more merchant accounts are giving businesses a lot more freedom to evolve and pay on a monthly basis, you do get a discount if you pay for long-term accounts. Annual contracts and other expensive ending or termination fees for your accounts will mean that you have more financial worries to consider when you’re trying to build a successful business. It’s definitely a good idea to make sure that you don’t rush through your comparisons.

Examine what’s going on in your industry, and make sure that you know which companies can give you the best costs in the long-term. If you’re still a relatively new business and you’re not sure how quickly your needs are going to change, a monthly pricing structure might be best for you. Taking this approach will allow you to switch accounts if you find something that might be more affordable elsewhere.

The Pros and Cons of Using a Payment Service Provider

There are a lot of reasons why you might prefer to use a PSP over a merchant accounts. Payment service providers are a lot more flexible than their counterparts. For smaller businesses, you’ll have the freedom to change your services at will and explore the various options that might be available to you. Pay as you go pricing also means that you’re not stuck into anything.

A lot of the popularity associated with payment service providers comes from the fact that you get a lot of convenience for a low cost. Payment service providers are great for growing companies and smaller businesses. You get things like payment security, and various advanced tools all built into your package. That means that you can find what you need easily.

Additionally, remember that payment service providers are great for getting you up and running fast. You can fill out an application and begin accepting payments almost immediately. There are no intimidating contracts to worry about, or underwriting processes where you might not be accepted. Additionally, although merchant account providers are giving businesses more options today, they still don’t make it as easy to get your foot in the door.

So, why would anyone not get a PSP account?

Well, there are some downsides too. As mentioned above, a payment service provider is a third-party processor. There are some risks with taking this approach to selling. For instance. It’s easy to open an account, so there’s also more of a risk that someone will cancel your account if something about your purchases begin to change.

Another common compliant with a payment service processor is that there’s always a risk that something will happen with your account and you’ll be unable to get the support you need to get back on track. When you’re signing up for this kind of account, you need to understand that your account might be frozen or terminated almost without warning.

Although there are people you can get in touch with to find out what’s going on, it often takes a while before you can get the money that you’re owed.

Should You Use a Payment Service Provider?

So, who should choose a payment service provider.

Let’s run down some of the facts.

Pros:

  • Easier to get set up for beginners
  • Monthly payments mean you can keep your costs low
  • Excellent for flexibility when you’re not sure what you need long-term
  • Lots of extra features built in as standard for companies
  • Excellent for ease of use and growth
  • Fewer fees to worry about in general
  • Limited transaction fees
  • Great for credit card payments online and offline

Cons:

  • Not as much customer support for beginners
  • Could risk frozen or cancelled accounts
  • Less specialist guidance

Payment service providers are likely to be the right option for a specific kind of business owner. You need to think carefully about what you want to accomplish with your business before you get started. A payment service provider is more likely to appeal to you if you want something that’s flexible and affordable to get you started with selling online.

Payment service providers are also a good choice for those who are selling large volumes and want to keep costs as low as possible. However, if you are running a bigger business and you need more guidance, then a merchant account might be the right way forward for you.

Become an ecommerce expert

Enter your email to get the party started