什么是直接面向消费者?

直接面向消费者的意义

如果您通过此页面上的链接订阅服务,Reeves and Sons Limited 可能会赚取佣金。 查看我们的 伦理声明.

越来越多的消费品牌开始专注于直接面向消费者销售,以减少中间商并最大限度地提高利润率。 许多经营包装消费品 (CPG) 的制造商和消费品牌现在直接进入市场,而不是依赖中间商或分销商。

随着社交媒体等多种渠道的引入直接面向消费者进行营销,许多公司已经开始直接面向消费者进行营销。 Warby Parker、Dollar Shave Club 和 Casper 等流行的 d2c 品牌已经优化了他们的供应链,以应对消费者日益增长的需求,而不是仅仅供应给零售商。

电子商务的兴起在该行业的演变和这种商业模式的兴起方面发挥了极其重要的作用。 随着亚马逊等企业的兴起,许多公司发现将商品直接运送给消费者很容易。

什么是直接面向消费者?

直接面向消费者是一种依赖于通过电子商务平台直接向消费​​者销售产品的商业模式。 若干 startup Glossier 和 Bonobos 等企业和其他 DTC 品牌已经证明了它的有效性。

通过放弃向批发商销售的传统途径,DTC 允许公司最大化其利润率。 随着电子商务和第三方物流供应商的兴起,许多企业已经设法摆脱传统制造业,转而更加专注于扩大客户群。

互联网的兴起极大地促进了直接面向消费者的商业模式的发展。 现在只需按一下按钮,就可以从很远的地方运送货物。 消费者可以搜索目录并在线下订单。

随着竞争的加剧,企业开始加大力度改善客户体验,以留住忠实的追随者。 开发了专门的营销策略来增加忠实客户的数量,对于想要推销新产品或只是发展旧产品的消费者公司来说,客户获取和客户保留等指标变得越来越重要。

直接面向消费者模式的优势

直接面向消费者的模式有利有弊,任何希望转向这种模式的公司都需要仔细评估其需求。 以下是从传统零售转向 D2C 模式的主要优势。

您拥有客户数据

切换到此模型的最大优势之一是您拥有有关最终客户的所有数据。 这有助于公司根据客户的喜好优化客户体验。 从价格波动的影响到用户在线行为,您的公司将拥有所有数据。

这有助于建立更好的客户关系并培养忠诚度。 许多 d2c 公司优化他们的营销工作,为他们的客户打造个性化的产品。 即使是像沃尔玛这样拥有数百家零售店和数千条产品线的商业巨头,现在也采用了多渠道营销方法来获取尽可能多的数据。

这些数据通常掌握在中间商手中。 但是,通过建立直接关系,公司能够全面了解其目标人群。

利润率上升

可以说,转向直接面向消费者模式的最大好处是,企业能够收取更低的价格,同时仍能最大限度地提高利润率。 向中间商销售的制造商通常以较低的价格出售。

中间商保留一部分利润并处理分销,然后传统零售商加价,最终进一步提高产品价格。 在大多数情况下,尽管制造商自己制造产品,但制造商获得的份额最低。

但是,通过排除所有第三方,企业能够降低成本,因为他们不必担心向分销商或批发企业付款。 他们可以收取更少的费用,同时仍然保持更高的盈利能力。额外的收入可以再投资于增加营销工作或产品创新。

增强客户参与度

D2C 公司能够通过社交媒体或其他渠道与客户进行一对一的联系。 通过倾听他们的抱怨、建议和意见,企业能够培养客户忠诚度。

那是因为这些公司可以自主控制其营销的每个要素。 这包括品牌推广、促销活动、公司的整体基调及其精神。

通过采用全渠道营销方法,企业能够通过多种途径吸引客户。 他们不必担心第三方分销商开展的活动会影响他们的形象。

耐克等全球品牌也慢慢开始转向直接面向消费者的模式。 耐克以其创新的营销活动而闻名,该公司能够通过密切评估最终消费者的反馈来制作这些活动。

通过严格控制他们的营销和品牌,该公司能够保持良好的声誉。

另一个例子是一家剃须刀公司 Harry's,它筹集了 375.2 亿美元的风险投资,最终以 1.37 亿美元的价格将该品牌出售给了 Big Razor。 Harry's 遵循 D2C 商业模式,它的销售证明了企业如何通过密切关注客户的需求来取得成功。

直接面向消费者模式的缺点

企业需要考虑直接面向消费者模式的一些缺点。

上升比赛

越来越多的企业现在正在进入 D2C 领域。 其中许多都在争夺同一类型的客户,因此您可以期待许多本土品牌争夺市场份额。 转化率等指标变得越来越重要,因为它们突出了企业根据营销支出的表现。

建立供应链

如果您决定直接向客户发货,您将负责管理供应链的各个方面。 对于向分销商供货的传统制造商而言,这意味着建立供应链或外包给第三方履行公司。 以下是您必须关注的一些关键要素:

  • 接单
  • 处理货件
  • 订单跟踪
  • 创建 支付网关
  • 客户支援

直接面向消费者模型的主要元素

企业需要了解直接面向消费者模型的几个关键要素。

直接面向消费者营销

直接面向消费者的营销通常涉及有针对性的活动,以提高品牌忠诚度并吸引新客户。 D2C 营销的主要重点在于跨多个渠道建立品牌标识并保持一致的方法。

例如,品牌可以通过社交媒体渠道(如 Instagram、 Twitter,和脸书。 他们还可以在平台上使用视频营销,例如 Twitter 和脸书。 网红营销也变得非常流行,帮助品牌在特定地区推广他们的商品。

它也更实惠,尤其是在 TikTok 等新兴平台上。 例如,一个品牌可以通过与在该市受欢迎的影响者合作来定位纽约的客户。

通过直接面向消费者的营销,品牌必须专注于在所有平台上创建和调整他们的信息。 这样,当客户在网上或小广告牌上偶然发现您的广告时,他们会立即认出该品牌。

为了实现这一目标,企业在很大程度上依赖于收集和分析有关其目标市场的数据。 它允许他们针对特定的目标受众定制他们的信息。 通过分析客户数据,企业能够提出触及特定痛点并提供解决方案的营销活动。 最终,此类活动比一般活动产生更好的结果。

直接面向消费者的广告

直接面向消费者的广告主要侧重于针对公司最终消费者而非分销商的营销工作。 企业必须使用全渠道营销方法来使用印刷或数字媒体做广告。

广告主要涉及使用电视、广播、社交和各种其他形式的媒体。 可以说,最常见的直接面向消费者的广告形式是医疗服务和医药产品。

例如,许多制药公司直接向消费​​者销售他们的药品。 如果顾客有处方,他们可以自己拿药。 因此,制药企业的许多 DTC 活动都专注于发起医生和患者之间的讨论。

DTC 广告主要有以下三种类型:

  • 求助广告:这些广告提供有关特定医疗状况的信息,并推荐患者向医生寻求医疗帮助。 此类广告未指定任何产品。
  • 产品声明:这些广告突出显示特定产品、其有效性和任何副作用。 这是制药行业最流行的 DTC 广告形式。
  • 提醒广告:此类广告只是简单地谈论特定产品,但不做任何声明。

必须仔细规划直接面向消费者的广告,因为如果提出毫无根据的索赔,可能会使公司承担责任。

直接面向消费者的网站示例

有许多流行品牌彻底改变了 D2C 格局。 以下是一些流行的直接面向消费者的网站示例。

美元剃须俱乐部

Dollar Shave Club 出售剃须刀和其他个人卫生用品。 他们用一个小视频推出了自己的电子商务品牌,并立即走红。 Dollar Shave Club 提供了一个订阅套餐divi必须每月补充剃须用品的双胞胎。

他们的网站是一个很好的例子,说明该企业如何通过剃须刀之类的简单事物来激发访问者的兴趣。 他们还采取了非常精简的广告方式,重点关注男性人口,而不是接触科技出版物。

Warby帕克

Warby Parker 是一家眼镜制造商,他们的网站是正确完成 D2C 广告的典范。 该公司还采取了与其他品牌不同的销售方式:他们将多双鞋运送给客户进行试穿。 一旦您喜欢一对,您就可以将其他人送回他们的商店。

他们的登陆页面非常干净和简约,展示了几副眼镜,让您可以一键访问商店。

卡斯帕尔

Casper 销售床垫,该公司知道如何将其做得非常好。 他们明白,大多数买家都对可供选择的众多选择感到不知所措:硬质、软质、半软质、凝胶、泡沫、弹簧等。

相反,该公司完全取消了选择,提供了一个完美的选择。 这一举措自动将 Casper 与传统的床垫销售商区分开来。 他们还与有影响力的人密切合作,以推广他们的产品。

直接面向消费者的商业模式

随着越来越多的人能够访问互联网,直接面向消费者的商业模式已成为大多数企业的绝佳选择。 传统上不得不依赖分销商和批发商来运送货物的企业现在可以创建自己的供应链,或与第三方物流公司合作运送库存。

这使他们能够将货物直接运送给客户。 然而,直接面向消费者的商业模式也增加了企业的责任和支出。 您的公司将负责管理销售流程的每一步,从客户下订单到交货。

直销显然有其优势,因为它可以让您优化和改善整个平台的客户旅程和体验,但它也有一些缺点。 企业将负责设计营销活动并致力于生产客户需要的商品或服务。

他们还必须密切评估电子商务平台上的指标,以确定客户如何与他们的产品互动。 重要指标,如 购物车放弃率 必须跟踪以确定客户选择不购买的原因。

底线

正如许多顶级品牌所证明的那样,如果做得好,直接面向企业消费者的模式可以带来难以置信的利润。 采用直接面向消费者的商业模式的最大好处之一是它可以让企业变得更加敏捷。 他们可以听取反馈并采取相应的措施,而不必担心说服分销商和其他第三方。

如果做得好,直接面向消费者的商业模式可能会为您的企业带来意外的收入。

What is Direct-to-Consumer?

Direct to consumer meaning

More and more consumer brands are focusing on selling direct-to-consumer in order to cut out the middlemen and maximize their profit margins. Plenty of manufacturers and consumer brands that deal in consumer packaged goods (CPG) are now entering the markets directly instead of relying on middlemen or distributors.

WIth the introduction of multiple channels such as social media for marketing directly to consumers, many companies have begun marketing directly to their consumers. Popular d2c brands like Warby Parker, Dollar Shave Club, and Casper have optimized their supply chains to handle increased demand from consumers instead of solely supplying to retailers.

The rise of ecommerce has played an incredibly important role in how the industry has evolved and the rise of this business model. With the rise of businesses like Amazon, a number of companies have found it easy to ship their goods directly to their consumers.

What is Direct to Consumer?

Direct-to-consumer is a business model that relies on selling products directly to consumers through an ecommerce platform. A number of startup businesses and other DTC brands such as Glossier and Bonobos have shown just how effective it can be.

By foregoing the traditional route of selling to wholesalers, DTC allows companies to maximize their profit margins. WIth the rise of ecommerce and third-party logistics providers, a number of businesses have managed to pivot away from traditional manufacturing and instead begun to focus more on expanding their customer base.

The rise of the Internet contributed heavily to the growth of the direct-to-consumer business model. Goods that had to be shipped from far away were now available at the press of a button. Consumers could search through catalogues and place orders online.

As competition increased, businesses began putting more effort into improving customer experience to retain their loyal followers. Dedicated marketing strategies were developed to boost the number of loyal customers, and metrics like customer acquisition and customer retention became increasingly important for consumer companies that wanted to pitch a new product, or simply grow an old one.

Advantages of the Direct-to-Consumer Model

The direct-to-consumer model has its pros and cons, and any company looking to switch to such a model needs to evaluate its needs carefully. Here are the main advantages of moving away from traditional retail in favor of a D2C model.

You Own Customer Data

One of the biggest advantages of switching to this model is that you own all the data about your end customer. This helps companies optimize the customer experience according to the preferences of their customers. From the effects of fluctuations in pricing to user behavior online, your company will own all the data.

This helps in building better customer relationships and foster loyalty. Many d2c companies optimize their marketing efforts to build personalized offerings for their customers. Even commercial behemoths like Walmart, who have hundreds of retail stores and thousands of product lines have now adopted a multichannel marketing approach to capture as much data as possible.

This data would normally be in the hands of middlemen. But, by building direct relationships, companies are able to gain comprehensive insights into their target demographic.

A Rise in Profit Margins

Arguably the biggest benefit of switching to a direct-to-consumer model is that businesses are able to charge lower prices, while still maximizing their profit margins. Manufacturers that sell to middlemen usually do so at a lower rate.

The middleman keeps a cut of the profits and handles distribution, and traditional retailers then tack on a markup, which ultimately increases the price of the product even more. The manufacturer, in most cases, gets the lowest share, despite manufacturing the product itself.

But, by cutting out all third parties, businesses are able to reduce their costs, as they don’t have to worry about making payments to distributors or wholesale businesses. They can charge less, while still maintaining higher profitability.. The additional income can be reinvested into increased marketing efforts or product innovation.

Enhanced Customer Engagement

D2C companies are able to connect with their customers one-on-one through social media or other channels. By listening to their complaints, suggestions, and input, businesses are able to foster customer loyalty.

That’s because such companies have autonomous control over every element of their marketing. This includes branding, promotional campaigns, the overall tone of the company, and its ethos.

By adopting an omnichannel marketing approach, businesses are able to engage customers through multiple avenues. They don’t have to worry about third-party distributors running a campaign that affects their image.

Global brands such as Nike have also slowly begun to shift towards the direct-to-consumer model. Nike is known for its innovative marketing campaigns, and the company is able to produce those by closely evaluating feedback from their end consumer.

By keeping a tight control of their marketing and branding, the company is able to maintain a strong reputation.

Another example is of a shaving company, Harry’s, raised $375.2 million in venture capital, and ended up selling the brand to Big Razor for $1.37 billion. Harry’s followed a D2C business model, and its sale proves how businesses can achieve success by focusing closely on their customers’ needs.

Disadvantages of the Direct-to-Consumer Model

There are also a few disadvantages of the direct-to-consumer model that businesses need to consider.

Rising Competition

A rising number of businesses are now moving into the D2C arena. Many of these are vying for the same type of customer, so you can expect many native brands vying for market share. Metrics like the conversion rate become increasingly important as they highlight how a business is performing based on their marketing spend.

Establishing a Supply Chain

If you decide to ship directly to your customer, you will be responsible for managing every aspect of the supply chain. For traditional manufacturers who supply to distributors, this means building a supply chain or outsourcing to a third-party fulfillment company. Here are some of the key elements that you will have to focus on:

  • Order taking
  • Processing shipments
  • Order tracking
  • Creating a payment gateway
  • Customer support

The Main Elements of the Direct to Consumer Model

There are several key elements of the direct to consumer model that businesses need to understand.

Direct to Consumer Marketing

Direct to consumer marketing generally involves targeted campaigns to increase brand loyalty and to attract new customers. The primary focus on D2C marketing lies on building a brand identity across multiple channels and maintaining a consistent approach.

For instance, brands can market their products across social media channels such as Instagram, Twitter, and Facebook. They can also use video marketing on platforms like Twitter and Facebook. Influencer marketing is also becoming quite popular, helping brands promote their goods in specific regions.

It’s also considerably more affordable, especially on rising platforms like TikTok. For example, a brand could target customers in New York by collaborating with an influencer who is popular in the city.

With direct to consumer marketing, brands have to focus on creating and aligning their message across all platforms. This way, when a customer stumbles across your advertisements online or on a small billboard, they will instantly recognize the brand.

To achieve this, businesses rely heavily on collecting and analyzing data about their target market. It allows them to tailor their message to a specific target audience. By analyzing customer data, businesses are able to come up with marketing campaigns that touch on specific pain points and provide solutions. Ultimately, such campaigns yield better results than generic ones.

Direct to Consumer Advertising

Direct to consumer advertising primarily focuses on marketing efforts that target a company’s end consumer instead of a distributor. Businesses must use an omnichannel marketing approach to advertise using either print or digital media.

Advertising primarily involves the use of TV, radio, social, and various other forms of media. Arguably the most common form of direct to consumer advertising is of medicinal services and pharmaceutical products.

For instance, a number of pharmaceutical companies market their medicines directly to the consumer. If a customer has a prescription, they can get the medicine by themselves. As a result, many DTC campaigns by pharmaceutical businesses are focused on initiating a discussion between the doctor and the patient.

There are three main types of DTC advertising:

  • Help-seeking ads: these ads provide information about specific medical conditions, and recommend patients to seek medical assistance from a doctor. Such ads do not specify any product.
  • Product claims: These ads highlight a specific product, its effectiveness, and any side effects. This is the most prevalent form of DTC advertising in the pharmaceutical industry.
  • Reminder ads: Such ads simply talk about specific products, but do not make any claims.

Direct to consumer advertising must be planned carefully, as it could expose the company to liability in case unfounded claims are made.

Direct to Consumer Website Examples

There are a number of popular brands that have completely changed the D2C landscape. Here are some popular direct to consumer website examples.

The Dollar Shave Club

The Dollar Shave Club sells razors and other personal hygiene goods. They launched their ecommerce brand with a small video, and it immediately went viral. The Dollar Shave Club offered a subscription package for individuals who had to replenish their shaving supplies every month.

Their website is a fantastic example of how the business managed to excite visitors about a simple thing as razors. They also took a very streamlined approach to advertising, focusing heavily on their male demographic instead of reaching out to tech publications.

Warby Parker

Warby Parker is an eyeglass manufacturer, and their website is a prime example of D2C advertising done right. The company also took a different approach to sales than other brands: they ship multiple pairs to their customers to try on. Once you like a pair, you can send the others back to their store.

Their landing page is incredibly clean and minimalistic, showcasing several eyeglasses and allowing you to visit the store in one click.

Casper

Casper sells mattresses, and the company knows how to do it really well. They understand that most buyers get overwhelmed with the plethora of options available to them: hard, soft, semi-soft, gel, foam, spring, etc.

Instead, the company removes choice altogether, offering a single perfect-for-all option. This move automatically differentiates Casper from traditional mattress sellers. They also work closely with influencers in order to promote their products.

Direct to Consumer Business Model

As more and more people are able to access the Internet, the direct to consumer business model has become an excellent choice for most businesses. Businesses that had to traditionally rely on distributors and wholesalers to move their goods around can now create their own supply chains, or partner with third-party logistics companies to ship their inventory.

This allows them to ship goods straight to their customers. However, the direct to consumer business model also increases responsibility and spending for the business. Your company will be responsible for managing every step of the sales process, from the moment a customer places an order till the time it’s delivered.

Going direct obviously has its advantages, as it allows you to optimize and improve the customer journey and experience across the platform, but it also has a few downsides. Businesses will be responsible for designing marketing campaigns and working on producing goods or services that their customers demand.

They also have to closely evaluate the metrics on their ecommerce platform to determine how customers engage with their products. Important metrics like the shopping cart abandonment rate must be tracked to determine why customers choose not to buy.

The Bottom Line

As proven by a number of top brands, the direct to business consumer model can be incredibly profitable when done right. One of the biggest benefits of adopting a direct to consumer business model is that it allows businesses to become more agile. They can listen to feedback and adopt accordingly instead of having to worry about convincing distributors and other third-parties.

If done right, a direct to consumer business model could result in a windfall of revenue for your business.

Become an ecommerce expert

Enter your email to get the party started