什么是订阅计费?

如果您通过此页面上的链接订阅服务,Reeves and Sons Limited 可能会赚取佣金。 查看我们的 伦理声明.

我们都遇到过一种或另一种形式的订阅计费。 从 Netflix 和亚马逊等大公司到较小的公司,订阅计费成为各行各业公司越来越受欢迎的选择。 

事实上,据预测,今年超过一半的软件收入将来自订阅。 虽然亚马逊 Prime 引领潮流 150 百万用户, 80% 的软件公司现在提供基于订阅的产品。

为什么订阅计费如此受欢迎?

答案很简单: 客户是 更有可能与公司长期合作。 以 Spotify 为例; 每月有超过 95% 的客户坚持使用流媒体服务。 最重要的是,企业可以更好地预测和更可靠地产生收入。 

有了这么多的福利和越来越受欢迎,可以肯定地说 订阅计费软件 在这里留下来。 话虽如此,让我们讨论一下您需要了解的有关订阅计费的信息。

什么是订阅计费?

订阅计费是指公司在 经常性结算 循环。 例如,客户通常支付月费或年费来访问他们想要的产品或服务。 对于许多人来说,这种计费安排提供了一种比支付大量前期成本更易于管理的财务安排。

因此,简而言之,订阅是企业与客户之间的合同,客户在设定的时间段内收到所需的商品,他们为使用服务/产品的持续时间付费。 如所讨论的,付款通常遵循每月或每年的时间表。 

通常,他们会在客户订阅开始时选择订阅的时间和频率。 

另一方面,对于企业而言,收入是根据一位客户随时间支付的金额计算的。 因此,产品或服务的定价基于客户的生命周期价值 (LTV)。 您可以查看我们的 订阅计费计算器在这里.

有鉴于此,主要提供基于订阅的产品的企业往往专注于留住而不是获取客户——因为这是确保健康利润(至少在长期内)的原因。 

然后,客户可以选择在约定的时间过去后续订。 这就是为什么基于订阅的企业需要确保与客户建立健康、长期的关系。 不用说,这是确保稳定收入的关键。 

将我们刚才所说的放在上下文中,订阅模式的最早示例之一是报纸/杂志订阅。 但是,随着 SaaS 产品的兴起,例如:

  • 网站建设者
  • 数字营销平台
  • 流媒体服务

等等,正如我们已经暗示的那样,客户需要长期使用产品,越来越多的技术/软件领域的企业正在利用这种商业模式来产生经常性收入。

订阅计费类型

虽然一般来说,订阅计费的前提保持不变,但订阅的性质会因行业和企业而异。 例如,一些公司可能会发货 实物产品,例如食品、服装或美容订阅框。 而其他公司(通常在技术领域)可能会授予客户以订阅方式访问其软件产品的权限,例如 Dropbox、Apple Cloud、Google Drive 等。

也就是说,下面我们列出了一些最常见的订阅计费类型:

固定使用订阅 

有了这个 订阅类型,客户在给定的时间范围内为一定数量的产品或服务支付固定价格。 通常,客户需要预先付费以定期接收产品或服务。 

典型例子包括:

  • 杂志订阅 
  • 食品盒

无限使用订阅 

在这里,客户支付固定的常规价格以无限次使用约定的服务或产品。 然后,客户可以在给定的时间内尽可能多地或尽可能少地使用产品/服务。 

示例可能包括:

  • 互联网订阅 
  • 健身房订阅 
  • 电话订阅 

现收现付订阅 

使用现收现付,客户只需为他们所用的时间长度付费 wish 订阅产品或服务。 这为客户提供了不承诺的选项,因为他们没有被锁定在合同中,因此可以随时取消。 

典型的例子可能包括:

  • 美容产品盒 
  • 娱乐通行证

免费增值订阅 

许多软件和基于云的服务提供免费增值订阅。 在这里,客户可以免费访问某些内容。 但是,这些套餐通常构成更广泛的分层定价结构的一部分,客户可以在其中升级他们的计划以获得更多优惠。

例如:

  • 音乐服务提供商
  • 电子商务平台
  • 电邮营销服务

订阅计费的优缺点

与大多数事情一样,订阅计费模式也有好处 缺点。 也就是说,让我们仔细看看这些是什么: 

优势

  • 产生可预测的收入: 正如我们已经说过的,订阅计费模式可以帮助企业产生稳定的收入流。 定期订阅尤其如此,因为它们使公司能够准确预测其财务状况。
  • 获得客户忠诚度: 当客户购买基于订阅的产品/服务时,公司有机会更多地了解他们的客户、驱动他们的因素、他们为什么使用他们的服务、他们的人口统计数据等。这些信息反过来又可以用来培养与客户建立更稳固和更持久的关系。 自然,客户继续订阅您的产品/服务的时间越长,他们对您的品牌的信任度就越高,因此,您就越有机会追加销售和交叉销售不同的产品或服务。
  • 方便: 提供不同的订阅模式为客户提供了选择支付方式和时间的便利,这可以为吸引新客户创造奇迹。 
  • 价值: 当他们可以支付更实惠的每月付款时,为什么购物者会选择一笔巨额付款?

综上所述,订阅计费的主要好处如下:

  • 可预测的收入
  • 更好的客户参与度
  • 为客户提供更多便利和灵活性
  • 以客户为中心的模式
  • 从长远来看,企业获得更多收入的潜力

缺点 

在检查了订阅计费的好处之后,让我们看看它的缺点:

  • 订阅模式不适合: 这是一个常见的场景:如果企业严重依赖少数客户来产生收入,那么当客户取消订阅时会发生什么? 这对于初创企业来说尤其重要。 虽然订阅可以使收入更可预测,但当公司尚未建立自己时,可取消模式的灵活性似乎存在风险。 尽管订阅很受欢迎,但在某些情况下,取消率很高。 实际上, 超过三分之一 在不到三个月的时间内取消,在六个月内取消一半以上。 不用说,如果您刚刚开始,这是值得牢记的。 
  • 它不会为客户增加价值: 订阅计费的主要好处是它为客户提供的便利性和可负担性。 无需支付高额预付费用的承诺是一个有吸引力的选择。 但是,订阅通常仅在客户想要长期使用产品或服务时才有用。 不幸的是,这并不适用于所有客户。 在这些情况下,支付订阅费用可能会降低客户的物有所值。 例如,家具、电器、 kitchenware 等。在这些情况下,一次性购买更方便。
  • 你必须增加价值: 增加价值的负担在很大程度上落在了企业留住客户的身上。 人们很快就会感到无聊,订阅市场竞争激烈。 如果某个提供商为他们的服务增加了比您多一点的价值,那么客户很容易流失。

综上所述,订阅计费的主要缺点如下:

  • 订阅模式有时有点冒险
  • 有时订阅计费不会增加价值 
  • 你必须努力工作以保持竞争力

最初吸引客户可能很难

当您首次推出基于订阅的业务时,您不仅提供产品或服务;还提供产品或服务。 您要求客户签订合同。 如果您希望采用定期计费结构,则尤其如此。 毋庸置疑,客户对与他们从未有过业务往来的品牌签订合同持谨慎态度——尤其是在一项服务未经试用和测试的情况下。

如何解决这些问题

尽管订阅模式存在一些缺点,但通常可以通过采用更灵活的方法轻松解决这些问题。 

例如:

  • 如果您不能降低订阅成本,您仍然可以让客户在订阅您的服务时值得。 想想客户服务、有用的资源和赠品。 做得好,这些可以为吸引顾客讨价还价创造奇迹。
  • 如果合适的话 divi将您的服务转化为分层定价模型。 如果可行,从免费选项开始,随着每月/每年的价格上涨,为产品添加更多功能/价值。
  • 在增加价值方面,倾听客户的需求是必不可少的。 然后,向他们展示你正在努力回应他们的反馈。 您还可以创建一个社区门户,客户可以在其中通过论坛相互交流、访问自助材料以及发布其他类型的用户生成的内容。 这些都是为您的订阅品牌增值的相对简单的方法。 
  • 如果定期订阅承诺对客户来说太令人反感,为什么不提供免费试用或按需付费选项呢?

订阅软件

假设您认为订阅计费对您的业务来说是一个不错的选择。 在这种情况下,您可以使用多种订阅/定期计费软件。 这些平台帮助公司跟踪订阅销售、自动化支付流程、提供财务分析等。 

这里有一些 订阅计费工具 你可以试试:

您准备好开始为客户提供订阅计费了吗?

采用订阅计费是为客户提供长期服务的好方法。 在此期间,您有充足的机会培养有价值的关系,并在客户使用您的品牌的整个旅程中与他们互动。 最重要的是,订阅是一种让您的收入更可预测的方式。 

也就是说,订阅模式对于新企业或小型企业实施起来可能具有挑战性。 虽然您可以采取措施缓解这些挑战,但归根结底是订阅计费是否适合您的业务。

无论您做出什么决定,我们都希望本文能阐明订阅计费是什么以及如何使用它。 那么,交给您了——您对订阅计费有何经验? 在下面的评论框中告诉我们所有相关信息!

What is Subscription Billing?

If you subscribe to a service from a link on this page, Reeves and Sons Limited may earn a commission. See our ethics statement.

We've all come across subscription billing in one form or another. From big names like Netflix and Amazon to smaller, subscription billing is an increasingly popular option for companies across near-on every industry. 

In fact, it's predicted that this year, more than half of all software revenue will be generated via subscriptions. While Amazon Prime leads the way with over 150 million users, 80% of software companies now offer a subscription-based product.

Why is subscription billing so popular?

The answer is simple: Customers are more likely to stick with companies for longer terms. Take Spotify, for example; over 95% of its customers stick with the streaming service each month. On top of that, businesses can better predict and generate revenue more reliably. 

With so many perks and its increasing popularity, it’s safe to say that subscription billing software is here to stay. With that said, let's discuss what you need to know about subscription billing.

What is Subscription Billing?

Subscription billing is when a company sells a product or service on a recurring billing cycle. For example, customers typically pay a monthly or yearly fee to access their desired products or services. For many, this billing arrangement presents a more manageable financial arrangement than shelling out significant upfront costs.

So, put simply, a subscription is a contract between a business and a customer, where for the customers to receive the desired goods over a set period of time, they pay for the duration they use the service/product. As discussed, payment typically follows a monthly or yearly schedule. 

Typically, they choose how long and how often they want to subscribe at the start of the customer's subscription. 

On the flip side, for businesses, revenue is calculated according to how much one customer pays over time. As such, pricing a product or service is based on the customer's lifetime value (LTV). You can check out our subscription billing calculator here.

In light of that, businesses primarily offering subscription-based products tend to focus on retaining rather than acquiring customers – as this is what ensures a healthy profit (at least in the long-term). 

Customers can then choose to renew their subscription after the contracted time elapses. This is why subscription-based businesses need to ensure they cultivate healthy, long-term relationships with customers. Needless to say, this is key to ensuring a steady income. 

To put what we’ve just said into context, one of the earliest examples of a subscription model is newspaper/magazine subscriptions. However, with the rise of SaaS products, like:

  • Website builders
  • Digital marketing platforms
  • Streaming services

Etc., where customers need long-term access to the product, as we've already hinted at, more and more businesses in the tech/software space are taking advantage of this business model to generate recurring revenue.

Types of Subscription Billing

Though generally, the premise of subscription billing remains the same, the nature of the subscription will vary between industries and businesses. For example, some companies might ship physical products, like food, clothing, or beauty-based subscription boxes. Whereas other companies (typically in the tech space) might grant customers access to their software product on a subscription basis- for instance, Dropbox, Apple Cloud, Google Drive, etc.

That said, below, we’ve listed some of the most common subscription billing types:

Fixed Usage Subscription 

With this type of subscription, customers pay a fixed price for a set quantity of products or services within a given time frame. Typically, the customer pays upfront to receive a product or service at regular intervals. 

Typical examples include:

  • Magazine subscriptions 
  • Food boxes

Unlimited Usage Subscription 

Here, customers pay a fixed, regular price for unlimited use of the agreed-upon service or product. The customers can then utilize the product/service as much or as little as they want within the given period. 

Examples might include:

  • Internet subscription 
  • Gym subscription 
  • Phone subscription 

Pay as You Go Subscription 

With pay as you go, customers only pay for the length of time they wish to subscribe to a product or service for. This provides customers with a no-commitment option, as they can cancel at any time because they’re not locked into a contract. 

Typical examples might include:

  • Beauty product boxes 
  • Entertainment passes

Freemium Subscription 

Many software and cloud-based services offer a freemium subscription. Here, customers get access to certain content for free. However, these packages typically form part of a broader tiered pricing structure, where customers can upgrade their plan to access more perks.

Examples include:

  • Music service providers
  • eCommerce platforms
  • Email marketing services

The Advantages and Disadvantages of Subscription Billing

As with most things, the subscription billing model comes with benefits and drawbacks. That said, let’s take a closer look at what these are: 

The Advantages

  • Generate a predictable revenue: As we’ve already said, the subscription billing model helps businesses generate a steady income stream. This is especially true of fixed-term subscriptions, as these enable companies to accurately forecast their finances.
  • Garner customer loyalty: When customers purchase a subscription-based product/service, companies have an opportunity to learn more about their customers, what drives them, why they’re using their service, their demographics, etc. This information can, in turn, be used to cultivate more robust and longer-lasting relationships with customers. Naturally, the longer the customer continues to subscribe to your product/service, the more trust they have in your brand, and consequently, the more opportunity you have to upsell and cross-sell different products or services.
  • Convenience: Offering different subscription models provides customers with the convenience of choosing how and when they want to pay, which can work wonders for attracting new customers. 
  • Value: Why would shoppers opt for one colossal payment when they could make more affordable monthly payments?

In summary, the main benefits of subscription billing are as follows:

  • Predictable revenue
  • Better customer engagement
  • More convenience and flexibility for customers
  • Customer-centric model
  • The potential for businesses to earn more in the long-run

The Disadvantages 

Having examined the perks of subscription billing, let’s look at the drawbacks:

  • The subscription model doesn’t fit: Here’s a common scenario: If a business relies heavily on just a few customers to generate revenue, what happens when a customer cancels their subscription? This is especially concerning for start-ups. While subscriptions can make revenue more predictable, when a company is yet to establish itself, the flexibility of a cancellable model seems risky. Though subscriptions are popular, in certain instances, the cancel rate is high. In fact, over a third cancel in less than three months, and over half within six. Needless to say, this is something worth bearing in mind if you’re just starting out. 
  • It doesn’t add value for customers: The main benefit of subscription billing is the convenience and affordability it offers to the customer. The promise of not having to pay hefty upfront fees is an attractive option. However, subscriptions are typically only useful if customers want to use a product or service long-term. Unfortunately, this doesn’t apply to all customers. In these instances, paying a subscription might provide the customer with less value for their money. For example, furniture, appliances, kitchenware, etc. In these instances a one-off purchase is more convenient.
  • You have to add value: The burden of adding value falls heavily on the business to retain customers. People get bored quickly, and the subscription market is highly competitive. If one provider adds a little more value to their service than you, customers are easily lost.

In summary, the main disadvantages of subscription billing are as follows:

  • The subscription model is sometimes a little risky
  • Sometimes subscription billing doesn’t add value 
  • You have to work hard to remain competitive

Initially Attracting Customers Can Be Hard

When you first launch a subscription-based business, you’re not just offering a product or service; you’re asking customers to enter into a contract. This is particularly true if you’re looking to adopt a fixed-term billing structure. Needless to say, customers are wary of entering contracts with brands they’ve never done business with – especially if a service isn’t tried and tested.

How to Remedy These Issues

Even though a few disadvantages accompany the subscription model, often these are easily solved by taking a more flexible approach. 

For instance:

  • If you can’t bring down the cost of your subscription you can still make it worth the customer’s while to subscribe to your services. Think customer service, helpful resources, and giveaways. Done well, these can work wonders for enticing customers into the bargain.
  • If appropriate divide your service into a tiered pricing model. If viable, start with a free option, and as the monthly/yearly price increases add more features/value into the offering.
  • When it comes to adding value, listening to what your customers are asking for is imperative. Then, show them you’re making an effort to respond to their feedback. You could also create a community portal where customers can network with one another via forums, access self-help materials, and post other types of user-generated content. These are all relatively simple ways to add value to your subscription brand. 
  • If a fixed-term subscription commitment is too offputting for customers, why not provide a free trial or a pay as you go option?

Subscription Software

Suppose you decide subscription billing is a good choice for your business. In that case, there are several subscription/recurring billing software available to you. These platforms help companies track subscription sales, automate the payments process, provide financial analytics, etc. 

Here are a few subscription billing tools you could try:

Are You Ready to Start Offering Customers Subscription Billing?

Adopting subscription billing is a great way to offer customers a long-term service. During which you have ample opportunity to cultivate valuable relationships and engage with clients throughout their journey with your brand. On top of that, subscriptions are a way to make your revenue more predictable. 

That said, subscription models can be challenging to implement for new or small businesses. While you can do things to mitigate these challenges, it really boils down to whether subscription billing is the right call for your business.

Whatever you decide, we hope this article clarifies what subscription billing is and how it can be used. So, over to you – what’s your experience with subscription billing? Tell us all about it in the comments box below!