什么是垂直?

垂直意味着什么?

如果您通过此页面上的链接订阅服务,Reeves and Sons Limited 可能会赚取佣金。 查看我们的 伦理声明.

行业内由类似客户和企业组成的细分市场。 垂直焦点在一个 壁龛 可以以类似于另一个垂直的方式销售; 整个企业可以成为垂直市场的一部分,也可以只是行业内的一个部门。

一个例子是为互联网行业创建会计和工资软件的公司。 垂直市场不是以行业为基础的,它们也是基于地理位置的。 这种专业化为垂直市场中的公司提供了一些竞争优势,而更多的通用企业则没有这些优势。

商业市场中的垂直市场与市场中的横向市场形成对比,其中重点是业务被转移到大量客户,而不管行业如何。 在垂直行业中,垂直市场迎合了行业内特定人群的需求。 这提供了一个优势,因为以利基为中心的垂直业务更熟悉其所服务的行业内的趋势,变化,监管和竞争。

它可以变得更像是客户的合作伙伴,提供必要的见解。 由于对所服务行业的专业知识,垂直一致的公司通常也可以收取更高的费率。

垂直市场通过类比和例子来解释

垂直市场

图片学分:

解释垂直营销和横向营销之间差异的一种方法是,垂直市场是指所有客户都在一个特定行业,而横向市场服务于更广阔市场的市场,例如汽车零件制造商。 他属于垂直市场类别,因为他的客户仅限于特定的汽车制造商和机械师。

另一方面,服装制造商属于横向市场,因为其广泛的客户群包括店主,工厂直销店,酒店,医院,学校和学院。 这非常具有挑战性,因为它们必须满足各种各样的需求。

可以使用另一个类比来比较纵向市场和横向市场-购买婴儿服装。

首先,你去一个巨大的商场,那里有很多商店,每个商店都有不同类型的商品。 你继续走路和走路然后停下来看商场目录/地图。 再一次,你继续走,最后,你到达目的地。 最糟糕的是,如果你不喜欢他们的衣服,你必须重新做这件事。

一声叹息!

那么, gigantic mall 类似于水平市场,需要付出一些努力才能找到您想要的东西。

当您轻松进入仅贩卖婴儿服装和玩具的地带商场时,为什么要经历所有这些麻烦? 你现在不是像柴郡猫一样咧着嘴笑吗?

在这里你可以去任何商店,他们会卖给你你真正需要的东西。 您的需求几乎立即得到满足。 您不必走100里程就能找到一些婴儿服装。

这些条形购物中心类似于垂直市场,它们为您提供轻松的购物体验。

赛格威(Segway)是成功进行垂直营销活动的一个惊人的现实例子。 即使他们设计和制造了革命性的产品,也犯了将其引入水平市场的错误。 赛格威(Segway)–两轮个人运输工具被视为富人的玩物,而不是普通人四处移动的有效交通工具。

很快,他们意识到他们需要改变他们的营销策略,否则公司就会陷入困境。 他们没有在营销活动上花费额外的钱,而是为他们的产品找到了一个特定的利基,然后就没有回头路了。 他们在执法部门找到了运气。 具体来说,芝加哥警察局。

在2006,芝加哥警察局成为Segway最大的客户之一。 他们推出了i180 Police Model Segway,与民用i180略有不同。 i180 Police Model Segway上涂有黑白条纹,警戒器上安装有警报器,还有一个储存应急设备的小袋。 在接下来的五年里,芝加哥警察局花了大约600,000在赛格威上。

赛格威开始展翅高飞。 他们继续探索和发展他们的垂直营销策略。 因此,各种各样的利基市场拥有并使用Segways用于不同目的。

垂直市场有哪些优势?

垂直市场优势

图片学分:

  • 垂直营销系统或VMS有一个 集中管理系统 保持产品从制造到销售的控制。 如果中途出现任何问题,他们可以轻松识别问题并快速响应。
  • 垂直市场可以应用于小型和大型企业。 通过建立一个小企业,小企业可以从垂直市 关系密切 与他们的供应商,分销商和零售商。 一旦这些小企业成长,嗯,你知道其余的。
  • 在营销领域,较少的竞争转化为更快,更便宜的曝光 自然搜索结果 (搜索引擎优化).
  • 如果将产品引入垂直市场,广告就会变得更有利可图并且更具挑战性 单一统一 广告 努力 是必需的而不是多个的。
  • 专业化可以提供许多好处, 竞争减少 是主要的一个。 竞争减少表明创新和创造力有更大的空间。 特殊的利基市场也可以支持利基产品或服务的更高价格。

一些缺点

  • 突然间 市场规模缩小 可能非常危险。 一些垂直行业不再流行或被另一个垂直行业的产品所取代。 因此,垂直企业主应该在进入垂直市场之前整整九码。
  • A 数量有限的客户 可能会限制收入潜力。 与横向市场不同,垂直市场只能吸引小客户群。 因此,为了产生更多收入,必须确保特定业务具有足够的增长潜力并且也是有利可图的。
  • 在经营利基业务的同时, 工作超负荷 是你必须随身携带的额外行李。 管理任何企业的所有要素可能会扩展或超过任何一个人的知识和能量。

通过广泛的商业计划,涵盖A到Z的细节和对市场的全面了解,人们可以进入垂直市场并赚取一大笔钱。

CSZ 利基业务 业主也应该意识到 目前的市场趋势 以及事件如何影响他们的客户。 如果你已经覆盖了所有这些,那么直接瞄准垂直并到达顶部。

注释 0回应

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被公开。

评分 *

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

What is Vertical?

VerticalWhat does vertical mean?

A segment within an industry that is made up from similar customers and businesses. The vertical focus in a niche can be marketed to in a manner that is similar to another vertical; the entirety of a business can be part of a vertical market or can be simply one department within the industry.

An example would be a company that creates accounting and payroll software for the internet industry. Vertical markets are not industry based, they're also geographically based. This specialization provides companies in vertical markets some competitive advantages that more generalist businesses would not have.

Verticals in the business market are used in contrast to horizontals in the marketplace where the focus is of the business is diverted to a large number of customers, regardless of the industry. In business verticals, the vertical market caters to the needs of a specific group of people within an industry. This provides an advantage because the niche focused vertical business is more familiar with trends, changes, regulation and competition within the industry it serves.

It can become more like a partner for clients, providing essential insights. Vertically aligned companies can often charge higher rates as well, due to their specialized knowledge about the industry they serve.

Vertical Markets Explained Through Analogies and Examples

One way of explaining the difference between vertical marketing and horizontal marketing is that a vertical market is one in which all of your customers are in one particular industry while a horizontal market serves a broader market, for example, an automobile part manufacturer. He belongs to the vertical market category because his customers are limited to specific auto manufacturers and mechanics.

A clothing manufacturer, on the other hand, belongs to a horizontal market because its wide customer base includes shop owners, factory outlets, hotels, hospitals, schools, and colleges. This is very challenging because they have to meet a wide range of varied demands.

Another analogy can be used to compare a vertical and horizontal market – shopping for infant clothing.

First, you go to a huge mall where there are tons of stores, each selling different kind of products. You keep walking and walking and then you stop to look at a mall directory/map. Again you keep walking and finally, you reach your destination. The worst part is that you have to do this all over again if you didn't like their clothes.

Sigh!

Well, the gigantic mall is analogous to a horizontal market and some effort is required to find exactly what you want.

Why go through all this trouble when you have easy access to a strip mall selling only infant clothing and toys? Aren't you grinning like a Cheshire cat now?

Here you can go to any store and they will sell you what you actually require. Your needs are met almost immediately. You don’t have to walk a 100 miles to find some baby wear.

These strip malls are analogous to vertical markets and they provide you with an effortless shopping experience.

An amazing real-life example of a successful vertical marketing campaign is Segway. Even though they had designed and built a revolutionary product, they made the mistake of introducing it in the horizontal market. Segway – the two-wheel personal transportation vehicle was seen as a plaything for the affluent rather than an efficient means of transportation for the average person to move around.

Soon, they realized that they need to change their marketing tactics, or else the company would sink. Rather than spending extra bucks on marketing campaigns, they found a specific niche for their product and then there was no turning back. They found their luck in law enforcement department. Specifically, the Chicago Police Department.

In 2006, the Chicago Police Department became one of Segway's biggest customers. They introduced the i180 Police Model Segway, which was only slightly different from the civilian i180. The i180 Police Model Segway had black and white stripes painted on it, sirens mounted on the guardrail, and also a pouch that stored emergency equipment. In the five years that followed, the Chicago Police Department’s spent around £600,000 on Segways.

Segway began to spread its wings and soar high. They continued to explore and evolve their vertical marketing strategies. As a result, a wide and varied range of niche markets owns and use Segways for different purposes.

What are the advantages of a vertical market?

  • The Vertical Marketing System or the VMS has a centralized management system to maintain control of the product from manufacture to sale. If anything goes wrong midway, they can easily identify the problem and quickly respond to it.
  • Vertical Markets can be applied to both small and large businesses. Small businesses benefit from vertical markets by building a strong relationship with their suppliers, distributors, and retailers. Once these small businesses grow, well, you know the rest.
  • In the marketing world, less competition translates to faster and cheaper exposure in organic search results (SEO).
  • Advertising becomes more profitable and less challenging if the product is introduced in a vertical market because only a single unified advertising effort is required rather than multiple ones.
  • Specialization can offer many benefits, less competition being one of the major ones. Less competition indicates there is more room for innovation and creativity. The special niche markets can also support a higher price for a niche product or service.

A few downsides

  • The sudden decrease in market size could be very risky. Some verticals stop being in vogue or get replaced by products from another vertical. Hence, a vertical business owner should go the whole nine yards before entering the vertical market.
  • A limited number of customers may limit the revenue potential. Unlike horizontal markets, the vertical markets can only attract a small customer base. So in order to generate more revenue, one has to make sure that the particular business has enough growth potential and is profitable as well.
  • While running a niche business, work overload is that extra baggage you have to carry around. Managing all the elements of any business may stretch or exceed the knowledge and energy of any one person.

With an extensive business plan that covers A to Z details and a comprehensive understanding of the market, one can enter a vertical market and earn some big bucks.

The niche business owners should also be aware of the present market trends and how events affect their clients. If you have covered all this, then aim straight for vertical and reach the top.

Try-Shopify

 

 

Become an ecommerce expert

Enter your email to get the party started