什么是利基市场?

生态位定义以及如何为您找到十大利基?

如果您通过此页面上的链接订阅服务,Reeves and Sons Limited 可能会赚取佣金。 查看我们的 伦理声明.

从全国范围的人口统计数据到缩减电子商务世界的一个小角落,每个人都需要一个利基市场。 无论您是为小型企业还是大型市场公司工作都没有关系:利基市场可以帮助您定义您的受众,减少您的品牌信息,并向关心您所销售产品的人销售。

只有一个问题。 你的利基市场是什么?

找到最适合您的特定需求的利基受众可能听起来令人生畏,但您可能会发现并非必须如此。 在本文中,我们将探讨成为“利基企业”的含义,展示一些利基市场的示例,并解决如何将您的品牌定位为您选择的利基市场中的第一名。

让我们潜入。

什么是利基营销策略?

利基营销策略是将您的品牌定位到特定人群或客户群的策略。 例如,假设您销售一种特定类型的肥皂。 您可以将香皂视为个人护理市场中的“利基市场”。 或者你可以“缩小”并更具体地了解 类型 你卖的肥皂。

也许您的潜在客户是通常不购买特种肥皂的男性。 您刚刚使您的目标受众更加具体——这使得更容易发出与您的受众产生共鸣的品牌声音。

在选择利基营销策略时,您通常会分析超出其整体规模的市场,以缩小目标市场的特定心理特征和人口统计范围。 但这包括什么? 以下是您在将营销工作缩减为利基市场时应该考虑的因素:

  • 受众特征。 Demo,使用与“民主”相同的前缀,指的是对人和任何子集的人的研究。 这可能包括人口众多的大型人群,例如居住在某个地区的人群。 另一个常见的人群是 18-25 岁的人,因为他们被认为是趋势的驱动力。 但 45-65 岁的人往往有更多的购买力,这可以让他们成为更有利可图的客户。 最终,您与利基市场接触的人口统计数据将有助于塑造您组织的营销活动。
  • 心理学。 这个词指的是通过人们占主导地位的心理态度来组织人们。 换句话说,你会使用很多关于一个人的信息 定义他们住在哪里,或者他们属于哪一部分人口。 相反,这是您想要利用的一种普遍态度。 例如,哈雷戴维森利用了独立和叛逆的心理特征——不管你是 30 岁还是 70 岁,因为任何一个年龄都可以属于那个心理特征。

作为企业主,您必须考虑如何瞄准更广阔的市场——或者在这种情况下,瞄准更窄的市场。 通常这不是来自尽可能广泛地撒网。 当然,一些品牌——比如可口可乐——可以利用近乎普遍的价值观。 但是碳酸饮料 自然 具有广泛的吸引力。

如果您销售更具体的产品,例如男士面霜,该怎么办? 好吧,如果它是专门针对男性的,那么向女性做广告就没有多大意义了。

这就是寻找利基市场的诀窍。 您希望找到一个足够具体以针对相关客户的产品,但不要找到一个您永远无法做到的具体 发现 任何相关客户。 它既是艺术,又是科学,如果你想让你的利基产品起飞,你就必须知道它是如何工作的。

拥有强大客户群的利基市场示例

我们不会从步骤开始。 相反,让我们假设您不经营在线利基市场,但您确实想了解细分市场的运作方式。 最简单的方法是查看具有强大客户群的利基市场示例——只是为了让您了解如何为您的在线业务选择利基市场。

宠物主人

它是如此之大,你甚至可能不认为它是一个利基市场。 例如,著名的“宠物摇滚”就是许多人不相信它行得通的商业理念之一。 但是对于我们的毛茸茸的朋友来说,目标市场很大。 人们想要并且需要照顾他们的动物,这使得为宠物设计的任何产品都成为进入新市场的潜在途径。

美容和自我保健

再一次,我们从高处开始——美丽和自我保健是 主要 行业。 但它们不像卖水那样普遍。 这些行业尤其支持庞大的影响者市场。 如今,人们无法获得足够的 YouTube 化妆教程或高质量的日常护肤建议。 在数字营销领域,这是始终与其利基市场互动的首选产品之一。 毕竟,一罐古铜色化妆品最终会用完。

补充剂和健康

今天的健康市场是巨大的——而且有充分的理由。 人们需要照顾好自己。 补充剂是一个巨大的市场,因为我们期望现代生活中的便利——我们想要我们需要的维生素和矿物质,但我们不一定有时间整天做饭。 一般来说,医疗保健是一个巨大的“利基”——如果你可以这么称呼的话。 这实际上是利基市场的集合,这是利基营销的好处之一——你可以继续关注人们的独特需求,或者你可以扩大你的吸引力。 这真的取决于你。

数字营销

写博客、发展你的社交媒体、在亚马逊上做广告——人们总是想在网上找到一些东西。 从关键字研究到寻找有利可图的利基市场的技巧(我们多么元气!),您会发现数字营销是一个惊人的大市场。 如今,人们越来越多地在网上开展业务。 数字营销中存在潜在的利基市场,只要您翻出一块石头。

健身和运动服

你可能认为这是补充剂和健康的一个分支——你可能是对的。 但它们本身就是一个巨大的市场,健身和运动服值得一提。 很多人在这个利基市场有品牌忠诚度,因为毕竟谁愿意穿冲突的衣服,即使是去健身房?

食品和饮料主题

人们需要吃喝! 然而,不同类型的食品和饮料的特定受众比您想象的要多。 是的,世界各地的人都喜欢可口可乐,所以它似乎是最广泛的产品风格。 但是你不会相信食品和饮料领域一直在上升的利基机会——哎呀,仅在饮料领域。 例如,考虑一下最近对不太“苏打水”的碳酸饮料的热潮,您会发现总是有空间用于独特的特定产品。

让我们这样说吧。 几十年前,你听说过椰子水吗?

旅行用品

人们喜欢旅行。 爱,爱,爱。 利基市场创意通常来自于结合上述利基市场之一并将其与旅游相结合。 例如,旅行时可以随身携带的食品和饮料产品呢? 有一个即时的利基市场。 还是为狗准备的旅行手提包? 另一个利基市场。 一个美女 kit 你可以随身携带吗? 这是一个如此庞大的产品领域,你甚至可能不认为它是“利基市场”。

旅游市场的关键之一是它为旅行者创造了很多痛点。 他们在搬家时必须照顾好自己。 他们不得不寻找他们没有的便利,因为他们不在家。 这使得旅游市场成为与其他利基市场进行交叉参考的理想方式,并了解您能想出什么独特的、感觉独特的市场。

游戏

同样,我们从更高的层次开始。 公平地说,游戏不是“利基市场”。 在游戏中,有 PC 构建文化、直播、竞争和各种其他大众市场理念,这些理念多年来创造了忠实的客户群。 就像旅行一样,这个很容易与其他利基市场交叉引用以找到新的想法。 例如,游戏椅结合了家具和游戏——简单易行。 专为游戏玩家设计的零食? 它们也存在。

家居家具和组织

随着 Marie Kondo 的“改变生活的整理魔法”的兴起,似乎对有组织的想法有大众市场的吸引力。 这是一件好事。 如果您可以销售能够帮助人们维持更好的家园和清洁生活的产品,那么您就已经利用了一个既有利可图又有利可图的特定利基市场。

远程工作

在 COVID-19 爆发期间的几个月里,您可能已经注意到 Zoom 的股票飙升。 发生了什么事? 世界正变得越来越对偏远地区的工人友好——主要是出于必要。 现在是 2022 年,没有多少人发现他们想重返工作岗位。 进入远程工作的主要市场。 人们甚至会购买新鲜植物订阅服务,以保持他们的家庭办公室闻起来清新美观。 这是一个可以从多个角度进入的利基市场。

家装

我们不是在谈论情景喜剧。 考虑到全国有多少房主——事实上,在全球范围内——只有很大一部分人关心升级、维护和修理他们的房屋才有意义。 这绝对是 巨大 市场上到处都是维修工具、家庭装修的孩子、架子,以及阳光下的任何其他东西,你可以考虑让它们变得更好。 将其与此列表中的其他项目交叉引用,您也可能会发现一些有趣的领域。

可持续产品

很多人都担心海洋中的塑料。 这与您的营销工作有什么关系? 简单的。 您会发现可持续产品可以将现有产品转变为新的利基市场。 例如,让我们以塑料吸管为例。 真正关心环境的人不想使用它们。 因此,您可能会向想要为特定类型的饮料和饮料容器购买可重复使用、可清洗的吸管的利基市场进行营销。 对于此列表中的任何利基市场,您可能会问自己是否有足够大的市场来提供更多 可持续发展,它的无塑料版本。

身体积极性

考虑到我们所有人都需要衣服,服装并不是一个真正的利基市场,但是大码服装的市场可以促进身体积极性并使各种体型的人正常化。

教育培训

不久前,通过函授课程形成了替代教育方法。 但是今天的数字基础设施使学习如何培养新技能变得比以往任何时候都容易。 数字世界意味着您可以通过视频课程、测验、PDF 等来教几乎任何领域的人。 教育是一个很大的利基市场,因为它包含所有内容,但在数字营销中,它可以应用于您能想到的任何微技能,并且仍然可以盈利。

如何找到有利可图的利基市场

唷。 这是很多利基市场。 而那些是 高水平 那些,包含许多其他利基的利基。

因此,您可能想知道您的在线业务如何适应所有这些利基市场。 毕竟,您不打算出售下一个可口可乐,或制造下一个 Fabletics。 您如何找到自己的利基市场,而又不会将选择范围缩小到完全避开市场?

诀窍是开始“缩小利基市场”,直到找到一个最佳点:一个不发达的利基市场,但仍有足够多的人想要购买你所销售的产品。

让我们探索一些策略来做到这一点。

  • 添加人口统计或心理统计以使您的利基更加具体。 例如,假设您的利基是游戏。 一个大市场,毫无疑问。 那么,您如何找到一个尚未开发的有利可图的市场呢? 你可能会去 Reddit 等社交媒体平台上的游戏社区,看看他们在问什么类型的问题。 也许您遇到了一个 70 岁的人的热门帖子,并询问他们应该获得什么游戏设置。 瞧——你已经成功了。 如果您专注于想要开始游戏但不知道如何开始的老年人口的产品怎么办?
  • 相关搜索divi双重产品类别以查看已经存在的利基市场。 例如,假设您去 Fabletics,同时知道您不想与 Fabletics 竞争。 但你也许可以专攻并细分市场。 为什么不浏览他们的类别,看看人们喜欢什么其他利基? 您可能不会马上找到一个利基市场,但您可能会发现各种新想法的刺激,这些想法可以帮助您发展您的在线营销技能。
  • 输入 Google 或 Bing 搜索并查找“人们也询问过……”关于热门产品。 如果您不了解 SEO,这里有一个 SEO 小秘诀:Google 和 Bing 发布了一些用户提出的与您自己的关键字相关的最相关问题。 所有你必须做的? 自己输入该关键字。 您可以这样做来查找人们提出的任何产品问题是否使产品或服务更加特定于利基市场。
  • 将您的结果与流行的关键字工具进行权衡。 如果您使用流行的关键字工具来查看人们在网上搜索的内容,您将了解有多少人可能属于您选择的利基市场。 例如,让我们继续使用上面的“男士香皂”示例。 如果您只是为“男士松香皂”做广告,您可能会发现这不足以支持一项业务——但如果您提供各种不同的香味,您 可以 围绕它创建一个业务。 这一切都是为了发现您的业务具有优势的最佳位置,但不会变得如此具体以至于将自己排除在市场之外。

这应该为您提供一些工具来开始探索和探索各种利基市场。 但是当你四处寻找时,试着写下吸引你的利基市场。 然后睡在这个名单上。 让它炖一整夜——或者几个晚上,不管是什么情况——然后再放回去。 尝试与几位朋友分享这份名单,看看他们中是否有任何一个特别缺乏服务的利基市场。

很有可能,你不会走得太远,直到有人尖叫你作为一个潜在的利基市场来尝试。

如果还没有一个利基市场,如何创建一个利基市场

老实说:起初并不是每个利基市场都很明显。

以 iPhone 的出现为例,这是最 revolut近几十年的商业产品。 iPhone承诺将各种功能带入一部手机,为其提供类似电脑的体验,并将其置于手掌范围内。

然而,这个利基市场在 iPhone 之前并不完全存在。 人们根本不知道他们想要——或需要——具有这种功能的手机。

在小型手机出现之前,没有人会认为将小型、低质量的相机放入可以放入口袋的东西中是个好主意。 当然,移动性很好——但拥有一台质量不那么高的小型相机的想法起初听起来并不那么好。

然后,事情发生了变化。 人们意识到他们 做了 就像让这么多设备通过手机工作的便利一样。 世界变了。 软件随着手机的发展而增长。 人们开始更频繁地将它们用于游戏。 他们开始更频繁地发短信。 社交媒体变成了一种东西——人们想看看谁在这些东西上发布了所谓的“应用程序”。

诚然——很难将我们生活方式的大规模改革与从头开始创建任何旧的利基市场进行比较。 但是,如果您还没有找到一个利基市场,让我们看看一些可以创建利基市场的具体步骤:

  • 小心听取反馈。 人们经常说一套做一套。 它只是人类经验的一部分。 不要放 也有 在您推出之前,请先了解人们对您的利基市场或在线商店的假设意见。 真正重要的是人们买什么,而不是他们说他们会买什么。 你会经常发现,在商业中,这两个概念确实是非常不同的东西。
  • 将利基市场推向未来。 一种方法可以创建一个尚不存在的利基市场? 尝试利用已经存在的利基市场并为其添加一些东西。 一些品牌通过将现有概念组合成以前从未见过的东西来做到这一点。 其他品牌可能会通过技术创新来做到这一点,创造一个新的产品类别。
  • 观察客户指向您的位置。 您是否已经建立并运行在线业务? 如果是这样,你有一个宝贵的来源formation 触手可及,假设您拥有可以指出客户在做什么的分析。 您可以查看哪些类别最受关注。 当您推出新产品时,您可以结合这些类别中的哪一个来创建一个新的“子集”利基市场?

归根结底,将利基市场推向未来将是一项挑战——但如果您想建立一个更独特的在线形象,您当然应该牢记这一点。 而且您的公司越出众,您的品牌就越令人难忘。

选择适合您的利基市场

什么是利基市场? 它可以很大也可以很小。 它可以是宽的或窄的。 但归根结底,它指的是为具有特定品味和需求的特定人群服务的市场。

在本文中,我们概述了许多大型利基市场的示例。 但是,这些利基市场中的每一个都有一些子集,它们可以不断下降,直到你达到高度具体的目标——即清洁 kits 用于您为宠物购买的珠宝。 那是 高度 具体。

但请记住,特异性并不一定意味着您不会获利。 由您来测试利基市场,找出有效的方法,并最终定位您的品牌以适应目标市场的需求。

shopify 第一个 3 美元促销 XNUMX 个月

What is a Niche Market?

Niche Defitiontion and How to Find The Top 10 Niches for You?

If you subscribe to a service from a link on this page, Reeves and Sons Limited may earn a commission. See our ethics statement.

From country-wide demographics to whittling down a small corner of the ecommerce world, everyone needs a niche. It doesn’t matter whether you’re working for small businesses or larger market companies: a niche helps you define your audience, whittle down your brand messaging, and sell to the people who care about what you’re selling.

There’s just one question. What is the niche market for you?

Finding the niche audience that works best for your specific needs might sound intimidating, but you’ll likely find that it doesn’t have to be. In this article, we’ll tap into what it means to be a “niche business,” show some examples of niche markets, and tackle how you can position your brand to be #1 in the niche you choose.

Let’s dive in.

What is a Niche Marketing Strategy?

A niche marketing strategy is one in which you position your brand to a specific demographic—or segment—of customers. For example, let’s say that you sell a specific type of soap. You can consider bar soap to be a “niche” within the personal care market. Or you could “niche down” and get more specific about the type of soap you sell.

Maybe your potential customers are men who don’t typically buy specialty soaps. You’ve just made your target audience more specific—which makes it easier to take on a brand voice that resonates with your audience.

In choosing a niche marketing strategy, you’ll often analyze a market beyond its overall size, looking to narrow down the specific psychographics and demographics of your target market. But what does that include? Here’s what you should expect to consider as you whittle down your marketing efforts to a niche:

  • Demographics. Demo, using the same prefix as “democracy,” refers to the studying of people and any subset of people. That can include large, population-wide groups of people, such as those who live in a certain area. Another common demographic is people aged 18-25, as they’re believed to be the driver of trends. But people aged 45-65 tend to have a lot more purchasing power, which can make them more lucrative customers. Ultimately, the demographics you approach with your niche will help shape the marketing campaigns you put together.
  • Psychographics. This word refers to organizing people by their dominant mental attitudes. In other words, you’ll use a lot about a person that doesn’t define where they live, or which part of the population they belong to. Instead, it’s a prevailing attitude that you want to tap into. For example, Harley-Davidson taps into a psychographic of independence and rebelliousness—it doesn’t matter if you’re 30 or 70, because either age can belong to that psychographic.

As the business owner, you have to consider how you want to target the broader market—or in this case, the narrower market. Usually that doesn’t come from casting as wide a net as possible. Sure, some brands—like Coca-Cola—can tap into near-universal values. But a carbonated beverage naturally has broad appeal.

What if you sell something far more specific, such as men’s facial cream? Well, if it’s exclusively for men, then it wouldn’t make much sense to advertise to women.

That’s the trick of finding a niche. You want to find one that’s specific enough to target relevant customers—but not one so specific that you never find any relevant customers. It’s part art, part science, and you’re going to have to know how it works if you want your niche product to take off.

Examples of Niche Markets with a Strong Customer Base

We won’t start with the steps. Instead, let’s pretend you don’t run an online niche, but you do want to learn how a market segment works. The easiest way to do this is to look at examples of niche markets with a strong customer base—just to give you an idea of how choosing a niche for your online business might work.

Pet Owners

It’s so large, that you might not even consider it a niche market. The famous “pet rock,” for example, is one of those business ideas that many people didn’t believe it could work. But when it comes to our furry friends, the target market is large. People want to and need to care for their animals, which makes anything designed for pets a potential way to reach a new market.

Beauty and Self-care

Again, we’re starting high up here—beauty and self-care are major industries. But they’re not as universal as, say, selling water. These industries especially support a large influencer market. People can’t get enough of YouTube makeup tutorials or high-quality skincare routine recommendations these days. In the world of digital marketing, this is one of the go-to products that consistently find engagement with its niche. After all, a jar of bronzer runs out, eventually.

Supplements and Health

Today’s health market is huge—and for good reason. People need to take care of themselves. Supplements are a huge market because we expect conveniences in our modern lives—we want the vitamins and minerals we need, but we don’t necessarily have the time to spend all day cooking. Healthcare in general is an enormous “niche”—if you can call it that. It’s really a conglomeration of niches, which is one of the benefits of niche marketing—you can continue to hone in on people's unique needs, or you can broaden your appeal. It’s really up to you.

Digital Marketing

Blogging, growing your social media, advertising on Amazon—there’s always something that people want to figure out online. From keyword research to tips on finding a profitable niche (how very meta of us!), you’ll find that digital marketing is a surprisingly large market. People are launching their businesses online more and more these days. There’s a potential niche market in digital marketing anywhere you turn over a rock.

Fitness and Athletic Wear

You might consider this an offshoot of supplements and health—and you might be right. But they’re such a large market in and of themselves that fitness and athletic wear deserve their own mention. A lot of people have brand loyalty in this niche, because, after all, who wants to wear clashing clothes, even if it’s to the gym?

Food and Beverage

People need to eat and drink! Yet there is a more specific audience for different types of food and beverages than you might imagine. Yes, people around the world love Coca-Cola, so it seems like the broadest possible style of product. But you wouldn’t believe the niche opportunities that rise all the time in the food and beverage arena—heck, in the beverage arena alone. Consider the recent craze for carbonated beverages that aren’t quite “sodas,” for example, and you’ll see there’s always room for a unique specific product.

Let’s put it this way. A few decades ago, did you ever hear of coconut water?

Travel

People love to travel. Love, love, love. Niche market ideas often come about simply from combining one of the niches above and combining it with travel. For example, what about food and beverage products you can take with you while you travel? There’s an instant niche. Or travel totes for dogs? Another niche. A beauty kit you can take with you wherever you go? It’s such a large field of products, you might not even consider it “niche.”

One of the keys to the travel market is that it creates a lot of pain points for the traveler. They have to take care of themselves while they move. They have to seek out conveniences they don’t have because they’re not at home. This makes the travel market an ideal way to cross-reference with other niches and see what you can come up with unique markets that feel original.

Gaming

Again, we’re starting off at the higher levels here. It’s fair to say gaming is not “niche.” Within gaming, there is PC building culture, livestreaming, competition, and all sorts of other mass market ideas that have created a loyal customer base over the years. Like travel, this one is easy to cross-reference with other niches to find new ideas. For example, a gaming chair combines furniture and gaming—easy-peasy. Snacks designed for gamers? They exist, too.

Home Furniture and Organization

With the rise of Marie Kondo’s “The Life-Changing Magic of Tidying Up,” there seems to be a mass market appeal to the idea of getting organized. And that’s a good thing. If you can sell products that help people maintain better homes and clean up their lives, you’ve tapped on a specific niche that can be profitable as well as helpful.

Remote Work

In the months during the onset of COVID-19, you might have noticed that stock in Zoom skyrocketed. What was going on? The world was becoming increasingly remote worker-friendly—mainly out of necessity. Now that we’re in 2022, not many people are finding that they want to go back to work. Enter the major-market niche of remote work. People will even buy fresh plant subscription services to keep their home offices smelling fresh and looking good. It’s a niche you can tap into from a variety of angles.

Home Improvement

And we’re not talking about the sitcom. Given how many homeowners there are across the country—indeed, across the globe—it only makes sense that a huge percentage of them care about upgrading, maintaining, and repairing their homes. That makes for an absolutely enormous market full of repair tools, home-improvement kids, shelves, and anything else under the sun that you can consider part of making a home better. Cross-reference it with other items on this list and you may find some fun niches, as well.

Sustainable Products

A lot of people are concerned about plastic in the ocean. What does that have to do with your marketing efforts? Simple. You’ll find that sustainable products can turn existing products into a new niche. For example, let’s take plastic straws. People who really care about the environment don’t want to use them. So you might market to a niche that wants to buy reusable, washable straws for specific types of drinks and drink containers. With any niche on this list, you might ask yourself if there’s a large enough market to offer a more sustainable, plastic-free version of it.

Body Positivity

Clothing isn’t really a niche, considering how all of us need clothes, but there is a market for plus-sized clothing that prompts body positivity and normalizes people of all sizes.

Education

It wasn’t long ago that alternative methods of education formed through correspondence courses. But today’s digital infrastructure makes it easier than ever to learn how to to build new skills. The digital world means you can teach someone in virtually any niche with video lessons, quizzes, PDFs, and more. Education is a large niche because of all it encompasses, but in digital marketing, it can be applied to any micro-skill you can think of and still become profitable.

How to Find a Profitable Niche Market

Whew. That’s a lot of niches. And those are high-level ones, the niches that contain multitudes of other niches.

So you might be wondering how your online business might fit into all of these niches. After all, you’re not planning on selling the next Coca-Cola, or building the next Fabletics. How do you find your niche without narrowing your choices down so much that you avoid a market altogether?

The trick is to start “niche-ing down” until you find a sweet spot: an underdeveloped niche that still has enough people looking to buy what you’re selling.

Let’s explore some strategies for doing exactly that.

  • Add a demographic or psychographic to make your niche more specific. For example, let’s say that your niche is gaming. A big market, no doubt. So how do you find a profitable market that’s underdeveloped? You might go to gaming communities in social media platforms like Reddit to see what kinds of questions are asking. Maybe you come across a popular post by someone who is 70 years old and asking what gaming setup they should get. Voila—you’ve niched down. What if you focused on products for an older demographic that wants to start gaming, but doesn’t know how?
  • Search individual product categories to see the niches that already exist. Let’s say you go to Fabletics, for example, while knowing that you don’t want to compete with Fabletics. But you might be able to specialize and niche down. Why not browse their categories to see what other niches people are enjoying? You might not find a niche right away, but chances are you’ll find stimulation for all sorts of new ideas that can help you develop your online marketing skills.
  • Enter a Google or Bing search and look for “People also asked…” about popular products. Here’s a little SEO secret if you’re not into SEO: Google and Bing publish some of the most relevant questions that users are asking related to your own keyword. All you have to do? Enter in that keyword yourself. You can do this to find if there are any product questions that people are asking that makes a product or service more niche-specific.
  • Weigh your results against popular keyword tools. If you use a popular keyword tool to see what people are searching for online, you’ll get a sense of how many people might belong to the niche you picked. For example, let’s stick with the “bar soaps for men” example from above. If you were only to advertise “pine bar soaps for men” you might find that it’s not quite enough to support a business—but if you offered all sorts of different scents, you could create a business around that. It’s all about discovering that sweet spot where your business has an edge, but doesn’t get so specific that it niches itself out of the marketplace.

This should give you a few tools to start poking around and exploring various niches. But as you poke around, try to write down the niches that appeal to you. Then sleep on this list. Let it simmer overnight—or a few nights, whatever the case may be—and return to it. Try sharing the list with a few friends, to see if any of them stand out as particularly underserved niches.

Chances are, you won’t get very far until one screams at you as a potential niche to try out.

How to Create a Niche Market if There Isn’t One Already

Let’s be honest: not every niche seems obvious at first.

Take the advent of the iPhone, one of the most revolutionary commercial products in the last few decades. The iPhone promised to bring all sorts of functionality to a single phone, providing it with a computer-like experience and putting it within the range of your palm.

Yet this niche didn’t exactly exist before the iPhone. People simply didn’t know that they wanted—or needed—a mobile phone with that kind of functionality.

Before small cellular phones, no one might think it would be a good idea to put a small, lower-quality camera into something that can fit in your pocket. Sure, mobility is nice—but the idea of having a small camera that wasn’t that high quality didn’t sound all that great at first.

Then, things changed. People realized that they did like the convenience of having so many devices work through their phone. The world changed. Software grew with the mobile phones. People started using them for games more often. They started texting more often. Social media became a thing—and people wanted to see who was posting what on these things called “apps.”

Granted—it’s kind of hard to compare a massive overhaul in the way we live to creating any old niche market from scratch. But let’s look at some specific steps you can create a niche market if you don’t find one already:

  • Be wary of listening to feedback. People often say one thing and do another. It’s simply part of the human experience. Don’t put too much stock into peoples’ hypothetical opinions of your niche or your online store before you launch it. What really matters is what people buy, not what they say they’ll buy. And you’ll often find that in business, the two concepts are very different things indeed.
  • Move a niche into the future. One way you can create a niche market that doesn’t already exist? Try to take a niche that already exists and add something to it. Some brands do this by combining existing concepts into something that hasn’t been seen before. Other brands might do this by innovating in the technology, creating a new product category.
  • Watch where customers are pointing you. Do you already have an online business up and running? If so, you have an invaluable source of information available at your fingertips, assuming you have analytics that can point you to what customers are doing. You can see which categories are getting the most traction. Which of these categories might you combine, to create a new “subset” niche when you introduce new products?

Ultimately, moving a niche into the future is going to be a challenge—but it’s certainly something you should keep in mind if you want to build a more unique online presence. And the more your company sticks out from the crowd, the more memorable your brand will become.

Choosing a Niche Market that Works For You

What is a niche market? It can be big or small. It can be wide or narrow. But ultimately it refers to a market that serves a particular set of people with specific tastes and needs.

In this article, we’ve outlined many examples of large niche markets. But there are subsets of each of these niche markets that can keep going down and down the ladder until you arrive at something highly specific—i.e., cleaning kits for the jewelry you buy for your pet. That’s highly specific.

But keep in mind that specificity doesn’t necessarily mean you won’t make a profit. It’s up to you to test the niches, find out what works, and ultimately, position your brand to fit the needs of your target market.

shopify popup new