冲动电子商务:在线应用现实世界原则

冲动购买可以被描述为当前的刺激或购买之前的计划外购买决定。 研究人员认为,情绪和感受在购买时起着巨大的作用,这是通过观看产品或接触到产品而引发的 精心制作的促销信息。 此类购买的范围从小(食品,衣服,杂志)到大型(珠宝,车辆,艺术品)。

营销人员几十年来一直依赖冲动购买技术,因此推广他们的产品,从而产生最后一刻的销售,但由于电子商务已经取得了相当大的成功, (统计报告高达9%的在线收入),营销人员和卖家在网上购物过程中面临着从线下到在线操作技术转换的需要,以及冲动电子商务的现象将在下面的文章。

电子商务与冲动购买现状

电子商务图形
截至目前,电子商务已经成为我们在线议程的一部分,主要是因为在线购物是多么容易和轻松。 先进的支付处理器和1分钟结账毫无疑问影响了流程的简单性,从而使每个人都可以轻松购买和销售产品。 然而,易用性很容易变成一种滥用,这种滥用存在于顾客心理的心理层面,认为容易的概念是过度使用它的必要性,使得它们成为非理性的购买者。

“鼓励购物者抢购这些额外商品对于零售商来说至关重要, Kantar Retail的Anne Zybowski说 特别是当这个行业成为价格削减的代名词时。 因此,公司正在投资于鼓励购物者每次访问时花费更多的策略,“CNBC的一篇文章报道。

Impulse电子商务是一种操纵技术,意味着它依赖于顾客的头脑来炫耀他潜在的非理性买家行为并将其应用于现实生活中。 消费者行为的逻辑顺序被自我满足的非理性时刻所取代。 冲动项目吸引消费者的情感方面。

在线冲动购买是类似的想法,但核心不同,因为营销人员用于离线展示其产品的方法是不同的,不能再在线应用。 根据离线技术,在线技术也依赖于意见和决策操纵,并涉及客户的自然购买栖息地,但现在这并非罕见或意外。

技术

社会化媒体

购买冲动电子商务的社交媒体来源可能是促进冲动购买的最有效方式。 人们认为,一个简单的结账过程,不需要很多复杂的步骤就会影响刺激,因此,由于在手机上进行这种研究的复杂性,因此几乎不需要任何研究就可以促进购买。或平板电脑。 我们可以认为社交媒体与朋友和熟人的建议直接相关,并且应用了“口碑”原则,这可以与冲动购买特别相关。

品牌认知度

品牌识别是一种非常模糊,但仍然是非常有效的通过冲动触发购买的技术。 需要说明的是,冲动购买高度依赖于一个不知情的买主,他可能会购买一些不必要的东西,而是因为自发的决定,因此品牌认知在这方面发挥了重要作用。 购买出自发性决策的可能性很大程度上不是由您可能不了解的产品和品牌引发的,或者在比较的情况下,公认的品牌在大量产品中被选中的可能性更高。 潜意识负责识别公司和产品的名称,并且影响它并不是一项简单的工作,这就是为什么这种方法仅适用于备受广告和认可支持的高度标记的项目。

易用性(结账流程)

结帐图片

对于所有便携式设备上的电子商务而言,这是最重要的方法。 易用性一直是基本上应该针对最终用户的任何要求,但是当涉及到创造收入时,您的收入与您为缓解目标生活所付出的努力成比例,特别是当他的时候当场购买一些商品。 一般规则是尽可能简化前端,尽可能少的形式,漂亮的用户界面和用户体验以及便捷的支付方式。

追加销售

这种技术被互联网营销人员广泛使用,大部分时间都将应用于互联网,很少脱机。 它包括销售主要产品,然后再提供一个通常比初始购买价值更高的产品,从而增加了从加售页面购买的愿望和存在。 这种技术可以在具有各种壁龛的商店中看到,但它可能对网络产品最有效,因为只有这种类型的产品才能提供比最初产品具有更大价值的追加销售产品的必要性,例如:皮带不能提供比最近购买的牛仔裤更多的价值,而一大套图标比一套3徽章更有价值。 与任何冲动购买的产品非常相似的售卖不一定是您需要的产品(即使它们是这样展示的),这就是为什么在购买任何这些商品之前可以而且应该进行一些适当的研究。

冲动采购分析

基于统计和活动监控,有一些特征是在线购买活动的特征:

产品

每个产品都有其特定的促销原则,可能不适合另一个产品,这就是我将其分解为3一般类别的原因,这些类别可以通过推广这些特定的方式来实现。

技术

通过研究分析的冲动性最小的项目是高度功能性或工具性的物品。 由于服装是最有可能一时冲动购买的商品清单中的首选,我们可以预期,对于高度参与的消费者来说,他们会被冲动购买。 计算机和技术项目被认为是“功能性”产品,因此预计它们会被冲动购买。 对于计算机产品的消费者来说,冲动购买可能很低 - 即使是那些更倾向于毫无理由地冲动购买的人,这就是为什么以冲动购买为目标这一类别可能不值得付出努力。

服饰

研究表明,服装商品最有可能成为冲动购买的候选人,因为服装商品被认为是“消费品,似乎具有自我展示,自我表达,情绪调整,转移和娱乐的潜力。”服装尤其是通常需要感觉,触摸并进行仔细检查的产品类型。 因此,与店内购买相比,在线购买决策所涉及的感知风险是相当高的,这就是为什么建议操纵在线冲动购买服装商品的决策因素不如它那样成功的原因。无论是“离线环境”。

网络产品

网络产品是一个完全不同的完全不同的利基,因此无法与之前的2类别进行比较。 没有研究冲动购买网络产品的具体细节,这就是为什么无法提供全面的信息,而是与上面提到的“追加销售”技术紧密相关的原因。

2014全球电子商务统计

除了有关冲动电子商务技术的洞察细节之外,还有一个信息图表显示去年在电子商务商品中购买的金额,这在考虑是否值得采用电子商务路径时可以很好地为您服务,或者如果你已经追求那种努力,你需要多少注意力来提供它。

2014信息图表中的全球电子商务销售

进一步阅读:统计

平板电脑和智能手机增加购买购买

这项研究表明,手机和平板电脑增加了冲动购买的可能性,其关键因素是该过程的简单性和流畅性。

探索互联网上的冲动购买

这是一项详尽而详细的研究,详细讲述了互联网用户购物者的行为,然后详细介绍了离线和互联网客户之间的差异,并提供了与客户研究相关的高级数据收集。

冲动因素,比在线更多地存在于店内

这篇评论向我们展示了硬币的另一面。 正如所料,一切都有它的缺点,在线电子商务和特别是冲动购买的问题是,并非每个人都转变为网上购物,因此在线冲动购买的有效率低于离线。

特色图片 Gustavo Zambelli

Catalin Zorzini

我是一名网页设计博客,在花了几周时间努力寻找出来之后开始了这个项目 最好的电子商务平台 为了我自己。 看看我的电流 顶级10电子商务网站建设者.

Impulse Ecommerce: Applying Real World Principles Online

Impulse Ecommerce

Impulse buying can be described as a spur of the moment or unplanned decision to buy, made just before a purchase. Researcher suggest that emotions and feelings play a huge role in purchasing, triggered by seeing the product or upon exposure to a well crafted promotional message. Such purchases ranges from small (food items, clothing, magazines) to substantially large (jewelry, vehicle, work of art).

Marketers have relied on impulse purchasing techniques for decades now, thus promoting their products and thus generating last-minute sales, but since e-commerce has taken over considerably, (statisticsreport up to 9% of income spent online), marketers and sellers faced the need to transition from offline to online techniques of manipulation in regard with our behavior during online shopping, and the phenomena of impulse e-commerce will be discussed in detail in the following article.

State of e-commerce & Impulse Buying

Ecommerce graphic
As of now, e-commerce has already become a part of our online agenda, mainly because of how easy and hassle-free it is to go shopping online. Advanced payment processors and 1-minute checkouts with no-doubts have influenced the simplicity of the process, thus making it easy for everyone to purchase and sell things. The ease of use, however, can easily turn into an abuse that lies on a psychological level of customer’s mind, perceiving the idea of easiness as the necessity to overuse it making them irrational purchasers.

“Encouraging shoppers to snatch up those extra items is key for retailers, said Kantar Retail’s Anne Zybowski particularly as the industry becomes synonymous with price slashing. As such, companies are investing in strategies that encourage shoppers to spend more each time they visit,” a CNBC article reported.

Impulse e-commerce is a manipulation technique, meaning that it relies on a customer’s mind to show off his potential irrational buyer behaviour and apply it in real-life. The logical sequence of the consumers' actions is replaced with an irrational moment of self gratification. Impulse items appeal to the emotional side of consumers.

Online impulse buying is similar by idea, but is different by core, because the methods marketers use to present their product offline is different and can no longer be applied online. As per offline techniques, the online ones also rely on opinion and decision manipulation and involving in customer’s natural purchasing habitat, but nowadays this is nothing uncommon or unexpected.

Techniques

Social Media

Social media sources for impulse e-commerce purchases is likely to be the most efficient way of promoting impulse purchasing when it is done right. It is thought that an easy process of check-out, which doesn’t require many complicated steps will influence the stimuli therefore will promote a purchase with barely any research behind it, due to the complicated nature of performing such a research on a mobile phone or a tablet. We can consider that social media is directly tied with friends and acquaintances’ suggestions and the principle of “word-of-mouth” is applied, which can be specifically related to impulse purchasing.

Brand Recognition

Brand recognition is a pretty vague, but still highly effective technique of triggering purchases by impulse. It is to be stated that impulse purchases are highly dependant on an uninformed buyer, who is likely to buy something not of necessity but because of a spontaneous decision, thus brand recognition plays a great role in this. Purchasing out of the spontaneous decision is very unlikely to be triggered by products and brands you might not be aware of, or in a case of comparison, a recognized brand has higher chances of being chosen amongst the big pool of products. The subconscious is responsible for recognizing names of companies and products, and influencing it is not a simple job, which is why this method is only available for highly marked items that are backed up by much advertising and recognition.

Ease of Use (checkout process)

Checkout image

This is the most important method in regard with e-commerce in general on all portable devices. Ease of use has always been a requirement for basically anything it is supposed to be targeted to an end user, but when it comes to generating revenue, your income is proportional to how much effort you put into easing your target’s life, and especially when he’s on the spot for purchasing some goods. The general rule would be to make it as easy as possible on the front-end, as few forms as possible, beautiful UI & UX and convenient ways of payment.

Upsell

This technique is broadly used by internet marketers and most of the time will be applied on the internet, it being rarely met offline. It consists of selling a main product and then offering an additional one that is often of a greater value than the initial purchase, thus the desire and existence of purchasing from upsell pages. This technique can been seen on shops with various niches, but it is probably most effective with web products because only this type of products can provide with the necessity of upsell products that would be of a bigger value than the initial ones, e.g: a belt cannot provide more value than the pair of jeans recently purchased while a huge set of icons holds more value than a set of 3 badges. Upsells, pretty much like any impulse-bought products, are not necessarily products that you need (even if they are shown as such) which is why some proper research can and should be done before purchasing any of those goods.

Impulse Purchasing Analysis

Based on statistics and activity monitoring, it has been that there are several features which are characteristic to an online purchasing activity:

Products

Each Product has its specifics and principles of promotion one over might not be suitable for another, which is why i broke it down to 3 general categories that are specific in the way each of these can be promoted.

Tech

The least impulsive items in the analysed by studies were highly functional or instrumental goods. Since clothing is at the top of the list of items most likely to be bought on impulse, we can expect they will be bought even more impulsively for highly involved consumers. Computers and technology items are considered “functional” products, therefore they are expected to be bought less on impulse. Impulse buying may be low for consumers of computer products- even those who have a greater tendency to buy impulsively with no reason, which is why targeting this category for an impulse purchase might not be worth the effort.

Apparel

Studies show that clothing items are the most likely candidates for impulse buying, since clothing goods are thought to be “consumer goods which appear to have potential for self-presentation, self-expression, mood adjustment, diversion and entertainment.” Clothing in particular is a product type that often needs to be felt, touched, and subjected to closer inspection. Hence, the perceived risk involved in a purchasing decision for clothing is quite high online compared to an in-store purchase which is why it is suggested that manipulating the decisional factor of an online impulse purchase of a clothing item is not as successful as it would be it an “offline environment”.

Try-Shopify

Web Products

Web products are a fairly different niche which is totally different, therefore it can not be compared to previous 2 categories. The specifics of impulse purchases of web products were not studied which is why thorough information cannot be provide, yet are tightly related with the “Upsell” technique, mentioned above.

2014 Global E-commerce statistics

Aside from insight details in regard with impulse e-commerce techniques, there’s also an infographic that displays the amount purchased in e-commerce goods in the last year, which could serve you well when considering if it is worth taking the e-commerce path, or how much attention you have got to provide it if you have already pursued that endeavor.

Global ecommerce sales in 2014 infographic

Further Reading: Statistics

Tablets and Smartphones Increase Purchase Buying

This study suggests that mobile phones and tablets have increased the probability of impulse purchases, and a key factor for this was the simplicity and smoothness of the process.

Exploring Impulse Buying on Internet

This is a thorough and detailed study that speaks in details about the behaviour of the internet user shopper and then presents a detailed review of the differences between offline and internet customers and presents advanced data gatherings in regard with customer research.

Impulse factor, more present in-store than online

This review, shows us the other side of the coin. As supposed, everything has it’s downsides, and the problem with online e-commerce and specifically impulse buying is that not everyone has transitioned to online shopping, thus the rate of effectiveness of impulse buying online is less than it is offline.

Feature image curtsey of Gustavo Zambelli

Catalin Zorzini

I'm a web design blogger and started this project after spending a few weeks struggling to find out which is the best ecommerce platform for myself. Check out my current top 10 ecommerce site builders.