短信营销与电子邮件营销–有何区别?

短信和电子邮件的优缺点

在确定哪种营销渠道最适合您的电子商务业务时,可能会非常棘手。 有很多不同的方法可以做到这一点,说实话,每件事都有利弊。

在本文中,我们将探讨对电子商务零售商产生非常积极影响的两种营销策略。 电子邮件营销 也许您已经熟悉并且正在使用它,但是我们还将探索SMS营销较少使用的策略。

我们将首先探讨它们的本质,为您提供两者的优点和缺点,并探讨这两个营销支柱是否可以同时发挥作用。 作为良好的衡量标准,我们还将重点介绍一些良好的示例,以便您可以将其复制用于电子商务业务。

什么是电子邮件营销?

电子邮件营销使您可以与现有和潜在客户进行电子通信。

这是对您的业务至关重要的工具,它可以帮助您创建电子邮件营销活动以提升您的品牌,介绍新产品系列,突出销售量,或者仅仅是帮助您在业务与客户之间建立关系。

要做好电子邮件营销,您需要考虑以下要素。

  • 设计
  • 内容
  • 报告
  • A / B测试

如果您只是刚入门,那么破解电子邮件的设计可能会特别棘手,特别是如果您没有任何设计经验的话。

这就是合适的电子邮件软件可以派上用场的地方。 在 ecommerce-platforms.com,我们是 Sendinblue (阅读我们的 Sendinblue评论).

Sendinblue使您可以通过其拖放编辑器快速创建专业设计。 他们拥有大量的电子邮件模板库,或者,如果您觉得自己很勇敢,则可以从头开始设计一个。

sendinblue电子邮件营销

什么是短信营销?

SMS营销是向您的客户群发送短信的过程。

根据GDPR规定,公司必须获得其客户的许可才能允许他们发送短信。 当您的现有或潜在客户注册帐户时,此选项才可用。

然后,该想法是发送带有号召性用语(CTA)的文本,以将用户吸引到您的商店。 有许多SMS服务可用,但是我们建议您找到已经与您的营销系统集成在一起的服务。

那就是像这样的营销工具 HubSpot (阅读我们的 HubSpot Marketing Hub评论)效果很好。 您可以在一个平台上管理电子邮件营销,SEO,实时聊天和SMS短信。

与电子邮件营销不同,不需要考虑很多设计工作,但是,我们建议您使用优质的URL链接缩短工具。 SMS消息受字符数限制,URL可能会很长,因此请使用诸如 Bitly or Rebrandly 是必不可少的。

电子邮件营销的优势

1。 订婚

由于电子邮件营销基于许可,因此平均打开率和点击率往往非常适合电子邮件营销。

这些是选择加入您的通讯并希望收到您的来信的客户或潜在客户。 根据Statista的说法, 4.6亿人使用电子邮件 在2025年,您的用户就在那里。

2。 成本

这是一种经济高效的沟通渠道,它也可以根据您的业务成功程度进行扩展。 Sendinblue 免费提供其软件,该软件具有无限的联系方式,每天限制300封电子邮件。 电子邮件营销也没有额外的费用,您所看到的就是所得到的。

sendinblue 定价

3.直接性

与传统的离线营销不同,电子邮件使您可以直接将用户定向到操作。 无论是促销还是博客文章,您都可以将用户吸引到您的网站上。

4.品牌知名度/设计

电子邮件非常灵活,可让您发送纯文本,添加图形或附加文件。 许多电子邮件营销软件可让您非常轻松地对电子邮件进行模版,使其与您的网站匹配,这对于提高品牌知名度至关重要。

5。 测试

在进行A / B测试时,大多数人都认为可以测试的只是主题行。 但是,大多数软件都允许您试用不同的CTA,电子邮件内容和图像。 看看您的电子邮件中有什么成功可以帮助您然后影响您的网站副本。

6。 报告

所有优秀的电子邮件提供商都允许与Google Analytics(分析)集成。 这使您可以查看有多少用户单击了您的电子邮件,最重要的是,他们查看了与之交互或未与之交互的页面。 这可以为您将来的数字营销活动提供信息。

电子邮件营销的缺点

1。 垃圾邮件

当您使用电子邮件时,要在信息量丰富和被视为“垃圾邮件”之间找到适当的平衡,可能会很棘手。

如果商业电子邮件过多,则这可能会稀释您的信息,因此销售似乎并不那么重要。 这可能会导致您失去订阅者。 您还需要确保允许您向该人发送电子邮件,并且已授予正确的权限。

2.交付能力

有很多原因可能导致您的电子邮件无法发送。 如果电子邮件的设计不佳,包含看似“垃圾邮件”的单词或标点符号的使用过多,则可能无法通过许多电子邮件收件箱垃圾邮件过滤器。

确保您的客户电子邮件列表也是最新的,这也可能是一项漫长的手动任务。

3.点击率(CTR)

通常,电子邮件点击率不错,但是当您考虑营销电子邮件时,点击率确实会下降。 同样,如果您发送的邮件中包含要约的频率过高,则它们有被忽略的风险。 少即是最好的方法在这里。

4.设备

并非所有人都会在同一部手机,设备或计算机上查看您的电子邮件。 因此,您需要测试电子邮件的外观,并确保涵盖所有基础。 无法下载的图像或难以辨认的文本只是几个常见问题。

短信营销的优势

1。 访问

手机或手机非常个人化,因此普通人随身携带它们。 与电子邮件不同,不需要用户具有活动的Internet连接。

2.时效性

如果您有时间紧迫的提议,则SMS营销活动将非常有效。 人们不太可能检查电子邮件,但是将带有有关即将结束的销售的信息的文本发送到手机上会更加有效。

3.交付能力

由于文本消息主要是纯文本,因此不会出现文本被用户的电话阻止的问题。 人们还倾向于坚持使用自己的电话号码,以确保另一端有人可以接收它。 用户可以拥有多个电子邮件地址,包括离开公司后失效的工作电子邮件地址。

4。 订婚

研究表明,短信营销的开放率和参与率可以达到 高达98%.

除此之外,由于其纯文本性质,人们更容易参与和响应您的CTA。 试想一下,您最后一次收到未读短信的时间是什么时候? 这使得响应率非常好。

5.定位

如果你有一个好的 客户关系管理(CRM)工具 然后您可以根据客户的活动或购买习惯来定制信息。

短信营销的弊端

1.内容限制

SMS营销的明显限制是字符数。

不仅文本必须简短,而且大多数SMS消息的显示预览都更短。 这意味着您有一个20-30个字符的窗口来吸引他们的注意力,然后才能访问您的网站。

2。 成本

与电子邮件营销不同,短信营销可能需要付出一定的代价。 在查看与 HubSpot,最具成本效益的解决方案可以让您每月至少回扣100美元。

这是因为该集成的所有者需要获得手机代理商的服务。 定价计划还基于交付量,您需要的支持水平以及您的业务是否是国际性的。 在文字中包含您的公司名称也可能会额外花费。 如果您想通过多媒体消息服务(MMS)查看gif或交互式媒体,那么这将再次花费额外的费用。

3。 垃圾邮件

短信不可能像电子邮件一样被视为垃圾邮件,但是随着时间的流逝,它肯定会不断增加。

因此,在文本中使用您的公司名称并具有与收件人联系的必要权限至关重要。

4.联系人列表

与电子邮件地址相比,人们不太可能给您提供电话号码。 这意味着,当有人向您注册帐户时,您不需要填写移动数据字段,这一点非常重要。

您可能会想,我将如何获得他们的电话号码? 如果您将手机号码设为必不可少的话,那么您就有可能根本无法获得手机号码。 在此阶段,有必要评估您的CRM系统,并根据提供该信息的联系人数量来计算是否值得进行SMS营销。

电子邮件营销的好例子

我们已经告诉您使用电子邮件的明显优势,但是在涉及这种营销策略时,哪些营销人员正在压制它?

Statista证明了 互联网用户90% 是电子邮件用户,并且在上个月至少发送了一封电子邮件,那么如何确保自己在竞争对手中脱颖而出?

Quiksilver

我最近收到了Quiksilver寄来的这封电子邮件,我非常喜欢它。

电子邮件中的gif很好用,它描绘了短裤所涉及的选择。 含糊不清的“出于某种原因的讽刺意味”的表述几乎是诱饵,但有品味。 它诱使用户发现更多。

quicksilver电子邮件营销

Quiksilver在这封电子邮件上做得很好是因为他们甚至都没有提到价格。 最初,所有内容都是围绕产品构建故事并为用户提供购买的理由。

电子邮件中还包含一个简短的故事,内容是有关获得世界冠军的冲浪者如何穿着这些短裤的信息。 他们用来对比自己的“原创”语言的语言是极好的,提到其他竞争对手已经“剥夺”了他们的设计。

Quiksilver非常聪明,通过展示会搭配短裤的物品来进一步扩大其范围。

其他产品

就像这封电子邮件一样,登录页面必须匹配。 水银板的短页 镜像电子邮件中使用的内容,但还提供一些其他可能减慢了电子邮件速度的媒体,例如视频。

乐购

乐购 很好地使用电子邮件。 特别是在使用主题行时。

人们喜欢感到自己是专属社区的一部分,并且因为成为客户而获得回报。 乐购通过使用“特殊”一词来做到这一点。 使用诸如“ exclusive”,“ private”,“ personal”或“ in”之类的同义词divi双重”确实可以提高点击率。

tesco电子邮件

还要认识到Tesco如何不使用“我们”。 公司非常渴望自夸,但最终客户只是想知道您能为他们做些什么。

MyProtein

话题性和相关性对您的电子邮件通信至关重要。 MyProtein 以非常时尚的方式使用了此功能,与此同时,健身房也对外开放。

这个主题是我遇到的最强大的主题之一。 它询问了一个相关的问题,其中包括要约和对时间敏感的行动。

它还使用表情符号来表示“即时销售”。 关于表情符号是否对您的品牌有利有争议,但一项研究 搜索引擎 - 表明他们确实提高了点击率,并且最好放在主题行的末尾。

myprotein电子邮件

您的产品是季节性的,时事会影响您的业务吗? 然后查看新闻,查看社交媒体,看看您的客户对此有何反应。

短信营销的好例子

那么,SMS又如何呢?如何利用这种高开放率的营销策略呢? 正如我们已经提到的那样,像Quiksilver所做的那样,极富创造力和拼凑而成的内容非常困难。 SMS的关键是直截了当,并明智地使用您的字符数。

这里有3个很好的例子,有很多不好的例子,其中一个不好。

尺寸?

电子商务巨头规模? 他们的SMS非常重要,这是他们明确重视的营销渠道。

首先,清楚地显示其名称以供识别。 他们还提供了一些关键品牌来吸引用户,您也可以使用CRM系统根据用户进行个性化设置。

另一个重要因素是,有一种简单的退出方式,或者我们应该说“退出”。 大写字母使其对客户清晰可见,并显示大小? 关心客户的喜好。

大小短信

你好新鲜

并非所有短信都必须用于促销。 你好新鲜 在这里,几乎可以通过提高其抽奖来在传递物品通知方面做得很好。

这样,Hello Fresh可以从获得客户评论中受益,他们的客户认为这样做是对自己的回报。

你好新鲜短信

肌肉食品

作为营销人员,您会意识到自己的竞争,因此有时候提及他们并不是一个坏主意。

不是积极的态度,而是更像是 肌肉食品 在下面做了。 您比竞争对手好吗? 你便宜点吗? 您提供更快的交货时间吗? 你们提供免费退货吗? 将您独特的卖点放在短信中。

与其他肌肉食品不同,肌肉食品在这里所做的也是使用缩短的URL。 这对于增加点击率非常有用,因为它的商标很高,而且还减少了SMS的字符数。

肌肉食品短信

我认为值得指出一个不好的例子,这要感谢帕帕·约翰斯(Papa Johns)。 尽管从未一次购买多个比萨饼,但我还是从他们那里收到了这段文字。 达成一笔家庭交易不会使一个人独居的人感兴趣,所以我感到有点沮丧。 这就是为什么明智地使用CRM并确保您的客户统计数据是最新的很重要。

爸爸约翰短信

一起使用电子邮件和SMS营销

正如我之前提到的,获取某人的电子邮件地址而不是其手机号码要容易得多。 因此,您可以利用电子邮件营销的功能来获取客户的手机号码。

这又是来自MyProtein的一个示例,当您发送产品评论时,他们会在页脚中提供“注册短信”功能。 着陆页将用户带到他们的帐户是至关重要的,并且有一种明显的方式可以选择加入SMS。

肌蛋白短信

总结

当涉及到您的营销工作时,电子邮件营销与SMS营销之间就不存在这种情况。

这两种策略都可以帮助您的业务,并且两者都有非常独特的优势和劣势。 它们之间的唯一比较是点击率不错。

电子邮件营销具有更高的成本效益和可定制性,而SMS则受益于更好的开放率和改进的可传递性。

您打算在营销中使用这些沟通渠道中的一个还是其中一个? 在下面的评论中与我们联系,让我们知道他们如何为您服务。

特色图片来自 Depositphotos的.

理查德普罗瑟罗

Veeqo的内容营销人员。 Veeqo允许您将您的Amazon Seller Central帐户与其他销售渠道相关联,以更好地管理您的库存和运输。

注释 0回应

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被公开。 必填 *

评分 *

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

成为电子商务专家

输入您的电子邮件以开始派对

SMS Marketing vs Email Marketing – What is the Difference?

Advantages and Disadvantages of text messaging and email

It can be very tricky when deciding which marketing avenues are the best for your ecommerce business. There are so many different ways to do it and let's be honest, there are pros and cons to everything.

In this article, we'll explore two marketing strategies that have a very positive impact on ecommerce retailers. Email marketing may already be familiar to you and you be using it, but we'll also explore the lesser-used tactic of SMS marketing.

We'll first explore what they are, give you the advantages and disadvantages of both and explore whether these two marketing pillars can work in tandem. For good measure, we'll also highlight some good examples so you can replicate them for your ecommerce business.

What is Email Marketing?

Email marketing allows you to send electronic communication with your current and prospective customers.

It's a vital tool for your business and it can help you create email marketing campaigns to promote your brand, introduce a new product range, highlight a sale, or simply to help build a relationship between your business and the customer.

To do email marketing well you need to consider the following elements.

  • Design
  • Content
  • Reporting
  • A/B Testing

If you are just starting out then the design of your email can be particularly tricky to crack, especially if you don't have any design experience.

That's where the right email software can come in handy. At Ecommerce-Platforms.com, we are big fans of Sendinblue (read our Sendinblue review).

Sendinblue allows you to create professional designs very quickly via their drag & drop editor. They have an extensive library of email templates, or if you're feeling brave you can design one from scratch.

sendinblue email marketing

What is SMS Marketing?

SMS marketing is the process of sending text messages to your customer base.

Due to GDPR regulations, companies must obtain permission from their customer to allow them to send text messages. This option can be available when your current or prospective customer signs up for an account.

The idea then is to send texts with a call to action (CTA) to drive the users to your store. There are many SMS services available, but we would recommend finding a service that already integrates with your marketing system.

That is where a marketing tool like HubSpot (read our HubSpot Marketing Hub review) works so well. You can manage your email marketing, SEO, live chat and SMS text messages within one platform.

Unlike email marketing, there isn't a lot of design work that needs to considered, however, we would suggest using a good URL link shortener tool. SMS messages are limited by character count and URL's can get long, therefore using an option such as Bitly or Rebrandly is essential.

Advantages of Email Marketing

1. Engagement

Average open rates and click-through rates tend to be very good with email marketing due to it being permission-based.

These are customers or prospective customers that have opted into your communications and want to hear from you. According to Statista, there will 4.6 billion people using email in 2025, so that's where your users are.

2. Cost

It is such a cost-effective communication channel, which can also scale dependent on how successful your business becomes. Sendinblue offers their software for free, which comes with unlimited contacts and a limit of 300 emails per day. There are no additional fees with email marketing as well, what you see is what you get.

sendinblue pricing

3. Directness

Unlike traditional offline marketing, emails allow you to direct users right to the action. Whether that's a flash sale or a blog post, you can drive users right to your website.

4. Brand awareness / Design

Email is very flexible and allows you to send plain text, add graphics or attach files. A lot of email marketing software allows you to very easily mould your emails so that it matches your website, which is vital in increasing brand awareness.

5. Testing

When it comes to A/B testing most people assume that it's just your subject line that can be tested. However, most software allows you to trial different CTA's, email content and images. Seeing what is successful in your emails can help influence your website copy then.

6. Reporting

All good email providers allow integration with Google Analytics. This allows you to see how many users clicked your email and most importantly what pages they interacted, or didn't interact with. This can inform your future digital marketing campaigns.

Disadvantages of Email Marketing

1. Spam

Finding the right balance between being informative and being seen as ‘spammy' can be tricky when you use email.

If there are too many commercial emails then this can dilute your message and a sale doesn't look that important then. This can lead to you losing subscribers. You also need to ensure that you are allowed to email that person and the right permissions have been given.

2. Deliverability

There a number of reasons why your email may not get delivered. If emails are poor in design, contain words that seem ‘spammy' or there is an overuse of punctuation then that may not get past many email inbox spam filters.

Ensuring your customer email list is up to date as well can be a lengthy manual task also.

3. Click-through rate (CTR)

Whilst generally CTR is good on email, it does drop when you consider marketing emails. Again, if you're sending emails with offers too frequently then they run the risk of being ignored. A less is more approach is best here.

4. Devices

Not everyone will be viewing your email on the same mobile phone, device or computer. Therefore you need to test how your email looks and make sure you cover all bases. Images not downloading or text that is indecipherable are just a couple of common issues.

Advantages of SMS Marketing

1. Access

Mobile or cell phones are incredibly personal so the average person carries them around everywhere they go. Unlike email, the user isn't required to have an active internet connection.

2. Time-sensitive

SMS marketing campaigns are very effective if you have time-sensitive offers. People are unlikely to be checking their emails, but a text arriving on their mobile phone with information about a sale ending soon is much more effective.

3. Deliverability

As text messaging is predominantly plain text, you don't have the issue of the text being blocked by the user's phone. People also tend to stick with their phone number which ensures that there is someone on the other end to receive it. Users can have several email addresses, including defunct work email addresses if they leave a business.

4. Engagement

Research has shown that open and engagement rates for SMS marketing can be as high as 98%.

Further to that is that due to its plain text nature, it's much easier for people to engage and respond to your CTA. Just think, when was the last time you received a text message that you didn't read? This makes the response rate very good.

5. Targetting

If you have a good customer relationship management (CRM) tool then you can tailor your message based on your customer's activities or purchasing habits.

Disadvantages of SMS Marketing

1. Content limit

The obvious limitation with SMS marketing is the character count.

Not only does the text have to be short but most SMS messages display with a preview which is even shorter. That means you have a 20-30 character window to grab their attention in order to then visit your website.

2. Cost

Unlike email marketing, SMS marketing can come at a price. When looking at integrations with HubSpot, the most cost-effective solutions can set you back at least $100 a month.

That's because the owners of that integrations will need to acquire the services of a mobile phone agency. Pricing plans are also based on delivery volume, the level of support you need and whether your business is international. It can also cost additional to have your business name including in the text. If you want to see gifs, or interactive media via a multimedia messaging service (MMS) then this will cost extra again.

3. Spam

It's unlikely text messaging will ever be seen as spammy as email, but it's definitely been increasing over time.

That's why it's crucial that your business name is used in the text and that you have the requisite permissions in order to contact the recipient.

4. Contact List

People are much more unlikely to give you their phone number, compared to their email address. That means it's very important that when someone registers an account with you that you don't make the mobile data field required.

You may think, well how will I get their number? If you make the mobile number essential, then you risk not getting their number at all. At this stage, it's worth assessing your CRM system and calculating whether it's worth carrying out SMS marketing based on how many contacts gave that information.

Good examples of Email Marketing

We've told you the clear advantages of using email but which marketers are crushing it when it comes to this marketing strategy?

Statista has shown that 90% of internet users are email users and have sent at least one email in the last month, so how can you ensure that you stand out amongst your competitors?

Quiksilver

I recently received this email from Quiksilver and I absolutely loved it.

It's a great use of a gif within an email that portrays the selection choices involved with the shorts. The vague statement of “iconic for a reason” is almost clickbait but in a tasteful way. It entices the user to discover more.

quicksilver email marketing

What Quiksilver has done very well on this email is that they haven't even mentioned a price. Initially, it's all about building the story around the product and giving the user a reason to buy.

The email also includes a short story about how these shorts were worn by world title-winning surfers. The language they use to contrast how theirs is the “original” is superb, mentioning that other competitors have “ripped off” their design.

Quiksilver is very clever in further promoting their range, by displaying items that would compliment the shorts.

additional products

As good as this email is, the landing page has to match. Quicksilver's boardshort page mirrors the content used in the email, but also offers some other media that may have slowed down the email, such as video.

Tesco

Tesco uses email so well. Particularly in their use of subject lines.

People like to feel that they are part of an exclusive community and that they are getting something back for being a customer. Tesco does this by using the word “special”. Using synonyms of this such as ‘exclusive', ‘private', ‘personal' or ‘individual' are really good in increasing CTR.

tesco email

Recognise as well how Tesco don't use ‘we'. Companies are so eager to boast about themselves, but ultimately customers just want to know what you can do for them.

MyProtein

Being topical and relevant is crucial in your email communications. MyProtein is used this in great fashion, coinciding with the gyms opening back up with a deal.

This subject line was one of the most powerful I came across. It asked a question that was pertinent, included an offer and also a time-sensitive action.

It also used an emoji to indicate the “flash sale”. There's debate around whether emojis are good for your brand, but a study by Search Engine Journal showed that they did improve click-through rate and are best placed at the end of the subject line.

myprotein email

Are your products seasonal, can current affairs affect your business? Then check the news, look on social media and see how are your customers are reacting.

Good examples of SMS Marketing

So what about SMS and how can you utilise this high open rate marketing strategy? As we've mentioned it's very difficult to be creative and piece something together as Quiksilver have done above. The key with SMS is to get straight to the point and to use your character count wisely.

Here are 3 good examples and for good measure, one bad one.

Size?

Ecommerce giant Size? is very big into their SMS and it's a marketing channel that they clearly value.

Firstly their name is clearly displayed for recognition. They've also included a few key brands to entice the user, you could also use your CRM system to personalise this based on the user.

Another important element is that there is an easy way to opt out, or should we say OPT OUT. The capitalisation makes it clearly visible to the customer and it shows Size? care about their customer's preferences.

size sms

Hello Fresh

Not all text messaging has to be used to promote a sale. Hello Fresh do a great job here of delivering a notification on the delivery of an item, by almost promoting their prize draw.

That way Hello Fresh benefit from getting a customer review and their customer feels they are being rewarded for doing so.

Hello Fresh sms

Muscle Food

As marketers, you will be aware of your competition so sometimes it's not a bad idea to mention them.

Not in a positive light, but more like how Muscle Food have done below. How are you better than your competitors? Are you cheaper? Do you offer a quicker delivery? Do you offer free returns. Put your unique selling point in the SMS.

What Muscle Food have also done here, unlike the others, is used a shortened URL. This is great for increasing CTR as it's branded and it also reduces the character count of the SMS.

Muscle Food sms

I thought it might be worth point out one bad example, courtesy of Papa Johns. I received this text from them, despite never buying more than one pizza at a time. A family deal would not interest someone who lives alone, so I was a bit miffed. That's why it's important you use your CRM wisely and make sure your customer demographics are up to date.

papa johns sms

Using Email and SMS Marketing together

As I mentioned earlier, it's much easier to get someones email address as opposed to their mobile number. Therefore you can use the power of email marketing to get your customers mobile numbers.

Here's an example from MyProtein again, who offer you to “sign up to sms” in their footer when a product review is sent out. It's critical that the landing page takes the user to their account and there's an obvious way to opt-in to SMS.

myprotein sms

Conclusion

When it comes to your marketing efforts it isn't a case of email marketing vs SMS marketing.

Both of these strategies can help your business and they both have very unique advantages and disadvantages. The only comparison between them is that CTR is good.

Email marketing is much more cost-effective and customisable, whereas SMS benefits from better open rates and improved deliverability.

Are you planning to use either or one of these communications channels in your marketing? Get in touch with us below in the comments and let us know how they worked for you.

Featured image via Depositphotos.

Richard Protheroe

Content Marketer at Veeqo. Veeqo allows you to link your Amazon Seller Central account with your other sales channels to better manage your inventory and shipping.