必备的电子商务用户体验功能

关于如何将您的在线商店转变为销售机器有很多提示和技巧,但今天我将专注于绝对必须具备的电子商务用户体验功能。 没有理由!

安全套接字层(SSL)

如果购物者决定要在您的网站上进行购买,他们需​​要某种形式的保证,他们的信用卡数据不会被截获,出售或以其他方式滥用。 您无法控制他们的计算机并确保其信用卡信息的100%安全性 能够 控制您的网站以及您的网站与消费者之间的互动。 你这样做是通过使用 SSL证书。 SSL证书用于加密您的网站(服务器)和消费者(客户端)之间的数据,以确保没有外人可以利用它来获取信用卡数据。 黑客可以通过多种方式拦截数据,但加密数据对黑客来说毫无用处,因为它只是一堆行话。

如果网站URL包含“HTTPS”而不是原始“HTTP”,则使用SSL证书进行保护。 较大的网站也使用SSL,但实际上并非如此 出售 任何东西,比如谷歌:

谷歌SSL

Google出于其他原因使用SSL证书,主要是与隐私相关的问题。

谷歌最近表示,他们将在排名网站时开始考虑网站安全性,因此从搜索引擎优化的角度来看,SSL也可能是有益的。

行动号召(CTA)

如果有一件事你可以确定,那就是你需要在每个页面上至少召开一次号召性用语。 CTA应该清晰可辨,并应鼓励购物者进一步询问。 CTA有一些目的:

  1. 出售 - 当客户点击“了解更多”或“立即购买”的链接时,通常意味着他们对您要说的内容感兴趣。 兴趣可能意味着销售,你肯定不想错过销售仅仅是因为你没有让购物者轻松。
  2. 通知他们 - 在整个网站中移动访问者是理想的选择。 通过网站进行移动意味着他们更好地了解产品,并对您的产品和公司表现出更大的兴趣。 有时,一个号召性用语就是让某人对某事感兴趣。
  3. 收集信息 - 他们在整个网站中移动得越多,您就越了解他们正在寻找什么。 例如,包含所有带过滤器的鞋子的页面只会告诉您他们想要鞋子。 然而,专门用于礼服鞋,休闲鞋,童鞋等的页面可以帮助您确定他们究竟在寻找什么。 流行的产品应该比不太受欢迎的产品更容易找到。

看看行动号召的一些例子:

索尼

索尼电子商务战略

作为电子领域最大的品牌之一,索尼在任何地方都采取行动呼吁,有时比其他人更加微妙。 大多数情况下,他们使用它们来引导用户浏览网站,而文本中的设计和功能真正引起了您的注意。 这是一种流行的电子商务策略,已经证明非常成功。

Apple

Apple电子商务战略

Apple告诉我们,号召性用语不一定是购物页面或购物车。 相反,他们在他们的主页上使用主要号召性用语来带你去看一部宣传iPhone5的电影。 新的iPhone是这里的目标产品,但为了让你感兴趣,他们认为一个简短的视频应引起一些兴趣。

大本营

电子商务试用策略

Basecamp是一个项目管理工具,提供易于使用的工具,如待办事项列表和项目组织工具。 这是一项付费服务​​,Basecamp的目标从一开始就是进行销售。 他们通过2月免费试用做到这一点,这一点在您登陆网站时很容易找到。

储蓄和销售

如果我们对购物者有所了解,那就是他们渴望销售和任何形式的节省。 大多数对某些东西感兴趣的客户都非常乐意在有销售的情况下阅读它。 黑色星期五是这个的核心例子; 人们一直在购买大型电子产品,但是当黑色星期五到来时,似乎美国的每个人都对这款新的平板电视感兴趣。 价格 do 有所作为,广告销售和其他形式的储蓄从一开始就是一种理想的销售方式。

ZAGG

有一些形式的储蓄通常用于吸引新客户和回头客:

电子商务折扣策略

  • 送货优惠 - 作为狂热的用户 活泉!当我说运费是一个吸引力时,我会直接说话。 无论您购买多少或多少东西,运费都要花费$ 5。 如果你买一包钢笔,这并不理想; 然而,购买电视,一包钢笔,电视支架和新的扬声器系统可能会增加一些严重的运输和处理成本! 除了Woot,我经常在亚马逊上购物,因为它们的价格比其他大多数同样产品的地方便宜或几乎相同。 但亚马逊为Prime会员提供免费的2天发货,这是另一个节省的机会。

活泉!

电子商务运输战略

万一你想知道,我做到了 买这个订单。 这只是一个例子! 但是,在Woot你 能够 设法购买2笔记本电脑,投影仪和18-piece集装箱,只需$ 5发货。

  • 井喷销售 - 主要销售,也称为“井喷销售”,基本上是迷你黑色星期五销售。 在这些井喷式销售中,您提供的产品价格远低于平均水平。 在大多数情况下,这些销售额超过项目的50%。 井喷销售当然可以带来很多客户,其中许多客户将浏览可能尚未上市的产品,但仍然对他们感兴趣。 最后但并非最不重要的是,井喷销售应该偶尔发生。 时机可能意味着一切。

谢赫

当天的电子商务交易

  • 当天的交易 - 交易是抢断,或者至少是希望。 如果可能的话,每天提供“当天的优惠”是鼓励客户每天查看您网站的理想选择。 在同一页面上,为您希望宣传的网站上的其他网页发出号召性用语非常有用。 对于某些企业来说,这可能是本周的交易,也可能是当天的1交易而不是多次交易。 作为一家大型零售商,Sears有能力每天承办300交易。

西尔斯

西尔斯电子商务

易于使用的购物车

想象自己在商店里排队,想要购买并准备购买。 你已经准备就绪了。 只有一个问题:收银员似乎对计算机系统有一些麻烦。 实际上,所有的收银员都遇到了这个问题。 挫折感可能会增加,许多客户决定离开。 如此多的电子商务设计师如此专注于购物体验,以至于忘记了结账。 当然,抓住兴趣并让购物者真正愿意购买产品是最困难的一步,但要保持它们 你的 网站也很难。

所有购物车都应该易于使用。 在设计和开发购物车系统时要记住的一个核心问题是 用户不喜欢填写表格。 他们鄙视形式,并尽可能避免它们! 只有让他们填写购买绝对必要的东西。 在购买结束时,您甚至应该要求他们在您的网站上创建一个帐户,以便在结帐过程结束时更快地购买并减少表单。 你会惊讶地发现有多少购物者只是为了易用而注册。 事实上,一些公司完全削减了购物车,例如亚马逊和他们的1点击购买功能。 此外,如果您打算使用商店建设者,我建议 Shopify 为了最好的结果。

亚马逊

亚马逊电子商务

在填写结帐信息后,您可以轻松快速地在您的网站上创建免费帐户。 在主页上为用户提供推荐产品的配置文件也是销售的理想选择。

最后但同样重要的是,购物车本身不应该是易于使用的唯一部件。 使用简洁的支付网关是电子商务的必需品。 如果可能,请尝试将其保留在您的网站上,以便加快处理和导航速度。 只使用客户会认可的信誉良好的公司,例如PayPal。

搜索和导航功能

为了让某人买东西,他们首先需要能够找到它。 搜索框是某人快速找到所需内容的理想方式。

Reebok

Reebok网页设计

新蛋

Newegg产品过滤器

作为在线商店的组织大师,Newegg已经设法收集了数以千计的产品,并使它们更容易缩小并购买你真正想要的东西。 您有各种过滤器,可以在使用它们之前或之后进行搜索。 如果您仍然不确定,可以添加更多项目以便每页查看,甚至可以使其成为列表样式,以便更轻松,更快速地进行扫描。

总结

在启动和运行电子商务网站时,您有5核心内容 必须 使用:

  • SSL
  • CTA的
  • 储蓄和销售
  • 易于使用的购物车
  • 各种搜索和导航功能

您的目标是创建一个安全可靠的网站,这意味着它适合您的利基市场,这意味着它易于使用,并且不断变化并提供免费赠品,销售和其他交易。

作者简介:Ryan Gavin是该公司的合伙人 Ignition72,马里兰州巴尔的摩的网页设计机构。 他喜欢寻找设计精良的新网站和其他能够很好地完成工作并热爱它的设计师。 他觉得如果没有网页设计师,网站很少会成功。

Catalin Zorzini

我是一名网页设计博客,在花了几周时间努力寻找出来之后开始了这个项目 最好的电子商务平台 为了我自己。 看看我的电流 顶级10电子商务网站建设者.

Must-Have Ecommerce User Experience Features

Ecommerce UX

There are a lot of tips and tricks out there on how to turn your online shop to a sales machine, but today I'll focus on ecommerce user experience features that are an absolute must-have. No excuses!

Secure Sockets Layer (SSL)

If a shopper decides they want to make a purchase on your website, they need some form of assurance that their credit card data will not be intercepted, sold, or otherwise misused. You can’t control their computer and ensure the 100% security of their credit card information, but you can control your website and the interaction between your website and the consumer. You do this through use of an SSL certificate. An SSL certificate is used to encrypt the data between your website (the server) and the consumer (the client) to ensure no outsiders can tap into it and get the credit card data. There are numerous ways hackers can intercept data, but encrypted data is of no use to hackers as it’s just a bunch of jargon.

If a website URL contains “HTTPS” instead of the original “HTTP”, then it is secured with an SSL certificate. Larger websites also use SSL that really don’t sell anything, such as Google:

Google SSL

Google uses an SSL certificate for other reasons, mostly privacy-related issues.

Google recently stated that they will begin considering website security when ranking sites, so SSL may be beneficial from a search engine optimization standpoint as well.

Call to Action (CTA)

If there’s one thing you can be sure of, it’s that you need a call to action on each and every page at least once. The CTA should be clearly identifiable and should encourage the shopper to enquire further. There are a few purposes of a CTA:

  1. To make a sale – When a customer clicks a link that says “learn more” or “buy now”, it usually means they are interested in what you have to say. Interest can mean sales and you certainly don’t want to miss out on a sale merely because you didn’t make it easy for the shopper.
  2. To inform them – Moving a visitor throughout your website is ideal. Movement through a website means they understand the product better and shows a greater deal of interest in your product and your company. Sometimes a call to action is all it takes to get someone interested in something.
  3. To gather information – The more they move throughout the site, the more you understand what exactly it is they’re looking for. For example, a page containing all of your shoes with filters will only tell you that they wanted shoes. However, a page dedicated to dress shoes, casual shoes, kids shoes, etc. can help you decide just what exactly they were looking for. Popular products should be easier to find than less popular products.

Take a look at some examples of calls to action:

Sony

Sony ecommerce strategy

As one of the largest names in electronics, Sony uses calls to action everywhere, sometimes more subtle than others. Most often, they use them to guide users through the website while the design and features in the text are what really grab your attention. This is a popular e-commerce strategy that has proven very successful.

Apple

Apple ecommerce strategy

Apple shows us that a call to action doesn’t necessarily have to be to a shopping page or the shopping cart. Instead, they use the primary call to action on their homepage to bring you to a film meant to advertise the iPhone5s. The new iPhone is the targeted product here, but to get you interested they decided a short video should spark some interest.

Basecamp

Ecommerce trial strategy

Basecamp is a project management tool that provides easy-to-use tools such as to-do lists and project organization tools. It’s a paid service and Basecamp’s goal from the start is to make a sale. They do this through a 2 month free trial, which is very easily found the moment you land on the website.

Savings and Sales

If we know anything about shoppers it’s that they crave sales and any form of savings. Most customers that are even remotely interested in something are more than happy to read into it if there is a sale going on. Black Friday is a core example of this; people buy large electronics all the time, but when Black Friday rolls around it seems like everyone in the US is interested in that new flat screen TV. Prices do make a difference, and advertising sales and other forms of savings from the start are an ideal way to make a sale.

Zagg

There are a few forms of savings that are often used to attract new and returning customers:

Ecommerce discount strategy

  • Shipping Deals – As an avid user of Woot!, I speak firsthand when I say shipping prices are an attraction. No matter how much or how many things you buy, the shipping costs come out to a total cost of $5. If you’re buying a pack of pens, this isn’t ideal; however, buying a TV, a pack of pens, the TV mount, and a new speaker system could add up to some serious shipping and handling costs! Besides Woot, I shop very often on Amazon because their prices are cheaper or nearly the same as most other places with the same product. But Amazon has free 2-day shipping for Prime members, making it yet another opportunity to save.

Woot!

Ecommerce shipping strategy

In case you were wondering, I did not buy this order. It was merely an example! However, on Woot you can manage to buy 2 laptops, a projector, and an 18-piece container set with just $5 shipping.

  • Blowout Sales – Major sales, also known as “blowout sales,” are essentially mini-Black Friday sales. In these blowout sales, you offer products at a significantly cheaper price than average. In most cases, these sales come out as over 50% off an item. Blowout sales can of course bring in a lot of customers, and many of these customers will browse items that may not be on sale, but are still of interest to them. Last but not least, blowout sales should only happen occasionally. Timing could mean everything.

Shiekh

Ecommerce deal of the day

  • Deal(s) of the Day – Deals are steals, or at least that’s the hope. If possible, providing “deals of the day” every day are ideal to encourage customers to check your website every single day. On this same page, it’s useful to place calls to action for other pages on your website you’re looking to promote. For some businesses, it could be a deal of the week or 1 deal of the day instead of multiple. As a major retailer, Sears can afford to host over 300 deals a day.

Sears

Sears ecommerce

Try-Shopify

Easy-to-Use Shopping Cart

Picture yourself in line at the store with what you want picked out and ready to buy. You’re so ready you have payment in-hand. There’s just one problem: the cashier seems to be having some troubles with the computer system. Actually, all of the cashiers are having this problem. The frustration can build up and many customers decide to leave. So many e-commerce designers are so focused on the shopping experience that they forget the checkout. Grabbing interest and getting the shopper to actually be willing to purchase the product is, of course, the most difficult step, but keeping them on your website is also difficult.

All shopping carts should be easy-to-use. One core thing to keep in mind when designing and developing a shopping cart system is users do not like filling out forms. They despise forms and will avoid them wherever possible! Only make them fill out what is absolutely necessary to make the purchase. At the end of the purchase, you should even ask them to make an account on your website for faster purchasing and less forms at the end of the checkout process. You’d be surprised how many shoppers will sign up for this just for the ease-of-use. In fact, some companies cut out the shopping cart altogether, such as Amazon and their 1-click purchase feature. Also, if you plan to use a store builder, I suggest Shopify for best results.

Amazon

Amazon ecommerce

Upon filling out the checkout information, it should be easy and fast to create a free account with your website. Profiles with recommended products for the user on the home page can be ideal for making sales as well.

Last but not least, the cart itself shouldn’t be the only part that’s easy-to-use. Using a clean and easy payment gateway is a necessity in e-commerce. If possible, try to keep it on your site for faster processing and navigation. Only use reputable companies that your customers will recognize, such as PayPal.

Search and Navigation Features

In order for someone to buy something they first need to be able to find it. A search box is the ideal way for someone to find what they’re looking for fast.

Reebok

Reebok web design

Luhsetea

Ecommerce search button

The search feature is the easiest way to navigate a website; however, there are other navigation features that should help shoppers narrow down exactly what it is they are looking for. Most often, these features are called “filters.” One of my commonly-used websites is Newegg.

Newegg

Newegg product filters

As probably the master of organization on an online store, Newegg has managed to take its thousands of products and make them easier to narrow down and buy what you really want. You have a variety of filters and can search before or after using them. If you are still unsure, you can add more items to view per page, or even make it a list style for easier and faster scanning.

Conclusion

When starting and running an e-commerce website, there are 5 core things you must use:

  • SSL
  • CTA’s
  • Savings and Sales
  • Easy-to-use Shopping Cart
  • Various Search and Navigation Features

Your goal is to create a safe and secure website that’s meant to be the go-to in your niche, meaning it’s easy-to-use and is constantly changing and offering freebies, sales, and other deals.

Author Bio: Ryan Gavin is an associate of Ignition72, a web design agency in Baltimore, MD. He loves finding new websites with great designs and other designers that do their job well and love it. He feels that without a web designer, a website is rarely successful.

Catalin Zorzini

I'm a web design blogger and started this project after spending a few weeks struggling to find out which is the best ecommerce platform for myself. Check out my current top 10 ecommerce site builders.