如何以最大价值出售电子商务网站

因此,您是电子商务业务的骄傲所有者,其收入增加,现在您正在寻求销售。 您可能投入了无数个小时的努力和公平来建立一个有利可图的网站,现在您的目标是获得最大的投资回报。 好吧,如果您希望最好地准备您的电子商务网站进行销售,那么您来对地方了。 在这位来自经纪专家的客座文章中,Thomas Smale 富裕国际,我们将探讨您在寻找销售电子商务网站时所拥有的选项,以及如何最大限度地提高您的业务的整体销售价格。

我的电子商务业务价值是多少?

出售电子商务业务

电子商务业务受到各种指标的重视。 在确定业务倍数时经常评估的典型因素可能包括达到收入所需的销售量,产品的收入分配,成本基础,营销支出以及先前交易中实现的倍数。 电子商务业务的平均销售价格约为每年2-3x 纯利 对于$ 20k- $ 2m范围内的企业。

与其他商业模式相比,电子商务企业可能需要更详细的估值,因为运营业务涉及各种成本。 其中一些包括批发成本,加工费,运输,履行,营销(有偿和有机)以及员工成本。 大多数企业都很看重 卖方可自由支配收益因此,取消一次性费用和所有者的补偿,尽管后者会根据您在日常运营中的参与程度而有所不同。 综合起来,这些方面使得评估和销售电子商务业务比其他利基更加复杂,但幸运的是,电子商务是买家更受欢迎的商业模式之一。

经验丰富的网站经纪人可以通过将行业知识与对您业务的独特方面进行全面分析相结合,为您提供最准确的评估。 在FE International,我们已经出售了近350在线业务,拥有业内最多的数据点,确保我们的估值最准确。

提示: 注意提供夸大估值倍数的经纪人。 这是一些经纪人采用的策略,以诱使卖家达成长期代表协议,并且通常不会导致任何要约或销售。 另外,要注意经纪人使用“随时愿意和有能力”的买方条款。 如果您选择不接受要约/出售您的业务,这可能会让您花费数千美元。

是什么让电子商务网站变得有价值?

电子商务业务具有价值的主要原因是买方可以期望获得投资回报(ROI)。 电子商务业务的价值取决于许多特定于业务的因素,但买方愿意支付的金额也取决于所涉及的相对风险。 买家希望尽快以最快的方式赚钱 - 他们会根据感知的风险和获利的可能性为电子商务业务支付更高或更低的金额,以及这是否值得花时间。 简而言之,所涉及的风险和时间越低,您在销售电子商务网站时可以获得的倍数就越高。

出售电子商务业务 - 利润

如何才能增加我的电子商务业务对买家的价值?

您可以通过降低买方的风险来提高电子商务业务的价值。 最简单的方法是将以下特征归因于您的电子商务商店:

秘书长:

  • 老年人网站 - 至少12-24个月
  • 可预测的新销售的关键驱动因素
  • 多样化的交通资源,PPC,有机,转介和社交
  • 具有悠久历史的流量统计信息(Google Analytics或其他)
  • 品牌没有商标,版权或法律问题
  • 参与并不断增长的邮件列表
  • 明显的增长潜力

金融

  • 有稳定或增长收入的历史
  • 重复访客和销售的比例很高
  • 多样化的收入基础(即没有一种产品占销售额的100%)
  • 不断增长的利基或行业
  • 强劲的毛利率
  • 实物库存/现金需求低

操作

  • 简化和可扩展的系统和流程
  • 经过验证的仓库/运输/履行订购流程
  • 一个成熟的团队到位
  • 使用CRM和销售软件(HubSpot的 做两件事)
  • 与已建立的供应商建立稳固的关系并备份

如需进一步阅读,请查看Entrepreneur.com上的这篇文章 将您的在线业务价值翻倍.

什么时候出售我的电子商务业务以获得最高估值?

出售电子商务业务的最佳时机取决于您的个人目标和业务情况。 如果你认真对待销售并寻求达到最高倍数,那就是重要性 规划正确的退出时间 不应低估。

吸引最高倍数的电子商务企业是那些满足已经讨论过的标准的企业。 这通常不会在短时间内实现,因此由于短期个人目标或外部因素而进行的销售可能会使价值摆在桌面上。

提前咨询在线商业经纪人,了解您可以采取哪些措施来提高业务价值。 退出计划的实施(即使您不销售)通常会导致几个领域的效率略有提高,从而导致利润大幅变化。

提示: 避免在季节性高潮期后直接卖出。 您可能经常通过在季节性上涨之前或期间进行销售来获得更多价值,因为购买者将被强大的数字放心,并且可能希望快速执行以获得一些更高的收入(从而减少返回的时间)他们的投资)

在2015 10-26-AM 12.22.42屏幕快照

我在哪里可以出售我的电子商务业务?

分类网站,市场和论坛 - 最适合小型企业(低于$ 20k) - 每月低于1k的小型企业通常最好由所有者通过机密网站或论坛私下出售,例如:

  • Shopify论坛 - 与小规模买家和卖家沟通的好地方。 他们还有一个有用的电子商务讨论区,从商店的反馈到众筹的提示。
  • Flippa - 可以说是买卖小型电子商务业务的最佳市场之一。
  • 交换应用程序 - 这是Shopify资源,可让您重视您的商店,创建公开列表,并接收买家的优惠。 这是在线销售电子商务网站的更安全的方式之一,它与Shopify有联系。 如果您的销售额在一定范围内,我仍然建议您与经纪人合作,但您仍然可以将其作为估值的起点。
  • 战士论坛 - 最初的互联网论坛之一,是与潜在买家和对在线创业感兴趣的人建立联系的好地方。
  • 网站经纪人 - 最适合中型企业($ 20k - $ 5m) - $ 20k- $ 5m系列的中型企业最好通过经验丰富的网站经纪人销售。 他们将拥有大量合格的买家以及谈判和构建高级交易的经验,而不是您自己做的。 网站经纪人还可以提供有关如何在准备销售的退出计划阶段最大化您的业务价值的指导。 如果您有兴趣,请点击这里 出售你的业务。 Digital Exits有一个 体面的经纪人计划.
  • 私募股权 - 一些私募股权公司积极参与购买在线业务。 尝试 WeBuyWebsites 众所周知,他们会定期从私人那里购买成熟的网站。

出售电子商务业务需要多长时间?

如果你选择使用 网站经纪人,销售电子商务业务所需的时间通常取决于个人业务和交易条款。 正如您所料,较大的交易(超过$ 1百万)往往比较小的业务需要更长的时间来销售。 这归因于业务的复杂性和水平 尽职调查 参与其中。 在FE International,85%的在线业务在60天内销售。

移动部件较少的较小网站往往销售得更快。 如果您的企业是微型企业(低于10k)并且您决定通过市场销售它,则可能只需要几周的时间来销售。

在2015 10-26-AM 12.22.52屏幕快照

什么可能阻止买家在我的电子商务业务中提出要约?

我们已经介绍了您可以采取的措施,以确保您获得最高的电子商务业务估值。 但同样重要的是要了解为什么买家可能对您的网站不感兴趣或拔掉交易的插件。 我们列出了一些需要注意的理由:

  • 错误的商业模式或利基
  • 您的统计信息或数据不会累加
  • 买家发现一个问题,使他们重新考虑他们的报价
  • 卖家想要的钱多于买家愿意支付的钱
  • 特定业务或市场的趋势(例如,不利的产品,利基,'时尚')
  • 可转移性问题
  • 业务的财务,品牌或产品状况
  • 买方的资金不断下降

规划销售后的过渡

重要的是要意识到转换过程需要大量的计划,以便在时机成熟时正确执行。 当您在销售商店时,需要执行几个步骤以确保以正确的方式转让所有权并允许新所有者无缝地进入新的管理职位。 你或你的一些工人也有可能成为这种转变的一部分。

毕竟,您的技术支持团队可能想知道在您出售公司后他们将为工作做些什么。

当您销售电子商务商务网站时,您需要谨慎对待与您合作的人,特别是如果您正在通过在线交易所或市场进行交易。 对于电子商务网站买家来说也是如此,考虑到您可能会与那些对您过渡简单无关的人说话。

缓解此问题的一个好方法是访问交易所网站,看看是否有某种复选框或字段来指定您愿意培训新所有者。 这不仅会产生一种信任感,而且可能带来多个买家,但是您知道,您努力工作的业务在转型后不会失败。

如果您正在与经纪人合作,也可以这样做。 确保告诉经纪人您希望在销售单据中指定培训和过渡流程。 这应该是一个很难卖点,因为新买家真的不知道你的运营如何运作,特别是在日常工作中。

因此,我们建议您在销售在线商店之前制定转换计划。 这可能包括培训即将发生的时间,培训中应包括谁以及何时交换资金等详细信息。

这提出了我们的最后一点。 要销售电子商务网站,让买家感觉尽可能舒适,符合您的最佳利益。 无法保证买方在谈判期间不会退出交易。

并不总是硬性规则确保买方按时付款或没有任何问题。 您可能会发现一个对培训不满意的买家,并认为他们在缺乏知识的情况下不适合经营这样的公司。

总而言之,您的工作就是规划过渡,并为您的买家提供他们所需的所有信息,以便立即提高投资回报率并按照应该运行的方式运营您的业务。

有第二个想法?

这是非常常见的,特别是当您第一次尝试销售电子商务网站时。

谁知道? 您可能是第一次创业者,并且与您在过去几个月和几年中开始和培养的这项业务建立了真正的联系。

如果你有第二个想法,不要担心。 考虑如何将在线商店与养育孩子进行比较,这是完全正常的。 你经历了所有的起伏,花费了大量的金钱,并且必须与那些可能更像孩子的顾客一起工作。

因此,您的工作是创建一个利弊列表,看看您的销售原因是否真的对您自己的生活有价值。 我们将在以下某些部分中介绍更多内容,因为您不想出售对您有重大价值的商店 - 但与此同时,您不希望错过任何一个一生。 一些电子商务卖家能够支付他们的退休费用,环游世界,或者在未来几年内支持他们的家庭出售电子商务业务。

现在是思考的时候了。 你能做些什么让自己确定这笔交易?

一个很好的起点是通过评估过程。 你可以使用像这样的网站 交易市场 寻求帮助,但经纪人和本文中的提示很可能会让您更接近实际估值。

一旦你了解了你能从商店赚多少钱,你就会发现它首先没有足够的钱。 你最好经营你的商店几年,看看你是否可以增加利润并获得更好的价格。

您也可以考虑在我们之前提到的一些市场上发布网站以供销售。 这会让你知道其他人是否有兴趣购买和购买多少。 您可能会意识到没有人感兴趣,因此您可以选择。 您也可能意识到买家愿意支付的费用远远超出您的预期,这也会使您的决定更容易一些。

我们建议人们发布他们的业务以进行销售的原因是因为除了可能收取少量费用之外不存在风险。 因此,当您尝试销售电子商务商务网站时,您有多种测试机制可以立即推动您走向或远离该销售。

总的来说,这些硬数据最能让您了解自己是否应该出售。 一旦你了解了你可以通过保留网站可以做多少就能做出多少,在登陆最终决定时会变得更加清晰。 我们也认为买方也应该考虑在内。 如果你不喜欢即将接管你的骄傲和喜悦的人,不要把它卖给他们。

销售电子商务网站时避免恐惧

要考虑的另一个因素是你可能会错过未来巨大利润的潜在恐惧。 如果你完全卖光了,谁会说新老板不会从你从一开始就养成的业务赚到数十亿美元? 在那种情况下,你不会赚一分钱。

这不是以任何方式吓唬你,而是为了解决几乎每个企业主在试图销售电子商务网站时都有的想法。

我们都听过小企业主卖给投资者的故事,却发现他们的公司最终变成了一种全球现象。

尽力彻底清除这种恐惧。 造成这种情况的原因是因为人气的大幅增加通常与销售本身有关。 新业主可能有可能在该市场拥有令人难以置信的联系,并且能够完成远远超过您能够完成的交易。 因此,在这种情况下,您从销售中获得的薪水可能是您获得的最多。

许多销售也导致了枢转,新的所有者在全新的方向上开展业务以寻找新的收入来源。 简而言之,有些人应该是企业家,而有些人则更愿意接受培育的业务并将其扩展到更大的业务。 如果您认为自己更像是一名企业家,您可能会发现通过销售网站获得的资金是创建新业务的绝佳机会。

确保您的销售理由是值得的

我曾经被告知,如果那件特别的套装对你没有价值,购买一件30,000套装毫无意义。 一些富有的人可能只是喜欢拥有最好的面料和最昂贵的西装纽扣的想法,即使没有其他人能够分辨出来。

我还有一个穿着超细纤维西装的朋友,在价格方面通常都是低端服装。 但他们看起来很棒,他很看重这些套装,因为他是素食主义者而且不喜欢穿羊毛的想法(这更贵)。

这与您在销售电子商务网站之前应该如何评价公司类似。

为什么销售对您有价值?

它会让你实现与配偶一起购买船只并在世界各地航行的梦想吗? 您是否可以拿钱并专注于建筑家具的激情业务? 或者也许你只是被这个特定的业务烧毁了?

您必须至少找出保留或出售业务的理由。 否则,您将来可能会后悔。

另外,请考虑保留公司的原因。 也许它给你一种目的感和每天要做的事情。 也许你担心售价不足以让你专注于你的激情。

在你与另一个人谈判之前很久就强迫自己理解“为什么”。 一些企业主喜欢销售电子商务网站 - 这对他们来说几乎就像是一种爱好。 但是大多数人只关注一个企业,所以它更加个性化。

在结论

出售电子商务业务的决定并非易事。 无论您的销售理由如何,遵循本文中的提示将确保您获得电子商务业务的最高估值。

Thomas Smale

Thomas Smale最初是共同创立的 富裕国际 in2010毕业于巴斯大学,获得工商管理学位。 Thomas拥有并经营过几个成功的网站,他们对创业和在线业务充满热情。 Heis是业内备受尊敬的专家,在尽职调查,在线业务评估和战略退出计划方面具有特殊经验。 你可以在推特上关注托马斯 @ThomasSmale

How to Sell Ecommerce Business Sites for the Maximum Value

So, you’re the proud owner of an e-commerce business that has seen increasing revenue, and now you’re looking to sell. You have probably put in countless hours of hard work and equity to build a profitable site and now your objective is to get the maximum return on your investment. Well, if you’re looking to best prepare your e-commerce website for the sale, then you’ve come to the right place. In this guest post from brokerage expert, Thomas Smale of FE International, we will explore the options that you have when looking to sell ecommerce business websites, and how to maximize the overall sale price of your business.

What Is My E-Commerce Business Worth?

sell ecommerce business

E-commerce businesses are valued using a variety of metrics. Typical factors which are often assessed when determining the multiple for your business might include the volume of sales required to reach your revenue, revenue distribution across products, the cost base, marketing spend and the multiples achieved in precedent deals. The average sale price of an e-commerce business is approximately 2-3x annual net profit for businesses in the $20k-$2m range.

E-commerce businesses can require a more detailed valuation compared to other business models due to the variety of costs involved in running the business. Some of these include wholesale costs, processing fees, shipping, fulfillment, marketing (paid and organic) and the cost of employees. Most businesses are valued using seller discretionary earnings, thus removing one-off costs and the owner’s compensation, although the latter would vary depending on how heavily involved you are in the day-to-day running of the operations. Combined, these facets make valuing and selling an e-commerce business more complicated than other niches, but fortunately, e-commerce is one of the more popular business models with buyers.

An experienced website broker can give you the most accurate valuation by combining industry knowledge with a thorough analysis of the unique aspects of your business. At FE International, we have sold nearly 350 online businesses and have the most data-points in the industry, ensuring our valuations are the most accurate.

Tip: be aware of brokers that provide exaggerated valuation multiples. This is a tactic employed by some brokers to entice sellers into long-term representation agreements and often leads to no offers or sale being achieved. Also, beware of brokers using “ready willing and able” buyer clauses. This may leave you out of pocket for thousands of dollars if you choose to not accept an offer/sell your business. 

What Makes an E-Commerce Website Valuable?

The main reason an e-commerce business has value is because a buyer can expect a return on investment (ROI). The value of an e-commerce business is dependent upon many business-specific factors, but the amount a buyer is willing to pay also depends on the relative risk involved. Buyers look to make their money back in the quickest way possible – they will pay a higher or lower amount for an e-commerce business based on the perceived risk and likelihood of turning a profit, and whether this is worth the time involved. Put simply, the lower the risk and time involved, the higher the multiple you can expect to receive for when you sell ecommerce business sites.

sell ecommerce business - profits

How Can I Increase the Value of My E-Commerce Business to Buyers?

You can increase the value of your e-commerce business by reducing the risks to a buyer. The simplest way of doing this is by having the following characteristics attributed to your e-commerce store:

General:

  • Aged site – at least 12-24 months old
  • Predictable key drivers of new sales
  • Diversified traffic sources, PPC, organic, referral and social
  • Traffic stats (Google Analytics or other) with a long history
  • Brand with no trademark, copyright or legal concerns
  • An engaged and growing mailing list
  • Clear growth potential

Financial

  • A history of stable or growing revenue
  • A high percentage of repeat visitors and sales
  • Diverse revenue base (i.e. no one product making up 100% of sales)
  • A growing niche or industry
  • Strong gross profit margins
  • Low physical stock/cash requirements

Operational

  • Streamlined and scalable systems and processes
  • Proven warehouse/dropship/fulfillment ordering processes
  • A proven team in place
  • Use of CRM and sales software (HubSpot does both)
  • Strong relationships with established suppliers with backups in place

For some further reading, take a look at this post on Entrepreneur.com about doubling the value of your online business.

When Is the Best Time to Sell My E-Commerce Business for the Highest Valuation?

The best time to sell your e-commerce business is dependent on both your personal goals and the situation of the business. If you’re serious about selling and looking to achieve the highest possible multiple, the importance of planning the right exit time should not be underestimated.

E-commerce businesses that attract the highest multiples are those that satisfy the criteria already discussed. This is often not achieved in a short period of time, so selling due to short-term personal goals or external factors may leave value on the table.

Consult with an online business broker well ahead of time to see what you can do to increase the value of your business. The exercise of exit planning (even if you aren’t selling) can often lead to minor improvements in efficiency in several areas that can add up to a big change in profits.

Tip: avoid selling straight after a seasonal high period. You may often get more value by selling just before or during a seasonal uptick, as buyers will be reassured by the strong numbers and may want a quick execution to capture some of the higher revenues for themselves (thus reducing the time taken for a return on their investment)

Screen Shot 2015-10-26 at 12.22.42 AM

Where Can I Sell My E-Commerce Business?

Classified websites, marketplaces, and forums – best for smaller businesses (under $20k) – Smaller business making less than $1k per month are usually best sold privately by the owner through classified websites or forums such as:

  • Shopify Forum – A great place to communicate with smaller scale buyers and sellers. They also have a useful e-commerce discussion area for everything from feedback on your store to tips on crowdfunding.
  • Flippa – Arguably one of the best marketplace for buying and selling small ecommerce businesses.
  • Exchange App – This is a Shopify resource that allows you to value your store, create a public listing, and receive offers from buyers. It's one of the more secure ways to sell ecommerce business sites online, and it has an affiliation with Shopify. I would still recommend working with a broker if your sales fall in a certain range, but you could still use this as a jumping off point for your valuation.
  • Warrior Forum – One of the original internet forums and a good place to connect with potential buyers and those with an interest in online entrepreneurship.
  • Website Brokers – best for medium-sized businesses ($20k – $5m) – Medium sized businesses in the $20k-$5m range are best sold through an experienced website broker. They will have a substantial list of qualified buyers and the experience in negotiating and structuring a superior deal than you might make on your own. A website broker can also provide guidance on how to maximize the value of your business during the exit planning stages in preparation for sale. Click here if you are interested in selling your business. Digital Exits has a decent broker program.
  • Private Equity – some Private Equity firms actively engage in buying online businesses. Try WeBuyWebsites who are known to buy established websites from private individuals on a regular basis.

How Long Does It Take to Sell An E-Commerce Business?

If you choose to use a website broker, the time it takes to sell an e-commerce business usually depends on the individual business and the terms of the deal. As you would expect, larger deals (over $1 million) tend to take longer to sell than a smaller business. This is attributed to the complexity of the business and the level of due diligence involved. At FE International, 85% of online businesses sell within 60 days.

Smaller websites with less moving parts tend to be sold much quicker. If your business is a micro business (under $10k) and you have decided to sell it through a marketplace, it might only take a few weeks to sell.

Screen Shot 2015-10-26 at 12.22.52 AM

What Could Stop a Buyer From Putting In an Offer on My E-Commerce Business?

We have covered the steps that you can take to ensure that you receive the highest valuation for your e-commerce business. But it’s also important to understand why a buyer might not be interested in your site or pull the plug on the deal. We have listed some reasons to be aware of:

  • The wrong business model or niche
  • Your stats or data doesn’t add up
  • A buyer finds a problem that makes them reconsider their offer
  • The seller wants more money than buyers are willing to pay
  • Trends with particular business or market (e.g. unfavorable products, niche, ‘fads’)
  • Issues with transferability
  • Financial, branding or product condition of the business
  • The buyer's funding falls through

Planning for the Transition After the Sale

It's important to realize that the transition process requires a significant amount of planning so that you execute properly when the time comes. When you're selling your store, there are several steps involved to make sure that you transfer ownership the right way and allow the new owner to seamlessly move into the new management position. There is also a possibility that you or some of your workers are going to be a part of that transition.

After all, your technical support team is probably wondering what they are going to do for a job after you sell the company.

When you sell ecommerce business sites you'll want to be careful on who you're working with, especially if you're going through an exchange or marketplace online. The same can be said for e-commerce site buyers, considering you might be speaking with someone who has no interest in making the transition simple for you.

A good way to mitigate this problem is to go to the exchange website and see if there is some sort of checkbox or field to specify that you are willing to train the new owners. Not only does this create a sense of trust and potentially bring in multiple buyers, but you know that the business you worked so hard on isn't going to fail after the transition.

The same can be done if you're working with a broker. Make sure you tell the broker that you want a training and transition process specified in the sales documents. This should be a hard selling point, because a new buyer really has no idea how your operations work, especially on a day-to-day basis.

Therefore, we recommend creating a transition plan prior to selling your online store. This might include details like when the training is going to occur, who should be included in the training, and when money is going to be exchanged.

That brings up our final point. To sell ecommerce business sites it's in your best interest to make the buyer feel as comfortable as possible. There is no guarantee that the buyer won't pull out of the transaction at any point during the negotiations.

There aren't always hard set rules that ensure that the buyer is going to pay on time or without any problems. You may find a buyer who is not satisfied with the training and decides that they don't feel comfortable running a business like this with such a lack of knowledge.

All in all, it's your job to plan for the transition and to give your buyer all of the information they're going to need to boost ROI right off the bat and run your business the way it should be run.

Having Second Thoughts?

This is extremely common, especially when you're trying to sell ecommerce business websites for the first time.

Who knows? You may be a first-time entrepreneur and have a real connection to this business that you started and nurtured over the past months and years.

If you're having second thoughts, don't worry. This is completely normal considering how running an online store could be compared to raising a child. You go through all of the ups and downs, spend tons of money, and have to work with customers who might be more like kids than adults in the first place.

So, it's your job to create a list of pros and cons to see if your reasons for selling are actually valuable to your own life. We'll cover more of that in some of the following sections, since you don't want to sell a store that has great value to you– but at the same time, you don't want to miss out on the deal of a lifetime. Some e-commerce sellers are able to pay for their retirements, travel the world, or support their family for years to come with the sale of an e-commerce business.

Now it's time to think. What can you do to make yourself sure about this sale?

An excellent place to start is by walking through the valuation process. You can use a website like Exchange Marketplace for assistance, but a broker and the tips in this article will most likely get you closer to an actual valuation.

Once you understand how much you would be able to make from the store, you might realize that it's not enough money in the first place. You'd be better off running your store for a few more years to see if you can increase profits and get a better price.

You also might consider posting the website for sale on some of the marketplaces we mentioned before. This would give you an idea if other people are interested in buying and for how much. You might realize that no one is interested, so the choice is made for you. You also might realize that a buyer is willing to pay far more than you expected, which would also make your decision a little bit easier.

The reason we suggest that people post their businesses for sale is because there is no risk involved besides maybe a small fee. So, when you try to sell ecommerce business sites, you have several testing mechanisms that could immediately push you towards or away from that sale.

Overall, it's the hard data that's going to best give you an idea of whether or not you should sell. Once you understand how much you can make compared to how much you could make by keeping the site, it becomes much clearer when landing on that final decision. We also think that the buyer should be factored in as well. If you don't like the person who's about to take over your pride-and-joy business, don't sell it to them.

Avoid the Fear When You Sell Ecommerce Business Sites

Another factor to think about is the underlying fear that you might be missing out on big future profits. If you completely sellout, who's to say that the new owner won't be making billions of dollars off of the business that you nurtured from the beginning? In that case, you wouldn't make a dime.

This is not to scare you in any way, but rather to address a thought that pretty much every business owner has when they try to sell ecommerce business sites.

We've all heard stories of small business owners selling to investors only to find that their company is eventually turned into a global phenomenon.

Try your best to wash this fear completely out of your mind. The reason for this is because a huge explosion in popularity often has to do with the sale itself. There may be a chance that the new owner has incredible connections in that market and was able to complete far more deals than you would've been able to. So, in that situation, your paycheck from the sale was probably the most you ever would've gotten.

Many sales also result in pivoting, where the new owner takes the business in a completely new direction in search of new revenue streams. In short, some people are meant to be entrepreneurs, while others are more comfortable taking a nurtured business and expanding it into something bigger. If you consider yourself more of an entrepreneur, you may find that the money you get from the sale of your website is a great opportunity to create a new business.

Make Sure Your Reason for Selling is Valuable to You

I was once told that buying a $30,000 suit is pointless if that particular suit has no value to you. Some rich folks might simply love the idea of having the best possible fabrics, and the most expensive suit buttons, even if no one else would be able to tell the difference.

I also have a friend who wears microfiber suits, which are typically on the lower end in terms of pricing. But they look great and he values these suits because he's a vegan and doesn't like the idea of wearing wool (which is more expensive).

This is similar to how you should value your company before you sell ecommerce business sites.

Why would the sale be valuable to you?

Would it allow you to live your dream of buying a boat with your spouse and sailing around the world? Would you be able to take the money and focus on a passion business of building furniture? Or maybe you're just burned out by this particular business?

You must at least figure out some reason to keep or sell your business. Otherwise, you may regret it in the future.

Also, consider the reasons it might be good to keep your company. Maybe it gives you a sense of purpose and something to do every day. Maybe you're worried that the selling price isn't enough to allow you to focus on your passion.

Force yourself to understand the “why,” long before you step into negotiations with another person. Some business owners love to sell ecommerce business websites–it's almost like a hobby to them. But most individuals are only looking at one business, so it's a bit more personal.

In Conclusion

The decision to sell your e-commerce business isn’t an easy one to make. No matter what your reason is for selling, following the tips in this post will ensure that you receive the maximum valuation for your e-commerce business.

Thomas Smale

Thomas Smale originally co-founded FE International in2010 after graduating from the University of Bath with a degree in Business Administration. Having owned and run several successful websites in a variety of niches, Thomas is passionate about entrepreneurship and online business. Heis a respected expert in the industry with particular experience in due diligence, online business valuation and strategic exit planning. You can follow Thomas on Twitter at @ThomasSmale