什么是商家?

商人商人的意义是什么?

“商人”一词被认为源自拉丁语“mercari”,意思是交通,法语单词“mercis”意思是商品。

商家是销售服务或商品的公司或个人。 电子商务商家是仅通过互联网销售的人。 商家将向客户出售商品以获取利润,并且根据法律,由于他对待售产品的了解,他们将有责任照顾客户。

商家可以是批发商或零售商,产品可以从任何一个来源销售到任何其他来源。 商家是任何销售任何东西的人的非特定术语,唯一的决定因素是出售产品或服务以获取利润。

从历史上看,商人是参与商业或贸易的任何人。 在16世纪,商人包括当地商人,如面包师,杂货店,店主以及其他远距离进出口商品的商人,并提供信贷和金融等增值服务。

多年来,商家的声誉各不相同。 在古罗马和希腊,商人可能富裕但被赋予了很高的社会地位。 而且,在中东地区,商人享有很高的地位。 目前的情况发生了很大变化。 在现代,商人是指仅为了产生利润,现金流和收入而进行活动的人。

有哪些不同类型的商家?

基本上有两种类型的商家 - 批发和零售。 除此之外,更新型的商家称为电子商务商家,也在这个数字时代出现并占据了一席之地。

批发商或批发商 通常会批量购买商品,并以较小的数量将产品重新分发给零售商。 批发商供应商 实际上,它们既是经销商又是商家,因为他们从制造商处购买商品,然后将这些商品转售给零售商,因此它们充当了生产商和零售商之间的联系。

通常,批发商将在诸如仓库之类的大型企业中操作以便在将库存分发给零售商和个人之前存储库存,然而,批发商在没有实际处理库存的情况下充当经纪人已经变得很普遍。 ; 这个术语是 直销业务.

零售商或零售商 从批发商处购买商品并将其销售给最终用户或消费者,通常是少量的。 在某种程度上,他们充当生产者和消费者之间的中间人。

制造商深入参与设计和开发产品,而零售商则深入参与向客户伸出援手并销售这些产品。 制造和营销都是两个不同的东西,很难实现,但他们都需要彼此维持。

零售商是营销,销售和客户服务的大师。 从批发商或制造商处购买商品后,他们以略高的价格在市场上出售。 请注意,批发价格总是低于 零售价格。 价格差异被视为营销/广告的成本。

电子商务商家或在线商家 是专门通过互联网销售产品或服务的人。 在线卖家和在线商家之间存在巨大差异。 在线销售商只需购买产品然后将其出售以产生利润,而在线商家则承担更多责任。

电子商务商家不仅负责其商店的库存,还负责财务流程, 推广他的产品 甚至建立品牌标识。

电子商务和基于互联网的业务是高风险活动。 在部署支付网关之前,登机过程经过一系列信用检查和承保。 友好欺诈和被盗信用是这些商家必须解决的问题。

联盟商家 是一家希望通过分支机构网络中的广告和链接来增加流量并为其网站或其产品销售产生潜在客户的公司。 商家可以运行他们自己的内部联盟计划,或者他们可以使用联盟网络。 这些联盟网络向商家收取会员费,并且每次销售都需要额外的佣金,因此运行他们自己的内部联盟计划更为经济。

许多公司决定将零售商和制造商的传统角色结合起来。 例如,Apple既是其产品的制造商,也是零售商。 因此,Apple在这里已经取消了批发商的角色。

像三星这样的其他公司将其产品交给批发商或经销商。 该经销商全权负责三星品牌的订单拣选,交付,培训销售人员,促销等。 该经销商被称为全方位服务批发商。 一些批发商开始与服务相关的业务,并为他们销售的产品提供服务。 因此,他们同时获得了销售和服务订单。

百思买等公司是世界上最大的零售商。 他们以批发价从索尼和LG等制造商那里购买产品,并以更高的价格出售给消费者。

各种商人都存在于这种经济中,要么是纯粹的批发或零售,要么可以是两者的混合。 然而,电子商务正在上升,现在发展中经济体对批发的需求减少。 电子商务将很快占领市场,并且在未来几年中,直接投资将成为改变游戏规则的因素。

成为电子商务专家

输入您的电子邮件以开始派对

What is a Merchant?

MerchantWhat's the meaning of merchant?

The word ‘merchant' is believed to be derived from the Latin word “mercari” meaning traffic and the French word “mercis” meaning wares.

A merchant is a company or individual who sells a service or goods. An ecommerce merchant is someone who sells exclusively over the Internet. A merchant will sell the goods to the customer for a profit, and by law, will have a duty of care to the customer due to the knowledge of the products he has for sale.

A merchant can be a wholesaler or a retailer, and the products can be sold from any one source to any other source. A merchant is a non-specific term for anyone who sells anything, the only determining factor being that the product or service for sale is being sold for a profit.

Historically, a merchant is anyone who is involved in business or trade. During the 16th century, merchants included local traders such as bakers, grocers, shopkeepers as well as others who imported and exported goods over vast distances, and offered value added services such as credit and finance.

Over the years, the reputation of the merchants has varied. In ancient Rome and Greece, merchants may have been wealthy but were awarded a high social status. And, in the Middle East, the merchants enjoyed high status. The present scenario has changed a great deal. In modern times, a merchant is someone who does activities solely for the purpose of generating profit, cash flow, and revenue.

What are the different types of merchants?

There are basically two types of merchants – wholesale and retail. Apart from these, newer types of merchants known as the ecommerce merchants have also emerged and earned a place in this digital age.

A wholesale merchant or wholesaler will typically purchase goods in bulk and redistribute the products to retailers in smaller quantities. Wholesaler suppliers are effectively both a reseller and a merchant because they buy goods from manufacturers and then resell these goods to retailers, hence they act as a link between the producers and retailers.

Usually, a wholesale merchant would operate out of a large establishment such as a warehouse in order to store stock before distributing it to retailers and individuals, however, it has become common for a wholesale merchant to act as a broker without physically dealing with the stock; the term for this is dropshipping.

A retail merchant or retailer buys merchandise from wholesalers and sells them to end-users or consumers, usually in small quantities. In a way, they act as middlemen between the producers and consumers.

Manufacturers are deeply involved in designing and developing a product, while the retailers are deeply involved in reaching out to the customers and selling these products. Both manufacturing and marketing are two different things and are hard to achieve, yet they both need each other to sustain.

Retailers are maestros in marketing, sales and customer service. After purchasing the merchandise from wholesalers or manufacturers, they sell it at slightly higher prices in the market. Note that the wholesale price is always less than the retail price. The difference in prices is considered as the cost of marketing/advertising.

An ecommerce merchant or an online merchant is someone who sells products or services exclusively over the Internet. There is a huge difference between an online seller and an online merchant. An online seller just buys products and then sells them to generate profit, while an online merchant has more responsibilities than that.

An ecommerce merchant is not only in charge of his store’s inventory but also of the financial process, promotion of his products and even building the brand identity.

Ecommerce and internet-based business are high-risk activities. The boarding process undergoes a series of credit checks and underwriting before a payment gateway is deployed. Friendly fraud and stolen credits is an issue these merchants have to tackle.

An affiliate merchant is a company that wishes to drive traffic and generates leads to their website or sales of their product through ads and links placed throughout a network of affiliates. A merchant may run their own in-house affiliate program or they may use an affiliate network. These affiliate networks charge merchants a membership fee and also take an additional commission from every sale so it is more economical to run their own in-house affiliate program.

Many companies have decided to incorporate both the traditional roles of retailers and manufacturers. Apple, for example, is both a manufacturer and retailer of its products. Hence Apple has eliminated the role of wholesalers here.

Some other companies like Samsung give their products to wholesalers or distributors. This distributor is solely responsible for order picking, delivery, training sales associates, promotions etc for the Samsung brand. This distributor is called a full-service wholesaler. Some wholesalers start service-related businesses and provide services for the products they are selling. As a result, they get both – sales and service orders.

Companies like Best Buy are the biggest retailers in the world. They purchase products from manufacturers like Sony and LG at wholesale price and sell them to consumers at a higher price.

All kinds of merchants exist in this economy, either it could be purely wholesaling or retailing or it could be a blend of both. However, ecommerce is rising and there is now a lesser demand for wholesale in developing economies. Ecommerce will soon take over the market and dropshipping will be a game changer in the coming years.

Try-Shopify

 

Become an ecommerce expert

Enter your email to get the party started