Commerce de détail en ligne: Guide rapide 10-Step pour démarrer une activité en ligne

Souvent, le plus grand obstacle que rencontrent les propriétaires d'entreprise est de ne pas connaître le processus: ils essaient de comprendre comment démarrer une entreprise de vente au détail en ligne. Voici donc dix étapes faciles pour apprendre à ouvrir une boutique en ligne, que vous vendiez déjà des produits dans un magasin physique ou que vous démarriez une entreprise en ligne à partir de zéro.

Etape 1: le business plan

Voulez-vous ouvrir un brique et mortier entreprise sans plan d'affaires? Vous ne devriez pas essayer de démarrer un magasin en ligne sans un non plus. Un plan d’entreprise est essentiel à l’élaboration de la feuille de route et du cadre nécessaires au succès de l’entreprise. Un plan d'entreprise pour une entreprise en ligne devrait inclure l'approche qui sera utilisée pour le financement, le marketing et la publicité de l'entreprise. Il devrait également établir une idée claire de la manière dont il réussira. Si vous avez besoin de financement, vous aurez également besoin de ce plan d'entreprise pour convaincre les investisseurs en capital de risque de vous proposer leurs idées. Ces éléments ne deviennent pas moins importants simplement parce que vous économisez des frais généraux sur les coûts des installations.

Étape 2: Choix d'une structure d'entreprise de vente au détail en ligne

Après avoir établi un plan pour votre activité en ligne, vous devrez choisir un structure d'entreprise. Si vous n'êtes pas sûr de la structure qui convient le mieux à votre entreprise, tenez compte des avantages fiscaux et des exigences de chacun. le Site de l'IRS peut vous aider avec cette décision. Après avoir pris cette décision, vous pourrez déposer toute la documentation nécessaire pour que votre entreprise et son nom soient légaux. C'est généralement la fin du processus hors ligne. Maintenant, il est temps de prendre les mesures nécessaires pour établir votre boutique en ligne.

Étape 3: Choisir les produits que vous allez vendre

Bien que votre plan d’entreprise définisse probablement les types de produits que vous souhaitez vendre, cette étape implique une liste beaucoup plus complète de produits. vos offres. Vous devez inclure les différents produits, ainsi que leurs couleurs, tailles ou autres caractéristiques uniques. En plus de décider des types de produits, vous déciderez également de la manière dont ils seront fabriqués. En général, si vous ne produisez pas vous-même vos offres, vous devrez vous procurer un fournisseur ou trouver une solution vous permettant de distribuer par revente ou par expédition directe.

Étape 4: obtenir des codes-barres pour vos produits

Pour vendre légalement des produits aux consommateurs via un magasin en ligne, vous aurez besoin de codes à barres UPC pour chaque article que vous vendez. Votre produit est-il disponible en différentes tailles, couleurs ou motifs? Vous aurez besoin d'un code à barres distinct pour chaque produit, avec chaque combinaison de fonctionnalités. Heureusement, l'achat de codes à barres peut généralement se faire facilement en ligne. Vous pouvez même acheter de gros lots de codes consécutifs à prix réduit via divers services en ligne.

Étape 5: inventaire du bâtiment

Si vous vous établissez simplement en ligne, vous devez disposer d'un inventaire de produits de taille décente. Cela est vrai que votre magasin de commerce électronique soit votre seule vitrine ou que vous ayez également un emplacement physique. Rien ne peut faire perdre de l'argent à une entreprise en ligne, comme si elle avait un surplus de commandes sauvegardées. En plus d'établir votre inventaire, vous devrez prendre des décisions concernant le stockage. La bonne nouvelle est que même si vous n’avez pas d’argent pour un entrepôt, de nombreuses entreprises stockeront vos articles et les expédieront au fur et à mesure des commandes.

Étape 6: Choisir un nom de domaine et l'emplacement du site

Tout d'abord, vous devez choisir un fournisseur d'hébergement comme SiteGround. Vous avez également la possibilité d’acheter un nom de domaine and mettre en place un site vous-même. Cependant, cela nécessite une compréhension des processus techniques que de nombreux propriétaires d'entreprise peuvent ne pas avoir.

Certaines des options les plus populaires à utiliser pour créer un magasin de vente en ligne comprennent: Shopify (lisez notre Révision de Shopify), BigCommerce (lisez notre Revue BigCommerce), Et Wix (lisez notre Wix examen). L'avantage de ces sites est qu'ils vous permettent d'acheter votre propre nom de domaine et de vous fournir les outils de base et les instructions dont vous avez besoin pour créer votre site Web à partir de la base.

Etape 7: Construire le site

Une fois les parties techniques du site configurées, vous devrez choisir une conception globale pour votre site Web. Cela comprend la configuration du thème, des en-têtes, des catégories de produits, etc. Vous devrez également organiser vos produits en catégories et décider si vous souhaitez inclure des sections telles que À propos de nous ou un blog d'entreprise pour attirer des clients sur votre site.

Étape 8: Configuration du panier

Si vous choisissez d'aller avec un plate-forme de commerce électronique pour vous aider avec votre commerce de détail en ligne, la configuration du panier d'achat ne devrait pas être difficile. Lorsque vous configurez un panier, il est souvent avantageux d’utiliser un logiciel de panier d’achat hébergé. Lorsque vous choisissez un logiciel auto-hébergé, certains clients potentiels peuvent se détourner de votre entreprise car ils ne sont pas certains de la sécurité de votre site. C’est un facteur important à prendre en compte lors de la création de votre magasin en ligne. Pour en savoir plus sur les fonctionnalités à considérer ici .

Étape 9: lancement, publicité et marketing

Une fois votre entreprise établie, vos produits prêts à la vente et tous les bugs ayant été résolus sur le site, vous êtes prêt pour le lancement officiel. Après le lancement, vous devrez travailler dur sur votre marketing e-commerce and stratégies publicitaires pour développer votre base de clients fidèles.

Étape 10: Maintenir l'entreprise

Une fois que tout est opérationnel, la dernière étape - en fait, c’est une étape que vous ferez tous les jours pendant toute la vie de votre entreprise ???? - maintient votre entreprise. Cela implique de prendre en charge les aspects techniques, tels que le traitement des bugs sur le site. Cela comprend également la poursuite de la gestion des stocks de la société, la prise de décisions concernant les produits nouveaux ou arrêtés, ainsi que la fourniture d'un service client qui incitera les clients à revenir. Enfin, vous devrez commercialiser des techniques telles que les promotions, les ventes, les courriels, etc., pour que votre entreprise continue de connaître le succès. Il existe quelques cas où vous pouvez «paramétrer et oublier» votre boutique, mais je veillerais à faire tout ce qui est en mon pouvoir pour prendre le meilleur parti possible.

Image de fond Creativedash

Catalin Zorzini

Je suis un blogueur en conception de sites Web et j'ai lancé ce projet après quelques semaines de difficultés à trouver la meilleure plateforme de commerce électronique pour moi-même. Découvrez mon courant top Constructeurs de sites de commerce électronique 10.

Online Retail Business: A Quick 10-Step Guide to Start an Online Business

how to start an online retail business

Often, the largest obstacle that business owners face is being unfamiliar with the process: they are trying to figure out how to start an online retail business. So here are ten easy steps to learn how to open an online store, whether you already sell products in a brick-and-mortar location or you're starting an online business from scratch.

Step 1: The Business Plan

Would you open a brick and mortar business without a business plan? You should not attempt to start an online retail store without one either. A business plan is critical to developing the roadmap and framework necessary to establish a successful business. A business plan for an online business should include the approach that will be used for financing, marketing, and advertising of the business. It should also establish a clear idea of how it will reach success. If you need funding, you will also require this business plan to get venture capitalists on board with your ideas. These elements don't become any less important just because you're saving overhead on facility costs.

Step 2: Choosing an Online Retail Business Structure

After establishing a plan for your online business, you will need to choose an appropriate business structure. If you are unsure of the structure that is best for your company, consider the tax benefits and requirements of each. The IRS website can help you with this decision. After making this decision, you will be able to file all of the documentation to make your business and its name legal. This is generally the end of the offline process. Now, it’s time to take the steps to get your store established online.

Step 3: Choosing the Products You Will Sell

While your business plan probably outlined the general types of products you want to sell, this step entails a much more thorough list of your offerings. You should include the different products, as well as their unique colors, sizes, or other features. In addition to deciding on the types of products, you will also decide how they will be manufactured. In general, if you're not producing your offerings yourself, you will need to get a supplier or find a solution that allows you to distribute through reselling or drop shipping.

Step 4: Getting Bar Codes for Your Products

To legally sell products to consumers through an online store, you will need UPC bar codes for each item you are selling. Does your product come in different sizes, colors, or patterns? You will need a separate barcode for each product, with each combination of features. Luckily, purchasing barcodes can usually be done easily online. You can even buy large batches of consecutive codes at a discount through various online services.

Step 5: Building Inventory

If you are just establishing yourself online, you will need to have a decent sized inventory of products. This is true regardless of whether your ecommerce store is your only storefront or if you have a physical location as well. Nothing can make an online business lose money quite like having a surplus of backed up orders. In addition to establishing your inventory, you will need to make decisions about storage. The good news is that even if you do not have the money for a warehouse yourself, many companies will store your items and ship them out as orders come in for an affordable rate.

Try-Shopify

Step 6: Choosing a Domain Name and Site Location

First, you must choose a hosting provider. You also have the option of purchasing a domain name and setting up a site yourself. However, this requires an understanding of technical processes that many business owners may not have.

Some of the most popular options to use for building an online retail store include Shopify, Bigcommerce, and Wix eCommerce. The great thing about these sites is that they allow you to purchase your own domain name, as well as provide you with the basic tools and instruction that you need to build your website from the ground up.

Step 7: Building the Site

Once the technical parts of the site are set up, you will need to choose an overall design for your website. This includes setting up the theme, headers, product categories, and more. You will also need to organize your products into categories, and decide whether you want to include sections such as About Us or a company blog to attract customers to your site.

Step 8: Setting up the Shopping Cart

If you choose to go with an ecommerce platform to help you with your online retail business, setting up the shopping cart should not be difficult. When you do set up a cart, it is often beneficial to use hosted shopping cart software. When you choose self-hosted software, some potential customers may turn away from your business because they are unsure of the security of your site. This is a big factor to consider when establishing your online retail store — read more about features you should consider here.

Step 9: Launching, Advertising, and Marketing

Once your business has been established, your products are ready for sale, and all the bugs have been worked out of the site, you are ready for the official launch. After the launch, you will need to work hard on your ecommerce marketing and advertising strategies to grow your base of loyal customers.

Step 10: Maintaining the Business

Once everything is up and running, the final step – actually this is a step you'll do every day for the whole life of your business 🙂 – is maintaining your business. This includes taking care of technical aspects, such as working out any bugs on the site. It also includes continuing to manage the company inventory, make decisions about new and discontinued products, and providing customer service that will keep customers coming back for more. Finally, this will require you to market using techniques such as promotions, sales, emails, and more so that your business continues in its success. There are few instances where you can “set-and-forget” about your shop but I would focus on making sure I do everything I can to make the best of a good start.

Feature image curtsey of Creativedash

Catalin Zorzini

I’m a web design blogger and started this project after spending a few weeks struggling to find out which is the best ecommerce platform for myself. Check out my current top 10 ecommerce site builders.

18 Responses

  1. Thanks for the write up, I’m a full stack web developer. I’m planning on starting an online retail store that connects buyers and sellers. The problem is how do I make profit, I don’t know about business and all

  2. I want to establish a clothing company online.I have established a domain name already.My next pursuit is getting a LLC I guess or what do you suggest.

    1. Hey Nichol, you don’t necessarily ned an LLC, depending on where you live setting up your business as a sole proprietor could be an option. The next step would be finding the right ecommerce platform. The articles below might help:

      https://ecommerce-platforms.com/articles/top-6-ecommerce-platform-reviews-2012-shopify-volusion-bigcommerce-magento-bigcartel-3dcart

      https://ecommerce-platforms.com/compare/best-ecommerce-platform-seo

      Cheers!

      Bogdan – Editor at Ecommerce-Platforms.com

  3. Dear Catalin, thanks for your detailed information. Really a great help.
    I want to start to sell products online (planning phase now); do I need to have my own inventory as i do not intend to manufacture them?
    Is is possible to have the manufacturer deliver the product to my customer – would this work?
    Also, the manufacturer will have his brand name on his product; so if I am trading his product, can i get to change the brand name – is this a normal question?
    Please help

  4. Hi, I’m planning on renting products online, and I don’t really know where to start from. I’m also a bit worried about the shipping my products cuz they’re pretty bulky so it might cost a lot to mail out. But thanks for creating this page! Very useful. I will follow the steps.

  5. So if i want to sell both digital and physical products, like photos (jpeg and also printed and framed) from the same web site and same boutique what ideas do you give me?

  6. I would personally still advise an SSL cert on any store, because you are storing customers, emails, passwords, addresses etc which still should be passed over SSL.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Rating *