开设电子商务商店的最便宜方式(2021 年 XNUMX 月)

你已经看过(或者听说过)Shark Tank上的企业家。 他们中的一半走在鲨鱼面前,谈论他们在创业时花费的数十万甚至数百万美元,只是为了让他们需要更多来自亿万富翁投资者的钱才能保住他们的梦想。

它可能会给你一种沉闷的感觉,因为你知道你永远无法聚集那种类型的钱或者有抵押品来支持投资者或银行的那种贷款。

但你甚至需要所有这些才能 开始创业?

我的意思是,也许有可能成功推出 网上业务 –例如 电子商务商店 –没有(或很少)启动资金?

虽然随着销售额的增加,您的开支可能会增加,但我想提醒您,这些企业家中的许多人开始时只需要一个 简单的电子商务网站,花费少量资金逐步扩大并赚钱支付升级费用。

但是现在,您需要以最便宜的方式启动电子商务网站。 你口袋里有一点钱,甚至零钱都不能开始销售,所以我们想向你展示一些方法,这些方法可以随时存入你的口袋,用于投资你业务的其他方面。 继续阅读以开始储蓄!

方法1: Square Online (对于产品不多的商店)

square online -开设电子商务商店的最便宜的方法

Square Online 是许多公司经常忽略的在线销售解决方案。 那是因为大多数人都认为 Square 仅用于离线销售。 现实情况是,如果您有 Square 商店,您可以轻松地在线上和线下销售。

对于没有很多产品的初学者,您可以免费设置在线商店。 这使得开始将您的业务上线变得极其容易。 免费服务是您开设商店的理想之选,但它确实提供了 square 子域名(不理想)和广告。

使用免费计划,您可以销售无限数量的产品,还可以自由销售各种数字,物理产品,服务和商品。 支持路边取货,交付和运送给客户,此外, Square 有自己的Instagram集成。

Square的免费软件包将帮助您使用优惠券代码和礼品车进行销售,还可以通过文本将订单更新发送给客户,并为客户提供自定义订单的选项。

对于那些愿意多付一点钱的人, Square 确实有类似的计划:

  • 专业计划: 每月12美元,不包含广告和专业域名
  • 绩效计划: 每月$ 26,具有其他功能,例如废弃的购物车复原
  • 高级计划: 每月$ 72,运费有更高折扣

有需要注意的交易费用 Square。 无论采用哪种方案,您都需要支付2.9%的费用加上30美分的费用。 还有一些额外的费用需要注意。 例如,来自 Square 费用为每年$ 12,尽管您可能会花更多钱购买按需名称。 您还需要从正在使用的支付系统中考虑手续费。

如果要访问 Square的行销套件,那么每月就要多付15美元。 不过,您可以免费试用。

如果您与在线商店同时经营线下商店,那么您将能够免费使用销售点应用程序,手续费为2.6%,另加每次面额付款的10美分。 商店的额外硬件起价为magstripe阅读器10美元,单机最高为799美元 Square 注册。

Square 对于某些公司也有一些特定的选择。 例如,您可以获得 Square 对于餐厅, Square 约会,以及 Square 零售。 虽然这些选项有免费计划,但也可以选择升级到高级产品以获取更多功能。

方法2: WordPress

wordpress  - 推出电子商务商店的最便宜的方法

WordPress.org 一直是网络上所有网站所有者的27%的首选解决方案。 或者,换句话说,在WordPress平台上运行的网站超过四分之一。

幸运的是,对于我们所有人来说,WordPress也完全有能力运营电子商务网站。 不仅如此,实际上超过所有电子商务网站的42%(最新的2016数据表明)在WordPress上运行。

走这条路并在WordPress上推出商店的好处真的很诱人:

  • WordPress本身就是一个免费的开源平台。 这意味着您不仅可以免费获得它,还可以调整其内部工作以满足您的需求100%。
  • WordPress的最佳电子商务工具–名为的电子商务插件 WooCommerce –也是免费和开源的。
  • 您可以获得一个非常可靠的托管计划,该计划已经过WordPress优化,只需$ 4 /月。 (稍后,随着您网站的增长,您可能希望以$ 12 /月的价格切换到更高级别的计划。)

坚持最后一分钟-托管-是的,使用WordPress作为电子商务商店的核心要求您自己获得托管帐户。 这听起来可能很复杂,但这实际上是一件相当简单的事情。 您需要做的就是与其中一个受欢迎的托管服务提供商注册,并向他们提供有关您网站的一些基本联系方式/业务信息。

对于我们可以推荐的特定托管服务提供商, SiteGround 是WordPress的市场上收视率最高的和最优化的解决方案之一。 多个客户评论和托管调查结果证实了它们的高品质。

最好的消息,就像我上面提到的那样,你可以获得一个WordPress就绪的托管计划,每月只需$ 4。 只需点击这里.

在注册过程中,您可以知道 SiteGround 为您创建一个空白的WordPress网站。 他们将免费为您提供服务,因此您无需动手进行技术设置。

您的电子商务设置的另一个要素是 WooCommerce –免费的WordPress插件,可为您提供所需的所有在线商店功能。 可以像安装其他任何WordPress插件一样安装它,并且没有任何费用与获得它有关。

WordPress + eCommmerce难题的最后一个元素是您的WordPress主题-您将展示给客户的网站设计。

在线上有很多可用选项–确实有–但是如果您不想被所有可能性淹没,可以查看 这个短名单在这里。 该页面上展示的所有主题均已预先选择,因为它们的结构和针对电子商务网站的优化(和 WooCommerce 特别是)。

(我要强调的是,使用针对电子商务网站优化的WordPress主题非常重要。否则,您将面临产品无法正常显示的风险,从而使您的销售成本降低。)

现在,我在这里所说的一切看起来似乎都是很多工作,但实际上并非如此。 一旦你开始完成这些步骤,你就会很快意识到所有这些都可以在一小时内完成,并且随着你的进展,一切都很容易掌握。

这就是WordPress的全部功能…您基本上可以使用它启动任何类型的网站(包括电子商务或其他在线业务),而且成本非常低,而且投资时间短。

总结一下,在WordPress上设置电子商务将花费你:

方法3: Ecwid

ecwid - 便宜的网上商店

旨在向现有网站添加销售功能, Ecwid 是一个插件解决方案,适用于您当前的在线资产。 用户友好且充满了有用的功能, Ecwid的免费套餐是开始在线销售和发现有利可图的利基市场的好方法。 您可以期待一个易于使用的后端,以及通过社交媒体访问多渠道销售。

Ecwid 很受欢迎,因为它非常灵活。 你不必从头开始一个新网站,你可以坚持使用 WordPress 之类的东西, Wix, 和 Weebly 用于您的大部分功能。 该插件使 Ecwid 如果您已经为您的商店投资了各种工具,这是一个不错的选择。

定价:如上所述,有一个免费使用 Ecwid 计划,尽管这会限制您可以销售的产品数量,以及您对一些可用的更高级功能的访问。 好消息是,即使您决定选择溢价,价格仍然很低,从每月 15 英镑左右开始。

免费计划确实为您提供了一个在线商店,但您无法访问社交媒体销售或移动销售点。 如果您升级到“商务”套餐,这是第二贵的高级计划,您可以通过从 POS 到亚马逊或 eBay 的所有产品进行销售。 您还将获得大量广告选项、Android 和 iOS 商店管理以及对数字商品的支持。

Ecwid 非常适合希望将现有资产(他们的网站)转变为商店解决方案的公司。 您不需要从头开始构建任何东西,并且产品选项没有限制。 您甚至可以选择多种语言进行多语言销售,并下载移动应用程序以处理移动中的商店功能。

Ecwid 在定制选项方面可能不如其他解决方案先进,但如果您正在寻找易于快速设置的东西,那就太好了。 您可以通过多种渠道(如社交媒体)进行销售,并坚持使用您觉得最舒服的在线网站建设平台。

方法4: Shopify (使用简单而强大的工具最快的方法)

Shopify 网页

建立廉价商店的最终方法是配合使用 Shopify。 到目前为止,这是三者中最简单,最快捷的方法,我强烈建议初学者开发。

您可以从14日免费试用开始,以便对其进行测试 Shopify Lite 计划 每月只需​​$ 9。 这是一个很好的价格,考虑到你也收到一个域名和托管,你可以选择一个免费的主题。

该计划没有在线商店,但是您会收到无限的产品和 Shopify 购买按钮开始销售。

即使您开始升级,价格也非常合理:

  • Shopify Lite –每月$ 9
  • 基础 Shopify 计划–每月$ 29
  • Shopify 计划–每月$ 79
  • 高级 Shopify 计划–每月$ 299

方法5: Squarespace (最适合小型和成长中的在线商店)

squarespace -开设电子商务商店的最便宜的方法

Squarespace 是一种建立在线商店的知名方法,在社交媒体和广告界拥有大量的存在。 如果您还不准备尝试使用更大的工具,例如 BigCommerce, Squarespace 提供了许多功能来帮助您在线进行信用卡付款。

Squarespace 是专为构建常规网站而设计的,但还有电子商务计划,起价为每月26美元。 这些都提供了对SEO,自定义等功能的大量支持,并将您公司的网站链接到外部环境(如Amazon和eBay)。

您将获得令人赞叹的模板 Squarespace 使您的网站脱颖而出,因此对于希望产生影响的小型企业来说非常有用。

价格上 Squarespace 个人计划的起价为每月约12美元,商业计划的起价为每月18美元,但这两种方式都无法为您提供电子商务网站或包含结帐功能。 您将需要每月至少花费26美元购买电子商务解决方案,并且还有一个高级版本,价格为40美元。

签订年度计划将为您节省大量的额外现金,通常约为45%,值得一试的是将您的小型企业的电子邮件帐户转移到其他地方,以保持较低的成本。 从好的方面来说,您确实与Google Workspace建立了合作伙伴关系, Squarespace 这有助于您降低电子邮件费用。

需要注意的一点是 Squarespace 每年向其电子邮件域收取20美元的费用,因此在这里寻找更便宜的替代方法可能值得。

方法6: Wix (最好的最佳拖放体验)

wix 电子商务-开设电子商务商店的最便宜的方式

Wix 是周围最著名的电子商务网站构建器选项之一。 因其拖放式简单性和高级功能的完美结合而广受欢迎, Wix 确实确实拥有了一切。 尽管该服务起初只是一种基本的网站构建工具,但它已经发展了很多,提供了从无限带宽到AI的所有内容。

- Wix 对于几乎您能想到的任何细分市场,网站构建器都是一个绝佳的选择。 每个模板和购物车都可以在任何设备上无缝运行,并且 Wix的模板也很有吸引力。 您可以轻松地与以下选项竞争 Volusion,Weebly, ecwid, 超越。

如果您正在寻找用于博客,电子邮件营销和销售的最佳电子商务平台, Wix 为您提供解决方案。 您可以在出色的客户支持下将现有网站迁移到系统中,并且有大量的定价计划可以满足任何预算。 Wix 计划起价为每月13美元,但您无法用最便宜的商品来建立商店。

您将需要升级到每月至少23美元,以确保获得每台设备的功能。 好消息是 Wix 还可以随着您的业务扩展,这是许多免费电子商务平台无法实现的。

Wix 可以帮助您实时跟踪在线商店的销售情况,使用自己的SSL证书保护店面,并释放搜索引擎优化的好处。 您可以从多种付款方式中进行选择,以通过PayPal到Apple Pay的各种方式与客户建立联系,并且可以获得大量的教程来帮助您入门。

Wix 甚至对于那些希望开发人员在其电子商务业务上与他们合作的人都具有API访问权限。 您可以自定义产品页面,访问库存管理工具,甚至在没有很多先验知识的情况下提供礼品卡。

你会喜欢的 Wix 如果您正在商店构建商中寻找简单而全面的内容,但是您可能不欣赏在为网站选择模板后就无法切换模板这一事实。 随着时间的推移,这可能会变得有些困难。

方法7: Magento 开源(面向经验丰富的开发人员)

与WordPress类似, Magento 提供了用于构建您的在线商店的开源选项。 两者之间的主要区别 Magento 而WordPress是 Magento 真正适合具有丰富经验的开发人员。 Magento 学习曲线很大,因此您要么需要丰富的开发经验,要么请某个人加入您的团队。 否则,最好使用托管的电子商务平台之一甚至WordPress之类的东西。

话虽如此,你不应该完全统治 Magento 出去。 它是全世界最受欢迎的电子商务平台。 一些最大,发展最快的品牌开始于或过渡到 Magento,并且有充分的理由。

成本是多少?

开始, Magento 完全免费下载并创建您自己的在线商店。 这对于必须坚持预算紧张的小型初创公司是有利的。

从技术上讲,您可以找到一种方法来构建 Magento 无需支付任何费用即可存储。 但是,您将必须找到一个主机,以便您的网站可以在网上看到。 托管费用可能从每月3美元到每月100美元不等。 这完全取决于您的网站发展速度如何,以及您希望托管公司提供哪种类型的性能。

主题和扩展

除此之外,您可能需要支付诸如主题和扩展名之类的费用。 好消息是 Magento 强大的在线商店几乎需要具备所有功能。 但是,当您开始在线搜索时,某些主题比其他主题要好得多。 您最终可能需要为一个主题支付1美元,但最好是寻找价格在100美元左右的东西。

最后,最昂贵的部分 Magento 是您可能必须雇用开发人员的事实。 如果是这样, Magento 这可能不是制造在线商店的最具成本效益的方法之一。 但是,如果您有开发人员的合作伙伴,或者您自己有开发经验,则可能不必找自由职业者或全职员工来为您运行网站。 在那种情况下, Magento 是建立在线商店的最佳价值之一。

方法8: Easy Digital Downloads (用于销售数字产品)

虽然这不适用于所有想在网上销售的人,但是 Easy Digital Downloads 该平台非常适合那些想要出售数字产品的人。 这可能包括音频文件,音乐,视频和电子书。 数字销售机会很多,尤其是考虑到它们不需要大量的前期资本来创造。 这使得一切都更实惠。

例如,如果您想制作一个在线视频课程,内容涵盖WordPress的基础知识,以及如何构建一个 WooCommerce 商店,所需的只是您的时间。 您可能需要花一些钱来购买屏幕捕获软件和编辑工具,但同时也有一些免费的解决方案。

备份到 Easy Digital Downloads.

这是一个完全免费的在线销售平台,与WordPress集成。 您所要做的就是去网站免费下载插件。 一旦您在网站上安装它,它几乎立即将前端转换为在线商店。 您可以发布数字产品,收取付款,并将带有文件的自动电子邮件发送给您的客户。

有没有费用?

- Easy Digital Downloads 该插件是免费的,但也可以与WordPress集成。 由于WordPress是一个开放源代码解决方案,因此您将不得不去寻找自己的托管服务。 这可能会花费您任何地方,从每月3美元到每月50美元。 我不敢想象大多数数字产品网站会超越此而发展,但您永远不会知道。 有巨大的数字市场肯定比托管花费更多。

您也可以决定为WordPress主题或WordPress中的许多附加组件中的任何一个付费 Easy Digital Downloads 网站。

一些最受欢迎的附加组件包括:

所有这些附加组件的价格都有所不同。 例如,单个站点许可证的定期付款附加费用为199。 对于无限制的网站,它一直到$ 419。 对于单个站点许可,条带支付网关的起价为$ 89,对于无限制的站点,条带支付网关的起价为$ 209。

总体而言,您没有义务购买任何这些附加组件。 因此,从技术上讲,您可以通过全面的数字产品销售支持来创建一个漂亮的网站。 这 Easy Digital Downloads 插件具有您需要的所有功能,唯一需要的费用是用于托管帐户。

给你...

既然您已经有机会查看推出电子商务商店的最便宜方式,请在评论中告诉我们您是否有机会使用这些平台。 您是否能够在整个过程中保持低成本?

特色图片宫廷 Katya Prokofyeva

Joe Warnimont

Joe Warnimont是一位自由撰稿人,他创造了工具和资源,帮助其他作家提高工作效率并推销他们的作品。

The Cheapest Possible Way to Launch an Ecommerce Store (June 2021)

You've seen (or maybe heard about) the entrepreneurs on Shark Tank. Half of them walk in front of the sharks talking about the hundreds of thousands, or even millions of dollars they have spent on their startup, only to be in a situation where they need more money from the billionaire investors to keep their dreams alive.

It may give you a sinking sensation in your stomach, knowing that you would never be able to gather together that type of money or have the collateral to backup that sort of loan from an investor or bank.

But do you even need all of that in order to start a business?

I mean, can it perhaps be possible to launch a successful online business – e.g. an eCommerce store – without any (or very little of) starting capital?

Although your expenses are likely to increase as your sales increase, I want to remind you that many of these entrepreneurs started off with nothing more than a simple eCommerce website, spending small amounts of money to gradually expand and make money to pay for upgrades.

But right now, you need the cheapest possible way to launch an eCommerce site. You have either a little money in your pocket, or even zero money to start selling, so we want to show you a few methods that will keep cash in your pocket for investing in other facets of your business. Keep reading to start saving!

Method 1: WordPress

wordpress - Cheapest Possible Way to Launch an Ecommerce Store

WordPress.org has been the go-to solution for 27% of all website owners on the web. Or, to say this another way, more than one in four websites run on the WordPress platform.

And luckily for all of us, WordPress is also perfectly capable of running an eCommerce website. More than that, actually more than 42% of all eCommerce websites (latest 2016 data indicates) run on WordPress.

The benefits of going that route and launching your store on WordPress are really enticing:

  • WordPress in itself is a free and open source platform. This means that you can not only get it for free, but even tweak its inner workings to suit your needs 100%.
  • The best eCommerce tool for WordPress – an eCommerce plugin called WooCommerce – is also free and open source.
  • You can get a great and reliable hosting plan that's been WordPress-optimized for as little as $4/month. (Later on, as your site grows, you might want to switch to a higher-tier plan at $12/month.)

Sticking with that last thing for a minute – the hosting – yes, using WordPress as the core of your eCommerce store requires you getting a hosting account on your own. This might sound complicated, but it's actually a fairly straightforward thing. All you need to do is sign up with one of the popular hosting providers and give them some basic contact/business information about your website.

When it comes to specific hosting providers that we could recommend, SiteGround is one of the top-rated and optimized solutions for WordPress on the market. Their high quality has been confirmed by multiple customer reviews and hosting survey results.

And the best news, like I mentioned above, is that you can get a WordPress-ready hosting plan for as little as $4 a month. Just click here.

During sign-up, you can tell SiteGround to create a blank WordPress website for you. They will take care of that for free, so you won't have to get your hands dirty with the technical setup.

Another element of your eCommerce setup is WooCommerce – the free WordPress plugin that will give you all the online store functionality that you need. It can be installed just like any other WordPress plugin, and there are no costs associated with getting it.

The last element of our WordPress+eCommmerce puzzle is your WordPress theme – the website design that you will show to your customers.

There's a load of options available online – there really is – but if you don't want to get flooded with all the possibilities, you can check out this short-list over here. All of the themes showcased on that page have been pre-selected due to their structure and optimization for eCommerce websites (and WooCommerce in particular).

(Let me just emphasize that it's really crucial to work with a WordPress theme that has been optimized for eCommerce websites. Otherwise, you're risking your products not displaying properly, and thus costing you sales.)

Now, everything I'm saying here might seem like a lot of work at first, but it really isn't so. Once you start going through the steps, you'll quickly realize that all of them can be done in under one hour and that everything is pretty easy to grasp as you go along.

That's the whole power of WordPress … you can launch basically any type of website with it (including eCommerce or other online business), and do so at a really low cost and with small time investment.

Summing it all up, setting up your eCommerce store on WordPress will cost you:

Method 2: Square Online (For Stores with Not Many Products)

square online - Cheapest Possible Way to Launch an Ecommerce Store

Square Online is a solution for online sales that’s frequently overlooked by a lot of companies. That’s because most people assume that Square is just for offline selling. The reality is that if you have a Square store, you can sell both online and offline with ease.

For beginners without a lot of products, you can set up an online store for free. That makes it extremely easy to start taking your business online. The free service is ideal for setting up your store, but it does come with a square subdomain, which isn’t ideal, and advertisements.

With the free plan, you can sell an unlimited number of products, and you’re free to sell various digital, physical products, services, and goods. There’s support for curbside pickup, delivery, and shipping to customers, plus, Square has its own Instagram integration.

Square’s free package will help you to make sales with coupon codes and gift carts, you can also send order updates to customers via text, and give clients the option to customize their orders.

For those who are willing to pay a little more, Square does have plans like:

  • The professional plan: $12 per month with no ads and a professional domain
  • The Performance plan: $26 per month with extra features like abandoned cart recovery
  • The Premium plan: $72 per month with higher discounts on shipping

There are transaction fees to be aware of with Square. On any plan, you’ll pay 2.9% plus 30 cents. There’s also a few additional costs to be aware of. For instance, domain names from Square cost $12 per year, although you may spend a little more for an in demand name. There’s also processing fees to think about from the payment systems you’re using.

If you want to access Square’s marketing suite, then that’s an extra $15 per month. You can check it out for a free trial, however.

If you’re running an offline store alongside your online store, then you’ll be able to use the point of sale app for free, with processing fees of 2.6% plus 10 cents per in-person payment. Extra hardware for your store starts at $10 for the magstripe reader, and goes up to $799 for a single Square register.

Square also has some specific options for certain companies. For instance, you can get Square for Restaurants, Square Appointments, and Square for Retail. While there are free plans for these options, there’s also the option to upgrade to premium products for more features.

Method 3: Shopify (Quickest Method with Simple and Powerful Tools)

Shopify homepage

The final method for building a cheap store is to go with Shopify. It's by far the easiest and quickest method out of the three, and I highly recommend it for beginner developers.

You start with a 14 day free trial for testing things out, and the Shopify Lite Plan is only $9 per month. This is a wonderful price considering you also receive a domain name and hosting, and you can choose a free theme.

This plan doesn't have an online store, but you receive unlimited products and a Shopify Buy button to start selling.

Even when you start upgrading the prices are pretty reasonable:

  • Shopify Lite – $9 per month
  • Basic Shopify Plan – $29 per month
  • Shopify Plan – $79 per month
  • Advanced Shopify Plan – $299 per month

Method 4: Squarespace (Best for Small and Growing Online Stores)

squarespace - Cheapest Possible Way to Launch an Ecommerce Store

Squarespace is a well-known way to build an online store, with tons of presence on social media and in the advertising world. If you’re not ready to experiment with bigger tools like BigCommerce, Squarespace offers plenty of functionality to help you take credit card payments online.

Squarespace is designed for building regular websites, first and foremost, but there are eCommerce plans available that start at $26 per month. These come with tons of support for things like SEO, customization, and linking your company’s site to external environments like Amazon and eBay.

You get amazing templates with Squarespace to make your site stand out, so it’s great for small businesses who want to make an impact.

Prices on Squarespace start at around $12 per month for the personal plan, or $18 per month for the Business plan, but both of these will not get you an eCommerce site or checkout included. You’ll need to spend at least $26 per month for the eCommerce solution, and there’s an Advanced version available for $40 too.

Signing up for a yearly plan will save you a significant amount of extra cash, usually around 45%, and it’s worth looking into getting your small businesses email accounts elsewhere too to keep the costs low. On the plus side, you do get a partnership with Google Workspace from Squarespace which helps you to keep your email costs low.

One point to note is that Squarespace charges $20 per year for its email domains, so it might be worth looking for a cheaper alternative here.

Method 5: Wix (Best for the best drag and drop experience)

wix ecommerce - Cheapest Possible Way to Launch an Ecommerce Store

Wix is one of the best-known ecommerce website builder options around. Popular for its fantastic blend of drag-and-drop simplicity and advanced features, Wix really does seem to have it all. Though the service started out as a basic website building tool, it’s evolved into so much more, offering everything from unlimited bandwidth to AI.

The Wix site builder is a fantastic option for virtually any niche you can think of. Every template and shopping cart will work seamlessly on any device, and Wix’s templates are attractive too. You can easily compete with the options on Volusion, Weebly, ecwid, and beyond.

If you’re looking for the best ecommerce platform for blogging, email marketing, and selling, Wix has the solution for you. You can migrate your existing website into the system with excellent customer support, and there are a ton of pricing plans to suit any budget. Wix plans start at $13 per month, but you can’t build a store with the cheapest product.

You will need to upgrade to at least $23 per month to ensure that you’re getting selling features for every device. The good news is that Wix can also scale with your business, something that many free ecommerce platforms can’t accomplish.

Wix will help you to track sales from your online shop in real-time, protect your storefront with its own SSL certificate, and unlock the benefits of search engine optimization. You can choose from a range of payment methods to connect with your customers through everything from PayPal to Apple Pay, and you get a host of tutorials to help you get started.

Wix even has API access for those who want a developer to work with them on their eCommerce business. You can customize product pages, access inventory management tools, and even offer gift cards without a lot of prior know how.

You’ll love Wix if you’re looking for something simple and comprehensive in your store builder, but you might not appreciate the fact that you can’t switch your template once you’ve chosen it for your website. This can make it a little tougher to evolve over time.

Method 6: Magento Open Source (For Experienced Developers)

Similar to WordPress, Magento offers an opensource option for building your online store. The primary difference between Magento and WordPress is that Magento is truly meant for developers with lots of experience. Magento has a huge learning curve, so you will either need extensive development experience or pay someone to join your team. Otherwise, you're better off going with one of the hosted e-commerce platforms or even something like WordPress.

Having said that, you shouldn't completely rule Magento out. It's the most popular e-commerce platform in the entire world. Some of the largest, most rapidly growing brands start with or transition to Magento, and for good reason.

What's the cost like?

To start, Magento is completely free to download and create your own online store. This is advantageous for smaller startups that have to stick to tight budgets.

You could technically figure out a way to build a Magento store without paying any money. However, you will have to find a host so that your website can be seen online. The hosting expenses might range from $3 per month to $100 per month. It all depends on how rapidly growing your website is and what type of performance you are looking for from your hosting company.

Themes and extensions

Other than that, you may want to pay for things like themes and extensions. The good news is that Magento pretty much comes with all of the features you would need for a high-powered online store. However, some of the themes are far better than others when you start searching online. You could end up paying $1 for a theme, but you're most likely better off looking for something around the $100 range.

Finally, the most expensive part of Magento is the fact that you may have to hire a developer. If this is the case, Magento probably isn't one of the most cost-effective ways to make an online store. However, if you have a partner who's a developer, or you have development experience yourself, you may not have to find a freelancer or a full-time employee to run the website for you. In that situation, Magento is one of the best values for building an online store.

Method 7: Easy Digital Downloads (For Selling Digital Products)

Although this won't apply to everyone looking to sell online, the Easy Digital Downloads platform is perfect for those who want to sell digital products. This might include audio files, music, video, and e-books. There are plenty of digital sales opportunities, especially considering they don't take much upfront capital to create. This makes it all the more affordable.

For instance, if you would like to make an online video course covering the basics of WordPress, and how to build a WooCommerce store, all that requires is your time. You may need to shell out a little bit of cash for screen capture software and editing tools, but there are also free solutions for those as well.

Back to Easy Digital Downloads.

This is a completely free online sales platform that integrates with WordPress. All you have to do is go to the website and download the plugin for free. Once you install it on your website it almost instantly transforms the frontend into an online store. You can post digital products, collect payments, and send out automated emails with the files to your customers.

Are there any costs?

The Easy Digital Downloads plugin is free but it also integrates with WordPress. Since WordPress is an open source solution, you will have to go and find your own hosting. This might cost you anywhere from $3 per month to $50 per month. I wouldn't imagine that most digital product websites will grow past that, but you never know. There are gigantic digital marketplaces that definitely spend more than that for hosting.

You also might decide to pay for a WordPress theme or any of the many add-ons from the Easy Digital Downloads website.

Some of the most popular add-ons include:

  • Recurring payments
  • Stripe Gateway
  • PayPal Gateway
  • Software licensing
  • Frontend submissions
  • Mailchimp
  • Many more

The prices vary for all of these add-ons. For instance, the recurring payments add-on costs $199 for a single site license. It goes all the way up to $419 for unlimited sites. The Stripe Payment Gateway starts at $89 for a single site license and goes up to $209 for unlimited sites.

Overall, you're under no obligation to purchase any of these add-ons. Therefore, you could technically make a beautiful website with full digital product selling support. The Easy Digital Downloads plugin has all of the features you would need, and the only required expense would be for a hosting account.

Over to You…

Now that you've had a chance to check out the cheapest possible ways to launch an eCommerce store, let us know in the comments if you've had a chance to work with any of these platforms. Were you able to keep costs low throughout the process?

Feature image courtsey of Katya Prokofyeva

Joe Warnimont

Joe Warnimont is a freelance writer who creates tools and resources to help other writers get more productive and market their work.