Shopify vs亚马逊(2021年XNUMX月):您应该选择哪个?

如何在亚马逊和 Shopify

当涉及到在线销售产品时,这些天有很多选择可供考虑。 企业领导者可以选择建立自己的在线商店,并提供对付款处理器,订阅和成员资格选项的访问权限等等。 另外,对于某些初学者而言,更好的选择可能是简单地通过现有市场(例如eBay或Etsy)进行销售。

在当今的数字销售环境中,似乎有两个名字在所有其他名字中脱颖而出。 Shopify 是想要从头开始构建自己的网站的公司的首选解决方案。 任何小型企业都可以通过以下方式建立在线商店 Shopify 并立即开始使用信用卡和借记卡付款。

另外,如果您想尽快开始销售,则可以选择在亚马逊上设置一个帐户。 作为亚马逊卖家,您可以接触到大量已经定期浏览亚马逊的用户。

这两种工具都有其各自的优势,那么您如何决定应该使用哪一种呢?

让我们来了解一下。

Shopify vs亚马逊:基础知识

让我们先来看一下个体卖家和企业主可以做什么 Shopify 和亚马逊。 您需要知道的第一件事是,这两个工具都将使您以自己的名字为零售商。 您可以在自己的电子商务商店中在线赚钱,也可以通过在线市场轻松销售。

但是,这就是亚马逊和 Shopify 告一段落。 亚马逊和 Shopify 是在数字世界中销售产品的一种手段,但是它们的工作方式却大不相同。

患有 Shopify,您将获得一个完整的平台来构建您的电子商务网站,并带有模板,从而使您的产品清单看起来令人难以置信。 取决于哪个 Shopify 您选择的产品包,您可以访问所有内容,从搜索引擎优化功能到工具,使您可以将商店链接到其他销售渠道,包括亚马逊。

另一方面,亚马逊不要求您从头开始构建任何东西。 相反,您通过现有的仓库进行销售,并与其他类似的卖方进行销售。 在卖 Shopify 就像在现实世界中租一栋楼并出售自己的产品,而亚马逊在非常繁忙的环境中为您提供了成千上万个其他卖家的摊位。

您可以同时接受的业务模型的主要区别 Shopify 和亚马逊意味着这些工具可以迎合截然不同的在线卖家。 Shopify 非常适合希望在网上大名鼎鼎的小型企业,大品牌和个体卖家。 另外,如果您只是一个销售少量产品的人,那么亚马逊环境可能是一个更好的选择。

随着在线业务的增长,您甚至可以选择同时使用这两种解决方案。

Shopify vs亚马逊:利弊

所以如果两者 Shopify 亚马逊可以帮助您在不断发展的数字世界中赚钱,您如何选择正确的选择? 比较这些解决方案时,可以帮助列出两种工具的明显优缺点,例如:

Shopify 优点👍

  • 无需担心更新和安全性(一切已为您完成)
  • 用户友好的方式来建立您的整个品牌商店
  • 与大量其他工具的集成,包括亚马逊
  • 高级和免费模板,使您的网站看起来很棒
  • 离线销售机会和POS集成
  • 完整团队的大力支持
  • 各种营销和SEO工具以实现增长
  • 受欢迎的社区,有大量满意的客户
  • 出售服务或实物产品

Shopify 缺点👎

  • 交易费吞噬了您的利润
  • 成本增加了诸如集成和模板之类的费用
  • 要求您在开始销售之前建立整个商店

那么,怎么做 亚马逊 比较? 它可能为在线卖家提供截然不同的体验,但是仍然需要考虑各种利弊。

亚马逊专业人士👍

  • 极好的品牌曝光度(数百万人使用亚马逊)
  • 易于设置并立即开始销售
  • 访问FBA之类的工具(由亚马逊提供)
  • 提供礼品卡,折扣等
  • 在大多数情况下,高昂的运费
  • 安全性和更新由您管理
  • 便捷的后端环境
  • 良好的客户支持

亚马逊缺点

  • 仅适合销售实物产品
  • 难以在市场上建立强大的品牌形象
  • 来自销售相同或相似产品的人们的大量竞争

Shopify 与亚马逊:定价

既然您已经仔细研究了每种服务的利弊,那么让我们开始做些简单的决定-您将花费多少。 都 Shopify 而亚马逊在计划增加利润的方法时需要考虑成本。

Shopify尽管其功能和工具范围广泛,但通常被认为是负担得起的。 如果您已经有要出售的商业网站或社交媒体商店,则可以通过以下方式向您的帐户中添加“立即购买”按钮: Shopify 每月只需​​$ 9美元-这是 Shopify 精简版包。 Lite包不允许您建立自己的网站或访问无数的附加功能。 Shopify然而,

其他包装选项包括:

  • 基础 Shopify: 每月29美元,可使用无限量的产品托管,在线商店工具,员工帐户,24/7支持,社交媒体集成,折扣代码,SSL证书,礼品卡,废弃的购物车回收等等。
  • Shopify: 每月$ 79,这是 Shopify 大多数公司选择; 它包括Basic的所有功能,以及多达5个地点,5个员工帐户和专业报告。 提供欺诈分析,POS技术(精简版)以及多种语言销售的选项。
  • Shopify 高级: 该软件包每月299美元,适用于规模较大的大型公司,您可以使用多达5种语言进行销售,访问国际域,解锁欺诈分析等等,此外,您还可以获得优质的服务。
  • Shopify 再加上: 这是 Shopify的企业版,尽管您需要与 Shopify 专业人士为此定价。 通常,费用起价为2000美元左右,因此请当心预算不错。

除了额外的功能,您在 Shopify 计划,您可以节省更多的交易费用。 例如,基本的在线信用卡费率 Shopify 起价为2.2%加20美分,当面收看率是1.7%加0美分。 所有付款服务提供商以外的其他费用 Shopify 付款为2%。

如果你使用 Shopify 高级,但是,您的在线信用卡费率降至1.6%加20美分。 面对面交易的价格为1.5%加0美分,交易公司以外的其他费用 Shopify 付款为0.5%。

那么,亚马逊如何比较?

亚马逊也不是特别昂贵,这使其成为刚开始在线的公司和卖家的不错选择。 如果您不销售大量产品,那么选择一个将花费数百美元的平台毫无意义。

亚马逊的销售计划是:

  • 个人销售计划: 这项服务没有月费,但是您将为所售的每件商品支付$ 0.99的费用。 这是在您在亚马逊上销售时可能出现的额外销售费用的顶部,该费用因类别而异。
  • 专业销售计划: 这是包含月费的计划,每月收费39.99美元。 仍然有其他各方要在这里支付的额外销售费用。 同样,第三方费用将取决于您必须出售的产品。

那么,您为什么考虑使用专业计划? 好了,个人销售帐户使您可以在各种未清类别中进行销售,并访问提要和电子表格以在线加载库存信息。 但是,您对其他功能的选择极为有限。 另一方面,专业计划可让您访问与订单相关的供稿和订单报告。 您在所有产品详细信息页面上均排名第一,并且可以申请在10多个额外类别中进行销售。 您也可以自定义运费。

如您所料,专业计划中还有更多功能需要解锁,这为您带来了更多的额外销售机会。 如果您选择使用其他Amazon服务,例如Amazon Fulfilled,则会再次收取额外费用。

履行者 亚马逊 使您可以更轻松地在全球范围内完成订单履行,还可以访问诸如Prime Shipping之类的东西。 对于这些天在亚马逊上出售的许多客户而言,优质运输是一项巨大的奖励,并且您还可以获得亚马逊徽章。

不幸的是,无法真正预测您在FBA上的花费,因为在与团队联系并分享需求之前,您无法获得价格。

Shopify vs Amazon:功能

无论你去 Shopify 或将亚马逊作为您的销售解决方案,请务必注意,如果您愿意支付更多,则将始终获得更多功能。 这是任何在线销售解决方案的标准真理。 让我们仔细看一下您可以从Amazon和 Shopify,以及它们将如何影响您。

Shopify 主要功能

shopify 主页 - shopify vs亚马逊

除非您选择“ Lite”套件 Shopify 仅允许您访问销售按钮,实际上,您应该能够在任何设备上解锁大量功能 Shopify 计划。 那是最好的事情之一 Shopify,以及该解决方案成为全球最受欢迎的解决方案之一的原因。 您甚至可以使用HTML和CSS编辑您的网站,并通过70多家付款服务提供商付款。

Shopify 为您提供了许多优质的免费模板,可帮助您建立在线商店。 另外,还有很多方法可以通过进行自己的编辑,实现附加组件和访问集成进行自定义。 甚至还有诸如报告和分析之类的功能,可以帮助您更好地了解客户的需求。

公寓亮点:

  • 数十种付款处理方式
  • SSL证书的安全性
  • 高级和免费主题
  • 您网站的拖放编辑器
  • 被遗弃的购物车恢复
  • 客户帐号和资料
  • 履行和直接运送
  • 产品推荐和评论
  • 库存和订单管理
  • SEO和营销功能
  • 客户帐号和资料
  • 自动计税

可用于的功能 Shopify 用户一直在不断发展,新功能不断出现。 还有 Shopify 市场也可以发现。

亚马逊的功能丰富程度要低于 Shopify 在某些方面,因为您没有在线商店的建设者。 相反,您要做的就是创建一个帐户,您几乎可以立即开始向大量受众出售产品。

亚马逊功能

  • 使用Amazon Business吸引新客户
  • 自动增值税发票
  • 商业定价和数量折扣
  • 独特的业务报价和交易
  • 增强订单可视性
  • 按发票付款功能
  • 亚马逊配送
  • 产品图片和视频支持
  • 轻松访问后端产品页面编辑
  • 运费计算
  • 包含托管和安全性

亚马逊还帮助您将产品运送给客户。 正如 Shopify 具有适用于直销的扩展,Amazon可以通过Fulfilled by Amazon满足您的销售需求。 亚马逊物流消除了运输和电子商务等方面的麻烦,因此您

Shopify 与亚马逊:付款方式

shopify 付款- shopify vs亚马逊

在建立在线商店时,付款方式是一个重要的考虑因素。 您可以使用更多的自定义付款方式,则客户购买产品的可能性就越大。 人们总是会使用他们已经熟悉的付款方式感到更自在。

无论您是简单的还是高级的 Shopify 商店,值得记住的是,除非您去交易,否则您将支付交易费。 Shopify 付款网关。 这意味着您不再需要担心交易费用,而只能通过 Shopify的服务。

如果您不介意支付交易费,那么 Shopify 确实还有其他付款方式。 有超过100个可用选项,包括PayPal和Amazon Pay,这些选项的交易费用都因价格而异,因此请确保您进行研究。

亚马逊采取类似的方法 Shopify 与付款方式。 Amazon Pay是可用的主要付款网关,它允许您接受各种借记卡和信用卡。 不幸的是,您无法访问PayPal或其他付款解决方案,但是无论如何,大多数人还是对Amazon Pay感到很满意。

对于专业卖家,亚马逊需要考虑销售费用以及按月订购。 费用因类别而异,通常包括运费和介绍费。 如果您选择使用亚马逊物流,则在实现过程中需要考虑各种额外费用。 最重要的是,您还需要考虑每月的库存仓储费。 储存和履行的价格取决于产品的大小,产品类型,数量和一年中的时间。

Shopify 与亚马逊:设计与定制

分离有很多差异 Shopify 和亚马逊。

由于亚马逊是一个市场,因此您的自定义选项受到限制。 事实并非如此 Shopify. Shopify 允许各种规模的企业所有者设计出色的店面,并以专业卖家的身份展示其产品。

有大量的主题主题可供选择,包括免费和付费,您也将获得非凡的易用性。 有键盘快捷键可以帮助您,而简单的撤消功能则可以帮助您尽快完成各种更改。 Shopify 也使您可以轻松地从众多主题中选择。

Shopify 这是使网站真正脱颖而出的绝妙方法,它提供了开设适合您的商店所需的一切。 虽然 Shopify 电子商务功能比网站构建功能要多,它仍然是一个不错的设计解决方案,并且比在亚马逊上建立商店要灵活得多。

一个小问题是,选择主题后您不能重新开始就可以更改主题,但是,请确保您确定要做什么。

亚马逊作为一个在线市场,允许各种规模的公司以最小的麻烦来大批量销售产品。 不幸的是,从定制角度来看,它的局限性更大。 您无法建立自己的网站来展示您的产品。 虽然您可以上传自己的产品图片和说明,但您的列表看起来就像市场上的其他任何东西。

亚马逊在首页上推广产品而没有商业品牌,尽管客户可以在亚马逊上访问您的商店页面,但他们不太可能通过此与您的品牌建立起重要的联系,因为您无法选择自己的颜色或品牌选择。

Shopify 与亚马逊:销售管理

Shopify 和亚马逊都旨在使您的电子商务创业公司尽可能简单。

Shopify 它非常易于使用,并且是当今市场上在线商店中功能最丰富的选项之一。 您可以实时跟踪销售情况并设置警报以监视库存。 Shopify 还与其他各种销售平台(如Amazon,eBay和Facebook)集成。 您不必是HTML或PHP的专家就可以开始销售,只需加入即可。

患有 Shopify,您拥有建立商店和通过SEO功能和广告工具吸引客户所需的一切。 您可以与电子邮件营销和社交媒体销售策略集成,创建用于社交证明的用户评分,甚至在有人离开您的网站而没有购买商品的情况下,甚至管理您自己的废弃购物车活动。

您可以与100多家外部付款处理商合作,销售数字或实物商品,并提供折扣,优惠券代码等。 还可以选择访问多个运输解决方案,处理税收设置以及访问直接托运功能。

亚马逊还为初学者提供了大量销售工具。 您将可以通过亚马逊市场在这里出售各种各样的产品,尽管您不会像从头开始那样从头开始构建网站。 Shopify 存储。

亚马逊通过多种方式支持您的电子商务业务,可以选择出售手工产品,向全球运送商品,甚至创建有针对性的广告。 亚马逊最大的卖点之一是 亚马逊FBA,这使您可以访问可以为您运送物品的专业人员。 亚马逊物流还使您能够访问Amazon Prime,这是一种通过快速发货从客户群产生更多兴趣的好方法。

使用FBA所需要做的就是将商品发送到亚马逊,其余的一切都将由您完成-从包装每件商品到确保以您选择的速度将商品送达客户。

Shopify 与亚马逊:同时使用这两种工具

如果您要在Amazon和 Shopify,就是将它们一起使用。 这两种工具非常匹配,因为它们都是运行电子商务业务的非常不同的方式。 用 Shopify 您可以建立自己的商店并开始为您的品牌起名。 使用亚马逊,您可以找到另一种销售渠道,并利用庞大的现有受众群体。

将Amazon与您的 Shopify 得益于亚马逊广阔的市场和开放的集成政策,店内存储很容易。 连接这两个系统所需要做的只是设置一个亚马逊卖家账户,并将亚马逊销售渠道添加到您的商店。

要注意的主要事情是,您仍然需要为您的Professional Amazon帐户付款。 您将支付订阅 Shopify 不过,这可能会同时吞噬您的预算。 大多数人可能会专注于使用Amazon和 Shopify 当他们扩展业务时在一起。

如果您希望在已有的受众群体基础上发展,或者只想寻求新的销售渠道,那么亚马逊是您现有产品的绝佳补充 Shopify 战略。 使用Amazon Fulfilled,您实际上也不需要承担很多额外的工作。

这有点像在沃尔玛的货架上存放您的产品,但也有您自己的商店和WordPress网站。 亚马逊和 Shopify 如果您有足够的现金,可以一起使用,从而达到两全其美的目的。

Shopify vs亚马逊:判决

Shopify 和亚马逊很难比较。 尽管这两种工具都可以帮助您在线销售,但是它们的重点却大不相同。 用 Shopify,您可以建立自己的商店和品牌,尽管您可能不得不考虑每立方英尺的仓储量,而无法访问亚马逊仓库之类的东西。

Shopify,作为电子商务平台,即使您正在寻求多渠道销售,它也可以为您提供蓬勃发展所需的所有电子商务工具。 使用亚马逊,您可以将要出售的任何商品添加到它们在庞大的现有市场中适合的商品类别中。 当您使用自己的 Shopify POS机 和建立品牌的工具,您可以通过一种简单的附加销售方式来访问亚马逊。

两种选择都有其优势-并且它们也可以很好地协同工作。 由您选择适合您的选项。

Shopify vs Amazon (Feb 2021): Which Should You Choose?

How to Choose Between Amazon and Shopify

When it comes to selling products online, there are tons of options to consider these days. Business leaders can choose to build their own online store, complete with access to a payment processor, subscription, and membership options, and so much more. Alternatively, for some beginners, the better option might be to simply sell through an existing marketplace, like eBay, or Etsy.

In today’s digital sales landscape, there are two names that seem to stand out above all the rest. Shopify is the go-to solution for companies that want to build their own website from scratch. Any small business can develop an online store with Shopify and start taking credit card and debit payments in no time.

Alternatively, if you want to start selling as quickly as possible, you might choose to set up an account with Amazon. As an Amazon seller, you get access to a huge audience full of people who already browse Amazon on a regular basis.

Both of these tools have their benefits to offer, so how do you make the decision of which one you should be using?

Let’s find out.

Shopify vs Amazon: The Basics

Let’s start by looking at what individual sellers and business owners can do with both Shopify and Amazon. The first thing that you need to know is that both of these tools will allow you to make a name for yourself as a retailer. You can make money online with your own ecommerce store, or you can sell easily through an online marketplace.

However, that’s just about where the similarities of Amazon and Shopify come to an end. Both Amazon and Shopify are a means for selling products in the digital world, but they work in very different ways.

With Shopify, you get an entire platform to build your eCommerce website, complete with templates so you can make your product listings look incredible. Depending on which Shopify package you choose, you can access everything from search engine optimization features to tools that allow you to link your store to other sales channels – including Amazon.

On the other hand, Amazon doesn’t ask you to build anything from scratch. Instead, you sell through a pre-existing warehouse, alongside other sellers similar to you. Selling in Shopify is like renting a building in the real world and selling your own products, whereas Amazon gives you a stall among thousands of other sellers in a very busy environment.

The major difference in the business models that you can embrace with both Shopify and Amazon mean that these tools cater for very different online sellers. Shopify is ideal for small businesses, larger brands, and individual sellers who really want to make a name for themselves online. Alternatively, the Amazon environment might be a better choice if you’re just one person selling a small volume of products.

As your online business grows, you may even choose to use both solutions.

Shopify vs Amazon: Pros and Cons

So if both Shopify and Amazon can help you make money in the evolving digital world, how do you choose the right option? When comparing these solutions, it can help to list the obvious pros and cons of both tools, for instance:

Shopify Pros 👍

  • No concerns regarding updates and security (everything is done for you)
  • User-friendly way to build your entire branded store
  • Integrations with tons of additional tools, including Amazon
  • Premium and free templates to make your site look great
  • Offline selling opportunities and POS integrations
  • Fantastic support from a complete team
  • Various marketing and SEO tools for growth
  • Popular community with tons of happy customers
  • Sell services or physical products

Shopify Cons 👎

  • Transaction fees eat into your profits
  • Costs add up for things like integrations, and templates
  • Requires you to build your entire store before you begin selling

So, how does Amazon compare? It might offer a very different experience for online sellers, but it still has various pros and cons to consider.

Amazon Pros 👍

  • Fantastic brand exposure (millions of people use Amazon)
  • Easy to set up and start selling instantly
  • Access to tools like FBA (fulfilled by Amazon)
  • Offer gift cards, discounts and more
  • Great shipping fees in most cases
  • Security and updates are managed for you
  • Convenient back-end environment
  • Good customer support

Amazon Cons 👎

  • Only suitable for selling physical products
  • Difficult to build a strong brand image on a marketplace
  • Lots of competition from people selling the same, or similar products

Shopify vs Amazon: Pricing

Now that you’ve had a closer look at the pros and cons of each service, let’s get down to brass tacks – how much you’re going to spend. Both Shopify and Amazon have costs that you need to consider when you’re planning a way to increase your profits.

Shopify, despite its extensive range of features and tools, is usually regarded as quite affordable. If you already have a business website, or a social media store that you want to sell from, then you can simply add a “Buy Now” button to your account with Shopify for a tiny $9 per month – this is the Shopify Lite package. The Lite package doesn’t allow you to build your own website or access the countless additional features of Shopify, however.

Other package options include:

  • Basic Shopify: $29 per month, with access to unlimited product hosting, online store tools, staff accounts, 24/7 support, social media integrations, discount codes, SSL certificate, gift cards, abandoned cart recovery, and more.
  • Shopify: $79 per month, this is the standard version of Shopify that most companies choose; it includes all the features of Basic, plus up to 5 locations, 5 staff accounts, and professional reports. There’s fraud analysis, POS technology (Lite), and the option to sell in multiple languages too.
  • Shopify Advanced: $299 per month, this package is designed for larger companies selling at scale, you can sell in up to 5 languages, access international domains, unlock fraud analysis, and so much more, plus you get premium service.
  • Shopify Plus: This is Shopify's enterprise version, although you need to speak to a Shopify professional to get the pricing for this. Usually, costs will start at around $2000, so be wary that you should have a decent budget.

Aside from extra features, the higher you go in terms of Shopify plans, the more you save on transaction fees. For instance, online credit card rates for Basic Shopify start at 2.2% plus 20 cents, while in-person rates are 1.7% plus 0 cents. Additional fees for all payment providers other than Shopify Payments are 2%.

If you use Shopify Advanced, however, your online credit card rates go down to 1.6% plus 20 cents. In-person rates are 1.5% plus 0 cents, and additional fees for transaction companies beyond Shopify payments are 0.5%.

So, how does Amazon compare?

Amazon isn’t particularly pricey either, making it a decent choice for companies and sellers that are just getting started online. There’s no point in choosing a platform that’s going to cost you hundreds of dollars if you’re not selling massive amounts of products.

Amazon’s selling plans are:

  • Individual selling plan: There’s no monthly fee for this service, but you will pay a $0.99 fee for every item that you sell. This is on top of the extra selling fees that can emerge when you’re selling on Amazon, which vary by category.
  • Professional selling plan: This is the plan with a monthly fee which costs $39.99 per month. There are still extra selling fees to pay here from other parties. Once again, the third-party fees will depend on what you have to sell.

So, why would you consider using the Professional plan? Well, Individual selling accounts allow you to sell in a variety of open categories, and access feeds and spreadsheets to load inventory information online. However, your options for other features are extremely limited. The Professional plan, on the other hand, allows you to access order-related feeds and order reports. You get top placement on all of your product detail pages, and you can apply to sell in 10+ extra categories. You can also customize your shipping rates.

As you might expect, there are more features to unlock on the professional plan, which gives you more opportunities for extra sales. If you choose to use other Amazon services, like Fulfilled by Amazon, there are extra fees yet again.

Fulfilled by Amazon allows you to access easier order fulfillment across the world, and you can also get access to things like Prime shipping. Prime shipping is a huge bonus for a lot of customers selling on Amazon these days, and you also get a fulfilled by Amazon badge.

Unfortunately, there’s no way to really predict how much you’ll spend on FBA, because you don’t get a price until you reach out to the team and share your requirements.

Shopify vs Amazon: Features

Whether you go for Shopify or Amazon as your selling solution, it’s important to note that you’ll always get more features if you’re willing to pay more. That’s a standard truth of any online selling solution. Let’s take a closer look at the kind of features that you can expect from both Amazon and Shopify, and how they’re going to affect you.

Shopify Features

shopify homepage - shopify vs amazon

Unless you choose the “Lite” package for Shopify which only gives you access to a sales button, you should be able to unlock a decent amount of features on virtually any Shopify plan. That’s one of the best things about Shopify, and a reason why the solution is one of the most popular in the world for selling. You can even edit your website with HTML and CSS and take payments through more than 70 payment providers.

Shopify give you a host of great premium and free templates to assist you with building your online store. Plus, there’s plenty of ways to customize by making your own edits, implementing add-ons and accessing integrations. There’s even things like reporting and analytics to help you better understand the needs of your customers.

Features include:

  • Dozens of payment processor options
  • SSL certificate for security
  • Premium and free themes
  • Drag-and-drop editor for your website
  • Abandoned cart recovery
  • Customer accounts and profiles
  • Fulfilment and dropshipping
  • Product testimonials and reviews
  • Inventory and order management
  • SEO and marketing functionality
  • Customer accounts and profiles
  • Automatic tax calculation

The features available for Shopify users are always evolving, with new functionality appearing all of the time. There’s also the Shopify market to discover too.

Amazon is a little less feature rich than Shopify in some ways because you’re not getting an online store builder. Instead, all you need to do is create an account and you can start selling to a massive audience almost immediately.

Amazon Features

  • Reach new customers using Amazon Business
  • Automatic VAT invoicing
  • Business pricing and quantity discounts
  • Unique business offers and deals
  • Enhanced order visibility
  • Pay by invoice functionality
  • Fulfillment by Amazon
  • Product picture and video support
  • Easy access to back-end product page edits
  • Shipping calculation
  • Hosting and security included

Amazon also helps you out with shipping products to customers. Just as Shopify has extensions for dropshipping, Amazon can fulfil your sales with Fulfilled by Amazon. FBA takes the headaches out of things like shipping and ecommerce, so you

Shopify vs Amazon: Payment Options

shopify payments - shopify vs amazon

Payment options are an important consideration when you’re building an online store. The more customization you can tap into for payment, the more likely it is that your customers will buy your products. People always feel more comfortable using the payment methods that they’re already familiar with.

Whether you have a simple or advanced Shopify store, it’s worth remembering that you will pay transaction fees unless you go for the Shopify Payments gateway. This means that you no longer have transaction fees to worry about, but you’ll be limited to selling through Shopify’s service alone.

If you don’t mind paying the transaction fees, then Shopify does have other payment options too. There are more than 100 choices available, including PayPal and Amazon Pay, all od these options have transaction fees that vary in price, so make sure that you do your research.

Amazon takes a similar approach to Shopify with payment methods. Amazon Pay is the main payment gateway available, and it allows you to accept all kinds of debit and credit cards. You can’t access PayPal, unfortunately, or other payment solutions, but most people feel pretty comfortable with Amazon Pay anyway.

For professional sellers, Amazon has selling fees to consider, as well as a monthly subscription. Fees vary by category, and often include both shipping and referral fees. If you choose to use Fulfilled by Amazon, there are various additional fees to think about for the fulfillment process. On top of that, you’ll need to consider monthly inventory storage fees too. The prices for storage and fulfilment depend on the size, type of product, volume, and time of year.

Shopify vs Amazon: Design and Customization

There are a lot of differences separating Shopify and Amazon.

Because Amazon is a marketplace, your customization options are limited. That’s not the case with Shopify. Shopify allows business owners of all sizes to design a fantastic storefront and showcase their products as a professional seller.

There are tons of great theme options to choose from, both free and paid, and you get the benefit of exceptional ease of use too. There are keyboard shortcuts to help you out, and an easy undo functionality to help with moving through various changes as quickly as possible. Shopify also makes it easier to get started with tons of themes to choose from.

Shopify is an excellent way to make a website that really stands out, with everything you need to launch a store that works for you. Although Shopify has more eCommerce features than website building features to speak of, it’s still a decent solution for design, and much more flexible than building a store with Amazon.

One slight issue is that you can’t change your theme after you’ve picked it without starting over, however, so make sure you’re sure about what you want to do.

Amazon, as an online marketplace, allows companies of all sizes to sell products in high volume with minimal hassle. Unfortunately, it’s much more limited from a customization perspective. You can’t build your own site to display your products on. While you can upload your own product images and descriptions, your listings will look like anything else on the marketplace.

Amazon promotes products on the homepage without business branding, and although customers can visit your store page on Amazon, they’re unlikely to build much of a significant connection with your brand through this, as you can’t choose your own colors or brand options.

Shopify vs Amazon: Sales Management

Shopify and Amazon are both intended to make your eCommerce startup as simple as possible.

Shopify is extremely easy to use, and one of the most feature-rich options for online stores in the market today. You can track your sales in real-time and set up alerts to monitor inventory. Shopify also integrates with various other sales platforms like Amazon, eBay, and Facebook. You don’t have to be an expert in HTML or PHP to start selling, you can just jump in.

With Shopify, you have everything you need to build a store, and attract customers through SEO features and advertising tools. You can integrate with email marketing and social media selling strategies, create user ratings for social proof, and even manage your own abandoned cart campaign if someone leaves your site without buying.

You can work with over 100 external payment processors, sell digital or physical goods, with discounts, coupon codes, and more. There’s also the option to access multiple shipping solutions, handle tax settings, and access dropshipping functionality.

Amazon also offers plenty of selling tools for beginners. You can sell a wide range of products here, through the Amazon marketplace, although you won’t get to build a site from scratch like you would with a Shopify store.

Amazon supports your ecommerce business in a variety of ways, with the option to sell handmade products, ship items across the globe, and even create targeted adverts. One of Amazon’s biggest selling points is Amazon FBA, which allows you to access professionals who can ship your items for you. FBA also gives you access to Amazon Prime, which is a great way to generate more interest from your customer base through speedy shipping.

All you need to do to use FBA is send your products to Amazon, and they’ll do the rest for you – from packing each item, to making sure that it gets to your customers at the speed you choose.

Shopify vs Amazon: Using Both Tools

One option if you’re struggling to choose between Amazon and Shopify, is to use them both together. These two tools are pretty well matched, as they’re both very different ways to run an eCommerce business. With Shopify you can build your own store and start making a name for your brand. With Amazon, you can find another avenue for sales, and take advantage of a huge existing audience.

Integrating Amazon with your Shopify store is easy, thanks to Amazon’s vast marketplace and open integration policy. All you need to connect the two systems is set up an Amazon seller account and add the Amazon Sales channel to your store.

The main thing to be aware of is that you still need to pay for your Professional Amazon account. You’ll be paying your subscription to Shopify at the same time though, so this might eat into your budget quite a bit. Most people will probably focus on using Amazon and Shopify together when they’re scaling their business.

If you’re looking to build on top of an audience that you already have or you just want a new avenue for selling, then Amazon is a great addition to your existing Shopify strategy. With Fulfilled by Amazon, you don’t really need to take on a lot of extra work either.

It’s a bit like stocking your product on a shelf in Walmart, but also having your own store and WordPress site. Amazon and Shopify together can allow you to access the best of both worlds, if you have enough cash.

Shopify vs Amazon: Verdict

Shopify and Amazon are very difficult to compare like for like. Although both of these tools will help you sell online, they have very different focuses. With Shopify, you build your own store, and a brand, although you may have to think about warehousing per cubic foot without access to something like the Amazon warehouse.

Shopify, as an ecommerce platform, gives you all the eCommerce tools you need to thrive, even if you’re looking into multichannel selling. With Amazon, you can add any items you want to sell to the product category they fit on within a huge existing marketplace. While you’re using your Shopify POS and tools to build a brand, you can access Amazon as an easy form of additional sales.

Both options have their benefits – and they work well together too. It’s up to you to choose which option is right for you.

Rebekah Carter

Rebekah Carter is an experienced content creator, news reporter, and blogger specializing in marketing, business development, and technology. Her expertise covers everything from artificial intelligence to email marketing software and extended reality devices. When she’s not writing, Rebekah spends most of her time reading, exploring the great outdoors, and gaming.