Shopify 与 GoDaddy(2021 年 XNUMX 月):在线商店建设者之战

你会选择哪个?

您是否正在考虑开设在线店面? 拥有如此广泛的选择 电子商务网站建设者 在市场上,创建站点并在几分钟之内开始销售从未如此简单……无需任何编码知识!

就是说,仅选择众多引起您注意的平台之一,就可能会令人生畏。 因此,我们通过比较两种声称是最好的解决方案来使您的生活更轻松: Shopify 以及 GoDaddy的.

他们如何比较功能? 哪个提供更高的性价比? 两者中的哪一个更易于使用?

我们正在深入研究 Shopify 以及 GoDaddy的 找出答案。 希望到本评论结束时,您将对每个平台提供什么以及最适合您的需求有更好的了解。

我们有很多要讲的! 所以让我们深入研究 Shopify vs GoDaddy比较。

Shopify vs GoDaddy:谁是 Shopify?

Shopify在为领先的电子商务平台加冕时,常常会把它的名字弄得一团糟。 这是因为 Shopify 专为电子商务而设计。 这样,它提供了在线销售产品,管理电子商店和库存以及扩展业务所需的一切。

它带有150多个电子商务模板,自己的POS应用程序和硬件以及庞大的应用程序商店。 在这里您可以扩展您的功能 Shopify 商店 只需点击几下。

迄今为止,已有800,000万商人使用 Shopify 托管他们的在线业务。 他们不可能都错了吧?

Shopify vs GoDaddy:谁是GoDaddy?

以上皆是 Shopify 多年来,GoDaddy和GoDaddy吸引了很多关注,但是出于不同的原因。 您可能最了解GoDaddy作为托管公司。 但是随着时间的流逝,他们扩展了功能,现在提供了一个带有电子商务工具的网站构建器,使其成为一种多合一的解决方案。

GoDaddy的 已帮助全球超过20万客户,为他们提供了在线增长的工具。 但是GoDaddy并不是从电子商务开始的。 取而代之的是,他们提供域名和托管作为其领先的服务…其网站构建器后来出现了,现在已经扩展到包括电子商务功能。

一旦我们比较 Shopify和GoDaddy的功能更为详细,可以很容易地看出GoDaddy仍是电子商务的新手,并且尚未成为其主要关注点。

话虽如此,这还不应该劝阻您。 可以肯定地说,GoDaddy具有许多功能,可让您开始在线销售,此外还有更多…

Shopify vs GoDaddy:利弊

没有什么比头对头的利弊清单更能说明两个平台的差异了。 这样应该可以更容易地比较两者的优势,反之则是它们所缺乏的。

让我们来看看 Shopify 第一个吧!

Shopify的优点👍

  • Shopify 在电子商务功能方面,它具有广泛的在线销售和商店管理工具,这几乎是无与伦比的。
  • Shopify 与整合 POS系统,从而吸引了希望启动在线业务的实体商户。
  • Shopify 具有高度的可扩展性。 商家可以从 Shopify的基本计划,轻松升级到适合企业级企业的解决方案!
  • 全部产品 Shopify 商店随附免费的SSL证书
  • Shopify 与大量的插件和第三方服务集成,因此您可能不会碰到任何涉及功能的死胡同。
  • Shopify 提供出色的客户支持。
  • 您可以在旅途中管理商店 Shopify的移动应用。
  • 全部产品 Shopify 主题时尚而现代。 即使没有设计知识,您也可以立即建立起专业的存储库并开始运行。

Shopify的缺点

  • Shopify 不提供深入的自定义。 相反,它的重点是其直观的商店创建者。
  • 首先,它的许多功能有时会让人感到压倒性的。 这样,您在熟悉平台必须提供的所有内容时会有一些学习曲线。
  • Shopify 收取使用第三方支付网关(例如PayPal,Apple Pay,Stripe等)的费用
  • 可以使用更复杂的商店模板,但是价格昂贵。

GoDaddy的优点👍

  • GoDaddy是新兴企业非常实惠的选择。
  • 您可以使用Godaddy的免费版本测试其编辑器。 您无需花一分钱就能建立并准备好网站,然后升级到GoDaddy的电子商务计划。
  • 如果您是服务提供商,您将很高兴听到易于使用的约会管理功能。
  • GoDaddy的网站带有受信任的托管和域名。
  • 提供了移动应用程序,因此您可以在旅途中进行编辑。
  • 您可以访问24/7客户支持。

GoDaddy缺点👎

  • GoDaddy的电子商务功能远比 Shopify的。 电子商务不是此编辑器的优先级。
  • 一些用户抱怨说GoDaddy在创造性自由方面没有提供太多帮助。
  • 人们批评GoDaddy网站在视觉上没有其他网站建设者那么吸引人。

Shopify vs GoDaddy:其核心功能

什么时候 选择一个电子商务平台,没有什么比它的销售,营销和商店管理工具重要的了。 每个解决方案都具有强大的电子商务功能,但让我们看一下它们的真实程度如何……

Shopify

Shopify的主题和编辑器

您是否想让您的网站看起来专业,但是在网页设计方面您缺乏任何经验或专业知识? 没问题! Shopify的免费主题选择非常容易上手(有XNUMX种可供选择,有几种变体)。 只需选择最喜欢的一个,然后对其进行调整即可适合您的品牌。 所有 Shopify 主题以响应方式工作,这意味着无论您的网站访问者使用哪种设备,您的在线商店都将看起来很好。

以及免费的模板, Shopify 还提供了64个高级主题,这些主题又有多种变体可供选择。 这些付费主题的价格在100美元到180美元之间不等。

或者,您可以从头开始使用空白模板,也可以上传自定义主题。 有很多选择,因此您一定会找到适合您需要的选择!

对所选主题满意后,即可使用 Shopify的内置编辑器可实时预览您的电子商店的外观。 从那里,您可以使用编辑器的拖放界面来实现您的愿景。

库存管理

如果您正在寻找一种管理库存的简单方法, Shopify的库存跟踪功能使您可以轻松掌握库存状况。 而且,由于其POS集成,您可以在一处方便地管理在线和离线库存。

此功能也使您仅需单击几下即可查看剩余的库存量和过去的库存。 此外,您还可以与会计工具集成,以密切关注您的利润率。 很整洁吧?

店铺管理

Shopify的商店管理功能使您可以检查是否已收到付款,并且货物已正确发出。 你也可以:

  • 选择您接受的付款方式:好消息是 Shopify 支持多种付款方式,因此设置很简单。 最重要的是, Shopify 还提供了自己的付款处理程序, Shopify 付款方式。 如果您选择此付款网关,则无需支付额外费用。
  • 自定义您的税收设置:您很可能需要对所销售的产品设置任何相关税费。 如果您从未处理过税收,那可能会令人生畏。 幸好, Shopify 带有销售税计算器,可以大大简化您的流程。
  • 添加您的商店政策:您必须确保自己的政策和客户权利清楚明了 Shopify 商店。 这包括有关退款,隐私和服务条款的信息。 Shopify 使您可以轻松地在网站的页脚中包含指向此信息的链接。

Shopify的营销工具

从内置的SEO工具到易于浏览的博客引擎,您可以在其中使客户保持最新状态, Shopify 提供了大量易于使用的营销工具。 在易用性方面, Shopify的营销功能肯定胜过一切!

为简便起见,以下是所有营销功能的快速细分 Shopify 必须提供:

  • 广告活动制作
  • 电子邮件营销
  • Google智能购物
  • Facebook广告
  • 访问虚拟助手,您可以向其分配任务并从中获取营销技巧
  • 您将获得易于理解,可行的见解,以帮助您更好地针对营销

报告和分析

如果数据和图表是您的事, Shopify 它将通过其报告仪表板吸引巨大的吸引力。 在这里,您可以看到谁在访问您的网站(何时访问),甚至可以看到他们在您的网站上导航到的位置。 您还可以分析网站和所有交易的速度……仅举几例。

GoDaddy的

GoDaddy的主题和编辑器

GoDaddy的 有很多吸引人的主题可供选择,涉及100个主要主题的约22个变体。 有这么多选择,您可能会找到适合您行业的选择。 是的,它们都具有响应能力,因此可以在任何设备上无缝运行。

GoDaddy还根据您所在的行业提出主题建议。这有助于缩小选择范围并帮助您更快地找到适合您的网站的理想模板。

建议的模板会自动加载与行业相关的股票图像,但是,如果您不喜欢它们,则可以轻松地将其切换为自己的照片。

GoDaddy的主题编辑器非常详尽,提供了数百个预制部分供您自定义。 从内容到视频,再到音频和HTML,您几乎可以编辑网站的每个方面以使其成为自己的网站。

库存管理

通过将GoDaddy与您正在使用的任何在线市场(例如,Amazon,Etsy,eBay等)集成,您可以跟踪多个销售渠道的库存水平。 这将同步您的库存,以便您可以确切地看到可用的物品。

GoDaddy还允许您创建和管理延期交货,即使您缺货,客户也可以下订单。

店铺管理

与GoDaddy相比,管理客户付款,政策和税款不那么简单 Shopify。 不幸的是,没有专门的商店管理页面,您可以在其中浏览所有内容。

相反,您需要转到“设置”标签,并完成设置的各个方面。 与之相比,这无疑更耗时且用户友好度较低 Shopify.

GoDaddy的营销工具

GoDaddy的 在营销工具方面大放异彩。 它们具有一系列有用的功能来帮助您在竞争中脱颖而出,包括:

  • 免费发送电子邮件营销和废弃的购物车恢复电子邮件
  • 您可以与社交销售和在线市场整合
  • 您可以发送短信通知
  • SEO工具
  • 您可以使客户留下产品评论

报告和分析

GoDaddy Insight是Web构建器的一部分,是所有数据的一站式商店。 该工具分析您的行业,为您提供有用的,针对特定行业的建议。 只需设定您的业务目标,该工具就会产生一些可行的观点,以帮助您起步。

您还可以轻松地与Google Analytics(分析)集成,以查看您网站的效果。

Shopify vs GoDaddy –他们的定价计划

像任何商业投资一样,在签署虚线之前,您应该仔细评估这些服务提供的物有所值。 说了这么多,让我们看看您需要花多少钱 Shopify 和GoDaddy。

我们将从 Shopify...

Shopify

Shopify 价格 如果您熟悉SaaS,则非常简单。 有四个可用计划可供选择。 您愿意支付的费用越多,您解锁的功能就越多-简单吗?

还有一个 14-day免费试用 在升级到以下版本之一之前,您可以亲自测试这些功能 Shopify的付费计划。

Shopify Lite

每月仅$ 9,这不是全包的 Shopify 计划。 相反,这是仅向现有网站添加商店功能的绝佳选择。 Shopify Lite 还带有一个可以嵌入到您的网站中的购买按钮,以及Facebook和Facebook Messenger销售选项。

要从头开始创建完整的电子商务商店,您需要以下计划之一:

基础的 Shopify 计划(每月$ 29)

基础 Shopify 该计划针对初创公司或经营小型企业的任何人。 它带有 Shopify完整的在线商店构建器; 您可以列出和销售不限数量的产品。 您还可以访问安全的结帐/购物车,POS集成和网络托管(因此,无需费心寻找可靠的托管服务提供商!)

此外,您还将获得:

  • 社交销售功能
  • 您可以注册两个员工帐户。
  • 访问 Shopify 应用
  • 市场营销工具
  • 您可以创建和使用客户折扣和优惠券代码。
  • 您可以连接四个物理位置。
  • Shopify 运送选项(折扣高达64%)

在此计划下,您将需要支付2%的使用第三方付款处理器的费用。 也就是说,如果您选择 Shopify 付款后,您无需支付额外的交易费用。 但是,要处理信用卡付款,您需要为每笔交易支付2.9%+ 30美分的费用。

Shopify 计划(每月$ 79)

Shopify 该计划旨在为成长中的企业提供更多功能。 在基本的一切之上 Shopify 包,您可以解锁:

  • 您可以注册五个员工帐户。
  • 您可以生成专业报告。
  • 您可以创建和出售礼品卡。
  • 您最多可以连接五个物理位置。
  • 获得高达72%的运输折扣

当您使用第三方处理器时,交易费用也降低到仅1%,而处理在线信用卡付款时则降低到2.6%+ 30美分。

先进的 Shopify 计划(每月$ 299)

一旦开始扩展业务并雇用团队, 高级 Shopify 该计划可能会派上用场。 您将获得上面列出的所有内容,以及:

  • 您可以注册15个员工帐户。
  • 您可以访问高级报表构建器。
  • 您最多可以连接八个物理位置。
  • 获得高达74%的运输折扣

另外,您只需支付第三方付款处理的0.5%,信用卡交易的2.4%+ 30美分。

GoDaddy的

GoDaddy的 在计费方面,功能基本相同。 如果您选择按年计费,则可以节省一些钱,因此,这些是我们在下面列出的价格。 我们必须注意,实际上只有一个计划可以使您在线销售,因此GoDaddy以前的三个计划与该比较无关(基本计划(每月9.99美元),标准计划(每月14.99美元)和高级计划(每月19.99美元))。

也就是说,我们要强调一个事实,那就是GoDaddy提供了免费增值计划。 这使您可以设计网站,检查GoDaddy的模板,以及如何与它的编辑器相处。 您可以设置整个在线商店,然后直接添加带有图像和说明的价格和产品清单。

但是只有升级到GoDaddy最昂贵的套餐(每月24.99美元)后,您才能开始销售电子商务计划。 为此,您得到:

  • SSL认证
  • 您可以连接自定义域
  • 使用GoDaddy的移动应用程序进行实时编辑
  • 24 / 7客户支持
  • 指导和分析
  • 搜索引擎优化
  • 无限访问社交媒体平台,社交帖子和回复
  • 每月25,000个电子邮件营销发送
  • 您可以使用GoDaddy的内容创建者将品牌内容发布到您的社交渠道。 在电子商务计划中,您可以访问无限的模板和功能。
  • 在线约会管理工具(一次性,定期,小组活动和约会付款)

更具体地说,这里是您解锁的电子商务功能:

  • 产品清单
  • 灵活的运输选项
  • 折扣和促销功能

Shopify vs GoDaddy:哪个是最适合您的电子商务平台?

现在我们已经结束了 GoDaddy的 以及 Shopify 相比之下,您会发现使用这两种平台都有很多好处。 两者都使您可以免费上手,提供了不错的主题范围,以及大量的营销工具来帮助您设计和启动电子商务业务。

但是,哪个更好?

归根结底,真正的赢家取决于您的参与divi双重偏好。 Shopify 最终最适合希望创建功能广泛的在线商店的用户。 因此,仅由于功能及其可扩展的付款套餐, Shopify 通常是大型企业和快速发展的业务的更好选择。

但是,虽然不能否认 GoDaddy的 是一个简单得多的平台(很大程度上是由于缺少功能 Shopify)它仍然有很多提供。 对于那些希望可以在很短的时间内从头到尾构建更简单的网站的人来说,这是一个绝佳的选择。 更不用说,它也更便宜。 因此,如果您需要考虑成本问题,那么GoDaddy可能是您的理想选择。

如果您仍然对GoDaddy和 Shopify,好消息是您不必盲目。 借助他们的免费软件包/试用版,您可以花一些时间并考虑在每种平台上的使用经验,然后再交纳来之不易的现金。

希望我们的指南在某种程度上可以帮助您做出重大决定,但最终,您可以根据自己的业务规模和类型来进行选择。 或者,您认为您会选择WordPress之类的竞争对手之一吗? WooCommerce, Wix, Squarespace,Gocentral,Weebly或 BigCommerce? 无论您决定如何,请在下面的评论框中告诉我们所有相关信息。 我们很乐意听取您的意见。 快说吧!

Rosie Greaves

Rosie Greaves是一位专业的内容策略师,专门研究数字营销,B2B和生活方式方面的所有内容。 除了电子商务平台之外,您还可以在《读者文摘》,G2和Judicious Inc.上找到她的出版物。 罗西的博客 for more information.

Shopify vs GoDaddy (Apr 2021): The Battle of The Online Store Builders

Which Will You Choose?

Are you considering launching an online storefront? With such a vast choice of ecommerce website builders on the market, it's never been easier to create a site and start selling within minutes…without any coding knowledge!

That said, choosing just one of the many platforms vying for your attention can feel like a daunting prospect. So, we're making your life easier by comparing two solutions claiming to be the best of the best: Shopify and GoDaddy.

How do they compare on features? Which provides better value for money?  Which one of the two is easier to use?

We’re taking a deep dive into Shopify and GoDaddy to find out. Hopefully, by the end of this review, you’ll have a better understanding of what each platform offers and which best suits your needs.

We have a lot to cover! So let’s dive into this Shopify vs GoDaddy comparison.

Shopify vs GoDaddy: Who's Shopify?

shopify homepage - shopify vs godaddy

Shopify’s name is often thrown into the ring when it comes to crowning the leading ecommerce platform. This is because Shopify is explicitly designed for ecommerce. As such, it provides everything you need to sell products online, manage your e-store and inventory, and scale your business.

It comes with over 150 eCommerce templates, its own POS app and hardware, and an expansive app store. Here you can extend the functionality of your Shopify store with just a few clicks.

To date, over 800,000 merchants use Shopify to host their online business. They can't all be wrong, right?

Shopify vs GoDaddy: Who's GoDaddy?

godaddy homepage - shopify vs godaddy

Both Shopify and GoDaddy have garnered plenty of attention over the years, but for different reasons. You might know GoDaddy best as a hosting company. But over time, they've expanded their functionalities and now offer a website builder complete with eCommerce tools, making it more of an all-in-one solution.

GoDaddy has assisted over 20 million customers worldwide, providing them with the tools to grow online. But GoDaddy didn’t start out in eCommerce. Instead, they offered domain names and hosting as its leading service…its website builder came later, which has now expanded to include eCommerce features.

Once we compare Shopify's and GoDaddy's functionality in more detail, it's plain to see that GoDaddy is still new to eCommerce and is yet to make it its primary focus.

That said, this shouldn’t dissuade you yet. It's safe to say that GoDaddy comes with a whole host of features that enable you to start selling online, and much more besides…

Shopify vs GoDaddy: Pros and Cons

Nothing illustrates two platforms’ differences better than a head-to-head pro-cons list. This should make it easier to compare where the two excel, and conversely, where they're lacking.

Let’s take a look at Shopify first!

Shopify's Pros 👍

  • Shopify is nearly unrivaled where ecommerce functionality is concerned, with its extensive online selling and store management tools.
  • Shopify integrates with POS systems, making it attractive to brick-and-mortar merchants looking to kickstart an online presence.
  • Shopify is highly scalable. Merchants can start with Shopify's basic plan and easily upgrade to solutions that suit even enterprise-level businesses!
  • All Shopify stores come with a free SSL certificate
  • Shopify integrates with a large number of plugins and third-party services, so you’ll likely not run into any dead-ends where functionality is concerned.
  • Shopify offers excellent customer support.
  • You can manage your store while you're on the go with Shopify’s mobile app.
  • All Shopify themes are sleek and modern. Even without design knowledge, you can get a professional store up and running in no time at all.

Shopify's Cons 👎

  • Shopify doesn’t offer in-depth customization. Instead, its focus is its intuitive store builder.
  • To begin with, its many features can sometimes feel overwhelming. As such, there's a bit of a learning curve while you familiarize yourself with everything the platform has to offer.
  • Shopify charges fees for using third party payment gateways (for instance, PayPal, Apple Pay, Stripe, etc.)
  • More sophisticated store templates are available, but they're pricy.

GoDaddy's Pros 👍

  • GoDaddy is a very affordable option for start-ups.
  • You can test its editor with Godaddy's free version. You can get your website set up and ready without spending a penny, and then upgrade to GoDaddy's eCommerce plan.
  • If you're a service provider, you'll be pleased to hear that easy-to-use appointment management features are available.
  • GoDaddy’s websites come with trusted hosting and domain names.
  • A mobile app is available, so you can edit while you're on the go.
  • You get access to 24/7 customer support.

GoDaddy Cons 👎

  • GoDaddy’s ecommerce features are much more limited than Shopify’s. eCommerce isn't a priority for this editor.
  • Some users complain that GoDaddy doesn't offer much in the way of creative freedom.
  • GoDaddy websites are criticized for not being as visually appealing as other website builders.

Shopify vs GoDaddy: Their Core Features

When choosing an ecommerce platform, nothing is quite as important as its tools for selling, marketing, and managing your store. Each solution comes with robust eCommerce features, but let’s take a look at how comprehensive they really are…

Shopify

Shopify’s Themes and Editor

Do you want your website to look professional, but you lack any experience or know-how when it comes to web design? No problem! Shopify’s selection of free themes makes it easy to get started (there are nine to choose from, which come in a few variants). Just pick the one you like the most and tweak it to suit your brand. All Shopify themes work responsively, meaning your online store will look fab, no matter the device your website visitors use.

As well as its free templates, Shopify also offers 64 premium themes, which are again, available in a number of variants. The price of these paid-for themes ranges anywhere between $100 up to $180.

Alternatively, you can start from scratch with a blank template or upload a custom theme. There's plenty of choices to be had, so you're bound to find an option that suits your needs!

Once you’re satisfied with the theme you’ve chosen, you can use Shopify's in-built editor to preview the look of your e-store in real-time. From there you can use the editor's drag and drop interface to bring your vision to life.

Inventory Management

If you’re looking for a simple way to manage your inventory, Shopify’s inventory tracking feature makes it easy to stay on top of your stock. And thanks to its POS integration you can manage both your online and offline stock from the convenience of one place.

This same feature also enables you to see how much stock you have left and your past inventories, with just a few clicks. Plus, you can also integrate with accounting tools to keep a closer eye on your profit margins. Pretty neat, right?

Store Management

Shopify's store management features enable you to check payments have been received, and that goods are sent out properly. You can also:

  • Choose which payment methods you accept: The good news is that Shopify supports a vast range of payment methods, so setting this up is simple. On top of that, Shopify also offers its own payment processor, Shopify Payments. If you opt for this payment gateway you won't be charged extra fees.
  • Customize your tax settings: You’ll more than likely need to set up any relevant taxes on the products you sell. If you’ve never dealt with tax before it can be daunting. Fortunately, Shopify comes with a sales tax calculator which goes a long way to simplifying the process for you.
  • Add your store policies: You must ensure your policies and customer rights are clearly detailed on your Shopify store. This includes information about refunds, privacy, and terms of service. Shopify makes it simple to include links to this information in the footer of your site.

Shopify’s Marketing Tools

From built-in SEO tools to an easy to navigate blogging engine where you can keep customers up to date, Shopify provides plenty of simple-to-use marketing tools. In terms of ease of use, Shopify's marketing functionality certainly comes up trumps!

For ease, here’s a quick breakdown of all the marketing features Shopify has to offer:

  • Campaign creation
  • Email marketing
  • Google Smart Shopping
  • Facebook Ads
  • Access to a virtual assistant who you can assign tasks to and get marketing tips from
  • You'll receive easy to digest, actionable insights to help you better target your marketing

Reporting and Analytics

If data and graphs are your thing, Shopify will hold great appeal with its reporting dashboard. Here, you can see who’s visiting your site (and when), and you can even see where they’re navigating to on your site. You can also analyze the speed of your website and all your transactions…to name a few.

GoDaddy

GoDaddy’s Themes and Editor

GoDaddy has a good selection of attractive themes up for grabs, with about 100 variants across 22 main themes. With so much choice, you’ll likely find one that suits your industry. And yes, they're all responsive so will work seamlessly on any device.

GoDaddy also suggests themes based on the industry you’re in. This works wonders for narrowing down your options and helping you find the perfect template for your website, quicker.

The suggested template is automatically loaded with industry-relevant stock images, but if you don’t like them, you can easily switch these out for your own photos.

GoDaddy's theme editor is pretty exhaustive, offering hundreds of pre-made sections for you to customize. From content to video, to audio and HTML – you can pretty much edit every facet of your site to make it your own.

Inventory Management

You can track stock levels across multiple sales channels by integrating GoDaddy with whatever online marketplace you're using (i.e., Amazon, Etsy, eBay, etc). This will sync your inventory so you can see exactly what items you have available.

GoDaddy also permits customers to place orders even if you’re out of stock by allowing you to create and manage backorders.

Store Management

Managing customer payments, policies and taxes on GoDaddy is less straightforward than it is with Shopify. Unfortunately, there isn’t a dedicated store management page where you can navigate through it all.

Instead, you need to go to the settings tab and work through the different aspects of the setup. This is certainly more time consuming and less user-friendly when compared to Shopify.

GoDaddy’s Marketing Tools

GoDaddy shines when it comes to marketing tools. They have a range of helpful features to help you stand out against the competition, including:

  • It's free to send email marketing and abandoned cart recovery emails
  • You can integrate with social selling and online marketplaces
  • You can send SMS notifications
  • SEO tools
  • You can enable customers to leave product reviews

Reporting and Analytics

GoDaddy Insight comes as part of the web builder and is a one-stop-shop for all things data. The tool analyzes your industry, providing you with helpful, sector-specific recommendations. Just set your business goals and the tool will generate a few actionable points to help you get off to a good start.

You can also easily integrate with Google Analytics to view of how well your website is performing.

Shopify vs GoDaddy – Their Pricing Plans

Like any business investment, you should carefully evaluate the value for money these services provide before signing the dotted line. With that said, let's see how much you'll have to shell out for Shopify and GoDaddy.

We'll start with Shopify

Shopify

shopify pricing - shopify vs godaddy

The Shopify pricing is straightforward if you’re familiar with SaaS. There are four available plans to choose from. The more you're willing to pay, the more features you unlock – simply, right?

There's also a 14-day free trial where you can test the features for yourself before upgrading to one of Shopify's paid-for plans.

Shopify Lite

At just $9 a month, this isn’t an all-inclusive Shopify plan. Rather it's a fabulous option for just adding a store functionality to an existing website. Shopify Lite also comes with a buy button that you can embed onto your website, as well as Facebook and Facebook Messenger selling options.

To create a complete eCommerce store from scratch, you’ll need one of the following plans:

The Basic Shopify Plan ($29 a month)

The Basic Shopify plan is aimed at startups or anyone running a small business. It comes with Shopify's complete online store builder; you can list and sell an unlimited number of products. You also get access to a secure checkout/shopping cart, a POS integration, and web hosting (so there's no need to go to the effort of finding a reliable hosting provider!)

Furthermore, you also get:

  • Social selling features
  • You can register two staff accounts.
  • Access to Shopify apps
  • Marketing tools
  • You can create and use customer discounts and coupon codes.
  • You can connect with four physical locations.
  • Shopify shipping options (with up to a 64% discount)

On this plan, you’ll pay a 2% fee for using third-party payment processors. That said, if you opt for Shopify Payments, you're not charged additional transaction fees. But, to process credit card payments, you’re charged 2.9% + 30 cents on each sale.

The Shopify Plan ($79 a month)

The Shopify plan aims to equip growing businesses with more features. On top of everything in the Basic Shopify package, you unlock:

  • You can register five staff accounts.
  • You can generate professional reports.
  • You can create and sell gift cards.
  • You can connect with up to five physical locations.
  • Access to up to 72% shipping discounts

The transaction fees are also reduced to just 1% when you use third party processors and 2.6% + 30 cents to process online credit card payments.

The Advanced Shopify Plan ($299 a month)

Once you start scaling your business and employing a team, the Advanced Shopify plan may come in handy. You get everything listed above, plus:

  • You can register 15 staff accounts.
  • You get access to the advanced report builder.
  • You can connect with up to eight physical locations.
  • Access to up to 74% shipping discounts

Plus, you’ll pay only pay 0.5% on third-party payment processing and 2.4% + 30 cents for credit card transactions.

GoDaddy

godaddy website builder online store pricing

GoDaddy functions much the same in terms of billing. You make some savings if you choose to bill annually, and as such, those are the prices we've listed below. We have to note that only one plan actually enables you to sell online, so GoDaddy's three previous plans aren't relevant to this comparison (The Basic plan ($9.99 a month), the Standard plan ($14.99 a month), and the Premium Plan ($19.99 a month)).

That said, we want to highlight the fact that GoDaddy offers a freemium program. This allows you to design your website, check out GoDaddy's templates, and see how you get along with its editor. You can set up your entire online store, right down to adding prices and product listings with images and descriptions.

But only once you’ve upgraded to GoDaddy's most expensive package ($24.99 a month), the eCommerce plan can you start selling. For which you get:

  • An SSL certification
  • You can connect a custom domain
  • On-the-go editing with GoDaddy's mobile app
  • 24/7 customer support
  • Guidance and analytics
  • Search engine optimization
  • Unlimited access to social media platforms, social posts, and responses
  • 25,000 email marketing sends per month
  • You can use GoDaddy's content creator to post branded content to your social channels. On the eCommerce plan, you have access to unlimited templates and capabilities.
  • Online appointment management tools (one-time, recurring, group events, and payments for appointments)

And here, more specifically, are the eCommerce features you unlock:

  • Product listings
  • Flexible shipping options
  • Discounts and promotional features

Shopify vs GoDaddy: Which is the Best eCommerce Platform for You?

Now that we're at the end of this GoDaddy and Shopify comparison, you can see there are a whole host of benefits to using either platform. Both enable you to get started for free, offer a decent range of themes, and plenty of marketing tools to help you design and launch your eCommerce business.

But, which is better?

When it comes down to it the true winner depends on your individual preferences. Shopify is ultimately best for those looking to create an online store with a huge range of functions. As such, due to functionality alone, and its scalable payment packages, Shopify is usually the better choice for larger and rapidly expanding businesses.

However, while there’s no denying that GoDaddy is a much simpler platform (largely down to its lack of features in comparison to Shopify) it still has a great deal to offer. This makes it a fantastic option for those wanting a simpler site that can be built from start to finish in a very short timeframe. Not to mention, it's also cheaper. So, if costing is something you’re concerned about GoDaddy could be an excellent choice for you.

If you're still on the fence about GoDaddy and Shopify, the good news is that you don’t have to go in blind. With their free packages/trials, you can take your time and consider your experience with each platform before handing over your hard-earned cash.

Hopefully, our guide has gone some way to helping you make that big decision, but in the end, the choice is yours to match with the size and type of business you’re part of. Or, do you think you'll go for one of their competitors like WordPress with WooCommerce, Wix, Squarespace, Gocentral, Weebly, or BigCommerce? Whatever you decide, tell us all about it in the comments box below. We'd love to hear from you. Speak soon!

Rosie Greaves

Rosie Greaves is a professional content strategist who specializes in all things digital marketing, B2B, and lifestyle. In addition to e-commerce platforms, you can find her published on Reader's Digest, G2, and Judicious Inc. Check out her website Blog with Rosie for more information.