为什么你要避免使用分层商户账户定价模型

你提到分层时,你知道我的意思吗? 商家帐户 定价模式? 如果没有,是时候学习,因为机会是你的 电子商务业务 正在利用信用卡处理器的不必要成本。 分层定价模型价格昂贵且对信用卡处理商有用,可以隐藏其报表中的费用。

作为在线业务所有者,您最终会收到其中一个陈述,并想知道到底发生了什么。 并不是所有的信用卡处理器都试图让你感到困惑,但它在提高利润方面确实有一些好处。

本文的重点是向您解释分层商家帐户定价模型的工作原理以及为什么它通常不是您保持业务成本低的最佳方式。 也就是说,继续阅读以了解该模型并查看可供您使用的其他选项。

什么是分层商家帐户定价模型?

客户从客户处购买商品时,您是否知道这些费用? 这些都由您的付款处理商处理并发送到您的商家帐户。 复杂的部分是信用卡处理器发挥作用的地方。

处理器使用称为交换费的东西,这是银行之间为处理通过您网站的某些信用卡付款而支付的费用。 你被夹在中间,大部分费用会被送回给你进行销售。

当客户在您的网站上进行购买时,信用卡处理商会向您收取该交易的费用。 这些费用分为称为交换费的类别。 但是,通过分层商家帐户定价模型,交换费用被隐藏并以不同方式分类为捆绑。

简而言之,分层商家帐户定价模型是处理器用于将这些费用传递给您的费率结构。 从某种意义上说,这只是他们向你描述费用的方式 - 而且相当令人沮丧。

描述结构的最佳方式是谈论捆绑。 处理器将您的交换费用捆绑到模糊的层级,其中大多数层由他们选择。

您在声明中会看到哪些最常见的等级?

  • 合格
  • 中秋节合格
  • 不合格

澄清一下,商家(您)不支付个人交换费。 因此,您不直接支付个人交易费用。 相反,处理器捆绑了所有的交换,并迫使您支付几笔大笔款项,这可以支付他们可能实施的额外费用。 反过来,处理器转过来并为他们支付商家交换费。 因此,他们可能最终获得一点利润,因为个人交换费通常加起来低于捆绑费用。

由于超过125交换费用(您的个人交易费用缩小到特定类别),这种分层格式进一步缩小了范围,使其在查看您的陈述时不那么令人生畏。

使用分层模型需要记住哪些主要组件?

如果您对此定价系统的工作方式仍然感到困惑,那么在使用分层商家帐户定价模型时,让我们先了解一些主要内容。

  • 在接受交易时,这些交易会从信用卡处理商处收取费用。
  • 该行业将这些交易分类为125的不同类别,称为交换率。
  • 您的信用卡处理器将这些125交换类别组织为三个或四个捆绑包。 实际上,您可以在语句中查看最新的12包。
  • 然后他们向您报告这些捆绑的价格。
  • 每个捆绑包的变化率都是基于从最佳到最差的规模。
  • 在决定每个捆绑包应收取的费率时,您可以完全控制信用卡处理器。
  • 更糟糕的是,每个处理器在决定这些费率时都有所不同。 因此,一个处理器可能与另一个处理器完全不同。
  • 这一切都取决于您的处理器所采用的系统,因此不同的交换率可能适用于不同的捆绑包,其中一些捆绑包为您提供更多的垃圾邮件。
  • 一旦您开始对信用卡收费,其中一些交易可能会被分类为一个收费太多钱的捆绑。 但是,你永远不会知道这一点,因为捆绑根本不透明。

有什么问题? 这会如何伤害你作为商人?

从表面上看,分层商家帐户定价模型看起来似乎只是为了保持报表清晰整洁。 毕竟,如果他们得到125不同的交换率清单,我肯定会有很多商家会抱怨。

使用这种方法,捆绑包取代了那些交换率,但是您对信用卡处理器如何将交换率放入捆绑包中感到茫然。

简而言之,这种模式对大多数商家来说都是一个糟糕的交易,因为处理器可以根据他们放在一起的捆绑来指定哪些费率。 更糟糕的是,你甚至不知道你的利率何时上涨。

分层商家帐户定价模式的主要问题是什么?

  1. 比较很难 - 您最有可能想要了解哪些信用处理器提供最优惠的价格,但由于每家公司都创建了自己的捆绑和层级名称,因此您无法真正了解哪种信用处理器更便宜。
  2. 透明度较低 - 企业主总是试图降低信用卡费用,但是当费用隐藏在捆绑中时你无法弄清楚。
  3. 处理器可以操纵你 - 由于透明度低,它为信用卡处理商提供了将交换费用转移到收取更多费用的捆绑包的机会。 从某种意义上说,他们可以自由地做任何想要增加利润的事情。
  4. 财务对你来说变得更加困难 - 想象一下,当你不知道什么时候会出现新的费用时,试图计算你的成本? 不仅如此,分层商家帐户定价模式使您无法找到一个可靠的论据来反驳您的陈述中出现的一些费用。

还有哪些其他型号?

在运营在线业务时是否有任何希望,或者您是否坚持采用分层商家账户定价模式?

你有两个选择,每个选项让你更好:

  • 交换加定价模型 - 此型号是一个非常透明的选项,以清晰的格式列出您的所有费用。 它会使你的陈述变得更大,更令人生畏,但至少你可以理解这些指控。
  • 订阅/会员定价模型 - 这类似于交换加号,除非您不支付百分比加价。 相反,您需要为所有交易支付少量费用,这对于有昂贵商品的在线商店来说非常好,因为您不必依赖百分比费用。

因此,您必须弄清楚您的信用卡处理器是否使用分层商家帐户定价模式。 如果是这样,尝试摆脱它或转向另一个提供类似交换加模型的处理器。 也就是说,如果您有任何疑问,请在下面的部分留言。

特色图片curtsey 德米特里利特维诺夫

Catalin Zorzini

我是一名网页设计博客,在花了几周时间努力寻找出来之后开始了这个项目 最好的电子商务平台 为了我自己。 看看我的电流 顶级10电子商务网站建设者.

Why You Shoud Avoid the Tiered Merchant Account Pricing Model

Do you have any idea what I mean when mentioning the tiered merchant account pricing model? If not, it’s time to learn, because chances are your ecommerce business is being taken advantage of with unnecessary costs from your credit card processor. The tiered pricing model is expensive and useful for credit card processors to hide fees in their statements.

As an online business owner, you will eventually receive one of these statements and wonder what the heck is going on. It’s not that all credit card processors are trying to confuse you, but it does have several benefits for them in turning higher profits.

The point of this article is to explain to you how the tiered merchant account pricing model works and why it’s generally not the best way for you to keep costs low for your business. That said, keep reading to learn about the model and see which other options are available for you.

What is the Tiered Merchant Account Pricing Model?

You know those charges that go through your site when customers buy things from you? Those are all being processed by your payment processor and sent to your merchant account. The complicated part is where the credit card processors come into play.

The processors work with something called interchange fees, which are the fees paid between banks to process certain credit card payments that go through your site. You get caught in the middle, and most of the costs get sent back to you for making the sale.

When a customer makes a purchase on your site, the credit card processors charge you a fee for that transaction. These fees are grouped into categories called interchange fees. However, with the tiered merchant account pricing model, the interchange fees are hidden and categorized differently, into bundles.

In short, the tiered merchant account pricing model is a rate structure that the processors use to pass those fees to you. In a sense, it’s simply the way they portray the fees to you – and it’s rather frustrating.

The best way to describe the structure is by talking about bundles. The processors bundle your interchange fees into vague tiers, and most of these tiers are chosen by them.

What are the most common tiers you’ll see on your statement?

  • Qualified
  • Mid-qualified
  • Non-qualified

To clarify, the merchant (you) doesn’t pay individual interchange fees. So, the individual transaction fees are not being paid by you directly. Instead, the processor bundles all of the interchanges and forces you to pay in a few large sums, which cover up additional fees they may implement. In turn, the processor turns around and pays the merchant interchange fees for them. Therefore, they may end up with a little profit since the individual interchange fees usually add up to less than what the bundled fees were.

Since there are more than 125 interchange fees (your individual transaction fees narrowed down into specific categories,) this tiered format narrows it down even further to make it less intimidating when seeing your statement.

What are the Main Components to Remember with a Tiered Model?

If you’re still a little confused about how this pricing system works, let’s go over some of the main takeaways when working with the tiered merchant account pricing model.

  • When accepting transactions, those transactions incur fees from the credit card processors.
  • The industry categorizes these transactions into over 125 different categories called interchange rates.
  • Your credit card processor organizes these 125 interchange categories into just three or four bundles. You can actually see up to around 12 bundles on your statements.
  • They then report these bundled prices to you.
  • Each bundle has a varying rate, based on a scale that goes from best to worst.
  • You credit card processor is in complete control when deciding what rates should be charged for each of the bundles.
  • Making it even worse, each processor is different in how they decide on these rates. So, one processor could be completely different from another.
  • It all depends on the system put in place by your processor, so the different interchange rates may qualify for different bundles, and some of these bundles have junkier rates for you.
  • Once you start charging credit cards, some of these transactions might be classified into a bundle that charges you way too much money. However, you will never know this, because the bundle aren’t transparent at all.

What’s the Problem? How is this Hurting You as a Merchant?

On the surface, the tiered merchant account pricing model looks like it might just be an attempt to keep statements clean and uncluttered. After all, I’m certain plenty of merchants would complain if they got a list of 125 different interchange rates.

With this method the bundles take the place of those interchange rates, but you are in the dark as to how your credit card processor is placing the interchange rates into the bundles.

In short, this model results in a terrible deal for most merchants, since the processors can designate which rates to charge based on the bundles they put together. What’s worse, you don’t even know when your rates are going up.

What are the main problems with the tiered merchant account pricing model?

  1. Comparing is tough – You most likely want to look into which credit processors offer the best rates, but since each company creates their own bundles and tier designations, you really have no way of truly understanding which is less expensive.
  2. Less transparency – Business owners are always trying to lower credit card fees, but you can’t figure that out when the fees are hidden into bundles.
  3. Processors can manipulate you – Since the transparency is low, it opens up opportunities for credit card processors to move interchange fees to bundles that charge you more money. In a sense, they are free to do whatever they want to boost profits.
  4. Finances become more difficult for you – Imagine trying to project your costs when you have no idea when new fees are going to pop up? Not only that, but the tiered merchant account pricing model keeps you from finding a solid argument to refute some of the charges that come up on your statements.

What Other Models are Available?

Is there any hope when running an online business, or are you stuck with the tiered merchant account pricing model?

You have two options, each of which leave you better off:

Try-Shopify
  • The interchange plus pricing model – This model is a wonderfully transparent option that itemizes all of your fees in a clear format. It will make your statement larger, and more intimidating, but at least you can understand the charges.
  • The subscription/membership pricing model – This is similar to interchange plus, except you don’t pay a percentage markup. Instead you pay a small fee for all transactions, which is wonderful for online stores with pricey items, since you don’t have to rely on a percentage fee.

Therefore, it’s essential for you to figure out if your credit card processor is using the tiered merchant account pricing model. If so, try to get out of it or turn to another processor that provides something like the interchange plus model. That said, leave a comment in the section below if you have any questions.

Featured image curtsey of Dmitri Litvinov

Catalin Zorzini

I'm a web design blogger and started this project after spending a few weeks struggling to find out which is the best ecommerce platform for myself. Check out my current top 10 ecommerce site builders.