终极BigCommerce电子商务评论(5月2019)

目前有超过95,000的实时网站使用BigCommerce系统在线销售商品和处理付款,因此有充分的理由相信BigCommerce为您的电子商务需求提供了可行且强大的界面。 我们的BigCommerce Review涵盖了此电子商务平台的所有方面,从功能到安全性和支持。

还有更多: 在早期的2016中,BigCommerce经历了令人难以置信的重塑变革,为用户提供了全新的品牌结构,更多的集成和大量新功能。 简而言之,该公司表示,徽标更改更容易让人想起平台为用户设计的内容,参考向上趋势图表徽标。 此外,该公司还围绕其网站设计进行了改组,试图为所有用户提供更方便的信息访问。

品牌看起来很棒,但作为用户呢? 从 ShopifySquarespace,创业时最大的挑战之一就是找出适合您业务的顶级电子商务系统。 BigCommerce落在对话的中间,因此您需要决定支付处理或产品管理是否更重要。 安全性和网站设计等项目也是如此。

Shopify在市场上掀起波澜, Volusion 众所周知,帮助小型初创公司,而Squarespace是该区块的(相对)新人,但这会让BigCommerce走向何方? 继续阅读以找出答案。

基于使用BigCommerce的读者的大量电子邮件和评论,看起来他们正在大幅提高其成功客户的价格(每年带来超过125,000的收入),这使得它比其直接竞争对手的成本更高 Shopify,有固定的价格。

我们一直在努力提供最佳比较和最准确的评论,但我们也会更新 我们的比较图表 每周。

如果您不是100%确定哪个电子商务平台最适合您的特定需求, 检查出来!

顺便说一下,我做了一个 视频版的评论 为了你,如果你想听到我的声音 🙂

BigCommerce评论:功能

Acker BigCommerce功能 一切都从网站建设者开始,因为它允许美观,反应灵敏的设计,而不了解网页设计。 毫无问题地添加和管理产品,并通过各种选项接受付款。

对于大多数供应商来说,定制运输是必须的,BigCommerce拥有所有这些。 灵活的税务系统和dropshipping功能可确保您不必因为您的电子商务系统而转变您的业务模式。

BigCommerce评论 - 功能

请注意: 根据我们的读者,BigCommerce基本上没有对功能请求做出反应,因此许多客户很难证明其成本合理。 例如,许多功能主要是为美国客户构建的,这使得世界其他地方的功能不完全有用。 此外,客户抱怨在论坛中一遍又一遍地请求有用的功能,但从未实现(如定制订单状态的能力)。

除了更新问题,我们可以谈谈一些好处。 从智能产品规则到可下载的销售,电子邮件营销工具到高级搜索引擎优化,BigCommerce确实有一些很棒的功能。 现在,问题是,这些功能是否以合理的价格出现,并且它们在行动中是否都很棒?

BigCommerce评论 - 营销功能

可定制的结账

在过去,我们认为BigCommerce结帐模块看起来有点过时,商家难以修改。 最近发生了变化,看看BigCommerce现在如何提供对其Checkout SDK的访问权限,或者为您的结帐提供充满JavaScript元素的库。 现在,商家可以自定义结帐的每个部分,从背景图像到客户完成整个过程所需的步骤数。

你可以了解一下 Checkout SDK在这里 并查看其中的示例。

BigCommerce评论:易用性

在寻找电子商务平台的初创企业方面,公司通常首先要问的是定价。 之后,易用性几乎总是最重要的领域。 这是有道理的,考虑到商务人士通常没有网页设计或开发技能从头开始构建网站或混乱的建筑流程。

简单的步骤

那么,BigCommerce易于使用吗?

当您使用BigCommerce启动您的网站时,他们有一些很好的教程和步骤来帮助您入门。 但是,我们的测试以及读者的反馈表明,BigCommerce的新Stencil框架对于高级开发人员来说更加友好。 这对于可以聘请稳固的开发人员的商店来说是个好消息。 然而,非技术用户发现很难做出小的调整,这对普通发明家或企业家来说是必要的。

在Shopify旁边,BigCommerce拥有开发人员所需的功能,但对于普通的非技术人员而言,它并不完全适用。 登陆仪表板时看到的第一个页面是您应该在几秒钟内完成商店的步骤列表。 例如,您可以添加产品,设置送货设置和管理税率。

之后,开发变得更加复杂。

应用程序和集成有助于自定义,网站主题是预先构建的,使您看起来像是聘请专业人士来设计您的网站。 然而,BigCommerce在很大程度上依赖于一家名为Pixel Union的公司。 它们看起来时尚而现代,但是用户建议将这种专注于一位设计师的空间留在改进的独特区域。 不仅如此,我们的许多读者已经明确表示,很容易找到通常无法修复的随机错误。

考虑到您可以为您的产品定制任何产品,产品管理既干净又独特。

总的来说,API访问比使用像Volusion这样的解决方案更容易获得。 高级用户不应该对BigCommerce有任何问题,但这是我们担心的初学者。

BigCommerce评论:定价

有一点,BigCommerce有一些有竞争力的价格,与Shopify的价格相当。 然而,经过我们读者的大量电子邮件和评论后,看起来他们的成功客户价格大幅上涨(每年收入超过125,000)。

这对BigCommerce客户和我们对整个公司的看法都是一个巨大的打击。 当然,你仍然可以获得我们将在下面概述的一些固定价格,但是一旦你超过销售额的某一点,你就会受到疯狂的高月率抨击。 这几乎就像BigCommerce试图挖掘赚更多钱的用户一样,仅仅因为他们可以。

无论如何,让我们继续您可以选择的不同计划。 BigCommerce还有一个 免费15-day BigCommerce 在您需要做出决定之前进行审判。

在定价方面,请查看以下四个计划:

  • 标准计划 - 每月$ 29.95,您将获得无限的产品,无限的存储空间,无限的带宽,信用卡和PayPal接受,无需交易费!
  • 加计划 - 每月$ 79.95,您将获得所有标准计划功能,无交易费用,实时运营商运输,优质支付服务提供商,废弃的购物车保护程序,高级客户细分以及托管在您自己的域中的结帐。
  • 临计划 - 每月$ 249.95,您将获得所有Plus Plan功能,无交易费用,Google客户评论,产品过滤和可用的专用SSL。 警告: 该计划起价为249.95 /月,在线销售额低于$ 400k。 之后,他们每增加$ 150k销售额至少需要$ 200 / mo。 简而言之,如果你超过$ 400K标记,他们会得到你。
  • 企业计划 - 这需要您联系BigCommerce以获得自定义定价,但您可以期待所有Plus Plan功能,以及专用的SSL和IP地址,设置和数据迁移,优先支持,产品过滤,高级报告工具,Google可信赖的商店和更多。 正如我们的许多用户所指出的那样,似乎BigCommerce正在推动更多成功的客户 按照这个计划。 因此,如果您每年的收入超过$ 125,000(或每年超过3,000订单),您最终可能会收取每月$ 900到$ 1,500的费用。

再一次,当您超越Plus和Pro计划时,BigCommerce可能不是大多数公司的正确选择。 虽然我们喜欢BigCommerce功能和模板,但为最赚钱的用户收取这么多费用是一种奇怪的商业模式。

2016的这些变化使BigCommerce比其直接竞争对手的成本高得多 Shopify,有固定的价格。

BigCommerce评论:模板和设计

如果你去的话 BigCommerce主题商店 如果你去BigCommerce,你可以了解你将要使用的是什么。 一般来说,这是一个非常好的商店,有不同预算的免费和付费选项。

的Bigcommerce模板

免费的主题是我在一段时间内看到的最酷的一些,而且定制它们或让它们做你想做的并不是那么难。 大多数付费主题都具有响应性,时尚性和易于使用的特点。 但是,您可能在其他地方找到的一些独特性似乎并未附带BigCommerce。 我们认为这是因为大多数主题来自一家名为Pixel Union的公司。 并不是说他们是糟糕的设计师,但从其他开发者那里看到独特的想法会很高兴。

总的来说,您不必花费超过$ 150或$ 200来获得高质量的主题。 这与竞争对手差不多。

更多主题

截至3月23,2016,客户将获得67新的响应式主题,这些主题旨在扩展您的商品推销,促销和无缝结账流程的能力。 虽然我们没有机会测试主题,但它们的价格从$ 145到$ 235,并且它们具有现代商品推广功能,可以扩展您的品牌。 所有这些新主题都可以买到 通过主题商店.

BigCommerce评论:库存

库存是一项出色的功能,因为您可以选择上传快速产品,设置库存跟踪并在几分钟内更新库存水平。

产品及技术

使用灵活的产品规则和清单工具,这样您就不会被一堆仅与一个或两个行业相关的规则所困扰。 在过去,我已经看到了一个系统将使服装公司难以添加像尺寸一样简单的东西。 定制是他们库存的关键,所以您无需担心。

库存大商务

您可以直接销售产品,下载,活动和服务等产品,这非常酷。 管理哪些缺货很容易。

缺货

库存加:亚马逊链接和导入

许多电子商务平台都与亚马逊集成,用于将您商店的产品与您在亚马逊上的页面同步。 这很棒,但BigCommerce有一个功能可以反转同步,以便您继续专注于将客户带到您自己的网站。 通过这样做,您可以增加自己的忠诚客户群和市场,而不是亚马逊的网站。

Amazon Import and Link工具将您在亚马逊商店中拥有的所有产品都导入您的BigCommerce商店。 这为那些仅在亚马逊上销售的商家实现了无缝过渡。 您还可以找到惊人的功能,以避免重复,多次运行同步,以及列出您已在线发布的亚马逊产品的链接。

从本质上讲,这是向品牌推广自己的网站以及将客户放在您自己的电子邮件列表而非亚马逊上的一个很好的一步。

BigCommerce评论:航运

BigCommerce宣布了一项新的改进的运输流程,适合那些渴望享受更多折扣和更轻松设置的人士。 该运输计划将于3月2019推出,它将包括以下优势:

  • 从FedEx Express获得更快的运输,以及市场上一些最佳协商价格。
  • 您网站上显示的所有运费与运费标签上显示的运费相同。
  • BigCommerce提高了实时费率的准确性,从而实现了更多转换。
  • 我们将开始看到来自UPS,USPS,DHL和Fedex的更多折扣价。
  • BigCommerce仪表板将提供自动配置您的运输区域。 这样,您就不必去第三方网站了。
  • 商家将通过预先协商的运费开始看到极端折扣。 BigCommerce正在考虑整体运费的50-60%。

BigCommerce评论:它是市场上最快的电子商务平台

您网站的速度和性能会因各种原因发挥作用。 首先,Google和其他搜索引擎非常重视您的网站速度。 如果用户必须坐下来等待页面加载,搜索引擎知道您的用户体验会减少。 因此,快速网站可以提升您的搜索引擎排名。 此外,您的客户更有可能坚持并购买东西!

看看在当今竞争激烈的电子商务世界中速度如此重要,很高兴看到BigCommerce现在绝对是您可以选择的最佳表现电子商务平台。 有几个原因。 一,BigCommerce有 在其平台上实施了Google AMP。 这是Google的开源框架,代表Accelerated Mobile Pages。 它可以提高页面加载速度,并提高移动产品和类别页面上搜索引擎的可见性。

BigCommerce还有一个内置于其系统中的Akamai图像管理器。 所有BigCommerce用户都可以原生访问图片管理器,自动优化您网站上的所有图片。

BigCommerce评论:SEO和营销

SEO是另一个强项 的Bigcommerce考虑到其独特的内容交付网络加载您的网站页面比竞争对手快得多。 这改善了用户的环境,搜索引擎也引起了注意。 找到修改SEO的设置很痛苦,但这些都在产品领域。

搜索引擎优化

请记住,我们的许多读者都提到BigCommerce营销和SEO工具没有达到他们的标准。 我希望你能从像Volusion或3dCart这样的平台转移,并开始将更多的客户推向商店。 然而,BigCommerce似乎更像是作为处理支付的平台,就是这样。 总的来说,您应该期望自己完成大部分艰苦的营销工作。

但是,您可以与Google购物集成,以抓住所有通过该路线的购物者。 更不用说,您网站上的微观数据和评论都发布在搜索引擎上,众所周知,这些搜索引擎让搜索引擎和客户满意。

的Bigcommerce搜索引擎优化

营销功能带来了什么? 我们正在谈论促销和优惠券,电子邮件营销,SEO,社交媒体营销和多渠道营销。 它是否运作良好似乎有待辩论。 您可以考虑实施 Mailchimp,或类似的东西,用于电子邮件营销,但BigCommerce有一个应用程序。

优惠券代码

Instagram故事购物

Instagram一直是营销在线商店的绝佳选择。 获得一些有用的销售工具需要一段时间,但它们正在出现。 BigCommerce现在为平台上的所有商家销售Instagram。

这意味着卖家可以在Instagram上制作故事并在这些图片中标记产品。 客户点击并发送到您选择的产品页面。

BigCommerce评论:付款

对BigCommerce的支付是一个混合包。 它有稳定的价格,没有额外的费用,如 PayPal,Square,亚马逊支付和条纹。 如果您使用其中一个领先的支付网关,则不收取任何交易费用。 BigCommerce还提供PayPal支持的特殊信用卡价格 Braintree。 虽然每笔交易2.9%+ $ 0.30的起始价格似乎并不具有竞争力。

付款方式

该平台支持60支付网关,这意味着您可以选择通过商店处理付款,而不是将其发送到PayPal等地方。 支持离线付款,您还可以获得多种货币,可自定义的运费,安全结帐和运输标签打印等酷炫功能。

BigCommerce评论:安全性

BigCommerce上托管的所有网站均符合1级别的PCI认证,因此您的客户无需担心其个人和财务信息。 您的公司基础架构也受企业级网络架构的保护。

我特别喜欢您可以选择共享SSL证书或购买自己的证书。 生活需要更多这样的选择。 基本上,共享SSL意味着您的结帐不会托管在您自己的网站上。 它看起来像是,但客户经历了不同的路线。 它与Shopify类似。

就像我说的,BigCommerce可以选择专用的SSL证书,所以如果你有现金,你可以使用它。

总的来说,安全性是BigCommerce的优势之一。

BigCommerce评论:客户支持

如果BigCommerce比其他产品做得更好,那就是在线客户服务。 随意去 客户支持页面 看看我在说什么 此类支持涉及在线论坛,教程,视频和知识库。 这对那些想要完成自己研究的人来说非常棒。

当您注册BigCommerce时,您将通过电话,实时聊天,电子邮件和论坛获得帮助。 但是,读者已经提到电话和实时聊天没有用。 有时候你会长时间卡在手机上,有时似乎代表没有接受适当的训练。

支持门户

尽管如此,社区比大多数其他电子商务平台更强大,最受欢迎的是BigCommerce大学,这是一系列有趣且信息丰富的视频,可让您的网站带来更多收益。

BigCommerce产品更新

很高兴有一个从单一平台发布的产品和功能更新的持续列表。 如果您在拉动扳机之前等待某个功能,或者您已经是BigCommerce用户并希望查看所有新版本,请务必添加书签或关注 产品新闻页面.

BigCommerce评论:结论

总体而言, 的Bigcommerce 适用于任何不需要企业级系统的人。 那并不是说那个 BigCommerce企业计划 不值得,但我认为有更强大的选择。 我不愿意向一家大公司推荐BigCommerce,因为你可以通过Shopify获得所需的工具甚至 Magento的。 作为创业公司, Volusion 放弃是一个艰难的交易。

BigCommerce适用于小公司,但根据您计划在未来扩展的规模做出决定。 因为如果你放弃了一定数量的销售,你最终可能会支付很多费用。

如果你渴望更多的功能,请给他们的 15天免费试用 去吧。

您如何看待BigCommerce? 让我知道你在评论中的意见。

的Bigcommerce 评分: 4.0 - 审查

Joe Warnimont

Joe Warnimont是一位自由撰稿人,他创造了工具和资源,帮助其他作家提高工作效率并推销他们的作品。

The Ultimate Bigcommerce Ecommerce Review (January 2018)

With over 95,000 live sites currently using the BigCommerce system for selling items and processing payments online, there’s strong reason to believe that BigCommerce provides a viable and powerful interface for your ecommerce needs. Our BigCommerce Review covers all of the aspects of this ecommerce platform, from the features to the security and support.

There's more though: In early 2016, BigCommerce underwent an incredibly drastic rebranding change, with a completely new brand structure, more integrations and plenty of new features for the users. In short, the company stated that the logo change is more reminiscent of what the platform is designed to do for users, referring to the upward trending chart logo. In addition, the company has shuffled around its website design in an attempt to provide easier access to information for all users.

The branding looks great, but what about you as the user? From Shopify to Squarespace, one of the biggest challenges when starting a business is to figure out which of the top ecommerce systems is right for your business. BigCommerce falls right in the middle of that conversation, so it’s up to you to decide whether payment processing or product management is more important. The same goes for items like security and website design.

Shopify is making waves in the market, Volusion is known to help out small startups, and Squarespace is the (relatively) new guy on the block, but where does that leave BigCommerce? Keep reading to find out.

Based on numerous emails and comments from our readers who are using BigCommerce, looks like they are dramatically raising prices for their more successful customers (bringing in more than $125,000 a year in revenue), which makes it a lot more costly than its direct competitor Shopify, which has fixed prices.

We're constantly trying to offer the best comparisons and most accurate reviews, but we also update our comparison chart on a weekly basis.

If you're not 100% sure which ecommerce platform is best for your specific needs, check it out!

Bigcommerce Review: Features

The BigCommerce features all start with the website builder, since it allows for beautiful, responsive designs, without knowing much about web design. Add and manage products without any problems, and accept payments through a wide variety of options.

Customized shipping is a must-have for most vendors, and BigCommerce has all of that. The flexible tax system and dropshipping features ensure that you don’t have to shift around your business model just because of your ecommerce system.

Bigcommerce review - features

Note: According to our readers BigCommerce has been largely unresponsive to feature requests, making it difficult for many customers to justify the cost. For example, many of the features are built for primarily US customers, which leaves the rest of the world with features that aren't entirely useful. In addition, customers have complained about useful features getting requested over and over in the forums but never coming to fruition (like the ability to customize order statuses).

Other than the problem with update, we can talk about some of the upsides. From smart product rules to downloadable sales, email marketing tools to advanced search engine optimization, BigCommerce does have some wonderful features. Now, the question is, do these features come at a reasonable price, and are they all that great in action?

Bigcommerce review - marketing features

A Customizable Checkout

In the past, we've felt that the Bigcommerce checkout module looked a bit outdated and difficult for merchants to modify. That has recently changed, seeing as how Bigcommerce now offers access to its Checkout SDK, or a library filled with JavaScript elements for your checkout. Now, merchants can customize every part of their checkout, from the background images to the number of steps needed for a customer to move through the process.

You can learn about the Checkout SDK here and see examples of it in use.

Bigcommerce Review: Ease of Use

In terms of startup businesses looking for ecommerce platforms, the first thing companies typically ask about is pricing. After that, the ease of use is almost always the most important area. This makes sense, considering a business person generally doesn’t have the web design or development skills to build a site from scratch or mess around with confusing building processes.

easy steps

So, is BigCommerce easy to use?

When you launch your website with BigCommerce they have some nice tutorials and steps to get you started. However, our tests, and the feedback from readers, show that the new Stencil framework from BigCommerce is more friendly for advanced developers. That's great news for stores that can hire a solid developer. However, non-technical users are finding it difficult to make small tweaks, something that's necessary for the average inventor or entrepreneur.

Next to Shopify, BigCommerce has the features needed for developers, but it's not quite there for the average non-techie. The first page you see when landing on the dashboard is a list of steps you should take to complete your store within a few seconds. For example, you can add products, setup shipping settings and manage your tax rates.

After that, the development gets more complex.

Apps and integrations help for customization, and website themes are pre-built for making it look like you hired a pro to design your website. However, BigCommerce relies largely on a company called Pixel Union for its themes. They look sleek and modern, but users have suggested that this focus on one designer leaves room for improvement in the uniqueness area. Not only that, but many of our readers have made it clear that it's easy to find random bugs that generally don't get fixed.

The product management is clean and unique, considering you can customize just about anything for your products.

Overall, API access is much easier to obtain than with solutions like Volusion. Advanced users shouldn’t have any problems with BigCommerce, but it's those beginners we worry about.

Bigcommerce Review: Pricing

At one point BigCommerce had some competitive pricing that compared pretty well with that of Shopify. However, after numerous emails and comments from our readers, it looks like they have dramatically increased prices for their more successful customers (making more than $125,000 a year in revenue).

This is a huge blow to both BigCommerce customers and our view on the company as a whole. Sure, you still get some of the fixed prices that we'll outline below, but once you surpass a certain point in sales you're going to get slammed with insanely high monthly rates. It's almost as if BigCommerce is trying to gouge users that make more money, simply because they can.

Anyway, let's proceed onto the different plans you can choose from. BigCommerce still has a free 15-day BigCommerce trial before you need to make a decision.

In terms of pricing, check out the four plans below:

  • Standard Plan – For $29.95 per month you get unlimited products, unlimited storage, unlimited bandwidth, credit card and PayPal acceptance and no transaction fee!
  • Plus Plan – For $79.95 per month you receive all Standard Plan features, no transaction fees, real-time carrier shipping, great payment providers, an abandoned cart saver, advanced customer segmentation and a checkout that is hosted on your own domain.
  • Pro Plan – For $249.95 per month you receive all Plus Plan features, no transaction fees, Google customer reviews, product filtering and an available dedicated SSL. Warning: This plan starts at $249.95/mo for less than $400k in online sales. After that they require at least $150/mo for each additional $200k in sales. In short, they'll get you if you surpass that $400K mark.
  • Enterprise Plan – This requires you to contact BigCommerce for custom pricing, but you can expect all of the Plus Plan features, along with a dedicated SSL and IP address, setup and data migration, priority support, product filtering, advanced reporting tools, Google trusted stores and more. As many of our users have pointed out, it seems as if BigCommerce is pushing many more successful customers to go with this plan. So, if you're making more than $125,000 in revenue per year (or over 3,000 orders per year,) you may end up being charged anywhere from $900 to $1,500 per month.

Once again, as you surpass the Plus and Pro plans, BigCommerce may not be the right choice for most companies. Although we enjoy BigCommerce features and templates, charging this much for the most profitable users is a strange business model.

These changes in 2016 make BigCommerce a lot more costly than its direct competitor Shopify, which has fixed prices.

BigCommerce Review: Templates and design

If you go to the BigCommerce Theme Store you can get an idea of what you would be working with if going for BigCommerce. In general, it’s a pretty nice store, with both free and paid options for varying budgets.

bigcommerce-templates

The free themes are some of the coolest I’ve seen in a while, and it’s not all that hard to customize them or make them do what you want. The majority of the paid themes are responsive, stylish and easy to work with. However, some of the uniqueness you might find elsewhere doesn't seem to come with BigCommerce. We figure it's because most of the themes come from one company called Pixel Union. It's not that they are bad designers, but it would be nice to see unique ideas from other developers.

Overall, you won’t have to spend more than $150 or $200 for a quality theme. That's about on-par with competitors.

more themes

As of March 23, 2016, customers will gain access to 67 new, responsive themes that are meant to expand your abilities for merchandising, promotions and a seamless checkout process. Although we haven't had a chance to test the themes, they range from $145 to $235, and they have modern merchandising capabilities for expanding your brand. All of these new themes can be bought through the theme store.

Bigcommerce Review: Inventory

The inventory is a standout feature, since you have the options to upload quick products, setup inventory tracking and update your stock levels within a few minutes.

products

Use the flexible product rules and inventory tools so that you don’t get bogged down by a bunch of rules that only pertain to one or two industries. In the past, I’ve seen it where a system will make it hard for clothing companies to add something as simple as sizes. Customization is the key with their inventory, so you have no need to worry.

inventory bigcommerce

You can sell things like products, downloads, events and services right out of the box, which is pretty cool. And managing which ones are out of stock is fairly easy.

out of stock

An Inventory Plus: Amazon Linking and Importing

Many ecommerce platforms have integrations to Amazon for syncing your store's products with your page on Amazon. This is great and all, but Bigcommerce has a feature for reversing that sync so that you continue focusing on bringing customers to your own website. By doing this, you're able to increase your loyal customer base and market for your own website instead of Amazon's.

The Amazon Import and Link tool takes all of the products you have on your Amazon store and imports them to your Bigcommerce shop. This makes for a seamless transition for those merchants who only sell on Amazon right now. You'll also find amazing features for avoiding duplicates, running the sync multiple times, and listing links to the Amazon products you already have published online.

Essentially, it's a good step towards branding your own website and getting customers on your own email list instead of Amazon's.

Bigcommerce Review: Shipping

Bigcommerce has announced a new and improved shipping process for those who crave more discounts and an easier setup. This shipping plan is launching in March 2019, and it will include the following advantages:

  • Speedier shipping from FedEx Express, along with some of the best negotiated rates on the market.
  • All of the shipping rates shown on your website are the same as what is shown on the shipping labels.
  • Bigcommerce has improved the accuracy of its live rates, making for more conversions.
  • We'll start to see more discounted rates from UPS, USPS, DHL, and Fedex.
  • The Bigcommerce dashboard will offer an automated area for configuring your shipping. This way, you don't have to go to a third-party website.
  • Merchants will begin seeing extreme discounts with pre-negotiated shipping rates. Bigcommerce is looking at 50-60% off shipping rates overall.

Bigcommerce Review: It's the Fastest Ecommerce Platform on the Market

The speed and performance of your website comes into play for a variety of reasons. First of all, Google and other search engines, take your site speed very seriously. The search engines know that your user experience is lessened if the user has to sit around and wait for pages to load. Therefore, a fast site can boost your search engine rankings. Furthermore, your customers are far more likely to stick around and buy something!

Seeing as how speed is so important in today's competitive ecommerce world, it's great to see that Bigcommerce is now definitely the best performing ecommerce platform you can choose. There are several reasons for this. One, Bigcommerce has implemented Google AMP on its platform. This is an opensource framework from Google that stands for Accelerated Mobile Pages. It increases page load speeds and boosts search engine visibility on your mobile product and category pages.

Bigcommerce also has something called the Akamai Image Manager built into its system. All Bigcommerce users are able to natively access the image manager, which automatically optimizes all of the images on your site.

Bigcommerce Review: SEO & Marketing

SEO is another strong point with BigCommerce, considering its unique content delivery network loads your website pages much faster than the competitors. This improves the environment for users, and search engines take notice as well. It's a pain to find the settings for modifying your SEO, but it's all in the product area.

seo

Keep in mind that many of our readers have mentioned that the BigCommerce marketing and SEO tools haven't lived up to their standards. I guess the hope is that you move from a platform like Volusion or 3dCart and start pushing more customers to the store. However, BigCommerce seems like it's more set on acting as a platform for processing payments, and that's it. Overall, you should expect to complete most of the hard marketing work on your own.

You can however integrate with Google Shopping to grab all of those shoppers who go through that route. Not to mention, the microdata and reviews on your site are all posted on search engines, which are known to make search engines and customers happy.

bigcommerce-seo

What comes along with the marketing features? We’re talking promotions and coupons, email marketing, SEO, social media marketing and multi-channel marketing. Whether or not it works that well seems to be up for debate. You might consider implementing MailChimp, or something like that, for email marketing, but BigCommerce has an app for that.

coupon codes

Instagram Story Shopping

Instagram has consistently been a great option for marketing an online store. It's taken awhile to get some useful selling tools, but they're coming along. Bigcommerce now has Instagram selling for all merchants on the platform.

This means that sellers can make stories on Instagram and tag the products inside of those pictures. The customer clicks through and is sent to the product page of your choice.

BigCommerce Review: Payments

Payments on BigCommerce are a mixed bag. It has solid rates and no additional fees for options like PayPal, Square, Amazon Pay and Stripe. No transaction fees are charged if you go with one of the leading payment gateways. BigCommerce also offers special credit card rates from PayPal powered by Braintree. Although the starting rate of 2.9% + $0.30 per transaction doesn't seem all that competitive.

payment options

The platform supports over 60 payment gateways, meaning that you can choose to process payments through your store, instead of sending them away to a place like PayPal. Offline payments are supported, and you also receive cool features like multiple currencies, customizable shipping rates, secure checkouts and shipping label printing.

BigCommerce Review: Security

All sites hosted on BigCommerce are level 1 certified PCI compliant, so your customers don’t have to worry about their personal and financial information. Your company infrastructure is also protected with an enterprise grade network architecture.

I particularly enjoy the fact that you can choose to either share an SSL certificate or buy your own. Life needs more options like that. Basically, a shared SSL means that your checkout isn't hosted on your own website. It looks like it is, but the customer goes through a different route. It's similar to Shopify.

Like I said, BigCommerce has the option for a dedicated SSL certificate, so if you have the cash you can go with that.

Overall, security is one of the strong points with BigCommerce.

BigCommerce Review: Customer Support

If BigCommerce does one thing better than the rest, it’s online customer service. Feel free to go to the customer support page and see what I’m talking about. This type of support involves online forums, tutorials, videos and a knowledge base. That's great for those who want to complete their own research. 

When you sign up with BigCommerce you receive help through the phone, live chat, email and the forum. However, readers have mentioned that the phone and live chat isn't that helpful. Sometimes you get stuck on the phone for a long time and other times it seems like the representatives aren't trained properly. 

support portal

With all that said, the community is more powerful than most other ecommerce platforms, and a favorite is the BigCommerce University, a series of fun and informative videos for making your site work to bring in more money.

Bigcommerce Product Updates

It's nice to have an ongoing list of the product and feature updates that come out from a single platform. If you're waiting for a certain feature before pulling the trigger, or you're already a Bigcommerce user and like to see all the new releases, be sure to bookmark or follow the Product News page.

BigCommerce Review: Conclusion

Overall, BigCommerce works for just about anyone who doesn’t want an Enterprise Level System. That’s not to say that the BigCommerce enterprise plan isn’t worth it, but I think there are stronger options out there. I'm hesitant to recommend BigCommerce to a larger company, because you can get the tools you need with Shopify or even Magento. As a startup, Volusion is a tough bargain to pass up.

BigCommerce works nicely for small companies, but make your decision based on how much you plan on scaling up in the future. Because you might end up paying lots of fees if you pass up a certain number of sales.

If you crave more features right off the bat, give their 15 days free trial a go.

What do you think of BigCommerce? Let me know what's your opinion in the comments. 

Bigcommerce Rating: 4.0 - Review by

Catalin Zorzini

I'm a web design blogger and started this project after spending a few weeks struggling to find out which is the best ecommerce platform for myself. Check out my current top 10 ecommerce site builders.