什么是制造商?

制造商是什么意思?

制造商是指从原材料制造成品以赚取利润的人或注册公司。 货物随后分发给批发商和零售商,然后销售给客户。 零售商通过实体店或3rd派对电子商务平台展示产品。 在制造业中,产品是大规模生产的,以满足消费者不可抗拒的需求。

指示制造地点的标准做法。 此信息通常显示在包装材料上。 在一般情况下,制造商必须达到一定的阈值并符合设定的标准。

主要是制造商应该满足产品认证要求。 该过程涉及正在生产的货物的性能测试和质量保证测试。 认证机构强调满足所有适用的国际标准。 这是一项加强消费者保护的战略。

制造商需要遵守所有质量保证措施,以避免消费者的任何潜在诉讼。 请注意,最终目标是提升客户满意度。

为什么制造如此重要?

制造商倾向于批量生产物品,并通过使用自动化系统消除所有组装复杂性。 大规模生产降低了劳动力成本,原材料可以折扣价购买。 这导致了有吸引力的利润率和更高的产品质量准确性。

进入讨价还价,是需要全面管理库存。 制造商使用需求预测来确定实际的生产方法。

制造过程

从技术上讲,制造商使用原材料来提供完整且商业上可行的产品。 引领潮流的制造技术主要统治整个业务。

在一般情况下,这些是制造过程中最受欢迎的工具;

  1. 添加剂制造 - 这是一个将两种材料粘合在一起的过程。 最流行的是快速原型制作,它使用3D计算机辅助设计(CAD)数据组装物理部件。 其他技术包括激光烧结和3D印刷。
  2. 软件- 制造商使用业务自动化和库存管理工具来帮助他们进行物料需求计划,库存控制和正确的会计。 除此之外,这些系统为高端客户自动化定制报价,管理订单并处理所有购买fr0m批发商。 一家大型制造商使用精英软件,该软件功能强大,可以非常准确地处理财务和仓库管理。
  3. 自动化系统 - 这是一项出色的举措,可以生产质量好的产品,并始终加快整个过程。 请记住,供应必须最终满足需求。 这些系统使用制造商完全依赖的人工智能,以便在优化业务目标时做出明智的决策。 目前,在制造业中使用装配系统和传送带证明是满足所有任务的巨大资产。

制造商,批发商,零售商和分销商之间的区别

以最好的方式,这些术语有着非常密切的关系。 另一方面,需要绘制清晰的线条。 这种贸易中的批发商或多或少是分销商和零售商之间的中介。

那么为什么与批发商合作是谨慎的呢? 他们使整个分销链完整。 此外,他们还能够从不同的经销商处采购产品。 换句话说,他们履行零售商的订单。 它是供应链的一部分,也是满足客户需求的过程。

理想的情况下, 分销商 与制造商携手合作。 为了实现这一目标,双方之间应该建立非常强大的业务关系。 通常情况下,两个对应方都签订了法律协议,以使所有交易正式且富有成效。 最重要的是,制造商可以通过信贷向经销商供货。 这就解释了为什么需要建立双方之间的良好关系。

虽然两者有最密切的联系,但分销商直接向消费​​者销售产品是很不寻常的。 通常,这无疑是不可行的。 原因很简单。 经销商批量处理货物。 为了使整个过程不具挑战性,他们必须将产品销售给 批发商 谁大量购买。

确定批发商需要具备灵活的购买力。 这有助于他们大批量购买商品。 因此,它会吸引折扣价格,以降低利润率。 为了促进这一点,许多零售商实际上可以指望批发商。 事实上,由于与不同分销商的密切联系,批发商拥有广泛的产品。

零售商与消费者

有大型零售商,例如亚马逊和 Alibaba 批发商在线显示商品的地方。 尽管如此,实体店为零售业务做出了巨大贡献。 在这里,客户可以购买实际陈列在货架上的商品。 零售商通常购买少量产品,然后以建议的零售价出售。 零售商可以充分利用第三方 电子商务 他们用来虚拟展示产品的平台。

离岸制造业

这个术语指的是组装原材料的过程,并在不同的国家提出完整的产品。 这项业务的另一个术语是“离岸外包”,它涉及将公司的工业流程迁移到另一个国家的过程。 如果在另一个国家的劳动力成本更低,大多数公司都会选择这种方式。

这是一个例子。

Apple在美国设计产品,但在中国进行所有制造成本较低的组装。 简单。 这不是火箭科学。 公司经常关注规模经济。

制造业生产的类型

在大多数情况下,制造产品有三个主要途径; 按库存生产(MTS),按批量生产(MTA)和按订单生产(MTA)。

按库存生产(MTS)

这是制造商经常用来满足预期客户需求的方法。 在制造产品时主要依赖消费者预测。

为什么MTS很重要?

如果制造商生产的产品在特定季节需求量很大,那么这证明是最合适的计划,可以杀死市场上的潜在客户。 数据准确无误,可帮助制造商避免库存过剩或库存减少,从而导致损失。

这种策略适用于大规模生产商品的环境。 此外,这是一项正确的业务管理计划,可以降低运营成本。

按订单生产(MTO)

这是一个制造过程,一旦收到客户的订单就会开始。 这为产品定制和生产系统中库存水平的轻松管理提供了余地。 有趣的是,它是减少过剩库存产量的一种手段。

使其成为首选策略的原因在于它能够帮助制造商通过客户准确的产品规格来完成订单。 按订单组装(ATO)与MTO非常相似。 这是一种适用于原料易得的生产方法。 最终,当客户下订单时,货物生产更快。 该方法要求制造商将仓库中的所有零件等待组装。 一旦下订单,这就加快了生产过程。

相反,与按订单生产策略相关的挫折。 如果产品被标记为MTO,那么对于买方来说往往更昂贵,因为要进行自定义。 如果产品最终成本高得多,客户往往不愿意为订单存入押金。

make-to-Assemble(MTA)

这听起来很简单。 制造公司使用这种方法根据市场需求预测来保持基本零件的库存。 然后,零件在仓库中保持安全,并在客户下订单时进行组装。 此外,这为自定义偏好提供了空间。

通常,MTA似乎是按库存生产(MTS)和按订单生产(MTO)的合并。 请记住,制造商需要避免库存过剩。 许多行业都很好地利用了这一过程。

如何降低制造风险。

首先,制造商需要抵御供应链风险。 当供应商不够可靠时,就会发生这种情况。 这可以防止您将产品送达最终买家。 记录下订单时有用的所有重要原材料。 在这方面,制造商应该从有充分根据的供应商外包组件。 能够通过击败所有交付期限来履行承诺的人。

在整个生产过程中会产生操作风险。 制造商需要留出资金来更换可能在长期内崩溃或贬值的机器。 您可能需要考虑备用电源。 失去电力可能导致损失,特别是如果客户已经下达迫切需要的订单。

请记住,存在与数据丢失相关的潜在风险。 制造商需要备份他们的数据。 软件和硬件都需要通过更新来进行适当的维护,这些更新有助于网络安全并面向过时的机器。

成为电子商务专家

输入您的电子邮件以开始派对

What is a Manufacturer?

What does a manufacturer mean?

A manufacturer is a person or a registered company which makes finished products from raw materials in a bid to make a profit. The goods are later distributed to wholesalers and retailers who then sell to customers. The retailers display the products via brick and mortar stores or on 3rd party e-commerce platforms. In the manufacturing industry, products are made in large-scale so as to meet the irresistible demand from consumers.

It's standard practice to indicate the place of manufacture. This information is usually displayed on the packaging material. In ordinary circumstances, the manufacturer has to meet a certain threshold and conform to the set standards.

Primarily, manufacturers ought to meet product certification requirements. This process involves performance tests and quality assurance tests of the goods which are being produced. The certification bodies emphasize on meeting all the applicable international standards. It's a strategy to enhance consumer protection.

A manufacturer needs to observe all quality assurance measures to avoid any potential lawsuits from the consumers. Take note, the ultimate goal is to elevate customer satisfaction.

And why is manufacturing so essential?

Manufacturers tend to produce items in bulk and remove all the assembling complexities by use of automated systems. Mass production lowers labor costs and the raw materials can be purchased at discounted prices. This results in attractive profit margins and higher accuracy in product quality.

Into the bargain, is the need to manage inventory in a comprehensive manner. A manufacturer uses demand forecasts to determine a realistic production approach.

Manufacturing processes

Technically, the manufacturer works with raw materials to come up with a complete and commercially viable product. Trendsetting Manufacturing technology predominantly rules the entire business.

In the general run of things, these are the most preferred tools in the manufacturing process;

  1. Additive Fabrication- It's a process which involves binding two materials together. The most prevailing one is rapid prototyping which assembles the physical parts using 3D Computer Aided Design(CAD) data. Other techniques include laser sintering and 3D printing.
  2. Software- Manufacturers use business automation and inventory management tools which help them with material requirements planning, inventory control, and proper accounting. Aside from that, these systems automate custom quoting for the high-end customers, manage orders and process all purchases fr0m wholesalers. A high-scale manufacturer uses elite software which is powerful enough to handle both the financial and warehouse management, quite accurately.
  3. Automated systems- This is an outstanding move to produce goods which are of good quality and it consistently speeds up the entire process. Remember, the supply must ultimately meet the demand. The systems use artificial intelligence which the manufacturers solely depend on, to make wise decisions on the optimization of their business goals. In the present day, the use of assembly systems and conveyor belts in the manufacturing sector proves to be a huge asset in meeting all the tasks.

The distinction between Manufacturers, Wholesalers, Retailers, and Distributors

In the best possible way, these terms have a very close relationship. On the other hand, a clear line needs to be drawn. A wholesaler in this line of trade is more or less an intermediary between the distributor and retailers.

So why is it prudent to work with wholesalers? They make the whole chain of distribution complete. Also, they're able to source products from different distributors. In other words, they fulfill orders made by retailers. It's part of the supply chain and a process to meet the customers' needs.

Ideally, Distributors work hand in hand with the manufacturers. For this to prevail, there ought to be a very strong business relationship between the two parties. More often than not, both counterparts enter into legal agreements so as to make all transactions formal and fruitful. On top of that, manufacturers can supply goods to distributors on credit. This explains why a good rapport between both parties needs to be built.

While the two have the closest connection, it's quite unusual for the distributor to directly sell products to the consumers. Customarily, this is unquestionably not feasible. And the reason is pretty much simple. A distributor deals with the goods in bulk. To make the whole process unchallenging, they have to sell the products to wholesalers who make a purchase in large quantities.

It's certain that a wholesaler needs to have a flexible purchasing power. This helps them buy goods in high-volumes. As a result, it attracts a discounted price which trickles down to increase their profit margins. In furtherance of that, so many retailers can actually count on the wholesaler. As a matter of fact, the wholesalers have a wide range of products due to the close links with different distributors.

Retailers to Consumers

There are huge retailers such as Amazon and Alibaba where goods are displayed online by wholesalers. Notwithstanding that, brick and mortar stores make a huge contribution to the retail business. Here, customers get to purchase goods which are physically displayed on the shelves. A retailer often buys the products in small quantities and sells them at the recommended retail price. Retailers can make the most out of third-party e-commerce platforms which they use to display their products virtually.

Offshore Manufacturing

This is a term which refers to the process of assembling raw materials and come up with a complete product in a different country. An alternative term for this operation is ‘offshoring' which relates to the process of migrating a company's industrial processes to another country. Most companies go for this option if the labor expenses are cheaper in another country.

Here's an illustration.

Apple designs its products in the US but does all the assembling in China where the manufacturing costs are lower. Simple. It's not rocket science. Companies often look at the economies of scale.

Types of Manufacturing Production

For the most part, there are three predominant avenues when it comes to manufacturing products which are; Make-to-Stock (MTS), Make-to-Assemble (MTA), and Make-to-Order (MTA).

Make-to-Stock (MTS)

It's a method which is often used by manufacturers to meet the anticipated customers' demand. Consumer forecasts are majorly relied upon while manufacturing the products.

And why is MTS important?

If a manufacturer produces a product which is on high demand at a particular season, this proves is the most appropriate plan to make a kill out of the potential customers in the market. The data is accurate and helps a manufacturer avoid having an excess inventory or less stock which might result in losses.

This strategy works well in an environment where there's mass production of goods. Moreover, it's a right-minded business management plan which reduces operating costs.

Make-to-Order (MTO)

It's a manufacturing process which begins once an order from a customer is received. This gives leeway for customization of products and easy management of inventory levels in the production systems. Interesting enough, it's a means to mitigate the production of excess inventory.

What makes this a preferred strategy, is its capacity to help a manufacturer fulfill an order with accurate product specifications from the customer. Assemble-to-Order(ATO) is quite similar to MTO. It's a production method which is suitable where the raw materials are readily available. Ultimately, the goods are produced faster when an order is made by a customer. This method requires the manufacturer to have all parts in the warehouse waiting to be assembled. This hastens the production process once an order is made.

On the contrary, there's a setback associated with the Make-to-Order strategy. If a product is labeled as MTO, then it tends to be more expensive for the buyer since there are customizations to be done. Customers tend to be reluctant in placing a deposit for the order if the product ends up costing much higher.

Make-to-Assemble (MTA)

It's as simple as it sounds. The manufacturing company uses this method to keep a stock of the basic parts based on market demand forecasts. The parts are then kept safe in the warehouse and are assembled the moment a customer makes an order. Also, this allows room for making customization preferences.

Ordinarily, MTA seems like an amalgamation of both the make-to-stock (MTS) and make-to-order (MTO). Keep in mind, the manufacturer will need to avoid the overproduction of the inventory. So many industries make good use of this process.

How to mitigate manufacturing risks.

To begin with, a manufacturer needs to fend off the supply chain risk. It happens when the suppliers aren't reliable enough. This prevents you from making your products reach the end buyer. Keep a record of all important raw materials which are useful when an order is made. In that regard, a manufacturer ought to outsource the components from well-founded suppliers. One who is capable of meeting their promise by beating all delivery deadlines.

There are operational risks which come about in the course of the entire production process. A manufacturer needs to set aside money to replace machines which might breakdown or depreciate in the long-run. A backup power supply is something you might want to consider. The loss of power can result in losses especially if a customer has made an order which is urgently needed.

Remember, there are potential risks linked to data loss. Manufacturers need to back up their data. Both the software and hardware needs proper maintenance by doing updates which aid in cybersecurity and facing out the outdated machines.

Become an ecommerce expert

Enter your email to get the party started