最佳支付网关评估和比较:Worldpay与Authorize.net对比支付线数据与Stripe对比PayPal

支付网关 你应该用于你的电子商务商店吗? 有数十种在线支付处理选项可供选择,这可能是一个复杂的决定。

每个对电子商务不熟悉的人都会告诉您,最困难的任务不仅仅是确定哪个平台是最好的平台,还要考虑在决定哪个网关最适合您的特定需求时需要考虑的不同因素。 但是,要了解有关每个人的更多信息,请继续阅读:

万一你赶紧来这里是最好的支付网关:

支付网关
商标
支付线数据派彩线
Authorize.net支付网关:authorize-net
条纹支付网关:条纹
PayPal支付网关:paypal

现在,有十个要考虑的因素:

1。 您的电子商务平台是否支持支付网关?

您将使用哪个电子商务平台? 也许像Shopify或BigCommerce这样基于SaaS的东西? 还是像WooCommerce或Magento这样的自托管平台? 无论您选择哪个平台,都会有一系列现成的插件或扩展,以帮助您与主要支付网关集成。

如果可能,请选择已为您的平台安装插件的支付网关。

2。 您是否希望客户直接在您的网站上输入付款详细信息?

从技术角度来看,您可以通过三种方式从客户处获取付款详细信息。

a)您网站上的付款表单,发布到您服务器的详细信息

为客户提供最顺畅的结账体验通常是让他们在您的网站上以正常形式输入付款详细信息。 不幸的是,这是最不安全的做事方式,因此您需要采取非常严格的安全预防措施 PCI 兼容。 除非你每年翻身数百万,否则这可能不符合成本效益。

b)iFrame或重定向

直接通过您的网站获取付款详细信息的替代方法是将结帐表单放在安全的iFrame中(在您网站的页面内)或将客户重定向到托管的付款页面。 通过这些方法获取支付表格以使其他网站与之匹配更加困难,但它们也是最安全的做事方式。

c)您网站上的付款表格,详细信息从浏览器直接发送到安全支付网关(不是通过您的服务器)

最后,中间解决方案是使用诸如的解决方案 条纹 支付网关的Stripe.js。 使用Stripe.js,您的客户可以将您的卡详细信息键入到从您的站点提供的页面上的表单中,但Stripe.js代码直接与Stripe服务器通信。 客户的卡详细信息永远不会通过您的Web服务器。 您的安全责任将低于普通表单,但比iFrame或重定向要多得多。

确保你理解 版本3.0 PCI数据安全标准 从1st January 2015开始,它提供了有关不同类别的更多详细信息以及使用这些结账方法的商家需要做什么才能符合PCI标准。

3。 您想要支付网关和商家帐户还是一体机 支付服务提供商?

一些支付提供商(如SagePay或PayPoint)仅提供支付网关(位于您的网站和支付网络之间的技术)。 他们要求你拥有自己的 商家帐户 (这笔钱转入的特殊银行账户 - 与您的常规商业银行账户不同)。

其他支付提供商(如PayPal和Stripe)提供组合支付网关和商家帐户(实际上您正在使用其商家帐户。)

获得一个合并提供商的帐户往往比获得商家帐户更容易,并且往往涉及更少的设置和月费。 然而,每笔交易费用往往更高。 出于这些原因,小商家可能想要从组合的支付提供商开始。 较大的商家通常可以通过拥有自己的商家帐户来节省资金。

4。 你想提供PayPal吗?

您不一定需要将自己限制在一个支付网关。 许多电子商务平台允许您为您的客户提供多种付款方式。 最受欢迎的“次要”选项是PayPal。 许多消费者拥有PayPal账户,其中许多人更愿意通过PayPal支付,而不是将信用卡详细信息输入另一个网站。

即使您不使用PayPal作为主要支付网关,也可以考虑提供PayPal作为客户付款的替代方式。 如果您的主要支付网关或商家帐户出现任何问题,它也可以是一个很好的备份。

5。 费用是多少?

支付网关和商家账户收取各种不同的费用,包括月费,每笔交易的固定费用,基于交易金额百分比的可变费用,以及退款,国际卡支付等额外费用。

您可以使用比较网站,例如 PaymentBrain 在与提供商签约之前,先了解费用并要求查看完整的收费表。

6。 合同多久了?

从历史上看,已知一些支付提供商将商家锁定为两年或更长时间的冗长合同。 如果您在签名后因某种原因发现您对提供商不满意,则可能会出现问题。 其他供应商很乐意让商家在月度滚动合同中使用它们。 确保您了解您要注册的那种。

7。 提供商是否有良好的声誉?

支付处理 对您的业务至关重要,因此您需要与在业界享有良好声誉的提供商合作。 一些支付提供商遇到了停电问题。 其他人在某些圈子中因无理由阻止商家的钱而享有声誉。 如果您之前没有听说过特定的付款服务提供商,请在注册之前加倍小心。

8。 支付网关是否满足您的需求?

您是否需要做的不仅仅是对您提供的商品或服务进行一次性付款? 也许您希望从客户处获得定期付款? 也许您希望充当市场,代表在您网站上列出的卖家进行付款? 大多数支付网关在其提供的功能方面都非常有限,因此请确保您考虑的支付网关具有您需要的功能。

大多数支付网关在其提供的功能方面都非常有限,因此请确保您考虑的支付网关具有您需要的功能。

9。 支付网关是否支持您的目标市场使用的付款方式?

世界各地都在使用大量的在线支付方式,从着名的和完善的Visa和MasterCard到仅在一两个国家使用的非常小众的支付方式。 每个支付网关都支持其中一些支付方式。 确保您了解目标市场中的人们喜欢使用哪种付款方式,并选择支持这些方法的付款网关。 如果您的网站不接受客户的首选付款方式,您将失去销售。

确保您了解目标市场中的人们喜欢使用哪种付款方式,并选择支持这些方法的付款网关。 如果您的网站不接受客户的首选付款方式,您将失去销售。

10。 您是否处于“高风险”业务?

支付提供商认为某些业务是“高风险”。 这通常是因为他们经营的部门。

一些高风险行业包括:

  • 赌博
  • 成人内容
  • 旅行
  • 烟草
  • 讨债
  • 电子书
  • 电子香烟
  • 饮食计划
  • 信用修复

如果您的业务位于这些行业之一,您可能会发现许多支付服务提供商不希望与您合作。 在这种情况下,您需要与专门从事所谓“高风险”付款处理的提供商合作。

要考虑的5热门支付网关

如果您已经考虑过这些10积分,那么您现在可以选择合适的支付网关了。

为了节省您的时间,这里有五个流行的支付网关,根据上述标准都做得很好。

支付网关
商标
支付线数据派彩线
Authorize.net授权网
条纹条纹
PayPal贝宝

您在选择支付网关时还考虑了哪些其他因素? 让我们知道!

马特·柯林斯

Matt是一家为许多电子商务公司构建技术的电子商务技术人员。 他经营PaymentBrain网站,在那里他喜欢帮助企业主了解有时复杂的支付处理世界。

Best Payment Gateways for 2016 Reviewed and Compared (Worldpay vs Authorize.net vs Adyen vs Stripe vs PayPal)

Which payment gateway should you use for your ecommerce store? With dozens of online payment processing options to choose from, it can be a complicated decision.

Everyone who is new to ecommerce will tell you that the most difficult task isn’t only to decide which platform is the best one, but also the different factors that you need to take into consideration when deciding which gateway is best for your specific needs. However, to learn more about each one, read on:

Pro Tip

Just a quick note to let you know which is my favourite Payment gateway + Merchant account combo to save you a lot of time and $$$: it’s called Dharma Merchant Services and it’s a really cool and ethical company! Check out my full review here
 
Just in case you’re in a hurry here’s our top with the best payment gateways:

Payment Gateway
Logo
Dharma Merchant Servicespayment gateway dharma merchant
Payline Datapayline
Authorize.netpayment gateway: authorize-net
Stripepayment gateway: stripe
PayPalpayment gateway: paypal

Now, here are ten factors to consider:

1. Is the payment gateway supported on your ecommerce platform?

Which ecommerce platform are you going to be using? Something SaaS-based like Shopify or BigCommerce, perhaps? Or a self-hosted platform like WooCommerce or Magento? Whichever platform you’ve chosen, there will be a range of off-the-shelf plugins or extensions to help you integrate with major payment gateways.

Where possible, choose a payment gateway that already has a plugin for your platform.

2. Do you want customers to enter their payment details directly on your site?

From a technical point of view, there are three ways for you to take payment details from a customer.

a) Payment form on your site, details posted to your server

The smoothest checkout experience for customers is usually for them to enter their payment details into a normal form on your site. Unfortunately, this is the least secure way of doing things so you’ll need to take very serious security precautions to remain PCI compliant. Unless you’re turning over millions per year, this probably won’t be cost-effective.

b) iFrame or redirect

An alternative to take payment details directly through your site is to include putting the checkout form in a secure iFrame (within a page on your site) or redirecting customers to a hosted payment page. It’s harder to get the payment form to match the rest of your website with these approaches, but they’re also the most secure way of doing things.

c) Payment form on your site, details sent straight from browser to secure payment gateway (not via your server)

Lastly, a middle-ground solution is to use a solution such as the Stripe payment gateway’s Stripe.js. With Stripe.js, your customers type their card details into a form on a page served from your site, but the Stripe.js code communicates directly with the Stripe server. The customer’s card details never pass through your web server. Your security responsibilities will be less than with a normal form, but much more involved that with an iFrame or redirect.

Make sure you understand the version 3.0 PCI data security standards effective from 1st January 2015 which give more details about the different categories and what merchants using each of these checkout methods need to do to be PCI compliant.

3. Do you want a payment gateway and merchant account or an all-in-one payment service provider?

Some payment providers such as SagePay or PayPoint offer just a payment gateway (the bit of technology that sits between your website and the payment networks). They require you to have your own merchant account (the special bank account that the money passes into — different from your regular business bank account). Other payment providers such as PayPal and Stripe offer a combined payment gateway and merchant account (effectively you’re using their merchant account.)

Try-Shopify

Getting an account with one of the combined providers tends to be easier than getting a merchant account, and tends to involve fewer setup and monthly fees. The per-transaction fees tend to be higher, however. For these reasons, small merchants may want to start with a combined payment provider. Larger merchants can typically save money by having their own merchant account.

4. Do you want to offer PayPal?

You don’t necessarily need to limit yourself to one payment gateway. Lots of ecommerce platforms allow you to offer multiple payment options to your customers. The most popular ‘secondary’ option to offer is PayPal. Lots of consumers have PayPal accounts and many of them prefer to pay by PayPal rather than enter credit card details into yet another website. Even if you don’t use PayPal as your main payment gateway, consider offering PayPal as an alternative way for customers to pay. It can also be a good backup in case of any problems with your primary payment gateway or merchant account.

5. What are the fees?

Payment gateways and merchant accounts charge various different fees that can include monthly fees, fixed fees per transaction, variable fees based on a percentage of transaction amounts, and extra fees for things like chargebacks, payments from international cards, and more. You can use a comparison website such as PaymentBrain to get an overview of fees and ask to see a full schedule of charges before signing with a provider.

6. How long is the contract?

Historically, some payment providers have been known to lock merchants into lengthy contracts of two years or more. This can be a problem if you find you’re not happy with the provider for some reason after signing. Other providers are happy to have merchants using them on a monthly rolling contract. Make sure you understand which sort you’re signing up to.

7. Does the provider have a good reputation?

Payment processing is critical to your business, so you’ll want to work with a provider who has a good reputation in the industry. Some payment providers have had problems with outages. Others have a reputation in some circles for blocking merchants’ money without due cause. If you haven’t heard of a particular payment provider before, be a little extra careful before signing up with them.

8. Does the payment gateway do what you need?

Does you need to do more than just take one-off payments for goods or services that you are providing? Perhaps you’re looking to take recurring payments from your customers? Perhaps you want to act as a marketplace, taking payments on behalf of sellers who are listing on your site? Most payment gateways are quite limited in the functionality they provide, so make sure the payment gateway you’re considering has the features you need.

9. Does the payment gateway support the payment methods your target market uses?

There is a huge number of online payment methods in use around the world, from the well-known and well-established Visa and MasterCard to very niche payment methods used in just one or two countries. Each payment gateway supports some of these payment methods. Make sure you understand which payment methods people in your target market like to use and choose a payment gateway with support for those methods. If your website doesn’t accept your customer’s preferred payment method, you will lose sales.

10. Are you in a ‘high-risk’ business?

Some businesses are considered by payment providers to be ‘high-risk’. This is generally because of the sector they operate in.

Some high-risk sectors include:

  • gambling
  • adult content
  • travel
  • tobacco
  • debt collection
  • e-books
  • electronic cigarettes
  • diet programmes
  • credit repair

If your business is in one of these sectors, you may find many payment providers don’t want to work with you. In such cases you’ll need to work with a provider that specialises in so-called ‘high-risk’ payment processing.

5 Popular Payment Gateways to Consider

If you’ve considered these 10 points, you’re now well on your way to choosing a suitable payment gateway.

To save you some time, here are five popular payment gateways that all do well based on the criteria above.

Payment Gateway
Logo
Dharma Merchant Servicesdharma-merchant
Payline Datapayline
Authorize.netauthorize-net
Stripestripe
PayPalpaypal

What other factors are you considering in choosing a payment gateway? Let us know!

 

Matt Collins

Matt is an e-commerce technology guy who has built the technology for a number of e-commerce companies. He runs the PaymentBrain website where he enjoys helping business owners make sense of the sometimes complicated world of payment processing.

13 Responses

  1. As much as people seem to hate Paypal, I think you’d have to be a fool to not at least offer it as an option on an ecommerce site. It’s just too trusted and well known not to. In fact I would even bet that offering it as an option is correlated with a higher conversion rate.

  2. Dear Catalin,
    Thanks for great resources as always. I have been looking into this a long time but couldn’t find any relevant info. We are trying to find the best off-the-shelf ecommerce solution for us but we don’t have a US bank account and turns out to take advantage of shopify payment gateway to cut on the transaction fees, you need to have a US account. Otherwise, we need to pay 2% on every transaction in addition to the general credit card rates. Any suggestion would be highly relevant.
    Best regards,

    1. You can find a list here with the international payment gateways available. Keep in mind that these gateways all come with their own transaction fees. All transaction fees will be lifted regardless of your plan only if you are eligible to apply for Shopify Payments. Cheers!

  3. Thanks for you valuable notes. I’m from iran and our business is about exportation of persian rugs, as we want to establish our online market we want a payment gateway provider but many of these providers don’t provide any service to iranian businesses. please help me to find a suitable provider that we can work with.
    kind regards

  4. I have been using Authorize.net for 8 years and their rates are the lowest I’ve found anywhere. Yes, you have to pay some monthly fees, but overall, if you sell a lot of volume, the per transaction fees are so much lower than anything else I have looked at.

  5. Paypal all the way, I’ve heard plenty of good things about Stripe – they customer service is excellent – at least when I was trying to contact them as a potential client.

  6. The combination we use (Stripe + PayPal, either Express or Standard) covers probably 95% of our customers.

    Most people tend to just setup PayPal because thats what comes with most of the big e-commerce systems already pre-setup and plus it’s super easy to configure.

    But I found that setting up Stripe as well to process credit cards on-site gave a great conversion increase. Plus it works in a similar way to PayPal on the backend, meaning you still don’t need to setup a merchant account with your bank and the money can just get transferred back to your bank account.

  7. Question for the Forum, our company is considering implementing Authorize.net or Stripe for a new eCommerce product we are launching and are trying to understand the fee structure. If we go with either Authorize.net or Stipe, do we still need merchant processing services from our bank?
    We currently use Intuit/Quickbooks to process credit cards for our current merchant services where we accept credit cards. For our new consumer eCommerce product, do we need to pay both Authorize.net or Stripe AND Quickbooks, or does Athorize.net/Stripe handle all aspects of processing the transaction? Thank you

  8. Great article Matt Collins
    You have given us such great information on the payment gateway. Please keep on posting some great articles.
    Thanks for the excellent post.

  9. Hi Collins,
    My difficulty with these payment gateways is that the kind of description they assign to transactions done on merchant site. Example, you check into a hotel, and they do a pre-authorization to secure funds… but the narration on the customers account says google pay… And customers are denying such transactions because they have not done any activities at google pay… Kindly me unravel such scenarios. Thanks

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Rating *