Selz vs. Squarespace - Was ist die richtige Wahl für Ihren eCommerce Store?

Bis vor ein paar Jahren war die Einrichtung eines Online-Shops teuer, da es bedeutete, Webentwickler einzustellen und eine eigene E-Commerce-Website zu erstellen. Jetzt sind Sie fast überwältigt von der Wahl der E-Commerce-Plugins und webbasierte Lösungen um selbst ein Online-Geschäft aufzubauen. Dies ist eine gute Nachricht für die wachsende Zahl von Bloggern und Freelancern, die digitale Artikel auf ihren eigenen Blogs oder Websites erstellen und verkaufen möchten.

In diesem Post werde ich zwei verschiedene E-Commerce-Lösungen vergleichen, die von digitalen Verkäufern verwendet werden, Squarespace Daten Selz.

Squarespace ist in erster Linie ein CMS und eine potentielle Alternative zu WordPress mit eingebauten E-Commerce-Funktionen. Sie haben vor kurzem ihre neueste Version, SquareSpace7, veröffentlicht, die einen verbesserten Interface- und Store-Designer hat.

Selz hingegen ist eine neue E-Commerce-Plattform, die sich besonders für den Verkauf von digitalen Produkten stark macht. Selz hat gerade seinen eigenen Store-Designer als App, Store Pro, veröffentlicht, mit dem das Aussehen eines Online-Shops angepasst werden kann.

Schauen wir uns beide genauer an.

Produktübersicht

Selz

Selz vs Squarespace

Selz ist eine webbasierte Plattform für den Verkauf digitaler Produkte und Dienstleistungen. Wenn Sie sich für ein kostenloses Selz-Konto anmelden, erhalten Sie Ihren eigenen Selz-Domain-Namen, Ihren Namen.selz.com und Ihren Online-Shop. Mit Selz können Sie Ihre Produkte oder ein einfaches Geschäft einfach in Ihre bestehende Website einbetten, indem Sie den Einbettungscode kopieren / einfügen. Falls Sie eine WordPress-Website haben, können Sie mit dem kostenlosen WordPress-Plugin von Selz Ihre Produkte importieren. Sie können auch die Selz Store Pro App verwenden, um eine voll funktionsfähige E-Commerce-Website in WordPress zu erstellen und anzupassen.

Die Einrichtung eines Selz-Geschäfts ist sehr einfach, schnell und erfordert kein technisches Know-how, was einer seiner Hauptvorteile ist.

Squarespace

Selz vs Squarespace - Squarespace-Startseite

Squarespace hingegen ist ein kostenpflichtiger, auf Abonnements basierender Website-Builder, der auffällige Websites produziert. Es ist ein komplettes CMS, das als Alternative zu WordPress verwendet werden kann. Wenn Sie sich für ein Squarespace-Konto anmelden, erhalten Sie eine eigene Domain, in der Sie aus einer Vielzahl hochwertiger Website-Vorlagen auswählen können und sofort mit dem Aufbau Ihrer Website beginnen können. Die Integration mit Google Apps ist ein Vorteil für Geschäftsanwender. Die Live-Bearbeitung und der Zugriff auf Getty-Bilder machen es zu einer attraktiven Wahl für Designer.

Einrichten eines Online-Shops

Selz

Hier finden Sie eine schnelle Schritt-für-Schritt-Anleitung zum Erstellen von Produkten und zum Einrichten eines Online-Shops auf Selz.

Melden Sie sich für ein kostenloses Selz-Konto

Wählen Sie nach der Anmeldung Ihren Produkttyp aus und vervollständigen Sie Ihre Zahlungsdetails. Selz übernimmt für Sie die Abwicklung von Kreditkarten- oder PayPal-Transaktionen. Sie werden dann von Selz direkt in Ihr Bankkonto oder PayPal-Konto eingezahlt.

Selz-Element-Dashboard

Selz Einrichtungshandbuch

Fügen Sie Ihre Produktbeschreibung, Preis, Vorschaubild / Video hinzu und laden Sie die Datei hoch.

Selz-Führer

Sobald Sie die Produktinformationen fertiggestellt haben, können Sie ein Produkt-Widget wie dieses auf Ihrer Website einbetten, indem Sie einfach eine oder zwei Codezeilen kopieren / einfügen.

Selz Einrichtungshandbuch

Ihre Käufer können die digitalen Dateien herunterladen oder in ihrem Dropbox-Konto speichern. Dateien können bis zu 15GB groß sein. Selz ist perfekt für den Verkauf von Lehrvideo-Tutorials, da es auch MP4 Video-Streaming ermöglicht.

Selz Downloadseite

Sie können auch Ihre eigene E-Commerce-Website erstellen, indem Sie die kostenpflichtige Store Pro App installieren.

Selz Store Pro App

Sie können ein Design auswählen, auswählen, wie Produkte angezeigt werden, Farben ändern, ein Logo hinzufügen und benutzerdefinierte Seiten erstellen.

Selz Armaturenbrett

Selz Einrichtungshandbuch

Wenn Sie mit CSS vertraut sind, können Sie das Erscheinungsbild des Geschäfts vollständig anpassen oder ein eigenes Thema erstellen. Selz verwendet die Liquid-Syntax, die den Shopify-Themen entspricht.

Selz CSS bearbeiten

Squarespace

Hier sehen Sie, wie Sie einen Squarespace Online-Shop einrichten.

Gehe zu Squarespace-Website und wählen Sie eine Vorlage für Ihren Shop aus, indem Sie auf Vorlagen zum Durchsuchen klicken.

Klicken Sie auf eine Vorlage und klicken Sie auf "Start with this design"

Zu diesem Zeitpunkt müssen Sie sich für ein kostenloses Testkonto anmelden, um Ihre Website zu starten.

Sobald Sie sich angemeldet haben, erhalten Sie Zugriff auf Ihre Webvorlage. Um Ihren Online-Shop zu konfigurieren, klicken Sie in der Navigation links auf den Tab "Commerce".

SquareSpace-Anleitung

Im Tab "Commerce" sehen Sie eine umfassende Liste mit E-Commerce-Funktionen.

SquareSpace-Anleitung

Um ein Produkt hinzuzufügen, klicken Sie auf Getting Started-> Add a Product

SquareSpace-Anleitung

So werden Ihre Produkte und Ihr Geschäft angezeigt.

SquareSpace-Anleitung

SquareSpace-Anleitung

So würden Ihre individuellen Produktseiten erscheinen.

SquareSpace-Anleitung

Zahlungsabwicklung & Pricing

- Selz

Selz hat einen sicheren integrierten Zahlungsprozessor. Kunden können mit Master Card, Visa, Amex und PayPal einkaufen. Für die Nutzung des Dienstes fallen keine monatlichen Gebühren an. Ihnen werden nur 5% Ihres Produktverkaufspreises + 25 Cent berechnet, wenn Sie einen Verkauf tätigen.

Selz bietet auch eine Reihe von kostenlosen und günstigen Apps. Die Store Pro App ist $ 9.99 pro Monat mit einer kostenlosen 14-Testversion.

- Squarespace

Squarespace verwendet Stripe für die Verarbeitung von Zahlungen. Das bedeutet, dass Sie sehen müssen, ob Stripe in Ihrer Region funktioniert oder nicht. Sie können keine PayPal-Zahlungen akzeptieren, was ein potenzieller Nachteil für digitale Verkäufer ist.

Es gibt 3-Preispakete für Squarespace - basic ($ 10), professional ($ 20) und business / unlimited ($ 30). Die Gesamtkosten für den Geschäftsplan mit unbegrenzter Speicherkapazität und Bandbreite (wie Selz) betragen $ 360 pro Monat über einen Jahr. Stripe berechnet 2.9% + 30-Cents pro Verkauf.

Funktionsvergleich

Hier ein kurzer Vergleich der Funktionen von Selz und Squarespace.

E-Mail-Autoresponder-Integration

Selz: Ermöglicht die Integration mit MailChimp, AWeber, Campaign Monitor

Quadrat: Ermöglicht die Integration mit MailChimp.

Hosting speichern

Selz: Hostet alle Ihre Produkte und speichert sie auf ihren sicheren AmazonS3-Servern.

Quadrat: Hosted Ihr Geschäft auf seinen sicheren Servern.

WordPress-Unterstützung

Selz: Bietet jedoch die Integration mit WordPress sein kostenloses Plugin

Quadrat: Unterstützt keine WordPress-Integration

Benutzerdefinierte Website-Integration

Selz: Kann durch Kopieren / Einfügen des Einbettungscodes integriert werden.

Quadrat: Kann nicht integriert werden.

Digitale Datei Downloads

Selz: Bietet integrierte Dateibereitstellung, Produktpakete, automatische Dateiaktualisierungsbenachrichtigungen an die Käufer, Dropbox- und Kindle-Download, PDF-Datei-Wasserzeichen und Dateigröße bis zu 15GB.

Quadrat: Bietet integrierte Dateibereitstellung.

Video-Downloads

Selz: Wenn Sie Video-Tutorials verkaufen, können Ihre Käufer MP4-Videos online streamen oder auf ihre Computer herunterladen.

Quadrat: Keine separaten Funktionen für Video-Downloads und -Streaming. Die Datei wird als normale digitale Datei heruntergeladen.

Bestell- und Kundenmanagement

Selz: Verwalten Sie Bestellungen und Inventar, Kundendetails und vorherige Kaufhistorie, senden Sie Nachrichten an Kunden und fügen Sie Notizen zu Kundenprofilen hinzu

Quadrat: Verwalten Sie Bestellungen und Bestände, aber kein separates CRM für die individuelle Kundenverwaltung. Ein Plus beim Verkauf von physischen Produkten ist Squarespace bietet auch Echtzeit-Carrier-Versand und Etikettendruck.

Mobile Kompatibilität

Selz: Die Online-Shop- und Produkt-Widgets reagieren auf Mobilgeräte, Smartphones und Tablets.

Quadrat: Alle Website-Vorlagen und Produktseiten basieren auf Responsive Design.

Kundenservice

Selz: Live-Chat und E-Mail-Unterstützung.

Quadrat: Live-Chat und E-Mail-Unterstützung.

The Verdict

Wenn Sie möchten, dass eine Website physische Produkte verkauft, die gut aussehen und nicht viel Zeit für die Einrichtung benötigen, dann Squarespace sollte auf Ihrer Shortlist sein. Es hat eine Menge zu bieten mit seiner Auswahl an gut aussehenden Themen und mit integriertem E-Commerce (wenn Stripe in Ihrer Region unterstützt wird). Es ist eine visuelle Plattform und spricht Designer und Künstler an.

Selz hat den Vorteil, dass digitale Produkte von einer bestehenden Website oder einem unabhängigen Online-Shop verkauft werden können. Es bietet auch mehr Funktionen für den Verkauf digitaler Downloads wie Multi-File-Downloads, Video-Streaming, unbegrenzte Produkte, unbegrenzten Speicherplatz und Bandbreite. WordPress-Kompatibilität und PayPal-Integration sind auch zwei wichtige Vorteile. Insgesamt scheint Selz das umfassendste Produkt speziell für den digitalen Vertrieb zu sein.

Jawad Khan

Jawad Khan ist ein Berater für Content Marketing bei QualitätsTrade, ein führendes E-Commerce-Portal von B2B. Folge ihm weiter Twitter.

Selz vs. Squarespace – What’s the Right Choice for Your eCommerce Store?

Selz vs. Squarespace

Until a few years ago, setting up an online store was expensive, as it meant hiring web developers and building a custom ecommerce website. Now you’re almost overwhelmed by the choice of ecommerce plugins and web based solutions for building an online store yourself. This is great news for the increasing number of bloggers and freelancers who are looking to create and sell digital items on their own blogs or websites.

In this post, I’ll be comparing two different ecommerce solutions which are being used by digital sellers, Squarespace and Selz.

Squarespace is primarily a CMS and a potential alternative to WordPress with built in ecommerce features. They recently released their most updated version, SquareSpace7 which has an improved interface and store designer.

Selz, on the other hand, is a new ecommerce platform which is especially strong for selling digital products. Selz has just released its own store designer as an app, Store Pro, which can be used to customize the look of an online store.

Let’s have a closer look at each of them.

Product Overview

Selz

Selz main page

Selz is a web based platform for selling digital products and services. By signing up for a free Selz account, you’ll get your own Selz domain name, yourname.selz.com, and online store. With Selz you can easily embed your products or a simple store within your existing website by copy/pasting the embed code. In case you have a WordPress website, you can use the free WordPress plugin of Selz to import your products. You can also use the Selz Store Pro app to create and customize a fully functional ecommerce website in WordPress.

Setting up a Selz store is extremely simple, fast and does not require any technical expertise, which is one of its main advantages.

Squarespace

SquareSpace main page

Squarespace, on the other hand is a paid subscription based website builder that produces eye-catching websites. It’s a complete CMS that can be used as an alternate to WordPress. By signing up for a Squarespace account, you’ll get your own domain where you can choose from a variety of high quality website templates and immediately start building your website.  Its integration with Google Apps is an advantage for business users, while the live editing and accessibility of Getty images makes it an attractive choice for designers.

Setting Up an Online Store

Selz

Here’s a quick step by step guide to creating products and setting up an online store on Selz.

Sign up for a free Selz account

Selz signup

After signing up, choose your product type and complete your payment details. Selz handles the processing of credit card or PayPal transactions for you. You then get paid by Selz directly into your bank account or PayPal account.

Selz item dashboard

Selz setup guide

Add your product description, price, preview image/video and upload the file.

Selz guide

Once you complete the product info, you can then embed a product widget like this on your website just by copy/pasting a line or two of code.

Selz setup guide

Your buyers can download the digital files or save them to their Dropbox account. Files can be up to 15GB in size. Selz is perfect for selling instructional video tutorials, as it allows MP4 video streaming as well.

Selz download page

You can also create your own ecommerce website by installing the paid Store Pro app.

Selz Store Pro app

You can choose a theme, select how products are displayed, change colors, add a logo, and create custom pages.

Selz dashboard

Selz setup guide

If you’re familiar with CSS, you can fully customize the look of the store or create your own theme. Selz uses Liquid syntax which is the same as Shopify themes.

Selz CSS edit

Squarespace

Here’s a quick look at how to set up a Squarespace online store.

Go to Squarespace website and choose a template for your store.

Try-Shopify

SquareSpace theme selection

Click on a template and click “start with this design”

SquareSpace guide

At this stage, you’ll be required to sign up for a free trial account to start your website.

SquareSpace guide

Once you sign up, you’ll get access to your web template. To configure your online store, click on the “Commerce” tab in the navigation on the left.

SquareSpace guide

In the commerce tab, you’ll see a comprehensive list of ecommerce features.

SquareSpace guide

To Add a product, click on Getting Started–>Add a Product

SquareSpace guide

Here’s how your products and store will appear.

SquareSpace guide

SquareSpace guide

This is how your individual product pages would appear.

SquareSpace guide

Payment Processing & Pricing

– Selz

Selz has a secure built-in payment processor. Customers can purchase with Master Card, Visa, Amex and PayPal. There are no monthly fees for using the service. You will only be charged 5% of your product sales price + 25 cents when you make a sale.

Selz also offers a range of free and low priced apps. The Store Pro app is $9.99 per month with a 14 day free trial.

– Squarespace

Squarespace uses Stripe for processing payments, which means you’ll need to see whether Stripe works in your region or not. You can’t accept PayPal payments, which is a potential drawback for digital sellers.

There are 3 different pricing packages available on Squarespace – basic ($10), professional ($20) and business/unlimited ($30). The total cost for the business plan, that has unlimited storage and bandwidth (the same as  Selz) is $360 per month over a year + Stripe charges 2.9% + 30 cents per sale.

Feature Comparison

Here’s a quick feature comparison of Selz and Squarespace.

Email Autoresponder Integration

– Selz: Allows integration with MailChimp, AWeber, Campaign Monitor

– Squarespace: Allows integration with MailChimp.

Store Hosting

– Selz: Hosts all your products and store on its secure AmazonS3 servers.

– Squarespace: Hosts your store on its secure servers.

WordPress Support

– Selz: Offers integration with WordPress though its free plugin

– Squarespace: Does not support WordPress integration

Custom Website Integration

– Selz: Can be integrated by copy/pasting the embed code.

– Squarespace: Cannot be integrated.

Digital File Downloads

– Selz: Offers built-in file delivery, product bundles, automatic file update notifications to the buyers, Dropbox and Kindle download, PDF file watermarking and file size of up to 15GB.

– Squarespace: Offers built-in file delivery.

Video Downloads

– Selz: If you’re selling video tutorials, your buyers can stream MP4 videos online or download to their computers.

– Squarespace: No separate features for video downloads and streaming. The file downloads as a normal digital file.

Order and Customer Management

– Selz: Manage orders and inventory, customer details and previous purchase history, send messages to customers and add notes to customer profiles

– Squarespace: Manage orders and inventory, but no separate CRM for individual customer management. A plus if selling physical products is Squarespace does also offer real time carrier shipping and label printing.

Mobile Compatibility

– Selz: The online store and product widgets are responsive to mobile, smartphones and tablets.

– Squarespace: All the website templates and product pages are built on responsive design.

Customer Support

– Selz: Live chat and email support.

– Squarespace: Live chat and email support.

The Verdict

If you want a website to sell physical products, which looks great and doesn’t require much time to setup, then Squarespace should be on your shortlist. It has a lot of to offer with its range of good looking themes and with integrated ecommerce (if Stripe is supported in your region). It’s very much a visual platform, and appeals to designers and artists.

Selz has the advantage as it can be used to sell digital products from an existing website or from an independent online store. It also has more features for selling digital downloads such as multi file downloads, video streaming, unlimited products, unlimited storage and bandwidth. WordPress compatibility and PayPal integration are also two major advantages. Overall, Selz looks to be the more complete product especially for digital selling.

Jawad Khan

Jawad Khan is a content marketing consultant at QualityTrade, a leading B2B ecommerce portal. Follow him on Twitter.

4 Responses

  1. I have found Selz to be a blessing to work with. I’m not the most, well, technology inclined person out there – so the simplicity Selz offers makes it really easy for me to get a great looking store up and running. They have many more themes now, I think, and I love the level to which I can customize my site. I sell my personal training plans online, and anytime I’ve had a question with the digital downloads, the customer service team has answered any questions I have had. I never tried Squarespace, but from my experience with Selz I don’t think I’ll be trying any other platform!

  2. Hey Jawad, awesome post!

    There are a few updates we wanted to share about what’s going on with Selz. Firstly, the current Selz standard fee is 4.9%+$0.30c (which is down from the 5%+$0.25 fee :)).

    Additionally, we’ve transitioned Store Pro to Design & Pages, which is an app that allows you to add a customizable store and buy buttons to your existing site and social profiles. It’s a pretty great tool for managing customers, orders, and payments all in one simple place.

    We’ve also released new app bundles (which can save you up to 36% instead of adding apps individually). If a seller installs our Plus or Pro bundle, the Selz processing fee drops to 1% and 0% respectively. More info about our new pricing changes and bundles can be found at https://selz.com/pricing/

  3. You neglected one piece of information about Selz. Yes, Selz CAN allow Paypal payments, but only if the shop pays Selz $4.99 per month for processing Paypal transactions. (They will process Amex, MC, and Visa without the fee – since they can do Amex, MC, and Visa through their own payment gateway.)

    1. Hey LM, you’re right that the PayPal app is $4.99 a month if you only install the PayPal app. We’ve got some exciting app bundles that make it more affordable and simple to use different additions to the forever free features of the Selz platform. The app bundles include big discounts on our most-loved and used apps, including PayPal.

      Also note that Amex, MC, and Visa payments aren’t processed for free: there are still transaction fees imposed by us by those companies you mention (generally at the standard 2.9%+$0.30c.). The new bundles do include lower Selz processing fees (as low as 0%).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Rating *