Selz vs Squarespace - Quel est le bon choix pour votre boutique de commerce électronique?

Jusqu'à il y a quelques années, la création d'une boutique en ligne coûtait cher, car elle impliquait l'embauche de développeurs Web et la création d'un site Web de commerce électronique personnalisé. Maintenant, vous êtes presque dépassé par le choix des plug-ins de commerce électronique et solutions web pour construire vous-même une boutique en ligne. Ce sont d'excellentes nouvelles pour le nombre croissant de blogueurs et de pigistes qui cherchent à créer et à vendre des articles numériques sur leurs propres blogs ou sites Web.

Dans cet article, je comparerai deux solutions de commerce électronique différentes utilisées par les vendeurs numériques, Squarespace et Selz.

Squarespace est avant tout un CMS et une alternative potentielle à WordPress avec des fonctionnalités de commerce électronique intégrées. Ils ont récemment publié leur version la plus récente, SquareSpace7, qui présente une interface améliorée et un concepteur de magasin.

Selz, quant à elle, est une nouvelle plate-forme de commerce électronique particulièrement performante pour la vente de produits numériques. Selz vient de publier son propre concepteur de magasin en tant qu'application, Store Pro, qui peut être utilisé pour personnaliser l'apparence d'une boutique en ligne.

Jetons un coup d'oeil à chacun d'eux.

Vue d'ensemble du produit

Selz

Selz vs Squarespace

Selz est une plate-forme Web de vente de produits et services numériques. En vous inscrivant à un compte Selz gratuit, vous obtenez votre propre nom de domaine Selz, votrenom.selz.com et votre boutique en ligne. Avec Selz, vous pouvez facilement intégrer vos produits ou un simple magasin dans votre site Web existant en copiant / collant le code intégré. Si vous avez un site WordPress, vous pouvez utiliser le plugin WordPress gratuit de Selz pour importer vos produits. Vous pouvez également utiliser l'application Selz Store Pro pour créer et personnaliser un site de commerce électronique entièrement fonctionnel dans WordPress.

La mise en place d'un magasin Selz est extrêmement simple, rapide et ne nécessite aucune expertise technique, ce qui constitue l'un de ses principaux avantages.

Squarespace

Selz vs Squarespace - homepage Squarespace

Squarespace, en revanche, est un constructeur de sites Web basé sur un abonnement payant qui produit des sites Web accrocheurs. C'est un CMS complet qui peut être utilisé comme alternative à WordPress. En vous inscrivant à un compte Squarespace, vous obtiendrez votre propre domaine où vous pourrez choisir parmi une variété de modèles de sites Web de haute qualité et commencer immédiatement à créer votre site Web. Son intégration à Google Apps constitue un avantage pour les utilisateurs professionnels, tandis que le montage en direct et l’accessibilité des images Getty en font un choix attrayant pour les concepteurs.

Créer un magasin en ligne

Selz

Voici un guide rapide pour la création de produits et la création d'une boutique en ligne sur Selz.

Inscrivez-vous pour compte Selz gratuit

Après vous être inscrit, choisissez votre type de produit et complétez vos informations de paiement. Selz s'occupe du traitement des transactions par carte de crédit ou PayPal pour vous. Vous êtes ensuite payé par Selz directement sur votre compte bancaire ou compte PayPal.

Tableau de bord Selz

Guide d'installation Selz

Ajoutez votre description de produit, prix, aperçu image / vidéo et téléchargez le fichier.

Guide Selz

Une fois que vous avez terminé les informations sur le produit, vous pouvez intégrer un widget de produit comme celui-ci sur votre site Web en copiant / collant une ligne ou deux de code.

Guide d'installation Selz

Vos acheteurs peuvent télécharger les fichiers numériques ou les enregistrer sur leur compte Dropbox. Les fichiers peuvent avoir une taille maximale de 15GB. Selz est parfait pour la vente de didacticiels vidéo pédagogiques, car il permet également le streaming vidéo MP4.

Page de téléchargement de Selz

Vous pouvez également créer votre propre site de commerce électronique en installant l'application Store Pro payante.

App Selz Store Pro

Vous pouvez choisir un thème, sélectionner le mode d'affichage des produits, modifier les couleurs, ajouter un logo et créer des pages personnalisées.

Tableau de bord Selz

Guide d'installation Selz

Si vous êtes familier avec CSS, vous pouvez personnaliser entièrement l'apparence du magasin ou créer votre propre thème. Selz utilise la syntaxe Liquid qui est identique aux thèmes Shopify.

Selz CSS modifier

Squarespace

Voici un bref aperçu de la configuration d'une boutique en ligne Squarespace.

Aller à Site web Squarespace et choisissez un modèle pour votre magasin en cliquant sur Démarrer la navigation dans les modèles.

Cliquez sur un modèle et cliquez sur «Commencer avec ce design»

À ce stade, vous devrez vous inscrire pour un compte d'essai gratuit afin de démarrer votre site Web.

Une fois inscrit, vous aurez accès à votre modèle Web. Pour configurer votre boutique en ligne, cliquez sur l'onglet «Commerce» dans la navigation de gauche.

Guide SquareSpace

Dans l'onglet Commerce, vous verrez une liste complète des fonctionnalités de commerce électronique.

Guide SquareSpace

Pour ajouter un produit, cliquez sur Démarrer -> Ajouter un produit.

Guide SquareSpace

Voici comment vos produits et votre magasin apparaîtront.

Guide SquareSpace

Guide SquareSpace

Voici comment vos pages de produit individuelles apparaissent.

Guide SquareSpace

Traitement des paiements et tarification

- Selz

Selz dispose d'un processeur de paiement intégré sécurisé. Les clients peuvent acheter avec Master Card, Visa, Amex et PayPal. Il n'y a pas de frais mensuels pour l'utilisation du service. Vous ne serez facturé que 5% du prix de vente de votre produit + 25 cents lorsque vous effectuez une vente.

Selz propose également une gamme d'applications gratuites et à bas prix. L'application Store Pro coûte $ 9.99 par mois avec un essai gratuit de jour 14.

- Squarespace

Squarespace utilise Stripe pour le traitement des paiements, ce qui signifie que vous devez vérifier si Stripe fonctionne dans votre région ou non. Vous ne pouvez pas accepter les paiements PayPal, ce qui constitue un inconvénient potentiel pour les vendeurs numériques.

Il existe différents forfaits 3 disponibles sur Squarespace - basique ($ 10), professionnel ($ 20) et professionnel / illimité ($ 30). Le coût total du plan commercial, avec stockage et bande passante illimités (identique à Selz), est de 360 $ par mois sur un an + frais de Stripe 2.9% + 30 centimes par vente.

Comparaison des fonctionnalités

Voici une comparaison rapide des fonctionnalités de Selz et Squarespace.

Intégration du répondeur automatique

- Selz: Permet l'intégration avec MailChimp, AWeber, Campaign Monitor

- Squarespace: Permet l'intégration avec MailChimp.

Hébergement de magasin

- Selz: Héberge tous vos produits et stocke sur ses serveurs AmazonS3 sécurisés.

- Squarespace: Héberge votre magasin sur ses serveurs sécurisés.

WordPress Soutien

- Selz: Intégration des offres avec WordPress si son plugin gratuit

- Squarespace: Ne supporte pas l'intégration WordPress

Intégration de site Web personnalisée

- Selz: Peut être intégré en copiant / collant le code incorporé.

- Squarespace: Ne peut pas être intégré.

Téléchargements de fichiers numériques

- Selz: Offre la livraison de fichiers intégrée, les offres groupées, les notifications automatiques de mise à jour des fichiers aux acheteurs, le téléchargement Dropbox et Kindle, le tatouage de fichiers PDF et la taille de fichier allant jusqu'à 15GB.

- Squarespace: Offre la livraison de fichiers intégrée.

Téléchargements de vidéos

- Selz: Si vous vendez des didacticiels vidéo, vos acheteurs peuvent diffuser des vidéos MP4 en ligne ou les télécharger sur leurs ordinateurs.

- Squarespace: Aucune fonctionnalité distincte pour le téléchargement de vidéos et le streaming. Le fichier est téléchargé sous forme de fichier numérique normal.

Commande et gestion des clients

- Selz: Gérer les commandes et les stocks, les détails des clients et l'historique des achats précédents, envoyer des messages aux clients et ajouter des notes aux profils des clients.

- Squarespace: Gérer les commandes et les stocks, mais pas de CRM séparé pour la gestion des clients individuels. Squarespace offre également un avantage supplémentaire si vous vendez des produits physiques.

Compatibilité mobile

- Selz: Les widgets de magasin en ligne et de produit répondent aux besoins des mobiles, des smartphones et des tablettes.

- Squarespace: Tous les modèles de site Web et toutes les pages de produits sont conçus selon un design réactif.

Service client

- Selz: Live chat et support par email.

- Squarespace: Live chat et support par email.

Le Verdict

Si vous voulez un site Web pour vendre des produits physiques, qui a fière allure et ne nécessite pas beaucoup de temps pour la configuration, alors Squarespace devrait être sur votre liste restreinte. Il a beaucoup à offrir avec sa gamme de thèmes attrayants et avec le commerce électronique intégré (si Stripe est pris en charge dans votre région). C'est une plate-forme visuelle qui attire les designers et les artistes.

Selz présente l'avantage de pouvoir vendre des produits numériques à partir d'un site Web existant ou d'un magasin en ligne indépendant. Il offre également davantage de fonctionnalités pour la vente de téléchargements numériques, tels que les téléchargements de fichiers multiples, la diffusion vidéo en continu, des produits illimités, un stockage illimité et de la bande passante. La compatibilité WordPress et l'intégration de PayPal sont également deux avantages majeurs. Dans l'ensemble, Selz semble être le produit le plus complet, en particulier pour la vente numérique.

Avatar

Jawad Khan

Jawad Khan est consultant en marketing de contenu chez Qualité du commerce, un portail leader du commerce électronique B2B. Le suivre sur Twitter.

Selz vs. Squarespace – What’s the Right Choice for Your eCommerce Store?

Selz vs. Squarespace

Until a few years ago, setting up an online store was expensive, as it meant hiring web developers and building a custom ecommerce website. Now you’re almost overwhelmed by the choice of ecommerce plugins and web based solutions for building an online store yourself. This is great news for the increasing number of bloggers and freelancers who are looking to create and sell digital items on their own blogs or websites.

In this post, I’ll be comparing two different ecommerce solutions which are being used by digital sellers, Squarespace and Selz.

Squarespace is primarily a CMS and a potential alternative to WordPress with built in ecommerce features. They recently released their most updated version, SquareSpace7 which has an improved interface and store designer.

Selz, on the other hand, is a new ecommerce platform which is especially strong for selling digital products. Selz has just released its own store designer as an app, Store Pro, which can be used to customize the look of an online store.

Let’s have a closer look at each of them.

Product Overview

Selz

Selz main page

Selz is a web based platform for selling digital products and services. By signing up for a free Selz account, you’ll get your own Selz domain name, yourname.selz.com, and online store. With Selz you can easily embed your products or a simple store within your existing website by copy/pasting the embed code. In case you have a WordPress website, you can use the free WordPress plugin of Selz to import your products. You can also use the Selz Store Pro app to create and customize a fully functional ecommerce website in WordPress.

Setting up a Selz store is extremely simple, fast and does not require any technical expertise, which is one of its main advantages.

Squarespace

SquareSpace main page

Squarespace, on the other hand is a paid subscription based website builder that produces eye-catching websites. It’s a complete CMS that can be used as an alternate to WordPress. By signing up for a Squarespace account, you’ll get your own domain where you can choose from a variety of high quality website templates and immediately start building your website.  Its integration with Google Apps is an advantage for business users, while the live editing and accessibility of Getty images makes it an attractive choice for designers.

Setting Up an Online Store

Selz

Here’s a quick step by step guide to creating products and setting up an online store on Selz.

Sign up for a free Selz account

Selz signup

After signing up, choose your product type and complete your payment details. Selz handles the processing of credit card or PayPal transactions for you. You then get paid by Selz directly into your bank account or PayPal account.

Selz item dashboard

Selz setup guide

Add your product description, price, preview image/video and upload the file.

Selz guide

Once you complete the product info, you can then embed a product widget like this on your website just by copy/pasting a line or two of code.

Selz setup guide

Your buyers can download the digital files or save them to their Dropbox account. Files can be up to 15GB in size. Selz is perfect for selling instructional video tutorials, as it allows MP4 video streaming as well.

Selz download page

You can also create your own ecommerce website by installing the paid Store Pro app.

Selz Store Pro app

You can choose a theme, select how products are displayed, change colors, add a logo, and create custom pages.

Selz dashboard

Selz setup guide

If you’re familiar with CSS, you can fully customize the look of the store or create your own theme. Selz uses Liquid syntax which is the same as Shopify themes.

Selz CSS edit

Squarespace

Here’s a quick look at how to set up a Squarespace online store.

Go to Squarespace website and choose a template for your store.

Try-Shopify

SquareSpace theme selection

Click on a template and click “start with this design”

SquareSpace guide

At this stage, you’ll be required to sign up for a free trial account to start your website.

SquareSpace guide

Once you sign up, you’ll get access to your web template. To configure your online store, click on the “Commerce” tab in the navigation on the left.

SquareSpace guide

In the commerce tab, you’ll see a comprehensive list of ecommerce features.

SquareSpace guide

To Add a product, click on Getting Started–>Add a Product

SquareSpace guide

Here’s how your products and store will appear.

SquareSpace guide

SquareSpace guide

This is how your individual product pages would appear.

SquareSpace guide

Payment Processing & Pricing

– Selz

Selz has a secure built-in payment processor. Customers can purchase with Master Card, Visa, Amex and PayPal. There are no monthly fees for using the service. You will only be charged 5% of your product sales price + 25 cents when you make a sale.

Selz also offers a range of free and low priced apps. The Store Pro app is $9.99 per month with a 14 day free trial.

– Squarespace

Squarespace uses Stripe for processing payments, which means you’ll need to see whether Stripe works in your region or not. You can’t accept PayPal payments, which is a potential drawback for digital sellers.

There are 3 different pricing packages available on Squarespace – basic ($10), professional ($20) and business/unlimited ($30). The total cost for the business plan, that has unlimited storage and bandwidth (the same as  Selz) is $360 per month over a year + Stripe charges 2.9% + 30 cents per sale.

Feature Comparison

Here’s a quick feature comparison of Selz and Squarespace.

Email Autoresponder Integration

– Selz: Allows integration with MailChimp, AWeber, Campaign Monitor

– Squarespace: Allows integration with MailChimp.

Store Hosting

– Selz: Hosts all your products and store on its secure AmazonS3 servers.

– Squarespace: Hosts your store on its secure servers.

WordPress Support

– Selz: Offers integration with WordPress though its free plugin

– Squarespace: Does not support WordPress integration

Custom Website Integration

– Selz: Can be integrated by copy/pasting the embed code.

– Squarespace: Cannot be integrated.

Digital File Downloads

– Selz: Offers built-in file delivery, product bundles, automatic file update notifications to the buyers, Dropbox and Kindle download, PDF file watermarking and file size of up to 15GB.

– Squarespace: Offers built-in file delivery.

Video Downloads

– Selz: If you’re selling video tutorials, your buyers can stream MP4 videos online or download to their computers.

– Squarespace: No separate features for video downloads and streaming. The file downloads as a normal digital file.

Order and Customer Management

– Selz: Manage orders and inventory, customer details and previous purchase history, send messages to customers and add notes to customer profiles

– Squarespace: Manage orders and inventory, but no separate CRM for individual customer management. A plus if selling physical products is Squarespace does also offer real time carrier shipping and label printing.

Mobile Compatibility

– Selz: The online store and product widgets are responsive to mobile, smartphones and tablets.

– Squarespace: All the website templates and product pages are built on responsive design.

Customer Support

– Selz: Live chat and email support.

– Squarespace: Live chat and email support.

The Verdict

If you want a website to sell physical products, which looks great and doesn’t require much time to setup, then Squarespace should be on your shortlist. It has a lot of to offer with its range of good looking themes and with integrated ecommerce (if Stripe is supported in your region). It’s very much a visual platform, and appeals to designers and artists.

Selz has the advantage as it can be used to sell digital products from an existing website or from an independent online store. It also has more features for selling digital downloads such as multi file downloads, video streaming, unlimited products, unlimited storage and bandwidth. WordPress compatibility and PayPal integration are also two major advantages. Overall, Selz looks to be the more complete product especially for digital selling.

Jawad Khan

Jawad Khan is a content marketing consultant at QualityTrade, a leading B2B ecommerce portal. Follow him on Twitter.

4 Responses

  1. I have found Selz to be a blessing to work with. I’m not the most, well, technology inclined person out there – so the simplicity Selz offers makes it really easy for me to get a great looking store up and running. They have many more themes now, I think, and I love the level to which I can customize my site. I sell my personal training plans online, and anytime I’ve had a question with the digital downloads, the customer service team has answered any questions I have had. I never tried Squarespace, but from my experience with Selz I don’t think I’ll be trying any other platform!

  2. Hey Jawad, awesome post!

    There are a few updates we wanted to share about what’s going on with Selz. Firstly, the current Selz standard fee is 4.9%+$0.30c (which is down from the 5%+$0.25 fee :)).

    Additionally, we’ve transitioned Store Pro to Design & Pages, which is an app that allows you to add a customizable store and buy buttons to your existing site and social profiles. It’s a pretty great tool for managing customers, orders, and payments all in one simple place.

    We’ve also released new app bundles (which can save you up to 36% instead of adding apps individually). If a seller installs our Plus or Pro bundle, the Selz processing fee drops to 1% and 0% respectively. More info about our new pricing changes and bundles can be found at https://selz.com/pricing/

  3. You neglected one piece of information about Selz. Yes, Selz CAN allow Paypal payments, but only if the shop pays Selz $4.99 per month for processing Paypal transactions. (They will process Amex, MC, and Visa without the fee – since they can do Amex, MC, and Visa through their own payment gateway.)

    1. Hey LM, you’re right that the PayPal app is $4.99 a month if you only install the PayPal app. We’ve got some exciting app bundles that make it more affordable and simple to use different additions to the forever free features of the Selz platform. The app bundles include big discounts on our most-loved and used apps, including PayPal.

      Also note that Amex, MC, and Visa payments aren’t processed for free: there are still transaction fees imposed by us by those companies you mention (generally at the standard 2.9%+$0.30c.). The new bundles do include lower Selz processing fees (as low as 0%).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Rating *