什么是贝宝?

PayPal是世界领先的 付款处理 公司,成立于1998。 PayPal致力于处理付款 商人。 PayPal允许在线购物时快速支付方式,以及在个人或另一个人之间转移资金,用于个人或商业用途。

建立PayPal帐户是免费的,并且在世界上大多数国家/地区都可用。 我们接受多种不同货币的付款,您可以选择设置个人或商业帐户。

贝宝 还提供制作和发送商业用发票的选项,虽然交易涉及一些费用,但它被认为是一种安全可靠的资金转移方法。 企业帐户还可以通过PayPal接受信用卡,从而允许他们绕过对商家帐户的需求,这对新公司来说有时很难保证。

贝宝概述

自成立以来,PayPal已经获得超过250百万的消费者账户和近18百万 商家账户.

PayPal的产品和服务

您认为PayPal主要是P2P支付服务是错误的。 从它的日子开始 付款处理器,贝宝(PayPal)扩展了其功能范围,以为其客户群提供更多服务。

早在2015年,PayPal就独立成为一家上市公司,并与其母公司eBay分离。

作为商家,如果您想开始使用PayPal,那么有3选项供您选择:

  • PayPal Checkout
  • PayPal付款标准
  • PayPal Payments Pro

PayPal Checkout 使您可以非常轻松地在您的网站上添加结帐按钮,以便您的客户可以无缝购买商品。 要激活结帐按钮,您可以自己执行,但是,您可能需要开发人员的帮助,因此请务必共享 集成文档 它们。

Paypal Checkout提供多种好处,包括但不限于:

  • 安全且符合PCI标准 –贝宝功能齐全 符合PCI标准 这样可以确保您和您的客户得到充分保护
  • 单键 –通过使用PayPal的“一键式”支付系统确保您提高转换率。 这意味着客户不必登录或填写其任何账单信息。 根据他们的研究,贝宝为您带来的转化次数最多可提高82%
  • 快速结账 –让您增加销售额的另一项改进是客户可以选择从购物袋或产品页面中结帐

PayPal付款标准 比Checkout更加复杂,并允许商家通过结帐流程灵活定制。

标准的一些主要功能包括:

  • PCI合规性 –与Checkout完全相同,Standard完全兼容PCI。 这是另一个可以帮助您增加网站转化次数的信任因素
  • 完全可定制的按钮 – PayPal的按钮构建器使您可以为结帐流程创建完全独特的按钮。 您还可以调整当有人单击它们时发生的情况。 您想直接去结帐,还是希望客户去购物车页面评估他们的订单?

最后,有 Paypal Payments Pro 这是3选项中最可定制的。 如果您知道自己对开发工作的公平分享或了解任何技术娴熟的开发人员,那么Payments Pro值得一看。

Paypal Payments Pro为您提供:

  • 结帐页面 –使用Standard,您可以选择自定义按钮,使用Pro,您可以更进一步,并自定义整个结帐页面。 这确实会影响您的PCI合规性,因为您可以减轻PayPal的负担,因此必须至少每季度检查一次以确保您仍然合规
  • 高级安全性 –您可以受益于Visa验证的3D Secure和MasterCard SecureCode,此外PayPal还提供高级欺诈管理过滤器和其他地址验证检查
  • 成立 –成为专业客户意味着您可以利用贝宝(Paypal)的付款专家来帮助您设置专业帐户,并提供其他建议

其他服务:

营销解决方案 –贝宝(PayPal)为您提供客户见解,从而可以增加销售额。 例如,您可以快速找到网站上的平均订单大小,是否该增加此数量并提供免费送货优惠? 此外,您可以显示PayPal奖励(例如Paypal信用),并查看有多少人利用它

贝宝营销解决方案

PayPal信用卡 –正如我刚才提到的,您可以为客户提供以信用卡付款的选项。 您网站上的标语可以突出显示它们可以随着时间的流逝而支付,并且不收取额外费用。 它也被证明可以提高客户的销售水平,但是,这需要获得信贷批准

Venmo –这是一种社交支付服务,全球数以百万计的千禧一代使用。 用户分享他们的购买,并通过社交订阅源与他人共享。 如果您的人口统计还很年轻,那么值得研究一下

贝宝的venmo

虚拟终端 –这使您可以选择通过电话付款,同时将卡的详细信息输入浏览器窗口。 这需要每月额外支付30美元

定期付款 –另一项附加服务,每月额外收费10美元。 这使您可以进行定期付款,例如俱乐部费用,新闻通讯订阅和捐赠

PayPal在这里 – PayPal现在具有读卡器,使您可以亲自进行卡或非接触式付款。 这与Android Pay和Apply Pay都兼容。 还有一个应用程序,可让您存储多达200个用户,并管理您的库存以及生成销售报告

paypalhere

群众支付 –您还可以通过PayPal的批量付款选项向您的员工付款。 因此,您只需单击一下按钮即可发送多次付款。 您可以使用电子表格或PayPal的内置API

全新公寓

5月2018,Paypal以2.2bn的价格收购瑞典商业iZettle。 iZettle是一家移动支付公司,销售针对中小型企业的读卡器。

izettle和贝宝

(图片提供: iZettle)

由于在线支付服务的竞争日益激烈,PayPal认为这是一个精明的举动。 现在这意味着PayPal现在在欧洲和拉丁美洲的11市场有店内业务。 但是,现在有了 看门狗越来越关注 合并将推高价格,实际上将减少向客户提供的服务数量。

费用和费率

使用所有PayPal服务,您只需担心付款处理费用。 这是因为如果您决定取消,所有计划都没有安装费,没有年费和免费。

贝宝费

Paypal交易费用

如果您在美国,无论您采取何种计划,以下费用都将适用于您:

  • 对于所有交易,您将支付 2.9%+ $ 0.30
  • 对于所有移动(包括非接触式)以及店内交易,您需要付费 2.7%
  • 如果您每月额外支付$ 30的虚拟终端选项,您将支付 3.5%+ $ 0.15 任何时候你键入一个交易
  • 对于向员工支付的大额支出,您将支付 2% 使用在线表格时,或 每笔付款$ 0.25 使用API​​时

除了标准交易费用外,您还需要注意一些其他费用:

  • 如果您的一位客户要求退款,您可能会面临费用。 如果您的付款受卖家保护政策保障,那么PayPal将承担费用。 阅读更多内容 PayPal的退款指南
  • 如果您收到来自美国境外的任何款项,那么您将需要付款 1.5%的费用
  • 如果您需要退款给客户,那么PayPal会收取一小笔费用 $0.30$0.15 对于键控交易

PayPal月费

如果您使用PayPal Checkout或Standard,则不会按月收取费用。 这是因为客户被重定向到PayPal网站以完成结账。 有时,这可能不会在您的Google Analytics上显示为转化,因为用户可能不会等待重定向。 如果您想让人们访问您的网站,那么您需要付费 PayPal Payments Pro每月$ 30的费用.

贝宝付款亲

除了让人们在您的网站上,您还可以设计结帐以匹配您的网站,以及利用虚拟终端通过电话接受订单。

集成

Paypal有大量可用的电子商务集成。 除下面的电子商务解决方案外,它还与诸如Vend和Levu之类的店内选项以及诸如 Xero 和快速手册。

电子商务集成:

服务与支持

您可以通过多种方式联系PayPal。 如果您使用PayPal Payments Pro,除了持续支持外,您还可以在设置过程中获得支持。

  • 论坛: 如果您遇到问题,另一位商家也会遇到同样的问题。 社区论坛是一个开始获得一些伟大见解和经验的绝佳场所
  • 知识库: PayPal还提供自己的自助资源,这是为消费者和商家建立的。 只需输入一个问题,就可以在数据库中找到大量的答案
  • 电话和电子邮件支持: 只需在搜索引擎中搜索“ PayPal客户支持评论”,您就会看到评论并不过分。 电话支持非常不一致,这是PayPal的最大缺点。 尽管这并不理想,但我将首先从论坛和知识库开始,并首先征询您的同行商人的建议。
  • 社交媒体: 除了电话支持外,我还将前往贝宝 Twitter 帐户@AskPaypal获得帮助并通过直接消息与他们交谈

贝宝支持

有很多针对贝宝的投诉,但是一旦您发现它,您就会发现其中的许多投诉都是没有根据的。 许多人抱怨实际上是贝宝无法解决的问题,而这些都是客户的问题。

Pro的

确保用户 – PayPal提供的所有服务均符合PCI。 贝宝(PayPal)也是一项公认且值得信赖的服务,因此客户可以放心地在您的网站上购物

每月费用 –标准或结帐选项不收取月费,您只需支付付款处理费。 值得注意的是,如果您想在国际范围内运输,则跨境销售需要付费

开发人员的灵活性 – Payments Pro服务具有极大的灵活性,可自定义结帐以匹配您的商店。 整个文档也非常有帮助,可以使您的开发人员快速完成工作

贝宝文档

电子商务集成 –作为电子商务卖家,当务之急是您的后端程序包必须相互集成。 大多数电子商务平台以及Mailchimp和 Xero

PayPal在这里 –如果您希望在弹出窗口或活动中出售产品,则非接触式读卡器是一项绝佳的资产。 该应用程序可让您随时随地管理库存和销售报告,这是另一个巨大的优势。 PayPal与iZettle的合并也只能加强这一领域

反对的

客户支持 –在贝宝游说的最大批评之一是他们缺乏通过电话获得的知识支持。 您还可能遇到帐户暂停等问题,例如处理量激增时。 纠正暂停等问题可能需要一个漫长的过程

跨境费用 –接受国际客户的付款可能会很昂贵,并会降低您的利润率。 例如,客户可能希望将商品发送到美国,但是如果他们从其他国家/地区付款,则会向您收费

重定向 –如果您使用标准或结帐服务,则可能很难跟踪您的客户旅程。 客户被发送到PayPal完成交易,这可能会使您的Analytics(分析)产生偏差

Paypal适合我吗?

如果您是在自己国家销售量较小的商家,那么PayPal非常适合您。 如果您也擅长开发或者已经在您的员工中拥有开发人员,则必须使用PayPal Payments Pro。

如果您是一家商店,也有实体店或在活动中销售,那么PayPal Here非常有用。

没有

如果您是一家在国际上销售的高端公司,那么您可能希望在其他地方寻找更加慷慨的国际费用。 此外,如果您的公司被视为高风险,例如,如果您销售成人产品,那么PayPal将阻止您使用他们的服务。

总结

总体而言,PayPal对中小型电子商务商人而言是一项出色的服务。 这是一个在电子商务世界中值得信赖的公认品牌,其服务中提供的“一键式”结帐功能使商家能够增加其转化次数。

支持是最终让PayPal失望的原因,但是服务上有这么多商家,不可避免地会有人帮忙。

您是否将PayPal用于您的业务,并且您是粉丝吗? 您更喜欢市场上的替代品吗? 下面的评论让我们开始讨论吧!

成为电子商务专家

输入您的电子邮件以开始派对

What is PayPal?

PayPal is the world’s leading payment processing company, which was founded in 1998. PayPal went about dedicating itself to processing payments for merchants. PayPal allows for a rapid method of payment when shopping online, as well as for the transfer of funds between one person and another, either for personal or business use.

The setting up of a PayPal account is free and available in most countries in the world. Payment is accepted in many different currencies, and you can opt to set up an account for personal or for business use.

PayPal also offers options to make and send invoices for business use, and although some fees are involved in transactions it is recognized as a safe and secure method for the transfer of funds. Business accounts are also able to accept credit cards through PayPal, allowing them to bypass the need for a merchant account, which can sometimes be difficult for a new company to secure.

paypal overview

Since their inception, PayPal has gone on acquire more than 250 million consumer accounts and almost 18 million merchant accounts.

PayPal's Product & Services

You would be wrong in thinking that PayPal is primarily a P2P payment service. Since the days of it being a payment processor, PayPal has extended their repertoire to offer much more for its customer base.

Back in 2015 PayPal became a public traded company in its own right and separated from its parent company eBay.

As a merchant if you want to start using PayPal then there are 3 options for you to choose from:

  • PayPal Checkout
  • PayPal Payments Standard
  • PayPal Payments Pro

PayPal Checkout allows you to very easily add a checkout button to your website so your customers can purchase goods seamlessly. To activate the checkout button you can do so yourself, however, you may require a developers hand so make sure to share the integration documentation with them.

Paypal Checkout provides several benefits which include, but are not limited to:

  • Secure and PCI Compliant – PayPal is fully PCI compliant so it ensures that both you and your customer are fully protected
  • One touch – Ensure you are keeping your conversion rates up by taking advantage of PayPal's ‘one touch' payment system. This means that customers don't have to be logged in or fill out any of their billing information. According to their research, PayPal offers you up to an 82% increase in conversions
  • Fast checkout – Another improvement to allow you to increase sales is the option for your customers to checkout from their shopping bag or product page

PayPal Payments Standard is much more involved than Checkout and allows merchants to be flexible and customizable with their checkout process.

Some top features on standard include:

  • PCI Compliance – Exactly the same as Checkout, Standard is also fully PCI compliant. This is another trust factor that can help increase conversions on your site
  • Fully customizable buttons – PayPal's button builder allows you to create completely unique buttons for your checkout process. You can also adjust what happens when someone clicks them. Do you want to go straight to the checkout, or would you prefer customers to go to the cart page to assess their order?

Lastly, there is Paypal Payments Pro which is the most customizable of the 3 options. If you know your fair share about development work or know any highly skilled developers then Payments Pro is worth a look.

Paypal Payments Pro offers you:

  • Checkout Page – With Standard, you had the option to customize your buttons, with Pro you can go a step further and customize the whole checkout page. This does affect your PCI compliance as you are taking some of the burdens away from PayPal, therefore its imperative that you do at least a quarterly check to ensure you're still compliant
  • Advanced security – You can benefit from 3D Secure with Verified by Visa and MasterCard SecureCode, plus PayPal also offers an advanced fraud management filter and additional address verification checks
  • Set up – Becoming a Pro customer means you can take advantage of Paypal's payment specialists who are on hand to help set up your pro account as well as advise with additional steps

Other Services

Marketing Solutions – PayPal offers you customer insights so you can increase your sales. For example, you can quickly discover the average order size on your website, is it time to increase this and offer a free shipping incentive? Additionally, you can display PayPal incentives (such as Paypal credit) and see how many people took advantage of it

paypal marketing solutions

PayPal credit – As I just mentioned, you can offer your customers the option to pay on credit. The banners on your website can highlight that they can pay over time and it comes at no additional cost. It's also proven to raise customer sales levels, however, it is subject to credit approval

Venmo – This is a social payment service that is used by millions of Millennials worldwide. Users share their purchases and like others through a social feed. If your demographic is fairly young then it's worth looking into this

venmo for paypal

Virtual Terminal – This gives you the option to take payments over the phone while inputting the card details into a browser window. This comes at an additional price of $30 a month

Recurring Payments – Another add-on service that costs an additional $10 a month. This allows you to take recurring payments such as club fees, newsletter subscriptions and donations

PayPal Here – PayPal now have a card reader which enables you to take a card or contactless payments in person. This is compatible with both Android Pay and Apply Pay. There is also an app which allows you to store up to 200 users and also manage your inventory as well as generate sales reports

paypalhere

Mass Payouts – You can also pay your employees via PayPal's mass payout option. Therefore you can send multiple payments with one click of a button. You either use a spreadsheet or PayPal's built-in API

New Developments

In May 2018, Paypal acquired Swedish business iZettle for $2.2bn. iZettle are a mobile payments company that sells a card-reader aimed at small to medium businesses.

izettle and paypal

(Image courtesy of iZettle)

This was seen as a savvy move by PayPal as competition in the online payments service was increasing. This now means that PayPal now has an in-store presence in 11 markets in Europe and Latin America. However, there are now growing concerns from watchdog that the merger will push-up prices and will, in fact, reduce the number of services on offer to customers.

Fees and Rates

With all PayPal services you only have to worry about payment processing fees. That's because all plans come with no setup fee, no annual costs and no fees if you decide to cancel.

paypal fees

Paypal Transaction Fees

Regardless of what plan you are on the following fees will apply to you, if you are in the US:

  • For all transactions, you will pay 2.9% + $0.30
  • For all mobile (including contactless) as well as in-store transactions you will pay 2.7%
  • If you take up the virtual terminal option at $30 extra a month you will pay 3.5% + $0.15 anytime you key in a transaction
  • For mass payouts to your employees, you will pay 2% when using the online form, or $0.25 for each payout when using the API

As well as the standard transaction fees there are also some other fees that you want to make note of:

  • You may face a fee if one of your customers requests a chargeback. If your payment is covered by seller protection policy then PayPal will cover the fee. Read more at PayPal's chargeback guide
  • If you receive any payments from outside the US then you will incur a 1.5% fee
  • If you need to refund a customer then PayPal charges a very small fee of $0.30, or $0.15 for a keyed transaction

PayPal Monthly Fees

If you use either PayPal Checkout or Standard then you won't be charged a monthly fee. This is because customers are redirected to the PayPal website to complete the checkout. Sometimes this may not show as a conversion on your Analytics though as the user may not wait to be redirected. If you want to keep people on your website then you will need to pay a $30 monthly fee for PayPal Payments Pro.

paypal payments pro

As well as keeping people on your site you can also design the checkout to match your website as well as take advantage of Virtual Terminal to accept orders over the phone.

Integrations

Paypal has an abundance of e-commerce integrations available. As well as the e-commerce solutions below it also links with in-store options such as Vend and Levu and accounting options such as Xero and Quickbooks.

Ecommerce Integrations:

Support

There are a number of ways that you can contact PayPal. As well as ongoing support you have the advantage of support during set up if you are using PayPal Payments Pro.

  • Forum: Invariably if you run into an issue, another merchant has experienced the same issue. The community forum is a fantastic place to start to access some great insight and experience
  • Knowledgebase: PayPal also offer their own self-help resources, this is built for both consumers as well as merchants. Just type in a question and there is a load of answers which can be found in the database
  • Phone and Email support: Just by searching “PayPal customer support reviews” in your search engine you will see the reviews aren't overly positive. Phone support is very inconsistent and is the biggest disadvantage of PayPal. Although it's not ideal, I would start with the forum and knowledge base and garner the advice of your fellow merchants first
  • Social Media: Instead of phone support I would also head to PayPal's Twitter account @AskPaypal to get some help and speak to them via direct message

paypal support

There are a lot of complaints against PayPal but once you get into it you can see that a lot of these are not warranted. A lot of people are complaining about issues that are in fact out of PayPal's hands and are issues with the customers.

Pro's

Security – All services that PayPal offer are PCI compliant. PayPal is also a recognised and trustworthy service so customers can shop on your website with great confidence

Monthly Fees – There are no monthly fees for the standard or checkout options and you only pay for the payment processing fees. It's worth noting if you want to ship internationally, there are fees on cross-border selling

Flexibility for Developers – There is great flexibility on the Payments Pro service to customise your checkout to match your store. The documentation as a whole is very helpful as well and allows your developer to get things done quickly

paypal documentation

Ecommerce integrations – As an ecommerce seller its imperative that your backend packages all integrate with each other. There are very quick setups for most ecommerce platforms as well as software such as Mailchimp and Xero

PayPal Here – The contactless card reader is a fantastic asset if you are looking to sell at pop-ups or events. The app which allows you to manage your inventory and sales reporting whilst on the go is another great advantage. PayPal's merger with iZettle as well can only strengthen this area

Con's

Customer support – One of the biggest criticisms lobbied at PayPal is their lack of knowledgeable support over the phone. You can also run into issues such as account suspensions, such as when you get a spike in processing volume. There can be a lengthy process to rectify issues such as suspensions

Cross-Border Fees – Accepting payments from international customers can be pricey and cut into your profit margin. A customer may want items to be sent to the US for example but if they pay from another country you will be charged

Redirect – If you are on the standard or checkout service then it can be difficult to track your customer journey. Customers are sent to PayPal to complete transactions and this can skew your Analytics

Is Paypal right for me?

Yes

If you are a merchant who is selling low volume, within your own country then PayPal is ideal for you. If you are also adept at development or have a developer already amongst your employees then taking advantage of PayPal Payments Pro is a must.

If you are a merchant who also has a brick and mortar store or sells at events then PayPal Here is very beneficial.

No

If you are a high-end company that sells internationally then you might want to look elsewhere that is more generous with international fees. Additionally, if your company is seen as high risk, for example, if you sold adult products then PayPal will stop you from using their service.

Conclusion

Overall PayPal is a fantastic service for small to medium ecommerce merchants. It's a recognised brand that is trusted in the ecommerce world and the “one touch” checkout available in their service enable merchants to increase their conversions.

Support is what ultimately lets PayPal down, but there are so many merchants on the service that there will inevitably be someone to help.

Have you used PayPal for your business and are you a fan? Are there any alternatives on the market that you prefer? Comment below and lets get the discussion going!

Become an ecommerce expert

Enter your email to get the party started