Magento Hosting的终极指南

Magento的 是电子商务领域的强大解决方案。 许多开发商和商店所有者依靠Magento在线销售他们的产品。 如果您是这些用户之一,您可能花了一些时间为您的企业找出最好的Magento托管解决方案。

虽然Magento的要求不是特别的,但并非每个网络托管服务提供商都可以同样运行Magento安装。 因此,在为您的网站选择Magento托管服务提供商时,您需要考虑一些特殊注意事项。

在本文中,我们将讨论与Magento托管相关的必须注意的因素,提示和想法。

Magento Hosting入门

首先,让我们关注明显和基本的事情。 无论您的Magento商店的规模如何,您的网络托管服务提供商都应提供以下功能。

资金安全

确保您的Magento托管计划具有自己的安全功能。 是的,您应该尽一切努力加强和保护您的网站免受黑客攻击。 但就服务器安全性而言,您的Magento托管服务提供商的责任在于此。

从本质上讲,您的托管服务提供商应确保服务器运行最新的软件(例如,操作系统和控制面板)。 此外,还应该有适当的DDoS保护,以及一个不错的防火墙和反恶意软件策略。 首先,您可以向您的网络托管服务提供商提出以下问题,以评估他们的安全尝试:

  • 你运行服务器端病毒扫描程序?
  • 你提供DDoS保护机制吗? 如果是,是硬件级别还是软件级别?
  • 你有防火墙和Magento托管相关的安全功能吗? 你应该寻找的最好的是能够关闭或打开特定的PHP模块(大多数体面的Web主机提供它不收取额外费用)。

速度

除此之外,速度至关重要。 没人喜欢慢的网站。 另外,如果Magento网站没有经过适当的优化,它们本身的运行速度可能会稍慢。 但是,很容易将责任推卸给网站配置。 如果你所在的托管服务器过于拥挤怎么办? 选择网络托管服务提供商是一个好主意,这些提供商需要特别注意运行最先进的基础设施,以便他们的硬件不会过载或响应缓慢。

ping有问题的服务器IP或对其执行traceroute可能是个好主意。 这将帮助您检查可能影响页面加载时间的任何延迟问题。 此外,您应该询问您的Magento托管服务提供商他们正在使用的任何服务器端缓存机制。 对于Magento托管环境,memCache或xCache相当流行。 请注意,这种开箱即用的服务器端缓存主要适用于共享或半专用托管环境。 在自我管理的服务器上设置缓存解决方案通常是您自己的责任(尽管您的Web主机可以指导您在这种情况下遵循哪种方法)。

兼容性

请务必查看Magento托管要求,并将其与您的网络托管服务提供商提供的规格进行比较。 在继续之前,请检查PCI合规性,以确保您的Magento商店不会遇到任何不必要的合规性问题。

此外,展望未来是一个更明智的选择。 PHP 5.x已经失宠,越来越多的用户转向PHP 7.x事实上,Magento 2.0及更高版本建议使用PHP 7.0或更高版本。 因此,如果他们符合最新的兼容性指南,请咨询您的Magento托管服务提供商。

理想情况下,您应该查找MySQL 5.6或更高版本,Apache 2.x和PHP 7.0或更高版本。 请注意,对于不运行Apache但依赖NGINX或LiteSpeed的服务器,需要相应地调整要求。

技术支持

支持呢? 互联网不会去度假。 也不应该提供技术支持,因为当你最不希望的时候,事情往往会出错。 如果您的网站在周六晚上下线怎么办? 还是平安夜? 您可能希望从Magento托管服务提供商那里获得一些不错的技术支持,不是吗? 因此,虽然销售和计费支持可以等待,但即使在奇数小时也应该可以访问技术支持。

现在,如果你每月只为Magento托管支付几美元,那么要求全天候支持似乎有点太多了。 这就是说“你得到你付出的代价”的说法。 为了在您可能需要的任何时间获得高质量的支持,支付额外费用是一项非常明智的投资。 此外,您不必坚持实时聊天和电话支持 - 虽然这些都很好,但高端技术支持通常最好通过电子邮件或门票提供,您可以分享屏幕截图并详细描述您的问题。

Magento Hosting的终极指南

您需要什么类型的Magento主机?

Magento托管的选项很多。 您可以选择简单的共享主机包,也可以选择完整的专用服务器。 或者,你可以选择介于两者之间的东西。

根据您的Magento商店的要求,您必须相应地选择Magento托管计划。

共享主机

就Magento托管而言,共享托管很少会表现良好。 这是因为与可以在共享环境中无缝工作的WordPress不同,Magento商店通常可以在很短的时间内超出共享内存分配。

如果您刚刚开始,共享包可以为您提供帮助。 但是,随着Magento网站上产品数量的增加,您会发现共享主机限制太多,无法满足您的需求。 在这种情况下,升级到更大,更强大的托管计划将是一个好主意。

一些Magento托管服务提供商提供半专用托管解决方案。 这些计划并非真正专用 - 相反,它们是共享的托管计划,但具有更大的服务器资源。 例如,如果您的共享主机方案是提供1 GB的RAM,而专用服务器或VPS将提供最少的4 GB RAM,那么您的选择非常简单。 但是如果你的商店只消耗1.5 GB的内存呢? 共享主机方案也不够,也不需要真正专用的服务器。

在这种情况下,提供2 GB RAM(以及同样更高的其他资源分配)的半专用或更高端的共享计划可以为您的Magento网站提供帮助。

专用服务器

顾名思义,专用托管服务器可为您的帐户提供所有资源。 换句话说,您可以访问整个服务器,并可以根据您的需要分配资源。 此类托管解决方案通常仅供非常繁忙或较高端的Magento网站使用。

出于所有实际目的,中小型Magento安装不需要使用专用服务器。 虽然这些服务器确实为您提供了大量资源和内存分配,但您还需要警惕诸如服务器安全性和更新之类的事情。 许多人选择为他们提供服务器端管理的网络托管服务提供商,尽管需要支付特殊费用。

如果您觉得专用服务器对您的需求来说太过分了,并且共享主机包太少,那么VPS就是您可能正在关注的内容。

虚拟专用服务器(VPS)

虚拟专用服务器本身并不是一个完整的专用服务器。 相反,它是一个托管设置,附带一个虚拟化层,允许系统管理员将一个用户的资源与另一个用户的资源分开。 换句话说,通过在服务器中创建虚拟服务器,Web托管提供商可以为您提供比共享托管环境更好的资源。 同时,您不必支付专用服务器的高价,因为您只使用服务器的虚拟部分,而不是完整的部分。

大多数Magento托管解决方案都倾向于降落在VPS支架中。 这是因为如果您的商店拥有多个产品,共享主机无法做到这一点。 另一方面,实际上并不需要专用服务器,这可能是一个巨大的财务压力。 在这种情况下,VPS可以简单地成为完美的Magento托管解决方案。 您可以选择所需的确切磁盘空间,带宽和内存量。 此外,随着您的Magento商店的增长,您的VPS也可以轻松扩展。

但是,服务器安全性和软件更新的概念也适用于VPS。 这是您需要问自己另一个重要问题的地方:托管还是非托管?

托管主机或非托管Magento托管

这里的“管理”一词,很明显,并不是指对Magento安装或商店本身的管理。 相反,它指的是在给定的Web主机设置上运行的实际软件。 比如说,您正在运行带有CloudLinux和cPanel的VPS,以满足您的Magento托管需求。 现在,服务器管理将指的是确保CloudLinux和cPanel以及整个服务器的运行状况良好。 Magento网站本身仍然是您的责任。

您的Magento托管服务提供商应该能够按月向您提供服务器管理服务。 或者,您可以为同一任务更高的任何服务器管理机构。

另一方面,如果您具备技术能力,或者没有足够的资金来支付管理服务费用,并且您有足够的工作时间,那么您可以自己管理服务器。 但是,值得注意的是,虽然托管行业使用术语“非托管”,但它基本上和实际上是一个自我管理的服务器。 如果您未能认真对待服务器管理并且不太关注它,那么您的网站可能会受到危害,因为过时的软件会对您的数据造成安全威胁。

总结

因此,我们现在已经了解了关于Magento托管的公平协议。 基本上,在选择Magento托管包时,我们需要记住以下几点:

  • 服务器速度
  • 安全方法
  • 系统软件和与Magento的兼容性
  • 技术支持的可用性和质量

一旦我们考虑了一切,我们还需要了解我们需要的托管计划的性质。 根据我们Magento商店的规模和收到的流量,我们可以选择共享,半专用或专用托管。 如果我们不希望投资专用服务器(或者不需要服务器)但是已经超出共享主机,则VPS可能是一个不错的选择。

现在我们已经学会了在Magento托管中寻找什么,我们只需找到完美的托管服务提供商。 BlueHost的 在这个领域是一个流行的名字。

您使用哪种网络主机来满足您的Magento托管需求? 在下面的评论中分享您的观点!

特色图片

Sufyan bin Uzayr

作家; 出版作者; 咖啡爱好者; Web开发人员; Parakozm背后的家伙。

The Ultimate Guide to Magento Hosting

Magento is a robust solution in the world of eCommerce. Many developers and store owners rely on Magento for selling their products online. If you are among such users, you might have spent some time figuring out the best possible Magento hosting solution for your business.

While Magento’s requirements are not something extraordinary, not every web hosting provider can run a Magento installation equally well. As such, you need to bear certain special considerations in mind when selecting a Magento hosting provider for your website. 

In this article, we will be discussing such factors, tips and ideas that you must be aware of in relation to Magento hosting.

Getting Started with Magento Hosting

First, let us focus on the obvious and basic things. Irrespective of the size of your Magento store, your web hosting provider should offer the following features.

Security

Make sure your Magento hosting plan comes with security features of its own. Yes, you should make every attempt to harden and secure your website from hackers. But in terms of server security, the responsibility lies with your Magento hosting provider.

Essentially, your hosting provider should ensure that the server is running the latest software (say, operating system and control panels). Plus, there should also be DDoS protection in place, along with a decent firewall and anti-malware strategy. For a start, you can ask the following questions to your web hosting provider to assess their security attempts:

  • Do you run a server-side virus scanner?
  • Do you offer DDoS protection mechanism? If yes, is it at the hardware level or software level?
  • Do you have firewalls and Magento hosting related security features? The best one that you should look for is the ability to turn off or on specific PHP modules (most decent web hosts offer it at no extra charge).

Speed

Beyond that, speed is of utmost importance. No one likes a slow website. Plus, Magento websites in themselves can run slightly slower if they are not properly optimized. However, it is easy to pass on the blame to website configuration. What if the hosting server that you are on is overcrowded? It is a good idea to opt for web hosting providers that take extra care to run state of the art infrastructure so that their hardware is never overloaded or slow to respond.

It might be a good idea to ping the server IP in question or perform a traceroute to it. This will help you check for any latency issues that might affect page load times. Also, you should ask your Magento hosting provider about any server-side caching mechanism they are using. For Magento hosting environments, memCache or xCache are fairly popular. Note that this out of the box server-side caching applies primarily to shared or semi-dedicated hosting environments. It is often your own responsibility to setup a caching solution on self-managed servers (though your web host can guide you about which methodology to follow in this case).

Compatibility

Be sure to look at Magento hosting requirements and compare the same with the specifications offered by your web hosting provider. Before going any further, check for PCI compliance so as to ensure that your Magento store does not face any unwanted compliance issues.

Also, it is a wiser choice to look towards the future. PHP 5.x is already falling out of favor with more and more users making the shift towards PHP 7.x In fact, Magento 2.0 and higher recommends PHP 7.0 or higher anyway. Thus, check with your Magento hosting provider if they meet the latest compatibility guidelines.

Ideally, you should look for MySQL 5.6 or higher, Apache 2.x and PHP 7.0 or higher. Note that for servers that do not run Apache, but instead rely on NGINX or LiteSpeed, the requirements will need to be adjusted accordingly.

Technical Support

And what about support? The internet does not go on holidays. Neither should technical support, because things often tend to go wrong when you least expect them to. What if your website goes offline on a Saturday night? Or Christmas Eve? You would expect to find some decent quality of technical support from your Magento hosting provider, wouldn’t you? Thus, while sales and billing support can wait, technical support should be accessible even at odd hours.

Now, it might seem a little too much to ask for round the clock support if you are paying barely a few dollars per month for Magento hosting. This is where the saying “you get what you pay for” comes into play. It is a very smart investment to pay a little extra in order to receive quality support anytime of day that you might need it. Also, you do not have to insist on live chat and phone support — while these things are good to have, higher-end technical support is generally best served via email or tickets where you can share screenshots and describe your problem at length.

The Ultimate Guide to Magento Hosting

What Type of Magento Hosting Do You Need?

The options are plenty when it comes to Magento hosting. You can opt for a simple shared hosting package, or go for a full dedicated server. Alternatively, you can pick from something in between.

Based on your Magento store’s requirements, you will have to pick a Magento hosting plan accordingly.

Shared Hosting

In terms of Magento hosting, shared hosting rarely tends to do well. This is because unlike WordPress that can work seamlessly well in a shared environment, Magento stores can often outgrow shared memory allocations within a short span of time.

If you are just starting out, a shared package can do the trick for you. However, as the number of products on your Magento site grows, you will find shared hosting to be too restrictive to suit your needs. In that case, it will be a good idea to upgrade to a bigger and more powerful hosting plan.

Some Magento hosting providers offer a semi-dedicated hosting solution. Such plans are not really dedicated — instead, they are shared hosting plans but with bigger server resources. For example, if your shared hosting plan is offering 1 GB of RAM, and a dedicated server or VPS will come with minimum of 4 GB of RAM, your options are pretty straightforward. But what if your store is consuming only 1.5 GB of RAM? Neither will the shared hosting plan suffice, nor do you need a really dedicated server.

In such cases, a semi-dedicated or higher-end shared plan that offers 2 GB of RAM (and likewise higher allocation of other resources) can do the trick for your Magento website.

Dedicated Servers

A dedicated hosting server, as the name suggests, offers all the resources to your account. In other words, you get access to the entire server and can allocate resources as per your needs. Such hosting solutions are often used only by very busy or higher-end Magento websites.

For all practical purposes, a small or medium-sized Magento installation will not need to use a dedicated server. While such servers do give you a lot of resources and memory allocations, you also need to be wary of things such as server security and updates. Many people opt for web hosting providers that take care of server-side management for them, albeit for a special fee.

If you feel that a dedicated server is an overkill for your needs, and a shared hosting package is too little, a VPS is what you might be looking at.

Virtual Private Servers (VPS)

A Virtual Private Server is not an entire dedicated server in its own right. Instead, it is a hosting setup that comes with a virtualization layer that allows sysadmins to separate one user’s resources from that of another. In other words, by creating virtual servers within a server, the web hosting provider can provide you with better resources than a shared hosting environment. At the same time, you do not have to pay the high price of a dedicated server since you are only using a virtual part of the server, not the full thing.

Most Magento hosting solutions tend to land somewhere in the VPS bracket. This is due to the fact that if your store has more than a few products, shared hosting cannot do justice to it. On the other hand, a dedicated server is not really needed and can be a huge financial strain. In such cases, a VPS can simply be the perfect Magento hosting solution. You can choose the exact amount of disk space, bandwidth and memory that you need. Plus, as your Magento store grows, your VPS can also be scaled up easily.

However, the concepts of server security and software updates apply to VPS as well. This is where you need to ask your yourself another vital question: managed or unmanaged?

Managed Hosting or Unmanaged Magento Hosting

The word “management” here, to be clear, does not refer to management of your Magento installation or store in itself. Instead, it refers to the actual software that is being run on the given web hosting setup. Say, you are running a VPS with CloudLinux and cPanel for your Magento hosting needs. Now, management of server would refer to ensuring that CloudLinux and cPanel as well as the overall server are in good health. The Magento site in itself will still be your responsibility.

Your Magento hosting provider should be able to offer you server management services for a monthly fee. Alternatively, you can higher any server management agency for the same task.

Try-Shopify

On the other hand, if you are technically capable, or do not have the required level of funds to pay for management services, and you have the required amount of time for the job, you can manage your server yourself. However, it is worth noting that while the hosting industry uses the term “unmanaged”, it is basically and practically a self-managed server. If you fail to take server management seriously and pay less attention to it, your website might be at risk of getting compromised as outdated software can pose a security threat to your data.

Conclusion

Thus, we now have learned a fair deal about Magento hosting. Basically, we need to bear the following in mind when opting for a Magento hosting package:

  • Server speed
  • Security methodology
  • System software and compatibility with Magento
  • Availability and quality of technical support

Once we have considered everything, we also need to look at the nature of hosting plan that we need. Depending on the size of our Magento store and the amount of traffic that it receives, we can opt for either shared, or semi-dedicated, or dedicated hosting. A VPS can be a good choice if we do not wish to invest in a dedicated server (or do not need one) but have outgrown shared hosting.

Now that we have learned what to look for in Magento hosting, we just need to find the perfect hosting provider. BlueHost is a popular name in this field.

Which web host do you use for your Magento hosting needs? Share your views in the comments below!

Featured image 

Sufyan bin Uzayr

Writer; published author; coffee-lover; web developer; the guy behind Parakozm.