如何在线销售书籍(2020年XNUMX月):您需要知道的一切

无论你喜欢书籍还是喜欢在线销售,毫无疑问,在线销售书籍可能是一个有利可图的副业或全面的业务。

你只需要做你的研究并努力工作。

面对激烈的竞争,图书业仍然悄然成功。 尤其是因为我们阅读了大量不同格式的书面文字。对于任何回避纸张的人来说,都有电子书和有声读物。

如果您有兴趣在图书市场兑现,这里是我们如何做到这一点的方便指南。

如何在线销售书籍:事实

你知道吗, 675百万印刷书籍 去年仅在美国销售?

那就对了! 这是一个令人惊讶的数字。

不仅如此,据Statistica称,74%的成年人每年至少阅读一本书。 现在,对于看过这篇文章的书虫来说,这听起来可能并不多,但它有助于每人每年在书上花费$ 110!

98%的消费者表示,当他们购买书籍时,他们会为了娱乐而阅读,而不是出于学术或工作目的。 所以,如果您正在考虑建立一个在线书店,那么您可以与很多人一起工作!

话虽如此,不要忘记学术市场。 仅4的高等教育行业出版数字就达到了2017亿。

尽管美国的传统书店每年仍然带来约10亿至10亿美元的收入,但其收入却呈现稳步下降,这主要归功于亚马逊等大型在线零售商。 但是,一般来说,下降仅限于更为突出的图书零售商。 我们对个人和独立书店的偏好似乎没有减弱; 相反,它实际上增加了。 也许对独特和古怪的需求可以转化为您的在线商店?

statista在线销售书籍统计数据

👉所以,考虑到所有这些,让我们看一下创建商店,以及为什么要这样做,例如:

  • 你是一名企业家,你想创建一个在线书店,并使用电子商务销售你的产品 像平台 Shopify.
  • 您是作家,而您没有出版商。 但是,您想通过诸如 的Blurb 或亚马逊。
  • 你有很多二手书,你想在网上卖。 无论是你的,还是你从传统商店或车库销售中购买它们,你想要在亚马逊或Bookscouter上获利。
别担心,我们将在本指南中介绍所有三种情况。

如何在线销售图书:创建在线书店

Whether you're a writer who wants to sell their own books or you want to sell other people's works, it's essential to decide how you're going to do it.无论您是想卖自己的书还是想卖别人的作品的作家,决定自己的创作方式都是至关重要的。 If you don't fancy selling books using the traditional online giants, then creating an如果您不喜欢使用传统的在线巨头销售书籍,那么可以创建一个 电子商务商店 这很有吸引力,易于导航至关重要。

你想让别人买你的书,不是吗? 这意味着尽可能长时间地将潜在客户留在您的网站上。 这大大增加了他们实际购买东西的机会。 因此,值得投入时间来创建一个精心设计和专业的网站。 我们建议您不要在现有博客中设置商店。 或者,如果您已经在网上商店销售其他产品,请不要只将书籍添加到您的网站。

分开设置一些东西。

这意味着获得一个新的域名,并创建一个看起来很专业,易于阅读,以及简化付款和运输选项的新网站。

我们推荐使用 Shopify 对于这样的企业。 Shopify 为您提供大量适合在线书店的有吸引力的模板。 就这么简单。

许多 Shopify 主题具有神话般的功能,即使新手书商也可以使用。 例如,SEO优化,幻灯片演示,免费股票照片,使用多种货币和语言的选项, 与Instagram集成,以及拖放页面构建器。 仅举几个!

这些主题还与智能手机和平板电脑等移动设备兼容。

这些设计布局合理,外观时尚,干净,因此对于渴望在下一次阅读中花费大量资金的消费者来说,它们很容易被人们所接受。 通过一些主题,您甚至可以添加视频以及那些非常重要的社交媒体图标。 只需点击一下,您就可以鼓励访客进行探索 你的Facebook 和Instagram页面。

最重要的是,您的在线商店能够安全处理付款至关重要,这就是为什么 Shopify 是一个很好的方法。 客户受到保护,您也受到保护。 所有 Shopify 商店 ,那恭喜你, PCI(支付卡行业) 兼容。 请放心,保持客户的付款信息和业务数据安全是一件轻而易举的事!

如何使用shopify在线销售图书

如何在线销售图书:激励措施

你是否愿意去 Shopify 或其他 电子商务平台,激励您的客户至关重要。 所以,做一些窥探,看看你的竞争对手在做什么。 不要复制它们。 只是收集一些灵感。

无论您选择哪个平台,请仔细检查您是否可以为您的库存设置折扣。 例如,如果您通过同一作者或类型购买几本书,则可以使用三对二交易,或者减少百分比 - 在此阶段,您运行什么促销并不重要,重要的是,您可以选择。

像亚马逊这样的大型网站一直这样做。 但是,对于较小的商店来说,它更难,所以你需要聪明一点。

如果可以的话,除了折扣和促销之外,您还应该举办比赛和赠品。 另外,如果您能够与作者合作以吸引特定地理区域内的人口统计,那么就可以。 这些都是激励顾客购买的好方法!

YouTube视频

如何在线销售图书:营销

营销您的在线书店至关重要。 客户怎么会知道你的存在?

以下是一些想法:

捕获客户的姓名和电子邮件地址,以便您自定义发送的电子邮件。 这是一种很好的方式,可以让您了解所有特价优惠和任何新书。

您还可以发送每周/每月的时事通讯,其中包含指向您商店的链接,社交媒体处理以及您希望为您的忠实粉丝提供的任何独家优惠券。 一定要包括相关文章,例如,如果一本新书出来并且你有库存,并且你已经写了一篇关于它的评论,请将它贴在新闻通讯中。 从侧面思考。

再次,密切关注竞争对手的网站。 看看他们做了什么。

你会惊讶于这对于推动自己的想法有多么有效!

另外,请注意你的摄影。 将华丽的书籍封面上传到您的Instagram和产品页面。 也许你有三本不同封面的同一本书? 如果是这样,请客户评价他们的最爱,并确保他们知道他们可以购买。 这是与观众互动的绝佳方式。

无论你做什么来推销你的书店,都要保持这种势头。 如果你发现一个有趣的书籍相关事实,发布它。 征求意见。 使用缓冲区等应用安排和自动化您的帖子。 可能性似乎无穷无尽!

缓冲首页

如何在线销售图书:您想出售自己的书吗?

你是那些不仅仅相信自己有故事要讲的人,而且实际上已经开始写作的人了吗?

如果是的话,恭喜!

现在是时候卖掉它了,不要害羞这样做。 如果您不仅是一名作家,而且您也是一名在线营销人员并且已经拥有在线书店,请阅读以上内容!

但是,如果您有一份日常工作,而只想在一边出售您的书,则可以使用已经具有更大影响力的平台,例如Amazon或 的Blurb,通常是更简单的方法。

如果你想走这条路,这就是要注意的地方。

如何在线销售图书: 的Blurb

如何在线畅销书籍主页

的Blurb该网站清楚地解释了您开始与他们一起销售图书所需要做的事情。 扰流板警报:它不包括昂贵的打印运行。

它们是自2005以来一直存在的营销和自助发布平台。 Blurb使创作者能够在线设计,出版,推广和销售他们的书籍。

它允许您以任何格式出售您的作品; 一本书,一本电子书,音频,杂志,甚至是一个PDF文件。

如果你卖的是印刷书籍,不要害怕。 Blurb处理所有运输,因此您无需自己发布任何内容。 此外,还有一个有用的在线社区,您可以在其中提出任何问题,或者只是加入一般作家的戏.. 如果您有自己的网站,可以使用Blurb作为另一个销售渠道。 如果你愿意,你甚至可以在你的网站上嵌入你在Blurb上销售的书籍,试图鼓励销售。

但那钱多少钱? 在每个月末,Blurb通过PayPal或支票向您支付任何款项。 但是,您需要达到其最低支付额度$ 25(USD)的利润; 如果你在英国,加元和12.50都是一样的。

所以,这就是实用的东西。 你如何用Blurb打印你的书?

这很简单。

Blurb提供多种模板供您选择。 一旦您选择了最适合您图书类型的文章,请上传您的文字。 他们提供模板以补充阵容f行业,包括旅游,烹饪,摄影和回忆录式书籍等。 显然,小说家也有空间!

Blurb附带了大量软件,例如Adobe InDesign插件,可以为您的图书创建空白模板。

但是出售你的书怎么样?

所以,你已经制作了你的书。 大!

接下来,您需要在Blurb仪表板中创建您的图书清单。 点击“卖我的书”并填写您的作者个人资料。

写一些吸引人的东西; 你想让自己听起来很有趣。 但是,不要写reams和reams-为书保存! 查看其他作者配置文件以及哪些有效,哪些无效。

当你写一本诱人的书籍描述时也是如此。 与所有事情一样,请记住最终读者。 你认为他们想知道你的书怎么样? 什么会迫使他们购买,悬崖结尾? 波折? 与人物的情感联系? 诚实? 无论您的书籍是什么,请告诉您的观众。 这是你有机会做一个简短而快速的销售宣传。 请记住,人们的注意力短暂,所以要保持简洁。

接下来,设置图书的价格。 您可以在“销售和分销”选项卡下执行此操作。 请记住设置您想要的利润。 否则,你将以成本销售!

最后但同样重要的是,获得推广! 将列表嵌入到 你的博客 和你的Facebook / Instagram页面。 我们还鼓励您分享您工作的简短摘录和/或撰写对您图书的评论。 这推动了销售的奇迹。 不要坐下来,期待人们找到它。 创建一些聊天。

如何通过blurb在线销售书籍

如何通过销售书籍 Shopify

Shopify is one of the more popular platforms for online selling these days.是当今最流行的在线销售平台之一。 If you're not interested in selling preowned books on eBay or Amazon, then如果您对在eBay或Amazon上出售二手图书不感兴趣,那么 Shopify 将让您自由地从头开始建立自己的文学品牌.

关于伟大的事情 Shopify is that it's the leading eCommerce platform for not just physical sales, but digital selling too.它是领先的电子商务平台,不仅可以进行实物销售,还可以进行数字销售。 You could sell physical books, eBooks, downloads, and so much more.您可以出售有形的书籍,电子书,下载内容等等。

如何出售书籍 Shopify: 一步步

卖书 Shopify 就像与此在线商店构建商开展任何电子商务业务一样。 Shopify is a popular tool for book selling because it comes with an easy-to-use interface, plenty of community support, and a low setup fee.是一种畅销的图书销售工具,因为它具有易于使用的界面,大量的社区支持以及较低的安装费。 You can start with a您可以从 Shopify 每月仅需$ 9的计划,然后一路攀升至每月$ 299的套餐。

向您的数字书架填充的第一步 Shopify,正在建立一个帐户。 The good news is that whether you're selling old books, looking to sell used books, or retailing digital downloads,好消息是,无论您是出售旧书,出售二手书还是零售数字下载, Shopify comes with excellent ease of use.带有出色的易用性。 It's one of the easiest platforms to use for adding products, processing orders, and more.它是用于添加产品,处理订单等的最简单平台之一。

点击以下页面上的注册页面 Shopify and choose the account type you want.并选择所需的帐户类型。 You can start with the 14 day free trial if you're not sure what you need straight away.如果您不确定自己需要什么,可以从XNUMX天免费试用开始。 Shopify 会询问您是否已经出售,如果已经出售,则会询问您当前的收入。

创建帐户后, Shopify 将带您进入主页,您可以在其中添加产品信息,创建主题,添加域等。

步骤1:添加您的域

YouTube视频

A domain is the title that customers search for when they're trying to find your store online, such as bookscouter.com or Abebooks.域是客户在尝试在线查找您的商店(例如bookscouter.com或Abebooks)时搜索的标题。 As a default, your domain will come with a myshopify add-on, but you can purchase a custom domain, or add one that you already have if you prefer.默认情况下,您的域将带有myshopify附加组件,但是您可以购买自定义域,也可以根据需要添加一个已有的域。

Remember, you can buy custom domain options online with cheap, but it's important to think carefully about the domain that's most likely to work for you.请记住,您可以廉价地在线购买自定义域选项,但仔细考虑最有可能为您使用的域非常重要。 Remember, the best domain names are short and simple, so that your customers can remember them.请记住,最好的域名要简短明了,以便您的客户能够记住它们。 Find a title that's representative of the types of books you're selling or tells your customer about your used bookstore.查找代表您要出售的书籍类型的书名,或者将您使用过的书店告诉客户。

选择包含“ collectible”之类的关键字的名称可能会帮助您以后在搜索引擎中排名更高。

步骤2:选择和自定义主题

shopify主题

设置好域名后,下一步就是选择一个 Shopify 主题。 Your theme is what customers are going to see when they visit your website.您的主题是客户访问您的网站时将会看到的内容。 You don't need any design or coding skills to get started with您不需要任何设计或编码技能即可开始 Shopify,该网站提供了众多的响应主题供您选择,您还可以确保这些主题也可以响应移动购物。

患有 Shopify,您可以自由选择专业创作者的许多高需求主题,也可以根据需要自定义主题。 Free and paid theme choices are available within the您可以在 Shopify 商店以帮助您入门。

???? 请记住,高级或自定义主题将为您提供比免费主题更多的控制权。 It also means that your store is a lot more likely to stand out from the crowd.这也意味着您的商店更有可能在人群中脱颖而出。

步骤3:将产品添加到您的商店

YouTube视频

准备好域名和主题之后,是时候开始将书籍添加到商店了。 现在是时候开始考虑要出售哪种类型的书籍了。 您要向状况良好的学生出售大学教科书吗? 您是将电子书出售给人们使用其数字设备,还是作为旧书店体验的一部分提供折价服务。

您可能会决定成为一名专业的书商,仅在网上出售稀有商品以获取额外现金。 这些天来,您可以通过浏览eBay,货场销售和旧货商店找到很多可收藏的物品。

别忘了,您也不限于只提供书籍。 即使您决定首先成为一家书店,您最终也可能会选择向书中添加其他选项,例如DVD,贴纸和文具。

创建引人注目的产品页面可能是在设置网站时需要最多时间和精力的任务。 请记住,您需要:

  • 您要出售的书籍的醒目图像
  • 有关这些书的大量有用信息,包括它们的状况
  • 具有竞争力的定价信息
  • 有关捆绑销售,交易和销售的其他有用信息
  • 配送信息

点击您的产品部分 Shopify 管理面板以手动添加产品或批量上传信息。

步骤4:扩展商店功能

最后,您可以开始为您的产品添加额外的功能 Shopify 商店,以增加您获得更好收入的机会。 Shopify 是市场上最灵活的网站建设产品之一。 有了大量的应用程序,您可以扩展在线商店的功能,并且增长更快。 一个应用程序将帮助您改善网站并接受未来的新技术趋势。

有成千上万种应用可供选择。 有些可以为您提供帮助,例如为您的网站添加新的付款方式和结帐选项。 其他工具也非常适合诸如搜索引擎优化和内容营销之类的事情。

如果您想通过不同渠道销售大量书籍,可以考虑将 Shopify 网站到您的社交媒体页面(如Facebook和Instagram)。 Shopify 支持社交销售整合。

步骤5:销售,学习和成长

最后,利用 Shopify的引人注目的仪表板和分析功能可以弄清楚如何随时间增加利润。 借助Google Analytics(分析)和其他报告工具,您可以跟踪从网站访问,销售和推介(从此处 如何将Google Analytics(分析)添加到 Shopify).

您花费在跟踪业务运营上的时间越多,查看客户最喜欢的产品就越容易。 这将帮助您更自信地投资于销售策略,从而为您将来带来更好的结果。

当您的一切都完全设置好后 网上商店,您甚至可以投资营销技术,以帮助您以自己的方式吸引更多一致的客户。 您可以整合 电子邮件营销进入您的 Shopify 使您的订阅者了解花名册中最新书籍的策略。 另一种选择是建立活跃的社交媒体形象,或通过常规博客和文章分享您的思想领导力。

您的报告和分析策略将为您提供更多有关哪些广告系列带来最佳效果的信息。

如何在线销售图书: 亚马逊

如果你想在亚马逊上出售你的书,你仍然可以在Blurb上准备你的书,只需要包含它的ISBN就可以了。 亚马逊自我出版.

在亚马逊上,您将获得作者个人资料。 这列出了您编写的任何其他内容(以及您正在销售的任何其他产品)。 它还包括一个链接到您的博客帖子的部分。 此外,您的每本书都有自己的产品页面。 不错!

创建并运行作者资料后,如果您已为图书创建了商品详情,请设置定价。 这是您制作图书所需的总金额,您设置的利润以及亚马逊收取的费用。 记得考虑所有这些数字; 否则,你会赚大钱。

亚马逊收取分发费。 在撰写本文时,您将为每笔销售支付$ 1.35,并在标价上标注$ 1.15。 在亚马逊上,当客户可以要求退款/退货时,会有一个30天的退货窗口。 一旦这段时间结束,亚马逊将报告销售,处理付款,并在15-45天内发送资金。 付款最低限额为$ 25。

通过亚马逊在线销售书籍

如果您想在不经过Blurb的情况下在亚马逊上出售书籍,那也很好。 在像Amazon这样的在线市场上销售书籍与通过自己的电子商务网站销售书籍有所不同。

开始之前,您需要设置一个卖家帐户。 这意味着输入您的驾驶执照或护照信息。 信息输入到亚马逊,以证明您就是您所说的自己。 您还需要支付卡信息费和银行帐户信息,以便可以接受付款。

要创建您的卖家账户,请访问Amazon.com并单击登录页面。 如果您已经拥有Amazon的消费者帐户,请登录。 如果不是,请创建一个亚马逊帐户,然后验证您的电子邮件地址。 登录后,转到您的帐户页面,然后向下滚动到“其他帐户”以选择“卖方”。

设置您的亚马逊卖家账户

如果您想通过卖家账户在亚马逊上出售教科书,普通小说和电子书,那么您首先需要阅读有关出售过程的所有信息。 请查看“在亚马逊上出售”页面以了解更多信息。 请记住,您还需要支付一定的价格,通常是 每月39.99美元,您可以列出任意数量的项目。

如果您想单独出售商品,则可以为每件商品支付99美分。 两种选择都需要支付交易手续费,因此有必要确保在报价时牢记这一点。 如果您想出售40多种商品,而又不像Powell的书这样的公司那样依赖独立销售,那么可能值得建立一个专业的卖家帐户。

要完成您的个人资料:

  • 输入您的法定姓名 并接受在亚马逊上出售的法律协议
  • 添加您的公司地址,以及您要为您的公司显示的显示名称。 如果您拥有一个网站,还可以在您的网站上包括信息,以及一部手机,您可以使用这些信息来验证您的帐户。
  • 设置计费方式,以及从客户那里收到的付款的存款方式。 结算方式将处理您的月费或每项费用以及交易费用。 存款方式是亚马逊将您的收入汇出的地方。
  • 完成税务信息面试。 这不是实际的采访,但确实需要您向Amazon提供您的纳税信息。 确认您是美国公民,或者您所使用的任何版本的Amazon的公民,然后输入您的社会保险号和地址。

在亚马逊上发布待售商品

在您使用驾驶执照或护照在亚马逊上完成身份验证过程之后,可能需要几天时间才能完全设置您的企业帐户。 完成后,您可以过帐要出售的物品。 您可以使用ISBN或书名搜索要出售的书籍。 图书的ISBN号是13位数字。

选择您将要销售的类别,然后搜索该物品。 找到要出售的书后,打开产品页面,然后向下滚动到 在亚马逊上出售 点击此按钮,然后为您要出售的商品设置价格。 您需要在这里选择具有竞争力的价格。

You will have a few extra details to fill out here, including whether you're selling a hardcover or paperback version of the book, as well as what the condition of the books will be.您将在此处填写一些其他详细信息,包括您出售的是精装本还是平装本,以及书本的状况。 If you're selling old textbooks, make sure that you're honest about the condition of the book.如果您要出售旧教科书,请确保对书本的情况诚实。 If you say your item is in good condition and it isn't, you'll have the hassle of a bad seller reputation to deal with.如果您说您的商品状况良好,但状况不佳,则将面临卖家信誉低下的麻烦。

处理运送给客户的事宜

Save your book for sale on Amazon, complete with ISBN number information, and monitor your listing.将您的图书保存在亚马逊上以供出售,并提供ISBN号信息,并监视您的清单。 You need to be ready to sell it to the customer once it sells.您必须准备好将其出售给客户。 You will be responsible for handling shipping costs and finding the best price yourself if you're going to send your items through the post office.如果您要通过邮局发送商品,则您将自己负责处理运输费用并找到最优惠的价格。 If you're only selling used books occasionally, this might be the best option.如果您只是偶尔出售旧书,这可能是最好的选择。

On the other hand, if you want to sell a store's worth of books, then you might prefer to use Fulfilment by Amazon.另一方面,如果您想出售一家商店的图书,那么您可能更喜欢使用亚马逊物流。 This product ensures that you have an easy way to send items to customers when they sell.该产品可确保您有一种简单的方法来在客户销售商品时将其发送给客户。 Fulfillment by Amazon provides customer service for your items, reduces shipping costs, and ensures that you get the best price on fulfilment.亚马逊物流为您的商品提供客户服务,降低运输成本,并确保您获得最佳的物流价格。

Fulfilment by Amazon is definitely something worth checking out when you're done dealing with things like the ISBN number on your products, store credit strategies, and textbook buyback or buyback price.当您处理完产品上的ISBN号,商店信用策略以及教科书回购或回购价格之类的事情后,亚马逊的兑现绝对值得一试。 Items sold and set up with Fulfilment by Amazon are eligible for 2-day shipping, which attracts more customers to your items.通过亚马逊配送销售和设置的商品有资格进行XNUMX天送货,从而吸引了更多的顾客来购买您的商品。

When it comes to things like Shipping costs, Amazon will charge you based on the weight of the items you're selling.对于运输成本之类的事情,亚马逊将根据您所售商品的重量向您收费。 Your fee covers essential tasks like collecting your order, making sure it's properly packaged and shipping to customers.您的费用涵盖基本任务,例如收集订单,确保已正确包装并运送给客户。 Storage fees are also a consideration for Amazon customers.仓储费也是Amazon客户的考虑因素。 You'll pay for your storage depending on the amount of cubic feet in space you use.您将根据所用空间的立方英尺数来支付存储空间。

在亚马逊繁忙的假期期间,这项费用可能会增加很多。

营销你自己出版的书

要在线销售图书,您必须使它们具有吸引力。

特别是如果你没有出版商推动你从旁观看。

所以,设计一个漂亮的封面。 吸引眼球并反映内容的东西。 你的书籍封面必须第二眼,否则,它已经全部结束了。 您可以使用大量模板来帮助您前进,查看Canva以了解他们提供的产品。 或者,投资于优秀设计师的服务。

你需要一个引人注目和有趣的书名和副标题。 看看你正在竞争的类型的成功书籍。是什么让他们吸引人? 你是一个默默无闻的作家,所以你不能依赖于你的名字。 所以,花一些时间为你的书制作一个简短而诱人的标题。 与封面一起,将大大有助于实现那些非常重要的销售。 也许与值得信赖的朋友/读者集思广益? 毕竟,两个头比一个好!

接下来,您需要生成积极的评论。 我们都读过评论,所以不用说,如果你的书还没有,谁会买它? 因此,鼓励读者在他们完成后发表他们的想法。 询问读过这本书并喜欢它的朋友或家人给你留下好评。 每个小小的帮助!

???? 如果您在亚马逊上销售商品,请知道这一点:他们的算法与评论和销售密切相关。 So, the more you sell, and the better reviewed you are, the higher up Amazon ranks you.因此,您出售的商品越多,评论的越好,亚马逊对您的评价就越高。 Simple, right?简单吧?

这就是为什么它如此重要,以至于在亚马逊或Blurb上出售你的书的最初几周内,你会努力产生一些噪音。 请亚马逊的顶级评论家查看您的图书。 告诉他们为什么要这样做。 如果您正在销售电子书,请最后邀请读者通过链接进行审核。

最后但同样重要的是, 您需要对书进行精彩的描述。 Yes, the title and subtitle are essential, but a short paragraph about the book that gives nothing away but draws the reader in is critical.是的,标题和副标题是必不可少的,但有关该书的一小段内容却无济于事,但却能吸引读者。 Amazon actually offers a free book description generator tool.亚马逊实际上提供了免费的书籍描述生成器工具。 Don't assume you can do better.不要以为你可以做得更好。 They're trying to help you.他们正在努力帮助您。 You're making them and yourself money don't forget.您正在赚钱,而自己的钱不会忘记。

此外,请充分利用作者页面。 使您的作者描述脱颖而出。 Treat it like a dating profile, only for readers.仅将其视为约会个人资料,仅供读者使用。 Don't be sleazy or creepy, but imagine who's reading it.不要刻薄或令人毛骨悚然,但请想象谁正在读它。 If it helps, get a friend who works in sales or marketing to help you.如果有帮助,请一个在销售或市场工作的朋友来帮助您。

As part of your author description and book description, do some research about how to use keywords.作为作者描述和书籍描述的一部分,请进行一些有关如何使用关键字的研究。 Use Google's keyword planner or Publisher Rocket t0 help you with that.使用Google的关键字规划师或Publisher Rocket tXNUMX可以帮助您。

如何在线销售图书

卖二手书

你已经积累了大量想要在线销售的旧书。 要么他们是你的,你要转移他们以释放一些空间,或者你是一个专业买家谁从二手商店,车库销售,Freecycle,BookCrossing等获得书籍,并出售他们的利润。

亚马逊和Bookscouter是两个受欢迎且成功的在线商店,挤满了卖家。

We're going to assume you've already gathered your stock and as such, made a significant financial outlay.我们假设您已经收集了库存,因此付出了可观的财务费用。 This means, you just have to have a这意味着,您只需要拥有一个 商业计划书,并为您的书店提供一个醒目的醒目名称,使其可以在线销售。

您还需要确保您完全了解启动在线业务的所有法律要求 - 例如,获取联邦税号和注册您的企业名称。 如果您还没有购买网站域名并购买网站托管服务,那么您还需要更加专业化的一面,即购买网站域名。 有时网络托管服务带有免费域名,但并非总是如此。

使用您选择的销售平台注册为卖家。 这样做非常简单。 例如,对于亚马逊,您需要创建一个卖家帐户,注册您正在销售的书籍,并决定您是否希望亚马逊代表您完成销售,等等。 如果您作为专业卖家在亚马逊注册,则需要支付月费。

在撰写本文时,这是 每月$ 39.99一个,因此您需要将其计入成本。 If you set up as an individual seller, it's way cheaper, as this option costs around如果您设置为个人卖家,则价格会更便宜,因为此选项的费用约为 每月$ 0.99一个。 But, this is only suitable for someone shifting lower stock levels, eg, less than 40 books a month.但是,这仅适用于库存水平较低的人,例如每月少于XNUMX本书。 You'll also need to register your bank details.您还需要注册您的银行详细信息。 Amazon will talk you through how to list the books you're selling.亚马逊将指导您如何列出您要出售的书。

列出价格比较棘手,只是因为你需要与其他卖家竞争,而你不想为自己定价。 决定你对这本书的要求。 如果它是一个流行的,主流的标题,已经被许多其他卖家出售,你会得到更少的。 看看它与其他卖家的价格。 如果你是新手,首先要设定你的价格。 但是,如果这本书处于完好状态,请说出来,并要求更多。 如果您没有获得所需的转化,您可以随时更改费用。

选择您的送货方式。 如果您打算使用亚马逊的履行服务,那么这将不适用,但如果您这样做,通常费用为$ 3.99。 现在剩下的就是出版这本书了。 请记住指定运输需要多长时间!

亚马逊将向卖家报销$ 3.99的运费,但如果您销售的是更重要的一本书,比如精装书,它会花费更多,如果您不考虑这一点,您可能会赔钱。

如何在线销售图书

您是否有兴趣让亚马逊做这项工作?

如果您点头,您必须将您的库存运送到其中一个履行中心。 亚马逊将生产运输标签并为您提供折扣运费。

或者,您可以自己发送股票,使用更便宜的本地运营商,或租用带面包车的男士 - 无论如何,最适合您!

让亚马逊实现您的订单,实际上只适用于那些转移大量图书并且不想专注于自己的网站和商业品牌的人。 它将不可避免地花费你更多,但它有其优势,例如,如果你拥有不止一种在线商店。

Bookscouter是一个略有不同的命题。 它很受那些想要出售教科书的学生的欢迎。 如果您有要出售的书籍,请将书籍的特定ISBN输入网站,Bookscouter将搜索40回购网站,并告诉您哪一个会为您提供最多!

使用Bookscouter的最简单方法是下载应用程序,扫描条形码ISBN,然后就可以了!

如何在线销售图书

准备开始在线销售书籍了吗?

所以现在我们已经涵盖了所有可能的选择,你很高兴。 祝你好运赚钱!

With the options above, you can make a fortune through your literary sales, set up a mobile app for your audience, and even attract new leads by offering half price books at certain times of the year.通过上述选项,您可以在文学作品销售中发大财,为受众群体建立移动应用,甚至通过在一年中的某些时候提供半价图书来吸引新的潜在客户。 There's nothing stopping you from developing an amazing brand.没有什么可以阻止您开发令人惊叹的品牌。

你有在线销售书籍的经验吗? 如果是这样,我们很乐意在下面的评论框中听到您是否成功参与此项目!

特色图片鸣谢:Den.the.Grate / Depositphotos的

Rosie Greaves

Rosie Greaves是一位专业的内容策略师,专门研究数字营销,B2B和生活方式方面的所有内容。 除了电子商务平台之外,您还可以在《读者文摘》,G2和Judicious Inc.上找到她的出版物。 罗西的博客 了解更多信息。

How to Sell Books Online: Everything You Need to Know

Whether you love books or you just love selling online, there’s no doubt that selling books online can be a profitable sideline or full-on business.

You just need to do your research and work hard at it.

The book industry remains quietly successful in the face of enormous competition. Not least because there are tons of different formats we read the written word in. For anyone eschewing paper, there are ebooks and audiobooks.

If you’re interested in cashing in on the book market, here’s our handy guide on how to do precisely that. 

How to Sell Books Online: The Facts

Did you know, 675 million print-books were sold in the US alone last year?

That’s right! It’s an astonishing number. 

Not only that, but according to Statistica, 74% of adults also read at least one book a year. Now, that might not sound like much to the bookworms reading this article, but it contributes towards an average spend of $110 per year per person on books! 

98% of consumers say that when they buy books, they read for pleasure, rather than for academic or work purposes. So, if you're considering setting up an online book store, you have a lot of people to work with!

Having said that, don’t forget the academic market. Publishing figures for the higher education industry came to $4 billion in 2017 alone. 

Although traditional book stores in the US are still bringing in around $10 billion a year, their revenues are showing a steady decline, mainly due to large online retailers such as Amazon. But, generally speaking, the drop is confined to the more prominent book retailers. It seems that our preference for individual and independent bookstores hasn't waned; instead, it's actually increased. Perhaps this demand for the unique and quirky is something that can be translated to your online store? 

👉 So, with all that in mind, let’s take a look at creating a store, and why you might do it, for example:

  • You're an entrepreneur, and you want to create an online bookstore and sell your products using an ecommerce platform like Shopify.
  • You’re a writer, and you don’t have a publisher. But, you want to sell your book via platforms like Blurb or Amazon.
  • You have a ton of used books, and you want to sell them online. Either they’re yours, or you buy them from traditional stores or garage sales, and you want to turn them for a profit on Amazon or Bookscouter.
Don't worry, we're going to cover all three scenarios in this guide.

How to Sell Books Online: Creating an Online Bookstore

Whether you’re a writer who wants to sell their own books or you want to sell other peoples works, it’s essential to decide how you’re going to do it. If you don’t fancy selling books using the traditional online giants, then creating an ecommerce store that's attractive and easy to navigate is essential. 

You want people to buy your books, don’t you? This means keeping potential customers on your site for as long as possible. This massively increases the chances of them actually buying something. As such, it’s worth investing time into creating a well-designed and professional-looking website. We recommend NOT setting up your store from an existing blog. Or, if you're already selling other products on an online store don’t just add the books to your site.

Set up something separate.

This means getting a fresh domain name and creating a new site that looks professional, is easy to read, and where payment and shipping options are made simple.

We recommend using Shopify for such an enterprise. Shopify provides you with tons of attractive templates suitable for online bookstores. It’s that simple. 

Many Shopify themes come with fabulous features that even novice booksellers can use. For example, there’s SEO optimization, slideshows, free stock photos, options to use multiple currencies and languages, integration with Instagram, and drag and drop page builders. Just to name a few!

These themes are also compatible with mobile devices like smartphones and tablets. 

The designs are well laid out, modern and clean looking, so they’re easy on the eye for consumers hungry to spend their dollars on their next best read. With some themes, you can even add video as well as those all-important social media icons. With just a click, you can encourage visitors to explore your Facebook and Instagram pages. 

Most of all, it's vital your online store can safely process payments, which is why Shopify is an excellent way to go. Customers are protected, and so are you. All Shopify stores are PCI (Payment Card Industry) compliant. So rest assured, keeping your customer's payment info and your business data safe is a breeze! 

how to sell books online using shopify

How to Sell Books Online: Incentives

Whether or not you go for Shopify or another ecommerce platform, it’s vital to incentivize your customers. So, do a bit of snooping around and see what your competitors are up to. Don't copy them. Just glean some inspiration.

Whichever platform you opt for, double-check you can set discounts for your stock. For example, a three for two deal, or a percentage off if you buy several books by the same author or genre — it doesn't matter (at this stage) what promotion you run, the important thing is, you get to choose. 

Big sites like Amazon do this all the time. But, it’s harder for the smaller store, so you need to be smart about it. 

If you can, in addition to discounts and promotions, you should also run competitions and giveaways. Plus, if you’re able to tie-in events with authors to attract a demographic within a specific geographical area, then do. These are all great techniques for incentivizing customers to buy!

shopify security

How to Sell Books Online: Marketing

Marketing your online bookstore is vital. How else are customers going to know you exist?

Here are some thoughts:

Capture your customer’s names and email addresses so you can customize the emails you send. This is an excellent way of keeping them updated on all your special offers and any new books you're stocking. 

You could also send a weekly/monthly newsletter with links to your store, social media handles, and any exclusive coupons you want to give your loyal following. Be sure to include relevant articles as well, for example, if a new book is out and you have it in stock, and you've written a review about it, stick it in the newsletter. Think laterally. 

Again, keep an eye on your competitors’ sites. See what they do. 

You'd be amazed at how effective this is for fuelling your own ideas!

On a separate note, be smart with your photography. Upload gorgeous book covers onto your Instagram and product pages. Maybe you have the same book with three different covers? If so, ask customers to rate their favorite and be sure they know they can buy them. This is a surefire way to engage with your audience.

Whatever you do to market your bookstore, keep up the momentum. If you spot an interesting book-related fact, post it. Ask for comments. Schedule and automate your posts using an app like Buffer. The possibilities are seemingly endless!

how to sell books online buffer

How to Sell Books Online: Do You Want to Sell Your Own Books?

Are you one of those people who don’t just believe they have a story to tell but have actually gotten around to writing it?

If so, congratulations!

Now it’s time to sell it and don't be shy about doing so. If you’re not only a writer but you're also an online marketer and already have an online bookstore, read above!

However, if you have a day job and you just want to sell your book(s) on the side, then using a platform that already has a more significant reach like Amazon or Blurb, is usually the easier route.

If you want to go down this road, here’s what to look out for.

How to Sell Books Online: Blurb

how to sell books online blurb homepage

Blurb‘s site clearly explains what you have to do to start selling your book with them. Spoiler alert: it doesn't include costly print runs.

They're a marketing and self-publishing platform that’s been around since 2005. Blurb empowers creators to design, publish, promote, and sell their books online.

It allows you to sell your work in any format; a book, an e-book, audio, magazine, or even a PDF file. 

If you're selling a printed book, never fear. Blurb handles all the shipping, so you don’t have to post anything yourself. Plus, there’s a helpful online community where you can ask any questions you may have or just join in the general writer-ly banter. If you have your own website, you can use Blurb as another sales channel. If you like, you can even embed the book you're selling on Blurb on your website to try and encourage sales. 

But what about the money? At the end of each month, Blurb pays you any money you’ve made, either by PayPal or check. However, you need to reach their minimum payment threshold of $25 (USD) in profits; it’s the same in Canadian dollars and £12.50 if you’re in the UK. 

So, that’s the practical stuff out the way. How do you print your book with Blurb? 

It’s simple.

Blurb provides a selection of templates to choose from. Once you've picked the one that best suits the genre of your book, uploads your text. They offer templates to complement an array f industries, including travel, cookery, photography, and memoir-style books, amongst others. Obviously, there’s room for the novelist too!

There’s plenty of software attached to Blurb, such as their Adobe InDesign plugin, which allows you to create blank templates for your book. 

But what about selling your book? 

So, you’ve made your book. Great!

Next up, you need to create your book listing inside your Blurb dashboard. Click ‘sell my book’ and complete your author profile.

Write something catchy; you want to make yourself sound interesting. But, don’t write reams and reams– save that for the book! Look at other author profiles and what’s working and what isn’t. 

The same applies when you’re writing an enticing description of your book. As with all things, remember the end reader. What do you think they’ll want to know about your book? What would compel them to buy, a cliffhanger ending? Twists and turns? An emotional connection with the characters? Honesty? Whatever your book covers, tell your audience. It’s your one chance to do a short and snappy sales pitch. Remember, people have short attention spans, so keep it concise.

Next, set the price of your book. You do this under the Sell & Distribute tab. Remember to set the profit you want to make. Otherwise, you’ll be selling at cost!

Last but not least, get promoting! Embed the listing onto your blog and your Facebook/Instagram pages. We also encourage you to share a short extract of your work and/or write a review of your book. This works wonders for pushing sales. Don’t sit back and expect people to find it. Create some chatter. 

how to sell books online with blurb

How to Sell Books Online: Amazon

If you'd prefer to sell your book on Amazon, you can still prepare your book on Blurb, just include its ISBN and it’ll be ready for Amazon self-publishing.

On Amazon, you'll get an author profile. This lists anything else you’ve written (and any other products you're selling). It also includes a section that links to your blog posts. Plus, each of your books gets its own product page. Not bad!

Once you have your author profile up and running and you've created a listing for your book, set your list price. This is the total amount it costs to make your book, what profit you’ve set, and how much Amazon takes in fees. Remember to take all these figures into account; otherwise, you’ll make a big fat zero. 

Amazon charges a distribution fee. You’ll pay, at the time of writing, $1.35 for each sale you make and a mark up of $1.15 on the list price. On Amazon, there’s a 30-day return window when customers can ask for a refund/return. Once this period is over, Amazon will report the sale, process payment, and send the funds within 15-45 days. The payment threshold is $25. 

how to sell books online - amazon

Marketing Your Self Published Book

To sell books online, you have to make them attractive.

Especially if you don’t have a publisher pushing you on from the sidelines. 

So, design a beautiful cover. Something that catches the eye and reflects the content. Your book cover has to get a second glance, otherwise, it’s all over. There are plenty of templates you can use to help get you going, check out Canva to see what they have on offer. Alternatively, invest in the services of a good designer. 

You need an eye-catching and intriguing book title and subtitle. Look at successful books in the genre you’re competing in. What makes them catchy? You’re an unknown author, so you can’t rely on readers going by your name. So, take some time crafting a short and enticing title for your book. That, along with the cover, will massively help make those all-important sales. Maybe brainstorm some ideas with trusted friends/readers? After all, two heads are better than one! 

Next up, you need to generate positive reviews. We all read reviews, so needless to say if your book hasn't got any, who’s going to buy it? So, encourage readers to publish their thoughts once they've finished. Ask friends or family who have read the book and loved it to leave you a favorable review. Every little helps!

If you’re selling on Amazon, know this: their algorithm is strongly linked to reviews and sales. So, the more you sell, and the better reviewed you are, the higher up Amazon ranks you. Simple, right?

That’s why it’s so important that within the first few weeks of selling your book on Amazon or Blurb, you work hard to generate some noise about it. Ask Amazon’s top reviewers to review your book. Tell them why they should. If you're selling an ebook, invite readers at the end to review it via a link.

Last but certainly not least, you need a fantastic description of your book. Yes, the title and subtitle are essential, but a short paragraph about the book that gives nothing away but draws the reader in is critical. Amazon actually offers a free book description generator tool. Don’t assume you can do better. They’re trying to help you. You’re making them and yourself money don’t forget. 

Also, make total use of the author page. Make your author description stand out. Treat it like a dating profile, only for readers. Don’t be sleazy or creepy, but imagine who’s reading it. If it helps, get a friend who works in sales or marketing to help you. 

As part of your author description and book description, do some research about how to use keywords. Use Google’s keyword planner or Publisher Rocket t help you with that. 

how to sell books online

Selling Second Hand Books

You’ve amassed a ton of used books that you want to sell online. Either they're yours, and you want to shift them to free up some space, or you’re a professional buyer who acquires books from secondhand stores, garage sales, Freecycle, BookCrossing, etc., and sells them on for a profit. 

Amazon and Bookscouter are two popular and successful online stores, packed with sellers.

We’re going to assume you've already gathered your stock and as such, made a significant financial outlay. This means, you just have to have a business plan, and a catchy and cool name for your bookstore to get selling online. 

You also need to ensure you're fully aware of all the legal requirements of starting an online business — for example, getting a Federal Tax ID number and registering your businesses name. There's also the more techy side you'll need to swot up on, i.e., buying a website domain name if you don’t already have one and purchasing web hosting. Sometimes web hosting services come with a free domain name, but not always. 

Register as a seller with your chosen sales platform. It’s pretty simple to do this. For example, with Amazon, you’ll need to create a seller account, register the books you’re selling and decide whether or not you want Amazon to fulfill the sales on your behalf, and so on. If you're registering with Amazon as a professional seller, it will cost a monthly fee.

At the time of writing, this is $39.99 a month, so you need to build this into your costs. If you set up as an individual seller, it's way cheaper, as this option costs around $0.99 a month. But, this is only suitable for someone shifting lower stock levels, e.g., less than 40 books a month. You’ll also need to register your bank details. Amazon will talk you through how to list the books you’re selling.

Listing the price is trickier, only because you need to compete with other sellers and you don’t want to price yourself out. Decide how much you want for the book. If it’s a popular, mainstream title that’s already sold by lots of other sellers, you’ll get less for it. Check out how much it’s going for with other sellers. If you’re a newbie, set your prices lower at first. But, if the book is in mint condition, say so, and ask for more. You can always alter the costs later if you're not getting the conversions you want. 

Choose your shipping method. If you plan on using Amazon’s fulfillment service, then this won’t apply, but if you do, typically the charge is $3.99. Now all that's left is to ship the book. Remember to specify how long shipping will take!

Amazon will reimburse sellers the shipping fee of $3.99, but if you’re selling a more significant kind of book, say, a hardback, it’ll cost you more, and you may lose money if you don't factor this in. 

how to sell books online

Are You Interested in Getting Amazon to do the Work?

If you're nodding your head, you’ll have to ship your stock to one of their fulfillment centers. Amazon will produce shipping labels and provide you with discounted shipping.

Alternatively, you can send the stock yourself, use a cheaper local carrier, or rent a man with a van — whatever, works best for you!

Getting Amazon to fulfill your orders, is really only for people shifting large amounts of books and aren’t interested in focusing on their own website and business brand. It will inevitably cost you more, but it has its advantages if, for example, you own more than one kind of online store.

Bookscouter is a slightly different proposition. It’s popular with students who want to sell their textbooks. If you have books to sell, input the book’s specific ISBN into the site, and Bookscouter will search around 40 buyback sites and tell you which one will give you the most for it!

The easiest way to use Bookscouter is to download the app, scan the barcode ISBN, and you’re away!

how to sell books online

Ready to Start Selling Books Online?

So now we’ve covered all the possible options, you’re good to go. Good luck making money!

Have you got any experience selling books online? If so, we would love to hear whether you were successful with this venture in the comments box below!

Featured image via Pexels.com

Rosie Greaves

Rosie Greaves is a professional content strategist who specializes in all things digital marketing, B2B, and lifestyle. In addition to e-commerce platforms, you can find her published on Contena, Cake and Lace Blog, and Love You Tomorrow. Check out her website Blog with Rosie for more information.