طرق التحقق من صحة ميزانك بأقل من $ 100 (الجزء 3 من 3) - حافز بطاقات الهدايا

هذه هي الحلقة الثالثة من سلسلتنا حول التحقق من الكفاءة. قد ترغب في قراءة الجزء واحد و اثنان للحصول على الصورة كاملة.

لقد تحدثت مؤخرا مع كارل طومسون من pincollarshirts.co.uk. استقال كارل من وظيفته اليومية وكان قادرا على استبدال دخله بمبيعات من متجره على الإنترنت. ويبيع متجر كارل مكانًا خاصًا من قمصان الرجال التي تحتوي على دبوس يربط الطوق الذي عادة ما تسير فيه ربطة عنق. انقر هنا للاستماع إلى رحلة كارل. كان أسلوب قميص الدبوس شائعًا في 1920s والأفلام الحديثة مثل The Great Gatsby جلبت بعض الضجيج إلى الأسلوب ، لكن قمصان الياقة لا تزال غير مألوفة ، حتى الآن. كان لا يزال مكانة في سوق الموضة الذكور.

كارل بن طوق القمصان
كارل طوق قمصان ذوي الياقات البيضاء

وتحمل العلامات التجارية الكبرى مثل توم فورد نفس نمط القميص ، لكن كارل تغلب على هذه العلامات التجارية ، وذلك من خلال كونه أول من لاحظ أن المكانة كانت تنمو. لقد شعر بشدّة حيال مصداقيته الخاصة ، حيث ترك عمله اليومي وكامل ملتزم بخدمة هذا القسم من سوق الأزياء الرجالية. فيما يلي كيف تمكن كارل من التحقق من فرص الحلوة الجيدة حيث يكون الطلب أكبر بكثير من العرض.

عش مثل عميلك

تخيل ما يفعله العميل المستهدف في عطل نهاية الأسبوع ، حيث يذهبون بعد العمل ، إلى أين يذهبون أثناء استراحة الغداء. هذه هي جميع الأماكن التي يمكنك الذهاب إليها شخصيًا ، والتحقق مباشرة من الأشخاص الذين قد يشترون من متجرك عبر الإنترنت. كان لدى كارل شعور بأن هناك سوقاً لا يحظى بالخدمات الكافية يمكنه أن يلاحقه. قام بتطوير هذا الحدس لأنه كان يرتدي هذه القمصان ذات الياقة الدبوسية المصممة حسب الطلب ، وغالباً ما كان الناس يأتون إليه في الشارع ليطلبوا منه "من أين حصلت على قميصك؟" ... ولم يتمكن من منحهم إجابة لأن هناك لم يكن هناك متاجر - كان عليه أن يحصل عليها. لذا ، شرع كارل في التحقق من مكانته. ذهب إلى أماكن ذهب زبائنه المثاليين للتسوق ، في حالته ، ذهب إلى الشريط الأكثر شعبية من محلات الخياطة والأزياء في لندن على شارع جيرمين و سافيل رو.

تحدث كارل مع مالكي المتاجر لمعرفة ما إذا كان هناك من يسأل عن قمصان ذات طوقين ، وكان الرد الساحق "نعم" ، كما لاحظ أنه لا توجد متاجر تحمل هذا النمط. علم كارل من خلال التحقق من شخصيته أن المتسوّقون سيشترون قمصانًا منتظمة ، ثم يدفعون 200 جنيهًا من أجل تحويل القميص إلى قميص ذي طرف. الماركات الفاخرة الشهيرة مثل توم فورد حملت هذا الأسلوب ، ولكن عندما دخل كارل إلى متجر توم فورد ، وجد أن قمصان الدبوس كانت عالقة في الجزء الخلفي من المتجر. الطلب على القمصان ذوي الياقات البيضاء يفوق العرض بكثير.

بعد أن تحدث ولاحظ العملاء ولاحظوا عدم وجود نقاط عرض في المتاجر ، كان كارل يدرك أنه كان هناك فرصة بالنسبة له لتصنيع وبيع قمصان الدبوس مقابل جزء صغير من تكلفة الحصول عليها. كان هذا هو العامل المساعد له للخروج من وظيفته والبدء pincollarshirts.co.uk. يمكنك التحقق من مكانتك بنفس الطريقة التي فعلها كارل. فقط اتبع هذه الخطوات:

كيفية التحقق من مكانتك من خلال التحدث إلى العملاء

الخطوة #1: البحث حيث يتدلى عملاؤك

اكتب جميع الأماكن ...

  • محال العملاء المثالي.
  • التي تبيع المنتج الذي تريد بيعه.
  • هذا بيع منتج منافس.
  • التي تبيع منتج تكميلي.

الخطوة #2 الذهاب إلى تلك الأماكن شخصيا ومشاهدة الناس

خصص يوم السبت وحاول العثور على الأماكن المجمعة معًا بحيث لا تضطر إلى قضاء الكثير من الوقت في الجري. تحدث إلى عمال المتجر هناك. يتحدث شركاء المبيعات ويساعدون عملاءك المستهدفين على أساس يومي حتى يكونوا على دراية تامة بما يبحث عنه عملاؤك وما يشترونه. إذا كنت ذاهبًا إلى سلسلة كبيرة وليس متجرًا للأول والبوب ​​، فإن معظم شركاء المبيعات سعداء بالتحدث إليك. تعلق في الخارج أو في المتجر ومراقبة كيفية تسوق العملاء. اكتب الملاحظات التالية:

  • ما هي المنتجات التي ينظرون إليها؟
  • ماذا يشترون؟

إذا كنت جريئًا ، فانتقل إلى أي شخص يتصفح المنتج أو المنتجات التي تريد بيعها ويطرح عليه أسئلة حول ما يبحث عنه في منتج قبل أن يلتزم بالشراء. إذا كنت تشعر أنه من الصعب أن تقترب منهم ، فهذا طبيعي. لا يبدو أنه من الصواب أن يزعج الناس عندما يخرجون للتسوق. ما يمكنك فعله هو تعويضهم عن وقتهم ...

الخطوة # 3: حافز بطاقة الهدايا

تقديم بطاقات الهدايا لتحفيز العملاء لتقديم ملاحظاتهم
تقديم بطاقات الهدايا لتحفيز العملاء لتقديم ملاحظاتهم

إذا لم تكن قد سمعت عن اختبار ستاربكس ومع ذلك ، ما يمكنك القيام به هو الذهاب لشراء عدد قليل من بطاقات هدايا ستاربكس واطلب من الناس ما إذا كانوا يستطيعون توفير دقائق 15 ومقابل وقتهم ، سوف تمنحهم بطاقة هدايا ستاربكس. أنصحك بشراء بطاقات هدايا 8 $ 5 Starbucks. يمكنك تحسين هذا الأمر وزيادة معدل التحويل عن طريق الحصول على بطاقات هدايا من المتجر الذي تكون فيه أنت والعميل بالفعل. ستحصل على الكثير من الأشخاص الذين يرغبون في تقديم تعليقاتهم إليك.

الخطوة # 4 ماذا أقول وماذا لا أقول

أهم شيء يجب تذكره هو: عدم التحدث عن فكرة المنتج أو المتجر. هذا أمر مهم لأنك لا تحاول عرض الفكرة على متجرك ، ما تريد فعله هو فهم سبب الشراء والمشاكل التي يحاولون حلها عن طريق الشراء. إن إخبار العميل عن منتجك لا يخبرك بالكثير عن سبب شرائه ، وقد يؤدي في الواقع إلى تشويه الإجابات التي يقدمها. لأنه بمجرد أن يعرفوا أنك تحاول بدء متجر ، قد يجيبون فقط بطرق مفضلة لإرضاءك - إنه رد فعل إنساني مشترك. في الواقع ، لا تخبرهم حتى أنك تفكر في فتح متجر. أذكر فقط أنك تجري بحثًا عن صديق. فيما يلي بعض الأسئلة التي يجب عليك طرحها:

  • "هل يمكن أن تخبرني متى كانت آخر مرة اشتريت فيها _____"
  • املأ الفراغ بمنتجك أو منتج تكميلي
  • إذا كان قد اشترى المنتج من قبل ... "ما الذي دفعك لشراء _____؟"
  • "ما الذي لا يعجبك في _____؟"
  • "ما الذي يعجبك في _____؟"
  • "ما هي المنتجات المماثلة الأخرى التي اشتريتها من قبل؟"
  • "ما الذي أعجبك / لم يعجبك في هذه المنتجات الأخرى؟"
  • "ما الذي يجعلك ترغب في اختيار _____ فوق <منتج منافس>؟"

ما هي الطرق الأخرى التي يمكنني بها التحقق من مكانتي؟

هناك لديك ، 3 طرق للتحقق من مكانتك المتخصصة بأقل من $ 100. هناك العديد من الطرق للتحقق من مكانة ملائمة. أنا أتحدث عن هذا الموضوع على نطاق واسع مع ضيوفي على Masterify سادة بودكاست. إذا كنت ترغب في معرفة المزيد من التقنيات وسماع القصص من رواد الأعمال الذين قاموا بالفعل بتطبيق هذه التقنيات ، تأكد من الاشتراك للحصول على المقابلات الأسبوعية والنصائح من رواد الأعمال الإلكترونية الناجحين (الوصول هنا).

فيليكس ثيا

فيلكس هو المضيف لبودكاست Shopify Masters حيث يصدر مقابلة كل يوم الإثنين مع رجل أعمال ناجح في مجال التجارة الإلكترونية لكشف الخطوات الدقيقة التي اتخذها لزيادة حركة المرور والمبيعات وتحقيق حريتهم المالية في نهاية المطاف.

Ways to Validate Your Niche for Less than $100 (Part 3 of 3) – Gift Card Incentive

validate niche gift cards

This is the third episode of our series on niche validation. You might want to read part one and two to get the whole picture. 

I recently spoke to Carl Thompson from pincollarshirts.co.uk. Carl quit his day job and was able to replace his income with sales from his online store. Carl's store sells a particular niche of men's dress shirts that have a pin connecting the collar where a tie would normally go. Click here to listen to Carl's journey. The pin collar shirt style was popular in the 1920s and recent movies like The Great Gatsby brought some buzz to the style, but pin collar shirts still aren't mainstream, yet.  It was still a niche in the male fashion marketplace.

Carl's Pin Collar Shirts
Carl's pin collar shirts

Big brands like Tom Ford carry the same style of shirt, but Carl beat these brands, by being the first to notice that the niche was growing. He felt so strongly about his niche validation that he quit his day job and full committed to serving this section of the male fashion market.  Here's how Carl was able to validate the sweet spot opportunity where demand is far greater than supply.

Live like your customer

Imagine what your target customer does on the weekends, where they go after work, where they go during their lunch break.  These are all places that you can go, in person, and validate directly with the very people that might buy from your online store. Carl had a feeling that there was an underserved market he could go after.  He developed this hunch because he was wearing these custom-made pin collar shirts and people would often come up to him on the street to ask him “where did you get your shirt?”… and he couldn't give them an answer because there were no stores — he had to get them tailor-made. So, Carl set out to validate his niche. He would go to places his ideal customers went to shop, in his case, he went to the most popular strip of tailoring and fashion stores in London on Jermyn Street and Savile Row.

Carl would talk to the store owners to find out if there was anyone asking for pin collar shirts and the overwhelming response was “yes!” He also noticed that there was no stores carrying the style.  Carl learned through his in-person validation that shoppers would buy regular shirts and then pay a tailor 200 pounds to transform the shirt in to a pin collar shirt. Popular luxury brands like Tom Ford carried the style, but when Carl walked in to the Tom Ford store, he found that the pin collar shirts were stuck in the back of the store.  The demand for pin collar shirts vastly outweighed the supply.

After talking and observing customers and noticing the lack of visibility stores were giving to the style of shirt, Carl recognized that there was an opening for him to manufacture and sell the pin collar shirts for a fraction of the cost of getting it tailored.  That was the catalyst for him to quit his job and start pincollarshirts.co.uk. You can validate you niche the same way Carl did.  Just follow these steps:

How to validate your niche by talking to customers

Step #1: Research where your customers hang out

Write down all the places…

Try-Shopify
  • Your ideal customer shops.
  • That sell the product you want to sell.
  • That sell a competing product.
  • That sell a complementary product.

Step #2 Go to those places in person and people watch

Dedicate a Saturday and try to find places that are clustered together so you don't have to spend too much time running around. Talk to the store workers there.  Sales associates talk and help your target customers on a daily basis so they are intimately aware of what your customers are looking for and what they are buying.  If you are going to a big chain and not a mom and pop shop, most sales associates are happy to talk to you. Hang around outside or in the store and observe how the customers shop.  Write down the following observations:

  • What products are they looking at?
  • What are they buying?

If you are daring, go up to anyone that's browsing the product or products you want to sell and ask them questions about what they look for in a product before they commit to buying. If you feel awkward approaching them, that's natural.  It doesn't feel right to bother people when they are out shopping.  So what you can do is compensate them for their time…

Step #3: The Gift Card incentive

Give out gift cards to incentivize customers to give feedback
Give out gift cards to incentivize customers to give feedback

If you haven't heard of the Starbucks test yet, what you can do is go buy a few Starbucks gift cards and ask people if they can spare 15 minutes and in exchange for their time, you will give them a Starbucks gift card.  I recommend you buy 8 $5 Starbucks gift cards. You can improve on this and increase your conversion rate by getting gift cards from the store that you and the customer are already in.  You'll get tons of people that are willing to give you their feedback.

Step #4 What to say and what not to say

The most important thing to remember is: do NOT talk about your product or store idea.  This is important because you are not trying to pitch them on your store idea, what you want to do is understand why they buy and what problems they are trying to solve by buying. Telling a customer about your product doesn't tell you much about why they buy and it can actually cause them to skew the answers they give.  Because once they know that you are trying to start a store, they might just answer in favorable ways to please you — it's a common human reaction. In fact, don't even tell them that you are thinking about opening a store.  Just mention that you are conducting research for a friend. Here are some questions that you should ask:

  • “Can you tell me when was the last time you bought _____”
  • Fill in the blank with your product or a complementary product
  • If they've bought the product before… “what drove you to buy _____?”
  • “What don't you like about _____?”
  • “What do you like about _____?”
  • “What other similar products have you bought before?”
  • “What did you like/dislike about those other products?”
  • “What makes you want to choose _____ over <competing product>?”

What are other ways I can validate my niche?

There you have it, 3 ways to validate your niche for less than $100. There are many more ways to validate a niche.  I talk about this topic extensively with my guests on the Shopify Masters podcast. If you want to learn more techniques and hear the stories from entrepreneurs that have actually applied these techniques, make sure to sign up to get weekly interviews and tips from successful ecommerce entrepreneurs (Access Here).

Felix Thea

Felix is the host of the Shopify Masters podcast where he releases an interview every Monday with a successful ecommerce entrepreneur to uncover the exact steps they took to increase traffic and sales and ultimately achieve their financial freedom.

2 Responses

  1. My husband might like using a technique like this one because he loves interacting with strangers and has a way of making you want to tell him what he wants to know. Swing Thanks for sharing, that is really useful to me.

  2. Researching where your customer hangs out makes complete sense to me but actually going to those places and watching your potential customers is something that not many do. I didn’t know about the Starbucks gift cards because I don’t go there at all.

    My husband might like using a technique like this one because he loves interacting with strangers and has a way of making you want to tell him what he wants to know.

    Thank you for the article! I found it very useful!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Rating *