以低于$ 100(3的3部分)验证您的利基的方法 - 礼品卡奖励

这是我们关于利基验证系列的第三集。 你可能想读部分 一种 全面了解。

我最近和Carl Thompson谈过 pincollarshirts.co.uk. 卡尔辞去了他的日常工作,并且能够用他在线商店的销售取代他的收入。 卡尔的商店出售男士衬衫的特殊利基,这种衬衫的针脚连接领带通常会穿领带。 点击这里收听Carl的旅程. 针领衬衫风格在1920中很受欢迎,最近的电影如The Great Gatsby为这种风格带来了一些嗡嗡声,但针领衬衫仍然不是主流。 它仍然是男性时尚市场的利基市场。

Carl's Pin领衬衫
卡尔的针领衬衫

像汤姆福特这样的大品牌都带有相同风格的衬衫,但是卡尔击败了这些品牌,成为第一个注意到利基市场正在增长的品牌。 他对自己的利基认证感到非常强烈,以至于他辞掉了自己的日常工作,完全致力于服务于男性时装市场的这一部分。 以下是卡尔如何能够验证需求远远大于供应的最佳点机会。

像你的客户一样生活

想象一下,您的目标客户在周末做什么,下班后去哪里,在午休时去哪里。 这些都是您可以亲自前往的地方,并直接与可能从您的在线商店购买的人员进行验证。 卡尔有一种感觉,他可以追求一个服务不足的市场。 他发了这种预感,因为他穿着这些定制的针领衬衫,人们经常会在街上走到他面前问他“你的衬衫在哪里?”......他无法给他们一个答案,因为那里没有商店 - 他必须让他们量身定做。 所以,卡尔着手验证他的利基。 他会去他理想的顾客去商店,在他的情况下,他去了伦敦最受欢迎的剪裁和时尚商店Jermyn Street和Savile Row。

卡尔会和商店老板交谈,看看是否有人要求领衬衫,而压倒性的反应是“是的!”他还注意到没有商店提供这种款式。 卡尔通过亲自验证了解到,购物者会购买普通衬衫,然后支付裁缝200磅,将衬衫换成针领衬衫。 像汤姆福特这样的流行奢侈品牌都采用了这种风格,但当卡尔走进汤姆福特商店时,他发现针领衬衫被困在商店后面。 针领衬衫的需求远远超过供应量。

在谈到和观察客户并注意到商店缺乏可见性的衬衫风格后,卡尔认识到他有一个开口来制造和销售针领衬衫,只需花费一小部分成本。 这是他退出工作并开始的催化剂 pincollarshirts.co.uk。 你可以像卡尔那样验证你的利基。 只需按以下步骤操作:

如何通过与客户交谈来验证您的利基

步骤#1:研究您的客户在哪里闲逛

写下所有的地方......

  • 您理想的客户商店。
  • 那卖掉你想卖的产品。
  • 那卖出竞争产品。
  • 那卖一种补充产品。

步骤#2 亲自前往那些地方观看

专注于星期六,并尝试找到聚集在一起的地方,这样你就不必花太多时间四处奔波。 和那里的商店工人交谈。 销售人员每天都会与目标客户进行交流和帮助,以便他们密切了解客户的需求以及他们购买的产品。 如果你要去大型连锁店而不是妈妈和流行店,大多数销售人员很乐意和你谈谈。 在外面或商店里闲逛,观察顾客的购物方式。 写下以下观察:

  • 他们在看什么产品?
  • 他们买什么?

如果您大胆,那就去浏览您想要销售的产品或产品的任何人,并在他们承诺购买之前询问他们在产品中寻找什么的问题。 如果你感到尴尬接近他们,那很自然。 当他们外出购物时,打扰他们是不对的。 所以你能做的就是补偿他们的时间......

步骤#3:礼品卡奖励

赠送礼品卡以激励客户提供反馈
赠送礼品卡以激励客户提供反馈

如果你还没有听说过 星巴克测试 然而,你可以做的是去购买一些星巴克礼品卡,并询问人们是否可以节省15分钟,并换取他们的时间,你会给他们一张星巴克礼品卡。 我建议你购买8 $ 5星巴克礼品卡。 您可以通过从您和客户已经在商店购买礼品卡来改善这一点并提高转换率。您将获得许多愿意向您提供反馈的人。

步骤#4说什么,不说什么

最重要的是要记住:不要谈论你的产品或商店的想法。 这一点非常重要,因为你不是想把它们放在你的商店想法上,你想要做的就是明白他们为什么购买以及他们试图通过购买解决的问题。 告诉客户你的产品并没有告诉你他们购买的原因,实际上可能会导致他们扭曲他们给出的答案。 因为一旦他们知道你正在尝试开设一家商店,他们可能只会以有利的方式回答你们 - 这是人类常见的反应。 事实上,甚至不要告诉他们你正在考虑开店。 只要提一下,你正在为一位朋友进行研究。 以下是您应该问的一些问题:

  • “你能告诉我你最后一次买_____的时候”
  • 用产品或补充产品填空
  • 如果他们之前买过这个产品......“是什么驱使你买_____?”
  • “你对_____不喜欢什么?”
  • “你喜欢什么_____?”
  • “你以前买过什么类似的产品?”
  • “你对那些其他产品喜欢/不喜欢什么?”
  • “是什么让你想在<竞争产品>上选择_____?”

我可以通过其他方式验证我的利基市场?

你有它,3以低于$ 100的方式验证你的利基。 还有很多方法可以验证利基市场。 我在Shopify Masters上与我的客人广泛讨论这个话题 播客。 如果您想学习更多技巧并听取实际应用这些技术的企业家的故事,请务必注册以获得成功电子商务企业家的每周访谈和提示(访问这里).

菲利克斯西娅

Felix是Shopify Masters播客的主持人,他每周一与一位成功的电子商务企业家发布访谈,以了解他们为增加流量和销售以及最终实现财务自由所采取的确切步骤。

Ways to Validate Your Niche for Less than $100 (Part 3 of 3) – Gift Card Incentive

validate niche gift cards

This is the third episode of our series on niche validation. You might want to read part one and two to get the whole picture. 

I recently spoke to Carl Thompson from pincollarshirts.co.uk. Carl quit his day job and was able to replace his income with sales from his online store. Carl's store sells a particular niche of men's dress shirts that have a pin connecting the collar where a tie would normally go. Click here to listen to Carl's journey. The pin collar shirt style was popular in the 1920s and recent movies like The Great Gatsby brought some buzz to the style, but pin collar shirts still aren't mainstream, yet.  It was still a niche in the male fashion marketplace.

Carl's Pin Collar Shirts
Carl's pin collar shirts

Big brands like Tom Ford carry the same style of shirt, but Carl beat these brands, by being the first to notice that the niche was growing. He felt so strongly about his niche validation that he quit his day job and full committed to serving this section of the male fashion market.  Here's how Carl was able to validate the sweet spot opportunity where demand is far greater than supply.

Live like your customer

Imagine what your target customer does on the weekends, where they go after work, where they go during their lunch break.  These are all places that you can go, in person, and validate directly with the very people that might buy from your online store. Carl had a feeling that there was an underserved market he could go after.  He developed this hunch because he was wearing these custom-made pin collar shirts and people would often come up to him on the street to ask him “where did you get your shirt?”… and he couldn't give them an answer because there were no stores — he had to get them tailor-made. So, Carl set out to validate his niche. He would go to places his ideal customers went to shop, in his case, he went to the most popular strip of tailoring and fashion stores in London on Jermyn Street and Savile Row.

Carl would talk to the store owners to find out if there was anyone asking for pin collar shirts and the overwhelming response was “yes!” He also noticed that there was no stores carrying the style.  Carl learned through his in-person validation that shoppers would buy regular shirts and then pay a tailor 200 pounds to transform the shirt in to a pin collar shirt. Popular luxury brands like Tom Ford carried the style, but when Carl walked in to the Tom Ford store, he found that the pin collar shirts were stuck in the back of the store.  The demand for pin collar shirts vastly outweighed the supply.

After talking and observing customers and noticing the lack of visibility stores were giving to the style of shirt, Carl recognized that there was an opening for him to manufacture and sell the pin collar shirts for a fraction of the cost of getting it tailored.  That was the catalyst for him to quit his job and start pincollarshirts.co.uk. You can validate you niche the same way Carl did.  Just follow these steps:

How to validate your niche by talking to customers

Step #1: Research where your customers hang out

Write down all the places…

Try-Shopify
  • Your ideal customer shops.
  • That sell the product you want to sell.
  • That sell a competing product.
  • That sell a complementary product.

Step #2 Go to those places in person and people watch

Dedicate a Saturday and try to find places that are clustered together so you don't have to spend too much time running around. Talk to the store workers there.  Sales associates talk and help your target customers on a daily basis so they are intimately aware of what your customers are looking for and what they are buying.  If you are going to a big chain and not a mom and pop shop, most sales associates are happy to talk to you. Hang around outside or in the store and observe how the customers shop.  Write down the following observations:

  • What products are they looking at?
  • What are they buying?

If you are daring, go up to anyone that's browsing the product or products you want to sell and ask them questions about what they look for in a product before they commit to buying. If you feel awkward approaching them, that's natural.  It doesn't feel right to bother people when they are out shopping.  So what you can do is compensate them for their time…

Step #3: The Gift Card incentive

Give out gift cards to incentivize customers to give feedback
Give out gift cards to incentivize customers to give feedback

If you haven't heard of the Starbucks test yet, what you can do is go buy a few Starbucks gift cards and ask people if they can spare 15 minutes and in exchange for their time, you will give them a Starbucks gift card.  I recommend you buy 8 $5 Starbucks gift cards. You can improve on this and increase your conversion rate by getting gift cards from the store that you and the customer are already in.  You'll get tons of people that are willing to give you their feedback.

Step #4 What to say and what not to say

The most important thing to remember is: do NOT talk about your product or store idea.  This is important because you are not trying to pitch them on your store idea, what you want to do is understand why they buy and what problems they are trying to solve by buying. Telling a customer about your product doesn't tell you much about why they buy and it can actually cause them to skew the answers they give.  Because once they know that you are trying to start a store, they might just answer in favorable ways to please you — it's a common human reaction. In fact, don't even tell them that you are thinking about opening a store.  Just mention that you are conducting research for a friend. Here are some questions that you should ask:

  • “Can you tell me when was the last time you bought _____”
  • Fill in the blank with your product or a complementary product
  • If they've bought the product before… “what drove you to buy _____?”
  • “What don't you like about _____?”
  • “What do you like about _____?”
  • “What other similar products have you bought before?”
  • “What did you like/dislike about those other products?”
  • “What makes you want to choose _____ over <competing product>?”

What are other ways I can validate my niche?

There you have it, 3 ways to validate your niche for less than $100. There are many more ways to validate a niche.  I talk about this topic extensively with my guests on the Shopify Masters podcast. If you want to learn more techniques and hear the stories from entrepreneurs that have actually applied these techniques, make sure to sign up to get weekly interviews and tips from successful ecommerce entrepreneurs (Access Here).

Felix Thea

Felix is the host of the Shopify Masters podcast where he releases an interview every Monday with a successful ecommerce entrepreneur to uncover the exact steps they took to increase traffic and sales and ultimately achieve their financial freedom.

2 Responses

  1. My husband might like using a technique like this one because he loves interacting with strangers and has a way of making you want to tell him what he wants to know. Swing Thanks for sharing, that is really useful to me.

  2. Researching where your customer hangs out makes complete sense to me but actually going to those places and watching your potential customers is something that not many do. I didn’t know about the Starbucks gift cards because I don’t go there at all.

    My husband might like using a technique like this one because he loves interacting with strangers and has a way of making you want to tell him what he wants to know.

    Thank you for the article! I found it very useful!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Rating *