Shopify ضد Magento Open Source (ديسمبر 2019): ما هو الأفضل المطلق؟

اختيار منصة التجارة الإلكترونية الأنسب ل إنشاء وإدارة وصيانة يعد المتجر عبر الإنترنت ذا أهمية حاسمة ، حيث يمكن أن يكون العامل المسؤول عن النجاح أو الفشل لشركتك. هذا مهم بشكل خاص للشركات الصغيرة حيث يتعين عليها القيام بموارد وميزانيات محدودة. نحن نقدم الخطوط العريضة لجميع أنواع منصات التجارة الإلكترونية على هذا الموقع ، ولكن لا يوجد منها أكثر شعبية من Shopify وماجينتو. Shopify لديها بعض الخناق في سوق المنصات "المستضافة ، الكل في واحد" ، في حين أن Magento هي أكبر لاعب عندما يتعلق الأمر بمواقع التجارة الإلكترونية الأكبر والأكثر تعقيدًا. إنها منصات مختلفة تمامًا ، لكننا نرغب في حفر Magento vs Shopify لمعرفة أي واحد هو الصحيح لعملك.

بصفتك شخصًا يخطط لإنشاء متجر عبر الإنترنت ، أو ترحيل متجرك الحالي إلى نظام أساسي آخر في المستقبل القريب ، قد تفكر في خياراتك. Shopify (اقرأ لنا Shopify مراجعة) و الماجنتو مفتوح المصدر (اقرأ لنا استعراض الماجنتو) عبارة عن منصتي إنشاء وإدارة لمتاجر التجارة الإلكترونية على نطاق واسع واستخدامهما اليوم. ومع ذلك ، هناك بعض الاختلافات الأساسية الضخمة بين هذه المنصات التي يجب أن تكون على دراية بها قبل إجراء تقييم مقارن بين الاثنين:

  • Shopify هو منتج تجاري (تحتاج إلى دفعه مقابل) بينما Magento Open Source هو برنامج مجاني مفتوح المصدر.
  • Shopify هو حل مستضاف (حيث يتم استضافة متجرك من قبلهم) في حين أن Magento يتطلب منك تقديم الاستضافة الخاصة بك ، وتثبيت ، وإعداد وتكوين كل شيء قبل أن تتمكن بالفعل من البدء في إنشاء متجرك - شيء يتطلب المستوى المتوسط ​​إلى العالي من تطوير الويب ومهارات البرمجة .
  • Shopify هو أكثر للمبتدئين ، مع واجهة مستخدم بسيطة ، في حين أن Magento مليئة بالميزات ولكن أكثر ملاءمة للمطورين المتقدمين.

مقابل الماجنتو shopify - shopify الصفحة الرئيسية

تمتلك Magento إصدارًا مدفوعًا ، لكنها مكلفة للغاية وهي مخصصة فقط للمؤسسات الكبيرة التي يمكنها إنفاق 10s بآلاف الدولارات على موقع ويب شهريًا. لن نراجع النسخة المدفوعة ، لأن معظم الشركات الناشئة والشركات الصغيرة لا تملك المال. يجب أن تفكر معظم الشركات الصغيرة في الإصدار المفتوح المصدر من Magento إذا كان لديك مطور خبير في الفريق - أو إذا كان لديك مهارات تطوير بنفسك. خلاف ذلك ، كنت أفضل حالا الذهاب مع Shopify لمتجرك على الانترنت بأكمله.

مع وضع هذه الاختلافات في الاعتبار ، إليك مقارنتنا المباشرة بين Magento vs Shopify:

مباراة الماجنتو Shopify: مقارنة الميزة

وظائف المتجر الأساسي عبر الإنترنت - على حد سواء Shopify . الماجنتو توفر وظائف المتجر الأساسية القوية إلى حد ما في الاستخدام والصيانة بشكل مستمر. Shopify من الأسهل إعداده واستخدامه بالمقارنة مع Magento. ستجد أن الميزات الأساسية مثل عربات التسوق ووحدات الدفع والمجموعات وصفحات المنتجات مضمنة في كل من Magento و Shopify. الفرق الرئيسي هو أن Magento لديه ميزات أكثر تطوراً وسيطة ومتضمنة في النظام. مع Shopify، غالبًا ما يتعين عليك الحصول على تطبيق للوظائف الموسعة.

ادارة المخزون - الكل Shopify خطط تسمح لمنتجات غير محدودة في متجرك. Magento يتيح لك أيضا إنشاء وبيع عدد غير محدود من المنتجات. يمكنك بسهولة إنشاء منتجات ومجموعات على كل من المنصات ، ولكن السبب Shopify تحصل على إبهام على هذا واحد بسبب تكاملها المباشر لتطبيقات المخزون دروبشيبينغ مثل أوبرلو.

مع ذلك ، تجدر الإشارة هنا إلى أنه على الرغم من أن Magento يسمح بعدد غير محدود من المنتجات ، إلا أن أداء المضيف (الخادم) وسرعة تحميل الموقع قد يتحول إلى مشكلات خطيرة إذا أضفت العديد من المنتجات في متجر Magento - وهو شيء لا تفعله " ر يجب أن تقلق مع Shopify، لأنه حل مُدار بالكامل ومُستضاف.

حساب رسوم الشحن - يتيح كلا النظامين خيارات مرنة وقوية لحساب رسوم الشحن - والتي تعد واحدة من أكثر الجوانب الأساسية والأساسية لبيع البضائع المادية عبر واجهة التجارة الإلكترونية. Shopify يتكامل أيضًا مع بعض أدوات دروبشيبينغ (مع تقديرات الشحن) وحسابات شحن أكثر دقة ، والتي قد تكون مفيدة إذا كنت تحاول أن تكون دقيقة قدر الإمكان لعملائك.

توفير الكوبونات ورموز الخصم - Shopify، القليل من المستضعف هنا ، لا يقدم هذه الميزة على خطته لايت ، ولكنه متاح في جميع الخطط الأخرى. Magento يسمح إنشاء رمز الخصم وظائف حساب من البداية.

خيارات بوابة الدفع - Shopify لديه ميزة رئيسية هنا ، مع دعم لأكثر من بوابات الدفع 70 بينما Magento في وضع غير مؤات نسبيا مع دعم لعدد أقل بكثير من العبارات. ومع ذلك ، يمكن إضافة المزيد من العبّارات إلى متجر Magento عبر إضافات الجهات الخارجية. المشكلة الرئيسية التي أراها مع Shopify هو أنه من النوع الذي يجبرك على الذهاب من خلال بوابة الدفع المدمجة. Shopifyتحتوي بوابة البوابة على رسوم معاملات 0٪ ، في حين أنها تجعلك تدفع رسومًا لبوابات الطرف الثالث.

الموضوعات والقوالب - على حد سواء Shopify تقدم Magento مجموعة كبيرة من المظاهر والقوالب لإضفاء مظهرك وإحساسك على متجرك الإلكتروني ليناسب منتجاتك وذوقك. في حين أن عدد الموضوعات المجانية التي تقدمها Shopify أصغر بكثير من Magento Open Source ، تجدر الإشارة إلى أنه مجاني Shopify المظاهر عادة ما تكون أكثر معاصرة مقارنة بالموضوعات التي تقدمها Magento Open Source.

magento vs shopify - shopify themes

كلاهما يعرض مواضيع مدفوعة / متميزة ولكن هنا ، Shopify في وضع غير مؤاتٍ كبير ، حيث تبدأ السمات المميزة بسعر $ 80 ، في حين تبدأ سمات Magento المدفوعة في - 1 لا يصدق تقريبًا!

" محاولة Shopify «

تمشيا مع متطلبات اليوم المتمثلة في تصميم مواقع الويب سريعة الاستجابة (تصميم يعمل بشكل جيد عبر مجموعة من الأجهزة الشائعة الاستخدام التي يتصل بها الأشخاص) Shopify ويوفر Magento Open Source عددًا جيدًا من القوالب سريعة الاستجابة المجانية والمدفوعة.

التطبيقات والإضافات - تتوفر الكثير من تطبيقات 100 والوظائف الإضافية لها Shopify. تطبيقات ل Shopify المساعدة في تحسين وتوسيع وظائف متجرك عبر الإنترنت بطرق مختلفة. ال Shopify متجر التطبيقات ينمو باستمرار ، مع تطبيقات لأشياء مثل برامج الولاء ، والمحاسبة ، والتسويق عبر البريد الإلكتروني. Shopify يدير أيضًا متجر التطبيقات التابع له بشكل جيد ، لذا لن تقوم بتثبيت بعض التطبيقات غير المرغوب فيها التي ستلحق الضرر بموقعك.

magento vs shopify - magento marketplace

مرة أخرى ، يتمتع Magento بميزة قوية ، مع تطبيقات ووظائف إضافية من 5000 +. ويرجع ذلك في المقام الأول إلى طبيعة المنصة الكبيرة والمفتوحة المصدر والمدفوعة بالمجتمع. يتوفر مزيج من التطبيقات / الإضافات المجانية والمدفوعة أيضًا لكلا النظامين الأساسيين.

»جرب الماجنتو«

بشكل عام ، يجب أن تكون قادرًا على العثور على تطبيقات مجانية لجميع المهام تقريبًا على كلا النظامين. أنا كثيرا ما تتعثر على تطبيقات متميزة على Shopify، ولكن بعد ذلك أكمل البحث السريع لتحديد موقع شيء مشابه ومجاني.

قدرات متعددة اللغات - Shopify لا تقدم قدرات متعددة اللغات كاملة مباشرة. لإنشاء متاجر متعددة اللغات بالكامل ، تتوفر تطبيقات جهة خارجية / مدفوعة Shopify. خيار آخر متاح في Shopify هو رمز مخصص للموضوع بحيث يحتوي على قدرات متعددة اللغات. ومع ذلك ، من المرجح أن تجد خبيرًا Shopify المطور لإكمال المهمة. Magento مرة أخرى في ميزة هنا ، مع مزيد من الدعم المدمج في متعدد اللغات.

قدرات كبار المسئولين الاقتصاديين - يوفر كلا النظامين إمكانات كبيرة لتحسين محركات البحث من أجل مساعدتك في جذب المزيد من الزيارات المجانية إلى متجرك عبر محركات البحث ، وتحقيق درجات متقاربة تقريبًا في ميزات ومزايا تحسين محركات البحث ، كما هو موضح على نطاق واسع في هذا المقال: اختيار أفضل منصة التجارة الإلكترونية لقدرات كبار المسئولين الاقتصاديين.

قدرات التخصيص - يوفر كلا النظامين إمكانات قوية للتخصيص ، عبر واجهة متقدمة تسمح لك بتحرير شفرة HTML / CSS البرمجية مباشرة لتمنحك التحكم الكامل في تصميم وشكل وأسلوب متجرك.

ومع ذلك ، كما ذكر أعلاه ، Shopify يسجل نتائج أفضل هنا من خلال توفير طريقة بسيطة قائمة على القائمة لتغيير السمات الأساسية لمتجرك مثل الخطوط والألوان وما إلى ذلك بسهولة شديدة مع إمكانات التخصيص مع Magento مرتفعة بقدر ما يمكنها لأن كل الكود مفتوح المصدر ، أي منها يمكنك تعديله بأي طريقة تريدها. على الرغم من أن هذه الحرية غير المقيدة في التخصيص لا يمكن استخدامها إلا من قِبل أولئك الذين لديهم خبرة في برمجة الويب وترميز HTML / CSS.

أيضا، Shopify يقدم محررًا للسمات يسمح لك بالتجول في مظهر وسمة المظهر الخاص بك ، ولديه القدرة على إخفاء المقاطع ، بحيث يمكنك العمل على التحديثات المستقبلية مسبقًا دون الحاجة إلى تكرار السمة ، أو العمل على خادم مرحلي .

وأخيرا، Shopify يوفر أقسام السحب والإفلات ، والتي تعتبر لطيفة لتنظيم المحتوى على موقع الويب الخاص بك. لا يشبه إنشاء أداة السحب والإفلات الفعلية ، ولكنه يجعل واجهة تصميم أسهل كثيرًا بالمقارنة مع Magento.

وظائف التدوين - تتوفر وظيفة التدوين السهل كميزة متكاملة في Shopify. يمكن تحقيق ذلك مع Magento. طالما أن لديك مطورًا ، يجب أن تكون مدونة Magento الخاصة بك أكثر قابلية للتخصيص مما توفره Shopify.

الماجنتو مقابل shopify - وظائف الماجنتو

مباراة الماجنتو Shopify: سهولة الاستعمال

كما ذكر سابقا في هذا الاستعراض ، Shopify و Magento Open Source كلاهما قوي إلى حد ما بناء منصات التجارة الإلكترونية. يأتي كلاهما بواجهة مستخدم مصممة تصميماً جيداً ومدروسة ، مما يجعل من السهل إلى حد ما على أي مستخدم أن يعمل ويعمل من خلال متجر على الإنترنت.

magento vs shopify - shopify dashboard

بعد قولي هذا ، تجدر الإشارة إلى ذلك Shopify يحتوي على وضع معالج يسمح حتى للمستخدمين المبتدئين بإعداد متاجرهم بسهولة بالغة بينما تفتقر Magento Open Source إلى هذه الميزة.

كذلك ، بما أن Magento ليس حلًا مستضافًا ، فإن شراء الاستضافة الخاصة بك وإعداد متجرك معها هي عمليات لن يجد المستخدمون النهائيون العاديون أنها سهلة أو ملائمة للقيام بها بأنفسهم.

عندما أنظر إلى Magento vs Shopify والنظر في سهولة الاستخدام ، إنه أمر غير ذكي. Shopify انتصارات.

مباراة الماجنتو Shopify: التكاليف

إعداد الرسوم - Shopify لا تتقاضى أي رسوم الإعداد. في الواقع ، يقدمون نسخة تجريبية مجانية مدتها يوم 14 والتي يمكنك من خلالها اختبار وتقييم الوظائف والميزات التي تقدمها منصة استضافة التجارة الإلكترونية الخاصة بهم. مع Magento ، مسألة رسوم الإعداد ببساطة لا تنشأ لأنها مجانية تمامًا للاستخدام. (ستحتاج إلى شراء - ودفع مقابل - استضافة الخاص بك رغم ذلك ، كما هو موضح أدناه.)

الرسوم الشهرية - Shopify يقدم أربعة خطط مختلفة مع رسوم شهرية تتراوح من $ 14 إلى $ 179 على النحو التالي:

  • خطة لايت: $ 9
  • إبدء Shopify الخطة: $ 29
  • Shopify الخطة: $ 79
  • بحث متقدم Shopify الخطة: $ 299

بدء مجانا Shopify محاكمة من قبل clicking here.

مع Magento ، سيكون عليك تقديم استضافة خاصة بك ، وهي متاحة بتكاليف شهرية تتراوح من $ 5 إلى 100s بالدولار.

BLUEHOST هي موثوقة وشعبية وقوية استضافة التجارة الإلكترونية حيث يمكنك شراء استضافة متجر Magento الخاص بك رخيص جدا.

رسوم النطاق الترددي - Shopify لا تتقاضى أي رسوم استخدام للنطاق الترددي على أي من خططها. مع Magento Open Source ، سيعتمد ذلك على مزود الاستضافة الذي اخترته لاستضافة متجرك. في مباراة الماجنتو Shopify معركة رسوم عرض النطاق الترددي ، وأنا أحب Shopify بسبب اليقين.

رسوم التحويل - Shopify لا تفرض أي رسوم إضافية على المعاملات إذا تم استخدام بوابة الدفع الخاصة بها. في حالة استخدام أي بوابة أو طريقة أخرى (مثل COD) ، يكون هيكل رسوم المعاملة على النحو التالي:

  • خطة لايت ($ 9 / mo.): 2٪
  • إبدء Shopify الخطة ($ 29 / شهر): 2٪
  • Shopify الخطة ($ 79 / شهر): 1٪
  • بحث متقدم Shopify الخطة ($ 299 / شهر): 0.5٪

مع Magento Open Source ، لا يتم فرض أي رسوم على المعاملات بخلاف رسوم مزود البوابة (والتي تختلف من بوابة إلى بوابة). هذه الرسوم ، بطبيعة الحال ، تكون قابلة للتطبيق على Shopify كذلك.

أسعار الموضوع / القالب - توفر كلتا المنصتين عددًا جيدًا من الموضوعات المجانية والمدفوعة Shopify وأسعار Magento المميزة تبدأ من 80 $ و 1 $ على التوالي.

بشكل عام ، من الصعب مقارنة Magento vs Shopify في عالم التسعير. Shopify على الأرجح أكثر قابلية للإدارة مع تسعيرها الشهري ، ولكن Magento مجاني. المشكلة هي أن لديك العديد من النفقات الكبيرة الأخرى التي يجب عليك البحث عنها مع Magento.

مباراة الماجنتو Shopify: أيهما أفضل لمتجرك على الإنترنت؟

في حين أن كلا Shopify و Magento هي منصات التجارة الإلكترونية قوية إلى حد ما ، Shopify يوفر سهولة أكبر في الاستخدام نظرًا لأنه خدمة مستضافة ومدارة بالكامل.

تتطلب Magento ، أثناء تحريرها ، منك شراء الاستضافة وتنفيذ جميع إجراءات إعداد البرامج / النظام وتثبيتها بنفسك - وهو أمر لن يتمكن إلا الأشخاص المتمكنون من التكنولوجيا (وليس المستخدمين النهائيين العاديين) من القيام به.

في ضوء هذا ، وكذلك بعض النقاط التي نوقشت أعلاه ، Shopify يخرج فائزًا كمنصة للتجارة الإلكترونية لبناء متجرك على الإنترنت بأقصى قدر من سهولة الاستخدام وقدرات قوية. إذا كانت لديك أي أسئلة أخرى حول المقارنة بين Magento و Shopify، واسمحوا لنا أن نعرف في قسم التعليقات أدناه.

في حال كنت تريد أن ترى بعض الأمثلة الحقيقية ل Magento vs Shopify المحلات التجارية عبر الإنترنت في العمل ، وهنا بعض رائعة Shopify فروعنا وبعض أمثلة على موقع الماجنتو.

لتبدأ مع نسخة تجريبية مجانية من Shopify, click here.

لتنزيل Magento Open Source ، click here.

جو وارنيمونت

جو وارنيمونت كاتب مستقل ينشئ أدوات وموارد لمساعدة الكتّاب الآخرين على تحقيق إنتاجية أكبر وتسويق أعمالهم.

Shopify vs Magento Open Source (December 2019): Which Is the Absolute Best?

Selecting the most suitable ecommerce platform for creating, managing and maintaining an online store is of critical importance, as it can be the factor responsible for either success or failure for your business. This is particularly important for small businesses since they have to make do with limited resources and budgets. We outline all sorts of ecommerce platforms on this website, but none are more popular than Shopify and Magento. Shopify has somewhat of a stranglehold in the “hosted, all-in-one” platform market, while Magento is the biggest player when it comes to larger, more complex ecommerce sites. They're very different platforms, but we'd like to pit Magento vs Shopify to see which one is right for your business.

As someone planning to create an online store, or migrate your current store to another platform in the near future, you might be considering your options. Shopify (read our Shopify review) and Magento Open Source (read our Magento review) are two widely acclaimed and used ecommerce store creation and management platforms today. There are, however, some huge fundamental differences between these platforms that you should be well aware of before making a comparative evaluation of the two:

  • Shopify is a commercial product (that you need to pay for) while Magento Open Source is a free, open-source software.
  • Shopify is a hosted solution (where your store is hosted by them) while Magento requires that you provide your own hosting, install, setup and configure everything before you can actually start creating your store – something requiring medium to high level of web development and programming skills.
  • Shopify is more for beginners, with a simple user interface, while Magento is packed with features but more suitable for advanced developers.

magento vs shopify - shopify homepage

Magento does have a paid version, but it gets extremely expensive and is only meant for large enterprises that can spend 10s of thousands of dollars on a website per month. We won't be reviewing the paid version, since most startups and small businesses don't have the money. Most small businesses should think about the opensource version of Magento if you have an experienced developer on the team–or if you have development skills yourself. Otherwise, you're far better off going with Shopify for your entire online store.

With these differences in mind, here's our head-to-head comparison of Magento vs Shopify:

Magento vs Shopify: A Feature Comparison

Basic online store functionality – Both Shopify and Magento offer basic store functionalities that are fairly powerful to use and maintain on an ongoing basis. Shopify is significantly easier to set up and use when compared to Magento. You'll find that basic features like shopping carts, checkout modules, collections, and product pages are all included with both Magento and Shopify. The main difference is that Magento has far more intermediate and advanced features built into the system. With Shopify, you often have to get an app for extended functionality.

Inventory management – All Shopify plans allow for unlimited products in your store. Magento also lets you create and sell an unlimited number of products. You can easily create products and collections on both of the platforms, but the reason Shopify gets the thumbs up on this one is because of its direct integration to dropshipping inventory apps like Oberlo.

It should be noted here though, that while Magento allows a virtually unlimited number of products, your host (server) performance and site loading speed might turn out to be serious issues if you add too many products on your Magento store – something you don't have to worry about with Shopify, since it is a fully managed and hosted solution.

Calculation of shipping charges – Both platforms allow flexible and powerful options for the calculation of shipping charges–which is one of the most basic and essential aspects of selling physical goods via an ecommerce storefront. Shopify also integrates with some dropshipping tools (with shipping estimates) and more exact shipping calculators, which might be helpful if you're trying to be as accurate as possible for your customers.

Provision for coupons and discount codes – Shopify, a bit of an underdog here, does not offer this feature on its Lite plan, but it is available on all other plans. Magento allows discount code creation and calculation functionalities from the start.

Payment gateway options – Shopify has a major edge here, with support for over 70 payment gateways while Magento is relatively at a disadvantage with support for a far lower number of gateways. More gateways, however, can be added to Magento store via third-party add-ons. The main problem I see with Shopify is that it kind of forces you to go with its built-in payment gateway. Shopify's gateway has 0% transaction fees, while they make you pay fees for third-party gateways.

Themes and Templates – Both Shopify and Magento offer a large collection of themes and templates to give your online store a look and feel to suit your products and taste. While the number of free themes provided by Shopify is significantly smaller than that of Magento Open Source, it can be noted that the free Shopify themes are generally more contemporary as compared to the themes offered by Magento Open Source.

magento vs shopify - shopify themes

Both offer paid/premium themes but here, Shopify is at a great disadvantage, with premium themes starting at $80, while Magento paid themes start at – an almost unbelievable – $1!

» Try Shopify «

In keeping with today's must-have requirement of responsive website design (a design that works well across a range of commonly used devices with which people get online), both Shopify and Magento Open Source offers a good number of responsive templates, free as well as paid.

Apps and Add-ons – Well over 100 apps and add-ons are available for Shopify. The apps for Shopify assist in enhancing and expanding the functionality of your online store in various ways. The Shopify App store is constantly growing, with apps for things like loyalty programs, accounting, and email marketing. Shopify also moderates its app store pretty well, so you're not going to install some junk app that's going to damage your site.

magento vs shopify - magento marketplace

Magento, again, is at a strong advantage here, with a whopping 5000+ apps and add-ons. This is primarily because of the large, open source, community-driven nature of the platform. A mix of free, as well as paid apps/add-ons, are available for both platforms.

» Try Magento «

In general, you should be able to find free apps for pretty much all tasks on both platforms. I often stumble upon premium apps on Shopify, but then complete a quick search to locate something similar and free.

Multi-lingual capabilities – Shopify does not offer full multi-lingual capabilities directly. For creating fully multi-lingual stores, third-party/paid apps are available for Shopify. Another option available at Shopify is to custom code your theme so that it has multilingual capabilities. However, you would most likely have to find an expert Shopify developer to complete the task. Magento is again at an advantage here, with more built-in multi-lingual support.

SEO capabilities – Both platforms offer extensive SEO capabilities in order to help you drive more organic traffic to your store via search engines, scoring almost neck-to-neck on powerful SEO features and benefits, as extensively described in this article: Choosing the best ecommerce platform for SEO capabilities.

Customization capabilities – Both platforms offer robust customization capabilities, via an advanced interface that allows you to edit the raw HTML/CSS code directly to give you total control over the design and the look-and-feel of your store.

However, as mentioned above, Shopify scores better here by providing a simple, menu-driven method to change the basic attributes of your store such as fonts, colors etc. very easily while with the customization capabilities with Magento are as high as it can get because all its code is open source, any of which you can modify in any way you wish to. Albeit, this unrestricted freedom to customize can be used only by those who have deeply entrenched web programming and HTML/CSS coding know-how.

Also, Shopify offers a theme editor that allows you to play around with the look and feel of your theme, and it has the ability to hide sections, so that you can work on future updates beforehand without having the duplicate the theme, or work on a staging server.

Finally, Shopify provides drag and drop sections, which are nice for organizing the content on your website. It's nothing like an actual drag and drop builder, but it makes for a much easier design interface when compared to Magento.

Blogging functionality – Easy blogging functionality is available as an integrated feature at Shopify. This can be achieved with Magento. As long as you have a developer, your Magento blog should be far more customizable than what they provide at Shopify.

magento vs shopify - magento functionality

Magento vs Shopify: Ease of use

As mentioned earlier in this review, Shopify and Magento Open Source are both fairly powerful ecommerce store building platforms. Both come with a user interface that is well-designed and thought-out, making it fairly easy for any user to get up and running with an online store.

magento vs shopify - shopify dashboard

Having said that, it should be noted that Shopify has a wizard mode that allows even novice users to set up their stores very easily while Magento Open Source is lacking in this feature.

Also, since Magento is not a hosted solution, procuring your own hosting and setting up your store with it are processes that typical end-users would not find easy or convenient to do on their own.

When I look at Magento vs Shopify and consider ease of use, it's a no-brainer. Shopify wins.

Magento vs Shopify: The Costs

Setup fees – Shopify does not charge any setup fees. In fact, they offer a 14-day free trial with which you can test and evaluate the functionality and features offered by their ecommerce hosting platform. With Magento, the question of setup fees simply does not arise since it is totally free to use. (You'll need to procure – and pay for – your own hosting though, as discussed below.)

Monthly fees – Shopify offers four different plans with monthly fees ranging from $14 to $179 as follows:

  • Lite Plan: $9
  • Basic Shopify Plan: $29
  • Shopify Plan: $79
  • Advanced Shopify Plan: $299

Start a free Shopify trial by clicking here.

With Magento, you'll have to provide your own hosting, which is available at monthly costs ranging anywhere from $5 to 100s of dollars.

BlueHost is a reliable, popular and powerful ecommerce hosting provider where you can purchase hosting for your Magento store very inexpensively.

Bandwidth charges – Shopify does not charge any bandwidth usage fees on any of its plans. With Magento Open Source, this will depend on the hosting provider that you have chosen for hosting your store. In the Magento vs Shopify battle of bandwidth charges, I like Shopify because of the certainty.

Transaction fees – Shopify does not charge any additional transaction fees if their own payment gateway is used. If utilizing any other gateway or method (such as COD), their transaction fee structure is as follows:

  • Lite Plan ($9/mo.) : 2%
  • Basic Shopify Plan ($29/mo.): 2%
  • Shopify Plan ($79/mo.): 1%
  • Advanced Shopify Plan ($299/mo.): 0.5%

With Magento Open Source, no transaction fees are charged other than the gateway provider’s fees (which vary from gateway to gateway). These fees would, naturally, be applicable for Shopify as well.

Theme/Template prices – Both platforms offer a good number of free as well as paid themes, with Shopify and Magento premium theme prices starting at $80 and $1 respectively.

Overall, it's tough to compare Magento vs Shopify in the realm of pricing. Shopify is most likely more manageable with its monthly pricing, but Magento is free. The problem is that you have many other larger expenses you have to look out for with Magento.

Magento vs Shopify: Which One is Best for Your Online Store?

While both Shopify and Magento are fairly powerful ecommerce platforms, Shopify provides greater ease of use since it is a hosted and fully managed service.

Magento, while free itself, requires you to purchase hosting and carry out all the software/system setup and installation procedures yourself – something that only fairly tech-savvy people (and not typical end-users) would be able to do.

In light of this, as well as some of the points discussed above, Shopify comes out a winner as an ecommerce platform for building your online store with maximum ease of use and powerful capabilities. If you have any other questions about our comparison of Magento vs Shopify, let us know in the comments section below.

In case you want to see some real examples of Magento vs Shopify online shops in action, here are some fantastic Shopify stores and some Magento website examples.

To get started with a free trial of Shopify, click here.

To download Magento Open Source, click here.

Joe Warnimont

Joe Warnimont is a freelance writer who creates tools and resources to help other writers get more productive and market their work.