كيفية الاستفادة القصوى من قاعدة بيانات البريد الإلكتروني الخاص بك

هذا هو ضيف آخر من قبل ماثيو نيل من إلى البحر. يدرك معظم المسوقين أن التسويق عبر البريد الإلكتروني يمكن أن يحقق نتائج جادة إذا كنت تعرف كيفية استخدامه بشكل صحيح. يعد تحسين النشرات الإخبارية للبريد الإلكتروني لعملائنا واستراتيجية البريد الإلكتروني المشغلة أولوية عالية في وكالتي إلى البحر. إنه جانب رائع من التسويق الرقمي وبالنسبة لتجار التجزئة على وجه الخصوص ، فهي قناة تحتاج إلى إطلاق النار على جميع الاسطوانات إذا كنت جادا في توليد الإيرادات من متجرك.

ويبدأ مع قاعدة بيانات البريد الإلكتروني

عندما نعمل مع العملاء لتحسين التسويق عبر البريد الإلكتروني ، يتمثل أحد التحديات الأكثر شيوعًا التي نواجهها في كيفية تحقيق فهم أكبر لمشتركيهم. تقوم العديد من الشركات بتجميع عناوين البريد الإلكتروني لفترة طويلة ، ويقوم الكثير منها بجمع هذه العناوين بدون خطة لما سيستخدمها من أجلها. وهم يدركون أنهم سيرغبون في إرسال الرسائل في المستقبل ، لكنهم في وقت جمعهم لم يكونوا يعرفون البيانات التي يجب جمعها. لم يجمع الكثيرون أي شيء بخلاف عنوان البريد الإلكتروني ، أو في أفضل الأحوال ، متى وأين تم جمع عنوان البريد الإلكتروني.

البيانات يفتح فرصة

إن الحد الأدنى من البيانات ليس مشكلة كبيرة إذا كان نشاطك التجاري يركز على مجموعة صغيرة من المنتجات المماثلة أو اهتمام خاص حيث لا تحتاج إلى تمييز رسائلك. إنها تبدأ في أن تصبح مشكلة على الرغم من أنك تقوم بتسويق مجموعة واسعة من المنتجات أو لجمهور ذي نطاق واسع من الاهتمامات (غالباً مصالح قصيرة الأجل).

مثال عملي

طُلب منا تقديم نصيحة تسجيل معروفة حول كيفية تحسين استراتيجية التسويق عبر البريد الإلكتروني. أرادوا معرفة كيفية الحصول على عناوين البريد الإلكتروني وماذا ترسل لهم. يدير الملصق كتالوج واسع النطاق ، ويبيع المنتجات المادية والرقمية. إذا كنت تحب الموسيقى ، فلديك شيء في الكتالوج الذي سيروق لك. وهذا يعني أن جمهورهم المحتمل ضخم ، ولكنه أيضًا جمهور ذو أذواق موسيقية مختلفة. التسويق الشامل الشامل لهذا الجمهور غير فعال ولن يكون له سوى تأثير سلبي.

بدون استهداف رسائلهم إلى الأذواق الموسيقية ، فإنهم يخاطرون بإثارة جمهورهم وإبعادهم في نفس الوقت. من غير المرجح أن يتفاعل معجب بالجاز العميق مثل سون رع مع الرسائل حول ريهانا على سبيل المثال ، والعكس صحيح. الموسيقى هي وسيلة الاتصال ، ولكن في داخلها هناك أذواق مستقطبة للغاية ، ومن النادر العثور على شخص ليس لديه أفضليات الذوق.

في حالة كهذه ، بدون تقسيم ، من المرجح أن تواجه انخفاضًا بطيئًا ومكلفًا في فعالية التسويق عبر البريد الإلكتروني. بمرور الوقت ، سيتوقف مستلمي رسائل البريد الإلكتروني الفارغة عن التوقف لفتح ما يتم إرساله من الملصق. في عصر من الزمن وندرة الاهتمام ، فإن مخاطر إهدار الوقت والاهتمام بشيء قد لا يكون ذا أهمية بالنسبة لهم لا تستحق الجهد الذي يتطلبه الأمر لفتحه لمعرفة ما إذا كانوا على حق.

ستحتوي التسمية على قائمة ذات معدل عالي للتكرار ، وستفقد الفرصة المتاحة أمامها. لن يمنح المتلقّين لهم العديد من الفرص لتخليص أنفسهم ، وإذا كان حظّهم ضعيفًا إذا كان هناك بريد صدى أو لا يعمل من دون استراتيجية احتفاظ أو استرجاع. والأسوأ من ذلك أنه يمكن وضع علامة على أنها رسائل غير مرغوب فيها أو حجبها من قبل مستلمي غاضبين بما يكفي لأن غالبية رسائل البريد الإلكتروني التي يرسلونها يمكن حجبها كرسالة غير مرغوب فيها - مما يمنع حتى أولئك الذين ربما كانوا قد أرسلوا ما يرسلونه من تلقيها.

التقسيم هو الحل والتحدي

كان من الواضح أنه يجب وضع التقسيم في صميم استراتيجية التسويق عبر البريد الإلكتروني. يضمن التقسيم أن الرسائل الصحيحة تذهب إلى الشخص المناسب في الوقت المناسب. سيؤدي ذلك إلى تحسين كفاءة وفعالية التسويق عبر البريد الإلكتروني إلى حد كبير ، فضلاً عن منحهم نتائج أكبر بشكل كبير في البيع والبيع. بعد شرح استراتيجية التقسيم ، كان من السهل وضع نهج لجمع عناوين البريد الإلكتروني مع تقديم بيانات داعمة ، ولكن الحصول على قائمة أفضل منها يحتاج أيضًا إلى زيادة إثراء قاعدة بيانات البريد الإلكتروني هذه. كانت هذه هي الطريقة الوحيدة التي يمكنهم بها استهداف هؤلاء المشتركين من خلال رسائل البريد الإلكتروني ذات الصلة.

هذا ليس من غير المألوف ، حيث أن العديد من الشركات لديها قاعدة بيانات تاريخية كبيرة من عناوين البريد الإلكتروني التي جمعتها على مر السنين. وغالباً ما لا يكون لديهم طريقة لمعرفة مكان العناوين التي تم جمعها منها وما هو الدافع لذلك الشخص لاختيار تلقي اتصالات أخرى.

إثراء البيانات ضروري للتجزئة

عندما يكون لديك قاعدة بيانات البريد الإلكتروني مع الحد الأدنى من البيانات ، أو قاعدة بيانات البريد الإلكتروني التي لم يتم تحديثها بانتظام ، ثم هناك عدد من التكتيكات التي يمكنك استخدامها لإثراء البيانات التي قمت بجمعها بالفعل.

إثراء مباشر

مطالبة هؤلاء الأشخاص المدرجين في القائمة بالتطوع للحصول على مزيد من المعلومات عن أنفسهم

اطلب من هؤلاء الموجودين في القائمة تحديث تفضيلاتهم مقابل مكافأة. على سبيل المثال ، يمكن لبائع التجزئة إرسال قائمته بالبريد الإلكتروني ومطالبته بتحديث تفضيلات بريده الإلكتروني بالنسبة إلى بائع التجزئة هذا. وفي المقابل ، سيمنحهم بائع التجزئة الثقة بأنهم سيتلقون الآن رسائل إلكترونية فقط تركز على ما يريدون قراءته. كمكافأة إضافية ، يمكن أن يجذب تاجر التجزئة عملية الإكمال باستخدام رمز خصم يمكن استرداده مقابل عملية شراء مع بائع التجزئة هذا. إذا لم يكن الخصم هو شيء خاص بهم ، فيمكنهم تقديم مكافأة على الشحن المجاني عندما يقوم المشترك بالطلب في المرة القادمة ، أو الوصول الحصري إلى مكافآت المحتوى ، أو نقاط مخطط الولاء ، أو أي شيء آخر يعتقدون أنه سيؤدي إلى الاستجابة المرغوبة من الأشخاص الموجودين على قائمتهم.

تسهل خدمات مثل Mailchimp إضافة رابط في رسائل البريد الإلكتروني التي عند النقر عليها ، سيتم إرسال الأشخاص إلى نموذج تفضيلات يمكنهم تحديثه. يمكن تخصيص النماذج ويمكن استضافتها على مجموعة متنوعة من الصفحات المقصودة التي تتحكم فيها. عندما يقوم عضو القائمة بتحديث تفضيلاتهم سيتم تحديث هذا داخل Mailchimp أيضًا ، ويمكنك استخدام هذا للتجزئة. توصي بعض الوكالات بتضمين نموذج التفضيل في البريد الإلكتروني نفسه ، ولكننا وجدنا أن العديد من عملاء البريد الإلكتروني يعتبرون أن نماذج البريد الإلكتروني تمثل مخاطرة أمنية. بينما يقوم بعض عملاء البريد الإلكتروني بتحذيرك من خطر محتمل ، يقوم الآخرون بتعطيل النماذج بشكل مباشر. لن يتمكن معظم المستلمين مطلقًا من استخدام النموذج ، وبالنسبة لأولئك الذين يمكنهم ذلك ، سيفكرون مرتين في إرسال البيانات عندما يشاهدون تحذيرًا من عميل البريد الإلكتروني.

هنا مثال على نموذج تفضيل Goodhood. لقد تمكنت من الوصول إليه عبر رابط في التذييل تم العثور عليه في رسالة إخبارية حديثة عبر البريد الإلكتروني:

رسائل البريد GoodHood

يعتمد معدل نجاح هذا التكتيك على عدد من العوامل ، بما في ذلك عدد الأشخاص المسجلين في القائمة عبر هذا النموذج ، وكيفية إغراء تبادل القيمة ، ومدى اهتمام القائمة بعلامتك التجارية / منتجاتك ، وعدد المرات التي تتصل بها القائمة ونوع الجمهور الذي تستهدفه. إن مطالبة الأشخاص بتزويدك بالوقت والمعلومات يعد طلبًا كبيرًا ، ولكنه سيكشف أيضًا عن قاعدة بياناتك. حتى أولئك الذين يتجاهلون طلبك سيكشفون عن معلومات قيمة حول صحة قائمتك. قد تجد أيضًا أنه بعد أن يتلقى أحد المشتركين بعض النشرات الإخبارية التي تركز على اهتماماتهم الشخصية ، سيكونون أكثر انفتاحًا على طلبات أخرى للحصول على بيانات إضافية. بمجرد أن يختبر الناس أن هناك فوائد في مشاركة شيء عن أنفسهم ، فمن الأرجح أن يفعلوا ذلك.

دمج تحديثات التفضيلات لرسائل البريد الإلكتروني في مجموعة ميزات إدارة حسابات العملاء الخاصة بموقعك. هذا يعمل بشكل جيد إذا كان هؤلاء الأشخاص المسجلون في قائمتك مسجلين أيضًا كعملاء. وهذا يمنح العميل التحكم ، وبينما يجب أن يكون رابط تفضيلات التحديث مرئيًا دائمًا في تذييل رسائل بريدك الإلكتروني الإخبارية ، فإن وجوده كجزء من ميزات حسابه سيشجع استخدامه المنتظم. إذا أصبحت إدارة تفضيلات البريد الإلكتروني عادة ، فستحصل على أداة تصنيف مؤتمتة. لن تحصل مطلقًا على جميع حساباتك المسجلة باستخدام هذا ، ولكنها لا تزال مفيدة. يُعد هذا الأمر مفيدًا بشكل خاص للأنشطة التجارية التي تتلاءم عروضها بشكل أفضل مع الاستهداف مع البيانات قصيرة المدى - اتجاهات الموضة والمذاق الموسيقي وما إلى ذلك.

إليك كيف يمكّن بورتر العميل من إثراء بياناته على الموقع:

استراتيجية البريد بورتر البريد الإلكتروني

وهذا مثال على البريد الإلكتروني المجزأ الذي تم إنشاؤه من تكتيكات الإثراء. جميع هذه المنتجات هي منتجات جديدة من العلامة التجارية التي تم اختيارها:

السيد بورتر البريد الإلكتروني

إذا كان لديك عناوين بريد إلكتروني تم حصادها من أشكال / مصادر غير معروفة ، فيجب عليك العمل بشكل أكثر صعوبة. بنفس الطريقة ، يمكنك أن تطلب من المشتركين تحديث نموذج تفضيل مقابل مكافأة ، يمكنك أيضًا أن تطلب منهم إكمال استطلاع رأي قصير. يمكنك استخدام أداة مثل Survey Monkey للتعامل مع هذا الأمر ، ومن شأنها أن تسمح لك بتخصيص الاستطلاع ، واستضافته على صفحة مقصودة تشعر بأنها مناسبة أكثر ، وتعيين أي أسئلة تريد الإجابة عليها. بمجرد أن تتم مناقشتها ، يمكنك إضافة هذه البيانات يدويًا إلى قاعدة البيانات الخاصة بك.

التخصيب غير المباشر

جمع البيانات عن قائمتك دون طلب مشاركتها المباشرة في المهمة

باستخدام أدوات تخصيب البيانات المتخصصة (مثل الاتصال الكامل) ، يمكنك جمع بيانات متاحة للعامة لبعض عناوين البريد الإلكتروني في قاعدة البيانات الخاصة بك. فهي الأنسب لجمع البيانات طويلة الأجل - نوع المعلومات التي لن تتغير أبدًا أو الأقل احتمالًا للتغيير عبر علاقة المشترك متعددة السنوات ، مثل الجنس ، محفزات أحداث الحياة ، الاسم ، الموقع ، إلخ. أيضا الوصول إلى بيانات الشبكة الاجتماعية التي يمكن أن تشمل معلومات مثل وظيفة المشترك ، معلومات الشركة ، أتباع وسائل الإعلام الاجتماعية ، تدابير التأثير (Klout) ، إلخ.

هذه الأدوات تكلفك المال ، ولكنك لا تدفع إلا ما تتطابق معه ، وفي تجربتي تحصل عادة على معدل ضربات 20 - 60٪ اعتمادًا على ما إذا كان b2b أو b2c. هذا مفيد جدًا لتنظيف قاعدة البيانات ، وتمكين المزيد من الرسائل المخصصة ، ولكنه لن يساعدك في تجميع البيانات على المدى القصير بالإضافة إلى التخصيب المباشر. وعادةً ما أستخدم هذا التكتيك كنقطة انطلاق لتنظيف بياناتي ، ثم تطبيق تكتيكات التخصيب النشط بعد ذلك. وسوف تمكن من تخصيص قدر أكبر من التخصيص في طلبك للإثراء المباشر ، مما يساعد على زيادة مستوى المشاركة.

إذا كنت تستخدم موردًا للتسويق عبر البريد الإلكتروني وكنت ترسل بالفعل رسائل بريد إلكتروني إلى هذه القائمة من خلال هذا النظام ، فهذا يعني أن هناك بيانات تاريخية يتم استخراجها. من هذا يمكنك تحديد مدى نشاط القائمة ، ومن خلال ما تم فتحه والنقر عليه ، يمكنك الحصول على فهم أفضل لتفضيلاتهم في سياق عرضك. يتم طرح أي أسئلة في الواقع في إطار هذه الطريقة ويتم قياس مصالح القارئ من السلوك السابق. ستتأثر فعالية هذه الطريقة بما قمت بإرساله في الماضي ، وما هو التتبع الذي قمت بإعداده (يمكنك تحليل نقرات الوصلات داخل البريد الإلكتروني كمثال) ، ومقدار الموارد التي لديك لإجراء تحليل البيانات التي جمعتها على مدار الوقت.

يمكن أن تكون مهمة وليست دائمًا انعكاسًا دقيقًا للتفضيل: لمجرد أن شخصًا ما فتح بريدًا إلكترونيًا لا يعني أن المحتوى الداخلي كان هو الدافع للفتح. إذا لم يفتحوا بريدًا إلكترونيًا أو ينقروا على رابط ، فقد يكون ذلك أيضًا سببًا بسيطًا لأنهم لم يروه. هناك العديد من الأسباب المحتملة ، لذا كن مستعدًا لقبول القيود. ستحتاج أيضًا إلى إنشاء ما يمكن الاعتماد عليه إحصائيًا كإشارة للتجزئة منه.

إذا كان لديك عرض للتجارة الإلكترونية وتم إعداد تتبع التجارة الإلكترونية مع مزود التسويق عبر البريد الإلكتروني الخاص بك ، يمكنك معرفة من الذي اشتريت منك من القائمة في الماضي وماذا كانوا يشترون. هذه طريقة شائعة لتجزئة التجار ، ولكنها تنطبق فقط على تلك الموجودة في القائمة التي تم شراؤها منك. بالنسبة لمعظم قواعد البيانات ، سيكون هذا جزءًا صغيرًا من القائمة الكلية. سوف يترك الكثير من الثغرات. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، من واقع خبرتي في العمل مع أدوات توصيات المنتج ، فإن اكتشاف الاتجاهات والتنبؤ بنزوع الشراء من سلوك الماضي هو موضوع مثير للجدل.

تلخيص

كما ترى ، لا تضيع كل شيء إذا لم تكن لديك بيانات داعمة مع قاعدة بيانات بريدك الإلكتروني. لا يزال بإمكانك تطبيق طريقة تدريجية ومنظمة لتنظيم قاعدة بياناتك. حتى إذا كنت قد جمعت البيانات في مرحلة الصعود ، فلا يزال يتعين عليك إدارة قاعدة البيانات الخاصة بك في المستقبل. إن قائمتك ليست مفهومًا ثابتًا ، بل هي بيئة ديناميكية تحتاج إلى الحفاظ عليها. عادة ما أوصيك بمجموعة من التخصيب المباشر وغير المباشر والحصول على المزيج المناسب لقائمتك هو مفتاح النجاح. ما هو صحيح لعلامة تجارية واحدة ليس مناسبًا لعلامة تجارية أخرى. تجنب جمع البيانات من أجلها ، إذا كان تخصيبها المباشر سيحبط المستلمين لا نهاية إذا لم تقم بتطبيق البيانات التي قمت بجمعها. تتحقق قيمة هذا النشاط فقط عندما يمكنك تحويله إلى إجراء. حتى تكون فعالة في ما تقوم بجمعه ، واستند في هذا على ما تنوي القيام به مع المضي قدما. تأكد من تحقيق التوازن بين جهود الحصول على البيانات والعائدات التي تتوقع أنها ستؤدي بها إلى عملك.

كاتب السيرة الذاتية: ماثيو نيل هو استراتيجي مع خبرة التسويق الرقمي خلال سنوات 10. وهو مؤسس Out To Sea ، وهي وكالة متخصصة في التسويق الرقمي والاستراتيجية والتجارة الإلكترونية للعلامات التجارية الإبداعية. بامكانك الاتصال ماثيو هنا.

تم تحرير الصورة المميزة من تيم فان دام

كاتالين زورزيني

أنا مدون تصميم مواقع ويب وبدأت هذا المشروع بعد أن قضيت بضعة أسابيع تكافح من أجل معرفة ما هو أفضل منصة التجارة الإلكترونية لنفسي. تحقق من بلدي الحالية أعلى بناة موقع التجارة الإلكترونية 10.

How to Make the Most of Your Email Database

ecommerce database

This is a guest post by Matthew Neal of Out To Sea. Most marketers know that email marketing can deliver serious results if you know how to utilize it properly. Optimizing our clients email newsletters and triggered email strategy is a high priority at my agency Out To Sea. It is a fascinating aspect of digital marketing and for the retailers especially, it is a channel that needs to be firing on all cylinders if you are serious about generating revenue from your store.

It starts with an email database

When we work with clients to improve their email marketing, one of the most common challenges we face is how to get a greater understanding of their subscribers. Many businesses have been collecting email addresses for a long time, and many are collecting these addresses without a plan of what they are going to use them for. They are aware that they will want to send messaging in the future, but at the time of collection they didn’t know what data they should collect. Many didn’t collect anything other than the email address, or at best, when and where the email address was collected.

Data unlocks opportunity

Minimal data isn’t so much of a big issue if your business is focussed on a small group of similar products or a specific niche interest where you have no need to differentiate your messaging. It does start to become a problem though when you are marketing a wide range of products, or to an audience with a wide range of interests (often short term interests).

A practical example

We were asked to advise a well-known record label on how they could improve their email marketing strategy. They wanted to know how to acquire email addresses and what to send out to them. The label manages a wide ranging catalogue, and sell both physical and digital products. If you like music then they have something in their catalogue that will appeal to you. That means their potential audience is huge, but it is also an audience with differing music tastes. Blanket mass marketing to this audience is inefficient and will only have a negative effect.

Without targeting their messaging to musical tastes they run the risk of both delighting and alienating their audience at the same time. A fan of deep jazz like Sun Ra is not likely to engage with messaging about Rihanna for example, and vice versa. Music is the connecting medium, but within that there are very polarized tastes, and it is rare to find someone who doesn’t have taste preferences.

In a situation like this, without segmentation they are most likely to experience a slow, costly decline in email marketing effectiveness. Over time the recipients of their blanket emails will stop bothering to open what they are sent from the label. In an age of time and attention scarcity the risk of wasting time and attention on something that could be irrelevant to them is not worth the effort it takes to open it to find out if they were right.

The label will have a list with a high churn rate, and they will be missing out on the opportunity that is there for them to take. Recipients won’t give them many chances to redeem themselves, and if its pot luck if a mail resonates or not they are operating without a retention or win-back strategy in place. Worse still, they could be flagged as spam or be blocked by enough disgruntled recipients that they the majority of emails they send could be blanket blocked as spam – preventing even those who may have been into what they send from receiving them.

Segmentation is the solution and the challenge

It was clear that segmentation should be placed at the heart of their email marketing strategy. Segmentation ensures that the right messaging goes to the right person at the right time. This will greatly improve the efficiency and effectiveness of their email marketing, as well as giving them significantly greater up-sell and cross-sell results. Having explained the segmentation strategy, it was quite easy to put in place an approach for collecting email addresses with supporting data going-forward, but to get their existing list also maximizing opportunity they needed to enrich that email database. That was the only way they could begin to target these subscribers with relevant emails.

This is not uncommon, as many businesses have a large historic database of email addresses that they have collected over the years. They often have no way of knowing where the addresses where collected from and what the motivation was for that person to elect to receive further communications.

Data enrichment is essential to segmentation

When you have an email database with minimal data, or an email database that hasn’t been updated regularly, then there are a number of tactics you can utilize to enrich the data you have already collected.

Direct Enrichment

Asking those people on the list to volunteer further information about themselves

Ask those people on the list to update their preferences in return for a reward. For example, a retailer could email their list and ask them to update their email preferences in relation to that retailer. In return the retailer will give them confidence that they will now only receive emails that focus on what they want to read about. As an added bonus the retailer could entice completion with a discount code that can be redeemed against a purchase with that retailer. If discounting isn’t their thing, they could offer a reward of free shipping when the subscriber next orders, exclusive access to content rewards, loyalty scheme points, or whatever else they think will trigger the desired response from those on their list.

Services such as Mailchimp make it easy to add a link in your emails that when clicked will send people to a preference form they can update. The forms can be customized and can be hosted on a variety of landing pages you control. When the list member updates their preferences this will be updated within Mailchimp too, and you can use this for segmentation. Some agencies recommend embedding the preference form into the email itself, but we have found that many email clients consider email forms to be a security risk. While some email clients simply warn you of potential danger, others outright disable the forms. Most recipients will never be able to use the form, and for those who can, they’ll think twice about submitting data when they see a warning from their email client.

Here is an example of Goodhood’s preference form. I accessed it via a link in the footer found in a recent email newsletter:

GoodHood emails

The success rate of this tactic depends on a number of factors, including, how many people on the list signed up via that form, how enticing the value exchange is, how interested the list are in your brand / products, how often you contact your list, and the type of audience you are targeting. Asking people to give you time and information is a big request, but it will also reveal a lot about your database. Even those that ignore your request will reveal valuable information about the health of your list. You may also find that after a subscriber has received a few newsletters focussed on their personal interests, they will be more open to further requests for additional data. Once people have experienced that there are benefits in sharing something about themselves, they are more likely to do so.

Integrate preference updates for emails into your site’s customer account management feature set. This works well if those people on your list have also registered as customers. This gives the customer control, and whilst the update preferences link should always be visible in the footer of your newsletter emails, having it as part of their account features will encourage its regular use. If management of email preferences becomes a habit, then you will have a pretty decent automated segmentation tool. You will never get all your registered accounts using this, but it is still useful. This is especially valuable to business whose offering is best suited to targeting with short-term data – trends in fashion, music taste, etc.

Here is how Mr Porter enable customer’s to enrich their data on the site:

Mr Porter email strategy

And this is an example of a segmented email constructed from enrichment tactic. All of these products are new products from the brand’s that have been selected:

Mr Porter email

If you have email addresses that have been harvested from unknown forms / sources then you will have to work a bit harder. In the same way you can ask subscribers to update a preference form in return for a reward, you could also ask them to complete a short survey. You could use a tool such as Survey Monkey to handle this and that would allow you to customize the survey, host it on a landing page you feel is most suitable, and set whatever questions you want to be answered. Once competed you can manually add this data to your database.

Indirect Enrichment

Collecting data about your list without requesting their direct participation in the task

Using specialist data enrichment tools (such as Full Contact) you can collect publicly accessible data for some of the email addresses in your database. They are best suited for the collection of long term data – the kind of information that would never change or is least likely to change over a multi-year subscriber relationship, E.g. Gender, life-event triggers, name, location, etc. They can also access social network data that can include information such as the subscriber’s job, company information, social media followers, influence measures (Klout), etc.

Try-Shopify

These tools cost money to use, but you only pay what you match and in my experience you typically get a 20 – 60% hit rate depending on if it’s b2b or b2c. This is very useful for cleaning up a database, and enabling more personalized messaging, but it won’t help you collate short-term data as well as direct enrichment. I would usually apply this tactic as a starting point to clean up my data, and would then apply active enrichment tactics afterwards. It will enable greater personalization in your request for direct enrichment, which should help to increase the level of participation.

If you are using an email marketing supplier and have already been sending out emails to this list through that system, that means there is historical data to be mined. From this you can establish how active your list is, and through what they have opened and clicked you could get a better understanding of their preferences in the context of your offering. No questions are actually asked under this method and reader’s interests are gauged from previous behavior. The effectiveness of this method will be impacted by what you have sent in the past, what tracking you have set-up (you could analyze link clicks within an email as an example), and how much resource you have to perform the analysis of the data you have collected over the time.

It can be quite a task and is not always an accurate reflection of preference: just because someone happened to open an email does’t mean that the content inside was the trigger for the open. If they didn’t open an email or click on a link then that may also be simply cause they didn’t see it. There are many possible reasons, so be prepared to accept limitations. You will also need to establish what would be statistically reliable as a cue to segment from.

If you have an e-commerce offering and have e-commerce tracking set up with your email marketing provider then you can see who on your list has purchased from you in the past and what it is they have been purchasing. This is a common method for retailers to segment, but only applies to those on the list that have purchased from you. For most databases this is going to be a small segment of the total list. It will leave many gaps. Plus, from my experience of working with product recommendation tools, spotting trends and predicting purchase propensity from past behavior is a contentious subject.

Summary

As you can see, all is not lost if you have no supporting data with your email database. You can still apply a gradual & organized approach to getting your database filled. Even if you have collected data at the on-boarding stage you should still be managing your database going forward. Your list is not a static concept, but a dynamic environment that needs to be maintained. I usually recommend a combination of direct and indirect enrichment and getting the right mix for your list is the key to success. What is right for one brand is not right for another. Avoid collecting data for the sake of it, if its direct enrichment it will frustrate recipients no end if you don’t apply the data you have collected. The value of this activity is only realized when you can turn it into action. So be efficient in what you collect, and base this on what you intend to do with it going forward. Make sure you balance the effort of getting the data with the returns you predict having it will bring your business.

Author bio: Matthew Neale is a strategist with over 10 years digital marketing experience. He is a founder of Out To Sea, an agency that specialise in digital marketing, strategy and e-commerce for creative brands. You can contact Matthew here.

Feature image edited from Tim Van Damme

Catalin Zorzini

I'm a web design blogger and started this project after spending a few weeks struggling to find out which is the best ecommerce platform for myself. Check out my current top 10 ecommerce site builders.