如何充分利用您的电子邮件数据库

这是Matthew Neal的客座文章 出海. 大多数营销人员都知道,如果你知道如何正确使用它,电子邮件营销可以带来严重的结果 优化我们的客户电子邮件简报和触发电子邮件策略是我所在机构的首要任务 出海。 这是数字营销的一个有吸引力的方面,特别是对于零售商而言,如果您认真考虑从商店获得收入,那么它是一个需要在所有气瓶上启动的渠道。

它以电子邮件数据库开头

当我们与客户合作改进他们的电子邮件营销时,我们面临的最常见挑战之一是如何更好地了解他们的订阅者。 许多企业长期以来一直在收集电子邮件地址,许多企业正在收集这些地址而没有计划将其用于什么。 他们知道他们希望将来发送消息,但在收集时他们不知道应该收集哪些数据。 许多人没有收集除电子邮件地址以外的任何内容,或者充其量,收集电子邮件地址的时间和地点。

数据解锁机会

如果您的业务专注于一小组类似的产品或特定的利基市场兴趣,而您无需区分您的消息,那么最小的数据就不是一个大问题。 虽然当您销售各种各样的产品或者有广泛兴趣(通常是短期利益)的受众时,它确实开始成为一个问题。

一个实际的例子

我们被要求就如何改进他们的电子邮件营销策略向一个着名的唱片公司提供建议。 他们想知道如何获取电子邮件地址以及发送给他们的内容。 该品牌管理广泛的目录,并销售实物和数字产品。 如果你喜欢音乐,那么他们的目录中会有一些吸引你的东西。 这意味着他们的潜在受众是巨大的,但它也是具有不同音乐品味的观众。 对这些观众进行大规模营销是低效的,只会产生负面影响。

如果不将他们的信息传递给音乐品味,他们就有可能同时感到高兴和疏远他们的观众。 像Sun Ra这样深沉的爵士乐迷不太可能参与有关蕾哈娜的消息,反之亦然。 音乐是一种连接媒介,但在其中存在非常极化的品味,并且很难找到没有品味偏好的人。

在这种情况下,如果没有细分,他们最有可能在电子邮件营销效率方面经历缓慢而昂贵的下降。 随着时间的推移,他们的一揽子电子邮件的收件人将不再打扰他们打开从标签发送的内容。 在一个时间和注意力稀缺的时代,浪费时间和关注可能与他们无关的事物的风险并不值得花费时间来打开它以确定它们是否正确。

该标签将有一个具有高流失率的列表,他们将错过他们可以采取的机会。 收件人不会给他们很多机会赎回自己,如果邮件运气好,如果邮件产生共鸣,他们就会在没有保留或赢回策略的情况下运营。 更糟糕的是,它们可能被标记为垃圾邮件或被足够不满的收件人阻止,以至于他们发送的大多数电子邮件都可能被封锁为垃圾邮件 - 甚至可能阻止那些可能已经接收到的邮件。

细分是解决方案和挑战

很明显,细分应该放在他们的电子邮件营销策略的核心。 分段可确保在正确的时间将正确的消息发送给合适的人。 这将极大地提高他们的电子邮件营销的效率和有效性,并为他们提供更大的向上销售和交叉销售结果。 在解释了细分策略之后,很容易采用一种方法来收集支持数据的电子邮件地址,但要获得现有列表,还要最大化他们需要丰富电子邮件数据库的机会。 这是他们开始使用相关电子邮件定位这些订阅者的唯一方式。

这并不罕见,因为许多企业拥有多年​​来收集的大型电子邮件地址历史数据库。 他们通常无法知道收集地址的位置以及该人选择接收进一步通信的动机。

数据丰富对于细分至关重要

当您拥有包含最少数据的电子邮件数据库或未定期更新的电子邮件数据库时,您可以使用许多策略来丰富您已收集的数据。

直接富集

要求名单上的人自愿提供有关自己的进一步信息

要求列表中的人更新他们的偏好以换取奖励。 例如,零售商可以通过电子邮件发送他们的列表并要求他们更新与该零售商相关的电子邮件首选项。 作为回报,零售商会让他们相信他们现在只会收到专注于他们想要阅读的内容的电子邮件。 作为额外的奖励,零售商可以通过折扣代码来吸引完成,该折扣代码可以兑换与该零售商的购买。 如果折扣不是他们的东西,他们可以提供免费送货的奖励,当订户下次订购,独家访问内容奖励,忠诚计划点,或他们认为将触发他们的列表上的那些人的期望响应的任何其他。

Mailchimp等服务可以轻松地在您的电子邮件中添加链接,点击后会将人们发送到他们可以更新的首选项表单。 表单可以自定义,并可以托管在您控制的各种登录页面上。 当列表成员更新其首选项时,它也将在Mailchimp中更新,您可以使用它进行分段。 一些代理商建议将首选项表单嵌入到电子邮件本身中,但我们发现许多电子邮件客户端认为电子邮件表单存在安全风险。 虽然一些电子邮件客户端只是警告您存在潜在危险,但其他人则直接禁用表单。 大多数收件人永远无法使用该表单,对于那些可以使用的人,当他们看到来自他们的电子邮件客户端的警告时,他们会考虑提交数据。

以下是Goodhood的偏好形式的示例。 我通过最近的电子邮件简报中的页脚链接访问了它:

GoodHood电子邮件

这种策略的成功率取决于多种因素,包括通过该表格注册的名单上有多少人,价值交换的诱惑程度,名单对您的品牌/产品的兴趣程度,您与该联系人的联系频率列表以及您定位的受众类型。 要求人们给你时间和信息是一个很大的要求,但它也会揭示你的数据库。 即使那些忽略您的请求的人也会泄露有关您列表健康状况的宝贵信息。 您可能还会发现,在订阅者收到一些专注于他们个人兴趣的简报后,他们将更愿意接受更多数据的进一步请求。 一旦人们体验到分享自己的某些好处,他们就更有可能这样做。

将电子邮件的首选项更新集成到您网站的客户帐户管理功能集中。 如果您列表中的人员也已注册为客户,则此方法很有效。 这为客户提供了控制权,虽然更新偏好设置链接应始终显示在简报电子邮件的页脚中,但将其作为其帐户功能的一部分将鼓励其定期使用。 如果管理电子邮件偏好成为一种习惯,那么您将拥有一个相当不错的自动分割工具。 您永远不会使用此帐户获得所有注册帐户,但它仍然有用。 这对于提供最适合短期数据定位的商家尤其有价值 - 时尚潮流,音乐品味等。

以下是Porter先生如何帮助客户丰富他们在网站上的数据:

波特先生的电子邮件策略

这是一个根据浓缩策略构建的分段电子邮件的示例。 所有这些产品都是来自该品牌的新产品:

波特先生发电子邮件

如果您的电子邮件地址是从未知表单/来源收集的,那么您将需要更加努力地工作。 同样,您可以要求订阅者更新偏好表以换取奖励,您也可以要求他们完成简短的调查。 您可以使用Survey Monkey等工具来处理此问题,这样您就可以自定义调查,将其托管在您认为最合适的登录页面上,并设置您想要回答的任何问题。 一旦参与竞争,您可以手动将此数据添加到数据库中。

间接充实

收集有关您的列表的数据,而无需请求他们直接参与任务

使用专业数据丰富工具(例如完全联系人),您可以收集数据库中某些电子邮件地址的可公开访问的数据。 它们最适合收集长期数据 - 在多年订户关系中永远不会改变或最不可能改变的信息,例如性别,生活事件触发器,名称,位置等。他们可以还访问社交网络数据,其中可包括订户的工作,公司信息,社交媒体粉丝,影响力度量(Klout)等信息。

这些工具需要花钱才能使用,但您只需支付相应的费用,根据我的经验,您通常会获得20 - 60%命中率,具体取决于它是b2b还是b2c。 这对于清理数据库和启用更个性化的消息传递非常有用,但它无法帮助您整理短期数据以及直接丰富。 我通常会将这种策略作为清理数据的起点,之后会应用主动的浓缩策略。 它将使您的直接致富请求更加个性化,这将有助于提高参与水平。

如果您正在使用电子邮件营销供应商,并且已经通过该系统向此列表发送电子邮件,则表示需要挖掘历史数据。 通过这种方式,您可以确定列表的活跃程度,通过打开和点击的内容,您可以在产品的上下文中更好地了解他们的偏好。 在这种方法下实际上没有问题,读者的兴趣是根据以前的行为来衡量的。 此方法的有效性将受到您过去发送的内容,您已设置的跟踪内容(您可以分析电子邮件中的链接点击数据)以及您需要多少资源来执行分析您随时收集的数据。

这可能是一项非常重要的任务,并不总是准确反映偏好:仅仅因为有人碰巧打开电子邮件并不意味着内部的内容是开放的触发器。 如果他们没有打开电子邮件或点击链接,那么这也可能只是因为他们没有看到它。 有许多可能的原因,所以要准备接受限制。 您还需要建立统计上可靠的作为分段提示的内容。

如果您有电子商务产品并且已经与您的电子邮件营销提供商建立了电子商务跟踪,那么您可以看到您的列表中的哪些人过去从您那里购买过以及他们购买了什么。 这是零售商细分的常用方法,但仅适用于从您那里购买的列表中的那些。 对于大多数数据库,这将是总列表的一小部分。 它会留下许多空白。 此外,根据我使用产品推荐工具的经验,发现趋势和预测过去行为的购买倾向是一个有争议的主题。

总结

如您所见,如果您的电子邮件数据库没有支持数据,则不会丢失所有内容。 您仍然可以采用渐进和有组织的方法来填充数据库。 即使您已经在入职阶段收集了数据,您仍然应该继续管理您的数据库。 您的列表不是静态概念,而是需要维护的动态环境。 我通常建议直接和间接浓缩的组合,并为您的清单获得正确的组合是成功的关键。 什么是一个品牌的权利不适合另一个品牌。 避免为了它而收集数据,如果它直接浓缩它会使收件人感到沮丧,如果你不应用你收集的数据。 只有在您可以将其转化为行动时,才会实现此活动的价值。 因此,在收集的内容中保持高效,并根据您打算将其用于未来的内容。 确保平衡获取数据的工作量与您预测会带来业务的回报。

作者简介: Matthew Neale是一名战略家,拥有超过10多年的数字营销经验。 他是Out To Sea的创始人,该公司专门负责 在创意品牌的数字营销,战略和电子商务领域。 你可以联系 马修在这里.

从中编辑的特征图像 蒂姆凡达姆

Catalin Zorzini

我是一名网页设计博客,在花了几周时间努力寻找出来之后开始了这个项目 最好的电子商务平台 为了我自己。 看看我的电流 顶级10电子商务网站建设者.

How to Make the Most of Your Email Database

ecommerce database

This is a guest post by Matthew Neal of Out To Sea. Most marketers know that email marketing can deliver serious results if you know how to utilize it properly. Optimizing our clients email newsletters and triggered email strategy is a high priority at my agency Out To Sea. It is a fascinating aspect of digital marketing and for the retailers especially, it is a channel that needs to be firing on all cylinders if you are serious about generating revenue from your store.

It starts with an email database

When we work with clients to improve their email marketing, one of the most common challenges we face is how to get a greater understanding of their subscribers. Many businesses have been collecting email addresses for a long time, and many are collecting these addresses without a plan of what they are going to use them for. They are aware that they will want to send messaging in the future, but at the time of collection they didn’t know what data they should collect. Many didn’t collect anything other than the email address, or at best, when and where the email address was collected.

Data unlocks opportunity

Minimal data isn’t so much of a big issue if your business is focussed on a small group of similar products or a specific niche interest where you have no need to differentiate your messaging. It does start to become a problem though when you are marketing a wide range of products, or to an audience with a wide range of interests (often short term interests).

A practical example

We were asked to advise a well-known record label on how they could improve their email marketing strategy. They wanted to know how to acquire email addresses and what to send out to them. The label manages a wide ranging catalogue, and sell both physical and digital products. If you like music then they have something in their catalogue that will appeal to you. That means their potential audience is huge, but it is also an audience with differing music tastes. Blanket mass marketing to this audience is inefficient and will only have a negative effect.

Without targeting their messaging to musical tastes they run the risk of both delighting and alienating their audience at the same time. A fan of deep jazz like Sun Ra is not likely to engage with messaging about Rihanna for example, and vice versa. Music is the connecting medium, but within that there are very polarized tastes, and it is rare to find someone who doesn’t have taste preferences.

In a situation like this, without segmentation they are most likely to experience a slow, costly decline in email marketing effectiveness. Over time the recipients of their blanket emails will stop bothering to open what they are sent from the label. In an age of time and attention scarcity the risk of wasting time and attention on something that could be irrelevant to them is not worth the effort it takes to open it to find out if they were right.

The label will have a list with a high churn rate, and they will be missing out on the opportunity that is there for them to take. Recipients won’t give them many chances to redeem themselves, and if its pot luck if a mail resonates or not they are operating without a retention or win-back strategy in place. Worse still, they could be flagged as spam or be blocked by enough disgruntled recipients that they the majority of emails they send could be blanket blocked as spam – preventing even those who may have been into what they send from receiving them.

Segmentation is the solution and the challenge

It was clear that segmentation should be placed at the heart of their email marketing strategy. Segmentation ensures that the right messaging goes to the right person at the right time. This will greatly improve the efficiency and effectiveness of their email marketing, as well as giving them significantly greater up-sell and cross-sell results. Having explained the segmentation strategy, it was quite easy to put in place an approach for collecting email addresses with supporting data going-forward, but to get their existing list also maximizing opportunity they needed to enrich that email database. That was the only way they could begin to target these subscribers with relevant emails.

This is not uncommon, as many businesses have a large historic database of email addresses that they have collected over the years. They often have no way of knowing where the addresses where collected from and what the motivation was for that person to elect to receive further communications.

Data enrichment is essential to segmentation

When you have an email database with minimal data, or an email database that hasn’t been updated regularly, then there are a number of tactics you can utilize to enrich the data you have already collected.

Direct Enrichment

Asking those people on the list to volunteer further information about themselves

Ask those people on the list to update their preferences in return for a reward. For example, a retailer could email their list and ask them to update their email preferences in relation to that retailer. In return the retailer will give them confidence that they will now only receive emails that focus on what they want to read about. As an added bonus the retailer could entice completion with a discount code that can be redeemed against a purchase with that retailer. If discounting isn’t their thing, they could offer a reward of free shipping when the subscriber next orders, exclusive access to content rewards, loyalty scheme points, or whatever else they think will trigger the desired response from those on their list.

Services such as Mailchimp make it easy to add a link in your emails that when clicked will send people to a preference form they can update. The forms can be customized and can be hosted on a variety of landing pages you control. When the list member updates their preferences this will be updated within Mailchimp too, and you can use this for segmentation. Some agencies recommend embedding the preference form into the email itself, but we have found that many email clients consider email forms to be a security risk. While some email clients simply warn you of potential danger, others outright disable the forms. Most recipients will never be able to use the form, and for those who can, they’ll think twice about submitting data when they see a warning from their email client.

Here is an example of Goodhood’s preference form. I accessed it via a link in the footer found in a recent email newsletter:

GoodHood emails

The success rate of this tactic depends on a number of factors, including, how many people on the list signed up via that form, how enticing the value exchange is, how interested the list are in your brand / products, how often you contact your list, and the type of audience you are targeting. Asking people to give you time and information is a big request, but it will also reveal a lot about your database. Even those that ignore your request will reveal valuable information about the health of your list. You may also find that after a subscriber has received a few newsletters focussed on their personal interests, they will be more open to further requests for additional data. Once people have experienced that there are benefits in sharing something about themselves, they are more likely to do so.

Integrate preference updates for emails into your site’s customer account management feature set. This works well if those people on your list have also registered as customers. This gives the customer control, and whilst the update preferences link should always be visible in the footer of your newsletter emails, having it as part of their account features will encourage its regular use. If management of email preferences becomes a habit, then you will have a pretty decent automated segmentation tool. You will never get all your registered accounts using this, but it is still useful. This is especially valuable to business whose offering is best suited to targeting with short-term data – trends in fashion, music taste, etc.

Here is how Mr Porter enable customer’s to enrich their data on the site:

Mr Porter email strategy

And this is an example of a segmented email constructed from enrichment tactic. All of these products are new products from the brand’s that have been selected:

Mr Porter email

If you have email addresses that have been harvested from unknown forms / sources then you will have to work a bit harder. In the same way you can ask subscribers to update a preference form in return for a reward, you could also ask them to complete a short survey. You could use a tool such as Survey Monkey to handle this and that would allow you to customize the survey, host it on a landing page you feel is most suitable, and set whatever questions you want to be answered. Once competed you can manually add this data to your database.

Indirect Enrichment

Collecting data about your list without requesting their direct participation in the task

Using specialist data enrichment tools (such as Full Contact) you can collect publicly accessible data for some of the email addresses in your database. They are best suited for the collection of long term data – the kind of information that would never change or is least likely to change over a multi-year subscriber relationship, E.g. Gender, life-event triggers, name, location, etc. They can also access social network data that can include information such as the subscriber’s job, company information, social media followers, influence measures (Klout), etc.

Try-Shopify

These tools cost money to use, but you only pay what you match and in my experience you typically get a 20 – 60% hit rate depending on if it’s b2b or b2c. This is very useful for cleaning up a database, and enabling more personalized messaging, but it won’t help you collate short-term data as well as direct enrichment. I would usually apply this tactic as a starting point to clean up my data, and would then apply active enrichment tactics afterwards. It will enable greater personalization in your request for direct enrichment, which should help to increase the level of participation.

If you are using an email marketing supplier and have already been sending out emails to this list through that system, that means there is historical data to be mined. From this you can establish how active your list is, and through what they have opened and clicked you could get a better understanding of their preferences in the context of your offering. No questions are actually asked under this method and reader’s interests are gauged from previous behavior. The effectiveness of this method will be impacted by what you have sent in the past, what tracking you have set-up (you could analyze link clicks within an email as an example), and how much resource you have to perform the analysis of the data you have collected over the time.

It can be quite a task and is not always an accurate reflection of preference: just because someone happened to open an email does’t mean that the content inside was the trigger for the open. If they didn’t open an email or click on a link then that may also be simply cause they didn’t see it. There are many possible reasons, so be prepared to accept limitations. You will also need to establish what would be statistically reliable as a cue to segment from.

If you have an e-commerce offering and have e-commerce tracking set up with your email marketing provider then you can see who on your list has purchased from you in the past and what it is they have been purchasing. This is a common method for retailers to segment, but only applies to those on the list that have purchased from you. For most databases this is going to be a small segment of the total list. It will leave many gaps. Plus, from my experience of working with product recommendation tools, spotting trends and predicting purchase propensity from past behavior is a contentious subject.

Summary

As you can see, all is not lost if you have no supporting data with your email database. You can still apply a gradual & organized approach to getting your database filled. Even if you have collected data at the on-boarding stage you should still be managing your database going forward. Your list is not a static concept, but a dynamic environment that needs to be maintained. I usually recommend a combination of direct and indirect enrichment and getting the right mix for your list is the key to success. What is right for one brand is not right for another. Avoid collecting data for the sake of it, if its direct enrichment it will frustrate recipients no end if you don’t apply the data you have collected. The value of this activity is only realized when you can turn it into action. So be efficient in what you collect, and base this on what you intend to do with it going forward. Make sure you balance the effort of getting the data with the returns you predict having it will bring your business.

Author bio: Matthew Neale is a strategist with over 10 years digital marketing experience. He is a founder of Out To Sea, an agency that specialise in digital marketing, strategy and e-commerce for creative brands. You can contact Matthew here.

Feature image edited from Tim Van Damme

Catalin Zorzini

I'm a web design blogger and started this project after spending a few weeks struggling to find out which is the best ecommerce platform for myself. Check out my current top 10 ecommerce site builders.