Square Terminal 评论(2021 年 XNUMX 月):您的完整指南

Square 在支付处理系统和工具方面,它可能是市场上最受欢迎和最受欢迎的公司之一。 旨在帮助各种背景的商家在当今的数字和移动世界中发展业务, Square 提供从在线销售帐户到现场销售点机器的所有内容。 您甚至可以使用 Square iPad解决方案,以尽可能降低成本。

早在2018年秋季就宣布了 Square Terminal 是该品牌提供的第一台台式信用卡机。 这种现代工具可以接受EMV芯片卡,磁条卡,NFC非接触式支付等。 更重要的是,多合一的机器提供了商人期望的相同时尚体验 Square 在餐馆,沙龙,零售店等等。

作为信用卡付款的便携式选项, Square Terminal 是一个读卡器,收据打印机,POS系统等,所有这些都包含在一个小型且简单的设备中,您可以随时随地使用。 尽管它不能完全替代 Square 站立, Square Terminal 填充之间的中间地带 Square 注册并 Square 站在硬件产品组合中。

如果您正在寻找可以弥补自带设备交易工具,移动卡读取器,柜台销售点系统等问题的桥梁,那么此工具非常适合您。

Square Terminal 利与弊

优点👍

  • 没有昂贵的月租费
  • 简单透明的交易率和成本
  • 出色的设置和可用性
  • 接受多种付款方式
  • 免承担账户

缺点👎

  • 难以输入详细的税收信息
  • 收据不适合税收用途
  • 退款可能需要一段时间

Square Terminal 评论:基础知识

square terminal 简单

您可能想知道为什么 Square 在已经为现代商人提供了足够多的硬件和软件的情况下,引入了“终端”工具。 简单的答案是,该公司希望为当今的企业提供更多选择。 SquareTerminal的主要目标是帮助公司用新的和改进的方法替换其老式的支付策略 POS软件.

企业主使用 Square Terminal 可以通过手动输入正确的付款金额或从大量库存选项中进行选择来向客户收费。 因为 Square Terminal 自然地与可从以下网站获得的后端软件集成 Square,很容易浏览所有产品和服务,以及调整业务信息。

卖家使用 Square Terminal 可以通过内置的功能跟踪商品和销售 Square 销售点软件。 您可以根据自己的喜好在台式机或手机上设置此技术。 更重要的是, Square 该设备设计为可以无线工作,并且电池寿命可以持续一整天。 这意味着繁忙的美发师和餐厅工作人员可以将其终端直接带给客户。 该终端是市场上最灵活的信用卡处理工具和库存管理系统之一。

借助便携式付款选项,最终用户购买者可以使用小型支付终端通常不接受的数字支付应用程序 Square 读者附件也是如此。 的一些基本好处 Square Terminal 包括:

  • 先进的设计:和往常一样, Square Terminal 是来自的另一种产品 Square 看起来很专业。 它比旧的POS系统更加现代和优雅。
  • 可靠性:由于电池寿命旨在维持一整天,因此您可以使用 Square Terminal,但您认为合适。 此外,以太网和Wi-Fi互联网连接与离线模式结合使用,意味着您不必担心错过一笔交易。
  • 可移植性: 带来 Square Terminal 阅读器直接与您的客户联系,以便他们能够以适合自己的方式进行购买。
  • 透明的定价: Square 不论您接受的是哪种卡类型,每次点击,支付,刷卡或付款都只收取一个透明的交易费率 Square Terminal.
  • 快速简便的设置:直观且引人注目的设计使您的系统设置比以往更加轻松。
  • 确保用户:数据安全性,预防欺诈和纠纷管理均包含在以下内容中: Square Terminal 经验。
  • 与后端整合 Square 软件:您可以通过一个紧凑的设备来运行整个业务,而不必登录到单独的工具。 小型企业主可以通过终端使用完整的库存管理和电子商务系统。

Square Terminal 评论:定价与处理

square terminal 加工

Square Terminal 目的是为当今的商人提供一种更加灵活和透明的方式来管理其日常的赚钱活动。 从第一天开始 Square 一直致力于为世界各地涌现的众多小型企业提供支持。 这意味着无论您购买什么,您都可以期望简单明了的价格。

您需要处理的第一笔费用 Square Terminal 是实际硬件的成本。 您将为此支付399美元左右 Square Terminal –这比您为大得多的价格所支付的要少得多 Square 登记。 此外,如果您切换到 Square 作为新商人, 有注册的选项 Square $ 300的处理信用额,使您的全部费用降低到$ 99左右.

如果您不是新商人,则值得注意的是 Square 对于预算有限的公司,确实可以选择。 例如,使用Terminal,您可以购买49美元或更多的资金。 这意味着您可以以相对合理的价格(每月37美元)将新硬件的成本分摊到十二个月内。 显然,这意味着您总共要多支付45美元,但对于一些无法一次全部购买大笔商品的商人来说,这是值得的。

还有一个选择 Square 在计划新POS的总成本时可能需要考虑的附件。 例如,皮带夹和台面支架使公司更容易为客户创造更专业的体验。 使用皮带夹,您可以更轻松地随身携带POS。 另一方面,当您不积极使用机器时,台面支架可为您提供一致的空间来存放机器。

除了硬件成本外,您还需要为从中获得的销售点功能付出代价 Square. 尽管该软件应用程序是免费的,但您确实需要为每次键入或在线交易支付2.5%,并为每个筹码和密码付款或非接触式付款支付1.75%。 好消息是您要支付处理费,而不是单独为结帐软件付费。 所需的信用卡处理费 Square 即使与贝宝(PayPal)等其他服务提供商进行比较,也非常合理。

在定价方面, Square Terminal 对于初学者零售商和小型企业而言,这并不是一笔巨额费用。 尽管它不是市场上最便宜的选择,但如果您正在寻求专业设计和功能的结合,它便是最具价值的解决方案之一。

Square Terminal 评论:设计和规格

square terminal 非接触式

现在您知道您可以期望支付的费用 Square Terminal,让我们仔细看看您可以花钱使用的功能。

正如刚才提到的, Square Terminal 旨在成为一种多合一的付款处理机器-这意味着您可以获得在商店中处理交易所需的一切。 与其他一些工具不同 Square,这种功能丰富的功能并非以大块塑料的形式出现。 机器本身只有5.6英寸长和3.4英寸宽,因此您可以根据需要轻松随身携带。

Square Terminal 附带:

  • 付款阅读器支持EMV,Apple Pay,Google Pay,Samsung Pay,磁条卡和NFC卡。 从礼品卡到美国运通卡或万事达卡,您都可以将其作为付款方式。
  • 配件集线器和电源适配器
  • Wi-Fi,USB和以太网连接选项
  • 可选择插入电源或与全天候电池无线使用
  • 通过可用配件可扩展

您也可以选择添加 Square Terminal 您订购的打印机纸的价格为20卷20美元。

Square Terminal 可以支持多种连接,包括以太网和Wi-Fi,因此使用系统很容易,但是您认为合适。 此外,我们特别喜欢这样的事实:如果愿意,您可以将机器插上电源以便固定使用,也可以在要直接带给客户时不插电。

缺点之一是,尽管 Square 声称电池将在其终端上“全天”使用,它对持续时间或“全天”的实际含义不是很明确。 我并不一定希望该机器可以立即运行24小时,因此请当心您一开始对它的依赖程度。

Square Terminal 还支持芯片卡,磁条和非接触式付款。 这意味着您拥有比以往更多的选择来进行支付,以保持业务正常运转。 芯片卡读卡器位于设备的底部,磁条位于尺寸上–正如您对大多数现代卡终端所期望的那样。 尽管您的客户应该相对熟悉设计,但是值得注意的是,设备的屏幕部分确实可以 Square Terminal 站出来。 您的客户可以看到他们所支付的费用的逐项列出的事实,而不只是一笔款项,这确实对他们的体验产生了很大的影响。

更重要的是,由于 Square POS 软件,您可以轻松地以数字方式以及在纸上收集交易签名。 这样可以更轻松地跟踪所有内容。

基本上,无论您的客户希望以何种方式与您结帐,来自的信用卡处理解决方案 Square 将使您和他们的生活更加轻松。

Square Terminal 评论:设置和可用性

Square Terminal 价格适中,有吸引力且功能丰富。 但是,正如任何企业主所知道的那样,要使企业保持平稳运转,不仅需要美观的设备。 幸运的是,这款令人惊叹的小型设备也非常易于使用。 开始设置您的终端只需要注册到 Square POS 帐户系统,并验证您的银行。

从那时起,您将可以随时随地接受各种不同类型的付款,并立即访问您的重要帐户 Square 仪表板功能也可以通过任何浏览器访问。 至关重要的是,在该后端系统中,您可以超越智能手机,iPad和其他设备上的信用卡处理之类的功能。 除了允许您处理付款外, Square 还可以为您提供管理与客户的长期合同以及利用其他商家服务所需的一切。 对于小型企业主,信用卡读卡器提供了一种非常出色的易用性,用于卡交易的多合一解决方案。

值得注意的是,一些企业使用 Square Terminal 曾经说过,可能需要几天的时间才能对您的银行帐户进行验证。 那可能是因为 Square 一次与这么多不同的商人打交道。 好消息是,即使您仍在等待验证,您也不必推迟付款。 Square Terminal 使您可以立即开始处理付款。

在等待帐户设置的过程中,您的钱会留在您的帐户中 Square 帐户系统。 通常,每笔付款的结算时间大约为每笔交易后的一到两天。

Square Terminal 回顾: Square 虚拟终端

值得一提的另一点 Square Terminal 可用性是,由于以下原因,您处理移动支付非常简单 Square 虚拟终端.

您需要做的就是开始登录 Square 通过浏览器连接的仪表板。 只要您有可用的网络连接,就可以在Internet浏览器上使用任何设备。 进入后台帐户后,只需点击 虚拟终端 选项和“付款”按钮。 在这里,您可以输入卡的详细信息,例如:

  • 报告位置
  • 订单/交易金额
  • 卡的到期日期
  • 卡号
  • CVV或CVV2

在处理付款时,还可以选择添加说明或注释,因此您确切知道付款的目的。 完成销售后,您还可以通过电子邮件或短信将数字收据发送给客户,也可以直接通过 Square Terminal.

如果出于合规目的,您需要记录重要的客户详细信息,则可以在付款后使用确认页面中的“客户选项”选项卡来执行此操作。 如果您希望定期付款,还可以选择将客户的卡详细信息添加到个人资料中,以备将来付款。 您的客户确实需要授予您保留其信息的权限,因此请记住这一点。

记得保持 Square 虚拟终端 选择您的定价时要牢记 Square 解决方案了。 这里没有月租费,但是 您将为每笔键入的交易支付3.5%加上15美分,为每笔刷卡支付2.6%加上10美分.

尽管乍看之下这些费用似乎昂贵,但实际上它们是市场上较便宜的选择之一,特别是对于同时提供购买条形码扫描器,物理芯片读取器,磁条读取器等的公司而言地点。

Square Terminal 评论:软件和其他功能

Square Terminal 可以免费使用标准 Square 连接到所有人的销售点应用程序 Square 解决方案。 请记住,您只会获得与以下产品的有限兼容性 Square 用于餐厅–因此,如果您经营一家食品公司,则可能需要替代方法。 并非所有 Square 餐馆功能将保留在终端中,但是如果您经营的是繁忙的咖啡厅或餐馆,则可以使用该系统在餐桌上点菜。 不幸的是,Terminal不能访问诸如座位跟踪,引导或对话修饰符之类的东西。

当涉及到限制 Square Terminal 软件,还值得注意的是,对于需要在每次交易期间记录更多详细信息的企业,此解决方案可能不是最佳选择。 您需要进入 Square 每次销售后,都需要分别收集客户资料,这使得从一个客户跳到下一个客户变得更加困难。 此外,如果您需要跟踪或研究库存水平,则需要手动或单独进行。

另一个主要缺点是您不能在订单中加税-您打印出的收据不是税款发票,因此使用它不是理想的选择 Square Terminal 如果您是增值税注册公司。 但是,这并不意味着使用不会带来任何好处 Square Terminal 也为您的公司服务。 您无法按员工跟踪销售,标记要出售的商品或保留现金抽屉的历史记录。 但是,您可以跟踪项目创建,收据管理和自定义小费等内容。 更重要的是, Square Terminal 还提供了内置的热敏票据打印机,或者您可以根据需要使用第三方工具。

值得一提的另一点 Square Terminal 您可以将多个终端连接到现金抽屉。 这意味着您不会增加额外的软件订阅费用。 要记住的最重要的事情是 Square Terminal 对于快速且负担得起的功能非常有用-但它不能做所有事情。

该机器不适用于蓝牙外围设备,因此您需要连接基于USB的设备。 此外,虽然您可以选择通过Wi-Fi或以太网进行连接,但不支持蜂窝数据连接。

Square Terminal 评论:安全性

也许这是我们需要研究的最重要的最终特征之一 Square Terminal 检讨,是您的付款处理系统中内置的安全性。 Square Terminal 不仅仅是为了易于使用和可访问性而设计的; 它还旨在实现最先进的安全性。 为避免常见的付款问题, Square 建议您在不存在客户的交易中采取各种预防措施,以最大程度地降低风险。

例如,如果您需要保留客户卡的详细信息,则需要请客户签署授权书,以防拒付退款责任。 幸运的是, Square 提供此表格供您在销售后通过“客户选项”弹出窗口下载。 此外,当您转到客户的个人资料时,可以选择在“添加卡片”弹出窗口中下载表单。 下载和打印表格可能会有些麻烦-但从长远来看,如果您需要安全且合规的话,则值得这样做。

此外, Square 带有内置的欺诈保护功能,这既是福也是祸。 一方面,您获得的系统旨在确保您和您的业务安全,无论您在何处或在何处销售产品。 另一方面,多年来,许多商人声称他们的帐户已被冻结或取消。 Square 因为他们被认为是不正确的欺诈行为。 不幸的是,如果您被禁止使用 Square 因为公司认为您的行为是欺诈行为,所以也很难与公司取得联系。

谁应该使用 Square Terminal?

Square Terminal 是一项令人难以置信的技术–但这并不是每个人的正确解决方案。 如果您经营的是餐厅,那么您可能会发现一些更高级的功能 Square 餐厅 缺少此特定工具。 Square Terminal 并不打算只是廉价的替代品 Square 注册–相反,它是一种便携式解决方案,可以在繁忙的零售环境中随身携带给客户。

如果您正在寻找一款轻巧,便携式且所有功能齐备的一体机 Square 您知道并喜欢的软件功能,那么您将真正体会到 Square Terminal。 对于小型企业, Square Terminal 提供便宜且易于使用的系统,非常适合在线,面对面或远程销售。 此外,“不存在客户”或“读卡器”付款选项意味着您的交易更具通用性。

但是,计划定期销售大量产品的企业应记住,您的 Square 该系统只能在您注册帐户所在的国家/地区使用。此外,如果您在英国销售,则只能使用GBP,并且您将无法切换到其他货币。 这 Square Terminal 对于离线环境中的企业来说,这是将离线卡交易和借记卡处理之类的东西与在线环境相结合的另一种绝佳方式。 如果您想更好地控制工作日的付款,那么 Square 将为您提供许多功能。 Square的POS甚至现在也可以在Android上使用,因此您可以在更多环境中访问软件。

Square Terminal 评论:判决

说到底, Square Terminal 对于想要以最简单的方式接受和管理付款的公司来说,它是一种高效且引人注目的工具。 但是,如果您需要跟踪详细的特定信息或记录各种数字,那么这可能不是您的最佳选择。

另外,虽然 Square 为当今的供应商提供了多种付款方式,但没有提供升级到高级软件解决方案的选项。 如果您想从中获得更多功能 Square POS,那么您需要购买其他硬件。 尽管如此, Square Terminal 对于一些预算不高的公司来说,这是一种更实惠的选择。

我们建议使用 Square Terminal 如果您想尽快进入付款领域。 这个简单且价格合理的付款处理解决方案不需要任何月费或烦人的合同,而且使用起来也非常容易。 无论您需要什么付款处理设备, Square 你有没有覆盖。

Square Terminal
评分: 4.5 - 审查

丽贝卡特

丽贝卡特(Rebekah Carter)是一位经验丰富的内容创建者,新闻记者和博客作者,专门研究营销,业务开发和技术。 她的专业知识涵盖了从人工智能到电子邮件营销软件以及扩展现实设备的所有领域。 在不写作的时候,丽贝卡将大部分时间都花在阅读,探索户外活动和游戏上。

Square Terminal Review 2019: Your Complete Guide

Square is probably one of the most popular and well-respected companies on the market when it comes to payment processing systems and tools. Designed to help merchants from all backgrounds build their businesses in today's digital and mobile world, Square offers everything from online selling accounts to in-person point of sale machines.

Announced back in Autumn 2018, the Square Terminal is the first countertop credit card machine available from the brand. This modern tool accepts EMV chip cards, magnetic stripe cards, NFC contactless payment, and more. What's more, the all-in-one machine provides the same sleek experience that merchants expect from Square in restaurants, salons, retail locations and more.

As a portable option for credit card payments, the Square Terminal is a card reader, receipt printer, POS system, and more, all contained in a small and simple device that you can use wherever you go. Although it's not a full replacement for the Square stand, the Square Terminal fills the middle ground between the Square Register and the Square Stand in the hardware portfolio.

If you're looking for something that bridges the gap between bring-your-own-device transaction tools, mobile card readers, countertop point of sale systems, and more, then this is the tool for you.

Square Terminal Pros and Cons

Pros 👍

  • No expensive monthly fee
  • Simple and transparent transaction rate and cost
  • Excellent set-up and usability
  • Accept a range of payment types
  • Commitment-free account

Cons 👎

  • Difficult to enter detailed tax information
  • Receipts aren't suitable for tax purposes
  • Refunds can take a while

Square Terminal Review: The Basics

square terminal simple

You might be wondering why Square introduced the “Terminal” tool when it's already got so much hardware and software available for modern merchants. The simple answer is that the company wanted to give today's businesses a wider range of options. Square's primary goal with Terminal is to help companies to replace their old fashioned payment strategies with new-and-improved POS software.

Business owners using Square Terminal can charge their customers by manually entering the right payment amount, or by selecting from a wide selection of inventory options. Because the Square Terminal naturally integrates with the back-end software available from Square, it's easy to browse through all your products and services, as well as adjusting your business information.

Sellers using Square Terminal can track items and sales through the built-in Square Point of Sale software. You can set this tech up on your desktop or phone depending on your preference. What's more, Square has designed the device to work wireless with a battery life that lasts all day. This means that busy hairdressers and restaurant workers can bring their Terminal straight to the customer.

With a portable payment option available, end-user buyers can use the digital payment apps that aren't typically accepted on the smaller Square Reader attachments too. Some of the basic beneficial features of Square Terminal include:

  • Sophisticated design: As usual, the Square Terminal is another product from Square that looks highly professional. It's a lot more modern and elegant than older POS systems.
  • Reliability: Because battery life is designed to last all day, you can use your Square Terminal, however you see fit. Additionally, Ethernet and Wi-Fi internet connections combined with offline mode mean you don't have to worry about missing a sale.
  • Portability: Bring the Square Terminal reader straight to your customer, so that they can make purchases in a way that's suitable for them.
  • Transparent pricing: Square only charges a single transparent transaction rate for every tap, dip, swipe, or payment, regardless of the card type you're accepting on Square Terminal.
  • Quick and easy set-up: The intuitive and compelling design makes setting up your system easier than ever.
  • Security: Data security, fraud prevention, and dispute management are all included as part of the Square Terminal experience.
  • Integration with back-end Square software: You can run your entire business through a single and compact device, without having to log into a separate tool.

Square Terminal Review: Pricing & Processing

square terminal processign

Square Terminal aims to give today's merchants a more flexible and transparent way to manage their day-to-day money-making activities. From day one, Square has always been committed to supporting the numerous smaller businesses that are popping up around the world. That means that you can expect simple and straightforward pricing, whatever you buy.

The first fee you'll need to deal with for the Square Terminal is the cost of the actual hardware. You'll be paying around $399 for the Square Terminal – which is a lot less than you'd pay for the much larger Square Register. Additionally, if you switch to Square as a new merchant, there's the option to sign up for Square Processing credit of $300, which brings your entire cost down to around $99.

If you're not a new merchant, it's worth noting that Square does have option for companies on a limited budget. For instance, with Terminal, you can access financing for purchases of $49 or more. That means that you can spread the cost of your new hardware out over twelve months for a relatively reasonable price of $37 per month. Obviously, that means you're paying $45 more in total, but it's worth it for some merchants who can't afford a big purchase all at once.

There's also a selection of Square Accessories that you might want to consider when you're planning the total cost of your new POS. For instance, the belt clip and the countertop mount make it easier for companies to create a more professional experience with customers. With the belt-clip, you can more easily carry your POS around with you. On the other hand, the countertop mount gives you a consistent space to store your machine in when you're not actively using it.

Alongside the cost of the hardware, you do have a price to pay for the Point of Sale functionality that you get from Square. While the software app is free, you do pay 2.5% per keyed-in or online transaction, and 1.75% per chip and pin payment or contactless payment.

When it comes to pricing, Square Terminal isn't a huge expense for beginner retailers and smaller businesses. While it's not the cheapest option on the market, it is one of the solutions with the best value if you're looking for a combination of professional design and functionality.

Square Terminal Review: Design and Specs

square terminal contactless

Now that you know what you can expect to pay for Square Terminal, let's take a closer look at the functionality that you can access for your money.

As mentioned above, Square Terminal is intended to be an all-in-one payment processing machine – which means that you get everything you need to handle the transactions in your store. Unlike some other tools from Square, this feature-rich functionality doesn't come in the form of a chunky piece of plastic. The machine itself is only 5.6 inches long and 3.4 inches wide, so you can easily carry it around with you if you need to.

The Square Terminal comes with:

  • Payment reader support for EMV, Apple Pay, Google Pay, Samsung Pay, Magnetic Stripe cards, and NFC cards
  • Accessories Hub, and power adapter
  • Wi-Fi, USB, and Ethernet connectivity options
  • Option to plug into a power source or use cordlessly with an all-day battery
  • Extensibility through available accessories

You can also choose to add Square Terminal Printer paper to your order for a price of $20 for 20 rolls.

The Square Terminal can support a range of connections, including Ethernet and Wi-Fi, so it's easy to use your system however, you see fit. Additionally, we particularly like the fact that you can keep the machine plugged in for stationary use if you prefer, or leave it unplugged when you want to take it straight to your customers.

One downside is that although Square claims the battery will last “all day” on its Terminal, it's not very specific about the duration, or what “all day” actually means. I wouldn't necessarily expect the machine to work 24 hours right off the bat, so be careful how much you rely on it at first.

Square Terminal supports chip card, magstripe, and contactless payments too. This means that you have more options than ever available to take the payments that keep your business up and running. The chip card reader is at the base of the device, and the magstripe is on the size – just as you would expect from most modern card terminals. Although the design should be relatively familiar to your customer, however, it's worth noting that the screen portion of the device really does make Square Terminal stand out. The fact that your customer can see an itemized list of what they're paying for rather than just a single sum really makes a big difference to their experience.

What's more, thanks to the Square POS software, you can easily collect signatures for transactions digitally, as well as on paper. That makes it much easier to keep track of everything.

Square Terminal Review: Setting up & Usability

The Square Terminal is affordable, attractive and feature-rich. However, as any business owner will know, it takes more than just an aesthetically pleasing device to keep a business running smoothly. Fortunately, this amazing little device is also incredibly easy to use. All it takes to start setting up your terminal is to sign-up to the Square POS account system and get your bank verified.

From that point onward, you'll be able to accept a host of different types of payments wherever you like, and instantly access your crucial Square dashboard features from any browser too.

Notably, some businesses using the Square Terminal have said that it can take a few days before your bank account gets verified. That's probably because Square is dealing with so many different merchants at once. The good news is that even if you're still waiting for verification, you don't have to hold off on taking payments. Square Terminal allows you to begin processing payments immediately.

While you wait for your account to set up, your money stays in your Square account system. Usually, settlement for each payment will take about one or two days after each transaction.

Square Terminal Review: Square Virtual Terminal

Another point worth noting when it comes to Square Terminal usability is that processing your mobile payments is very simple thanks to Square Virtual Terminal.

All you need to do to get started is log into your Square Dashboard through a browser connection. You'll be able to use any device with an internet browser, provided that you have a network connection available. Once you've gotten into your back office account, just click on the Virtual Terminal option and the “Take a Payment” button. Here, you can enter card details like:

  • Reporting location
  • Order/transaction amount
  • Date of expiry for the card
  • Card number
  • CVV or CVV2

There's also an option to add a description or note when you're processing the payment, so you know exactly what it was for. After you put your sale through, you can also send a digital receipt to your customer via email or text, or you can print your receipt directly through the connected printer that comes with the Square Terminal.

If for compliance purposes, you're going to need to record important customer details, you can do that using the Customer Options tab in the confirmation page once your payment has been processed. There's also the option to add card details for your customers to a profile for future payments if you expect recurring payments. Your customer does need to give you permission to keep their information on file, however, so keep that in mind.

Remember to keep Square Virtual Terminal Pricing in mind when choosing your Square solution too. There's no monthly fee here, but you will pay 3.5% plus 15 cents for every typed-in transaction, and 2.6% plus 10 cents for every swiped card.

Square Terminal Review: Software & Additional Features

Square Terminal comes with access to the standard free Square Point of Sale app that comes connected to all Square solutions. Just keep in mind that you're only going to get limited compatibility with Square for Restaurants – so if you're running a food company, you might need an alternative. Not all of the Square for Restaurants features will carry over with Terminal, but you can use the system for table-side ordering if you're running a busy café or restaurant location. Unfortunately, Terminal doesn't come with access to things like seat tracking, coursing, or conversational modifiers.

When it comes to limitations in the Square Terminal software, it's also worth noting that this solution might not be the best option for businesses that need to record more details during each transaction. You need to go into the Square customer profile separately after each sale, which can make it harder to jump from one client to the next. Additionally, if you need to track or study stock levels, then you'll need to do that manually or separately.

Another major downside is that you can't add taxes to your order – the receipts that you print out aren't a tax invoice, so it's not ideal to use Square Terminal if you're a VAT-registered company. However, that doesn't mean that there aren't benefits to using Square Terminal for your company too. You can't track sales by employee, mark items for sale, or keep a history for your cash drawer. However, you can keep track of things like item creation, receipt management, and custom tipping. What's more, Square Terminal also comes with a built-in thermal receipt printer, or you can use a third-party tool if you'd prefer.

Another point worth noting with the Square Terminal is that you can connect multiple terminals to a cash drawer. This means that you're not going to build up extra software subscription costs. The most important thing to keep in mind is that Square Terminal is excellent for quick and affordable functionality – but it can't do everything.

The machine doesn't work with Bluetooth peripherals, so you'll need to connect USB-based devices instead. Additionally, there's no support for cellular data connections – although you can choose to connect with Wi-Fi or Ethernet.

Square Terminal Review: Security

Perhaps one of the most important final features that we need to look at in this Square terminal review, is the security that comes built into your payment processing system. Square Terminal isn't just designed for easy use and accessibility; it's also intended for state-of-the-art security. To avoid common payment issues, Square recommends taking various precautions during your customer-not-present transactions, to minimize your risk.

If you need to keep your customer's card details on file, for instance, you'll need to ask your customer to sign an authorization form so you can defend yourself against chargeback liability. Fortunately, Square offers this form for you to download through the Customer Options pop-up after you've made a sale. Additionally, there's the option to download your form in the Add-Card popup when you go to the Customer's profile. It might be a bit of a pain downloading and printing the form – but it's worth it in the long term if you need to be secure and compliant.

Additionally, Square comes with built-in fraud protection, which is both a blessing and a curse. On the one hand, you get a system that's designed to keep you and your business safe regardless of where or what you're selling. On the other hand, various merchants over the years have claimed that their accounts have been frozen or canceled with Square because they've been perceived to be fraudulent incorrectly. Unfortunately, if you do get banned from using Square because the company sees your behavior to be fraudulent, it's also very difficult to get in touch with the company.

Who Should be Using the Square Terminal?

The Square Terminal is an incredibly piece of tech – but it's not the right solution for everyone. If you're running a restaurant, then you might find some of the more advanced features for Square for Restaurants are missing with this particular tool. Square Terminal isn't intended to be just a cheap replacement to the Square Register – instead, it's a portable solution that you can take with you to customers in a busy retail environment.

If you're looking for an all-in-one machine that's lightweight, portable, and comes with all the Square software functionality that you know and love, then you're going to really appreciate the Square Terminal. For small business types, Square Terminal offers a cheap and easy-to-use system that's perfect for selling online, in-person or remotely. Additionally, the customer-not-present or card reader payment options means that you have more versatility for your transactions.

However, businesses that plan on selling a lot of products very regularly should keep in mind that your Square system can only be used in the country that you register your account in. Additionally, if you're selling in the UK, then you can only use GBP, and you won't be able to switch to other currencies.

Square Terminal Review: Verdict

Ultimately, Square Terminal is an efficient and compelling tool for companies that want to accept and manage their payments in the easiest way possible. However, if you need to track detailed specific information, or record various numbers, then this might not be the best choice for you.

Additionally, while Square offers a fantastic range of payment methods for today's vendors, it doesn't come with an option to upgrade to an advanced software solution. If you want more features from the Square POS, then you'll need to buy a different piece of hardware. Despite this, Square Terminal is a much more affordable option for some businesses that don't have a lot of budget to work with.

We'd recommend using the Square Terminal in your business if you want to jump into taking payments as quickly as possible. This simple and affordable solution for payment processing doesn't require any monthly fee or annoying contracts, and it's very easy to use too. Whatever you need from your payment processing device, Square has you covered.

Square Terminal
Rating: 4.5 - Review by