Square与Squarespace(2021年XNUMX月)–终极比较

您应该选择正方形还是正方形空间?

广场Squarespace 听起来可能像是同一难题的两个部分,但实际上它们是截然不同的解决方案,具有独特的优势。 今天,我们要看一下 正方形和正方形空间,以帮助您确定哪一个适合您。

如果您想在当今的在线世界中经营成功,则需要一些关键的事情。 要提供的产品或服务的一个好主意是第一。 对您的目标受众和市场地位的了解是第二。 列表上的第三个基本项目是一个网站,您可以使用该网站来展示您的产品并处理交易。

对于当今的企业主来说,好消息是,那里不乏电子商务网站建设者。 从 ShopifyWooCommerceMagento的 和Wix,似乎有不计其数的产品可供选择。 对于当今的企业家来说,最大的挑战是找到最适合他们的解决方案。

介绍Square和Squarespace

首先,让我们更好地了解一下 正方形和正方形空间 实际上是。

广场,也称为SquareUp to some,是一种销售点提供商,可帮助公司使用各种高级设备来接受和处理付款。 Square以其提供的读卡器而闻名,它使公司几乎可以在任何地方进行购买付款,甚至不需要传统的收银机。

正方形首页-正方形空间与正方形

但是,还有更多 广场 这些天比目光短。 尽管它仍然以销售点系统而著称,但它还提供了库存管理和产品管理工具,餐馆和酒吧的专业系统以及完整的在线站点构建服务。

如果您已经在使用Square来处理现实世界中的付款,并且已经决定是时候将您的策略​​在线上了,那么您可以在同一方便的空间中访问所需的所有功能。

Squarespace另一方面,是专门用于构建网站的平台。 您不一定要通过Squarespace管理您的离线商店,但是您可以使用预先构建的模板和托管来建立一个在线销售网站。 也不支持插件,第三方应用程序,扩展等。

Squarespace主页-Squarespace与Square

Squarespace 有其局限性,但仍可以完成很多工作。 Squarespace网站可以包括处理在线交易,电子商务以及访问各种付款系统(包括Square,Stripe和PayPal)的过程。 即使您没有Squarespace网站,您也可以访问Squarespace进行其他各种形式的付款处理。

进一步阅读:

正方形与正方形空间:功能

比较两个工具时要考虑的最重要的事情 正方形和正方形空间,这是您可以合理地使用每种工具进行的操作。 如上所述,Square不一定是最重要的在线商店服务。 该解决方案最初是作为销售点提供商提供的,但这仍然是Square提供产品的主要方面之一。

使用Square,您可以轻松地在商店中接受面对面交易,并且还有各种满足特定需求的独特工具,例如预订系统或餐厅管理工具。 您不一定需要建立在线商店来使用Square,但是您绝对可以这样做。

Square的在线商店构建商叫 在线广场 (阅读我们的 在这里完整的评论),与其他投资组合一样易于使用。 不需要任何过多的编码技能或知识,您可以立即使用免费的无限制托管和免费的URL进行构建。 您甚至可以访问响应式网站设计工具,库存管理服务以及用于跟踪结果的集成报告。

方在线主页-方空间与方

你的 在线广场 可以与Square的其他产品无缝集成,甚至您可以在商店中使用其他付款流程,具体取决于您选择购买的套餐。 虽然Square不具备某些竞争对手那么多的高级功能,但仍然可以提供很多功能。

另一方面,Squarespace完全专注于数字商店建设。 如果您想通过博客和漂亮的网站展示自己的创造力,Squarespace可能是网站建设的最佳工具。 Squarespace的博客功能类似于WordPress,具有众多功能可供选择,并且还有出色的表单生成器。

Squarespace 就是为您提供实现出色在线体验所需的工具。 令人惊叹的界面后面隐藏着一个丰富的发布平台,Squarespace附带了数十种出色的模板供您选择,以帮助您入门。

模板是最吸引人的模板,您也可以将其与网站的“入门版式”结合使用。 有可定制的页面和内容,重复的页面,全面的设计面板,甚至可以访问CSS。

Squarespace移动应用程序使您可以随时随地控制网站的各个方面,包括将博客添加到工作流中以供以后发布。 在商务功能方面,您可以使用Squarespace来销售产品,服务,订阅,数字内容等。

Square与Squarespace:定价

尽管在选择在线商店构建者时,价格不是您考虑的唯一问题,但这绝对是一个重要的考虑因素。 没有人能为他们的数字工具付出高昂的代价。

好消息是, 在线广场 使得建立各种在线商店相对便宜。 有一项免费计划,您只需支付交易费即可。 您需要为付款处理支付2.9%的费用,再加上每笔交易的$ 0.30,仅此而已。 但是,免费选项有一些限制,例如只能选择通过Square接受付款。

如果您需要更高级的设置,则可以访问:

  • 专业的 - 每月$ 16,
  • 表现 - 每月$ 26,
  • 优质的 - $ 72每月。

如果您准备每年付款,高级套餐还可以享受一些折扣。 所有付费计划都提供无限制的存储空间,并从您的网站中删除Square广告。 您还可以支付更多费用获得更多功能,例如第三方集成,Facebook广告管理和电子商务分析。

Squarespace定价 也相对简单。 最便宜的选择是个人站点,每月16美元,但这不提供对商店建筑物功能的访问。 您的完整选项列表包括:

  • Personal —每月$ 16
  • 运营 —每月$ 26
  • 基础商务 —每月$ 30
  • 高级商务 —每月$ 46

个人计划是唯一不提供电子商务的计划。 但是,所有其他计划都允许您销售无限的产品。 高级商务计划具有最多的功能,包括废弃的购物车回收,折扣和实时运输计算。

如果您选择基本或高级商务,也可以避免交易费用,但是您仍然需要支付所选付款处理者的处理费用。

Square与Squarespace:易用性

一旦确定了哪种店铺建设解决方案适合您的预算,下一个要考虑的关键就是易用性。 您需要使用自己依赖的工具来建立成功的商店而感到自在。 Square Online商店易于使用,其系统可让您出售从数字产品到实物的所有商品。

您可以接受捐赠,出售活动门票等。 设置网站非常简单,甚至通过一个直观的界面,甚至在后台管理您的库存也足够简单。

在线广场 提供了多种主题供您选择,以帮助您建立自己的商店,并且模板看起来非常专业。 您可以访问的所有模板都将对移动用户响应,因此您不必担心无法访问所有客户。 选择适合自己的主题后,就可以输入商店的其他信息,包括您想使用的URL。

您还可以与商店建立各种附加集成,例如Weebly和 BigCommerce 链接(如果您希望仅将Square用于付款处理)。

Squarespace 同样易于使用,非常适合想要确保自己能够在网上脱颖而出的人们。 Squarespace以具有吸引力的网站拖放功能而闻名。 您可以通过干净的界面访问一系列功能,并提供大量编辑选项,以使您的网站更加独特。

当您要编辑页面的某些部分时,出现的框将使您也可以更改配色方案,布局,背景图像等。 Squarespace是一种遵循“所见即所得”编辑风格的工具,因此,当您在后端进行更改时,您将能够在前端看到它的外观。 WordPress之类的工具并非如此。

Square与Squarespace:产品管理

运营在线商店并非没有挑战。

企业领导者需要接受的更复杂的任务之一是管理产品和库存。 幸运的是,两者 广场Squarespace 可以使此过程更简单。 如果您已经在销售点系统上使用Square,那么Square库存将自动在您的离线和在线帐户之间同步信息。

换句话说,如果您在现实世界中销售产品,则可以在线销售的产品数量将会减少,反之亦然。 对于想同时在线和离线销售的人们来说,这是非常有用的事情。 当您不熟悉在线环境时,Square还会为您更新所有库存。

设置商店后,您就可以使用简单明了的用户界面开始导入要出售的商品。 您还可以为商品实施任何修饰符(例如颜色和尺寸),以及要包含在购买中的任何附加功能。

在线广场 使您也可以自由地将所有产品划分为类别,这使它们的管理更加容易。 如果您导入商品但不添加类别或不包含营业税信息,则可以稍后转到信息中心以更新所有内容。

Square还允许用户在产品上设置“高级”选项。 例如,您可以根据是否准备启动新商品来更改商品在商店中是否可见。 其他库存管理功能包括:

  • 批量上传选项
  • 低库存警报
  • 库存水平通知
  • 库存水平跟踪
  • 自动离线和在线同步
  • 定制和产品选项

Squarespace 在为您的在线商店提供库存管理选项方面还不够全面,但是它确实提供了许多额外的功能。 例如,Squarespace移动和在线应用程序中的“库存”面板可让您随时检查库存。 您可以检查每个项目的价格,有多少种产品可用,等等。

使用Squarespace设置产品页面也非常容易。 您可以在计算机上的iOS应用上执行此操作。 只需单击产品页面上的“添加产品”按钮即可。 在这里,您可以选择产品的价格,添加重要信息和图片。 您还可以单独或批量编辑每个产品的库存水平。

产品亮点:

  • 编辑,上传和组织产品详细信息
  • 通过移动应用程序管理产品和库存
  • 设置产品订阅
  • 启用有限的可用性标签
  • 库存不足通知
  • 服务产品限制

在线广场 和Squarespace还为您提供了与各种付款处理方建立联系的选项,尽管如果您使用的是免费网站帐户,则只能将Square作为您的唯一选择。

Square与Squarespace:客户服务

当您着眼于每个站点构建者时,很容易忽略客户服务,重点关注可以采取的信用卡付款方式以及可以执行的结帐程序。 但是,在您选择的电子商务平台上开始建立商店之前,您需要知道自己具有适当的支持水平。 Square允许您通过@SqSupport与他们联系,或者您可以填写在线表格与销售团队联系。

但是,Square联系人页面会为您提供一个Weebly页面的支持,因此请注意这一点。 这是因为Square确实通过Weebly提供了大多数站点构建功能,而不是构建自己的专有工具。

Square也有自己的知识库,您可以在其中搜索

如果您希望采用DIY的方式来获得支持,则可以尝试访问Square知识库。 对于在销售市场起步的人们来说,这是一个非常全面的数据库。 有很多文章可供浏览,屏幕截图和其他有用的花絮。 另外,您还可以访问强大的卖方社区,以获取更多指导。

客户支持 Squarespace 以电子邮件指南和实时文本聊天的形式提供,美国东部时间凌晨4点至晚上8点提供。 不幸的是,没有电话支持,如果您对Squarespace技术有真正的疑问,那么很难与某人说话。

但是,实时聊天支持的存在确实使从SEO支持到社交媒体连接问题的信息快速获取变得容易一些。 如果您是不愿意使用电话寻求帮助的小型企业主,那么您仍然可能更喜欢实时聊天系统。

Square利弊

有时,在两个可以帮助您进行信用卡付款和在线增长的解决方案之间做出决定的最佳方法是创建一个优缺点列表。 如果您只是在市场上起步,Square是一个绝佳的增长工具。 它可以帮助您快速入门,并且不需要任何技术知识。

您可以使用 广场 快速处理付款,与各种其他购物车集成以及创建令人惊叹的产品页面。 但是,您确实需要花更多的钱用于分析和跟踪功能。 但是,您不能将商店立即链接到您的社交帐户,并且初始包装上没有很多付款选项。

在线广场 从运输的角度来看,这对于您的在线业务也可能会有些问题,因为很难对要发送的产品应用不同的价格。

Squarespace优点👍

  • 方便且可预测的价格计划
  • 免费选项可帮助您入门
  • 如果您已经使用Square进行离线付款,则是理想之选
  • 非常适合通过Apple Pay和信用卡跟踪付款
  • 自定义域选项可用
  • 多种合一的支付解决方案
  • 各种有用的主题可供选择。

Squarespace缺点👎

  • 不是运费的最佳解决方案
  • 客户服务会更好
  • 高成本帐户具有某些最佳功能
  • 帐户稳定性问题可能是常见问题

Squarespace的利与弊

Squarespace 是为想要建立强大在线形象的公司和个人提供的另一种灵活的网站构建工具。 借助Squarespace,您可以设计一个外观美观的网站,该网站具有移动友好性,并配备了各种电子商务商店功能。 与市场上其他电子商务解决方案产品不同,Squarespace还可以访问API功能,因此您可以在更深的层次上添加自己的元素。

像很多托管的Squarespace 电子商务工具,可让您先尝试一些可用的功能,然后再支付现金,如果您不确定确切需要什么,这可能是个好主意。 另外,与Square不同,您甚至可以选择价格较低的套餐来选择支付网关。 但是,Square和Squarespace都为大多数套餐提供了很多付款方式。

如果您正在寻找在线商店建设者,POS系统和网站工具,这些工具可以访问各种形式的额外功能,包括电子邮件营销和博客,Squarespace是一个很好的工具。

Squsarespace专业人士👍

  • 设计精美的模板是市场上最好的模板之一
  • 具有内容管理功能的SEO工具和博客功能
  • 图像管理很棒,其中包括一系列导入工具
  • 没有交易费用
  • 可使用多种功能,包括视频背景
  • 许多设计定制选项
  • 与各种第三方工具集成以实现各种在线功能
  • 电子邮件营销工具已经内置
  • 出色的附加功能范围
  • 不需要很多Web开发人员知识
  • 适用于标准博客或电子商务网站

Squarespace缺点👎

  • 没有最佳的GDPR合规性
  • 支付网关选项受到一些限制,并且没有自动计税方法
  • 帖子和页面没有自动保存选项
  • SEO功能可能更全面
  • 与其他选项相比,App Store的存货不是很好
  • 销售点仅在某些国家/地区可用

平方与平方空间:判决

如果您正在寻找可以与离线销售点系统无缝集成的解决方案,Square可能是您首选的网站构建工具。 如果您已经使用 Squareup.com 对于现实世界中的付款方式,那么对您的在线商店也使用相同的服务就很自然了。 该公司可以帮助您立即从在Etsy上销售到拥有自己的电子商务网站。

正方形易于使用和方便,并提供一系列可预测的定价计划,甚至是免费的入门选项。 它也适合跟踪各种付款方式,您可以从一系列主题中进行选择,以使您的商店脱颖而出,尽管在这方面有一些更全面的产品。

在线广场 确实存在帐户稳定性方面的问题,但是客户服务并不理想。 您可能还会发现,对于Square来说,计算运费不是最方便的过程。

另一方面, Squarespace 为您提供了一种构建精美网站的绝佳方法,其中包含一些最吸引人的主题。 您可以使用视频背景使您的网站脱颖而出,并且您不需要开发人员知识就可以入门。

Squarespace无需担心交易费用,人们通常也喜欢它的SEO和内容营销功能。 不幸的是,Squarespace受困于对离线销售点工具的访问受限,并且没有大量的应用可供选择。

如果您正在搜索引擎上寻找合适的网站建设服务,我们的建议是深入检查这两个选项。 试用免费试用版,看看使用可用功能的感觉,然后根据发现的内容做出选择。

丽贝卡特

丽贝卡特(Rebekah Carter)是一位经验丰富的内容创建者,新闻记者和博客作者,专门研究营销,业务开发和技术。 她的专业知识涵盖了从人工智能到电子邮件营销软件以及扩展现实设备的所有领域。 在不写作的时候,丽贝卡将大部分时间都花在阅读,探索户外活动和游戏上。

Square vs Squarespace (June 2021) – The Ultimate Comparison

Should You Choose Square or Squarespace?

Square and Squarespace might sound like two parts of the same puzzle, but they’re actually very different solutions, with unique benefits to offer. Today, we’re going to look at both Square and Squarespace, to help you decide which one might be right for you.

If you want to run a successful business in today’s online world, you need a few crucial things. A good idea of the products or services you’re going to offer is number one. An understanding of your target audience and market position is number two. The third essential item on your list, is a website that you can use to showcase your products, and process transactions.

The good news for today’s business owners is that there’s no shortage of ecommerce website builders out there. From Shopify and WooCommerce to Magento and Wix, there seems to be an endless selection of products to choose from. The biggest challenge for today’s entrepreneurs, is finding the solution that works best for them.

Introducing Square and Squarespace

First things first, let’s get a better look at what Square and Squarespace actually are.

Square, otherwise known as SquareUp to some, is a point-of-sale provider that helps companies to accept and process payments with a variety of high-level devices. Square is best known for the card readers it offers, which allow companies to take purchase payments virtually anywhere, without even needing a traditional register.

square homepage - squarespace vs square

However, there’s more to Square these days than meets the eye. Although it’s still best known for it’s point of sale systems, it also offers tools for inventory management and product management, specialist systems for restaurants and bars, and a full online site building service.

If you’re already using Square to process payments in the real world, and you’ve decided that it’s time to take your strategy online, then you can access all the functionality you need in the same convenient space.

Squarespace, on the other hand, is a platform specifically for building websites. You don’t necessarily manage your offline store with Squarespace, but you can build a site for selling online using pre-built templates and hosting. There’s also no support for plugins, third-party apps, extensions, and so on.

squarespace homepage - squarespace vs square

Squarespace has its limitations, but it can still accomplish quite a bit. Squarespace websites can include processing for online transactions, eCommerce, and access to various payment systems, including Square, Stripe, and PayPal. You can also access Squarespace for various other forms of payment processing even if you don’t have a Squarespace website.

Further reading:

Square vs Squarespace: Features

The most important thing to consider when you’re comparing two tools like Square and Squarespace, is what you can reasonably do with each tool. Square, as mentioned above, isn’t necessarily an online store service first and foremost. The solution started life as a point of sale provider, and that’s still one of the major facets of what Square offers.

With Square, you can easily accept in-person transactions in your store, and there are various unique tools for specific needs too, such as booking systems, or restaurant management tools. You don’t necessarily need to build an online store to use Square, but you can definitely do so.

Square’s online store builder called Square Online (read our full review here), is as easy to use as the rest of the portfolio. There’s no need for any excessive coding skills or knowledge, and you can jump immediately into building with free unlimited hosting, and a free URL. You even get access to responsive website design tools, inventory management services, and integrated reporting for tracking your results.

square online homepage - squarespace vs square

Your Square Online will seamlessly integrate with the other products available from Square, and you can even use other payment processes with your shop, depending on the package you choose to buy. While Square doesn’t have as many advanced features as some competitors, it still has plenty to offer.

Squarespace, on the other hand, focuses entirely on digital store building. Squarespace stands out as perhaps the best tool for website building if you’re looking to showcase your creativity with blogging and a beautiful website. Squarespace’s blogging functionality is similar to WordPress, with tons of features to choose from, and there’s a fantastic form builder too.

Squarespace is all about giving you the tools you need to deliver excellent online experiences. There’s a rich publishing platform hidden behind the stunning interface, and Squarespace comes with dozens of great templates to choose from to get you started.

The templates are some of the most attractive around, and you can also combine them with “starter layouts” for your website. There are customizable pages and content, duplicate pages, a comprehensive design panel, and even access to CSS.

The Squarespace mobile app allows you to control various aspects of your website on the go, including adding blogs to your workflow for later publication. In terms of commerce functionality, you can use Squarespace to sell products, services, subscriptions, digital content, and more.

Square vs Squarespace: Pricing

Although pricing shouldn’t be the only thing you think about when you’re choosing an online store builder, it’s definitely an important consideration. No-one can afford to spend over the odds for their digital tools.

The good news is that Square Online makes it relatively affordable to set up various kinds of online store. There’s a free plan that allows you to pay nothing but transaction fees. You pay for payment processing at 2.9% plus $0.30 of each sale, and that’s it. There are some limitations to the free option however, such as only having the option to accept payments through Square.

If you need a more advanced setup, you can access:

  • Professional — $16 per month,
  • Performance — $26 per month,
  • Premium — $72 per month.

The premium packages also have a slight discount available if you’re ready to pay annually. All paid plans come with unlimited storage and remove Square ads from your site. You can also access extra features the more you pay, like third-party integrations, Facebook ad management, and eCommerce analytics.

Squarespace pricing is also relatively straightforward. The cheapest option is the personal site, for $16 per month, but this doesn’t offer access to store building functionality. Your full list of options include:

  • Personal — $16 per month
  • Business — $26 per month
  • Basic Commerce — $30 per month
  • Advanced Commerce — $46 per month

The personal plan is the only one that doesn’t offer eCommerce. However, all other plans allow you to sell unlimited products. The Advanced commerce plan comes with the most functionality, including abandoned cart recovery, discounts, and real-time shipping calculations.

If you opt for Basic or Advanced commerce, you can also avoid transaction fees, but you will need to still pay the processing fees of your chosen payment processor.

Square vs Squarespace: Ease of Use

Once you’ve figured out which store building solution works with your budget, the next crucial thing to consider is ease of use. You need to feel comfortable using the tools that you rely on to build a successful store. Square Online store is easy to use, with a system that allows you to sell everything from digital products to physical goods.

You can accept donations, sell event tickets, and more. Setting up your website is extremely straightforward, and even managing your inventory on the back-end is simple enough with an intuitive interface.

Square Online offers a wide variety of themes to choose from to help you build your store, and the templates look quite professional. All of the templates you can access will be responsive for mobile users, so you don’t have to worry about not being able to access all of your customers. Once you’ve chosen the theme that suits you, you’ll be able to enter additional information for your store, including the URL you would like to use.

There are various additional integrations that you can set up with your store too, such as Weebly and BigCommerce links, if you would prefer to use Square just for payment processing.

Squarespace is similarly easy to use, and ideal for people who really want to ensure that they can stand out online. Squarespace is best known for being an attractive website builder with drag-and-drop functionality. You can access a range of features through the clean interface, with plenty of editing options to make your site more unique.

When you want to edit parts of your page, the boxes that appear will allow you too make changes to the color scheme, layout, background images and more. Squarespace is a tool that follows the “what you see is what you get” editing style, so when you make changes in the backend you’ll be able to see what it’s going to look like on the front-end. This isn’t the case with tools like WordPress.

Square vs Squarespace: Product Management

Running an online store isn’t without its challenges.

One of the more complicated tasks that business leaders will need to come to terms with, is managing products and inventory. Fortunately, both Square and Squarespace can make this process a little simpler. If you’re already using Square for your point of sale systems, then your Square inventory will automatically sync the information between your offline and online accounts.

In other words, if you sell a product in the real world, the number of products you have available to sell online will decrease, and vice-versa. This is an extremely helpful thing for people who want to sell online and offline at the same time. Square also updates all of your inventory for you when you’re new to the online landscape.

As soon as you set up your store, you can begin importing items that you want to sell, with a straight-forward user interface. You’ll also be able to implement any modifiers for your items (like colors and sizes), and any extras you want to include with the purchase.

Square Online gives you the freedom to separate all of your products into categories too, which make them a lot easier to manage. If you import your items and don’t add a category, or include sales tax info, you can just go to your dashboard to update everything later.

Square also allows users to set “advanced” options on products. For instance, you can change whether an item is visible in your store depending on whether you’re ready to launch something new or not. Other inventory management features include:

  • Bulk upload options
  • Low stock alerts
  • Notifications for inventory levels
  • Inventory level tracking
  • Automatic offline and online syncing
  • Customizations and product options

Squarespace isn’t quite as comprehensive at offering inventory management options for your online store, but it does have a lot of extra features to offer. For instance, the inventory panel in the Squarespace mobile and online apps allows you to check your inventory whenever you are. You can check the price of each item, how many products are available, and so on.

Setting up product pages with Squarespace is pretty easy too. You can do it on your iOS app, ro on a computer. All it takes is clicking the “add product” button on your product page. Here you can choose the price of the product, add crucial information, and pictures. You an also edit the stock level on each product either individually, or in bulk.

Features include:

  • Edit, upload and organize product details
  • Manage your products and inventory from a mobile app
  • Set up subscriptions for products
  • Enable limited availability labels
  • Low-stock notifications
  • Service product limits

Square Online and Squarespace also give you the option to connect with various payment processors, although you’re limited to using Square as your only option if you’re on the free website account.

Square vs Squarespace: Customer Service

It’s easy to overlook customer service when you’re looking at each site builder with a focus on which credit card payments you can take and what checkout procedures you can deliver. Before you start building your store on your chosen eCommerce platform, however, you need to know that you have the right level of support. Square allows you to contact them via @SqSupport, or you can contact the sales team be filling out an online form.

The Square contact page for support does take you through to a Weebly page, however, so be aware of that. That’s because Square does offer most of its site building functionality through Weebly, rather than building its own proprietary tool.

Square also has its own knowledgebase where you can search for

If you would prefer to take the DIY approach to getting your support, then you can try visiting the Square Knowledgebase. It's a pretty comprehensive database for people who are getting started in the sales marketplace. There are plenty of articles to browse through, screenshots, and other useful tidbits. Plus, you can visit the robust seller community for extra guidance as well.

Customer support on Squarespace comes in the form of email guidance and live text chat which is available from 4am to 8pm EST. There’s no phone support unfortunately, which makes it difficult to speak to someone if you have a real problem with your Squarespace tech.

However, the presence of live chat support does make it a little easier to get information about anything fast, from SEO support, to issues with social media connections. If you’re a small business owner who prefers not to use the phone for assistance, then you may prefer the live chat system anyway.

Square Pros and Cons

Sometimes, the best way to make a decision between two solutions that can help you take credit card payments and grow online, is to create a pros and cons list. If you’re just starting out in the marketplace, Square is an excellent tool for growth. It helps you get started fast and there’s no need to have any technical knowledge before you begin.

You can use Square to process payments quickly, integrate with various additional shopping carts, and create stunning product pages too. However, you do need to spend more for analytics and tracking features. You can’t link your store instantly to your social accounts though, and there aren’t a lot of options for payments on the initial package.

Square Online might also be a little problematic for your online business from a shipping perspective because it’s difficult to apply different prices for the products you want to send.

Square Pros 👍

  • Convenient and predictable pricing plans
  • Free option available to get you started
  • Ideal if you already use Square for offline payments
  • Great for tracking payments through apple pay and credit card
  • Custom domain options available
  • Great range of all-in-one payment solutions
  • Variety of useful themes to choose from.

Square Cons 👎

  • Not the best solution for shipping rates
  • Customer service could be better
  • High-cost accounts have some of the best features
  • Account stability issues might be a common problem

Squarespace Pros and Cons

Squarespace is another flexible website building tool for companies and individuals that want to set up a powerful online presence. With Squarespace, you can design a beautiful-looking website that’s mobile friendly and equipped with various ecommerce store features too. Unlike some of the other ecommerce solution offerings on the market, Squarespace also comes with access to things like API functionality so you can add your own elements on a deeper level.

Squarespace, like a lot of hosted ecommerce tools, allows you to try out some of the functionality available before you hand over your cash, which might be a good idea if you’re not sure exactly what you need to begin with. Plus, unlike Square, you get to choose your payment gateway even on the lower priced packages. Both Square and Squarespace do offer a lot of payment options with most packages, however.

Squarespace is a great tool if you’re looking for an online store builder, POS system, and website tool that comes with access to various forms of extra functionality, including email marketing and blogging.

Squsarespace Pros 👍

  • Beautifully designed templates that are among the best in the market
  • SEO tools and blogging functionality with content management
  • Image management is great, with a range of importing tools included
  • No transaction fees
  • Works with a range of features including video backgrounds
  • Lots of design customization options
  • Integrates with a variety of third-party tools for all kinds of online functionality
  • Email marketing tool already built in
  • Excellent range of extra features
  • Doesn’t require a lot of web developer knowledge
  • Suitable for a standard blogging or ecommerce site

Squarespace Cons 👎

  • Doesn’t have the best GDPR compliance
  • Payment gateway options are a little limited, and there are no automatic tax calculations
  • No auto-saving option for posts and pages
  • SEO functionality could be more comprehensive
  • App store isn’t very well stocked compared to other options
  • Point of sale only available in some countries

Square vs Squarespace: Verdict

Square is likely to be your preferred website building tool if you’re looking for a solution that integrates seamlessly with your offline point of sale system. If you already use Squareup.com for your payment methods in the real world, then it will feel natural to use the same service for your online store too. This company can help you to go from selling on Etsy to having your own eCommerce site in no time.

Square is easy to use and convenient, with a range of predictable pricing plans and even a free option to get you started. It’s also suitable for tracking a range of payment options, and you can choose from a boatload of themes to make your store stand out, although there are some more comprehensive products out there in this regard.

Square Online does have some issues with account stability, and the customer service isn’t ideal, however. You may also find that calculating shipping rates isn’t the most convenient process with Square too.

On the other hand, Squarespace gives you an excellent way to build a beautiful website with some of the most attractive themes around. You can use video backgrounds to make your website stand out, and you don’t need developer knowledge to get started.

Squarespace has no transaction fees to worry about, and people generally love it’s SEO and content marketing functionality too. Unfortunately, Squarespace suffers from limited access to offline point of sale tools, and there aren’t a huge range of apps to choose from.

Our advice, if you’re on your search engine looking for the right website building service right now, is to check out both options in depth. Experiment with free trials and see how it feels to use the available features, then make your choice based on what you discover.

Rebekah Carter

Rebekah Carter is an experienced content creator, news reporter, and blogger specializing in marketing, business development, and technology. Her expertise covers everything from artificial intelligence to email marketing software and extended reality devices. When she’s not writing, Rebekah spends most of her time reading, exploring the great outdoors, and gaming.