开源电子商务平台的状态

在过去的20年中,电子商务业务改变了我们的交易方式。 我们根本不能否认这个事实。 不断增长的电子商务趋势和创新使B2B和B2C卖家能够更好地接触更广泛的受众并推广其品牌。

几年前,开源电子商务平台一直是领导者,当时基于SaaS的电子商务平台越来越受欢迎并且用户采用率越来越高,永远改变了电子商务的面貌。 这引出了关于“开源状态”的问题 电子商务平台'以及如何/如果他们能够幸免于新的和闪亮的SaaS选项带来的威胁。

此外,深入挖掘电子商务平台,我们可以看到采用开源电子商务平台与SaaS电子商务平台的明显差异。

面对电子商务平台

开源购物车

(礼貌 - Datanyze)

超过70%的电子商务网站在开源平台上运行,清楚地突出显示它们的受欢迎程度仍然完好无损。 但是,另一方面,无可否认SaaS平台可以赶上的事实。 大多数付费电子商务平台正在开发和发布一些非常有用的服务 - 有些甚至可以与开源平台服务相匹配。

为什么SaaS电子商务正在获得普及

近年来,越来越多的企业家希望在电子商务行业中占据重要地位。 这些SaaS平台使他们能够非常轻松地发布他们的“beta概念”,而不是花时间创建一个可持续和强大的电子商务商店。

SaaS电子商务结构

让我们对整个SaaS电子商务结构进行鸟瞰,以便更好地理解它。

SaaS结构

概述为我们提供了一个非常清晰的图景,说明使用SaaS平台建立在线商店是多么容易。 如果您已经拥有一家商店并想要在线展示,那么这些SaaS平台将为您提供完美的机会。

不需要任何开发技能,因为只需要对产品进行编目,创建合适的描述,然后就可以在线销售。 最大的挑战在于营销和获得销售产品所需的在线业务。 但那是另一个话题。

即使SaaS有许多第三方集成,它也不能像开源电子商务平台那样具有SEO友好性和面向内容。 使用SaaS平台,您只能使用一定数量的模板和设计,这些模板和设计会阻碍您的品牌创造力,并有可能成为一个非常棒的电子商务商店。

为什么开源将永远是一个领导者

开源电子商务平台非常强大,可以按照您的方式创建可持续和完美的在线商店。

让我们全面了解开源结构,并定义它如何帮助您的电子商务销售和策略:

萨斯

创建一个开放的商务网站是一个漫长的过程,主要是因为选择了正确的开源技术和一个可靠的开发公司 - 一个可以为您建立完美的电子商务商店。

与运营电子商务商店的客户交谈,我们了解开源平台帮助发展电子商务业务的不同方式。 对于初学者来说,这是一个很好的方法来测试水域之前你的暴跌。 您可以轻松地从小规模开始,无缝扩展商店以满足您的需求。

此外,当您选择Drupal Commerce或WooCommerce等开源CMS来托管您的商店时,会有无限的营销机会。 B2B和B2C公司从这些CMS中受益匪浅,因为您可以展示相关的视频,图像和适当的描述,以说服买家了解事实和数据。 这些选项在基于SaaS的电子商务平台中不可用。

此外,从长远来看,在SaaS平台上运行证明是昂贵的,当你想要迁移到另一个平台时,它将证明是困难的。 这两个主要因素使开源平台成为企业家的闪亮盔甲的骑士。

开源电子商务平台面临的挑战

选择开源平台的最大问题是,如果你不是技术人员,开办网上商店是非常困难的。 唯一的出路是聘请一位可以建立商店的开源电子商务开发人员。

选择合适的电子商务开发公司证明是困难的,因为他们不仅应该是开源专家,还要有优秀的设计师,他们可以创造完美的用户体验,帮助定义您的品牌。 这个招聘过程可能非常耗时,因为您需要首先确定最好的开发人员并学会信任他们。

第二个问题在于开发时间。 根据商店的大小和各种功能,可以在3周和6个月之间的任何时间开发完整的站点。

即使这是一项耗时的工作,您也需要所需的时间来购买商品以设置强大的电子商务流程。 即使SaaS平台让您立即销售,也无法决定启动电子商务商店并在第二天开始销售。

开源电子商务平台与SaaS电子商务平台

开源 SaaS的
优点:

  • 自定义 - 让您的网站与众不同
  • 搜索引擎友好
  • 非常安全
  • 基于内容的促销变得简单
  • 一次性开发成本
  • 迁移到另一个平台很容易
  • 你最终得到完全控制
优点:

  • 轻松的商店设置
  • 链接到许多3rd 派对应用程序,可帮助您轻松推广您的产品,并帮助您轻松分析您的网站
  • 轻松与社交媒体网站集成
  • 从大量免费模板中立即为您的商店选择一个很棒的布局
  • 安全便捷的交易门户
  • 以您的商店规模收取所有这些费用
缺点:

  • 建立电子商务商店所需的时间
  • 找到合适的电子商务开发公司可能很困难
缺点:

  • 某些SaaS平台会削减您的销售额,而其他平台会收取带宽费用
  • 不是很友好的SEO
  • 从长远来看,可能会花费很多钱
  • 没有简单的迁移选项可以移出SaaS平台

现在我们已经清楚地了解了开源电子商务平台以及SaaS平台如何构成威胁,让我们来看看以下趋势:

谷歌趋势

(礼貌 - 谷歌趋势)

它清楚地表明,对开源电子商务平台的需求有所下降。 但是,从好的方面来看,电子商务SaaS平台的需求并不是一个严重的威胁。 我们可以有把握地得出结论,目前,对开源平台的需求仍然完好且占主导地位。

作者简介: Jeffrey Wisard是Drupal Partners的数字内容经理。 他写了关于开源的文章, Drupal Commerce开发人员 和所有的东西数字营销。 当他不考虑内容策略时,你可以在他的自行车上找到他,或者在乔治亚州亚特兰大的家里上路。 跟着他 @DrupalPartners.

Catalin Zorzini

我是一名网页设计博客,在花了几周时间努力寻找出来之后开始了这个项目 最好的电子商务平台 为了我自己。 看看我的电流 顶级10电子商务网站建设者.

The State Of Open Source Ecommerce Platforms

In the last 20 years, the ecommerce business has changed the way we transact. We simply can’t deny the fact. The growing ecommerce trends and innovation have made it feasible for B2B and B2C sellers to reach a wider audience and market their brands better.

Open source ecommerce platforms had always been a leader until few years back, when SaaS based ecommerce platforms gained popularity and increased user-adoption, changing the face of ecommerce forever. This begs the question about the ‘state of open source ecommerce Platforms’ and how/if they’re survive the threats posed by the new and shiny SaaS options.

Also, digging deeper into the ecommerce platforms, we can see the stark difference in the adoption of open source ecommerce platform versus the SaaS ecommerce platforms.

The Face Of Ecommerce Platforms

Open Source carts

(Courtesy – Datanyze)

More than 70% of ecommerce websites run on an open source platform, clearly highlighting that their popularity is still intact. But, on the flip side, there is no denying the fact that the SaaS platforms can catch up. Most paid ecommerce platforms are developing and releasing some very useful services – Some that even match up to open source platform services.  

Why SaaS Ecommerce is Gaining Popularity

In the recent years, there has been an influx of entrepreneurs looking to make it big in the ecommerce industry. These SaaS platforms make it extremely easy for them to release their ‘beta idea,’ instead of investing time in creating a sustainable and robust ecommerce store.

The SaaS Ecommerce Structure

Let’s take a bird’s eye view on the complete SaaS ecommerce structure to understand it a little better.

SaaS structure

The overview gives us a pretty clear picture on how easy it is to set up an online store using the SaaS platforms. If you already have a store and would like an online presence, then these SaaS platforms give you the perfect opportunity to do just that.

There is no need for any development skills, as one just needs to catalogue their products, create decent descriptions and then they are all set to sell online. The biggest challenge lies in marketing and gaining the online presence needed to get your products sold. But that’s whole other topic.

Even though SaaS has many third party integrations, it cannot be as SEO friendly and content oriented like an open source ecommerce platform. With SaaS platforms, you are limited to a certain number of templates and designs which hinders your brand creativity and the potential to be an awesome ecommerce store.

Why Open Source Will Always Be A Leader

Open source ecommerce platforms are robust and help create a sustainable and perfect online store, the way you want it.

Let’s take a complete look at the open source structure and define how it helps your ecommerce sales and strategies:

Saas

Creating an open commerce site is a lengthy process, mainly due to choosing the right open source technology and a reliable development firm – One that can build the perfect ecommerce store for you.

Talking to our customers who run ecommerce stores, we understand the different ways open source platforms have helped grow their ecommerce business. For starters, it is a great way to test the waters before you take the plunge. You can easily start small and expand the store seamlessly to meet your needs.

Also, when you choose open source CMS like Drupal Commerce or WooCommerce to host your store, there are limitless marketing opportunities. B2B and B2C companies benefit greatly with such CMSs as you can showcase relevant videos, images and appropriate description to convince buyers with facts and data. Such options are not as available in SaaS based ecommerce platforms.

Also, running on a SaaS platform proves to be expensive in the long run and when you do want to migrate to another platform, it will prove to be difficult. These two major factors make the open-source platforms as the knight in shining armor for entrepreneurs.

Challenges Faced In Open Source Ecommerce Platforms

The biggest problem in choosing an open source platform is that it is extremely difficult to start an online store if you are not a techie. The only way out is by hiring an open source ecommerce developer who can build your store.

Choosing the right ecommerce development firm proves to be difficult, as they should not only be open-source experts, but also have great designers who can create the perfect user experience that helps define your brand. This hiring process can prove to be extremely time consuming as you need to first identify the best developers and learn to trust them.

The second issue lies with the development time. Depending on the size of the store and the various features, it can take anytime between 3 weeks and 6 months to develop the complete site.

Even if it’s a time consuming, you need the required time to source your merchandise to set a robust ecommerce process. Even if SaaS platforms let you sell instantly, one cannot decide to start an ecommerce store and start selling the very next day.  

Open Source Ecommerce Platforms Vs SaaS Ecommerce Platforms

 

Open Source SaaS
The Pros:

  • Custom – make your website unique
  • SEO friendly
  • Extremely secure
  • Content based promotions made simple
  • One-time development cost
  • Migrating to another platform is easy
  • You eventually get complete control
The Pros:

Try-Shopify
  • Easy store setup
  • Link to many 3rd party applications that help market your products easily and help analyze your site effortlessly
  • Easy integration with social media sites
  • Choose a great layout for your store instantly from plenty of free templates
  • Safe and easy transaction portals
  • Get all this for a fee that fits your store size
The Cons:

  • Time taken to build your ecommerce store
  • Finding the right ecommerce development firm might be difficult
The Cons:

  • Certain SaaS platforms take a cut of your sales, while others charge a bandwidth fee
  • Not very SEO friendly
  • Might work out expensive in the long run
  • No easy migration options to move out of the SaaS platform

Now that we have a clear understanding about the open source ecommerce platform and how the SaaS platforms might pose as a threat, let’s take a look at the following trends:

Google Trends

(Courtesy – Google Trends)

It clearly shows that there is a decline in the need for open source ecommerce platform. But, on the bright side, the need for the ecommerce SaaS platform is not anywhere close to being a serious threat. We can safely conclude that, currently, the need for open source platform remains intact and dominant.

Author Bio: Jeffrey Wisard is the Digital Content Manager at Drupal Partners. He writes about open source, Drupal Commerce developers and all things digital marketing. When he’s not thinking about content strategy, you can find him on his bike or run commuting home in Atlanta, GA. Follow him at @DrupalPartners.

 

Catalin Zorzini

I'm a web design blogger and started this project after spending a few weeks struggling to find out which is the best ecommerce platform for myself. Check out my current top 10 ecommerce site builders.