电子商务运输 - 2020的分步指南

全球电子商务销售额目前高达3.5万亿美元,而累计数据预计全球零售业在最近追踪的时期内将增长276%。 如果您刚刚开始您的电子商务业务,首先要了解的是全球销售需要全球性的存在。 当然,这并不需要建立多个实体店或国际仓库,但它确实需要一种战略性的,经过深思熟虑的运输方法。

你为什么要关心 电子商务运输? 按照 BigCommerce的2017调查显示,运输价格和速度是推动客户购买的三大最有影响力的因素中的两个。 此外, 45%的客户 由于交付选项不满意而放弃了购物车, 38% 说负面交付经验是一个交易破坏者,而66%的购物者声称他们决定不购买,因为更高的运输成本。

统计数据不言而喻。 如果你不是 直销业务 或者你仍然太小而无法过渡到3PL(第三方物流) 履行服务 您必须自己存储,管理和运送产品给您的客户。 无论您销售的产品类型如何,如果您刚刚开始,订单履行可能是一个非常可怕的事情,需要考虑变量的船舶* wink wink *。

那么,你应该从哪里开始呢?

确定电子商务运输策略:了解运输变量和设定目标

电子商务运输战略

重要的是要记住,没有一个适合所有人的东西 电子商务运输战略。 您的运输策略将根据您的要求不断发展和变化。 随着业务的增长,您的需求和能力也将随之增长; 您可以提供免费送货或一天或两天送货的国家数量将会扩大,您的包装材料和拆箱经验将(希望)改善,您的预算,产品和利润 - 基本上您履行流程的每个方面都将更改。 当然,随着业务的增长,您将适应,但在订单开始堆积之前,您必须了解所有运输变量并相应地设定目标。

👉发送变量包括但不限于:

    • 潜在的法律障碍取决于您销售的产品类型 - 您是否正在使用可能在某些司法管辖区内受到限制的药品或其他产品? 仔细考虑您销售的产品类型,以及它们是否可能导致海关出现任何滞留或您计划出口的国家/地区的任何法律问题。 此外,请务必仔细检查原产国与目的地国家之间是否存在任何禁运或额外关税,因为这可能会对您的业务产生很大影响。
    • 影响运费的变量 - 这些主要包括包裹的包装尺寸和重量,原产地和目的地国家之间的距离,保险费用,跟踪,关税和关税以及仓储,包装材料,标签等的任何额外费用。

💡只要掌握了所有运输变量,接下来就要缩小您的注意力并确定主要运输目标。 你究竟想要达到什么目的?

让我们看看你的一些潜在目标:

    • 提高转换率 - 转换率的计算方法是将您网站上的访问者数量除以采取所需操作的购物者数量。 增加转化次数取决于各种因素,例如网站布局,销售产品的质量,网站副本,营销技巧等。 例如,免费送货是已成功提高转换率的少数几项内容之一,如果这是您的主要目标,应该首先考虑这一点。
    • 将您的业务扩展到新市场 - 将业务扩展到未知的现有市场需要适当的运输策略。 实施店内提货或当天本地交货可以帮助您在当地市场赢得立足点并主导竞争,而快速和廉价的国际运输无疑将有助于扩展您的业务,无论您的利基有多宽或多窄。
    • 增加平均订单价值 - AOV是任何电子商务业务中最重要的KPI(关键绩效指标)之一。 要计算平均订单价值,请将收入除以订单数量。 经过验证的增加AOV的策略是为超过一定金额的所有订单提供免费送货服务。 通过提供批量购买促销和利用向上销售渠道,您可以同时提高您的AOV并降低运输成本,因为运输公司将很乐意为您提供批量折扣。
    • 最大限度地降低运输成本 - 对您的订单履行采取清晰的战略方法可以对您的业务增长产生巨大影响。 通过优化运营效率和降低运输成本,您可以提高利润率或以更低的价格提供产品,以吸引和留住更多客户。 有许多变量会影响您的运输成本,但您应该主要关注您自己控制的变量:(i)提高整个订单履行流程的效率,(ii)优化您的包装,(iii)找到正确的承运人和谈判费率,以及(iv)仔细检查任何隐藏费用并利用您的运输公司提供的免费津贴。

运输政策:运输方式和定价策略

了解所有运输变量并确定运输策略的主要目标后,就可以确定运输政策。 简而言之,您的运输政策应根据您的运输目标设计,并应回答两个基本问题:(i)运输价格是多少,以及(ii)交货方式是什么?

👉关于您向客户收取运费的价格,您可以:

    1. 提供免费送货 - 您可以采取两种方法,有条件或无条件地免费送货。 如果您选择前者,您可以通过以下几种方式构建免费送货优惠:(i)设置最低订单金额,(ii)提供免费送货促销,(iii)仅在特定商品上提供免费送货,以及( iv)让您的客户在快速或免费的经济运输之间做出选择。 但是,如果您选择后者,您很快就会发现免费送货并非真正免费,而且您必须找到一种方法谨慎地将运费转嫁给客户。 如果您想了解如何提供详细的免费送货,请阅读我们的 深入介绍 如何提供免费送货.
    2. 收取实时运营商费率 - 尽管客户几乎总是喜欢免费送货,但在检查站显示实时运营商费率会带来一些真正的好处。 首先,客户可以预先了解全部运费,无需支付意外费用或额外费用。 对于两种方法,此方法允许您向客户收取运输订单所需的确切金额。 某些电子商务平台允许您直接从运营商提取所有数据并自动计算运费。
    3. 收取统一费率 - 如果您的产品系列主要包含具有相似尺寸和重量的产品,则此方法确实最有效。 如果您销售各种各样的产品,那么收取固定费率对您来说并不是一个选择,因为它很容易被充电,或者更糟糕的是,对您的客户收取过多的运费。

👉关于交付方式,您可以:

    1. 提供隔夜送货或当天/两天送货 - 感谢亚马逊Prime,在过去几年中,当天和为期两天的交付已成为行业常态。 因此,年轻客户(年龄介于18和26之间)实际上希望在两天内收到他们的包裹,并且大部分时间他们愿意将问题上报给客户支持,如果他们不这样做的话。 此外,61%的购物者表示他们可以为这些运输速度支付更多费用。 提供快速运输非常适合建立客户忠诚度,减少购物车放弃和满足客户期望。 但是,如果您没有使用第三方履行服务,则成功执行隔夜或当天交付需要充足的准备,技术,资源和完美优化的操作。
    2. 提供国际运费 - 扩展到新市场是一个很好的扩展战略,但它确实有其局限性。 对于较小的电子商务企业,国际航运可能非常具有挑战性; 不同的国家对进货以及不同的关税,税收政策和法规有不同的要求和限制。 要成功执行此操作,您需要一个好的国际运营商。 UPS,联邦快递和DHL等大公司是一个很好的选择,因为他们有多年的国际航运经验,能够提供门到门的交付,跟踪,保险和照顾海关和关税。
    3. 提供店内提货服务 - 有一个重要的 差距 需要店内提货的客户数量与提供此商品的电子商务企业数量之间存在差异。 店内提货是市场上最容易被忽视的运输方式之一,无论您采取何种具体的运输方式,您都应该尝试并利用这一点。

最佳电子商务运输解决方案

选择正确的电子商务运输解决方案并不总是那么容易。 这里没有一个适合所有人的尺寸。 由您决定是否可以提供出色的客户体验以及与在线商店的完美同步的完美结合。 为了帮助您做出正确的选择,无论您是小型企业还是大型企业,这里都是一些我们最喜欢的运输解决方案。

1. ShipBob

ShipBob的电子商务软件可轻松与全球领先的电子商务平台集成。 这样可以实现更快,更轻松的运输体验。 公司与市场上一些主要物流公司提供的批量折扣也意味着它能够以对您的公司更预算友好的方式运送订单。

ShipBob通过便捷的结帐流程以及从快速航空运输到国内陆运选择的众多选择,使运输体验变得轻松。 该软件还具有令人惊讶的易用性,它具有直观的后端,可为您提供所需的所有支持,以密切关注您的订单和业务情况。

ShipBob的软件几乎完全不需要培训,并且还提供仓库选项,因此您可以在处理产品方面获得更多帮助。 如果您正在寻找易于使用且方便的电子商务运输服务,那么这可能是适合您的工具。

2. Shopify 运费

有时,如果您正在寻找理想的电子商务运输解决方案,那么最好的选择就是坚持自己所知道的。 例如,如果您已经在使用 Shopify 对于您的网站和销售点解决方案,有必要考虑 Shopify 运送。 已包含在您的 Shopify 订阅, Shopify 运费 对于现有客户而言,这是一笔很棒的交易。

作为仅运送服务,此服务没有很多高级功能。 如果您正在寻找适合小型企业的基本送货方式,则可以。 Shopify 便于在美国各地运送,因此您可以从客户处以信用卡付款。 另外, Shopify 也可以为您的送货方式提供折扣。

的另一个大好处 Shopify 它是基于浏览器的,因此无需担心安装。 该界面的设计宗旨是易于使用和学习,并且 Shopify 如果您在线使用其他平台,则有大量的附加应用程序可帮助集成。 请记住,附加组件也可能很昂贵。

3. ShipStation

Shipstation电子商务运输平台

ShipStation 如果您要浏览网络以获取统一费率运费以及美国和世界各地的其他运费解决方案,则是另一个绝佳选择。 这个具有价格竞争力的基于Web的平台使用起来非常直观,某些功能的学习曲线比其他功能陡峭。 关于这项服务的最好的事情之一就是它也具有惊人的功能!

ShipStation带有自动标记和运输规则,出色的移动应用程序以及您自己的报告工具。 计划价格从每月9美元(最多50个订单)到每月159美元(如果您想获得无限制的运费)不等。

ShipStation可以提供很多折扣,并且该服务几乎与您要链接到的所有其他平台集成。 此外,还有自定义集成功能。 该服务的主要缺点是客户管理系统并不完善。 一些客户说,客户管理平台不是最适合您的在线业务的平台。

计算运费

电子商务运费

你会惊讶地发现,有多少企业陷入困境只是因为他们没有费心去思考一步,而是对他们作为订单履行的一部分可能带来的所有潜在开支进行数学计算。 好消息是,你不必是其中之一; 计算产品的总成本很简单,看起来应该是这样的:

产品成本 $15
包装 $3
运输费 $10.30
海关/关税(如果你覆盖他们) $0.00
支付处理费 $3
当您添加所有这些时,产品的总成本降至$ 31.3。 要计算您应该销售产品的价格,请将您的利润率添加到产品的总成本中。 如果我们假设您的30%相对保守,那么您的产品应该以〜$ 41的价格出售。

但是,要获得此数字,您必须先计算电子商务运费。 运输承运商根据以下因素确定运费:包裹尺寸和重量,原产国,目的地国家,海关和关税,保险和跟踪的任何额外费用以及您可能拥有的任何数量或业务帐户折扣。载体说。

计算产品的运输成本非常简单,几乎所有最大和最受欢迎的运输快递公司都提供运费计算器。 使用我们下面列出的那些来比较价格并权衡您的选择。

航运保险和跟踪

没有什么能够激怒顾客,而不是等待包裹到达而不知道它在哪里以及它需要多长时间才会出现。 此外,想象一下你自己没有回复那个愤怒的客户询问他丢失的包裹与全面的大写锁定电子邮件,你会立即承认,在跟踪上节省一些钱是不值得的。

跟踪和保险提供物超所值的服务; 只需几美元,您就可以为您的客户提供极大的安全保障,让您高枕无忧。 如果您正在销售高价商品,包括跟踪和保险到您的货物应该是您的默认运作方式。

💡有些运输快递提供高达$ 100的免费保险,或者在某些情况下甚至高达$ 200美元。

关税与关税

如果您打算跨国界销售产品,则需要在包装中包含所有相关的海关和关税文件。 您需要填写的确切表格可能会略有不同,具体取决于您的位置,但一般来说,它们总是需要的,它们用于告诉进口国的海关官员包裹中的物品,出口的原因是什么?什么是包装的总商业价值。

要确切了解您需要将哪些表格附在您的包裹上,请联系您所在国家/地区的邮政服务,他们会帮助您解决所有问题。 此外,请务必告知您的客户您无法控制他们可能产生的税费,关税和关税的任何额外费用(在您的运输政策页面中明确说明)并且这是由每个国家单独确定的。

💡如果您来自美国,英国,加拿大或澳大利亚,您可以在以下链接中找到有关海关和关税信息的更多信息:

电子商务包装

电子商务包装

第一印象很重要,你没有第二次机会制作一个。 在这个世界上几乎没有一个活生生的灵魂没有听到过这种相当俗气的谚语,而且只有少数人真正意识到它是多么的真实和强大。

当你遇到新事物时,你的大脑会在短短几分之一的时间内形成它的印象。 在一分钟之内,你的大脑的原始,情感中心将处理超过一万个视觉,触觉和口腔感觉,这将立即产生“直观的”评估 - 一种直觉 - 关于你所看到的东西是潜在的威胁还是有价资产。 你的大脑基本上会决定它是否喜欢或讨厌你在看到它的几秒钟内看到的东西,而你却没有任何发言权。

现在,让我们将其应用于电子商务运输。 客户拿到包裹后首先看到的是什么? 这是对的 - 它不是产品本身,而是包装。 包装是您的第一印象,第一印象可以决定您的业务。

无论喜欢与否,拆箱经验都是新货架的存在,从客户的满意度和购物体验来看,包装的设计和质量与产品本身一样重要。

电子商务运输:定制包装选项

在您决定包装的确切设计之前,您需要考虑可能影响您的所有变量:您的产品是什么,它的形状,尺寸和重量是什么,它是脆弱还是耐用?

💡根据您的情况,您可以为您的产品选择三种类型的运输容器:邮寄信封,运输箱或两者的组合。

邮寄信封最适合运送较小和较坚固的物品。 信封通常占用更少的空间,它们减少了包装劳动力,并且它们比对应的运输容器便宜得多。 您可以选择三种类型的邮寄信封:(i)塑料信封 - 最不环保的信封,但尽管如此,(ii)纸质信封 - 价格实惠且最低订购量(MOQ)低得多与塑料相比,使用定制印刷和(iii)纸板信封 - 这些设计在运输过程中保持平整,并且印刷精美。

另一方面,邮箱有各种形状和尺寸,因此它们几乎适用于您可以销售的任何类型的产品。 最常用的邮箱类型是普通的棕色瓦楞纸箱。 好处是它们重量轻,经久耐用,有各种形状和尺寸,而缺点是它们只有两种颜色(棕色或白色),如果你想为它们添加颜色和图形,它将花费你一笔财富。 自定义打印邮箱的最低订购数量从1,000单位开始,提前期在两到三周之间。

话虽如此,根据您销售的产品类型,定制打印您的邮箱 - 即使价格昂贵 - 可能仍然适合商务,因为它可以让您展示您的品牌价值并将您的品牌形象提升到另一个层次。 此外,40%的购物者表示,如果该产品采用优质,精心设计的包装,他们可能会再次购买同一家电子商店。

然而,印刷品并不是获得良好拆箱体验的唯一设立者; 品牌胶带,手写感谢卡,定制缓冲,贴纸密封 - 每一点注意力都很重要。 如果您的产品允许,您可以疯狂地使用精美的香水来为拆箱体验添加整体“其他”维度。

电子商务运输:标签

一旦您决定了您的电子商务运输策略,选择快递,计算所有运费并确定您的演示文稿,是时候标记包裹并将其发送给他们!

您可以通过应用标签并手动写入送货地址和退货地址开始。 这可能是单调乏味和耗时的,但是,老实说,每当你在包装上贴上标签并将其放在一边运输时,你都会感到温暖和模糊。

但是,一旦您的业务恢复,这将无法持续,因此您必须自动执行此流程并开始打印邮资。 您可以使用许多运输标签打印服务来帮助您简化此流程并成功扩展您的业务:

  • Stamps.com:17.99 /月+邮资
  • 景泰蓝:每个标签$ xNUMX +邮资或$ 0.05 /月(最多10标签)
  • ShipStation:$ 9- $ 159 +邮资
    • ShippingEasy:免费 - $ 99 /月+邮资(每月最多可免费获得50套餐)

你会成功的!

整理思路

开展自己的电子商务业务可能是非常具有挑战性的体验。 但是,这也是实现梦想的绝佳途径。 如果您一直想知道如何开始使用诸如发货和订单履行之类的东西,希望这篇文章对您有所帮助。

即使在危机时期,例如Covid-19,您也一定会成功!

在为您的在线购物公司访问正确的运输软件和策略时,这里有很多工具。 您无需自己跟踪交货时间和数量。 您可以找到很多方法来制作自己的 电子商务商店 发光一点额外的帮助。 此外,采用正确的策略也可以避免一些重大附加费用。

在明确定义目标并制定正确策略的情况下,采取行动并实施本指南中学到的所有内容的时机已经成熟。 航运是其中一个更具挑战性的方面 电子商务业务,但一旦你确定了它并相应地优化了你的运营 - 你的业务将通过屋顶!

底线是,如果您想经营成功的在线业务,则需要一个出色的运输策略。 好消息? 制定此计划不必看起来那么复杂。

斯蒂芬斯坦科维奇

Stefan是兼职加密作家和全职播客上瘾者。 他拥有商业法硕士学位,并拥有加密货币监管的研究生论文。 他把自己的空闲时间花在了街区附近,并将重物从地上抬起。 凭着他的思想。

Ecommerce Shipping – A Step by Step Guide for 2019

Global ecommerce sales are currently topping $3.5 trillion and cumulative data anticipates a 276% increase in global retail over the most recently tracked period. If you’re just starting out your ecommerce business, the first thing to learn is that global sales require global presence. This, of course, does not entail setting up multiple brick-and-mortar stores or international warehousing, but it does require a strategic and well-thought-out approach to shipping.

Why should you care about ecommerce shipping? As per BigCommerce’s 2017 survey, shipping price and speed are two of the top three most influential factors driving customer purchases. Moreover, 45% of customers have abandoned a shopping cart because of unsatisfactory delivery options, 38% say that negative delivery experience is a deal-breaker, while 66% of shoppers claim they’ve decided not to make a purchase because of higher shipping costs.

The stats speak for themselves. If you’re not dropshipping or you’re still too small to transition to 3PL (third-party logistics) fulfillment services you’ll have to store, manage and ship the products to your customers by yourself. Regardless of the type of products you sell, if you’re just starting out, order fulfillment can be a very scary undertaking with a shipload *wink wink* of variables to consider.

So, where should you begin?

Determining an Ecommerce Shipping Strategy: Understanding Shipping Variables and Setting Goals

ecommerce shipping strategy

It’s important to keep in mind that there’s no such thing as a one-size-fits-all ecommerce shipping strategy. Your shipping strategy will continually develop and change according to your requirements. As your business grows, so will your needs and capabilities; the number of countries where you can offer free shipping or one or two-day delivery will expand, your packaging materials and your unboxing experience will (hopefully) improve, your budget, your products, your margins — basically every aspect of your fulfillment process will change. You will, of course, adapt as your business grows, but before orders start piling on it’s of utmost importance that you understand all the shipping variables and set your goals accordingly.

👉Shipping variables include but are not limited to:

    • Potential legal barriers depending on the type of products you sell – Are you working with pharmaceuticals or other products that may potentially have restrictions under some jurisdictions? Think carefully about the type of products you sell and whether they might cause any hold-ups at customs or any legal concerns with the countries you plan on exporting to. Also, make sure you double-check if there are any embargos or additional tariffs between the country of origin and the destination country as this may greatly affect your business.
    • Variables that affect your shipping costs – These primarily include the packaging size and weight of your parcel, the distance between the origin and the destination country, costs for insurance, tracking, customs & duties and any additional costs for warehousing, packaging materials, labels and so on.

💡As soon as you get your grip on all of the shipping variables, next you want to narrow down your focus and establish your primary shipping goals. What are your trying to achieve, precisely?

Let’s look at some of your potential objectives:

    • Increase conversions – Conversion rate is calculated by dividing the number of visitors on your sites with the number of shoppers who take the desired action. Increasing conversions depends on various factors such as the layout of your site, the quality of the products you sell, your website copy, marketing techniques and so on. Free shipping, for example, is one of the few things that has been proven to successfully boost conversion rates and should be the first thing you consider if this is your primary goal.
    • Scaling your business to new markets – Expanding your business to uncharted existing markets requires adequate shipping strategies. Implementing in-store pickups or same-day local delivery can help you gain a foothold and dominate the competition in your local market, while fast and inexpensive international shipping will certainly help scale your business regardless of how broad or narrow your niche is.
    • Increasing Average Order Value – The AOV is one of the most vital KPIs (Key Performance Indicators) of any ecommerce business. To calculate your average order value, divide your revenue with the number of orders. A proven strategy to increase your AOV is to offer free shipping on all orders exceeding a certain dollar amount. By offering promotions on bulk purchases and by utilizing up-selling funnels you can simultaneously increase your AOV and lower your shipping costs as shipping carriers will be happy to give you volume discounts.
    • Minimizing shipping costs – Having a lucid and strategic approach to your order fulfillment can have a vast impact on the growth of your business. By optimizing operational efficiency and decreasing shipping costs you can either increase your profit margins or offer the products at lower prices in order to attract and retain more customers. There are many variables that affect the cost of your shipping, but you should mainly concern yourself with the ones under your control: (i) improve the efficiency of the whole order fulfillment process, (ii) optimize your packaging, (iii) find the right carrier and negotiate rates, and (iv) double-check for any hidden fees and take advantage of free perks offered by your shipping carriers.

Shipping Policy: Methods of Shipping and Pricing Strategies

Once you understand all of the shipping variables and determine the primary goal of your shipping strategy, it’s time to nail down your shipping policy. Simply put, your shipping policy should be designed in accordance with your shipping goals and it should answer two basic questions: (i) what is the price of shipping, and (ii) what is the method of delivery?

👉 Regarding the price you charge your customers for shipping, you can either:

    1. Offer free shipping — You can take two approaches to this and offer free shipping either conditionally or unconditionally. If you chose the former, you can structure your free shipping offer in several different ways: (i) set a minimum order amount, (ii) offer free shipping as a promotion, (iii) offer free shipping only on select items, and (iv) let your customers choose between fast or free economy shipping. If you choose the latter, however, you’ll soon find out that free shipping isn’t really free and that you’ll have to find a way to discreetly pass the cost of shipping to the customer. If you want to learn how to offer free shipping in detail, read our In-depth guide on how to offer free shipping.
    2. Charge real-time carrier rates — Even though customers almost always prefer free shipping, there are some real benefits from displaying real-time carrier rates at the checkpoint. For one, customers get to know the full cost of shipping upfront, with no unexpected fees or additional costs. For two, this method allows you to charge the customers the exact amount it costs you to ship them their order. Some ecommerce platforms allow you to pull all of the data directly from the carriers and calculate the shipping price automatically.
    3. Charge a flat rate — This method really works best if your product line consists mainly of products with similar sizes and weights. If you’re selling a wide variety of products, charging a flat rate isn’t really an option for you since it’s really easy to undercharge or, even worse, overcharge your customers for shipping.

👉 Regarding the method of delivery, you can:

    1. Offer overnight shipping or same-day / two-day delivery – Thanks to Amazon Prime, during the past few years same-day and two-day delivery have become the industry norm. So much so that younger customers (aged between 18 and 26) actually expect to receive their package within two days and most of the time they’re willing to escalate the issue to customer support if they don’t. Furthermore, 61% of shoppers say they’re okay with paying more for these shipping speeds. Offering expedited shipping is great for building client loyalty, reducing shopping cart abandonment and meeting customer expectations. If you’re not using a third-party fulfillment service, however, successfully executing overnight or same-day delivery requires adequate preparation, technology, resources, and flawlessly optimized operations.
    2. Offer international shipping – Expanding to new markets is a great scaling strategy but it does have its limits. For smaller ecommerce businesses international shipping can be quite challenging; different countries have different requirements and restrictions for incoming shipments as well as different tariffs, tax policies and regulations. To execute this successfully you’ll need a good international carrier. Bigger companies such as UPS, FedEx, and DHL are a great option since they have years of experience in international shipping and are able to offer door-to-door delivery, tracking, insurance and take care of customs and duties.
    3. Offer in-store pick up – There’s a significant gap between the number of customers that want in-store pick up and the number of ecommerce businesses that offer it. In-store pick up is one of the most overlooked shipping options on the market and regardless of your specific approach to shipping you should definitely try and capitalize on this.

Calculating Shipping Costs

ecommerce shipping costs

You’d be amazed how many businesses go in the red just because they don’t bother to think one step ahead and do the math on all of the potential expenses they could incur as a part of order fulfillment. The good news is, you don’t have to be one of them; calculating the total cost of product is simple, and it should look something like this:

Cost of product$15
Packaging$3
Shipping costs$10.30
Customs/Duties (if you cover them)$0.00
Payment processor fees$3
When you add all of this up the total cost of product comes down to $31.3. To calculate the price you should sell your product for, add your profit margin to the total cost of product. If we suppose you go with a relatively conservative margin of 30%, your product should sell for ~$41.

To get to this number, however, you must first calculate your ecommerce shipping costs. Shipping carriers determine their shipping rates based on the following factors: package size and weight, country of origin, the destination country, costs for customs & duties, any additional costs for insurance and tracking plus any volume or business account discounts you might have with the said carrier.

Calculating the shipping costs for your products is fairly straightforward and almost all of the largest and most popular shipping couriers provide shipping cost calculators. Use the ones we’ve listed below to compare prices and weigh your options.

Shipping Insurance and Tracking

Nothing infuriates customers more than having to wait for a package to arrive without having any idea where it is and how much longer will it take it to appear. Moreover, just imagine yourself having nothing to reply to that enraged customer enquiring about his lost package with full-on caps lock emails and you’ll immediately concede that saving a few bucks on tracking just isn’t worth it.

Tracking and insurance offer great value for money; for a few additional bucks, you can give your customers a great deal of security and peace of mind. If you’re selling high-ticket items, including both tracking and insurance to your shipment should be your default modus operandi.

💡Some shipping couriers offer complimentary insurance coverage up to $100 or in some cases even up to $200 dollars.

Customs & Duties

If you intend to sell your products across international borders, you’ll need to include all the relevant customs and duties documentation with your package. The exact forms you’ll have to fill may slightly vary depending on your location but, in general, they’re always required and they serve to tell the customs officers at the country of import what’s in the package, what’s the reason for export and what’s the total commercial value of the package.

To find out exactly which forms you’ll need to attach to your package just contact your country’s postal service and they’ll help you out with everything. Furthermore, make sure you inform your customers that you aren’t able to control any of the additional fees for taxes, tariffs and customs they may incur (make this very clear in your shipping policy page) and that this is determined by each country individually.

💡If you’re from the US, UK, Canada or Australia, you can find more info regarding customs and duties information in the links below:

Ecommerce Packaging

ecommerce packaging

First impressions matter and you don’t get a second chance to make one. There’s hardly a living soul in this world that hasn’t heard this rather cheesy proverb and still, only a few genuinely realize just how true and powerful it is.

When you encounter something new, your brain forms an impression of it in just a fraction of a second. Within a minute, your brain’s primal, emotional centers will process beyond ten thousand visual, tactile and oral sensations which will immediately produce “an intuitive” assessment – a gut feeling – as to whether the thing you’re seeing is a potential threat or a valuable asset. Your brain will basically decide whether it likes or hates what you’re seeing within seconds of seeing it, and you don’t have any say in it.

Now, let’s apply this to ecommerce shipping. What’s the first thing that your customer sees when they get the package? That’s right — it’s not the product itself, it’s the packaging. The packaging is the first impression you make, and first impressions can make or break your business.

Like it or not, the unboxing experience is the new shelf presence and, from the customer’s satisfaction and shopping experience, the design and quality of the packaging are just as important as the product itself.

Ecommerce Shipping: Custom Packaging Options

Before you can decide on the exact design of your packaging, you need to take into account all of the variables that may affect you: what’s your product, what’s its shape, size and weight of it, and is it fragile or durable?

💡Depending on your situation, you can choose between three types of shipping containers for your product: mailing envelopes, shipping boxes or a combination of both.

Mailing envelopes are best used for shipping smaller and sturdier items. Envelopes generally occupy much less space, they reduce packing labor and they’re far less expensive than counterpart shipping containers. You can choose between three types of mailing envelopes: (i) plastic envelopes – least eco-friendly of the bunch but serve their purpose nonetheless, (ii) paper envelopes – very affordable and have a much lower minimum order quantity (MOQ) when you use custom printing compared to plastic ones and (iii) paperboard envelopes – these are designed to stay flat during shipment and they print up beautifully.

Mailing boxes, on the other hand, come in all shapes and sizes so they’re suitable for almost any type of product you can sell. The most commonly used mailing box type is the ordinary brown corrugated box. The upside is that they’re lightweight, durable, and come in all shapes and sizes while the downside is that they come only in two colors (brown or white) and if you want to add colors and graphics to them it’s going to cost you a fortune. The minimum order quantity on custom printed mailing boxes starts at 1,000 units and the lead time ranges between two to three weeks.

That being said, depending on the type of product you sell, custom printing your mailing boxes – even though it’s pricey – may still be great for business since it allows you to showcase your brand's values and elevates your brand’s image to another level. Moreover, 40% of shoppers say they’d be somewhat more or much more likely to buy from the same e-com shop again if the product came in a premium, thoughtfully-designed package.

The print, however, is not the only grantor to a great unboxing experience; branded tapes, handwritten thank-you cards, custom cushioning, sticker seals — every little piece of attention matters. If your product allows it, you can go wild and use fine perfumes to add a whole ‘nother dimension to the unboxing experience.

Ecommerce Shipping: Labeling

Once you decide on your ecommerce shipping strategy, pick a courier, calculate all the shipping costs and nail down your presentation, it’s time to label the packages and send them on their way!

You can start off by applying the labels and writing the ship-to and return addresses by hand. It may be tedious and time-consuming but, in all honesty, you’ll feel all warm and fuzzy each and every time you slap that label on the package and set it aside for shipping.

Once your business picks up, however, this won’t be sustainable so you’ll have to automate this process and start printing your postage. There are a number of shipping label printing services you can use to help you streamline this process and scale your business successfully:

  • Stamps.com: 17.99/month + postage
  • Shippo: $0.05 per label + postage or $10/month (up to 60 labels)
  • Shipstation: $9-$159 + postage
  • ShippingEasy: Free-$99/month + postage (Free for up to 50 packages per month)

You’re set to succeed!

With your goals clearly defined and with the right strategy in place, the time is ripe to take action and implement everything you learned in this guide. Shipping is one of the more challenging aspects of any ecommerce business, but once you nail it down and optimize your operations accordingly — your business will go through the roof!

Stefan Stankovic

Stefan is a part-time crypto writer and full-time podcast addict. He holds a master's degree in Commercial Law with a graduate thesis in cryptocurrency regulation. He spends his free time lawyering around the block and lifting heavy objects off the ground. With his mind.