Magento中常见的SEO错误以及如何避免它们

拥有在线商店意味着不断的奋斗 更多的流量,更高的职位和 转化率。 搜索引擎优化专家已经解决了与在线商店的搜索引擎优化相关的主题,但是你会惊讶地知道有多少商店所有者忽视了这些提示并继续失去潜在的流量和销售。 了解Magento商店最常见的SEO缺陷以及本文中的提示将帮助您在电子商务的艰难世界中站在竞争对手之上。

Magento和SEO

谈到搜索引擎优化,Magento不能吹嘘开箱即用的优化。 实际上,每个CMS都有自己的SEO缺陷,不会让你在没有扩展功能或至少更改默认设置的情况下赢得竞争。 所以让我们深入挖掘。

默认的meta标签

您是否曾访问过以“主页”作为标题标签的在线商店的主页? 我有。 我敢肯定这些商店背后的人并不是要针对这个关键字,也不需要为它排名。 他们只是忘了更改默认标题。 所以 确保将标题更改为更合适和更具描述性的内容.

许多商店所有者也会忽略元描述,最终会有数百个(如果不是数千个)重复描述。 这会损害搜索引擎优化并降低您在SERP中的点击率。 所以访问 系统 - >配置 - >常规 - >设计 - > HTML头 - >默认描述 确保该字段为空白.

限制重要页面的索引

有时,网站管理员只是忘记更改robots.txt和元机器人指令,以便在登台后启用网站索引。 因此,该网站不会被编入索引,也无法在Google中排名。

检查您的robots.txt文件,以确保您允许网站索引并检查每个页面的<head>部分中的元机器人指令。 它们应默认设置为INDEX,FOLLOW,你可以检查一下 在系统 - >配置 - >常规 - >设计 - > HTML头 - >默认机器人.

带有登台网址的站点地图

通常,所有重要的更改都会在暂存网站上进行,以确保一切顺利进行。 一旦检查完所有内容,更改就会推广到实际网站,这里开始了棘手的事情。 许多网站管理员忘记了登台和实时网站的URL的差异,并使用错误的网站地图。 例如,我看过几次站点example.com的XML站点地图包含带有staging.example.com的URL。 这不适用于Google。

如果您想确保良好的网站索引,请避免此错误 使用正确的URL创建XML站点地图.

主页有不同的网址

通常可以通过不同的URL访问主页,包括具有/不具有WWW的URL以及具有/不具有/index.php的URL。 这些页面是重复的,应该重定向到规范页面,例如yoursite.com。 谷歌已经变得非常聪明,可以找到规范的页面,但没有保证会选择你需要的规范。

在.htaccess文件中设置301重定向 解决重复主页的问题。

礼服

你很难找到一个没有包含诸如?= sortby,?p = 5等参数的URL的在线商店。这些是不应被搜索引擎索引的重复页面。 你可以使用rel = canonical 避免编制索引,并确保Google每个网页只有一个变体。

顺便说一句,仅仅建立规范是不够的; 你应该正确设置它们。 有一次我在一家大型在线商店工作,这家商店有许多分类页面被索引。 我建议他们使用rel = canonical来解决问题。 他们将它们放在一边,我们开始等待Google重新索引页面并取消重复索引。 几周过去了,但什么都没发生。 然后我决定检查规范的实现,并且非常惊讶地看到这一点

<link herf =“CategoryURL”rel =“canonical”/>

而不是

<link href =“CategoryURL”rel =“canonical”/>

当谈到这样的规范时,一封信很重要,所以在做出这样的修改之前要检查两次。

实际上,还有更多类型的 重复的内容 你应该避免,这个内容的主要来源是Magento分层导航。 它非常棘手,需要特别注意才能正确设置。

Rel =“alternate”hreflang =“x”

如果你有一个多语种商店,特别是如果它有相同语言的2版本(例如英语的.com和英语的.ca), 不要忽视rel =“alternate”hreflang =“x”。 此代码显示您使用不同语言的所有商店都是单个商店的实例,因此不会将它们视为重复项。

Hreflang标签可以添加到Magento商店中每个页面的<head>,也可以添加到XML站点地图中。

图片

每个在线商店都包含大量图像,可以从不同角度展示产品。 但很多商店忘记优化这些图像并失去潜在的流量和销售。 以下是您应该注意的一些事项:

  • 图像名称。 忘记890yup.jpg等名称,并使其具有描述性。 如果您提供黄色雨伞,请将图像命名为yellow-umbrella.jpg。 这会增加您在Google图片搜索中对此关键字进行排名的机会。
  • Alt标签 通过向Google描述图像内容,还可以增加您的整体SEO优化。 它们可以与图像名称相似或相同。
  • 网站速度是搜索引擎中的重要排名因素,图像优化是加快页面加载的重要一步。

还有别的吗?

现在您有一个针对Magento商店的SEO技巧列表。 是时候去检查一下你是否做得对。

请记住,在线商店是一个动态系统,有许多你无法预测的东西。 有一天一切都可能正常,第二天Google Search Console会显示奇怪的404错误。 这意味着您应该跟踪网站优化和错误,以发现所有重要更改并快速解决问题。

作者介绍:Kristina在制定网站性能改进和转换优化的详细策略的同时,密切关注最新的数字营销趋势。 她是Amasty的营销经理和SEO专家,Amasty是一家开发公司 高品质的Magento扩展 这使Magento店主的生活更轻松。

Catalin Zorzini

我是一名网页设计博客,在花了几周时间努力寻找出来之后开始了这个项目 最好的电子商务平台 为了我自己。 看看我的电流 顶级10电子商务网站建设者.

Common SEO Mistakes in Magento and How to Avoid Them

Having an online store means a constant struggle for more traffic, higher positions and conversion rate. SEO experts have covered to death the topics connected with search engine optimization of online stores but you’ll be surprised to know how many store owners neglect the tips and continue losing potential traffic and sales. Knowing the most common SEO flaws of Magento stores and following tips in this article will help you to stand head and shoulders above the competition in the tough world of eCommerce.

Magento and SEO

When it comes to SEO, Magento can’t boast of being well optimized out of the box. Actually, each CMS has its own SEO flaws that won’t let you win the competition without extending the functionality or at least changing the default settings. So let’s dig deeper.

Default meta tags

Have you ever visited a homepage of an online store with “Homepage” as the title tag? I have. I’m sure people behind such stores don’t mean to target this keyword and don’t need to rank for it. They just forgot to change the default Title. So make sure you changed the title into something more suitable and describing.

Many store owners also ignore meta descriptions and end up with hundreds if not thousands of duplicate descriptions. That harms SEO and can decrease your CTR in SERPs. So visit System -> Configuration -> General -> Design -> HTML Head -> Default description and make sure the field is blank.

Restricting indexing of important pages

Sometimes web-masters just forget to change robots.txt and meta robots directives to enable site indexing after staging. As a result, the site won’t get indexed and cannot rank in Google.

Check your robots.txt file to make sure you allow site indexing and check meta robots directives which are found in the <head> section of each page. They should be set to INDEX, FOLLOW by default, you can check it at System -> Configuration -> General -> Design -> HTML Head -> Default robots.

Sitemap with staging URLs

Usually all important changes are made on a staging site to make sure everything works smoothly. Once everything is checked, the changes are rolled out to the live site and here the tricky things begin. Many web-masters forget about the differences in the URLs of the staging and live sites and use the wrong ones for XML sitemaps. For example, I saw a few times that an XML sitemap for site example.com contained URLs with staging.example.com. This won’t work for Google.

If you want to ensure good site indexing, avoid this mistake and create your XML sitemap with the right URLs.

Homepage with different URLs

Quite often the homepage can be accessed by different URLs, including the ones with/without WWW as well as with/without /index.php at the end. These pages are duplicates and should be redirected to the canonical one, for example to yoursite.com. Google has become quite smart and can find the canonical page itself but there is no guaranty that it will choose the one you need to be canonical.

Set up 301 redirects in your .htaccess file to solve the issue of duplicated homepages.

Canonicals

You can hardly find an online store without URLs containing parameters like ?=sortby, ?p=5, etc. These are duplicate pages that shouldn’t be indexed by search engines. You can use rel=canonical to avoid indexing and ensure there is only one variant of each page indexed by Google.

By the way, it’s not enough to just set up canonicals; you should set them up correctly. Once I worked with a big online store which had many sorting pages indexed. I suggested them to use rel=canonical to solve the issue. They set them up on their side and we began to wait for Google to re-index the pages and de-index duplicates. A few weeks had passed but nothing happened. Then I decided to check the canonicals implementation and was very surprised to see this

<link herf=”CategoryURL ” rel=”canonical” />

instead of

<link href=”CategoryURL ” rel=”canonical” />

When it comes to such canonicals, one letter matters so check twice before making such changes.

Actually, there are much more types of duplicate content you should avoid, and the main source of this content is Magento layered navigation. It’s very tricky and needs special attention to be set up correctly.

Rel=”alternate” hreflang=”x”

If you have a multilingual store, and especially if it has 2 versions in the same language (e.g .com in English and .ca in English), don’t ignore rel=”alternate” hreflang=”x”. This code shows that all your stores in different languages are instances of a single store, so they won’t be viewed as duplicates.

Hreflang tags can be added either to the <head> of each page in your Magento store or indicated in your XML sitemap. You can find a detailed guide on their implementation here.

Images

Each online store contains a vast number of images to show products from different angles. But quite many stores forget to optimize these images and lose potential traffic and sales. Here are a few things you should pay attention to:

  • Images names. Forget about 890yup.jpg and the like names and make them descriptive instead. If you offer a yellow umbrella, name the image yellow-umbrella.jpg. This increases your chances on ranking for this keyword in Google image search.
  • Alt tags also add to your overall SEO optimization by describing the content of the image to Google. They can be similar to or the same as images names.
  • Site speed is an important ranking factor in search engines, and images optimization is an important step to faster page load.

Anything else?

Now you have a list of SEO tips for your Magento store. It’s time to go and check if you are doing everything right.

Remember that an online store is a dynamic system having many things you can’t predict. One day everything may be ok and the next day Google Search Console shows strange 404 errors. This means you should track your site optimization and mistakes to notice all important changes and solve the issues quickly.

 

Author Bio: Kristina pays careful attention to the latest digital marketing trends while developing detailed strategies for site performance improvement and conversion optimization. She is a marketing manager and SEO specialist at Amasty, a company that develops high-quality Magento extensions which make the lives of Magento store owners easier.

Try-Shopify

 

Catalin Zorzini

I'm a web design blogger and started this project after spending a few weeks struggling to find out which is the best ecommerce platform for myself. Check out my current top 10 ecommerce site builders.