PayPal在这里审查 - 完整指南

PayPal 是付款的同义词。 因此,任何运营在线商店或现场商店的人都应该知道它是什么以及它做了什么。 但是你知道你可以在旅途中开始接受PayPal付款吗? PayPal推出了一款新的读卡器及其PayPal Here应用程序。 PayPal将PayPal Here读卡器作为读卡器进行销售,这将使“在您的商店或移动中更容易接受安全付款”。

感兴趣吗? 好吧,它并不止于此。 PayPal有多个读卡器可与PayPal Here应用程序配合使用.

让我们深入研究一下这个!

PayPal在这里评论:移动读卡器

PayPal这里是移动阅读器

移动读卡器的目标是初创企业。 更具体地说,它专为需要不时处理的低交易量的公司而设计。 您的月销售额需要在七天内低于$ 500。 因此,它不适合繁忙的商店,销售高价商品。

这对于忙个不停的企业家来说非常棒; PayPal 将此阅读器描述为“拇指大小”,使其易于运输。 您只需要Apple,Android或Windows移动设备即可运行 PayPal在这里 应用程序,你自己有一个有效的移动支付解决方案。 只需使用音频插孔连接两个设备,瞧,你很高兴!

如果您在市场和弹出式交易会上销售,这是理想的选择。

它是所有读卡器中最简单的,但它也是最便宜的。

💡你应该注意:如果您希望客户有更多自由选择付款方式,则需要升级到PayPal更昂贵的读卡器之一。 在撰写本文时,此读卡器只能接受来自信用卡和借记卡磁条卡的付款。

此外,您仍然需要支付交易费用,但稍后会更多。 也, 您的资金将自动在您的PayPal帐户内持有30天。 这是为了抵消与这些相关的更高风险。

PayPal在这里评论:芯片和点击阅读器

PayPal在这里

这家伙接受所有主要的信用卡和借记卡磁条卡,三星支付和非接触式支付方式,如ApplePay®和芯片卡。 它还通过蓝牙连接到智能手机上的PayPal Here应用程序(前提是它们兼容)。

连接毫不费力。 基本上,你首先充电,然后打开它,呃!

通过将随附的micro-USB电缆连接到powerpoint来充电。 如果准备就绪,你会看到蓝灯闪烁。 然后,打开设备上的蓝牙,将其与Paypal Here应用程序配对,您将获得下一步操作的指导。

当您需要在设备上更新新软件时,PayPal应该通过应用程序向您发送消息。

客户可以插入芯片卡,刷卡或非接触式使用。 由于Chip和Tap读卡器比移动读卡器更贵,因此您可以选择更广泛的支付选项。 合理?

无论您是经营快餐店还是房地产中介,都无关紧要; 您可以将此阅读器与PayPal Here应用程序一起使用,以帮助您管理业务。

您也会很高兴听到PayPal的PCI-DSS兼容。 它还支持EMV认证的设备。 这两者都有助于保护您的交易和客户的敏感信息。

此特定套餐包括PayPal芯片和Tap读卡器,设备夹,销售点贴纸和用于充电的micro USB线。

PayPal在这里评论:芯片和水龙头和充电站

PayPal这里芯片和点击

该读者针对更大的业务,例如较大的餐馆和客户量较大的零售商。 有更多选项可以使用此设备接受付款。 它将采取非接触式支付,如Google PayTM和ApplePay®以及磁条卡和芯片卡。

您完全按照我们已经使用Chip&Tap Reader描述的方式进行设置。

这个神话般的捆绑包将您的智能手机或平板电脑转变为功能完善的销售点系统。 您可以将读卡器放在充电座内,以便它可以全天,每天都准备就绪。

如果您想提高充电支架的稳定性和安全性,请使用安装模板将支架安装到柜台上。 这包含在PayPal的“快速入门指南”中,包括一个锁定螺丝。 使用此功能可将Chip和Tap读卡器牢固地连接到充电座上。 通过这种方式,您可以随时了解它的位置,并且大大减少了被盗的可能性。

???? 你应该注意:除了此包装标配的电缆外; 您可以使用任何其他USB转Micro USB线为本读卡器充电。 它还兼容其他第三方USB墙壁适配器。

👉 PayPal芯片和Tap Bundle包括:

  • PayPal芯片和Tap阅读器
  • 设备剪辑
  • 销售点贴纸
  • 用于充电的微型USB线
  • 充电站

想要退回芯片并点按阅读器和支架?

是的,您可以退回此套餐并获得退款。 但是,你必须给他们的读者和PayPal以获得全额退款......这是公平的,听起来很合理。

PayPal在这里评论:快速概述

PayPal这里概述

正如我们已经提到的,PayPal Here移动应用程序为读卡器供电。 它的第一个读卡器实际上是在2012中引入的,但正如你所看到的,它从那时起有所改进。

👉 所以这里有一个快速概述 Paypal在这里 作用:

  • Apple Pay处理
  • Android Pay处理
  • EMV芯片卡读取
  • Magstripe刷卡
  • 非接触式支付处理
  • 帮助您计算提示和税金
  • 帮助您增加折扣
  • 进销存
  • 管理库存
  • 自定义销售报告
  • 允许多个密码和用户
  • 使业务所有者能够设置密码和访问控制

PayPal在这里评论:该应用程序还有什么作用?

PayPal这里的应用程序

您可以管理商店的库存并对其进行分类。 您还可以上传您的股票照片,并将1,000用户添加到一个帐户。 您甚至可以为每个用户提供单独的密码,以获得额外的安全性和反欺诈措施。

您可以根据用户的资历为用户分配不同的访问级别。 反过来,这可以帮助您控制哪些员工看到了什么。

您还可以运行自定义的销售报告,您可以按日期,销售人员等进行分类。

最后但并非最不重要的是,您可以记录现金,支票付款,以及自定义和创建发票以发送给客户。

报名

PayPal在这里注册

它可能很容易使用,但您仍然必须先经过申请流程才能开始使用。

首先,您必须通过他们的网站注册PayPal,或者只需下载PayPal Here应用程序并同时订购读卡器。 PayPal表示批准程序为 PayPal在这里 帐户会立即发生。 该网站强调在输入您的详细信息(例如您的家庭住址)时必须准确,错误可能会延误该过程。

有时,PayPal会审核申请并要求潜在客户上传其他文件,例如证明ID和/或地址证明。 这就是为什么在您的申请获得批准之前不购买读卡器的好主意; 否则,如果您的请求被拒绝,您将不得不退回并获得退款。 但是,如果你没有这样做并继续购买并被拒绝,请保留包装,以便退货并获得退款!

我们无法保证所有PayPal Here Card Reader功能都适用于所有手机型号,因此请先进行尽职调查!

PayPal评论:定价

PayPal在这里定价

移动读卡器的售价为$ 14.99。 这是最便宜的,但在撰写本文时,它是免费提供的,直到31十二月2019。

通常情况下,Chip&Swipe的售价为$ 24.99,但在撰写本文时,对于注册PayPal的任何人,您可以通过12月31,2019免费获得他们的芯片和滑动阅读器。 但是,这仅适用于新的PayPal帐户。

Chip&Swipe&Charging Stand进来了 $79.99当你在这个交易上签约时,没有特别优惠甚至是免费赠品.

最后但并非最不重要的是,PayPal Here芯片卡读卡器需要付费 $99.99.

那么,哪一个去?

当然,成本应该是一个因素。 当你有一个较小的初创公司时,为什么还要花费$ 99.99? 没有必要,对吗?

接下来,您只需在开始之前检查设备的兼容性。 你可以通过耳机插孔与更便宜的版本连接,或者你绝对确定你需要蓝牙选项吗? 如果您需要蓝牙,请确保您已获得所需的版本。 在按下“购买”按钮之前确定兼容性。

同样重要的是,在开始之前,您必须考虑您的客户。 您希望他们拥有哪种支付体验? 如果你是一个小小的初创公司并且确信你的客户不介意不使用非接触式支付,那就太棒了。

如果你知道你的顾客很酷,他们刷卡购买你的产品,那么最便宜的选择就是优秀的,只要你不是大批量的交易。 但如果你坚信芯片和引脚或非接触式的付费方式,那么你将不得不进行更多的布局。

最后但并非最不重要的是,您必须确保您的设备,无论是iPhone,iPad还是Android都具有以下功能:对于Apple设备,它们必须向上运行iOS版本9.3.5。 机器人必须运行4.1或更高版本,蓝牙2.0或更多。 换句话说,在购买之前检查!

👍PayPalHere Pros

好处是你不需要火箭科学学位就可以使用这些读卡器。 您还可以管理应用程序上的库存,以便更快地签出,管理销售人员,以及在您不与客户联系时发送收据和发票。

另一个好消息是没有涉及任何联系。 你可以随时离开。 而且,如果在少于30天之后您认为它不适合您和您的业务,您可以退货并获得退款。 但只有你从PayPal或通过PayPal购买它 PayPal在这里 应用程序。

读卡器提供12月保修,这意味着如果打包,您将在此期间获得保修。 但这并不包括有人将咖啡洒在其上或其他液体中,这可能就是为什么他们鼓励你购买一个可以随身携带的咖啡。 这为笨拙的员工和客户提供了另一层保护!

同样有用的是 PayPal在这里 与您的整合 常规PayPal帐户。 因此,商店所有者和其他企业可以访问PayPal的读卡器竞争对手并不总能找到的其他功能。 如果您的商家接受没有风险的付款,那么这些付款会立即在商家的PayPal帐户中提供,下面列出的例外情况包含了下方。

一旦您的PayPal帐户中的钱,您可以将其转移到您自己的支票帐户或使用借记卡进行ATM取款和借记卡购买。

👉 它也是一个全球性的选择,语言支持:

  • 英语
  • 德语
  • 中文
  • 日本性玩偶
  • 瑞典语
  • 俄语
  • 法文
  • 波兰语
  • 土耳其
  • 印地语
  • 荷兰人
  • 葡萄牙语
  • 西班牙语和
  • 意大利语

总的来说,它易于使用,并且有关于的说明 PayPal在这里 网站很容易遵循。 附加组件非常有用,例如发票,PayPal还建议您购买其他软件以帮助扩展其功能。

PayPal在这里了解更多

👎贝宝这里缺点

缺点很明显。 使用此读卡器进行的销售将自动遵守PayPal的保留政策。 这是什么? 基本上,这意味着使用移动阅读器在500天内以$ 7进行的任何键入交易和购买都需要自动30天储备。

这意味着PayPal将在您的PayPal帐户内持有您的资金30天,并且在此之后才会释放它们。 为什么? 因为PayPal表示存在“与这些类型的交易相关的高风险。”他们认为这是保护自己和客户免受欺诈的一种方式。 确实值得阅读他们的用户协议中的细则,尽管可能很无聊。

可以预见的另一个缺点是费用。 对于每次刷卡和登记付款,他们向您收取每笔交易的2.7%,对于加密或扫描,他们向3.5%收取15%,以及每笔交易的XNUMX美分。 那是相当多的。 而国际交易也是成本。 PayPal在这里 接受国际非美国卡,费用为每次刷卡2.7%和另一笔1.5%跨境费用和/或2.5%货币转换费。

你可能很兴奋,它允许你发票,但要小心。 每次收费9%+ $ 0.30!

通过谷歌快速直观的观察将告诉您,上述缺点让很多人感到不安!

如果您有Android设备,请确保它具有蓝牙2.0向上。 Windows手机不兼容,并且它不适用于某些三星Galaxy型号,如Ace,Ace Advance和Pocket。

使用 PayPal在这里,您必须拥有来自其他烘焙机构的经过验证的银行帐户。 对某些人来说这可能很难。

最后,目前还没有提供免费试用选项。

PayPal在这里审查:典型的问题

如果您在连接手机时遇到问题,PayPal建议您再次断开并重新连接手机和阅读器。 有时手机会识别读卡器,但卡不会读取信用卡或借记卡。 值得检查磁卡条是否良好。 如果您没有以一个平滑的动作刷卡,有时它将无法工作。

👉 为了确保您已经对您的阅读器进行了测试,并且您避免了与客户长时间等待的尴尬,您可以执行以下操作:

  1. 点击“菜单”图标,然后选择“读卡器”选项
  2. 然后点击“教程”。
  3. 去“练习滑动”。
  4. 将读卡器插入智能手机的音频插孔; 你会看到一个图标,表明你已连接。
  5. 通过扫描卡测试阅读器。 如果图像显示它有效,你会知道它是否有效。
简单吧?

PayPal在这里评论:配件

PayPal这里的配件

还有一系列配件可供读者使用,例如销售点。 这些适用于您的平板电脑或读卡器。 它们可以锁定并有助于保护您的平板电脑和阅读器。 您还可以为交易和现金抽屉购买收据打印机,以保持现金和收据。

PayPal在这里审查:客户服务

PayPal这里是客户支持

无论您喜欢虚拟还是人类,都有很多帮助。

PayPal提供电话号码,以便从其客户服务代理处获取实时帮助。 或者,转到PalPal Here应用程序以获取故障排除帮助,还可以选择查看其帮助中心。

帮助中心基本上是一大堆常见问题解答和一个生动的PalPal在线社区; 缺点是你不会总是找到你可能遇到的问题的具体答案,如果人们在你需要的时候不在线,可能需要时间来获得答案。

PayPal的替代品有哪些?

我们看了Square POS,SumUP和ShopKeep,这些都是最好的 PayPal这里有替代品 在市场上。

PayPal在这里替代: 方形POS

PayPal这里替代 - 方形pos

广场 是一个免费的应用程序,并有一个明确的定价模式,收取2.75%的Visa,万事达卡,发现和美国运通卡的刷卡或点击付款。 但是,您需要支付额外费用,例如预约安排​​,营销工具和工资单。 他们的网站声明“刷卡$ 100,在一到两个工作日内在您的银行账户中查看$ 97.25。”

它也兼容Android,iOS和笔记本电脑。 有两个版本的Square Reader for magstripe。 一个需要耳机插孔,另一个需要Lightning接头。 您可以通过在Apple计算机或Chromebook中添加Square Reader来获取面对面的信用卡付款。

信用卡信息已加密,Square不会存储此类数据。 如果客户更喜欢该选项,还可以选择打印收据和发送电子收据。

成本? 正如我们已经说过的那样,它可以免费注册,而且没有月费。 但是,每个额外的读者之后需要花费$ 10。

👉看看我们的 Square POS评论 了解更多信息。

它适用于交易率较低的小型企业。 芯片卡阅读器价格低廉,有免费的在线销售工具。

与其他POS应用程序不同,Square为POS提供四种不同的解决方案,具体取决于您的业务。 这里有餐厅广场,零售和预约的广场预约,零售广场和一般的Square Square of Sale。

PayPal在这里替代: 总结

PayPal这里的替代方案:总结

总结 也没有月费和收费与Square相同的交易。 它适用于Androids和iOS,可以通过电子邮件发送收据。 SumUp没有终止费用,并且有很多免费的附加组件可以启动。

SumUp在周围的交易费用略低 2.65%在美国,在英国低至1.69%。 它在欧洲拥有超过100万活跃用户,并已扩展到31国家。 SumUp采用所有主要信用卡。

对于想要简单便宜的人来说,这感觉是最好的选择。 这是一个比以往更大的竞争者,因为它与Payleven合并。

👉看看我们的 SumUp评论 有关每种定价选项的详细信息。

但是,他们的客户服务电话线周日不营业。 无线读卡器与蓝牙连接。 读卡器接受芯片交易,PIN或签名,以及与Visa,V Pay,Mastercard,Amex和Diners Club的非接触式交易。 它也需要Apple Pay和Google Pay。

PayPal在这里替代: ShopKeep

PayPal这里替代:shopkeep

这里没有月费或合同,但是 有一个$ 69的注册费。 此工具支持所有设备,但它不发送短信收据,只发送电子邮件收据。 它针对的是小型企业,尤其针对食品和饮料销售商。 但这并不意味着它只适用于这个行业。

👉看看我们的 ShopKeep评论 有关每种定价选项的详细信息。

ShopKeep 易于使用,非常适合任何初创公司或小型零售商。 它曾经有统一价格。 现在成本是按照报价进行的。 您可以在线填写问题或致电他们。 这个过程很快。 ShopKeep提供实时分析,库存管理,无限用户和无限量库存项目,并在遇到任何问题时提供免费支持。

您之前使用过PayPal吗?

你有没有使用过 PayPal在这里 之前? 如果是这样,我们很想知道您如何使用该应用程序。

你用过哪种读卡器? 请在下面的评论框中告诉我们。 快说吧!

PayPal在这里
评分: 3.5 - 审查

Rosie Greaves

Rosie Greaves是一位专业的内容策略师,专门研究数字营销,B2B和生活方式方面的所有内容。 除了电子商务平台之外,您还可以在《读者文摘》,G2和Judicious Inc.上找到她的出版物。 罗西的博客 了解更多信息。

PayPal Here Review – The Complete Guide

PayPal is synonymous with payments. So, anyone running either an online shop or in-person store should know what it is and what it does. But did you know that you can start taking PayPal payments while you're on the go? PayPal has introduced a new card reader and its PayPal Here app. PayPal markets the PayPal Here card reader as the card reader that will “make it easier to accept secure payments in your store or on-the-go.”

Interested? Well, it doesn't stop there. PayPal has more than one card reader that works with the PayPal Here app.

Let's delve a bit deeper into this!

PayPal Here Review: Mobile Card Reader

PayPal Here mobile reader

The mobile card reader is aimed at start-up businesses. More specifically, it’s designed for companies with low volume transactions that need processing just every now and again. Your monthly sales need to be less than $500 over a seven-day period. So, it’s not for busy stores, selling high ticket items.

It's great for entrepreneurs on the go; PayPal describes this reader as ‘thumb-sized,' making it easy to transport. All you need is either an Apple, Android, or Windows mobile device to run the PayPal Here app, and you have yourself an effective mobile payment solution. Just connect the two devices using the audio jack, and voila, you're good to go!

Ideal if you're selling at markets and pop-up fairs.

It’s the simplest of all their card readers, but it’s also the cheapest.

💡 You should note: If you want customers to have more freedom to choose how they pay, you’ll need to upgrade to one of PayPal's more expensive readers. At the time of writing, this card reader can only accept payments from credit and debit magnetic stripe cards.

Plus, you’ll still have to fork out for transaction fees, but more on that later. Also, your funds are automatically subjected to a 30-day hold inside of your PayPal account. This is to counteract the higher risk associated with these.

PayPal Here Review: The Chip and Tap Reader

PayPal Here

This guy accepts all major credit cards and debit magstripe cards, Samsung Pay, and contactless pay methods, such as Apple Pay® and chip cards. It also connects via Bluetooth to the PayPal Here app on your smartphone (provided they're compatible of course).

It’s effortless to connect. Basically, you charge it up first, then turn it on, duh!

Charge it up by connecting the micro-USB cable that comes with it to a powerpoint. If it’s ready to go, you’ll see a blue light blinking away. Then, turn on the Bluetooth on your device, pair it with the Paypal Here app, and you’ll be guided on what to do next.

PayPal should send you a message via the app when there’s new software you need to update onto your device.

Customers can insert their chip card, swipe it, or use it contactless-ly. As the Chip and Tap reader is a tad more expensive than the Mobile Card Reader, you get a broader choice of payment options. Make sense?

It doesn't matter whether you're running a fast-food restaurant or a real estate agency; you can use this reader alongside the PayPal Here app to help you manage your business.

You'll also be pleased to hear, PayPal's PCI-DSS compliant. It also supports EMV-certified devices. Both of which, help keep your transactions and your customer's sensitive info protected.

This specific package includes the PayPal Chip and Tap reader, device clip, point-of-sale sticker, and micro USB cable for charging.

PayPal Here Review: Chip & Tap & Charging Stand

PayPal Here chip and tap

This reader is aimed at bigger operations, such as larger restaurants and retailers with a higher customer volume. There are more options for accepting payments with this device. It’ll take contactless payments such as Google PayTM and Apple Pay® as well as magstripe cards and chip cards.

You set it up exactly as we’ve already described with the Chip & Tap Reader.

This fabulous bundle transforms your smartphone or tablet into a fully functioning point of sale system. You can keep your reader inside of the charging stand so that it's ready for action, all day, every day.

If you want to give your charging stand a boost in stability and security, attach the stand to your counter using the installation template. This comes included with PayPal's ‘quick start guide' and consists of a locking screw. Use this to securely attach your Chip and Tap reader to the charging stand. That way you'll know where it is at all times, and the likelihood of it being stolen is massively reduced.

💡 You should note: in addition to the cable that comes as standard with this package; you can use any other USB to micro USB cable to charge this reader. It's also compatible with other third-party USB wall adapters.

👉 The PayPal Chip and Tap Bundle include:

  • The PayPal Chip and Tap reader
  • Device clip
  • Point-of-sale sticker
  • A micro USB cable for charging
  • Charging Stand

Want to return your chip and tap reader and stand?

Yes, you can return this package and get a refund. However, you'll have to give PayPal both their reader and stand back to get a full refund…which to be fair, sounds pretty reasonable.

PayPal Here Review: Quick Overview

PayPal Here overview

As we've already alluded to, The PayPal Here mobile app powers the card reader. Its first card reader was in fact introduced in 2012, but as you can see, it’s advanced somewhat since then.

👉 So here’s a quick overview of what Paypal Here does:

  • Apple Pay processing
  • Android Pay processing
  • EMV chip card reading
  • Magstripe Swiping
  • Contactless payment processing
  • Helps you calculate tips and taxes
  • Helps you add discounts
  • Invoicing
  • Manages inventory
  • Customizes sales reports
  • Allows multiple passwords and users
  • Enables business owners to set passwords and access controls

PayPal Here Review: What Else Does the App do?

PayPal Here app

You can manage your store’s inventory and categorize it. You can also upload photos of your stock and add up to 1,000 users to one account. You can even give each user a separate password for extra security and anti-fraud measures.

You can assign users different access levels, depending on their seniority. That, in turn, helps you control which employees see what.

You can also run customized sales reports which you can categorize by date, salesperson, and much, much more.

Last but not least, you can record cash, check payments, and customize and create invoices to send to customers.

Signing Up

PayPal Here sign up

It may be easy to use, but you still have to go through an application process before you can get going.

First off, you'll have to sign up for PayPal Here via their website, or just download the PayPal Here app and order the card reader at the same time. PayPal says that the approval process for a PayPal Here account takes place straight away. The site emphasizes that you have to be accurate when entering your details (like your home address), mistakes may delay the process.

Sometimes PayPal reviews applications and asks potential customers to upload additional documents such as proof ID and/or proof of address. That’s why it’s probably a good idea not to buy a reader until your application has been approved; otherwise, you face having to return it and get a refund if your request is declined. But if you haven’t done this and gone ahead and bought the reader and are refused, keep the packaging so you can return it and get a refund!

We cannot guarantee that all PayPal Here Card Reader features will work with all phone models, so do your due diligence first!

PayPal Review: Pricing

PayPal Here pricing

The Mobile Card Reader comes in at $14.99. It’s the cheapest of the bunch, but, at the time of writing, it was offered for free until 31 December 2019.

Typically, the Chip & Swipe comes in at $24.99, but at the time of writing, for anyone signing up for PayPal, you get their Chip and Swipe Reader for free through December 31, 2019. However, this only applies to new PayPal accounts.

The Chip & Swipe & Charging Stand comes in at $79.99, and there’s no special offer or even a freebie when you sign up a deal on this one.

Last but not least, the PayPal Here Chip Card Reader will cost $99.99.

So, which one to go for?

Cost should, of course, be a factor. Why bother spending $99.99 when you have a smaller start-up? There’s no need, right?

Next up, you just have to check your device’s compatibility before starting out.  Are you ok with connecting via a headphone jack with the cheaper version or are you absolutely sure you need the Bluetooth option? If you need Bluetooth, ensure you’ve got the version required. Decide upon compatibility before pressing that “buy” button.

Just as important, you’ve got to think about your customers before going ahead. What kind of payment experience do you want them to have? If you’re a tiny start-up and convinced your customers wouldn't mind not using contactless payments, then that’s great.

If you know your customers are cool with swiping their cards to buy your products, then the cheapest option is just excellent, as long as you’re not about high volume transactions. But if you're a firm believer in the chip and pin or contactless way to pay, then you’re going to have to layout a bit more.

And last but not least, you'll have to be sure that your device, whether it’s an iPhone, iPad or Android has the following: for Apple devices, they must be running iOS version 9.3.5 upwards. Androids must run 4.1 or later, Bluetooth 2.0 or more. In other words, check before you buy!

👍 PayPal Here Pros

The upside is that you don’t need a degree in rocket science to use any of these card readers. You can also manage inventory on the app for faster check out, manage sales staff, and send receipts and invoices when you aren’t with your customers.

The other good news is that there’s no contact involved. You can leave at any time. And, if after less than 30 days you decide it’s just not for you and your business, you can return it and get a refund. But only if you bought it from PayPal or via the PayPal Here app.

The readers come with a 12-month warranty, meaning you’re covered during that period if it packs up. But that doesn’t include someone spilling their coffee all over it or other liquids, which is presumably why they encourage you to buy a stand to go with it. This offers another layer of protection against clumsy employees and customers!

Also useful is that PayPal Here integrates with your regular PayPal account. So, store owners and other businesses can access additional features that aren’t always found with PayPal’s card reader competitors. If your business accepts payments that aren’t risky, then these are available immediately in a merchant’s PayPal account, with the exception listed below where we cover downsides.

Once the money’s in your PayPal account, you can transfer it across to your own checking account or use a debit card to make ATM withdrawals and debit card purchases.

👉 It’s a worldwide option too, with language support in:

  • English
  • German
  • Chinese
  • Japanese
  • Swedish
  • Russian
  • French
  • Polish
  • Turkish
  • Hindi
  • Dutch
  • Portuguese
  • Spanish and,
  • Italian

Overall, it’s easy to use, and the instructions on the PayPal Here website are easy to follow. The add ons are useful, like invoicing, and PayPal also suggests other software you can purchase to help extend its functionality.

PayPal Here find out more

👎 PayPal Here Cons

The downside is pretty obvious. Sales made with this card reader are automatically subject to PayPal’s reserve policies. What’s this? Basically, it means that any key-in transactions and purchases over $500 in 7 days made with the mobile reader are subject to an automatic 30-day reserve.

This means PayPal will hold onto your funds inside of your PayPal account for 30 days and won’t release them until after that time. Why? Because PayPal says that there is a “high risk associated with these types of transactions.” They believe it's a way of protecting themselves and their customers against fraud. It really is worth reading the fine print in their User Agreement, however boring that may be.

The other downside, predictably, is the fees. They charge you 2.7% per transaction for every swipe and check-in payment and 3.5% for keyed or scanned, plus 15 cents per transaction. That’s quite a bit. And international transactions also cost. PayPal Here does accept international, non-US cards, and the fee is 2.7% per swipe and another 1.5% cross-border fee, and/or a 2.5% currency conversion fee.

You may be excited that it allows you to invoice, but be wary. It charges 9% + $0.30 each time!

A quick and straightforward look via Google will tell you that the above downsides upset a lot of people!

If you’ve got an Android device, be sure it has Bluetooth 2.0 upwards. Windows phones aren’t compatible, and it doesn’t work with some Samsung Galaxy models such as Ace, Ace Advance, and Pocket.

To use PayPal Here, you absolutely have to have a verified bank account from another baking institution. This can be difficult for some people.

Lastly, there’s no free trial option on offer at the moment.

PayPal Here Review: Typical problems

If you have questions connecting your phone, PayPal recommends the old favorite of disconnecting and reconnecting the phone and reader again. Sometimes the phone recognizes the reader, but the card won’t read the credit or debit card. It’s worth checking the magnetic card strip is in good shape. Sometimes it won’t work if you haven’t swiped the card in one smooth motion.

👉 To be sure you’ve tested your reader works, and you avoid embarrassing long waits with customers, you can do the following:

  1. Tap your Menu icon and select the Card Readers option
  2. Then tap “tutorials.”
  3. Go to “practice swiping.”
  4. Plug your card reader into the audio jack on your smartphone; you’ll see an icon that says you’re connected.
  5. Test the reader by scanning a card. You’ll know if it works if an image shows you it’s worked.
Simple, right?

PayPal Here Review: Accessories

PayPal Here accessories

There’s also a wide range of accessories to go with the readers such as a point-of-sale stand. These are for your tablet or card reader. They're lockable and helps protect your tablet and reader. You can also buy a receipt printer for transactions and cash drawers to keep cash and receipts in too.

PayPal Here Review: Customer Service

PayPal Here customer support

There’s plenty of help to hand, whether you prefer the virtual or the human kind.

PayPal offers a phone number to call for live help from their customer service agents. Alternatively, turn to the PalPal Here app for troubleshooting help, and there’s also the option of checking out their Help Center.

The Help Center is basically a load of FAQs and a lively PalPal online community; the downside is you won’t always find specific answers to questions you may have, and it can take time to get answers if folks aren’t online at the time you need them to be.

What Are the Alternatives to PayPal Here?

We looked at Square POS, SumUP and ShopKeep, these are some of the best PayPal Here alternatives on the market.

PayPal Here Alternative: Square POS

PayPal Here alternative - square pos

Square is a free app and has a clear pricing model, charging 2.75% for swiped or tapped payments for Visa, Mastercard, Discover, and Amex. However, there are add ons you have to pay for, like appointment scheduling, marketing tools, and payroll. Their websites states “swipe $100, see $97.25 in your bank account in one to two business days.”

It’s compatible with Android, iOS, and laptops too. There are two versions of Square Reader for magstripe. One needs a headset jack and the other a Lightning connector. You can take in-person card payments by adding a Square Reader to your Apple computer or Chromebook.

Credit card info is encrypted and Square doesn’t store this kind of data. There’s also an option to print receipts and send e-receipts if customers prefer that option.

Cost? As we've already said, it's free to sign up and there are no monthly fees. But, each additional reader costs $10 thereafter.

👉 Check out our Square POS review for more information.

It's ideal for smaller businesses with lower transaction rates. The chip card readers are inexpensive and there are free tools for selling online.

Unlike other POS apps, Square offers four different solutions for POS depending on what your business is. There’s Square for Restaurants, Square Appointments for retail and booking appointments, Square for Retail and the generic Square Point of Sale.

PayPal Here Alternative: SumUp

PayPal Here alternative: sumup

SumUp also has no monthly fees and charges the same as Square for transactions. It works fine with Androids and iOS and can email receipts. There are no termination fees with SumUp and there’s plenty of free add-ons to boot.

Fees for transactions are slightly lower with SumUp, at around 2.65% in the US and as low as 1.69% in the UK. It boasts more than one million active users in Europe and has expanded into 31 countries. SumUp takes all major credit cards.

It feels like the best option for anyone wanting something simple and cheap. It’s a bigger contender than it used to be since it merged with Payleven.

👉 Check out our SumUp review for more information on what you get from each pricing option.

However, their customer service phone line isn't open on Sundays. The wireless card reader connects with Bluetooth.  The card reader accepts chip transactions, either PIN or sign, and contactless with Visa, V Pay, Mastercard, Amex, and Diners Club. It also takes Apple Pay and Google Pay too.

PayPal Here Alternative: ShopKeep

PayPal Here alternative: shopkeep

No monthly fees or contract here either but there's a sign-up fee of $69. This tool supports all devices but it doesn’t send SMS receipts, only email receipts.  It’s aimed at the smaller business and especially targets food and drinks sellers. That doesn’t mean it’s just for this industry though.

👉 Check out our ShopKeep review for more information on what you get from each pricing option.

ShopKeep is simple to use and is perfect for any start-up or small retailer. It used to have flat-rate pricing. Now costs are done on a by-quote basis. You can either fill in questions online or call them up. The process is quick. ShopKeep offers analytics in real-time, inventory management, unlimited users, and unlimited inventory items, and free support if you encounter any problems.

Have You Used PayPal Here Before?

Have you ever used PayPal Here before? If so, we would love to hear about how you got on with the app.

Which card reader did you use? Let us know in the comments box below. Speak soon!

PayPal Here Rating: 3.5 - Review by

Rosie Greaves

Rosie Greaves is a professional content strategist who specializes in all things digital marketing, B2B, and lifestyle. In addition to e-commerce platforms, you can find her published on Reader's Digest, G2, and Judicious Inc. Check out her website Blog with Rosie for more information.