WordPress.com vs WordPress.org:您需要哪个?

WordPress很容易成为建立网站的最流行方法。

无论您是不熟悉构建自己的电子商务网站的概念,还是现在已经为Google博客和构建网站已有一段时间,您都可能听说过WordPress及其价值。

在这个行业 75百万网站 今天由WordPress提供支持-使其成为世界上最大的CMS(内容管理系统)。

唯一的问题?

尽管很多人喜欢WordPress,但许多人仍然不了解它。 网站建设世界中最常见的问题之一仍然是:WordPress.com和WordPress.org有什么区别?

如果您是仍然对WordPress.com和WordPress.org辩论感到困惑的众多人之一,请不要担心。 我们已经为这两个网站构建解决方案汇总了完整的指南,因此您可以确定如何设计WordPress网站。

WordPress.com vs WordPress.org:基础知识

在整篇文章中,我们将深入研究WordPress.org网站和WordPress.com网站之间的特定差异。 但是,与此同时,让我们从基础开始:

  • WordPress.org:.org WordPress是可从WordPress品牌下载的开源和自托管解决方案。 使用此WordPress软件,您可以构建自己喜欢的网站。 但是,您确实需要支付自己的托管服务提供商,域名和其他附加费用(例如高级主题)。
  • WordPress.com:WordPress的.com版本是网站即服务的多合一实现,已在WordPress软件上为您预先构建。 此选项代表您处理一切。 但是,这是以各种自定义选项和灵活性为代价的。

仍然感到困惑吗?

这并不奇怪。 诸如WordPress.com商业计划书之类的新事物的到来,使站点构建领域的新手更加难以理解WordPress.com和WordPress.org之间的区别。 通过商业和电子商务计划,您现在可以访问.com上许多以前专门为WordPress.org保留的功能。

但是,这两个选项仍然有很多主要差异。

让我们进一步探讨WordPress.com与WordPress.org之间的一些主要差异。

WordPress.com与WordPress.org:定价

当您尝试决定要使用哪个WordPress网站时,很有可能会通过考虑预算来开始您的决定。 虽然WordPress.com和WordPress.org都可以选择增加费用,例如高级服务和支持,但两种工具的价格有所不同。

WordPress.com 允许您免费建立网站。 但是,您只能将站点放在子域下,而不能为自己的域付费。 此外,您无法从小型企业网站中删除WordPress.com广告和品牌。 这使得发展业务变得更加困难。

此外,.com服务提供的WordPress平台仅为您提供3GB的有限磁盘空间。 您将无法使用该产品通过博客或网站获利。 此外,您可以安装博客平台未包含的任何高级插件或主题。

如果您确定要使用.com内容管理系统来运行商业网站,则需要为在线商店切换到.org解决方案,或支付高级套餐费用。 这意味着每月在WordPress平台上花费$ 8并支付您自己的自定义域名。 平均而言,运行一个商业WordPress.com网站每年需要花费$ 111。

wordpress.com定价

或者...

如果您选择通过以下方式启动数字战略 WordPress.org, 您可以花更少的钱创建自己的网站。 不像免费 WordPress.com 选项, WordPress.org 附带了从托管服务提供商选择托管计划的初始费用。 您可以像这样的公司每月低至2.95美元来托管 BlueHost的。 WordPress.org网站还有许多其他托管选项。 您可以选择最吸引您的托管计划。

好消息是,当您为自己的域名托管付费时,第一年左右,您通常也会获得免费域名的访问权。 这样可以使您的网上商店的运营成本保持较低水平。 Bluehost还提供了最简单的WordPress托管体验之一。 您只需选择吸引您的托管计划,选择您的域名,然后告诉Bluehost您希望他们代表您安装WordPress。

欲了解更多信息,请阅读我们的 Bluehost评论.

相比 WordPress.com 付费计划,WordPress.org实际上比您想象的要便宜得多。 此外,与.com免费计划相比,您在网站上拥有的自由度更高。Org用户可以完全控制所有内容,包括主题选择,高级插件,域名选择等等。

WordPress.com与WordPress.org:构建您的网站

关于WordPress.org与WordPress.com值得注意的一件事是,这两种工具都使构建自己的网站变得非常容易。 只要您有一个基本的商业计划,并且知道您想对网站做什么,就可以很轻松地启动并运行在线业务。

话虽这么说,很难否认生活是一种 容易一点 使用WordPress.com。

使用WordPress.com建立网站

当您决定使用以下其中一项建立网站时 WordPress.com 计划,在线启动网站就像创建一个新帐户一样简单。 您不必担心选择网络托管公司或查找自定义主题之类的事情。

使用WordPress.com创建网站

在几分钟之内,您可以选择网站的子域,处理可用的基本自定义选项,然后开始将内容发布到博客。 WordPress.com网站是使自己上网的一种非常基本的方法。

另一方面, 当你建立一个 WordPress.org 网站,过程并不是那么简单。 您将需要查找自己的托管服务提供商,选择一个域名,然后选择要添加到站点的插件类型。 例如,您可能希望包含SEO插件(例如Yoast)和Google Analytics(分析)来跟踪您的网络性能。

您还需要在免费主题和高级设计之间进行选择,以帮助您的网站在网上脱颖而出。 从好的方面来说,由于WordPress.org越来越受欢迎,许多托管服务提供商甚至可以为您管理很多辛苦的工作。 选择合适的主机,他们会代表您将开源软件安装到您的网站中,因此您不必担心PHP和CSS之类的问题。

WordPress.com与WordPress.org:自定义

虽然您不必担心WordPress安装和CSS之类的问题 WordPress.com 网站–为您完成的所有工作都有很大的弊端。 您的免费WordPress.com网站将不允许您自定义网站的外观或性能。 WordPress.org。 您必须使用已经可用的免费主题和工具。 设计和自定义方面的灵活性取决于您选择的WordPress.com计划。

WordPress的免费个人计划附带了150多个主题。 另外,通过高级和商业计划,您可以访问所有免费主题以及200多个高级主题。 使用所有这些选项,您应该能够找到适合您的网站的自定义设计。

不幸, 您不能邀请别人来为您设计网站。 此外,除非您使用的是Business或eCommerce计划,否则您将无法安装插件。 仅当您升级到高薪计划时,您才能访问WordPress上可用的预先批准的插件。

另一方面,如果我们看一下 WordPress.org, 我们发现了各种各样的其他自定义选项。 首先,您可以从WordPress.org官方目录中找到的7,500多个免费主题中进行选择,以此来构建您的网站。 您还可以安装在网上其他地方找到的任何其他免费或高级主题。

wordpress.org主页

此外,WordPress.org在插件和附加组件等方面也更加灵活。 从WooCommerce for eCommerce,到用于获利的插件(如直接发货工具),您都可以安装所需的任何东西。

默认情况下,您将可以使用WordPress.com上的50,000+插件进行访问,这些插件可通过商业或电子商务计划进行访问。 此外,您还可以在网上安装成千上万个其他替代插件。

归根结底,即使您付费访问WordPress.com可用的所有自定义解决方案,您仍然会受到限制。 另一方面, WordPress.org,您可以完全控制要构建的网站。

WordPress.com与WordPress.org:获利选项

在WordPress.com和WordPress.org之间进行选择时,您需要考虑的最重要的事情之一就是您要对网站进行的操作。 如果您只是想在Google上为自己起名的博客作者,那么WordPress.com可能对您来说绰绰有余。

您可以使用诸如yoursite.wordpress.com之类的子域名来获得罚款,或者将您的网站用作个人投资组合以与潜在的雇主共享。 但是,您将无法使用WordPress从免费或个人网站上赚钱。

如果您想通过使用自己的广告或通过电子商务插件销售产品来在WordPress上赚钱,则需要升级到高级版或电子商务计划。

WordPress.com获利

按照免费计划,WordPress还将在您的网站上显示自己的广告,您对此无能为力。

或者,用 WordPress.org, 您可以自由地通过自己的网站获利。 由于您拥有自己的Web服务器,并且您正在使用免费使用的开源软件,因此没有任何限制。 您可以使用 WordPress.org 来运行WordAds广告系列,在线销售产品并通过自动计划(例如会员和推荐)来赚钱。

WordPress.com与WordPress.org:支持和备份

除了考虑如何通过网站赚钱之外,您可能还想知道可以采取哪些步骤来确保网站和生计的安全。 例如,完全没有免费的支持 WordPress.com 计划,因此您需要自己解决所有问题。 获得任何指导的唯一方法是每月为更高的计划支付4美元。

从好的方面来说,从WordPress.com开始,您确实获得了基本的安全解决方案和网站中内置的备份。 您必须依靠WordPress.com为其开箱即用的服务而构建的所有内部安全和隐私系统,这使得保护自己更加容易。

另一方面,如果您使用WordPress.org运行您的电子商务网站,那么您再也不会从.org渠道获得任何官方支持,但可以在其他地方找到帮助。 有许多领先的主机提供商,例如Bluehost和SiteGround,它们提供了出色的24/7帮助。

WordPress.org 用户还可以访问庞大的社区,他们已经学会了如何充分利用该软件。 但不利的一面是,当您选择使用WordPress.com而不是WordPress.com时,您的体验中并没有内置任何安全性或备份工具。

精心构建WordPress.org软件,使其符合最新的安全和隐私标准。 但是,您还必须跟踪自己的其他安全性。 例如,您可以实现Wordfence之类的插件。 此外,您还需要通过插件或网站托管服务商的支持来管理自己的备份。

WordPress.org还要求使用处理自己的半手动软件更新。 只要有软件更新可用,WordPress仪表板中就会有一条通知。 用户只需单击该通知即可立即升级其站点。

什么时候应该使用WordPress.com?

WordPress.org和WordPress.com都有其正负要考虑的方面。

WordPres.com,例如,使人们变得简单。 您不必担心购买自己的托管解决方案或使用此服务来维护您的网站。 此外,您还可以根据需要选择付费计划或免费计划。

如果您只是在WordPress.com网站上进行一些基本的博客撰写,那么3GB存储空间的限制对您来说已经足够了。 此外,您仍然可以选择许多WordPress主题,以使您的网站与众不同。 此外,您不必担心诸如购买自己的备份和安全工具之类的事情。

不幸的是,WordPress.com也有很多缺点。

WordPress.com优点:

  • 免费使用多达3GB的存储空间
  • 易于使用且快速构建博客站点
  • 出色的主题范围和内置工具
  • 良好的客户支持选项
  • 无需担心备份或更新
  • Jetpack插件可以帮助您访问其他功能

WordPress.com缺点:

  • WordPress.com在您的网站上放置自己的广告。
  • 除非您升级到高薪高级计划,否则就无法通过内容获利或出售任何东西。
  • 您不能上传自己的插件或主题。
  • 关于如何运行网站,几乎没有自定义选项。
  • 如果WordPress.com认为您的网站违反了其网站上的服务条款,则可以随时将其删除。
  • 您的网站将具有WordPress.com品牌
  • 您需要使用WordPress子域,而不是您自己的域名。
  • 您不能运行任何会员网站。

看看我们的 WordPress.com评论 了解更多信息。

什么时候应该使用WordPress.org?

所以,会 WordPress.org 对您来说是更好的解决方案?

好吧,这取决于。 如果您正在寻找对网站的完全控制,那么WordPress.org就是您想要的。 您可以随意对网站进行任何操作,并且可以根据自己的喜好自定义创建内容。

例如,您可以使用插件来检查网站的统计信息,并确保其运行符合您的标准。 此外,您可以自由选择所有内容,从自己的托管服务(以提高网站性能)到自定义域名。

像WordPress.com, WordPress.org 也可以免费使用。 但是,您确实需要为自己的托管和其他必备工具付费。 此外,您拥有自己的网站和所有数据。 WordPress公司由于任何原因无法出现并删除您的网站。

但是,WordPress.org也有缺点,例如学习曲线稍高。

WordPress.org优点:

  • 免费且易于使用的软件
  • 您拥有自己的网站以及创建的所有数据
  • 您可以根据需要自由定制设计和网站性能
  • 您可以通过投放自己的广告来通过博客或网站获利
  • 您可以自由经营电子商务商店或会员网站
  • 您可以使用功能强大的工具来跟踪网站的效果
  • 您的域名由您决定
  • 在主题和插件方面,您还有更多选择可供选择

WordPress.org缺点:

  • 您需要查找并支付您自己的虚拟主机和域名。
  • 您将负责追踪您首选的主题和插件。
  • 您应对自己的所有备份和安全性负责。
  • 您需要管理自己的定期更新
  • 您可能会发现设置WordPress.org比使用WordPress.com困难一些

看看我们的 WordPress.org评论 了解更多信息。

您可以从WordPress.com迁移到WordPress.org吗?

既然您了解了同时使用WordPress.com和WordPress.org的来龙去脉,那么您可能想知道如果选择一个并改变主意会发生什么。

例如,当您刚开始创业时,您可能希望使用WordPress.com使事情变得简单。 但是,随着您开始建立更多的公司地位,您可能会决定要通过网站获利,或者拥有更多的自定义选项。 发生这种情况时,您可以将内容从WordPress.com网站移至 WordPress.org.

甚至还有一些站点可以为您处理完整的迁移过程。

当然,只需进行研究并确保首先选择正确的WordPress选项,您就可以节省大量时间和精力。

不过请记住 WordPress.com的新商业计划开始模糊WordPress.com和WordPress.org之间的界线,这并不意味着您从这两种选择中都能获得相同的体验。 尽管您可以通过WordPress.com支付更高的费用来安装更多的插件和主题,并且可以通过网站获利,但是.com仍然会给您带来极大的限制。 此外,事实证明,通过WordPress.com运营高级企业网站要比使用WordPress.org为自己建立相同的网站要昂贵得多。

您应该选择哪个选项?

那么,当全部归结为WordPress.com还是WordPress.org时,哪个更好呢?

尽管您可以通过完成许多工作 WordPress.com,包括建立有效的博客和展示精彩的个人作品集-这不是企业的理想选择。 如果您想通过网站的长期发展来赚钱,或者想为自己的品牌树立专业形象,那么您将获得对.org更好的体验。

WordPress.org 是最认真的企业主和网站开发人员的更好解决方案。 从主题到插件和扩展,这种自托管解决方案的灵活性都是无与伦比的。 此外,您可以从多种获利方法中进行选择,这一事实意味着将在线业务提升到一个新的水平应该没有问题。

使用WordPress.org,您将需要更加注意更新和安全性。 但是,完全控制您的网站所带来的自由是值得让公司保持正常运转的额外精力。

WordPress.com vs WordPress.org: Which do you need?

WordPress is easily the most popular way to build a website.

Whether you’re new to the concept of building your own eCommerce website, or you’ve been blogging and building sites for Google for a while now, you’ve probably heard of WordPress, and how valuable it can be.

More than 75 million websites are powered by WordPress today – making it the largest CMS (content management system) in the world.

The only problem?

While plenty of people love WordPress, many still don’t understand it. One of the most common questions in the website building world remains to be: What’s the difference between WordPress.com and WordPress.org?

If you’re one of the many people who’s still confused by the WordPress.com vs WordPress.org debate, don’t worry. We’ve put together a complete guide into both of these site-building solutions, so you can determine how you’re going to design your WordPress site.

WordPress.com vs WordPress.org: The Basics

Throughout this article, we’re going to dig down deep into the specific differences between WordPress.org sites, and WordPress.com websites. In the meantime, however, let’s start with the basics:

  • WordPress.org: The .org WordPress is the open-source and self-hosted solution available to download from the WordPress brand. With this WordPress software, you can build a website however, you like. However, you do need to pay for your own hosting provider, domain name, and other added extras (like premium themes).
  • WordPress.com: The .com version of WordPress is the website as a service all-in-one implementation that has been pre-built for you on the WordPress software. This option handles everything on your behalf. However, this comes at the expense of various customization options and flexibility.

Still, confused?

It’s no surprise. The arrival of new things like the WordPress.com business plan has made it even harder for newbies in the site-building world to understand the difference between WordPress.com and WordPress.org. With business and eCommerce plans, you can now access many of the features on .com that used to be specifically reserved for WordPress.org.

However, the two options still have a lot of major differences.

Let’s explore some of the major differences between WordPress.com vs. WordPress.org a little further.

WordPress.com vs WordPress.org: Pricing

When you’re trying to decide which WordPress site you’re going to use, there’s a good chance that you’ll start your decision by thinking about your budget. While both WordPress.com and WordPress.org come with the option of added expenses, like premium services and support, there are differences in the pricing for both tools.

WordPress.com allows you to set up your website for free. However, you can only place your site under a subdomain, rather than paying for your own domain. Additionally, you can’t remove the WordPress.com ads and branding from your small business website. This makes it much harder to grow as a business.

Additionally, the WordPress platform available with the .com service only gives you a limited disk space of 3GB. You won’t be able to use this product to monetize a blog or website. Additionally, you can install any premium plugins or themes that aren’t already included with your blogging platform.

If you decide that you do want to run a commercial website with the .com content management system, you’ll need to either switch to the .org solution for your online store or pay for a premium plan. This means spending $8 per month on the WordPress platform and paying for your own custom domain name. On average, it costs around $111 per year to run a commercial WordPress.com site.

wordpress.com pricing

Alternatively…

If you choose to launch your digital strategy through WordPress.org, you can launch your own website for much less. Unlike the free WordPress.com option, WordPress.org comes with the initial expense of choosing a hosting plan from a hosting provider. You can get hosting for as little as $2.95 per month with a company like Bluehost. There are also a number of other hosting options out there for your WordPress.org website. You can choose the hosting plan that appeals most to you.

The good news is that when you pay for hosting for your own domain, you’ll often get access to a free domain name for the first year or so too. This can keep the price of running your online store very low. Bluehost also provides one of the easiest WordPress hosting experiences around. You can simply pick the hosting plan that appeals to you, choose your domain name, and tell Bluehost that you want them to install WordPress on your behalf.

For more info read our Bluehost review.

Compared to the WordPress.com paid plan, WordPress.org is actually a lot more affordable than you’d think. Additionally, you get more freedom over your site than you would with the .com free plan too.Org users maintain full control over everything from their choice of theme to premium plugins, domain name choices, and so much more.

WordPress.com vs WordPress.org: Building Your Website

One important thing to note about WordPress.org vs WordPress.com, is that both tools make it very easy to build your own website. As long as you have a basic business plan in mind, and you know what you want to do with your site, you can get your online presence up and running quite easily.

However, that being said, it’s hard to deny that life is a little easier with WordPress.com.

Building a Website with WordPress.com

When you decide to build a website with one of the WordPress.com plans, launching your site online is as simple as creating a new account. You don’t have to worry about things like choosing a web hosting company or finding custom themes.

Creating a website with WordPress.com

Within a few minutes, you can choose the subdomain for your website, deal with the basic customization options available to you, and start publishing content to a blog. A WordPress.com site is a very basic way to get yourself online.

On the other hand, when you’re building a WordPress.org site, the process isn’t quite as simple. You will need to track down your own hosting provider, pick a domain name, and choose what kind of plugins you want to add to your site. For instance, you might want to include SEO plugins like Yoast, and Google Analytics to track your web performance.

You’ll also need to pick between free themes and premium designs to help your site stand out online. On the plus side, now that WordPress.org is growing increasingly popular, many hosting providers will even manage much of the hard work for you. Choose the right host, and they’ll install the open-source software into your website on your behalf, so you don’t have to worry about things like PHP and CSS.

WordPress.com vs. WordPress.org: Customization

Although you don’t have to worry about things like WordPress installation and CSS with your WordPress.com website – there is a significant downside to everything being done for you. Your free WordPress.com website won’t allow you to customize the appearance or performance of your website to the same extent as WordPress.org. You’ll have to make do with the free themes and tools that are already available. The amount of flexibility you’ll have in terms of design and customization will depend on the WordPress.com plan you choose.

The free and personal plans from WordPress come with access to 150+ themes. Alternatively, with Premium and Business plans, you can access all free themes, plus more than 200 premium themes. With all those options, you should be able to find a custom design that works for your website.

Unfortunately, you can’t bring someone in to design your website for you. Additionally, you won’t be able to install plugins unless you’re on the Business or eCommerce plans. Only when you upgrade to the higher-paid plans can you access the pre-approved plugins available on WordPress.

If, on the other hand, we take a look at WordPress.org, we find a huge variety of additional customization options. First, you can choose from more than 7,500 free themes found in the official WordPress.org directory to build your site with. You can also install any other free or premium theme that you’ve found elsewhere on the web.

wordpress.org homepage

Additionally, WordPress.org is a lot more flexible when it comes to things like plugins and add-ons too. From WooCommerce for eCommerce, to plugins for monetization, like dropshipping tools, you can install anything that you like.

By default, you’ll get access to the 50,000+ plugins that you can access with the Business or eCommerce plans at WordPress.com. Additionally, you can also install thousands of other alternative plugins from around the web.

At the end of the day, even if you pay to access all of the customization solutions that are available with WordPress.com, you’re still going to be limited. On the other hand, with WordPress.org, you get complete control over the website that you want to build.

WordPress.com vs WordPress.org: Monetization Options

One of the most important things you’ll need to consider when choosing between WordPress.com and WordPress.org is what you want to do with your website. If you’re a blogger that just wants to make a name for yourself on Google, then WordPress.com is likely to be more than enough for you.

You can get by fine with a subdomain like yoursite.wordpress.com, or use your website as a personal portfolio to share with potential employers. However, you won’t be able to make any money from your free or personal website with WordPress.

If you want to earn any cash on WordPress, either from using your own ads, or selling products through an eCommerce plugin, then you’ll need to upgrade to the Premium or eCommerce plan.

WordPress.com monetization

On the free plan, WordPress will also display their own ads on your website, and there’s nothing that you can do about it.

Alternatively, with WordPress.org, you have the freedom to monetize your website whatever you want. Since you have your own web server, and you’re using open-source software that’s free to use however you like, there aren’t any limits. You can use WordPress.org to run WordAds campaigns, sell products online, and earn money through automatic schemes like affiliates and referrals.

WordPress.com vs. WordPress.org: Support and Backup

Aside from considering how you’re going to make money with your website, you may want to know what kind of steps you can put in place to keep your site and livelihood secure. For instance, there’s no support at all on the free WordPress.com plan, so you need to deal with any issues that you have on your own. The only way to get any guidance is by paying $4 per month for a higher plan.

On the plus side, you do get basic security solutions and backups built into your website from the start with WordPress.com. You get to rely on all of the internal security and privacy systems that WordPress.com built for its out-of-the-box service, which makes it a little easier to protect yourself.

On the other hand, if you’re running your eCommerce site with WordPress.org, then once again, you won’t get any official support from the .org channel, but you can find help elsewhere. There are many leading host providers like Bluehost and SiteGround that offer great 24/7 help.

WordPress.org users also have access to a huge community of people who have learned how to make the most of the software for themselves. On the downside, however, when you opt for WordPress.org over WordPress.com, you don’t get any security or backup tools built into your experience.

The WordPress.org software has been built with care to adhere to the latest security and privacy standards. However, you’ll have to track down your own additional security too. For instance, you can implement plugins like Wordfence. Additionally, you’ll also need to manage your own backups, either via a plugin or through support from your website host.

WordPress.org also requires uses to deal with their own semi-manual software updates. Whenever a software update is available, there’ll be a notice in your WordPress dashboard. Users can simply click on the notice to upgrade their site immediately.

When Should You Use WordPress.com?

Both WordPress.org and WordPress.com have their positive and negative points to consider.

WordPres.com, for instance, gives people simplicity. You don’t have to worry about buying your own hosting solutions or maintaining your site with this service. Additionally, there are paid plans or free plans to choose from depending on what you need.

If you’re just doing some basic blogging with your WordPress.com website, then the limit of 3GB storage space will be more than enough for you. Additionally, you’ll still have plenty of WordPress themes to choose from to make your site unique. What’s more, you don’t have to worry about things like sourcing your own backup and security tools.

Unfortunately, WordPress.com has a lot of down sides too.

WordPress.com Pros:

  • Free to use for up to 3GB of storage space
  • Easy to use and quick for building a blogging site
  • Excellent range of themes and built-in tools
  • Good customer support options
  • No need to worry about backups or updates
  • The Jetpack plugin can help you access extra functionality

WordPress.com Cons:

  • WordPress.com places its own ads on your website.
  • You can’t monetize your content or sell anything unless you upgrade to a high-paid premium plan.
  • You cannot upload your own plugins or themes.
  • You have very few customization options for how you run your website.
  • Your website can be deleted at any time if WordPress.com thinks it violates the terms of services they have on their website.
  • Your site will have WordPress.com branding
  • You’ll need to use a WordPress subdomain, rather than your own domain name.
  • You can’t run any membership websites.

Check out our WordPress.com review to learn more.

When Should You Use WordPress.org?

So, would WordPress.org be a better solution for you?

Well, that depends. If you’re looking for complete control over your website, then that’s exactly what you get with WordPress.org. You’re free to do anything you want with your site, and you can customize your creation however you see fit.

For instance, you can use plugins to check the stats of your website and ensure that it’s performing according to your standards. Additionally, you’re free to choose everything from your own hosting for faster website performance, to your custom domain name.

Like WordPress.com, WordPress.org can also be free to use. However, you do need to pay for your own hosting and other must-have tools. What’s more, you own your website and all your data. The WordPress company can’t come along and delete your site for any reason.

However, there are downsides to WordPress.org too, like a slightly higher learning curve.

WordPress.org Pros:

  • Free and easy to use software
  • You own your website and all the data that you create
  • You’re free to customize your design and website performance as needed
  • You can monetize your blog or website by running your own ads
  • You’re free to run an Ecommerce store or membership site
  • You can use powerful tools to track your site’s performance
  • It’s up to you what your domain name is
  • You have far more options to choose from when it comes to themes and plugins

WordPress.org Cons:

  • You’ll need to find and pay for your own web hosting and your domain name.
  • You will be responsible for tracking down your preferred themes and plugins.
  • You’re responsible for all of your own backups and security.
  • You need to manage your own regular updates
  • You may find setting up WordPress.org a little harder than using WordPress.com

Check out our WordPress.org review to learn more.

Can You Move From WordPress.com to WordPress.org?

Now that you know the ins and outs of using both WordPress.com and WordPress.org, you might be wondering what happens if you choose one and change your mind.

For instance, when you’re just getting started as a new business, you might want to keep things simple by using WordPress.com. However, as you begin to build more status as a company, you may decide that you want to monetize your site or have a wider range of customization options. When this happens, you can move your content from a WordPress.com site into WordPress.org.

There are even sites out there that will handle the full migration process for you.

Of course, you’ll save yourself a lot of time and effort by simply doing your research and making sure that you choose the right WordPress option in the first place.

Just remember, though WordPress.com’s new business plan is beginning to blur the line between WordPress.com and WordPress.org, that doesn’t mean that you get the same experience from both options. Although you can install more plugins and themes with a higher-paid plan from WordPress.com, and you can potentially monetize your site, you’re still going to be extremely limited by the .com offering. Additionally, it turns out that running a premium corporate website through WordPress.com is a lot more expensive than building the same site for yourself with WordPress.org.

Which Option Should You Choose?

So, when it all comes down to it, which option is better, WordPress.com, or WordPress.org?

Although you can accomplish a lot of things with WordPress.com, including building an effective blog and showcasing a fantastic personal portfolio – it’s not the ideal option for businesses. If you want to make money with your website presence in the long term, or you want to develop a professional image for your brand, then you’re going to get a much better experience with .org.

WordPress.org is the better solution for most serious business owners and website developers. The flexibility of this self-hosted solution when it comes to everything from themes, to plugins and extensions is unbeatable. Additionally, the fact that you can choose from a range of monetization methods means that you shouldn’t have a problem taking your online business to the next level.

With WordPress.org, you will need to pay more attention to things like updates and security. However, the freedom that you get by having complete control over your website is well worth the extra effort that goes into keeping your company up and running.