什么是Venmo及其运作方式? 2021年XNUMX月)

风暴席卷美国的P2P付款应用

在当今的移动和互联网主导的社会中,现金已经用光了,数字支付正在普及中。在全球大流行之后,人们对现金卫生的担忧日益增加。 因此,仅预计这种趋势会持续下去。

随着黑客和诈骗者将借记卡和信用卡公司作为其欺诈和盗窃的对象,甚至银行卡也变得越来越混乱和危险。

鉴于使用数字支付服务,通过智能手机便捷地进行汇款和收款从未如此简单。 千禧一代早就倡导数字支付。 但是,市场上无尽的P2P支付应用程序人满为患,因此为您选择合适的应用程序似乎是一项艰巨的任务。

这样的领先P2P移动应用程序之一是 Venmo –只需轻按几下即可进行快速数字支付的应用程序。 有鉴于此,我们将Venmo放在显微镜下回答以下问题:什么是Venmo,它如何工作?

准备? 让我们开始吧。

什么是Venmo及其运作方式?

什么是venmo及其运作方式-主页

成立于2009年,是一家初创公司, Venmo 是由信誉良好的金融机构PayPal拥有的点对点支付平台。 Venmo允许用户发送和接收资金。 有了这个方便的智能手机应用程序,您可以向拥有Venmo帐户的Venmo用户的任何人请求,发送和接收资金。 但是,在撰写本文时,只有美国居民才能使用Venmo。

迄今为止,Venmo是一种被广泛接受的付款系统,大约有XNUMX万 砖和灰浆 和在线商人。 哇! 这个数字使Venmo在美国大受欢迎。 但是,还不止这些。 Venmo也非常适合向朋友和家人汇款和要求钱款。

您是否曾经外出吃晚饭或看电影,却不愿为家人或朋友报销繁琐的杂事? 还是要求您的朋友偿还条形标签的部分?

如果是这样,您会很高兴听到Venmo提供了一个简单的解决方案。 它使分摊付款变得轻而易举-租金,晚餐费,出租车费,活动门票等。 这是对任何货币共享方案所伴随的复杂数学和尴尬社会状况的答案。

再见笨拙。

更重要的是,Venmo具有独特的功能,可将应用程序与其他应用程序区分开–社交媒体网络。 您可以与朋友建立联系并互动,并通过新闻源与他们保持最新联系。

它还显示您和您的好友之间的交易历史记录。 但是,这是一项可选功能。 如果您不想广播您的交易,则可以选择关闭发布。

通过用户名,电话号码甚至FAC可以轻松找到其他Venmo用户,然后开始发送或请求付款。

拥有如此众多的出色功能,难怪Venmo统治了美国 P2P支付市场。 我们都同意,赚钱从来都不是一件有趣的事。 但是Venmo允许用户使用表情符号来匹配情况或描述转移原因,从而使交易更加有趣。

因此,下次您支付一杯酒时,请向Venmo付款并提供一杯酒表情符号。 现在,这是一个好玩的手势。

Venmo如何工作?

什么是Venmo及其运作方式

Venmo的业务模型就是虚拟的财务中介。

听起来很复杂,对吧?

让我们分解吧。

Venmo 最好形容为发送者和接收者的银行帐户之间的中间人。 Venmo可以确保两方之间成功进行交易。

Venmo用户可以立即开始彼此交换资金。 但是要开始使用,您必须遵循一些步骤:

  1. 首先,注册一个Venmo帐户–您可以通过Venmo的网站或在智能手机上安装Venmo应用程序来执行此操作。
  2. 现在,您可以将Venmo帐户链接到借记卡,信用卡或银行帐户。
  3. 现在,从链接的卡,帐户或Venmo余额中选择资金来源。
  4. 现在,您可以使用您的Venmo帐户付款或要求其他人付款。
  5. 如果您要汇款,请添加收款人,余额,便笺和表情符号(可选),一切顺利!
  6. 通过Venmo收到付款后,您可以将其保存在Venmo帐户中以备将来购买,也可以将全部金额转入您的银行帐户。 这是你的选择。

…是的,就是这么简单!

在这一点上,值得注意的是,Venmo是仅用于移动设备的应用程序,但它也支持通过Siri语音命令或iMessage进行付款。 要查看您的Venmo交易,请转到该应用,或通过Venmo的网站登录。 但是,您无法在桌面网站上请求,付款或接收付款。

Venmo安全吗?

什么是Venmo及其运作方式

当钱的发送者或接收者是您认识的人时,像Venmo这样的P2P付款应用通常可以安全使用。 也就是说,所有互联网应用都容易受到安全漏洞的侵害,因此必须拥有最高的保护标准。

Venmo使用数据加密技术来保护用户免遭未经授权的交易。 如果您碰巧丢失了手机,可以从Venmo的桌面站点注销该应用程序,以减少欺诈交易的风险。

它还将用户信息存储在安全位置的服务器上。 您还可以选择设置PIN码以访问您的移动应用程序。

但是有一个陷阱……

没错, Venmo 为未经授权的交易提供100%的保护; 它有一些限制。

未经授权的交易被标记为“您未授权且对您没有好处”的交易。 其他情况也符合100%Venmo保护的条件,包括:

  • 如果您的汇款金额不符/公司已扣款。
  • 如果您收到付款,但存入您帐户的金额不正确。
  • 如果交易未正确显示在您的对帐单上
  • 如果公司不做数学

为了获得100%的保护,您必须在未授权交易出现在您的帐户之日起60天内报告该交易。 因此,Venmo建议您定期检查您的对帐单并及时报告任何未经授权的交易。

我们建议您采取一些预防措施来应对任何安全漏洞,例如:

  • 不要在您的Venmo帐户中存储大量资金。
  • 立即将资金转入您关联的银行帐户。
  • 使用Venmo仅与您认识和信任的人交换资金。
  • Venmo的默认新帐户设置为“公开”,这使应用程序可以在其公开供稿源上发布交易。 为了掩盖交易历史,建议您选择退出Venmo的社交网络。 您可以通过将隐私设置更改为“私人”来实现。

Venmo需要多少钱?

Venmo的标准服务是绝对免费提供的,使大多数用户可以免费使用。 使用支票帐户或借记卡向家人和朋友汇款是免费的。 但是,处理信用卡交易需要支付3%的手续费。

Venmo与其他P2P支付网络

现在,我们已经介绍了Venmo必须提供的基本知识以及它们如何运作,让我们看看Venmo如何对付竞争对手。

Venmo与PayPal

什么是Venmo及其运作方式

如果您从一开始就读过这篇评论,那么现在您将知道PayPal拥有Venmo。

因此,您可能想知道为什么我们甚至将PayPal列入清单?

即使PayPal使用Venmo,两者之间也存在明显差异。

是的,PayPal在转帐方面很相似。 资金将从与您的PayPal帐户关联的银行帐户,借记卡或信用卡中提取。 或者,您可以像Venmo一样通过PayPal余额付款。 但是,贝宝可以在世界范围内使用。 它还为与商人和独立卖方有业务往来的买方提供了保护。

费用–对于美国信用卡和借记卡交易,PayPal收取2.9%的交易费和0.30美元的固定费用。 如果您要汇款到国外,费用可能会更高。 像Venmo一样,贝宝(PayPal)也对合格帐户的即时转帐收取$ 0.25。

网络覆盖– Venmo 只能在美国使用,而PayPal具有全球网络,可以在国际范围内使用。

付款方式– PayPal和Venmo的付款方式相同-银行帐户,借记卡,信用卡,或来自相应应用程序的帐户余额。

速度– PayPal和Venmo的传输速度也相同。 定期 ACH转移 您的Venmo或PayPal余额中的余额可能需要一到三天。 某些符合条件的帐户还提供30分钟的即时转帐。

安全性– PayPal和Venmo之间的主要区别在于PayPal提供的买方和卖方保护。 如果从独立卖家购买或出售产品时出现问题,贝宝(PayPal)可以使用户提出争议。

有关贝宝的更多信息,请查看 我们的评论.

Venmo与Apple Pay

什么是Venmo及其运作方式?

Apple Pay允许Apple用户通过应用程序进行收款。 它仅与最新的Apple Watch,Mac,iPhone和iPad(iOS 11.2或更高版本)兼容。 因此,如果您和您的朋友是Android Team,则可能仍需要Venmo。

像Venmo一样,Apple Pay也被众多零售商所接受。 同样,Apple Pay用户可以通过链接其信用卡和借记卡从他们的移动设备进行付款。 通过密码,面部识别码,Touch ID或双击Apple Watch侧面来验证所有付款,以确保安全。

费用– Apple Pay不向您收取借记卡使用费。 但是,如果资金来自您的信用卡,则需要支付3%的费用。

Network Reach – Apple Pay最初在美国推出,现已扩大了覆盖范围,现已在英国,澳大利亚,沙特阿拉伯,俄罗斯,巴西,加拿大,阿联酋,台湾,中国香港,黑山,塞尔维亚,新西兰,乌克兰,哈萨克斯坦,新加坡,乔治亚州,白俄罗斯,日本,澳门以及欧洲经济区(EEA)的所有国家。 那是苹果为您服务。

付款类型– Apple Pay支持许多国际付款方式,例如万事达卡(包括Maestro),维萨卡(包括Electron和V Pay),美国运通和Discover。 这以及针对特定国家/地区的国内支付方案,例如澳大利亚的EFTPOS或中国的银联。 但是,您只能在美国通过短信汇款

速度–与Venmo一样,您在Apple Pay中收到的款项会进入您的应用内余额,然后可以转移至您的银行帐户。 但是,这最多可能需要三天。

安全性– Apple Pay具有比Venmo更好的安全性功能。 最值得注意的是两因素身份验证,这是用于事务,数据安全性和数据隐私的令牌化方法。

Venmo与Google Pay

什么是Venmo及其运作方式?

Google Pay是列表中领先的(也是最便宜的)P2P应用程序之一。 它在一个统一的位置将Google电子钱包和Android Pay的所有功能结合在一起。 使用此应用程序向亲朋好友汇款毫不费力。 您只需要通过他们的姓名,电子邮件地址或电话号码找到该人,即可开始工作。

费用– Google Pay对借记卡或银行交易不收取任何费用。

网络覆盖面-截至2020年,Google Pay目前可在30个国家/地区使用。

付款方式-Google Pay只能使用借记卡或银行帐户。 信用卡,PayPal帐户和预付卡不能与Google Pay一起使用。

速度-Google Pay在几分钟之内即可发送和接收款项,类似于Venmo的即时转帐功能。 但是,最多可能需要24小时,具体取决于您的银行。 通过银行帐户进行的转帐最多需要三个工作日。

安全– Google Pay具有24/7欺诈监控功能,可为您帐户中经过验证的未经授权的交易提供100%的覆盖率。 您帐户中的任何未经授权的购买都需要在120天内报告。

Venmo与Revolut

什么是Venmo及其运作方式

Revolut仅在欧洲就拥有超过10万用户,是一家创新的数字银行和货币兑换业务,以最佳汇率促进全球支出和转账。 他们为个人和企业客户提供广泛的汇款功能以及其他服务。

Revolut在Apple和Google Play应用商店中均可使用。

费用–开设帐户和相同的货币汇款是免费的。 对于国际交易,将采用常规电汇率。 使用SWIFT也要收费。

Network Reach – Revolut目前可在瑞士,澳大利亚,所有EEA国家和美国使用。

付款类型–您可以使用银行帐户,借记卡和信用卡以及Apple Pay。

速度-根据货币和转帐类型的不同,接收资金大约需要1-5天。

安全– Revolut的反欺诈系统使用机器学习算法来检测可疑交易。 万一卡丢失,您可以在几秒钟内冻结或解冻卡。

一般疑难

为了使本评论更加全面,我们将回答一些有关 Venmo:

您需要Venmo的银行帐户吗?

您需要关联您的银行帐户以进行转帐。 但是,收款人不一定需要银行帐户,因为您可以将资金存储为Venmo余额。

您如何在Venmo上付款?

您可以将您的银行帐户,信用卡或借记卡链接到您的帐户,然后使用其电子邮件地址或电话号码搜索收件人。 如果他们没有Venmo帐户,则需要创建一个帐户才能收到款项。 如果收款人不接受付款,您也可以取消付款。

Venmo是否有月租费?

该应用程序大部分可以免费使用。 但是,Venmo有两项主要收费:

  • 信用卡付款需要支付3%的交易费用–幸运的是,该费用不适用于授权商家的购买。
  • 即时转帐,每笔交易最低25美分,最高1%–这些转账在半小时内交付。

这就是Venmo收费的地方!

Venmo如何验证我的身份?

为了验证您的身份,Venmo要求您提供基本信息,例如您的法定姓名,出生日期,地址和SSN / ITIN。 如果需要,他们可能会要求一些其他信息,例如:

  •       美国护照
  •       驾驶执照
  •       美国政府签发的身份证
  •       DHS卡
  •       部落身份证

您准备好开始使用Venmo了吗?

阅读此评论后,我们希望我们能够回答以下问题:什么是Venmo,它如何工作?

简而言之,Venmo拥有许多好处,特别是对于那些精通使用智能手机处理各种交易的人们。 总体而言,该应用程序易于使用,并且在几乎所有类型的场景中均可提供快速付款。

Venmo 如果您正在寻找为亲朋好友付费的解决方案,那么它就是一个完美的P2P平台。 最值得注意的是,用于在旅途中结算账单或支付饮料或咖啡的费用。 它不仅直观,而且非常社交。

但是,如果您更注重隐私,则可以简单地调整交易的可见性以适应您的舒适度。 或者,您可以选择使用上面列出的任何顶级Venmo.com替代品。 您会决定哪一个? 无论哪种方式,请在下面的评论框中告诉我们!

Venmo
评分: 4.5 - 审查

Rosie Greaves

Rosie Greaves是一位专业的内容策略师,专门研究数字营销,B2B和生活方式方面的所有内容。 除了电子商务平台之外,您还可以在《读者文摘》,G2和Judicious Inc.上找到她的出版物。 罗西的博客 了解更多信息。

What is Venmo and How Does it Work? (Nov 2020)

The P2P Payment App That's Taken the US by Storm

In today’s mobile and internet-steered society, hard cash is out, and digital payments are in – and in the wake of the global pandemic, there are increasing concerns over cash's hygiene. So, this trend is only predicted to continue.

Even bank cards are becoming more confusing and risky, as hackers and scammers make debit and credit card companies their fraud and theft subject.

Whereas, with digital payment services, it's never been easier to send and receive money from the convenience of your smartphone. Millennials have long since been advocates of digital payments. However, the market is overcrowded with endless P2P payment apps, so picking the right one for you can seem like a thankless task.

One such leading P2P mobile app is Venmo – an app designed for making quick digital payments with just a few taps. In light of that, we're putting Venmo under the microscope to answer the question: What is Venmo and how does it work?

Ready? Let’s get right into it.

What is Venmo and How Does it Work?

what is venmo and how does it work - homepage

Launched back in 2009 as a startup, Venmo is a peer-to-peer payment platform owned by the well-respect financial institution, which is PayPal. Venmo allows users to send and receive money. With this handy smartphone app, you can request, send, and receive money to and from anyone who's a Venmo user with a Venmo account. However, at the time of writing, Venmo's only accessible to US residents.

To date, Venmo is a widely accepted payment system by approximately two million brick-and-mortar and online merchants. Wow! That number screams Venmo’s popularity in the United States. But, that's not all; Venmo is also great for sending and requesting money from friends and family.

Have you ever been out for dinner or a movie and been left with the awkward chore of reimbursing family or friends? Or with asking your friends to pay back their portion of the bar tab?

If so, you'll be pleased to hear that Venmo offers an easy solution. It makes splitting any payment a breeze – rent, dinner bills, cab fares, event tickets, and so on. It's the answer to the complicated maths and awkward social situation that comes with any money-sharing scenario.

Bye-Bye awkwardness.

What’s more, Venmo has a unique feature that sets the app apart from the rest – A social media network. You can connect and interact with friends and keep up to date with them via a news feed.

It also shows the transaction history between you and your buddies. However, this is an optional feature. If you prefer not to broadcast your transactions, you have the option of turning off posting.

It's easy to find other Venmo users via their username, phone number, or even a FAC and begin sending or requesting money.

With so many fabulous features, it's no wonder Venmo's dominating the US P2P payment market. We all agree that giving money is never fun. But Venmo lets users jazz up their transaction by using emojis to match the situation or describe the transfer reason.

So, next time you pay for your glass of wine, issue a Venmo payment with a wine glass emoji. Now, that’s a playful gesture.

How Does Venmo Work?

What is Venmo and how does it work

Venmo's business model is such that it's a virtual fiscal intermediary.

Sounds complicated, right?

Let’s break it down.

Venmo is best described as the middleman between the sender’s and the recipient’s bank accounts. It's Venmo that ensures a successful transaction takes place between the two parties.

Venmo users can instantly begin exchanging funds with one another. But to get started, you'll have to follow a few steps:

  1. First off, sign up for a Venmo account – You can do this either through Venmo's website or by installing the Venmo app on your smartphone.
  2. You can now link your Venmo account to your debit card, credit card, or bank accounts.
  3. Now, choose a funding source from your linked cards, accounts, or your Venmo balance.
  4. Now you're ready to pay or request money from others with your Venmo account.
  5. If you're sending money, add a recipient, a balance, a note, and emoji (optional), and you're good to go!
  6. When you receive a payment via Venmo, you can either save it in your Venmo account for future purchases or transfer the entire amount to your bank account. The choice is yours.

…Yes, it’s that simple!

At this point, it's worth noting, Venmo is a mobile-only app, but it also supports payments via Siri voice command or iMessage. To view your Venmo transactions, head to the app, or sign in via Venmo’s website. However, you cannot request, make, or receive payments on the desktop website.

Is Venmo Safe?

What is Venmo and how does it work

P2P payment apps like Venmo are usually safe to use when either the money's sender or recipient is someone you know. That said, all internet apps are vulnerable to security breaches and, therefore, must boast the highest safeguarding standards.

Venmo uses data encryption technology to protect users against unauthorized transactions. If you happen to lose your phone, you can log out of the app from Venmo's desktop site to reduce the risk of fraudulent transactions.

It also stores the user’s information on servers housed in secure locations. You also get an option to set up a PIN code to access your mobile application.

But there's a catch…

While it's true, Venmo offers 100% protection for unauthorized transactions; it comes with a few limitations.

Unauthorized transactions are branded as the ones ‘that you did not authorize, and that did not benefit you.’ Other scenarios also qualify for 100% Venmo protection, including:

  • If there's a discrepancy over the amount you sent/ the company has debited.
  • If you receive a payment and the amount deposited into your account is an incorrect one.
  • If a transaction isn't correctly visible on your statement
  • If the company fails to do the math

To qualify for 100% protection, you must report the unauthorized transaction within 60 days from the day of its appearance in your account. Venmo, therefore suggests you check your statements regularly and report any unauthorized transactions promptly.

We advise you to follow some precautionary measures to combat any security breaches, for instance:

  • Don't store large sums of money in your Venmo account.
  • Transfer funds immediately to your linked bank accounts.
  • Use Venmo to exchange funds only with people you know and trust.
  • Venmo's default new account setting is “public,” which enables the app to publish your transactions on its public feed. To cloak transaction histories, it's recommended that you opt-out of Venmo’s social network. You can do so by changing your privacy settings to “private.”

How Much Does Venmo Cost?

Venmo's standard services are offered absolutely free of cost, making it free to use for the majority of users. It's free to send money to family and friends using a checking account or debit card. However, for processing credit card transactions, there's a 3% processing fee involved.

Venmo vs. Other P2P Payment Networks

Now that we've covered the basics of what Venmo has to offer and how they operate let's see how Venmo fares against its competitors…

Venmo vs. PayPal

What is Venmo and how does it work

If you've read this review from the beginning, you'll know by now that PayPal owns Venmo.

So, you might be wondering why we even put PayPal on the list?

Even though PayPal operates Venmo, there are distinct differences between the two.

Yes, PayPal is similar when it comes to transferring money. The funds are taken from your bank account, debit, or credit card linked to your PayPal account. Or you can pay via your PayPal balance, just like Venmo. However, PayPal can be used around the world. It also offers protection for buyers who do business with merchants and independent sellers.

Fees – PayPal charges a transaction fee of 2.9% and a fixed fee of $0.30 for US credit and debit card transactions. If you're sending money outside the country, the cost may be even higher. Like Venmo, PayPal also charges $0.25 for instant transfers on eligible accounts.

Network reach – Venmo can only be used in the United States, whereas PayPal has a global network and can be used internationally.

Payment types – PayPal and Venmo's payment options are the same — bank account, debit card, credit card, or from the respective app’s account balance.

Speed – PayPal and Venmo also have the same transfer speeds. Regular ACH transfers from your Venmo or PayPal balance can take anywhere between one to three days. There’s also the 30-minute instant transfer for some eligible accounts.

Safety – The major difference between PayPal and Venmo is the Buyer and Seller Protection that PayPal offers. PayPal empowers users to file disputes if something goes wrong when buying or selling products from independent sellers.

For more information about PayPal, check out our review.

Venmo vs. Apple Pay

What is Venmo and How Does it Work?

Apple Pay allows Apple users to send and receive money via an app. It's only compatible with the latest Apple Watch, Mac, iPhone, and iPad (iOS 11.2 or later). So, if you and your friends are Team Android, you may still need Venmo.

Like Venmo, Apple Pay is also accepted by a vast number of retailers. And similarly, Apple Pay users can make payments from their mobile devices by linking their credit and debit cards. Any payments made are verified with a passcode, Face ID, Touch ID, or a double-click on the side of your Apple Watch to ensure security.

Fees – Apple Pay doesn't charge you for debit card usage. However, there's a 3 percent fee if the funds come from your credit card.

Network Reach – Originally launched in the United States, Apple Pay has expanded its reach and is now available in the United Kingdom, Australia, Saudi Arabia, Russia, Brazil, Canada, the United Arab Emirates, Taiwan, Hong Kong, China, Montenegro, Serbia, New Zealand, Ukraine, Kazakhstan, Singapore, Georgia, Belarus, Japan, Macau, and all countries in the European Economic Area (EEA). That’s Apple for you.

Payment Types – Apple Pay supports many international payment methods—such as Mastercard (including Maestro), Visa (including Electron and V Pay), American Express, and Discover. That's as well as country-specific domestic payment schemes—for example, Australia's EFTPOS or China's UnionPay. However, you can only send money via messaging in the U.S.

Speed – As with Venmo, the money you receive in Apple Pay goes onto your in-app balance, which can then be transferred to your bank account. However, this can take up to three days.

Safety – Apple Pay has better security features than Venmo. Most notably,  two-factor authentication, a tokenized method for transactions, data security, and data privacy.

Venmo vs. Google Pay

What is Venmo and How Does it Work?

Google Pay is one of the leading (and cheapest) P2P apps on the list. It combines all of the features of Google Wallet and Android Pay in one unified place. Sending money to friends and family using this app is effortless. You just need to find the person via their name, email address, or phone number to get going.

Fees – Google Pay doesn't charge any fees for debit cards or bank transactions.

Network reach – As of 2020, Google Pay is currently available across 30 countries.

Payment types – Only debit cards or bank accounts can be used with Google Pay. Credit cards, PayPal accounts, and prepaid cards can't be used alongside Google Pay.

Speed – Google Pay sends and receives money within minutes, which is similar to Venmo’s instant transfer feature. However, it could take up to 24 hours, depending on your bank. Transfers made via bank accounts can take up to three business days.

Safety – Google Pay has a 24/7 fraud monitoring feature that gives you 100% coverage for verified, unauthorized transactions on your account. Any unauthorized purchases on your account need to be reported within 120 days.

Venmo vs. Revolut

What is Venmo and How Does it Work

With over 10 million users in Europe alone, Revolut is an innovative digital banking and currency exchange business that facilitates global spending and transfers at the best exchange rates. They offer a wide range of money transfer features along with other services for personal and business customers.

Revolut is available on both Apple and Google Play app stores.

Fees –  Opening an account and the same currency money transfers are free. For international transactions, regular wire transfer rates are applied. There's also a charge involved to use SWIFT.

Network Reach – Revolut is currently available in Switzerland, Australia, all the EEA countries, and in the United States.

Payment types – You can use bank accounts, debit and credit cards, and Apple pay.

Speed – Depending on the currency and transfer type, it takes anywhere between 1-5 days to receive the funds.

Safety – Revolut's anti-fraud system uses machine learning algorithms to detect suspicious transactions. In the case of a card loss, you can freeze or unfreeze your card in seconds.

FAQs

To round up this review, we're going to answer some frequently asked questions about Venmo:

Do you need a bank account for Venmo?

You need to link your bank account to transfer money. However, a recipient doesn't necessarily need a bank account as you can store your funds as your Venmo balance.

How do you pay someone on Venmo?

You can link your bank account, credit card, or debit card to your account and then search for the recipient using their email address or phone number. If they don't have a Venmo account, they need to create one to receive the money. You can also cancel the payment if the receiver doesn’t accept the money.

Is there a monthly fee for Venmo?

The app can mostly be used for free. However, there are two main Venmo charges:

  • A 3% transaction fee for credit card payments – Fortunately, this fee doesn’t apply for authorized merchant purchases.
  • A minimum of 25 cents to a maximum of 1% per transaction for instant transfers – These transfers are delivered within half an hour.

That's it where Venmo fees are concerned!

How does Venmo verify my identity?

To verify your identity, Venmo asks for your basic information like your legal name, date of birth, address, and SSN/ITIN. They may ask for some additional information if required, like:

  •       U.S. passport
  •       Driver license
  •       U.S. government-issued ID
  •       DHS card
  •       Tribal ID card

Are You Ready to Start Using Venmo?

After having read this review we hope we've managed to answer the question: What is Venmo and how does it work?

In short, Venmo is loaded with heaps of benefits, especially for people who are well-versed in handling all kinds of transactions using their smartphones. Overall, the app is easy to use and offers speedy payments in almost all types of scenarios.

Venmo is the perfect P2P platform if you're looking for a solution for paying friends and family. Most notably, for settling a bill or paying for a drink or coffee while you're on the go. It's not only intuitive, but it's also very social.

However, if you're more privacy-minded, you can simply adjust your transactions' visibility to fit your comfort level. Alternatively, you could opt to use any of the top Venmo.com alternatives listed above. Which will you decide? Either way, let us know in the comments box below!

Venmo
Rating: 4.5 - Review by

Rosie Greaves

Rosie Greaves is a professional content strategist who specializes in all things digital marketing, B2B, and lifestyle. In addition to e-commerce platforms, you can find her published on Reader's Digest, G2, and Judicious Inc. Check out her website Blog with Rosie for more information.