道德的电子商务访谈:利基与对扩大和品牌重塑的崇拜

我们采访了韩国自然美容零售商的创始人Michele Riley 利基与崇拜.

是什么促使您创办Niche&Cult?

这一切始于三十二年前,当时我的第一个孩子出生。 像任何母亲一样,我想保护和养育我所创造的小动物,然后我突然意识到许多日常用品中含有合成的有害化学物质。

因此,我的第一项业务是开发天然婴儿用品。 这种反应是电动的(这在当时素食被认为是极端的时候!),然后在2011年,我进入了自然美景世界(如果是我,是偶然的话)。 但是,它又一飞冲天,而我的品牌-魔芋海绵公司-现在是注册商标,销往世界各地。

在2018年,我们决定不妨将其他美容产品添加到我们的军械库中:我们拥有仓库,员工,联系人和客户,因此以这种方式扩展业务对我们而言毫无疑问。

我们的海绵在韩国生产,我们的魔芋工厂在那里生长。 韩国人真的很了解美容知识:他们几乎总是拥有美丽的皮肤,照顾好自己,而且年龄慢慢增长。 因此,我们迈向自然的韩国美女是顺理成章的一步,那时候我们 利基与崇拜.

您如何处理运输和履行?

我们的产品每月大约一次从韩国直接用集装箱运输。 当它们到达时总是有一定的挑战,因此我们大家都在卸下它们并将它们收起。

但是每天都会派遣。 挑选和包装它们是仓库的工作,然后三到四个不同的快递公司来收集它们。 我发现打印的发票仍然绝对必不可少:选择器将它们打勾一次,然后由包装员打勾。 对于客户来说,看到我们已经检查并再次检查他们是否得到了他们所订购的商品非常有用。

美容行业发展迅速:您如何跟上最新发展?

进行贸易展览,研究并在韩国拥有许多出色的品牌联系方式。

但是直觉也很重要。 品牌每周都会为我提供新产品,但我一直在寻找能带来出色效果的特殊产品。 我一直觉得自己的业务优势是成为普通的购物者:如果我被迫尝试购买某种产品,那么其他人也可能也会这样做。 到目前为止,平均水平已经获得回报!

您如何发展该网站?

社交媒体一直是我们的首选,特别是 Instagram。 But when we launched The Konjac Sponge Co back in 2011, it was all about Twitter: it was me, personally, engaging with bloggers, influencers and makeup artists.但是当我们在XNUMX年推出The Konjac Sponge Co时,一切都与Twitter有关:个人是我,与博客作者,网红和化妆师互动。 And we still have some great contacts from the people we met in those days.那时我们遇到的人们仍然保持着良好的联系。

我们也一直在关注可以输入产品的奖项。 它们可能很昂贵,但是无论我们是否获胜,他们都会把我们的产品放在那里。

现在,我们将启动一个忠诚度计划,该计划鼓励客户留下评论,赚取积分并定期返回我们。 赢得客户很困难,但保持忠诚度就更加困难。 因此,我们非常关注满意的客户!

Niche&Cult面临的最大挑战是什么?

对我们来说,最大的问题是将公司名称从Konjac Sponge Co更改为Niche&Cult:没有人知道我们是谁,我们需要将流量吸引到新领域。 我没有准备跟上最新算法有多难! 我们没有技术团队,所以我们必须外包,但这是非常昂贵的,而且有这么多人冷落地试图让您出售自己的技能,这是一个雷区。 在过去20年中,技术如何发生了变化……

解决这些问题的主要方法是提供优惠,例如我们当前的“锁定箱”,则客户只需为价值20英镑以上的产品支付60英镑。 显然,这是无利可图的,我们将其作为一种营销活动来进行:客户加入我们的数据库,喜欢这些产品,并在社交媒体上大喊大叫。

告诉我们您使用的技术。

我们公司贯穿 偷跑。 自2013年以来,我就一直在他们身边,他们得到了如此巨大的支持:我喜欢在队伍的尽头有真正的人。 它链接到我们 Xero的 帐户页面以及Shopify和 Magento的,从而节省了很多时间和精力。

使用KSC,我们已经切换到 Shopify,尽管价格昂贵,但绝对是神话般的。 但是,每当有交易发生时,我的手机都会发出声音让我知道的话,这无与伦比! 我也喜欢分析,能够看到站点上的实时交互,并且能够在站点之间切换。 但是,绝对有可能迷失方向,而最终花费大量财富的试用应用程序!

其他日常必需品是:

您会给刚开始从事电子商务的人有什么建议?

不要只期望您的商店能够正常工作! 这需要很多小时的辛苦工作(这不是9-5的工作),而且运气还不错!

永远不要认为你比任何人都强。 把自己放在客户的鞋子上,记住客户服务就是一切:他们付您的薪水,所以您应该听他们的。 即使在今天,我仍然收到一位客户的电子邮件,该客户认为我们网站上的一个词(“极端”)具有误导性:过去十年来我们一直在使用该词,但我还是听了,退还了她以保持她的快乐,并改变了想法。这个单词。

最后,对他人的建议持开放态度,但要以见解而非福音为准,然后听听您的直觉:通常这是正确的。

您认为未来会是什么样:电子商务以及Niche&Cult?

这是一个很大的问题,我很难回答:我不知道未来会怎样。 但是我确实知道事情不会回到原来的样子。 我们对消费者的直接销售已急剧增加,而且似乎人们比以往任何时候都希望讨价还价。 我们发现,越来越多的人注册为帐户持有客户,从而扩大了我们的电子邮件数据库。

但是生意就像个孩子。 您不能仅仅断定十年后您希望它变成6英尺2英寸,一头金发,一头棕色的眼睛:它将有机地进化。 我将顺应变化,拥抱发展,并随着发展而不断发展。 当然,这是它激动的一部分?

告诉我们一些启发您的艺术!

我是的忠实粉丝 Maria Svarbova,一位了不起的斯洛伐克摄影师(请检查一下她 Instagram)。 她的影像从字面上吸引了我:它们之间有些困扰。 我在家中的墙上有她的两个原始作品,它们激发了我放慢脚步,每天反思。

这是我们系列中另一个与道德在线企业家交谈的访谈:我们希望他们对任何试图找到自己的生意之路的人有所帮助和鼓舞。 在下面的评论中让我们知道您的想法!

Ethical Ecommerce Interviews: Niche & Cult on Expanding and Rebranding

We spoke to Michele Riley, founder of Korean natural beauty retailer Niche & Cult.

What inspired you to start Niche & Cult?

It all started thirty two years ago, when my first child was born. Like any mother, I wanted to protect and nurture the small being I’d created, and I suddenly became aware of the synthetic, harmful chemicals that are in so many everyday products.

So, my first venture was into natural baby products. This response was electric (this was at a time when being vegetarian was considered extreme!) and then in 2011 I sidestepped into the natural beauty world (by accident, If I’m honest). But again, it rocketed, and my brand—The Konjac Sponge Co—is now a registered trademark, sold all over the world.

In 2018 we decided we might as well add some other beauty products to our arsenal: we have the warehousing, staff, contacts and customers, so it was a no-brainer for us to expand the business this way.

Our sponges are manufactured in South Korea, where our Konjac plants grow. The South Koreans really know their stuff when it comes to beauty: they almost always have beautiful skin, they take good care of themselves, and they age slowly. So it was a logical step forward for us to move into natural, Korean beauty, and that’s when we became Niche & Cult.

How do you handle shipping and fulfilment?

Our products are all shipped by container direct from South Korea about once a month. It’s always a bit of a challenge when they arrive, so we all muck in unloading them and putting them away.

But the dispatches are daily. Picking and packing them is a job for the warehouse, and then three or four different courier firms come and collect them. I’ve found that printed invoices are still absolutely essential: they’re ticked once by the picker, then again by the packer. It’s so helpful for the customer to see that we’ve checked and double checked that they’re getting what they ordered.

The beauty industry develops rapidly: how do you keep up with the latest advancements?

Trade shows, research and having a wonderful bunch of brand contacts in South Korea.

But gut instinct is also really important. Brands offer me new products every week, but I’m always looking for that special something that gives great results. I’ve always felt that one of my strengths in business is being the average shopper: if I feel compelled to try or buy a product, others probably will too. So far, being average has paid off!

How have you grown the site?

Social media has always been our go-to, especially Instagram. But when we launched The Konjac Sponge Co back in 2011, it was all about Twitter: it was me, personally, engaging with bloggers, influencers and makeup artists. And we still have some great contacts from the people we met in those days.

We’re also always keeping an eye out for awards we can enter our products for. They might be costly, but whether we win or not, they put our products out there.

Now we’re about to start a loyalty scheme that encourages customers to leave reviews, earn points and return to us regularly. Getting customers is hard, but retaining their loyalty is even harder. So we’re very much focused on happy customers!

What are the biggest challenges Niche & Cult has faced?

The biggest issue for us has been changing the name of the business from the Konjac Sponge Co to Niche & Cult: no one knew who we were, and we needed to get traffic to the new domain. I wasn’t prepared for how hard it is to keep up with the latest algorithms! We don’t have a tech team, so we have to outsource, but that’s very costly, and with so many people cold-emailing you trying to sell you their skills, it’s a minefield. How technology has changed over the last 20 years…

The main way we’re overcoming these issues is by providing great offers, like our current “lockdown boxes,” where the customer pays just £20 for over £60 worth of products. Obviously this isn’t profitable, we’re doing it as a marketing exercise: the customers join our database, love the products, and shout about them on social media.

Tell us about the tech you use.

Our company runs through Unleashed. I’ve been with them since 2013, and they’ve been such a huge support: I love how there are real people at the end of the line. It links to our Xero accounts page, as well as Shopify and Magento, which saves so much time and effort.

With KSC we’ve just switched to Shopify, which, although quite expensive, is absolutely fabulous. But nothing beats the feeling when my phone pings to let me know every time there’s been a sale! I also love the analytics, being able to see live interaction on the site, and having the ability to switch from site to site. But it’s definitely possible to get carried away and trial apps that end up costing a fortune!

Other daily essentials are:

What advice would you give to someone who’s just starting out in ecommerce?

Don’t just expect your store to work! It takes many hours of hard work (it’s not a 9-5 job) and a whole lot of luck!

Never think you’re better than anyone else. Put yourself in the customer’s shoes and remember customer service is everything: they pay your salary, so you should listen to them. Even today I received an email from a customer who felt one word on our website (“extreme”) was misleading: we’d been using that word for the last ten years, but I listened, refunded her to keep her happy, and changed the word.

Finally, be open to advice from others, but take it as an opinion, not gospel, and then listen to your gut: it’s usually right.

What do you think the future will look like: for ecommerce, and for Niche & Cult?

That’s a big question, and one I find difficult to answer: I have no idea what the future holds. But I do know that things aren’t going to go back to exactly how they were. Our direct to consumer sales have drastically increased, and it seems that people want more bargains than ever. We’ve found that more people are signing up as account holding customers, expanding our email database.

But business is like a child. You can’t just decide that in ten years’ time you want it to be 6ft 2” with blonde hair and brown eyes: it’ll evolve organically. I’ll roll with the changes, embrace the development, and nurture it as it grows. That’s part of the thrill of it, surely?

Tell us about some art that has inspired you!

I’m a huge fan of Maria Svarbova, an incredible Slovakian photographer (check her out on Instagram). Her images literally entrance me: there’s something so haunting about them. I have two of her original pieces on my wall at home, and they inspire me to slow down and reflect every day.

This is another interview in our series speaking to ethical online entrepreneurs: we hope they’ll be helpful and inspirational for anyone trying to find their way in business. Let us know your thoughts in the comments below!