مقابلات التجارة الإلكترونية الأخلاقية: ورقة كارست ستون حول أهمية بناء الفريق المناسب

تحدثنا إلى كيفين جارسيا ، المؤسس المشارك والرئيس التنفيذي المشارك لـ ورق حجر كارست (الذي أطلق للتو موقعًا جديدًا جميلًا: خذ نظرة!). بعد مواجهة الورق الحجري أثناء السفر في آسيا ، اكتشف طريقة لتحويلها إلى قرطاسية جميلة ومستدامة.

ما الذي ألهمك لبدء Karst؟

بدأ الأمر في أوائل عام 2016 عندما كنت أسافر عبر سنغافورة وتايوان. لقد صادفت هذه المواد الجديدة نسبيًا والمصنوعة من نفايات الحجر المعاد تدويرها وادعت أنها "ورق بلا أوراق": لقد كنت مفتونًا بها على الفور.

في ذلك الوقت ، تم استخدامه بشكل رئيسي لتغليف المواد الغذائية ، بسبب خصائصه المقاومة للماء ، لكنني كنت أعلم أنه يمكنني تحويلها إلى قرطاسية. لكن الأمر كان معقدًا ، لأن خصائص الورق الحجري مختلفة تمامًا عن الورق العادي. حقيقة أنها مقاومة للماء تعني أن كل جانب من جوانب عملية التصنيع يتأثر: يجب علينا استخدام مواد لاصقة وأحبار وطرق ربط محددة ، وبعد سنوات من الاختبار ، ما زلنا نعمل على تحسين العملية باستمرار.

لذا ، تستغرق منتجاتنا وقتًا أطول قليلاً من المنتجات الثابتة العادية ، ولكننا نفخر بإنشاء منتجات ذات جودة أفضل لها تأثير طويل الأمد على عملائنا.

أخبرنا عن كيفية نمو Karst في البداية ، في مقابل كيفية العثور على عملائك والتفاعل معهم الآن.

أول عملية بيع على الإطلاق كانت من أول رسالة إلكترونية أرسلناها! لقد جمعت بعض رسائل البريد الإلكتروني من بعض الحملات الإعلانية المباشرة.

في الوقت الحاضر ، نستخدم القنوات الإعلانية القياسية ، مثل Facebook و Instagram ، ولكن نظرًا لتغير سلوكيات السوق والمستهلك ، فإننا نستكشف بعض السبل المختلفة هذا العام ، مثل شبكات Paid Affiliate وإعلانات Tik-Tok.

ما هي أكبر التحديات التي واجهتها كارست؟

إن بناء مشروع تجاري يشبه القفز من الطائرة وبناء مظلة في الطريق إلى الأسفل: أو على الأقل هذا ما أشعر به!

كان التحدي الأكبر بالنسبة لنا هو العثور على أفضل المواهب لمساعدتنا على النمو وبناء فريقنا. إنه لأمر مدهش كم يمكنك تحقيقه مع عدد قليل من الأشخاص الرئيسيين ، ولذا فقد خصصنا وقتنا للتأكد من أننا نوظف أشخاصًا ممتازين في ما يفعلونه ويتناسبون معنا جيدًا. لدينا موظفين في لندن ولوس أنجلوس وسيدني - ثلاث مناطق زمنية مختلفة - وقد يكون من الصعب جدًا إدارة مثل هذا الفريق المتنوع. البرنامج هو المفتاح!

أخبرنا عن التكنولوجيا التي تستخدمها.

Shopify كانت منصتنا الأساسية منذ اليوم الأول ، أعتقد أنها مثالية لأي متجر للتجارة الإلكترونية بدأ للتو. فترة ركود كان إضافة رائعة لمجموعة الأدوات: إنه ضروري لأي اتصالات داخلية أو مع المقاولين أو الوكالات. نحن نستخدم أيضا Klaviyo و جبهة للبريد الإلكتروني ، و أسانا للمهام.

يجب أن يكون الحصان الأسود في مجموعة الأدوات FIGMA: لقد كان البرنامج الأكثر فعالية بالنسبة لنا خلال الوباء ، حيث سمح لفريق التصميم لدينا بالتعاون بسرعة فائقة.

أخبرنا عن الشراكة مع المنظمات الأخرى للحد من تأثيرك على البيئة.

بالإضافة إلى إزالة المواد النباتية من عملية الإنتاج لدينا ، أردنا التأكد من أن كل عملية بيع تساهم فعليًا في جهود إعادة التحريج: لهذا السبب نتعاون مع زرعت شجرة واحدة لزراعة شجرة لكل دفتر تم بيعه. نحن نعمل أيضًا مع الكربون محايد لضمان تعويض الأثر الكربوني الكامل لشركتنا. لذا ، يساعدنا مكتب المدعي العام على المساهمة عالميًا ، بينما يقع Carbon Neutral في فنائنا الخلفي ، إذا جاز التعبير.

ما النصيحة التي قد تقدمها لشخص بدأ للتو في التجارة الإلكترونية؟

لإدارة نشاط تجاري ، لا تحتاج إلى أن تكون الشخص الأكثر ذكاءً مع الفكرة الأكثر ابتكارًا بأحدث الأدوات (على الرغم من أنه قد يبدو الأمر كذلك في بعض الأحيان): تحتاج فقط إلى بناء أخلاقيات العمل. سيكون هناك إخفاقات وأخطاء كل يوم ، وسيبدو البعض أنهم سينهون عملك هناك ثم. ولكن حتى في هذه اللحظات ، إذا كان لديك قناعة وقدرة على التحمل للعمل على حل المشاكل شيئًا فشيئًا ، فسيكون عملك ناجحًا.

نصيحة أخرى: قبل الاستعانة بمصادر خارجية للمساعدة ، ابذل قصارى جهدك للتأكد من أن لديك فهمًا عمليًا لكل جزء من عملك. سواءً كان التسويق أو المحاسبة أو تصميم الويب ، فإن تعلم الأساسيات الأساسية لكل جزء من عملك يساعدك حقًا على الشعور بالتحكم والقدرة على تحديد الاتجاه والتخطيط والميزانية بشكل فعال.

ما هو رأيك في المستقبل بالنسبة للتجارة الإلكترونية؟

سيكون مستقبل التجارة الإلكترونية مدفوعًا بالذكاء الاصطناعي والواقع الافتراضي. نشهد بالفعل تطورات هائلة في تجربة المستهلكين للمنتج رقميًا مع الواقع الافتراضي في متاجر Apple ، والجديد توريد Yeezy موقع الكتروني. ستتمثل الخطوة التالية للأمام في تكرار تجربة الشراء داخل المتجر بأكبر قدر ممكن عبر الإنترنت ، مع تمكن العملاء من معالجة منتج وعرضه من جميع الزوايا ، وفتحه ، وما إلى ذلك. نحن نتطلع بالفعل إلى إدخال بعض المفاهيم المتقدمة في متجرنا الجديد عبر الإنترنت ، مثل منشئي المنتجات مع العروض ثلاثية الأبعاد.

أخبرنا عن قطعة فنية ألهمتك!

لقد قرأت مؤخرًا سيرة روبرت إيغر ، الرئيس التنفيذي السابق لشركة ديزني (رحلة العمر: دروس في القيادة الإبداعية) ، الذي يكتب فيه عن زيارته إلى Pixar Studios في أيامه الأولى ومدى تأثيره عليه بشكل خلاق. إنه لأمر مدهش أن استوديو صغير مثل Pixar كان قادرًا على إنتاج محتوى إبداعي استثنائي تجاوز خبرة ديزني. كان لدى بيكسار الفريق المناسب ، بقيادة الأشخاص المناسبين ، للقيام بالأمور الصحيحة. كل شيء ممكن مع الأشخاص المناسبين من حولك.

Ethical Ecommerce Interviews: Karst Stone Paper on the Importance of Building the Right Team

We spoke to Kevin Garcia, co-founder and co-CEO of Karst Stone Paper (who’ve just launched a beautiful new website: take a gander!). After encountering stone paper while travelling in Asia, he figured out a way to turn it into beautiful, sustainable stationery.

What inspired you to start Karst?

It started back in early 2016 when I was travelling through Singapore and Taiwan. I came across this relatively new material which was made from recycled stone waste and claimed to be ‘treeless paper:” I was immediately fascinated by it.

At the time, it was mainly used for food packaging, because of its waterproof properties, but I knew I could turn it into stationery. But it was complicated, because the properties of stone paper are completely different to regular paper. The fact that it’s waterproof means every single aspect of the manufacturing process is affected: we have to use specific glues, inks, and binding methods, and after years of testing, we’re still constantly improving the process.

So our products take a little longer to produce than regular stationary, but we pride ourselves on creating better quality products that have a longer-lasting impact on our consumers.

Tell us about how you grew Karst at the very start, versus how you find and engage with your customers now.

Our first ever sale was from the first ever email we sent out! I’d collected a few emails from some direct advertising campaigns.

Nowadays we use the standard advertising channels, like Facebook and Instagram, but because the marketplace and consumer behaviours are changing, we’re exploring some different avenues this year, like Paid Affiliate networks and Tik-Tok ads.

What are the biggest challenges Karst has faced?

Building a business is like jumping out of a plane and building a parachute on the way down: or at least that’s how I feel!

The biggest challenge for us has been finding the best talent to help us grow and build out our team. It’s amazing how much you can accomplish with a few key people, and so we’ve taken our time to make sure we hire people who are excellent at what they do and fit in well with us. We have staff in London, Los Angeles and Sydney—three different time zones—and it can get quite challenging managing such a diverse team. Software is key!

Tell us about the tech you use.

Shopify has been our base platform since day one, I think it’s perfect for any ecommerce store that’s just starting out. Slack has been a great addition to the tool kit: it’s essential for any comms both internally and with contractors or agencies. We also use Klaviyo and Front for email, and Asana for tasks.

The dark horse of the toolkit has to be Figma: it's been the most effective piece of software for us during the pandemic, as it’s allowed our design team to collaborate at super speed.

Tell us about partnering with other organisations to reduce your environmental impact.

On top of removing plant materials from our production process, we wanted to make sure each sale actually contributes to reforestation efforts: that’s why we partner with One Tree Planted to plant a tree for every notebook sold. We also work with Carbon Neutral to ensure that our company’s entire carbon footprint is being offset. So OTP helps us contribute globally, while Carbon Neutral is in our own backyard, so to speak.

What advice would you give to someone who’s just starting out in ecommerce?

To run a business, you don’t need to be the most brilliant person with the most innovative idea with the latest gadgets (although it may feel like it sometimes): you just need to build the work ethic. There will be failures and mistakes every single day, and some will seem like they’ll end your business there and then. But even in these moments, if you have the conviction and stamina to work on problems little by little, your business will be a success.

Another piece of advice: before outsourcing for help, try your best to make sure you have a working understanding of every part of your business. Whether it’s marketing, accounting or web design, learning the very basics of every part of your business really helps you feel more in control and able to set the direction, plan, and budget effectively.

What do you think the future will look like for ecommerce?

The future of ecommerce is going to be driven by AI and VR. We’re already seeing huge advancements in consumers ‘experiencing” the product digitally with VR at Apple stores, and the new Yeezy Supply website. The next step forwards will be replicating the in-store buying experience as closely as possible online, with customers being able to manipulate a product and view it from all angles, open it, and so on. We’re actually looking at bringing in a few advanced concepts into our new online store, like product builders with 3D renders.

Tell us about a piece of art that has inspired you!

I recently read the biography of Robert Iger, the former CEO of Disney (The Ride of a Lifetime: Lessons in Creative Leadership), in which he writes about his visit to Pixar Studios in its early days and how much impact that had on him creatively. It’s amazing that a studio as small as Pixar was able to produce extraordinary creative content that surpassed Disney’s expertise. Pixar had the right team, led by the right people, doing the right things. Anything is possible with the right people around you.