ما هو الجرد؟

ماذا يعني المخزون؟

ما هو الجرد؟

يمكن أن يكون التعريف الأساسي:

"كمية أو قيمة المخزون الحالي لـ الصانع or متاجر التجزئة. يمكن أن يشمل ذلك المواد الخام والأجزاء التي سيتم استخدامها لاحقًا في عملية التصنيع. تعد إدارة المخزون أمرًا حيويًا للتشغيل السلس للأعمال التجارية ، ويلزم علم إدارة المخزون لضمان عمل شبكة التوريد الخاصة بك بدون عوائق ".

المخزون هو جميع المكونات المستخدمة في الإنتاج أو المبيعات في عملك. الأمر متروك لك كقائد أعمال للتأكد من أنك تمارس دائمًا استراتيجيات إدارة المخزون الصحيحة للحفاظ على الكمية المناسبة من المخزون في متناول اليد.

يمكن أن يشير الفعل "جرد" أيضًا إلى فعل سرد أو جرد العناصر المتوفرة في بيئة الأعمال. من خلال الاحتفاظ بمخزون ما يحدث مع عدد الأصول الحالية ، يمكن للشركات التأكد من استعدادها لخدمة العملاء بالعدد الصحيح من المنتجات النهائية.

ما هي إدارة المخزون؟

ادارة المخزون لن يشمل فقط التحكم في كمية المخزون لديك ولكن الوقت اللازم لتجديد المخزون وإدارة الأصول وتحمل تكاليف المخزون والتنبؤ والرؤية والمساحة المادية للمخزون وإرجاع البضائع المعيبة والتقييم والسعر المستقبلي التوقع. عندما تحرص على التأكد من الاهتمام بكل هذه التفاصيل ، فسيكون مخزونك دائمًا متوازنًا ولن ينفد المخزون أبدًا. يعتبر معدل دوران المخزون أحد أهم جوانب الأعمال التجارية حيث أنه مسؤول عن توليد النقد ، وبالتالي الأرباح.

قد يشمل تعريفك للمخزون أيضًا التعرض لمصطلحات مثل "عملية الجرد" أو "جرد المخزون". عملية الجرد هي الحل الذي يتتبع المخزون عندما تستلمه الشركات وتستخدمه وتديره كعمل قيد التقدم. تتعقب عملية المخزون دورة حياة البضائع والمواد الخام التي تتحرك خلال عملك.

بدلاً من ذلك ، يشير جرد المخزون إلى عملية جرد العناصر التي تحتفظ بها في المخزن لمخزونك. قد ينظر الجرد أيضًا في حالة العناصر ويحتفظ بهذه المعلومات مخزنة حتى تتمكن من التحقق منها في وقت لاحق. تقيم أعداد المخزون وضع المخزون الخاص بك ، ولكنها تساعدك أيضًا على تحديد الأسهم التي تتحرك بشكل جيد.

أمثلة على الجرد

لا يعد مخزون الأعمال التجارية أكثر من المواد الخام والأجزاء والسلع النهائية المحفوظة في الموقع أو في مستودعاته. يمكن أيضًا الاحتفاظ بالمخزون على الشحنة ، وهو عندما يحتفظ طرف ثالث بمخزون لنشاط تجاري حتى يتم بيع البضائع. يتم الإبلاغ عن المخزون كأصل في الميزانية العمومية للأعمال ، وهو أ buffer بين مراحل التصنيع وتنفيذ الطلبات. بمجرد بيع المخزون ، أو استخدامه في عملية التصنيع ، تتدفق تكلفة حمله إلى تكلفة البضائع المباعة في البيان المحاسبي.

هناك ثلاثة أنواع مختلفة من المخزون يمكن تتبعها ؛ المواد الخام والعمل الجاري والسلع النهائية.

  • المواد الخام هي مواد البدء الخام التي تغذي عملية التصنيع. المواد الخام هي أشياء مثل المعادن التي تستخدمها شركات الصلب أو السيارات ، أو المواد الغذائية والتوابل التي يستخدمها مصنعو الأغذية.
  • إن العمل قيد التقدم هو أي شيء تم معالجته جزئيًا ، ولكنه لم يتم بعد اكتماله. وهذا يشمل سيارة لم يتم تجميعها بالكامل ، أو عجين خام في مصنع لصنع الخبز أو الكعك ، من بين أشياء أخرى.
  • مرت البضائع النهائية بجميع خطوات التصنيع وهي جاهزة لبيعها لتجار الجملة أو الموزعين أو المستهلكين. تشمل الأمثلة السيارات الجاهزة وأجهزة الكمبيوتر وأجهزة التلفزيون ورغيف الخبز الذي تشتريه من متجر البقالة المحلي.

قد ترسل شركة الحرف اليدوية التي تبيع الأواني قدرًا إلى العميل في صندوق مكتمل ، مع بطاقة تشرح ما يتطلبه صنع العنصر. تتضمن تكلفة البضائع للمنتج النهائي تكاليف كل شيء بدءًا من تطبيق الباركود إلى شحن المنتج إلى العملاء.

تدرك الشركات أن الاحتفاظ بكمية كبيرة من المخزون لفترة طويلة من الزمن ليس ممارسة تجارية جيدة. يمكن أن يؤدي إلى التلف أو التقادم ويمكن أن يكون مكلفًا جدًا. بالطبع ليس من الجيد الاحتفاظ بمخزون ضئيل للغاية ، لأن الأعمال التجارية قد تفقد بعض حصة السوق المحتملة والمبيعات. إن تحقيق التوازن هو المفتاح ، وقد أدى ذلك إلى دور إدارة المخزون داخل مؤسسات التصنيع ، حيث كان نظام جرد في وقت (JIT) هو الطريقة المفضلة لإدارة مستويات المخزون.

أنواع أخرى من الجرد

ستعتمد الأنواع الأخرى من العناصر التي قد يتم تضمينها في مخزون متوسط ​​على نوع العمل الذي تديره. قد تشمل الخيارات:

  • بضائع MRO: متطلبات الصيانة والإصلاح والتشغيل
  • مواد التعبئة والتغليف: مادة التغليف التي تستخدمها لإرسال المنتج إلى العميل. يتضمن ذلك العبوة الأولية التي يأتي بها المنتج ، أو سيتم عرضها على رف ، بالإضافة إلى عبوة إضافية للشحن.
  • مخزون السلامة: هذا هو المخزون الإضافي الذي تحتفظ به في متناول اليد في حالة زيادة الطلب. على سبيل المثال ، قد يكون لدى الطبيب البيطري مضادات حيوية إضافية في ممارسته ، فقط في حالة.
  • جرد متوقع أو متجانس: لخفض التكاليف ، يمكنك شراء مخزون إضافي خارج أوقات الذروة. على سبيل المثال ، يمكن لمخطط الأحداث شراء مفارش المائدة بعد انتهاء موسم الزفاف في يونيو.
  • جرد منفصل: فصل المخزون هو المخزون الإضافي الذي قد تحتاجه لإنهاء العمل إذا حدث خطأ ما. على سبيل المثال ، قد يحتفظ المخبز بمخازن إضافية من تصاميم السكر في متناول اليد في حالة نفاد الصقيع من الفريق.
  • تكاليف المخزون النظري: إذا كنت تهدف إلى إنفاق 40٪ من ميزانيتك على مستلزمات التصنيع ، واكتشفت أنك أنفقت 42٪ ، فإن 2٪ سيكون المخزون النظري الذي فقد أو تعرض للتلف.
  • جرد الدورة: باتباع ممارسة المخزون الوارد أولاً يصرف أولاً يصرف أولاً ، عند استعراض كل التوريد الخاص بك لمخزون واحد ، فإن المخزون المُدَوَّر سوف يملأ العرض احتياطيًا مرة أخرى. على سبيل المثال ، بمجرد نفاد الورق ، سيعود مخزونك المعتاد من الورق إلى فتحة الورق في مخزونك.
  • جرد الخدمة: يعتمد مخزون الخدمة على حجم الأعمال التي من المحتمل أن تقوم بها. إذا كان لديك مقهى يفتح 10 ساعات في اليوم مع 12 طاولة ، يتسع كل منها لعميل لمدة ساعة واحدة ، فإن متوسط ​​مخزون الخدمة سيكون 120 وجبة لكل يوم.
  • جرد العبور: إذا اشتريت 20 فستانًا لمتجر الملابس الخاص بك ، فستكون الفساتين في الطريق إليك من المورد الخاص بك في حالة عبور.
  • جرد فائض: إذا أنتجت مجموعة مختارة من 500 مطبوعة خاصة لمتجر فني ، وقمت ببيع 300 فقط ، فإن الـ 200 مطبوعة ببساطة لا تحظى بأي اهتمام إضافي ، فستكون زائدة.

جرد متخصص لرأس معين

فهم احتياجاتك كشركة تجارة إلكترونية والحفاظ على جميع التروس الصحيحة في الوقت الفعلي مع حل إدارة المخزون يتطلب الكثير من الجهد. من المهم أن تفهم الآن كيف يعمل المخزون ، ولكن كيف يعمل لشركتك المحددة.

على سبيل المثال ، في التصنيع ، قد يتضمن مخزونك لعمليات الأعمال الصغيرة أشياء مثل العناصر الموجودة في المخزون والمواد الخام والمكونات المستخدمة في صنع البضائع الخاصة بك. يراقب المصنعون عن كثب مستويات المخزون ويعملون في العملية لضمان عدم وجود نقص في العمل.

سوف المحاسبين بشكل عام diviمخزون التصنيع في العمل الجاري ، والمواد الخام ، والسلع التامة الصنع ، لأن جميع أنواع المخزون المختلفة تأتي بتكاليف مختلفة يجب وضعها في الاعتبار.

في صناعة الخدمات ، قد تكون طرق المحاسبة مختلفة. في مشهد الخدمة ، يكون مخزونك الذي يلائم طلب العملاء غير ملموس. على سبيل المثال ، قد يتضمن مخزون شركة محاماة أي ملفات تقوم بإنشائها للعملاء ، وأوراق تُطبع عليها المستندات.

أفضل ممارسات الجرد

تعني إدارة شركة ناجحة فهم مخزونك ، والتأكد من أن لديك سلسلة إمداد قوية ، واستراتيجية لإدارة مخزونك. تعني الإدارة الجيدة للمخزون وجود إستراتيجية ، من LIFO إلى FIFO ، ومعرفة كيفية تجنب نفاد المخزون ، والمزيد. مع استمرارك في العمل مع الموزعين واكتشاف كيفية عمل مخزونك ، ستبدأ في تطوير ممارسات أفضل للحفاظ على الكفاءة. تتضمن بعض الاستراتيجيات الجيدة ما يلي:

  • استخدام مخزون الأمان: وجود buffer سيساعدك المخزون الموجود في مكانه على التعامل مع تقلبات الطلب عندما تتلقى طلبات أكثر مما تتوقع.
  • الاستثمار في أدوات حساب المخزون: سيساعدك استخدام الأدوات المستندة إلى مجموعة النظراء لإدارة المخزون على تتبع مكان كل منتج و SKU. هذا يساعدك على السيطرة الكاملة على المخزون.
  • بدء العد دورة: توفر لك هذه العملية الوقت والمال من خلال التأكد من أنه يمكنك تتبع دورات المبيعات والحفاظ على رضا العملاء.
  • استخدام تتبع الدُفعات والصفقات تأكد من أنك تقوم دائمًا بتسجيل المعلومات المرتبطة بكل دفعة ودفعة من المنتج. قد تستخدم بعض الشركات تفاصيل دقيقة ، مع تواريخ انتهاء الصلاحية ، بينما تستخدم الشركات الأخرى فقط تتبع الدُفعات والقطع لتتبع فترات الصلاحية.

إدارة المخزون الخاص بك

تعد محاسبة وتسجيل المخزون الجيد جزءًا مهمًا من إدارة الأعمال الناجحة. يمكنك تسجيل المخزون بشكل دوري أو دائم باستخدام نظام إدارة المخزون الخاص بك. إذا كنت تستخدم محاسبة دورية في برنامج إدارة المخزون الخاص بك ، فسوف تقوم بحساب المخزون في أوقات معينة. الحل الدائم أبسط قليلاً لأنك تتبع تغييرات المخزون عند حدوثها.

يمكنك أيضًا مراقبة معدل دوران المخزون الخاص بك عن كثب باستخدام التكنولوجيا المناسبة. سيعطيك هذا نظرة ثاقبة على أشياء مثل المهلة الزمنية وما إذا كان يجب عليك استخدام استراتيجيات أولًا أو أخيرًا لشحن عناصر المخزون.

يعد إجراء تحليل المخزون على مستويات المخزون أمرًا مهمًا أيضًا ، حيث سيوضح لك كيف يتغير الطلب على منتجاتك بمرور الوقت ، ويستخدم نموذج شائع لتحليل المخزون طريقة ABC. هذا يعني أنك تعيد ترتيب البضائع الخاصة بك إلى ثلاث فئات:

  • المستوى: يتضمن المخزون أي منتجات مبيعًا لا تتطلب مساحة كبيرة للتخزين. يمثل هذا حوالي 20٪ من مخزونك الإجمالي.
  • المستوى ب: تتحرك هذه العناصر بمعدل مماثل للعناصر "أ" ، ولكنها تكلف أكثر للتخزين بشكل عام. يمثل هذا حوالي 40٪ من مخزونك.
  • المستوى C.: على المستوى C ، تقوم بحساب مخزونك المتبقي ، والذي قد يكون أكثر تكلفة في التخزين ، وإرجاع هامش ربح أقل.

يستفيد تحليل ABC من مبدأ 80/20 ويكشف أن 20٪ من مخزونك يجب أن يسلم ما يصل إلى 80٪ من أرباحك. قد تحتاج الشركات إلى التركيز على هذه العناصر عندما تحاول جني المزيد من الأرباح بسرعة.

فوائد تحليل المخزون الجيد

يسمح لك تحليل المخزون الجيد بتتبع كمية المخزون لديك بالفعل ، حتى تعرف أنك جاهز بالفعل لمعالجة طلب العملاء. ومع ذلك ، هناك أيضًا مجموعة من الفوائد الأخرى التي يجب استكشافها أيضًا ، مثل:

  • تحسين التدفق النقدي: يوضح لك تحليل المخزون العناصر التي تبيعها أكثر من غيرها ، بحيث يمكنك إنفاق الأموال على الأشياء التي تتحرك بسرعة.
  • انخفاض المخزون: عندما تعرف المخزون الأكثر أهمية لعملائك ، يمكنك توقع الطلب بشكل أكثر فعالية.
  • زيادة رضا العملاء: يوفر تحليل المخزون رؤية أفضل لكيفية شراء المستهلكين للسلع.
  • تقليل النفايات: معرفة ما يحتاجه عملاؤك وكيفية شرائهم يقلل من الحاجة إلى تخزين المنتجات الزائدة. هذا يضمن أن يكون لديك إستراتيجية أفضل لاستخدام الموارد.
  • تقليل التأخيرات: سيساعدك فهم مهل المورد على تحديد وقت إعادة ترتيب مخزونك لتقليل الشحنات المتأخرة.
  • تحسين الأسعار من البائعين والموردين: إذا طلبت كميات أكبر من المنتجات بشكل منتظم ، يمكنك التفاوض للحصول على خصومات.
  • يوسع فهم عملك: ستحصل على نظرة ثاقبة لعملائك وكيف يعمل عملك.

إنهاء قضايا الجرد: شروط يجب معرفتها

يمكن أن تتضمن استراتيجية إدارة المخزون الفعالة مجموعة متنوعة من الأدوات والممارسات المختلفة. كلما زادت معرفتك بمخزونك ، أصبح من الأسهل اتخاذ قرارات تفيد عملك وتحقق نتائج إيجابية على المدى الطويل.

فيما يلي بعض المصطلحات القيمة التي يجب وضعها في الاعتبار عند استكشاف خيارات المخزون الخاصة بك.

  • توقعات الطلب: يشير التنبؤ بالطلب إلى عملية محاولة التنبؤ بطلب العملاء من خلال النظر في اتجاهات المخزون الدائمة. يمكنك فحص أشياء مثل التأثير الترويجي والموسمية ومعرفة ما إذا كان لها تأثير على المبيعات. يمكن أن يساعدك توقع الطلب على ضمان أن لديك مخزونًا كافيًا ، دون الإفراط في الشراء.
  • ادارة المخزون: تسمح لك إستراتيجية إدارة المخزون بالحفاظ على عرض دقيق للمخزون الخاص بك لتوفير المال للشركات. عندما تعرف ما يشتريه عملاؤك منك ، فأنت تعرف ما يجب عليك تخزينه.
  • متوسط ​​السعر: متوسط ​​تكلفة المخزون هو ممارسة مستخدمة لحساب تكلفة الوحدة للسلع التي تشتريها. تبدأ بالحصول على مجموع تكلفة كل الأسهم التي لديك للبيع ، بعد ذلك diviديها من خلال العدد الإجمالي للعناصر المباعة. يمكن أيضًا تسمية الطريقة بمتوسط ​​التكلفة المرجح في بعض الحالات.
  • سجلات الجرد: سجلات الجرد هي التي تساعدك على تتبع الأسهم التي اشتريتها وباعتها خلال فترة زمنية معينة. تحتاج إلى قياس عدد عناصر المخزون التي قمت بشرائها وبيعها للتأكد من حصولك على الرصيد الصحيح
  • الجرد المادي السنوي: هذه عملية يدوية لحساب العناصر المادية الموجودة لديك في أي وقت خلال العام.
  • 3PL / 4PL: يعمل مزود الخدمات اللوجستية من طرف ثالث ، 3PL ، في مجال الخدمات اللوجستية وإدارة سلسلة التوريد عندما تستعين شركة ما بجزء من خدمات التوزيع والتنفيذ. يقوم مكاملو 4PL بتجميع الموارد والتقنيات لتغطية سلسلة التوريد الأكثر شمولاً.
  • تخطيط موارد المشاريع: هذه هي العملية التي تستخدمها الشركة لإدارة ودمج أجزاء مهمة مختلفة من العمل للحفاظ على سير الأمور كما ينبغي. يمكن لنظام ERP الصحيح أن يدمج أشياء مثل الشراء والتخطيط والمبيعات والمخزون والتمويل والتسويق.
  • علامة أولية-لأعلى: الفرق بين السعر الأولي الذي دفعته للمخزون والمبلغ الذي تفرضه على عملائك. من المهم التأكد من تحقيق ربح من هذا العنصر ، بالإضافة إلى تغطية جزء من النفقات العامة المرتبطة بتحصيل المخزون وإدارته بمرور الوقت.

تساعد إدارة ومراقبة المخزون الجيد الشركات في شراء الكمية المناسبة من المخزون في الوقت الصحيح لتحقيق نتائج إيجابية. تقلل عملية الإدارة الجيدة للمخزون من تكاليف التخزين ونفاد المخزون ومشكلات الشراء. إنه جزء أساسي من إدارة مشروع تجاري ناجح.

أصبح خبير التجارة الإلكترونية

أدخل بريدك الإلكتروني لبدء الحفلة

What is Inventory?

What does inventory mean?

What is inventory?

A basic definition could be:

“The quantity or value of the current stock of a manufacturer or retailer. This can include raw materials and parts that will be used later in the manufacturing process. The managing of inventory is vital for the smooth running of a business, and the science of inventory management is required to ensure that your supply network will work without hiccups.”

Inventory is all the components used in production or sales in your business. It’s up to you as a business leader to ensure that you always practice the right inventory management strategies to keep the right amount of stock on-hand.

The verb “inventory” can also refer to the act of listing or counting items that are available within the business environment. By keeping stock of what’s going on with a current asset count, companies can ensure that they’re ready to serve clients with the right number of finished products.

What is Inventory Management?

Inventory management will involve not just controlling the amount of stock that you have but the time necessary for replenishment of stock, asset management, carrying costs of the inventory, forecasting, visibility, physical space for inventory, the return of faulty goods, valuation, and future price forecasting. When you take care to ensure that all these details are taken care of, your inventory will always be balanced and you will never run out of stock. Inventory turnover is considered one of the most important aspects of a business as it is responsible for generating cash, and thus profits.

Your definition of inventory might also include exposure to terms like “Inventory Process” or “Inventory Counting”. An inventory process is a solution that tracks the inventory as companies receive, use, and manage it as a work in progress. The inventory process tracks the lifecycle of the goods and raw materials that move through your business.

Alternatively, an inventory count refers to the act of counting items that you hold in storage for your inventory. The count may also look at the condition of the items and keep that information stored so you can check it at a later date. Inventory counts assess your stock situation, but they also help you to determine which stocks are moving well.

Examples of Inventory

A business's inventory is nothing more than the raw materials, parts and finished goods kept on site or in its warehouses. Inventory can also be held on consignment, which is when a third-party holds inventory for a business until the goods have been sold. Inventory is reported as an asset on a business balance sheet, and is a buffer between the manufacturing and order fulfillment stages. Once the inventory has been sold, or used in the manufacturing process, the cost of carrying it flows into the cost of goods sold in the accounting statement.

There are three different types of inventory that can be tracked; raw materials, work in progress, and finished goods.

  • Raw materials are the raw starting materials that fuel the manufacturing process. Raw materials are such things as the metals used by steel or auto companies, or the food and spices used by food processors.
  • Work in progress is anything that has been partially processed, but is not yet a finished good. This would include an automobile that hasn’t been completely assembled, or raw dough in a bread or cake making factory, among other things.
  • Finished goods have gone through all manufacturing steps and are ready to be sold to wholesalers, distributors or consumers. Examples include finished automobiles, computers or televisions, and the loaf of bread you buy at your local grocery store.

A crafts company selling pots might send a pot to a customer in a finished box, with a card that explains what it took to make the item. The cost of goods for the finished product includes the costs of everything from applying the barcode, to shipping the product out to customers.

Businesses realize that holding a large amount of inventory for a long period of time is not good business practice. It can lead to spoilage or obsolescence and can be quite costly. Of course it isn’t good to hold too little inventory either, since the business could miss out on some potential market share and sales. Striking a balance is the key, and this has led to the role of inventory management within manufacturing organizations, with the Just-In-Time (JIT) inventory system being one preferred way of managing inventory levels.

Other Types of Inventory

Other types of items that might be included in an average inventory will depend on the kind of business that you run. Options might include:

  • MRO goods: Maintenance, repair, and operating requirements
  • Packing materials: The packing material that you use to send the product to the customer. This includes the initial packaging that the product comes in, or would be displayed on a shelf with, as well as additional packaging for shipping.
  • Safety stock: This is the additional stock that you keep on-hand in case of an increase in demand. For instance, a vet might have extra antibiotics in their practice, just in case.
  • Anticipated or smoothing inventory: To cut costs, you might buy extra inventory outside of peak times. For instance, an event planner could buy tablecloths after the wedding season in June ends.
  • Decoupled inventory: Decoupling inventory is the extra inventory you might need to finish working if something goes wrong. For instance, a bakery might keep extra stores of sugar designs on-hand in case the team runs out of frosting.
  • Theoretical inventory costs: If you aim to spend 40% of your budget on manufacturing supplies, and you discover you spent 42%, that 2% would be the theoretical inventory that was lost or damaged.
  • Cycle inventory: Following the FIFO inventory practice for first-in, first-out, when you go through all your supply of one stock, the cycled inventory would fill the supply back up again. For instance, once you run out of paper, your regular supply of paper would go back into the paper slot in your inventory.
  • Service inventory: A service inventory is based on the amount of business you’re likely to do. If you have a café that’s open 10 hours a day with 12 tables, each of which seats a customer for one hour, the average service inventory would be 120 meals for each day.
  • Transit inventory: If you purchase 20 dresses for your clothing store, the dresses on route to you from your supplier would be in transit.
  • Excess inventory: If you produce a selection of 500 special prints for an art store, and you only sell 300, the 200 simply aren’t getting any extra attention, they would be excess.

Specialist Inventory for a Specific Vertical

Understanding your needs as an eCommerce company and keeping all the correct cogs turning in real-time with your inventory management solution takes a lot of effort. It’s important to understand now just how inventory works, but how it works for your specific company.

For instance, in manufacturing, your inventory for small business processes might include things like in-stock items, raw materials, and the components used to make your goods. Manufacturers keep a close eye on inventory levels and work in process to ensure that there isn’t a work shortage.

Accountants will generally divide manufacturing stock into work in progress, raw materials, and finished goods, because all the different kinds of inventory come with different costs to consider.

In the service industry, accounting methods might be different. In the service landscape, your inventory to suit customer demand is intangible. For instance, a law firm’s inventory would include any files it creates for customers, and papers that the documents are printed on.

Inventory Best Practices

Running a successful company means understanding your inventory, ensuring that you have a strong supply chain, and a strategy for managing your stock. Good inventory management means having a strategy, from LIFO to FIFO, knowing how to avoid stockouts, and more. As you continue to work with distributors and discover how your inventory works, you’ll begin to develop better practices to maintain efficiency. Some good strategies include:

  • Using safety stock: Having buffer stock in place will help you to deal with fluctuations in demand when you get more orders than you expect.
  • Invest in inventory account tools: Using cloud-based tools for inventory management will help you to keep track of where every product and SKU might be. This helps you to have complete inventory control.
  • Start cycle counting: This process saves you time and money by ensuring that you can keep track of the sales cycles and keep customers happy.
  • Use batch and lot tracking: Make sure you always record information associated with every lot and batch of a product. Some companies might use precise details, with expiration dates, whereas other companies just use batch and lot tracking to keep track of shelf lives.

Managing your Inventory

Good inventory accounting and recording is a crucial part of running a successful business. You can record inventory either periodically, or perpetually, using your inventory management system. If you use periodic accounting in your inventory management software, you’ll count stock at certain times. The perpetual solution is a little simpler because you track stock changes as they occur.

You can also keep a close eye on your inventory turnover with the right technology. This will give you an insight into things like lead time, and whether you should use first in, or last-in last-out strategies to ship inventory items.

Conducting inventory analysis on your stock levels is also important, as it will show you how demand changes for your products over time, A common form of inventory analysis uses the ABC method. This means that you reorder your goods into three categories:

  • The A level: The A inventory includes any best-selling products that don’t demand a lot of space for storage. This accounts for about 20% of your inventory in total.
  • The B level: These items move at a similar rate to A items, but they cost more to store overall. This represents around 40% of your inventory.
  • The C level: At the C level, you count your remaining stock, which may be more expensive to store, and return a lower profit margin.

The ABC analysis leverages the 80/20 principle and reveals that 20% of your inventory should deliver up to 80% of your profits. Companies may need to focus on these items when they’re trying to generate more profits quickly.

The Benefits of Good Inventory Analysis

A good inventory analysis allows you to keep track of how much stock you actually have, so you know you’re already ready to tackle customer demand. However, there are also a range of other benefits to explore too, such as:

  • Improved cash flow: Inventory analysis shows you which items you sell the most, so you can spend money on the things that move fast.
  • Reduced stockouts: When you know which inventory is most important to your customers, you can anticipate demand more effectively.
  • Increased customer satisfaction: Analysing inventory offers better insight into how consumers purchase items.
  • Reduced waste: Knowing what your customers need and how they buy reduces the need to store excess products. This ensures you have a better strategy for using resources.
  • Reduced delays: Understanding supplier lead times will help you determine when to reorder for your inventory to reduce late shipments.
  • Improved pricing from vendors and suppliers: If you order more high volumes of products on a regular basis, you can negotiate for discounts.
  • Expands your business understanding: You’ll get an insight into your customers and how your business operates.

Ending Inventory Issues: Terms to Know

An effective inventory management strategy can involve a variety of different tools and practices. The more you know about your inventory, the easier it is to make decisions that will benefit your business and deliver positive outcomes long-term.

Here are some valuable terms to keep in mind when you’re exploring your inventory options.

  • Demand forecasting: Demand forecasting refers to the process of trying to predict customer demand by looking at your perpetual inventory trends. You can examine things like promotional impact and seasonality and see whether they have an impact of sales. Predicting demand can help you to ensure that you have enough stock, without over buying.
  • Inventory management: An inventory management strategy allows you to maintain an accurate view of your inventory to save money for companies. When you know what your customers are buying from you, you know what you should be stocking up on.
  • Average cost: The average cost of inventory is a practice used for calculating per-unit cost of goods you buy. You start by getting the sum of the cost for all the stock you have for sale, then divide it by the total number of sold items. The method can also be called weighted average cost in some cases.
  • Inventory records: Inventory records are what help you to track the stock you’ve bought and sold over a certain period of time. You need to measure the number of items of inventory you’ve purchased and sold to ensure that you have the right balance
  • Annual physical inventory: This is a manual process of counting the physical items you have on hand at any point during the year.
  • 3PL/ 4PL: A third party logistics provider, 3PL, works in logistics and supply chain management when a business outsources a portion of its distribution and fulfilment services. 4PL integrators accumulate resources and technologies to cover the more comprehensive supply chain.
  • Enterprise resource planning: This is the process a company uses to manage and integrate various important parts of the business to keep things running as they should. The right ERP system can integrate things like purchasing, planning, sales, inventory, finance, and marketing.
  • Initial mark-up: The difference between the initial price you paid for the inventory, and the amount you charge your customers. It’s important to ensure that you make a profit with the item, as well as covering a portion of the overhead expenses associated with collecting and managing your inventory over time.

Good inventory management and control assists companies in buying the right amount of inventory at the correct time to generate positive outcomes. The process of good inventory management reduces storage costs, stockouts, and purchasing issues. It’s a crucial part of running a successful business.

Become an ecommerce expert

Enter your email to get the party started