10电子商务错误推动网上购物者疯狂

虽然电子商务是一个利润很高的行业,但在线销售产品并不容易。 那里有巨大的竞争,你的网站必须非常好,才能获得成功。

您的电子商务网站的主要目标 是为了吸引最多的客户并提高转换率,但如果您的网站犯了让网上购物者疯狂的错误,就不会发生这种情况。

从将产品旁边的错误图像放到复杂的结账和不必要的弹出窗口 - 电子商务网站上的每一个错误都会让您失去忠诚的客户,以及巨额资金。

浏览网站倾向于制作的以下电子商务错误,并知道如何避免这些错误:

子标准产品说明

您可能拥有一个拥有最佳产品和优质图像的网站来支持这一说法 - “嘿! 我们拥有城里最好的库存。“但是,如果您的产品描述无法向访客描述您的产品,该怎么办? 他们没有其他方式知道产品是什么。 对于那些虚拟购物的人来说,这是一个巨大的下降。

事实上,我看过许多网站,他们的描述与页面上显示的产品和产品根本没有描述的网站不匹配。 作为客户,如果我对产品没有正确的了解,我绝不会冒虚拟购买的风险。

我相信所有其他客户都会回应我的观点。 这里的解决方案是努力为您的所有产品编写出色的产品副本,这可能会影响您的客户采取行动呼吁。

包括缺货商品

想象一下这样一个场景,一个在线购物者精心应用在线商店中存在的过滤器来购买产品,只是为了发现这些商品是“缺货”。 当我想订购一套我最喜欢的作者的书籍时,它已经发生在我身上。

就在我打开产品页面的时候,我受到了“抱歉,这个产品现在缺货”的消息。 我做了什么? 转到另一个网站,因为我真的想在那个特定的时间购买那个盒子。 你不希望你的网站发生这种情况吗?

通常,如果您的任何产品缺货,请停止在搜索结果或类别页面上显示它们。 另一种选择是在产品图像上添加徽章,该徽章清楚地表明该产品目前尚不可用。 如果您仍想显示项目以便最终用户可以将其保存在愿望清单中,请在过滤器中为其提供一个选项 - “包括缺货商品”。

提供错误/错误的产品照片

没有,我再说一遍,没有什么能增加 跳出率 在您的电子商务网站上,不仅仅是错误或错误的产品照片误导用户。 可以理解的是,某些产品的颜色可能与他们在网站上传的图像完全不一致。 但是,您应该检查您使用的图像是否代表正确的产品。

我的意思是,如果是“蓝色和绿色连衣裙”,那么图像应该是蓝色和绿色而非红色和白色的连衣裙! 或者如果它是“塑料水容器”,那么图像不应该是“钢制花盆”的图像。 这些不仅仅是技术故障,而是如果您不想增加网站的跳出率,则需要尽早处理的严重问题。

谈论产品图像的大小,选择具有不同角度的大图像,可以让您的观众了解产品的印刷品,颜色甚至材料。 如果您使用的是较小的图像,请使用缩放功能让最终用户自己获得最佳效果。

没有适合移动设备的网站

电子商务网站的大量流量来自移动用户。 根据一项调查, 80%的全球用户使用他们的移动设备 在互联网上开展活动,其中还包括在电子商务网站上购物。 因此,毫无疑问,您需要拥有移动优化版的电子商务网站,为您的用户提供出色的购物体验。 通过简单的导航功能实现极简主义和直观的界面,这将为您的最终用户在智能手机和平板电脑的小屏幕上提供出色的购物体验。

棘手的网站导航

网上购物就是为用户提供满意的体验。 用户希望在到达特定站点购买产品时获得无缝购买体验。 确保这一点的方法之一是使菜单直观。 以这样的方式设计它们,使您的目标用户可以轻松地从一个页面转到另一个页面,并且点击次数最少。 面包屑导航 如今风靡一时,电子商务网站设计效果非常好,因为它显示了层次结构,减少了混乱,易于回溯和视觉上的吸引力。 将其纳入您的网站,我相信您在获取和留住客户方面没有任何问题。

电子商务面包屑导航

令人信服的用户注册

不断敦促首次访问者在您的网站上注册是一个很大的错误,许多电子商务网站继续。 其中一些甚至强迫用户首先注册以进行购买。 对于许多不希望注册只购买一种产品的客户来说,这是一个很大的挫折。 或者,客户可能没有时间并且想先购买并在闲暇时注册。 无论如何,您都不应该强迫您的目标受众在您的网站上注册; 你必须允许他们作为客人购物。 此外,为客人提供保存购物车中物品的条款,以便他们可以稍后返回并完成购买。

搜索时“没有结果”

“无结果”消息是电子商务网站的“未找到404”。 不要给客户一个空白页面,可能会拖延他们的购物并将他们从您的网站上移走。 相反,建议他们的搜索替代品。 例如,如果客户搜索“金链中的黑色吊坠”并且您的网站在库存中没有此类产品,请在同一条线上建议其他项链。 也许,建议一个“银链黑色吊坠”可以帮助他们的事业和你的事业。 这需要付出相当大的努力,但最终,所有这些都是将您的潜在客户转化为销售并且值得付出努力。

到处都是不必要的弹出窗口

弹出窗口已经过时,没有人真的是他们的粉丝。 没有人想填写调查,订阅时事通讯,获得他们永远不会使用的交易的折扣或输入他们的联系方式,而不首先判断您的网站的可信度。 因此,请避免在您的网站上使用任何类型的弹出窗口向访问者致意。 还有很多方法可以保证用户的号召性用语。 但用弹出窗口轰炸它们绝对不是其中之一。 您始终可以使用侧边栏来实现此目的。

复杂的结账流程

据报道,“由于放弃购物车,零售商每年损失10亿美元”。 令人困惑或复杂的结账流程会升级购物车放弃率。 这直接转化为较低的转化率。 为了避免这种巨大的损失,您需要为客户保持简单的结账流程。 如果可能,请使用最小字段并在同一页面上显示所有重要信息。 有些客户确实有优惠券代码,他们忘记在结账时申请。 因此,不要忘记清楚地显示该字段 优惠券代码 在结帐页面上。 客户签出后,请不要忘记显示包含跟踪更新的确认页面作为摘要。

事先没有显示基本信息

当他们在退房时而不是在退房时查看增加的运输费用或运费时,网上购物者会感到震惊。 这是他们在即将购买之前倾向于放弃购物车的另一个​​原因。 不要这样做。 始终要在产品页面上显示运费或在产品成本中包含成本。 这将在结账时为他们节省一些令人讨厌的惊喜。

除运费外,您还需要显示其他重要信息,例如送货和退货政策,交换政策和客户服务号码等等。 通常,网站将这些信息列在其网站的底部。 作为替代方案,您也可以将它们放在FAQs链接下。 请记住,当客户无法访问此信息时,他们往往会看到红色并留下对您网站的负面印象。 不惜一切代价避免这个错误。

总结

这些只是惹恼在线购物者的一些电子商务错误。 如果您的网站目前有这些灰色区域,那么现在是时候整理它了。 通过消除此类愚蠢行为为您的用户提供最佳体验,您将看到转换率的稳步提升。 你怎么看? 您是否知道其他错误会导致潜在客户做出购买决定? 与我们分享。

作者简介: John Siebert是Tranquil Blue的总裁兼首席执行官 - 坦帕网页设计公司 专注于各种网站设计,移动应用程序开发和搜索引擎营销。

特色图片 扎克格雷厄姆

Catalin Zorzini

我是一名网页设计博客,在花了几周时间努力寻找出来之后开始了这个项目 最好的电子商务平台 为了我自己。 看看我的电流 顶级10电子商务网站建设者.

10 Ecommerce Mistakes that Drive Online Shoppers Crazy

ecommerce mistakes

While ecommerce is a highly profitable industry, it is not easy to sell products online. There is tremendous competition out there and your website must really be very good, in order to be successful.

The primary goal of your ecommerce website is to attract maximum number of customers and increase conversion rates, but this does not happen if your site is committing mistakes that are driving online shoppers crazy.

From placing the wrong image next to a product to complicated checkout and unnecessary popups – every single mistake on an ecommerce site will cost you loyal customers, as well as, a huge amount of money.

Go through the following ecommerce mistakes that websites tend to make and know how to avoid them: 

Sub-Par Product Descriptions

You may have a website with the best products and great images to support the claim – “Hey! We have the best stock in town.” But what if your product descriptions fail to describe your products to visitors? They have no other way of knowing what the products is all about. This is a huge downer for those who shop virtually.

In fact, I have seen many websites where they had descriptions that did not match with the products displayed on the page and websites where products had no description at all. As a customer, I will never risk a virtual purchase if I don’t have proper knowledge about the product(s).

I am sure all other customers will echo my sentiment. The solution here is to work towards writing great product copy for all your products, which can influence your customers to take a call to action.

Including Out of Stock Items

Imagine a scenario, where an online shopper meticulously applies filters present on an online store to purchase products only to find out that the items were ‘Out of Stock’. It has happened with me, when I wanted to order a box set of my favorite author’s books that was available at a discounted rate.

Just as I opened the product page, I was greeted with a “sorry, this product is out of stock right now” message. What did I do? Turn to another website because I really wanted to purchase that box set at that particular time. You don’t want this to happen with your site right?

As a rule, if any of your products are out of stock, make it a point to stop displaying them in search results or on category pages. Another option is to add a badge on the product image, which clearly states that the product is not available for now. If you still want to display the items so that the end-users can save them in their wish list, give them an option in the filter itself – ‘Include out of stock items’. 

Providing Bad/Wrong Product Photographs

Ecommerce photo strategy

Nothing, I repeat, nothing increases the bounce rates on your ecommerce website more than misguiding users with wrong or bad product photographs. It is understandable that the colors of some products might not completely match their images uploaded on the website. But then you should check whether the image you are using, represents the right product or not.

I mean, if it is a ‘Blue and Green dress’ then the image should be that of a dress in Blue and Green not Red and White! Or if it is a ‘Plastic water container’, then the image should not be that of ‘Steel planters’. These are not mere technical glitches but serious issues that need to be worked upon at the earliest if you do not want to add to the bounce rate of your website.

Talking about the size of the product image, choose large ones with different angles that can give your audience an idea about the prints, colors and even materials of the product. If you are using smaller images, then use Zoom facility to let your end-users get the best idea for themselves.

Not Having Mobile-Friendly Website

A large amount of traffic to ecommerce sites comes from mobile users. According to a survey, 80% of users worldwide use their mobile devices to carry out activities on the internet, which also includes shopping on ecommerce websites. Hence, it goes without saying that you need to have a mobile optimized version of your ecommerce site that offers your users a great shopping experience. Go for a minimalist and intuitive interface with easy navigation, which will pave the way for a great shopping experience on small screens of smartphones and tablets for your end-users.


Tricky Site Navigation

Online shopping is all about giving users a satisfying experience. Users expect a seamless purchase experience when they arrive at a particular site to buy a product. One of the ways to ensure this is to make your menus intuitive. Design them in such a way that your target users can easily go from one page to another with minimum number of clicks. Breadcrumb navigation is a rage these days and works really well with ecommerce site design as it shows hierarchy, reduces clutter, is easy to backtrack and visually appealing. Incorporate it in your website and I am sure you will have no problems in acquiring and retaining customers.

Ecommerce breadcrumbs navigation

Compelling Users to Register

Constantly urging first time visitors to register on your website is a big mistake that many ecommerce websites continue to make. Some of them go as far as compelling the users to register first in order to make a purchase. This is a big turnoff for many customers who wouldn’t necessarily want to register to buy just one product. Or, the customer might not have the time and would like to make a purchase first and register at leisure. Whatever the case, you should never force your target audience to register on your website; you must allow them to shop as a guest. Also, make provisions for the guests to save items in their shopping cart so that they can come back later and complete the purchase.

‘No Results’ Upon Searching

‘No Results’ message is the ‘404 Not Found’ of ecommerce sites. Don’t give customers a blank page that might stall their shopping and turn them away from your site for good. Instead, suggest alternatives to their search. For instance, if a customer searches for ‘Black pendant in gold chain’ and your site has no such product in the inventory, suggest other necklaces on the same lines. Maybe, suggesting a ‘Black pendant with silver chain’ can help both their cause and yours. This takes quite a lot of effort, but in the end, it is all about converting your leads into sales and is worth that effort.

Unnecessary Popups Everywhere

Popups are outdated and nobody is really a fan of them. No one wants to fill out surveys, subscribe to newsletters, get discounts on deals they are never going to use or enter their contact details without judging the credibility of your website first. So, avoid greeting your visitors with popups of any sort on your website. There are many more ways to guarantee call-to-action from your users. But bombarding them with popups is definitely not one of them. You can always use your sidebar for this purpose.

Complex Checkout Process

As per a report, “retailers lose $18 billion annually due to shopping cart abandonment”. A confusing or a complex checkout process escalates the rate of shopping cart abandonment. This directly translates to lower conversion ratios. To avoid such huge losses, you need to keep the checkout process simple for customers. Use minimum fields and display all vital information on the same page if possible. Some customers do have coupon codes with them, which they forget to apply at the time of checkout. Hence, don’t forget to clearly display the field for Coupon Code on the checkout page. Do not forget to display a confirmation page with tracking update as the summary, once your customer has checked out.

Not Displaying Essential Information Beforehand

Online shoppers get the shock of their lives when they view added shipping costs or delivery charges at the time of checking out and not before that. This is another reason why they tend to abandon a shopping cart just before they were about to make a purchase. Don’t do this. Always make it a point to display shipping charges on the product page or include the cost in the product cost itself. This will save them some nasty surprises during checkout.

Apart from shipping charges, you also need to make it a point to display other essential information such as Shipping and Return policies, Exchange policies and Customer Care number to name a few. Usually, websites have such information listed in the bottom fold of their website. As an alternative, you can also put them together under the FAQs link. Remember, when customers don’t get access to this information, they tend to see red and leave with a negative impression of your website. Avoid this mistake at all costs.


These are just some of the ecommerce mistakes that annoy online shoppers. If your site has these grey areas at present, it is high time you sort it out. Give your users the best experience by eliminating such follies and you will see a steady improvement in your conversion ratios. What do you think? Do you know about other mistakes that turn away potential customers from making a purchase decision? Share them with us.

Author Bio: John Siebert is the President and CEO of Tranquil Blue – Tampa Web Design Company that focuses on all kind of website design, mobile app development and search engine marketing.

Feature image curtsey of Zach Graham

Catalin Zorzini

I'm a web design blogger and started this project after spending a few weeks struggling to find out which is the best ecommerce platform for myself. Check out my current top 10 ecommerce site builders.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Rating *