如何在没有不切实际的炒作的情况下在 TikTok 上赚钱

初次通过 TikTok 获利? 这是您需要知道的一切

如何在抖音上赚钱? 真的有可能吗?

无论您是 TikTok 用户还是只是对现象的偶然观察者,这就是 TikTok。 在这种情况下,您可能已经问过自己这些问题。

作为回答, “福布斯” 杂志最近发表了一篇关于收入最高的创作者/TikTok 影响者的文章,结果可能不会让你感到惊讶:

  1. Addison Rae Easterling,5 万美元(84.3 万 TikTok 粉丝)
  2. Charli D'Amelio,4 万美元,(124.3 亿 TikTok 粉丝)
  3. Dixie D'Amelio,2.9 万美元,(55 万 TikTok 粉丝)
  4. Loren Gray,2.6 万美元,(54 万 TikTok 粉丝)
  5. Josh Richards,1.5 万美元,(25.5 万 TikTok 粉丝)

备受瞩目的 TikTok 创作者正在大赚一笔。 不仅如此,TikTok本身的热度在过去也爆发了 . 您可能还记得海上小屋的兴起、假唱挑战或“不告诉我就告诉我”的挑战。

此类流行的 TikTok 趋势使该平台成为一种独特的视频创作工具,并开始超越竞争对手。 事实上,一份报告由 应用程序安妮 证实美国人现在每个月花在 TikTok 上的时间比 Facebook 或 Instagram 还要多。

所有迹象都表明该平台将继续存在,但问题仍然存在:人们究竟是如何通过 TikTok 赚钱的?

如何在 TikTok 上赚钱:基础知识

首先,一般的 TikTok 创作者不会因为制作和上传 TikTok 视频而直接获得报酬。

也就是说,TikTok 确实通过其创作者基金提供资金。 但是,要符合资格,您的 TikTok 个人资料在过去 10,000 天内至少需要有 100,000 名关注者和 30 次视频观看次数。 更不用说,这些付款还考虑了观看次数和观众的参与率。

即使您处于有资格获得 TikTok 创作者基金的幸运位置,大多数 TikTok 创作者也不仅仅依赖于此。 更常见的是,TikTok 收入最高的用户通过多个收入流将他们的帐户货币化(稍后将详细介绍)。

但是,在深入研究如何在 TikTok 上赚钱之前,您应该先了解一些事情。 因此,下面我们提供了一些明智的建议,以帮助您为 TikTok 货币化策略奠定基础:

抖音页面示例

目的

你知道吗,到 2021 年,TikTok 现在已经结束了 689个月活跃用户 在全球范围内超越 Snapchat 等竞争对手, Twitter,和 Pinterest?

TikTok 据称是 Z 世代和千禧一代的“平台”, 美国 62% 的 TikTok 用户 年龄在 10 到 29 岁之间。尤其是 Z 世代,是很多媒体关注的焦点,并且有充分的理由。 他们已经代表了全球 40% 的消费者。

但对我们这些初出茅庐的企业家来说更有趣的是,研究表明这一代人花在网上的时间比以往任何时候都多。 因此,TikTok 在这一人群中大受欢迎也就不足为奇了,据报道,它在锁定条件下保持了超过 100 亿用户的参与度。

TikTok 对其他社交网络的吸引力是什么?

据 HTG 称,TikTok 受欢迎的主要原因之一是其独特的算法。 TikTok 使用人工智能和机器学习,根据用户交互和更广泛的趋势,为用户提供他们真正想看到的内容。 更不用说,TikTok 已经成功地为用户和内容创作者创造了一种社区感。

通过了解 TikTok 提供的一些独特功能以及使用它的主要人口统计数据,您将在创建适合 TikTok 的内容时更好地定位自己。 当然,这是在 TikTok 上赚钱的基本部分,但我们究竟如何找到我们的受众?

TikTok 本身建议花时间了解您作为创作者的空间。 如果您刚刚开始,请查看是否已经有创作者为您制作了类似的内容。

接下来,确定您将为哪种细分市场生成内容。 在早期阶段,最好尝试不同的内容,以了解您的观众感兴趣的内容。然后,一旦您的某些视频开始受到关注,您就可以深入研究表现最佳的内容并扩展在那个区域。

一旦您对自己的细分市场更有信心,就可以着手开发社区空间了。 你可以把它想象成一个精心策划的画廊。 你正在表演,所有的作品都无缝地融入其中。 但这不仅仅是出现和离开的问题。 相反,您需要与观众互动。 回答评论是一回事,但您的目标应该是与您的观众建立持久的关系,以便他们回来寻求更多。

直播是回应观众问题和评论的一种方式。 您还可以向忠实的追随者大喊大叫,并对新兴趋势做出实时反应。 更不用说,“生活”是使用 Tiktok 的内置分析工具详细了解受众的绝佳机会。 例如,假设您有一个 TikTok Pro 帐户。 在这种情况下,您可以检索有关观众性别、位置和活动的数据。 然后,您可以使用此信息使您的内容对您的特定受众更具吸引力。

最后,虽然保持在你的利基市场很重要,但不要忘记 TikTok 是关于趋势的。 无论您的细分市场是什么,您都必须足够灵活以应对趋势,同时保持自己的洞察力divi二元性。 这样,您的内容更有可能展示给更广泛的受众,并有可能为您赢得更多关注者。

如何在 TikTok 上赚钱:创造者经济

现在您了解了 TikTok 的主要受众和平台本身的吸引力,那么整个行业又如何呢?

提示, 创造者经济 

创作者经济是用来描述创作者可以将他们的兴趣和创造力货币化的生态系统的术语。 过去,当一个人有一个想法时,无论是整个业务、服务还是仅仅是产品,他们通常都必须通过多个第三方才能接触到消费者。 今天,情况并非如此。 相反,您只需点击几下即可将您的想法展示在目标受众面前。

在过去十年对 50 多个不同社交媒体平台的研究中,创作者的收入超过了 10 亿美元。 更重要的是,这些平台上的创作者数量同比增长了 48%。

这个故事的主旨? 创建内容已成为其自身的经济。

越来越多的人正在离开他们朝九晚五的常规工作,完全依靠互联网来创造自己的收入。

然而,成为创作者不仅仅是为了赚钱——无论是在 TikTok 上还是在其他任何网络上。 这也是探索创造本身的一种方式。 这是投资于热情并寻找与您有共同信仰的人。 因此,商业模式必须相应地改变以满足这个市场。

我们不再依赖企业集团来宣传特定的产品或服务; 相反,人们现在正在推销他们的真实性。 正如斯坦福大学的预报员保罗·萨福 (Paul Saffo) 说得恰如其分:

“群众参与成为新常态。 东西便宜; 地位来自创造。 价值是由参与创造的。”

这对 TikTok 创作者意味着什么?

那么这一切对您作为 TikTok 创作者究竟意味着什么,以及如何利用创作者的经济帮助您赚钱?

首先,当您开始在任何社交媒体平台(包括 TikTok)上赚钱时,不要将您的受众视为消费者或将其视为消费者。 相反,请记住,这些是您试图与之建立联系的人。 对观众参与度的关注对于您作为创作者的广告、货币化和成长方式不可或缺。

与其专注于对一次性购买(通常是传统营销方法的相关结果)进行评分,不如专注于与受众建立长期关系。

请记住,您的观众想要:

真实性

用你真正的兴趣、才能和激情来吸引人群。 TikTok 上的每个人都有空间。 找到你的利基市场并与你的观众一起享受它。 学习 发现 60% 的 TikTok 用户在平台上感受到了社区感。 他们也感到更有动力、更自信和更有趣。 用户想要一个让他们感到被接受并可以表达自己的地方。 这就是您希望通过内容培养的环境类型。

订婚戒指

想出与观众互动的独特方式。 有趣的是,79% 的用户 提到 在评论中花时间阅读视频评论。 所以,当然,回答评论和问题是一个好的开始。 但是,在您的交流中添加个人风格更能与您的听众建立融洽的关系和联系感。 也许破解一个笑话或使用评论者的名字回应? 这些只是您可以自定义回复以使其看起来更个性化的多种方式中的几种。

发布您喜欢的内容是不够的。 你必须给你的观众他们想要的东西——而且是定期的! 就像我们已经说过的那样,紧跟 TikTok 趋势是明智之举。 记住 88% 的 TikTok 用户发现 他们在使用应用程序时喜欢的新内容。 因此,请将您的帖子视为增加价值和吸引新粉丝的机会。

货币化

考虑到所有这些,这是您一直在等待的部分,货币化。

现在你可能想知道为什么这不是我们的开始。 原因是记住游戏的总体规则很重要。 正如我们已经说过的,首先,内容创作不仅仅是赚钱; 这是关于利用你的想法和激情。

也就是说,三种在 TikTok 上非常有效的货币化策略:

  1. 联盟营销
  2. 影响者营销
  3. 出售自己的商品
  4. 订户捐赠/订阅
  5. TikTok广告

如何在 TikTok 上赚钱:联盟营销

首先,有 联属网络营销.

基本上,联属网络营销是您推动人们购买第三方产品和/或服务的地方,通常是通过您的 '会员链接.' 然后,如果您成功进行销售,您将获得佣金。

根据企业家和影响者尼尔帕特尔的说法,联盟营销可以成为产生被动收入的有利可图的方式。 被动,我们的意思是你只需要打好基础,然后一旦你完成了,就有可能代表你以最少的努力一次又一次地获得报酬。

联属网络营销的第一步是加入联属网络或联系您最喜欢的品牌,看看他们是否启动并运行了联属网络营销计划。 如果您选择前者,该网络将充当附属公司(在本例中为您)和您所推广的公司之间的中介。 流行的联盟网络的例子包括 Clickbank、Amazon Associates 和 eBay 合作伙伴网络 (EBN)。

亚马逊员工

在 TikTok 上进行联盟营销时,您可以使用该平台来推广联盟产品/服务,即通过向订阅者推荐它们、评论产品、在视频中自然使用等。

如何在 TikTok 上赚钱:影响者活动

影响者营销 是指公司和/或个体创业者与创作者合作,为他们的追随者背书或提及他们的产品。

因此,要使这种营销方式产生很大的效果,创作者需要大量的追随者。 有用的是,TikTok 有一个创作者市场,品牌和创作者可以在这里合作开展项目。 对于 TikTok 创作者来说,这可能会带来富有成效的合作,包括支付赞助帖子或其他赞助交易的费用。

无论您是直接发布广告、评论产品,还是自然地将其合并到您的常规帖子中——无论如何,请记住:您的受众必须是第一位的。

考虑您的合作伙伴关系是否与您的品牌保持一致。 此外,问问自己这是否会为您的观众体验增加价值。 你不希望你的观众觉得你在卖给他们一个糟糕的交易,因为这只会损害你与他们的关系。

TikTok创作者

如何在 TikTok 上赚钱:销售自己的商品

如果您正在努力寻找与之合作的第三方,或者您希望通过 TikTok 获利的方式多样化,请考虑出售您自己的商品。 虽然一些创作者甚至从头开始开发自己的产品,但销售可以像使用按需印刷公司一样简单 Printful, Printify和 Lulu Express 来制作印有您名字的 T 恤。 按需打印的好处是您不必花费大量的库存或仓储成本。

或者,如果您有创意,并且正在使用 TikTok 展示您的才华,那么观众可能愿意购买您的作品之一。 这是转售应用程序的地方,如 Poshmark 和 Depop 以及 像 Etsy 这样的在线市场 已成为许多 TikTok 创作者的赚钱渠道。

关于您可以自己制作的东西,如果您正在创建教育性 TikToks,那么销售在线课程和电子书等东西的潜力巨大。 或任何其他可能吸引您的受众的教育产品。

如果您想设计和推出成熟的在线课程并在市场上销售,可以在 Udemy、Skillshare 和 Coursera 等网站上进行。

为了推销你的课程,你可以在 TikTok 上直播你的课程内容片段,让观众体验所提供的内容。 这不仅是一个有效的铅磁铁,而且您可能还会从您的听众那里得到一些反馈——双赢!

精致的豆荚生意

如何在 TikTok 上赚钱:TikTok 广告

一旦你有了产品,你知道你的观众会喜欢,考虑推出付费 TikTok 广告。 Tiktok 上的广告不仅有助于增加对产品的兴趣; 它还涉及通过接触更多人并建立建立在相互信任基础上的关系来扩展您的品牌。

有鉴于此,难怪 TikTok 经历了 500%增加 去年在美国投放广告的广告商。 事实证明,参与“标签挑战”和各种广告格式特别受品牌欢迎。 最近,TikTok 还尝试了新的视频长度,以使其产品多样化并扩展到电子商务领域。 今年早些时候,TikTok 与 Shopify 将实时购物和产品目录引入应用程序。 很快,用户将不必离开流来进行应用内购买!

TikTok 有一个 广告经理 您可以在其中设置付费广告活动的功能。 但是,首先,要设计活动,您需要创建一个 TikTok 帐户。

抖音广告创建账号

完成此操作后,您就可以自由地撰写广告,首先要定义其目标。 然后,TikTok 的广告管理器将为您提供优化选项。 您还需要指定您的预算和广告格式,即视频、照片等。接下来,您可以深入了解您选择的受众,以确保您的广告向您的目标人群展示。

TikTok 广告经理

如果您想利用 TikTok 的付费广告,这里有一些 秘诀:

  • TikTok 建议不要一直投放相同的广告 更新 每 XNUMX 天您的广告,以避免观众疲劳。
  • 如果您决定制作视频,请确保分辨率为 720p 或更高。
  • 还要为您的视频添加音轨。 你想引起人们的注意。
  • 短视频通常是最好的——四分之一的表现最好的视频持续时间在 21 到 34 秒之间。
  • 最后,对于视频,请确保它们是全屏的。 此外,垂直视频往往效果最好。

TikTok 报道 61% 的用户认为 TikTok 上的付费广告与其他顶级社交和视频平台不同。 也就是说,因为 TikTok 上的广告比其他社交渠道更真实、更有趣。 此外,人们更有可能从将广告与其他内容相结合的品牌购买。 这样,人们就不会觉得自己被卖了。

如何在 TikTok 上赚钱:订阅者捐赠/订阅

我们将讨论的最后一种货币化方法取决于您与受众的关系。 您可能听说过 Patreon 公司。 对于初学者来说,这是一项订阅服务,它使关注者/订阅者能够给他们最喜欢的创作者小费或订阅/支付一定金额以获得奖励内容。

TikTok 本身也有直播送礼功能,关注者可以通过发送实时表达他们的感激之情 虚拟礼物, 可以兑换付款。 还有像 Tippee 和 Kofi 这样的打赏平台,您可以在其中重定向想要表达爱意的忠实粉丝。

或者,假设您有一个需要支持的项目。 在这种情况下,可以考虑像 Kickstarter 或 Go Fund Me 这样的众筹公司。

使用这种货币化方法,始终对您的受众保持 100% 透明。 不要利用他们的慷慨,并确保您始终提供最好的服务,以换取他们辛苦赚来的现金。

如何在 TikTok 上赚钱

您准备好开始在 TikTok 上赚钱了吗?

总而言之,您必须了解 TikTok 作为一个平台、它的独特之处以及它吸引的受众类型。 然后,有了这些触手可及的知识,您就可以更好地相应地构建业务模型。

也就是说,让我们看看本文的一些关键要点:

使用 TikTok 上的任何货币化方法,您都需要小心,以免让您的受众因宣传内容过载。 TikTok 面向个人联系。 因此,您需要采取内容至上的心态,使您能够建立真正和个性化的关系,在那里您可以探索共同的激情。 这是巩固您在不断增长的创作者经济中地位的关键。

无论您是 Tiktoker 新手,还是拥有大量粉丝的众多全职 TikTok 明星之一,对创作者经济的健康理解只会使您受益。 将您的内容货币化应该是通过您在平台上为自己开辟的空间有机地流动的东西。 然后,一旦你培养了一个支持者社区,你就可以探索新的想法和兴趣。

如果您还有任何疑问,也许您应该看看自己,看看有什么大惊小怪的。 谁知道? 也许你会在这个过程中赚到一些真钱。 请务必先阅读 TikTok 的社区指南,以确保您遵守该平台的规则和规定。 祝你好运,并在下面的评论框中告诉我们你的进展情况!

Rosie Greaves

Rosie Greaves是一位专业的内容策略师,专门研究数字营销,B2B和生活方式方面的所有内容。 除了电子商务平台之外,您还可以在《读者文摘》,G2和Judicious Inc.上找到她的出版物。 罗西的博客 for more information.

注释 0回应

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被公开。 必填 *

评分 *

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

成为电子商务专家

输入您的电子邮件以开始派对

How to Make Money on TikTok Without The Unrealistic Hype

New to Monetizing TikTok? Here's Everything You Need to Know

How to make money on TikTok? Is it really possible?

Whether you’re a TikTok user or just a casual observer of the phenomena, that is TikTok. In that case, you might have asked yourself these questions.

In answer, Forbes magazine recently published an article on the top-earning creators / TikTok influencers, and the result probably won’t surprise you:

  1. Addison Rae Easterling, $5 million (84.3M TikTok followers)
  2. Charli D’Amelio, $4 million, (124.3M TikTok followers)
  3. Dixie D’Amelio, $2.9 million, (55M TikTok followers)
  4. Loren Gray, $2.6 million, (54M TikTok followers)
  5. Josh Richards, $1.5 million, (25.5M TikTok followers)

High-profile TikTok creators are raking in some major dollars. Not only that, but the popularity of TikTok itself has exploded over the past year. You might recall the rise of the sea shanty, the lip-sync challenges, or the “Tell me without telling me” challenge.

Popular TikTok trends like these have established the platform as a unique video creation tool that's starting to edge out its competitors. In fact, a report by App Annie confirmed that Americans now spend more time on TikTok each month than either Facebook or Instagram. They further predicted the app would reach more than one billion average monthly users by the end of 2021.

All signs point to the fact the platform is here to stay, but the question remains: How exactly are people making money from TikTok?

How to Make Money on TikTok: The Basics

First things first, the average TikTok creator doesn’t receive direct payments for producing and uploading TikTok videos.

That said, TikTok does offer funding through its Creator fund. But, to be eligible, your TikTok profile needs at least 10,000 followers and 100,000 video views in the last 30 days. Not to mention, these payments also take into account the number of views and your audience's engagement rate.

Even if you're in the fortunate position where you're eligible for TikTok's Creator Fund, most TikTok creators don’t solely rely on this. More commonly, TikTok’s highest-paid users monetize their accounts through multiple income streams⁠ (more on that in a sec).

But, before delving into the nitty-gritty of how to make money on TikTok, there are a few things you should know first. So, below we've provided some sage advice to help you lay the foundations for your TikTok monetization strategy:

tiktok page example

Audience

Did you know, as of 2021, TikTok now has over 689 million monthly active users worldwide, overtaking competitors like Snapchat, Twitter, and Pinterest?

TikTok is purported to be ‘the platform’ for Gen Z’s and millennials, with 62% of TikTok users in the US aged between 10 and 29. Gen Z, in particular, is the focus of a lot of media attention and with good reason. They already represent 40% of consumers worldwide.

But more interesting for us, as budding entrepreneurs, is that studies have shown that this generation spends more time online than ever. So it's no surprise that TikTok's exploded in popularity with this demographic, with reports that it kept more than 100 million users engaged during lockdown conditions.

What's TikTok's Draw Over Other Social Networks?

According to HTG, one of the major reasons for TikTok’s popularity is its unique algorithm. TikTok uses AI and machine learning to provide users with content they actually want to see based on user interactions and wider trends. Not to mention, TikTok has successfully created a feeling of community for users and content creators alike.

By understanding some of the unique features TikTok offers and the predominant demographics using it, you'll better position yourself when it comes to creating TikTok-friendly content. Of course, this is a fundamental part of making money on TikTok, but how exactly do we find our audience?

TikTok itself recommends taking the time to get to know your space as a creator. If you're just starting out, look at whether there are already creators making similar content to you.

Next, determine what sort of niche you'll generate content for. During the early stages, it’s best to experiment with different content to get a feel for what your audience is interested in. Then, once you start gaining traction on some of your videos, you can drill down on the content that's performed the best and expand in that area.

Once you’re more confident about your niche, it’s time to work on developing a community space. You can think of it as a curated gallery. You’re putting on a show, and all the works fit into that seamlessly. But it isn’t just a matter of turning up and leaving. Instead, you need to engage with your viewers. Answering comments is one thing, but your aim should be to build lasting relationships with your audience so that they come back for more.

Going live is one way to respond to your viewer’s questions and comments. You could also give shoutouts to loyal followers and react in real-time to emerging trends. Not to mention, ‘lives' are an excellent opportunity to learn more about your audience using Tiktok's built-in analytics tools. For example, suppose you have a TikTok Pro account. In that case, you can retrieve data about your viewers' gender, location, and activities. You can then use this information to make your content more appealing to your specific audience.

Lastly, although staying in your niche is important, but don’t forget that TikTok is all about trends. Whatever your niche, you have to be flexible enough to respond to trends while maintaining your own sense of individuality. This way, your content is more likely to be shown to a wider audience and potentially garner you more followers.

How to Make Money on TikTok: The Creator Economy

Now you know TikTok's primary audience and the appeal of the platform itself, what about the industry holding it all together?

Cue, the creator economy 

Creator economy is the term used to describe the ecosystem where creators can monetize their interests and creativity. In the past, when a person had an idea, whether it was an entire business, service, or just a product, they often had to go through several third parties to reach their consumers. Today, this isn't the case. Instead, you can position your ideas in front of your target audience within a matter of clicks.

In a study of over 50 different social media platforms over the past ten years, creator earnings reached over $10 billion. What’s more, the number of creators on these platforms increased by a whopping 48% year-over-year.

The moral of the story? Creating content has become its own economy.

More and more people are leaving their regular nine to five jobs and relying entirely on the internet to generate their own income.

However, becoming a creator isn’t just about generating money – be it on TikTok or anywhere else online. It’s also a way to explore creation itself. It’s investing in a passion and finding others who share your beliefs. As such, business models have to change accordingly to meet this market.

We no longer rely on conglomerates to advertise specific products or services; instead, people are now marketing their authenticity. As Paul Saffo, a Stanford University forecaster, so aptly put it:

“Mass participation became the new normal. Stuff is cheap; status comes from creation. Value is created by engagement.”

What Does This Mean for TikTok Creators?

So what exactly does this all mean for you as a TikTok creator, and how can leveraging the creator’s economy help you make money?

For starters, when you set out to make money on any social media platform, TikTok included, don't view or treat your audience as consumers. Instead, remember, these are people you're trying to make a connection with. The focus on audience engagement is integral to how you advertise, monetize, and grow as a creator.

Instead of focusing on scoring one-time purchases (typically an associated outcome of traditional marketing methods), concentrate on building longer-term relationships with your audience.

Just remember, your audience wants:

Authenticity

Use your genuine interest, talents, and passions to draw in a crowd. There’s room for everyone on TikTok. Find your niche and enjoy it with your audience. Studies have found that 60% of TikTok users felt a sense of community while on the platform. They also felt more motivated, confident, and entertained. Users want a place where they feel accepted and can express themselves. That's the type of environment you want to cultivate through your content.

Engagement

Think of unique ways to engage with your audience. Interestingly, 79% of users mentioned in a comment take the time to read the comments on videos. So, of course, answering comments and questions is a good start. However, adding a personal touch to your communications is even better for generating rapport and a sense of connectivity with your audience. Perhaps crack an in-joke or respond using the commenter's name? These are just a couple of the many ways you could customize your responses so that they seem more personal.

Value

It's not enough to post content you like. You have to give your audience what they want – and regularly! Like we've already said, it's wise to stay on top of TikTok trends. Remember that 88% of TikTok users discover new content they enjoy while using the app. So, think of your posts as an opportunity to add value and attract new fans.

Monetization

With all that in mind, here's the section you’ve been waiting for, monetization.

Now you might be wondering why this wasn’t our starting. The reason is that it’s important to keep in mind the overarching rules of the game. As we've already said, first and foremost, content creation isn't just about money making; it’s about leveraging your ideas and passion.

That said, three monetization strategies that work really well on TikTok:

  1. Affiliate marketing
  2. Influencer marketing
  3. Selling your own merchandise
  4. Subscriber donations/subscriptions
  5. TikTok advertising

How to Make Money on TikTok: Affiliate Marketing

First, there's affiliate marketing.

In basic terms, affiliate marketing is where you push people to purchase third-party products and/or services, typically via your ‘affiliate link.’ Then, if you successfully make a sale, you’ll make a commission.

According to entrepreneur and influencer Neil Patel, affiliate marketing can be a lucrative way to generate a passive income. By passive, we mean you just need to lay the groundwork, then once you’ve done that, there’s the potential to get paid again and again with minimal effort on your behalf.

The first step in affiliate marketing is to join an affiliate network or contact your favorite brands to see if they have an affiliate program up and running. If you opt for the former, the network works as an intermediary between the affiliate (in this case, you) and the company you’re promoting. Examples of popular affiliate networks include Clickbank, Amazon Associates, and the eBay Partner Network (EBN).

amazon associates

When it comes to affiliate marketing on TikTok, you can use the platform to promote affiliate products/services, i.e., by recommending them to your subscribers, reviewing the product, using it naturally in your videos, etc.

How to Make Money on TikTok: Influencer Campaigns

Influencer marketing is when companies and/or solopreneurs collaborate with creators to endorse or mention their products to their following.

As such, for this marketing method to have much effect, the creator needs a high number of followers. Helpfully, TikTok has a creator marketplace where brands and creators can partner together on projects. For the TikTok creator, this might result in fruitful collaborations with payment for sponsored posts or other sponsorship deals.

Whether you post a straight-up advertisement, review the product, or naturally incorporate it into one of your regular posts – whatever the case, remember: your audience has to come first.

Think about whether your partnerships are in keeping with your brand. Also, ask yourself whether it will add value to your audience’s experience. You don’t want your audience to feel like you’re selling them a bad deal, as this will only damage your relationship with them.

TikTok creators

How to Make Money on TikTok: Selling Your Own Merch

If you’re struggling to find a third party to collaborate with, or you’re looking to diversify the way you monetize TikTok, consider selling your own merchandise. While some creators go as far as to develop their own product from scratch, merchandising can be as simple as using print-on-demand companies like Printful, Printify, and Lulu Express to create t-shirts with your name on them. The benefit of a print on demand is that you don’t have to splash out on inventory or warehousing costs.

Alternatively, if you have a creative streak and you’re using TikTok to showcase your talents, audience members may be willing to buy one of your creations. This is where resale apps like Poshmark and Depop and online marketplaces like Etsy have become lucrative outlets for many TikTok creators.

On the topic of things you can make yourself, if you're creating educational TikToks, there's enormous potential to sell things like online courses and ebooks. Or any other educational products that may appeal to your audience.

If you’re looking to design and launch a fully-fledged online course and sell it on a marketplace, there are sites like Udemy, Skillshare, and Coursera where you can do that.

To market your course, you could live stream snippets of your course content on TikTok to give viewers a taste of what’s on offer. Not only is this an effective lead magnet, but you’ll likely get some feedback from your audience, too – win-win!

ptintful pod business

How to Make Money on TikTok: TikTok Advertising

Once you have a product, you know your audience will like, consider launching a paid TikTok ad. Advertising on Tiktok isn’t only great for increasing interest in a product; it’s also about expanding your brand by reaching more people and building relationships built on mutually established trust.

In light of that, it’s no wonder that TikTok experienced a 500% increase in advertisers running campaigns in the US last year. Participation in the “hashtag challenges” and the variety of ad formats have proved particularly popular for brands. More recently, TikTok has also experimented with new video lengths to diversify its offerings and expand into eCommerce. Earlier this year, TikTok partnered with Shopify to bring live shopping and product catalogs to the app. Soon users won’t have to leave a stream to make in-app purchases!

TikTok has an ad manager feature where you can set up paid ad campaigns. But, first, to design a campaign, you’ll need to create a TikTok account.

TikTok ads create account

Once you’ve done that, you’re free to compose your ad, starting by defining its objective. Then, TikTok’s ad manager will give you options for optimization. You’ll also need to specify your budget and your ad's format, i.e., video, photo, etc. Next, you can drill down on your audience of choice to ensure your ad’s shown to your target demographic.

TikTok ads manager

If you’re looking to take advantage of TikTok’s paid advertising, here are a few tips:

  • Instead of constantly running the same ad, TikTok recommends updating your ad every seven days to avoid audience fatigue.
  • If you decide on a video, ensure the resolution is 720p or higher.
  • Add an audio track to your video as well. You want to catch people’s attention.
  • Short videos are usually best – one in four top-performing videos lasts between 21 and 34 seconds.
  • Finally, for video’s make sure they’re full screen. Also, vertical videos tend to work best.

TikTok reported that 61% of users feel that paid advertising on TikTok is unique from other top social and video platforms. Namely, because advertising on TikTok is more authentic and fun than other social channels. Additionally, people are more likely to buy from brands that blend advertising with their other content. That way, people don’t feel like they’re being sold to.

How to Make Money on TikTok: Subscriber Donations/Subscriptions

The last monetization method we’ll discuss relies on the relationship you have with your audience. You may have heard of the company Patreon. For the uninitiated, this is a subscription service that enables followers/subscribers to tip their favorite creators or subscribe/pay a certain amount to receive bonus content.

TikTok itself also has a live gifting feature where followers can show their appreciation in real-time by sending virtual gifts, which can be redeemed for payment. There are also tipping platforms like Tippee and Kofi where you can redirect loyal fans who want to show some love.

Alternatively, suppose you have a project in the works that you need support for. In that case, consider crowdfunding companies like Kickstarter or Go Fund Me.

With this monetization method, always be 100% transparent with your audience. Don’t take advantage of their generosity, and ensure you’re always giving the best service in return for their hard-earned cash.

How to Make Money on TikTok

Are You Ready to Start Making Money on TikTok?

In summary, it’s imperative that you understand TikTok as a platform, what makes it unique, and the kind of audience it attracts. Then, with this knowledge at your fingertips, you’re much better positioned to build a business model accordingly.

That said, let’s look at some of the key takeaways from this article:

With any monetization method on TikTok, you want to be careful about overloading your audience with promotional content. TikTok is geared towards personal connection. As such,  you need to adopt a content-first mentality that enables you to form genuine and personalized relationships where you can explore your shared passions. This is key to solidifying your place in the growing creator's economy.

Whether you’re a newbie Tiktoker or one of the many full-time TikTok stars with an established following, a healthy understanding of the creator economy can only benefit you. Monetizing your content should be something that flows organically through the space you carve out for yourself on the platform. Then, once you’ve cultivated a community of supporters, you can explore new ideas and interests.

If you have any remaining doubts, maybe you should take a look yourself and see what all the fuss’s about. Who knows? Perhaps you’ll make some real money along the way. Just be sure to read TikTok's community guidelines first to make sure you comply with the platform's rules and regulations. Good luck, and let us know how you get on in the comments box below!

Rosie Greaves

Rosie Greaves is a professional content strategist who specializes in all things digital marketing, B2B, and lifestyle. In addition to e-commerce platforms, you can find her published on Reader's Digest, G2, and Judicious Inc. Check out her website Blog with Rosie for more information.

Comments 0 Responses

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Rating *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Become an ecommerce expert

Enter your email to get the party started