让社交在Etsy上成功销售

这是Adrienne Dancer的客座文章 击败Bop Boom.

你可能想知道为什么有一个Etsy商店,如果我们已经有自己的 主要的电子商务网站。 原因是Etsy是我们以极具成本效益的方式与世界各地的客户联系的绝佳方式。 Etsy越来越受欢迎,并且是eBay的主要竞争对手 - 我更喜欢Etsy与eBay相比的设计和产品重点。 (我认为eBay就像一个大院子的销售,而Etsy有更多的精品店感觉。)此外,如果您销售固定价格的商品并且对拍卖不感兴趣,Etsy的费用结构和功能比eBay更加商业友好式定价。

但是,拥有Etsy商店是不够的。 您必须通过不同的方式创造性地营销Etsy商店 社交媒体 真正有所作为的销售。

使用Instagram

说实话,我认为Instagram是最有效的社交媒体网站(Pinterest,Twitter和Facebook)。 目前,Etsy没有直接链接到Instagram,但你肯定应该为你的企业设置一个Instagram帐户。

如果使用智能手机或平板电脑,在Instagram上发布只需几秒钟。 使用与您的项目相关的主题标签,您可以与许多Instagram用户联系。 Twitter上的推文也很有用 - 但快速有趣的视觉效果通常比阅读文本更有效,更具吸引力。

在Instagram上使用主题标签时,不要仅限于关于该项目的文字描述性词语。 有创意吸引更多Instagram观众。 一个例子:如果你正在销售一个老式的1960s盘子集,标签上明显的描述性词语是“vintage”,“1960s”,“dishset”,“dish”,颜色,制造商等。此外,你还可以使用其他相关的词,如“疯子”,“晚宴”,以及可能会浮现在脑海中的任何其他图像或形容词。 也许是在观看物品时想到的电影,书籍,演员,歌曲,甚至是城市。 通过将您使用的主题标签关键字加倍,您还可以将其他Instagram用户最终查看您的帖子的机会增加一倍,然后查看您的网站。

除了创造性地使用主题标签发布新的待售商品外,请务必使用Instagram创造性地使用您发布的内容。 不要只是用它来发布新物品的图像出售。 使用它来发布已售出商品的图像,以便Instagram用户可以了解您销售的商品是否受欢迎 - 以帮助创造需求感和稀缺性。 除了发布新项目之外,我总是发布已售出商品的图片,其中包含有关所售商品的主题标签,以及以标签的形式向商品运送到的城市或国家/地区发出的声音。

此外,在度假时使用Instagram发布。 无论您是否决定将您的Etsy商店置于临时休假状态,您都可以使用Instagram为您的粉丝发布“度假”通知,以便他们可以做出相应的计划。 当你在度假时,使用Instagram发布偶尔的度假照片。 我认为,给个人提供更个性化的快照是一种很好的选择 - 它还允许您使用在发布商品时通常无法使用的主题标签。 许多人喜欢美味的食物图片,宁静的日落海滩场景,有趣的活跃照片 - 有很多可能性。 发布一些有趣的度假照片,你会发现自己从新的Instagram粉丝和新的Etsy销售中度假回来。

使用Twitter

Etsy确实提供了将您新列出的项目链接到Twitter的选项,这可能是有效的,您应该偶尔使用它。 使用标签非常重要。 我仍然认为Instgram更有效,因为他们说:“一张图片胜过千言万语”,而Twitter只允许你使用140字母/字符。

使用Pinterest

与Instagram一样,Pinterest的有效性在于简单,快速的视觉效果。 Instagram拥有更多用户,并且所有帖子都在一个简单的供稿中供关注者查看或通过主题标签提取。 出于这些原因,我认为它比Pinterest更有效,但Pinterest仍然可以提供帮助。 Etsy确实提供了到您的Pinterest帐户的直接链接(如果您有一个设置)。 您可以在Pinterest上使用主题标签,但它们不像在Instagram或Twitter上那样有效或利用。

当您设置了Pinterest帐户时,您可以创建板,然后将图像“固定”(发布)到各个板上。 绝对可以设置多个主板。 也许是一个“新物品”板,一个“卖品”板,一个“假日物品”板等。根据你卖的东西,你可以有各种类型的板 - 但是,也:不要限制你的Pinterest板只是你卖的东西。 与创意使用主题标签一样,创意使用主板也可以帮助您吸引其他用户。 随意重新固定别人固定的图像 - 即使它们与您销售的商品没有直接关系。 我的公司总部设在洛杉矶,因此我在我最喜欢的当地餐馆设有董事会。 人们喜欢旅行和食物照片,所以如果我有其他Pinterest用户偶然发现我当地吃的照片,那么他们可能想看看我的其他电路板 - 并希望我的Etsy商店也是如此。

使用Facebook

为您的Etsy业务创建Facebook页面也是一个好主意。 Etsy确实提供了一个直接的项目列表链接到Facebook。 Hashtags在Facebook上也很有用。 使用Facebook推广销售,发布关于度假结束日期的信息,以及您可能在实体商店中进行的任何交叉促销(如果您可以在商店以及您自己的Etsy页面上出售您的商品) - 很多人使用Facebook,所以在那里有存在肯定会有所帮助。 关于付费广告来推广您的Facebook商店页面,我会说不要打扰。 我一直在通过免费和专注的帖子吸引业务而不是花钱在Facebook自己的广告服务上取得更大的成功。 Facebook上已经有很多广告,许多人经常忽略它们,所以花钱买它们可能是浪费。 吸引大量观众的免费,有趣的帖子本身就是有效的。

Etsy功能

除了使用上述社交媒体网站外,Etsy还有自己的功能,可以帮助您吸引买家。

其中一项功能是Google产品详情广告,Etsy免费为其店主提供。 他们没有列出您在Etsy商店中的每一件物品 - 只有少数这里和那里 - 但这仍然意味着你应该让你的第一句话或两件你的物品描述有趣并吸引注意力以吸引随机谷歌搜索你的Etsy项目。

在Etsy,他们确实提供了推广的列表广告,当您在Etsy购物者搜索商品时,您可以将所选择的商品突出显示。 您可以设置每天只需$ 1的预算,当购物者点击您的商品详情时,您需要付费。 在Etsy上推荐的列表看起来比Facebook广告效果更好,所以我建议使用它们以促进销售。

另一个Etsy功能很好用,经常使用:他们非常丰富的商店仪表板功能。 (他们的仪表板是我认为Etsy优于eBay的一个巨大优势。)通过快速浏览,您可以看到有多少观众访问了您的商店和商品列表,他们来自哪里(内部Etsy搜索,Google搜索, Twitter,另一个网站等),还可以看到他们使用哪些关键字来获取您的商品。 您还可以查看地图功能,以查看哪些国家/地区正在查看您的商品。 这些数据 - 尤其是关键字搜索 - 可以帮助您决定列出要销售的内容,以及您如何编写商品详情。

与其他供应商交叉推广

如果您在Etsy上找到其他销售相关产品的卖家,请与他们联系,看看他们是否可能想加入您的Etsy商店促销活动。 例如:如果您销售珠宝,销售包包,围巾,针织服装或帽子等配件的供应商可能是母亲节,假日或其他促销活动的绝佳搭档。 或者,如果您销售有机产品,请与另一家拥有有机商品的供应商进行交叉推广,这些商品会与您销售的商品相称。

当您在Instagram,Facebook,Twitter和Pinterest上宣传活动时,您的销售活动合作伙伴也会大大增加您与潜在客户的联系。

因此,使用上述提示有效地使用您的智能手机或平板电脑,并观察您的销售增长。

快乐卖!

作者简介: Adrienne Dancer是其所有者 击败Bop Boom,这是一家专门从事音乐主题服装,配饰,纪念品和最近的收藏品的商店。 除了在洛杉矶的实体店,他们还有自己的电子商务网站(beatbopboom.com) 和 Etsy页面.

特色图片 Justas Galaburda

Catalin Zorzini

我是一名网页设计博客,在花了几周时间努力寻找出来之后开始了这个项目 最好的电子商务平台 为了我自己。 看看我的电流 顶级10电子商务网站建设者.

Getting Social to Sell Successfully on Etsy

etsy social networking

This is a guest post by Adrienne Dancer of Beat Bop Boom.

You might wonder why have an Etsy shop if we already have our own main e-commerce site. The reason is that Etsy has been a great way for us to reach out to customers all over the world in a very cost-effective way. Etsy is growing in popularity and a major competitor with eBay–and I prefer the design and product focus that Etsy offers compared to eBay. (I see eBay like a big yard sale, whereas Etsy has more of a boutique shop feel.) Plus, Etsy's fee structure and features are much more business-friendly compared to eBay if you are selling fixed-priced items and not interested in auction-style pricing.

Having an Etsy shop is not enough, though. You have to creatively market the Etsy shop via different social media outlets to really make a difference in sales.

Using Instagram

To be honest, I think that Instagram is the most effective social media site compared to the others (Pinterest, Twitter, and Facebook). At the moment, Etsy doesn't link directly to Instagram, but you definitely should have an Instagram account set up for your business.

Posting on Instagram takes just a few seconds if using a smart phone or tablet. Using hashtags that relate to your items, you can reach out to many, many Instagram users. Tweets on Twitter can be useful, too–but quick and interesting visuals are often more effective and instantly attractive than having to read text.

When using hashtags on Instagram, don't just limit yourself to literal descriptive words about the item. Be creative to attract more Instagram viewers. An example: if you are selling a vintage 1960s dish set, obvious descriptive words to hashtag are “vintage,” “1960s,” “dishset,” “dishes,” the color, the maker, etc. In addition, you can also use other related words such as “Mad Men,” “dinnerparty,” and any other images or adjectives that might come to mind. Perhaps a movie, book, actor, song, or even city that comes to mind when viewing the item. By doubling the hashtagged keywords you use, you also double the chances that other Instagram users end up viewing your post and then check out your site.

Besides creative use of hashtags to post about new items for sale, be sure to use Instagram creatively with what you post. Don't just use it to post images of new items for sale. Use it to post images of items that have sold so that Instagram users can get an idea of which items that you have sold are popular–to help create a sense of need, as well as scarcity. In addition to posting new items, I always post images of sold items with hashtags about the items sold, as well as a shout out in the form of a hashtag to the city or country where the item is being shipped to.

Also, use Instagram to post when you are on vacation. Wether or not you decide to put your Etsy shop on a temporary closed vacation status, you can use Instagram to post a “going on vacation” notice for your followers so that they can plan accordingly. And when you are on vacation, use Instagram to post the occasional vacation photo. I think that it is a nice touch to give that more personalized snapshot of you as an individual–and it also allows you to use hashtags that you might not normally be able to use when posting your shop items. Many people enjoy yummy food pictures, serene sunset beach scenes, fun active photos–there are many possibilities. Post some interesting vacation shots and you can find yourself returning from vacation with new Instagram followers–and new Etsy sales.

Using Twitter

Etsy does offer the option to link your newly listed items to Twitter, which can be effective, and you should use it occasionally. Hashtag use is definitely important. I still think that Instgram is much more effective because, as they say: “A picture is worth a thousand words,” whereas Twitter only allows you to use 140 letters/characters.

Using Pinterest

Like Instagram, Pinterest's effectiveness is in the allure of simple, quick visuals. Instagram has more users and all posts are in one simple feed for followers to view–or to pull up by hashtags. For those reasons, I think that it is more effective than Pinterest, but Pinterest can still be helpful. Etsy does offer direct links to your Pinterest account (if you have one set up). You can use hashtags on Pinterest, but they are not as effective or utilized as much as they are on Instagram or Twitter.


When you do have a Pinterest account set up, you create boards and then “pin” (post) your images onto the various boards. Definitely set up more than one board. Maybe a “new items” board, a “sold items” board, a “holiday items” board, etc. Depending on what you sell, you can have various categories for boards–but, also: do not limit your Pinterest boards to just items you sell. As with creative use of hashtags, creative use of boards will also help you to attract other users. Feel free to re-pin images that others have pinned–even if they are not directly related to the items you sell. My business is based in Los Angeles, so I have a board set up with my favorite local restaurants. People love travel and food photos, so if I have other Pinterest users stumble upon my local eats photos, then they might want to check out my other boards–and hopefully my Etsy store, too.

Using Facebook

Creating a Facebook page for your Etsy business is also a good idea. Etsy does offer a direct item listing link to Facebook. Hashtags can be useful on Facebook, as well. Use Facebook to promote sales, post about vacation closure dates, any cross-promotion that you might have with a brick and mortar shop (if you might sell your items in stores as well as on your own Etsy page)–many people use Facebook, so having a presence on there can definitely help. With regards to paid ads to promote your Facebook shop page, that I would say don't bother with. I have always had more success with just attracting business with free and focused posts versus spending money on Facebook's own ad service. There are so many ads already on Facebook that many people often ignore them, so to spend money on them can be a waste. Free, interesting posts that appeal to a big audience are effective on their own.

Etsy Features

In addition to you utilizing the above-mentioned social media sites, Etsy has its own features which will help you to attract buyers.

One of these features is Google Product Listing Ads which Etsy offers its shop owners for free. They do not list every single item that you have in your Etsy shop–just a few here and there–but this still means that you should have the first sentence or two of your item descriptions be interesting and attention-getting in order to attract random Google searchers to your Etsy items.

On Etsy, they do offer promoted listing ads where you can have listed items of your choosing come up prominently when Etsy shoppers are searching for items. You can set up a budget starting at just $1 per day and you are billed when shoppers click on your item listings. Promoted listings on Etsy do seem to work better than Facebook advertising, so I do recommend using them in order to boost sales.

Another Etsy feature to use well and use often: their very informative shop dashboard feature. (Their dashboard is one huge advantage that I think Etsy has over eBay.) With a quick view, you are able to see how many viewers have visited your shop and item listings, where they are coming from (internal Etsy searches, Google searches, Twitter, another website, etc.), and also see which keywords they are using to get to your items. You can also view the map feature to see which countries are viewing your items. These pieces of data–especially keyword searches–can be helpful to you in deciding what to list for sale, as well as how you write your item listings.

Cross-promoting with other vendors

If you find other sellers on Etsy who sell related products, reach out to them and see if they might want to join in a promotion with your Etsy shop. An example: if you sell jewelry, a vendor who sells accessories like bags, scarves, knit wear, or hats might be a great partner for a Mother's Day, holiday, or other sale event. Or if you sell organic items, cross-promote with another vendor who has organic items which would compliment the items that you sell.

When you promote the event on Instagram, Facebook, Twitter, and Pinterest amongst your followers, as do your sales event partners, you have greatly increased your reach to potential customers.

So, use that smart phone or tablet of yours effectively with the tips above and watch your sales increase.

Happy selling!

Author bio: Adrienne Dancer is the owner of Beat Bop Boom, which is a shop specializing in music-themed clothing, accessories, memorabilia, and recent collectibles. In addition to their brick and mortar location in Los Angeles, they also have their own e-commerce site ( and an Etsy page.

Feature image curtsey of Justas Galaburda

Catalin Zorzini

I'm a web design blogger and started this project after spending a few weeks struggling to find out which is the best ecommerce platform for myself. Check out my current top 10 ecommerce site builders.

2 Responses

  1. Great info, thank you for sharing.
    Our Etsy shop was growing, but the last few months- typically our busiest- have been slow, so we’ve been looking for ways to increase our exposure. Will definitely implement what we have read here.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Rating *