多渠道购物的重要性

本月早些时候我们看了一下 十大有趣的趋势 电子商务中的那些人需要考虑2016方法。 在该列表的顶部是多渠道购物的重要性。 在明年需要密切关注的所有趋势中,这可能是最重要的,因为 - 正如我们在帖子中写的那样 - 它能够成就或破坏任何电子商务业务。

在过去几年中,建立电子商务商店变得更容易,更容易作为网络主机提供商(像1和1 例如,提供域名注册和网站构建工具,只需点击几下即可启动和扩展。 但是,一旦网站启动并运行,维持和优化该电子商务网站的挑战就开始了。 事实上,一旦你抓住老虎的尾巴,你所能做的就是坚持下去。 将您的电子商务网站与其他在线零售平台和任何实体店铺整合在一起,是任何电子商务公司从一开始就面临的最大和最重要的挑战之一。

那么多渠道购物究竟是什么?

多渠道购物(有时称为“全渠道购物”)实质上是为客户提供各种平台,以便他们购买您的产品。 传统上,多渠道购物,或 多渠道零售,指通过邮购,目录和电话在线和离线提供产品的企业。 因此,它与那些仅在线运营的业务关系不大。 然而今天,(在2016中更是如此)多渠道零售正成为那些没有目录和没有实体店铺通道,但在与多商户在线平台相同的虚拟世界中运营的人的重要因素。

然而,多渠道购物的基本原则仍然是相同的:通过多渠道优化您的业务,您的目标是通过为您的客户提供更多选择来最大化收入,使他们能够以最方便的方式与您的业务互动。

多渠道网上购物的发展轨迹不是由电子商务企业引导,而是由消费者自己引导。 事实上,在线购物者越来越希望在多商户平台上的一个特定网站上找到他们正在搜索的产品,亚马逊自然也是其中最多产的。 在亚马逊,Etsy或ThemeForest等网站上购买产品的吸引力在于它们提供了舒适的用户体验(因为它们既信任又熟悉),而且还可以购买一篮子来自不同供应商的产品,付一笔钱。

零售商在多渠道购物中面临的一个特殊风险是混淆了客户群中的数据。 在开展多渠道零售业务时,所使用的渠道是集成的,因此,您可以收集360°视图,而不是拆分您的客户档案。

除了集成的后端流程外,至关重要的是,消费者的“前台”体验可以在所有渠道中识别。 保持可靠的体验和品牌一致性将是确保客户忠诚度导致重复销售的重要驱动力。 从设计模板到客户服务,包装,交付和退款政策,您希望尽可能少的冲击来迎接现在通过不同渠道购买产品的回头客。

虽然在亚马逊及其竞争对手上购物的顾客不太可能完全不使用他们的服务,但您仍然希望确保购物者同时与您的公司建立关系并建立关系。 通过购物体验培养品牌意识非常重要; 美观,产品描述,客户服务质量等。当然,使用第三方渠道时存在一定的限制。 例如,在使用Amazon和eBay时,必须输入产品类别和属性方面的某些要求。

整合您的砖和砂浆奥特莱斯

继上述之后,多渠道零售对于那些也在线下运营的企业来说是不可或缺的。 虽然陈列室(客户在商店中检出产品然后返回家中在线购买)变得越来越普遍,但仍有相当数量的消费者采用在线研究产品然后在商店进行最终购买的方法。 无论哪种方式,跷跷板在2016中摆动,重点是消费者继续以数字方式和与商人亲自接触。 必须确保他们的电子商务网站与他们的实体商店相对应,而不是假设每个客户都属于两个独立且不同的群体。

在2013中,在零售商店中使用手机的70%购物者(其中43%)使用手机,62%访问该商店的网站或应用程序(来源: Phunware)。 现在,想象一下潜在客户走进您的商店寻找网站或应用程序声称有库存的商品,但却发现情况并非如此。 在未来,这个人可能既不信任网站也不信任商店。 因此,重要的是使在线和离线渠道与实时更新同时工作。 应该有一个自动库存系统,每个渠道都可以实时访问产品的可用性,以确保这些产品通过众多不同的销售点进行销售时的最新准确性。

最新的电子商务网站还将允许拥有实体店的企业开展实践,例如用平板电脑武装员工,允许他们为商店访客提供现场全面的产品信息。 如果商品缺货,这也将允许员工立即为客户下订单。

在线和实体店之间的多渠道零售的最后一点让我们指出3趋势的2016。 随着信标技术的引入,关闭和在线技术正在变得越来越紧密。 Beacon技术允许公司在商店访客进入(或确实经过)商店时直接向商店访客的手机或平板电脑发送优惠或促销信息。 当然,如果发现已发送的交易或促销在该特定商店中实际上没有运行或可用,那将是令人尴尬的。

从本质上讲,多渠道购物所带来的挑战是在所有平台上提供无缝,舒适和高效的服务,让您的客户可以在何时以及如何方便地购物,并确保多个渠道不会破坏您的品牌标识,但支持它。

特色图片 克里斯亨特

Catalin Zorzini

我是一名网页设计博客,在花了几周时间努力寻找出来之后开始了这个项目 最好的电子商务平台 为了我自己。 看看我的电流 顶级10电子商务网站建设者.

The Importance of Multi-Channel Shopping

Earlier this month we looked at ten interesting trends that those in ecommerce need to consider as 2016 approaches. At the top of that list was the importance of multi-channel shopping. Out of all the trends that require close attention next year, this is likely the most important due to – as we write in the post – its capacity to make or break any ecommerce business.

Over the last few years setting up an ecommerce store has become easier and easier as web host providers (like 1&1 for example) offer domain registration and site building tools that can be initiated and expanded upon in a matter of a few clicks. However once the site is up and running, the challenges of sustaining and optimizing that ecommerce site begin. Indeed, once you have grabbed the tiger’s tail, all you can do is hang on. Integrating your ecommerce site with other online retail platforms and any brick-and-mortar outlets you may have is one of the greatest and most important challenges any ecommerce company will face from the outset.

So what exactly is Multi-Channel Shopping?

Multi-channel shopping (sometimes referred to as ‘omnichannel shopping’) is essentially the practice of offering customers a variety of platforms from which they are able to purchase your products. Traditionally, multi-channel shopping, or multi-channel retail, would refer to businesses that offer their products both online and offline, via mail order, catalogue and telephone. Therefore it had little relevance to those business that were operating solely online. However today, (and even more so in 2016) multi-channel retail is becoming a vital factor for those who have no catalogues and no physical shop aisles, but are operating in the same virtual world as multi-merchant online platforms.

The fundamental principle of multi-channel shopping remains the same however: in optimizing your business across multiple channels you are aiming to maximize revenue by offering your customers greater choice, allowing them to engage with your business in the most convenient method.

The trajectory towards multi-channel online shopping has been led not by ecommerce businesses but by consumers themselves. The fact is that online shoppers increasingly expect to find the products they are searching for on one specific website on a multi-merchant platform as well, Amazon naturally being the most prolific of these. The attraction to buy products on sites such as Amazon, Etsy or ThemeForest is that they offer a comfortable user-experience (as they are both trusted and familiar) and one is also able to buy a basket full of items from different vendors while only having to make one payment.

One particular risk for retailers in multi-channel shopping is muddying the data conglomerated on the customers. It is integral when embarking upon multi-channel retail that the channels utilized are integrated so that instead of splitting your customer profiles you can harvest a 360° view of them.

As well as the back end processes being integrated, it is vital that the ‘front of house’ experience for the consumer is recognizable across all channels. Maintaining a reliable experience and brand consistency will be a big driver in ensuring customer loyalty leading to repeat sales. From design templates through to customer service, packaging, delivery and refund policy, you want as few shocks as possible to greet return customers who are now purchasing products via a different channel for the first time.

Try-Shopify

Although customers who shop on Amazon and its competitors are unlikely to ever wholly depart from using their service, you still want to ensure that the shoppers are simultaneously relating to and building up a relationship with your company. It is important to foster a sense of your brand through the shopping experience; the aesthetic, the product descriptions, the quality of the customer service etc.. Naturally there are certain restrictions when using third party channels. For example, when using Amazon and eBay there are certain requirements in terms of product category and attributes that have to be entered.

Incorporating your Bricks-and-Mortar Outlets

Following on from the aforementioned, multi-channel retail is integral for those business that also operate offline. Although showrooming (whereby a customer checks out a product in store and then returns home to purchase it online) is becoming more and more common, a significant number of consumers still take the approach of researching products online and then making the final purchase in store. Either way the seesaw swings in 2016, the salient point is that consumers are continuing to engage both digitally and in person with merchants. One must ensure that their ecommerce site corresponds with their bricks-and-mortar store, and not make the foolish assumption that the customers of each fall into two separate and distinct groups.

In 2013, of the 70% of shoppers who used a cell phone while in a retail store (and 43% of them did), 62% accessed that store’s website or app (Source: Phunware). Now, imagine a potential customer walking into your store in search of an item that the website or app claims is in stock, only to find that this is not the case. In the future this individual is likely to trust neither website nor store. It is important therefore to make the online and offline channels work simultaneously together with real-time updates. There should be an automated inventory system whereby each channel has real-time access to product availability to ensure up-to-date accuracy as these products are being sold through a multitude of different outlets.

An up-to-date ecommerce site will also allow businesses who have brick-and-mortar stores to embark upon practices such as arming their employees with tablets, allowing them to offer store visitors on-the-spot comprehensive product information. This will also allow staff to instantly put an order in for customers if an item is out of stock.

The final point on multi-channel retail between online and physical stores takes us to point 3 of our 2016 trends post. Off and online technology are enjoying an ever closer union with the introduction of beacon technology. Beacon technology allows companies to send deals or promotions directly to a store visitor’s cell or tablet when they walk into (or indeed past) the store. Naturally, it would be embarrassing if it was to transpire that the sent deal or promotion is not actually running or available in that particular store.

Essentially, the challenge posed by multi-channel shopping is to provide a seamless, comfortable and efficient service across all platforms, allowing your customers to shop when and how it is convenient for them, and ensuring that the multiple channels do not fragment your brand identity, but bolster it.

Feature image curtsey of Kris Hunt

Catalin Zorzini

I'm a web design blogger and started this project after spending a few weeks struggling to find out which is the best ecommerce platform for myself. Check out my current top 10 ecommerce site builders.

3 Responses

  1. Some good points in here, especially around the area of ensuring different elements of the business work seamlessly together. We’re seeing convergence increasingly being the name of the game, and the lack of integrated systems was what held back traditional bricks-and-morter stores from excelling at online retail.
    Regarding the use of Beacons, worth bearing in mind the user adoption of this technology is currently almost zero. Lots of big name retailers and shopping centres trying out the technology but I’m yet to see a case study with a decent ROI. It seems it may take a bit more time for consumers to accept another offer push-mechanism , maybe 2016 will be the year.

    Regarding the image reference credit, would appreciate updating my name in the link, it’s Hunt, without the ‘s’. Cheers!

  2. Hi,
    We are trying to figure out whether to pursue an online store or a brick and mortar store. Sounds like we better have both in the future. What do you think?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Rating *