N26 vs Revolut(2021 年 XNUMX 月):银行之战

哪家银行最适合您的需求?

随着数字化程度的提高,难怪传统银行不再在我们的生活中扮演如此重要的角色,取而代之的是,仅移动银行就在整个展会中如雨后春笋般冒出。 

这些平台不仅使我们能够方便地在家中取钱,而且(通常)它们还提供了一系列省钱的功能。 拥有如此众多的特权,难怪这些银行如此受欢迎!

RevolutN26 有两个这样的数字银行。 两者在网上银行领域都广为人知,因此在本文中,我们将两者进行比较,以找出最好的。

有很多话要讨论,所以让我们开始吧!

N26 vs Revolut:谁是N26?

N26 vs革命

N26 相信银行应与客户一样机动灵活。 根据这种精神,他们提供了完全数字化的银行业务体验,旨在使之尽可能透明和直接。 

N2013成立于26年,目前拥有1,500个国家/地区的80多名员工,并在全球设有五个办事处,拥有超过5万客户!

在进行过程中,请记住,N26在欧洲特别受欢迎。 尽管它们的服务在美国可用,但相比之下它们的局限性要大得多。 因此,以下评论与欧洲用户更相关。 还值得注意的是,在撰写本文时,N26具有 关闭其在英国的服务。 

N26 vs革命: 谁在革命?

Revolut主页

Revolut (仔细阅读 革命评论)提供了一个应用 “为了万物,钱” 帮助您进行日常支出和财务计划。 在2021年初,他们拥有超过12万个人客户和500万商业客户。 

N26始于德国,而Revolut于2015年在英国出生。当时,他们专注于提供汇款和外汇服务。 现在,他们已经开始向客户提供他们需要的功能,以享受更好的财务状况并更好地控制自己的资金。

Revolut也专注于欧洲市场,并且在欧洲市场很受欢迎。 也就是说,他们还将服务范围扩大到了美国。 

与N26不同,它们的大多数功能也可供美国公民使用。 因此,如果这是您的基础,我们可以为您节省一些时间,并一开始就说Revolut可以为您提供更多服务!

N26 vs Revolut:优点和缺点

为了快速简单地进行比较,让我们回顾这些服务的最有利方面以及可以发现它们的缺陷的地方。

N26的优点 👍

  • 免费卡运送
  • 有一张免费卡和一个银行帐户。
  • “空格”可让您更好地组织支出,从而使预算更加容易。
  • 您可以在几分钟内设置授权透支。
  • 有可用的桌面版本(带有暗模式!)
  • N26具有完整的银行牌照

N26的缺点 👎

  • N26在美国提供有限的服务,在已关闭所有帐户的英国不再提供。 
  • 在国外提款需支付1.70%的交易费。
  • 您的存款没有任何利息。
  • 在您当月免费提取现金后,N26会向您收取每次ATM提取2欧元的费用。
  • N26不提供信用卡

Revolut的优点 👍

  • Revolut在全球范围内提供全面的服务,包括代表性良好的美国功能。
  • Revolut附带了初中帐户,因此,如果您有一个带小孩的家庭,则可以利用Revolut的初中功能教他们省钱。
  • 有可用的免费卡和帐户。
  • 您可以在国外免费提款,具体取决于您的帐户提款限额。 达到限制后,每笔国外提款将收取2%的费用。
  • 您可以在应用程序内设置预算,以更好地计划和监督您的资金。
  • 您可以从储蓄中赚取利息。
  • 您可以免费进行国际转移。
  • Revolut现在提供了一个用于银行业务的Web应用程序。

Revolut的缺点 👎

  • 除非选择了高级或金属帐户,否则您必须支付运输费才能收到卡。
  • 尽管Revolut在2018年获得了欧盟银行业牌照,但它们无法提供金融安全服务,例如FSCS存款担保。 他们也无法处理现金或支票。 
  • Revolut不提供电话协助。

N26 vs Revolut:核心特征比较

当我们谈论移动银行时,您会期望这种服务具有一些核心功能。 当然, N26和Revolut 两者都允许您转账和收款,保证现金安全,提取资金以及发行可在实体店中使用的卡。 您可以充值并用它来支付非接触式店内费用。

在基础知识的基础上,本部分回顾了这些银行必须提供的其他功能……

N26的功能

N26功能

在深入探讨之前,我们想强调一下N26最近引入了一个Web应用程序。 在这里,您可以在更大的屏幕上访问与他们的移动应用程序相同的功能。 方便吧?

管理和追踪您的资金

N26 通过启动子帐户(N26称为“空格”),可以更有效地管理资金。 这些作为储蓄帐户的奇迹。 在这里,您可以从N26经常账户内部设置,显示和跟踪储蓄目标。 只需点击几下,您就可以概览所有交易,并查看距您的储蓄目标有多近。

您甚至可以创建规则,以快速设置中央帐户和子帐户之间的定期银行转帐。 规则建立后,您的帐户将独立处理。

最重要的是,N26允许您创建“共享空间”,在这里您可以更快地共享金钱并与您的朋友和家人一起储蓄,以实现相同的财务目标。  

预算

N26预算

N26将即时推送通知发送到您的智能手机,因此您可以随时了解财务状况。 在所有交易,移动支付,ATM取款,直接借记和转账之后,您会收到通知。

您还可以设置每日消费限额,并使用N26的应用程序方便地锁定/解锁卡。 

您还会发现使用N26的统计信息可以更轻松地控制支出。 通过一个易于阅读的仪表板,您的支出将自动分为几类,因此您可以准确地看到钱的去向。 您甚至可以使用标签创建自己的支出类别,以进一步个性化这些统计信息。 

演员

N26 提供旅行保险和其他额外福利,包括在国外免费提款,选择您的卡颜色以及独家合作伙伴折扣。 

使用N26的多个帐户(“您”,“企业”或“金属”银行帐户),您将获得旅行健康保险,包括紧急医疗保险和航班或行李延误补偿。 您甚至可以取消旅行或减少旅行费用!

您还可以获得汽车租赁和手机保险的出行保障。 安联提供所有N26保险。

Revolut的核心功能

N26 vs革命

Revolut 提供了令人印象深刻的功能列表。 如此之多,以至于要花很长时间才能详细研究所有这些内容。 取而代之的是,我们将研究功能类别并触摸每个功能类别中最流行的功能。

请注意,与N26一样,Revolut现在也提供了一个Web应用程序,您可以在桌面上使用该应用程序(自2020年XNUMX月开始)。

帐户功能

Revolut的帐户功能旨在简化管理和查看您的资金的过程。 本着这种精神,Revolut提供:

  • 关联的银行帐户。 通过将外部银行帐户链接到Revolut,您可以在一处监督所有资金。 这使您能够从一个集中式中心跟踪所有支出。 使用预授权链接帐户在帐户之间进行汇款也很容易。
  • 预算和分析。 您可以设置支出预算并使用分析工具来帮助您更明智地管理资金。 您的支出是实时分类的,因此您知道支出最多的地方。 Revolut还提供有用的预测,以帮助您计划财务前景。 
  • 初级帐户。 您可以为孩子设置银行帐户,以帮助他们养成健康的金钱习惯。 随附卡片和家长可以控制的儿童友好型应用。 初级卡不能用于大多数有年龄限制的商人,并且您始终可以冻结或解冻孩子的卡以限制他们的消费。  
  • 口袋。 这些可以帮助您整理支出。 您可以将直接付款,订阅和预定的付款分类到不同的“口袋”中。 到期时会自动从这些口袋中支付账单。 您还可以预留资金来支付这些定期转帐,因此您可以免费使用本金银行帐户余额,而无需超支。 

财富特色

革命投资

Revolut提供了多种功能,可通过金融投资来帮助您增加财富。 最值得注意的是,Revolut可帮助您投资:

  • 股票。 您只需每月支付$ 1,就可以免佣金投资股票。 使用Revolut,所有人都可以买卖股票。 请注意,您可以进行的交易数量取决于您选择的卡。 
  • 加密。 从1美元开始投资加密货币,即刻兑换比特币,以太币,恒星币和30多种其他货币。
  • 商品。 在应用内再次交易商品(例如黄金,白银和贵金属),起价为1美元。

为了帮助实现您的储蓄目标,您还可以将钱放在金库中。 从那里,您可以立即提取资金,同时享受0.65%的英镑资金每日利率。 您可以为不同的货币(欧元(EUR),美元,英镑等)创建单独的个人保险库,并保留商品和加密货币。 您甚至可以打开团体保险库与朋友和家人一起保存。

付款功能

Revolut 使您只需轻按即可发送和请求资金,而没有任何隐藏费用。 实际上,您可以向30多个国家/地区的其他Revolut用户进行免费转帐-并在您的付款中添加gif来使他们发笑。 双赢! 汇款到本地银行帐户也是免费的,国际汇款以便宜的汇率进行。 

如果您使用Revolut设置直接存款,则还可以在两天前获得薪水。

您甚至可以与朋友分摊账单和费用。 举例来说,假设您正在与其他人一起旅行,则可以设置团体账单在一个地方分担大量费用。

演员

这些是Revolut提供的一些其他功能:

  • 奖励。 通过个性化折扣和现金返还节省资金。 这些是根据您的消费习惯选择的。 使用Revolut卡时,现金返还会直接发送到您的帐户。
  • 捐款 轻按捐赠即可引起您的关注。

以下特权在欧洲已经可用,但很快就会向美国帐户持有人提供: 

  • 海外保险。 您可以选择Revolut的按日付费旅行医疗保险。 使用地理定位技术,您只需在实际出国的日子里付费即可。 医疗和牙科保险的费用从每天1英镑起。
  • 设备保险。 获得每周£1英镑的手机保险,全球范围内避免意外损坏。

N26 vs Revolut:他们的牌和成本比较

对于任何一家银行,您都可以从通常带有自己特权的不同卡中选择。 N26和Revolut也是如此。 因此,让我们看一下他们提供的帐户...

N26费用

N26收费

N26标准

标准 N26 该计划是一个免费帐户。 它具有所有基本的支出,保存和跟踪功能。 随附的万事达卡也是免费的,并已在全球范围内接受。 您可以使用N26应用设置每日消费限额,锁定或解锁卡,以及在任何地方重置密码。 

所有计划还提供24/7 chatbot支持。

N26智能

使用此高级N26帐户,您可以选择卡的颜色(海洋,沙子,大黄,浅绿色或板岩)。 当您在国外消费时,您每月还将获得五次免费的ATM取款,零手续费。 您甚至可以启用Apple Pay等移动支付​​,以在您的实体卡到达邮局之前开始支出!

智能帐户还可以解锁对10个“空间”的访问权限,以更好地管理您的资金。 另外,您可以要求一张额外的卡,以获得更大的灵活性,并使用舍入法节省每次购买的费用。 您还将受益于高级合作伙伴优惠,这些优惠是根据您的消费习惯选择的。 

N26 Smart帐户的每月费用为4.90欧元。 从此计划开始,您还可以通过直接热线获得电话支持。

N26你

该借记卡每月收费9.90欧元,最适合管理您的日常和与旅行有关的财务。 除了上述所有功能之外,您还可以不受限制地免费提取任何外币,医疗旅行保险,旅行保险,航班保险和行李保险。 您还将获得流动性保险和冬季运动保险。

N26金属

最后,N26最高级的卡是金属卡,每月16.90欧元。 在这里,您将获得上一个帐户中的所有内容,再加上一张18克的金属卡,并且您的免费提款限额从五提高到八(在欧元区之内)。 您的保险包括外出汽车租赁保险和电话保险(针对损失和盗窃)。 

除了高级合作伙伴提供的服务之外,您的特权还包括为您策划的独特体验。 更不用说,您的客户支持已改进为专用的N26金属线,以提供优先支持。 

革命冲锋

革命收费

为了便于比较,Revolut有与N26非常相似的计划。 金属卡尤其如此。

标准

像N26一样,Revolut的标准卡也是免费的。 您可以按照银行间汇率在150多种货币中消费。 每月最多支付200欧元的ATM取款费用。 但是,您需要为交付Revolut卡付费(卡交付费用约为5欧元)。 

您还可以立即访问两种加密货币,以及一个孩子的Revolut Junior帐户。 但是,您不会在储蓄中累积每日利息。

点击查看此 Revolut 该帐户的每月可用费用为2.99欧元。 在这里,您每天可以节省0.3%的利息,并在卡上享受可自定义的设计。 您还可以获得优先的24/7客户支持,全球快递和海外医疗保险。 在Plus计划中,您还将获得最多两个孩子的初级帐户。

此外,Revolut还提供每年最高1000欧元的购买保护,包括机票和退货保护。

超级会员

Premium卡的价格为每月7.99欧元,可将您的免费ATM取款额提高到每月400欧元。 您还可以从一系列独特的卡设计中进行选择,并进行无限制的跨境国际支付,以及一次SWIFT转账。

Premium帐户还带有无限的一次性虚拟卡,可以更安全地进行在线购物。 您还可以享受打折的设备保险(定期保险可享受20%的折扣)。 另外,您的每日储蓄利息增加到0.65%。

对于旅行者,高级帐户还附带:

  • 海外医疗保险
  • 行李和航班延误保险
  • 如果您的航班延误了一个多小时,则可以使用SmartDelay免费使用休息室。 

从此计划开始,您的卡将免费送货给您。 周一至周五,您还可以使用无限制的免费货币兑换。

金属

使用Metal卡,您每月需要支付€13.99。 作为交换,您可以获得每月不超过800欧元的无附加费ATM取款。 您还将获得独家的Revolut金属卡和信用卡付款现金返还。 在欧洲以外,现金返还为1%。 金属卡还带有五个初级帐户。

N26 vs Revolut:客户支持

金钱是一个重要的话题。 有时,您需要与您的银行联系以澄清关注的问题或提出问题。 这就是高品质客户服务的地方。 那么,让我们看看N26和Revolut在该部门的比较情况……

N26

N26 可以通过其网站或应用程序内的实时聊天与24/7进行联系。 如果您选择高级帐户,则还将解锁电话支持。 或者,使用Metal卡,您可以通过专用热线获得优先支持,从而提高了工作水平。 当然,N26的网站还提供了一个在线帮助中心,您可以在其中阅读大量的自助材料。 

Revolut

Revolut 还提供24/7全天候客户服务。 但是,他们仅提供实时聊天和电子邮件支持-他们没有电话线。 他们的网站还设有在线帮助中心,您可以在其中找到有关常见问题的指南和答案。 

N26 vs革命:我们的最终裁决

如果您厌倦了老式银行业务, N26Revolut 两家移动银行将带您进入财务管理的新时代。 就应用内功能而言,它们竞争良好。 从预算工具到轻松冻结卡片,您会发现各种各样的漂亮功能。 这两个平台都可以让您了解支出情况和支出地点,帮助您实现储蓄目标,并提供更多的资金可视性。

选择哪种服务更适合您时,它取决于您的个人需求。 N26和Revolut的费用略有不同,根据您选择使用其服务的方式,您可能最终会多花一笔钱。 

例如,在国际转账和提款方面,Revolut提供的费用略高。 也许这使它成为您更好的旅行卡。 

此外,您的选择可能会受到位置的限制,因为N26在英国不提供银行服务,而在美国仅提供有限的功能。 也就是说,N26是一家拥有完整牌照的银行,可以提供更多保护和服务。

因此,您已经拥有了-选择就是您的! 您在手机银行方面的经验是什么? 您是否尝试过其中一种或其他挑战者银行(例如Monzo), Transferwise或Moneybeam? 请在下面的评论中分享您的经验,并让我们知道您的想法。

Rosie Greaves

Rosie Greaves是一位专业的内容策略师,专门研究数字营销,B2B和生活方式方面的所有内容。 除了电子商务平台之外,您还可以在《读者文摘》,G2和Judicious Inc.上找到她的出版物。 罗西的博客 for more information.

N26 vs Revolut (July 2021): The Battle of The Banks

Which Bank Best Suits Your Needs?

With increasing digitization, it's no wonder traditional banks no longer play such an essential role in our lives, and in their place, mobile-only banks are popping up all over the show. 

Not only do these platforms conveniently enable us to bank from the comfort of our homes, but (usually) they also offer a range of money-savvy features. With so many perks to be had, it’s no wonder these banks have enjoyed such an influx in popularity!

Revolut and N26 are two such digital banks. Both have made big names for themselves in the world of online banking, so in this article, we're comparing the two to see which is best.

There's lots to talk about, so let’s dive in!

N26 vs Revolut: Who's N26?

N26 vs Revolut

N26 believes banks should be as mobile and flexible as their clients. In light of that ethos, they offer a fully digital banking experience designed to be as transparent and straightforward as possible. 

Founded in 2013, N26 now has a team of over 1,500 people across 80 nationalities and boasts five offices worldwide and over 5 million customers!

As we proceed, bear in mind that N26 is especially popular in Europe. While their services are available in the United States, they're much more limited in comparison. As such, the following review is more relevant to European users. It’s also worth noting that at the time of writing, N26 has shut down its services in the UK. 

N26 vs Revolut: Who's Revolut?

Revolut homepage

Revolut (read our full Revolut review) provides one app ‘for all things money,' to help you with everyday spending and financial planning. At the start of 2021, they had over 12 million personal customers and another 500k business customers. 

Whereas N26 started in Germany, Revolut was born in the UK in 2015. At the time, they focused on offering money transfer and foreign exchange services. Now, they've branched out to provide customers with the features they need to enjoy better financial health and more control over their money.

Revolut too focuses on the European market and has found much popularity there. That said, they have also expanded their services to include the US. 

Unlike N26, most of their features are also available for US citizens. So if that's where you're based, we can save you some time and say from the get-go that Revolut has more to offer you!

N26 vs Revolut: Their Pros and Cons

For a quick and simple comparison, let’s review the most advantageous aspects of these services and where their flaws can be found.

N26’s Pros 👍

  • Free card shipments
  • There is a free card and a bank account available.
  • ‘Spaces' allow you to organize your spending better, which makes budgeting your money easier.
  • You can set up an authorized overdraft within a couple of minutes.
  • There's a desktop version available (which comes with a dark mode!)
  • N26 has a full banking license

N26’s Cons 👎

  • N26 provides limited services in the US and is no longer available in the UK, where all accounts were closed. 
  • Withdrawals abroad are charged with a 1.70% transaction fee.
  • You don't earn any interest on your savings.
  • After your free cash withdrawals for the month, N26 charges you €2 for each ATM withdrawal.
  • N26 doesn't offer credit cards

Revolut’s Pros 👍

  • Revolut provides a comprehensive service all around the world, including well-represented US features.
  • Revolut comes with junior accounts included, so if you have a family with young children, you can tap into Revolut’s junior features to teach them to save money.
  • There is a free card and account available.
  • You can make free withdrawals abroad, depending on your account withdrawal limit. After the limit is hit, each foreign withdrawal is charged at 2%.
  • You can set budgets within the app to better plan and oversee your money.
  • You can earn interest on your savings.
  • You can make free international transfers.
  • Revolut now offers a web app for banking.

Revolut’s Cons 👎

  • You have to pay shipping fees to receive your card unless you opt for the Premium or Metal account.
  • Although Revolut was granted an EU banking license in 2018, they cannot offer financial security services such as the FSCS deposit guarantee. They also can’t handle cash or cheques. 
  • Revolut doesn't provide phone assistance.

N26 vs Revolut: Their Core Features Compared

When we talk about mobile banking, you would expect a few core features from such a service. Of course, N26 and Revolut both allow you to transfer and receive money, keep your cash secure, withdraw funds, and issue cards that can be used in physical stores. You can top up your card and use it to pay contactless in-store.

On top of the basics, this section of the review looks at the other features these banks have to offer…

N26’s Features

N26 features

Before we delve into the nitty-gritty, we want to highlight that N26 has recently introduced a web-app. Here you can access the same features as their mobile app but on a bigger screen. Handy, right?

Managing and Tracking Your Money

N26 lets you manage your money more efficiently by launching sub-accounts (which N26 calls ‘Spaces'). These work wonders as savings accounts. Here, you can set, display, and track your savings targets from inside your N26 current account. Within a few taps, you can get an overview of all your transactions and see how close you are to your saving goals.

You can even create rules to quickly set up recurring bank transfers between your central and sub-accounts. Once a rule's set up, your account takes care of it independently.

On top of that, N26 permits you to create ‘Shared Spaces,' where you can share money more quickly and save with your friends and family towards the same financial goals.  

Budgeting

N26 budgeting

N26 sends instant push notifications to your smartphone, so you're kept fully up to date on the state of your finances. You’ll receive notifications after all transactions, mobile payments, ATM withdrawals, direct debits, and transfers.

You can also set a daily spending limit and lock/unlock your card from the convenience of N26's app. 

You'll also find it easier to stay on top of expenses with N26's statistics. From one easy-to-read dashboard, your spending is automatically broken down into categories so you can see exactly where your money's going. You can even create your own spending categories using tags to personalize these stats further. 

Extras

N26 offers travel insurance and additional perks, including free ATM withdrawals abroad, your choice of color for your card, and exclusive partner discounts. 

With several of N26's accounts (the You, Business, or Metal bank accounts), you’re covered for travel health insurance, including emergency medical insurance and compensation for flight or baggage delays. You’re even covered for trip cancellation or curtailment!

You can also get mobility coverage for vehicle rentals and mobile phone insurance. Allianz provides all N26 insurance.

Revolut’s Core Features

N26 vs Revolut

Revolut offers an impressive list of features. So much so that it would take a long time to go into all of them in detail. Instead, we’ll look at the feature categories and touch on some of the most popular functions in each.

Please note, like N26, Revolut now also offers a web app that you can use from your desktop (since December 2020).

Account Features

Revolut’s account features aim to make it easy to manage and view your money. In that spirit, Revolut offers:

  • Linked bank accounts. You can oversee all your money from one place by linking external bank accounts to Revolut. This empowers you to track all your spending from one centralized hub. It's also easy to send money between accounts using the preauthorized link account.
  • Budgets and analytics. You can set spending budgets and use the analytics tool to help you manage your money smarter. Your spendings are categorized in real-time, so you know where you’re spending the most. Revolut also provides useful predictions to help you plan your financial future. 
  • Junior accounts. You can set up bank accounts for your kids to help them build healthy money habits. This comes with a card and a child-friendly app that you, the parent, can control. Junior cards can’t be used with most age-restricted merchants, and you can always freeze or unfreeze your kid’s card to limit their spending.  
  • Pockets. These help you organize your spending. You can sort your direct debits, subscriptions, and scheduled payments into different ‘pockets.’ Bills are paid automatically from these pockets when they're due. You can also set money aside to cover these recurring transfers, so your principal bank account balance is free for you to use without overspending. 

Wealth Features

Revolut investing

Revolut offers several features to help grow your wealth via financial investments. Most notably, Revolut helps you invest in:

  • Stocks. You can invest in stocks commission-free within your monthly allowance with as little as $1. With Revolut, buying and selling stocks is accessible for all. Please note, the number of trades you can place depends on the card you've opted for. 
  • Crypto. Invest in cryptocurrencies starting from $1—exchange bitcoin, ether, stellar, and 30+ other currencies instantly.
  • Commodities. Exchange commodities like gold, silver, and precious metals in-app, again, starting from $1.

To help reach your saving goals, you can also put money aside in vaults. From there, you can withdraw money instantly while enjoying a 0.65% daily interest ratio for your GBP funds. You can create separate personal vaults for different currencies (euros (EUR), USD, GBP, etc.) and keep commodities and cryptocurrencies. You can even open group vaults to save with friends and family.

Payment Features

Revolut enables you to send and request money with just a tap and no hidden fees. In fact, you can make free transfers to other Revolut users in over 30 countries – and add a gif to your payments to make them laugh. Win-win! Sending money to local bank accounts is also free, and international money transfers come at cheap exchange rates. 

If you set up direct deposits with Revolut, you can also get your paycheck up to two days earlier.

You can even split bills and costs with friends. Say, for example, you’re taking a trip with others, you can set up a group bill to share considerable expenses in one place.

Extras

These are some of the additional features Revolut offers:

  • Rewards. Save money with personalized discounts and cashback. These are selected based on your spending habits. Cashback is sent right to your account when you use the Revolut card.
  • Donations. Donate with a tap to causes you care about.

The following perks are already available in Europe but are soon coming to US account holders: 

  • Overseas insurance. You can opt into Revolut’s pay-per-day travel medical insurances. It only charges you for the days you're actually abroad, using geolocation technology. Medical and dental coverage starts from as little as £1 a day.
  • Device insurance. Get mobile phone insurance from £1 a week with global coverage against accidental damage.

N26 vs Revolut: Their Cards and Costs Compared

With any bank, you can choose from different cards that often come with their own perks. This is true for N26 and Revolut as well. So, let’s take a look at what accounts they offer…

N26 Charges

N26 charges

N26 Standard

The Standard N26 program is a free account. This comes with all the basic spending, saving, and tracking features. The MasterCard that comes with it is also free and accepted worldwide. You can set daily spending limits, lock or unlock your card, and reset your pin wherever you are, using the N26 app. 

24/7 chatbot support is also available on all plans.

N26 Smart

With this premium N26 account, you can choose your card's color (ocean, sand, rhubarb, aqua, or slate). You also get five free ATM withdrawals every month and zero foreign transaction fees when you spend abroad. You can even enable mobile payments like Apple Pay to start spending before your physical card arrives in the post!

The Smart account also unlocks access to 10 ‘Spaces' to better manage your money. Plus, you can request an extra card for more flexibility and use round-ups to save on every purchase. You'll also benefit from premium partner offers, which are selected based on your spending habits. 

The N26 Smart account is available at €4.90 a month. From this plan onwards, you’ll also be able to access phone support via a direct hotline.

N26 You

At €9.90 a month, this debit card is best for managing your daily and travel-related finances. On top of all the features mentioned above, you also get unlimited free withdrawals in any foreign currency, medical travel insurance, trip insurance, flight insurance, and luggage coverage. You also get mobility insurance and winter sports insurance.

N26 Metal

And finally, N26’s most premium card is the Metal card, for €16.90 a month. Here you'll get everything in the previous account, plus an 18-gram metal card and your free withdrawal limit is raised from five to eight (within the Eurozone). Your insurances include Car rental insurance away from home and phone insurance (against damages and theft). 

Your perks also include unique experiences curated for you, on top of the premium partner offers. Not to mention, your customer support improves to a dedicated N26 metal line for priority support. 

Revolut Charges

Revolut charges

For easy comparison, Revolut has very similar plans to N26. This is especially true of the Metal card.

Standard

Like N26, Revolut’s standard card is also free. You can spend in over 150 currencies at the interbank exchange rate. There's no cost for ATM withdrawals up to €200 per month. However, you will be charged for the delivery of your Revolut card (card delivery is around €5). 

You also gain instant access to two cryptocurrencies, and a Revolut Junior account for one kid. However, you don’t accumulate daily interest on your savings.

Plus

This Revolut account is available for €2.99 a month. Here, you can earn 0.3% daily interest on your savings and enjoy a customizable design on your card. You also gain access to priority 24/7 customer support, global express delivery, and overseas medical insurance. On the Plus plan, you also get junior accounts for up to two kids.

Additionally, Revolut provides purchase protection up to €1000 a year, including ticket and returns protection.

Premium

The Premium card is available for €7.99 a month and elevates your no-fee ATM withdrawals to €400 a month. You can also choose from a range of exclusive card designs and make unlimited cross border international payments, plus one SWIFT transfer.

The Premium account also comes with unlimited disposable virtual cards for safer online shopping. You'll also benefit from discounted device insurance (20% off regular coverage). Plus, your daily savings interest is increased to 0.65%.

For travelers, the Premium account also comes with:

  • Overseas medical insurance
  • Delayed baggage and flight insurance
  • Free lounge access with SmartDelay if your flight is delayed by more than one hour. 

From this plan onwards, your card is shipped to you with free express shipping. You’ll also gain access to unlimited no-fee currency exchange Monday to Friday.

Metal

With the Metal card, you’re charged €13.99 a month. In exchange, you gain surcharge-free ATM withdrawals for up to €800 per month. You’ll also receive the exclusive Revolut metal card and cashback on card payments. Outside of Europe, cashback is 1%. The metal card also comes with five junior accounts.

N26 vs Revolut: Customer Support

Money is a significant talking point. Sometimes you need to get in touch with your bank to clarify issues of concern or ask questions. This is where high-quality customer service comes into its own. So, let's see how N26 and Revolut compare in this department…

N26

N26 can be contacted 24/7 via live chat on their website or in-app. If you opt for a Premium account, you'll also unlock phone support. Or, with the Metal card, you'll amp things up a notch with access to priority support via a dedicated hotline. Of course, N26’s website also provides an online help center where you can peruse through plenty of self-help materials. 

Revolut

Revolut also offers 24/7 customer service. However, they only provide live chat and email support – they don't have a phone line. Their website also features an online help center where you’ll find guides and answers to frequently asked questions. 

N26 vs Revolut: Our Final Verdict

If you’re tired of old-school banking, N26 and Revolut are two mobile banks that will take you into the new age of financial management. In terms of in-app features, they compete well. You’ll find a wide variety of nifty features, from budgeting tools to easy card-freezes. Both platforms will keep you posted on what you're spending and where, help you meet your savings goals, and provide greater visibility over your money.

When choosing which service is better for you, it comes down to your personal needs. N26 and Revolut’s fees are slightly different, and depending on how you choose to use their service, you might end up paying more with one over the other. 

For example, Revolut offers slightly better fees when it comes to international transfers and withdrawals. Perhaps this makes it a better travel card for you. 

Also, your options might be limited by location, as N26 doesn’t offer its banking service in the UK and only introduced limited features in the US. That said, N26 is a fully licensed bank and can provide a few more protections and services.

So, there you have it – the choice is yours! What’s your experience with mobile banking? Have you tried either one of these or other challenger banks like Monzo, Transferwise, or Moneybeam? Please share your experiences in the comments below, and let us know what you think.

Rosie Greaves

Rosie Greaves is a professional content strategist who specializes in all things digital marketing, B2B, and lifestyle. In addition to e-commerce platforms, you can find her published on Reader's Digest, G2, and Judicious Inc. Check out her website Blog with Rosie for more information.