مقابلات التجارة الإلكترونية الأخلاقية: QWSTION حول إنشاء النسيج المستدام الخاص بها

هذه هي الثانية في سلسلة من المقابلات مع رواد الأعمال الأخلاقيين عبر الإنترنت: نأمل أن يكونوا مفيدين وملهمين لأي شخص يحاول أن يجد طريقه في العمل. دعنا نعرف أفكارك في التعليقات بالأسفل!

المقابلة الثانية هي Hannes Schoenegger ، المؤسس المشارك لـ QWSTION. بالإضافة إلى مجموعاتها من الحقائب المصممة بشكل مستدام وأخلاقي ، طورت العلامة التجارية النسيج المستدام الخاص بها: الموز.

ما الذي ألهمك لبدء QWSTION؟

لقد أسست QWSTION مع أربعة من أصدقائي في عام 2008. كنا نعمل جميعًا في مجالات مختلفة ، لكننا جميعًا قمنا بالكثير من السفر ، وكنا نبحث عن حقيبة تلبي احتياجاتنا: شيء عملي ، ولكن يمكن أن يكون أيضًا تستخدم لاجتماعات العمل. في عام 2008 ، إذا كان لديك حقيبة عملية ، فستبدو وكأنك قادم من جبل عندما دخلت إلى اجتماع عمل! لذلك قررنا صنع حقيبة ظهر خاصة بنا.

كيف بدأت إنشاء الأعمال؟

لم نقم بإعدادها كما لو قمت بإنشاء الشركات في الوقت الحاضر: مع خطط الأعمال ، والملاعب ، والمستثمرين ، وكل ذلك. لقد بدأنا العمل للتو لأننا اعتقدنا أن منتجنا كان رائعًا وكان هناك طلب عليه. بدأنا بإعطاء المنتج لأصدقائنا: لم يعيده أحد ، والذي أخذناه كعلامة جيدة!

وتبعه كل شيء آخر ، لم تكن هناك استراتيجية حقيقية وراء ذلك. ولكن كان من الصحيح دائمًا التركيز على المنتج: فقد كانت وظيفته واستدامته هي الأشياء التي تهمنا.

هل كانت العلامة التجارية مستدامة منذ البداية؟

كلنا أردنا أن نكون مستدامين قدر الإمكان ، ولكن عندما بدأت للتو علامة تجارية وكنت تتعامل فقط مع أحجام صغيرة ، فهناك كمية محدودة يمكنك القيام بها.

لذا في البداية ، كان علينا العمل مع ما يمكننا تحمله ، وما يمكن أن نحصل عليه في السوق: لكننا اتخذنا قرارًا بالعمل مع الألياف الطبيعية النباتية من البداية. لذلك كانت طبعاتنا الأولى مصنوعة من القطن التقليدي ، وبعد بضع سنوات فقط كانت لدينا القدرة على تطوير موادنا الخاصة: القطن العضوي عالي الكثافة والقنب. ثم ، منذ أربع سنوات ، اخترعنا الموز.

كانت نقطة البداية هي فكرة سلسلة التوريد الدائري: كيف يمكن تحويل النبات إلى منتج ، والعودة إلى مصنع مرة أخرى؟

كانت سلسلة التوريد لدينا في آسيا. لذا كان السؤال ، ما هو الألياف الآسيوية المستدامة؟ اكتشفنا أن هناك تاريخًا في استخدام ألياف الموز للمنسوجات في آسيا: لكن المشكلة هي أنه - لأنه لم تكن هناك طريقة لمعالجتها في غزل ناعم - فقد تم استخدامها فقط للأشياء القوية حقًا ، مثل الحبال لصناعة الشحن. ولكن مع شركائنا ، وجدنا طريقة لمعالجتها.

Bananatex هو نسيج "مفتوح المصدر": ماذا يعني ذلك؟

هذا يعني أننا سعداء لمشاركتها مع أي علامة تجارية لديها اهتمام جاد بالاستدامة: حتى لو كانوا منافسين. وإذا أراد شخص ما تطوير شيء جديد من خلاله معنا ، فنحن منفتحون على ذلك. نعتقد حقا أن التعاون أفضل من المنافسة.

ردود الفعل كانت ساحقة من جميع أنواع الصناعات. تريد ماركات الأزياء إنشاء نسخ أخف منها للملابس ؛ تريد ماركات الأثاث تقديم نسخة أثقل ؛ ماركات السيارات تريد استكشاف إمكانيات استخدام Bananatex في السيارات!

كيف نمت الشركة؟

نحن لا نعلن على الإطلاق ، لم نفعل ذلك أبدًا. بدلاً من ذلك ، نركز على إنشاء مشاريع مهمة - مثل Bananatex - و التحدث مع وسائل الإعلام عن ذلك، وهو PR أفترض.

ونحن نحاول بناء مجتمع من الأشخاص الواعين المهتمين بمنتجات جيدة الصنع. لدينا بالفعل الصفحة إينستاجرام التي ننظمها ، لكننا نتحدث بشكل أساسي مع الأشخاص مباشرة من خلال نشرتنا الإخبارية ، دائرة QWSTION ، حيث نغطي الأشياء التي تهمنا: من الابتكارات في الاستدامة إلى الموسيقى التي يستمع إليها مصممونا ، لأنه ربما يكون مصدر إلهام للناس أيضًا.

ما هي أكبر التحديات التي واجهتها QWSTION؟

الأشياء التي تعمل اقتصاديًا غالبًا ما تكون عكس الأشياء التي تعمل إيكولوجيًا: ينتج عنها نظام يعاقب الشركات التي تعمل بشكل مستدام ، ويكافئ الشركات التي لا تفعل ذلك حقًا. يحتاج النظام إلى التغيير.

يجب بيع الأشياء بسعرها الحقيقي ، لأنها في الوقت الحالي ليست كذلك. على سبيل المثال ، إذا ذهبت لشراء حقيبة ظهر من النايلون مقابل 40 يورو ، فقد يبدو ذلك صفقة مقارنة بحقيبة ظهر مصنوعة من القطن العضوي. لكن هذا ليس حقًا ، لأنه في مرحلة ما سنضطر إلى حفره من مكب النفايات أو صيده خارج المحيط ، وسوف يدفع المجتمع بأكمله. لذا يحتاج السياسيون إلى سن سياسات مثل فرض ضرائب على الكربون، لنظهر للمستهلكين ما هو رخيص حقًا: وما هو غير ذلك حقًا.

ما النصيحة التي قد تقدمها لشخص بدأ للتو في التجارة الإلكترونية؟

أعتقد أنه من المهم حقًا التأكد من أن المنتج يقدم مساهمة ذات مغزى للمجتمع. إذا كنت على صواب ، فإن كل شيء آخر سيتبع.

Ethical Ecommerce Interviews: QWSTION on Creating Their Own Sustainable Fabric

This is the second in a series of interviews with ethical online entrepreneurs: we hope they’ll be helpful and inspirational for anyone trying to find their way in business. Let us know your thoughts in the comments below!

Our second interviewee is Hannes Schoenegger, co-founder of QWSTION. As well as their collections of sustainably and ethically crafted bags, the brand have developed their very own sustainable fabric: Bananatex.

What inspired you to start QWSTION?

I founded QWSTION with four of my friends back in 2008. We were all working in different fields, but we all did a lot of travelling, and we were looking for a bag that would meet our needs: something functional, but which could also be used for business meetings. Way back in 2008, if you had a functional bag it’d look like you’d just come from a mountain when you entered a business meeting! So we decided to make our own backpack.

How did you go about setting up the business?

We didn’t set it up like you set businesses up nowadays: with business plans, pitches, investors, all of that. We just started the business because we thought our product was great and there was a demand for it. We started by giving the product to our friends: no one gave it back, which we took as a good sign!

And everything else followed, there was no real strategy behind it. But it always felt right to focus on the product: its functionality and its sustainability were the things that mattered to us.

Was the brand sustainable from the start?

All of us wanted to be as sustainable as possible, but when you’ve just started a brand and you’re only dealing with small volumes, there’s a limited amount you can do.

So at first, we had to work with what we could afford, and what we could get in the market: but we made the decision to work with natural, plant-based fibres from the outset. So our first editions were made of conventional cotton, and just a few years later we had the capacity to develop our own materials: high-density organic cotton and hemp. Then, four years ago, we invented Bananatex.

The starting point was this idea of a circular supply chain: how could a plant be turned into a product, and back into a plant again?

Our supply chain was in Asia. So the question was, what is a sustainable Asian fibre? We found out that there’s a history of using the banana fibre for textiles in Asia: but the problem was that—because there wasn’t a way of processing it into a fine yarn—it had only been used for really sturdy things, like ropes for the shipping industry. But together with our partners, we found a way to process it.

Bananatex is an “open source” fabric: what does that mean?

It means that we’re happy to share it with any brand that has a serious interest in sustainability: even if they’re a competitor. And if someone wants to develop something new out of it with us, we’re open to that. We really think that cooperation is better than competition.

The feedback has been overwhelming from all sorts of industries. Fashion brands want to make lighter versions of it for clothing; furniture brands want to make a heavier version; automobile brands want to explore the possibilities of using Bananatex in cars!

How have you grown the company?

We don’t advertise at all, we never have. Instead, we focus on creating projects that matter—like Bananatex—and talk to the media about that, which is PR I suppose.

And we’re trying to build a community of conscious people who are interested in well-made products. We do have an Instagram page that we curate, but we mainly talk to people directly through our newsletter, The QWSTION Circle, where we cover the things that matter to us: from innovations in sustainability to the music our designers are listening to, because maybe that’s inspiring for people too.

What are the biggest challenges QWSTION has faced?

The things that work economically are very often the opposite of the things that work ecologically: that results in a system which punishes companies that work sustainably, and rewards those that really don’t. The system needs to change.

Things should be sold for their real price, because at the moment they really aren’t. For example, if you go and buy a nylon backpack for €40, that might seem a bargain compared to an organic cotton backpack. But it’s not really, because at some point we’re going to have to dig it out of a landfill or fish it out of the ocean, and the whole of society will pay. So politicians need to enact policies like carbon taxing, to show consumers what’s really cheap: and what really isn’t.

What advice would you give to someone who’s just starting out in ecommerce?

I think it’s really important to make sure the product makes a meaningful contribution to society. If you get that right, everything else will follow.