道德的电子商务访谈:关于创建自己的可持续结构的QWSTION

这是对有道德的在线企业家的一系列采访中的第二篇:我们希望他们对任何试图找到自己的生意之路的人有所帮助和鼓舞。 在下面的评论中让我们知道您的想法!

我们的第二位受访者是Hannes Schoenegger, QWSTION。 除了收集可持续发展和符合道德规范的手袋之外,该品牌还开发了自己的可持续发展面料: 香蕉.

是什么促使您启动QWSTION的?

我于2008年与四个朋友一起创立了QWSTION。我们都在不同的领域工作,但是我们都旅行很多,我们正在寻找一款可以满足我们需求的包:既实用,又可以用于商务会议。 早在2008年,如果您有一个功能包,当您参加商务会议时,就好像刚从山上来了一样! 因此,我们决定制作自己的背包。

您是如何开展业务的?

我们并没有像您今天建立企业那样建立它:包括商业计划,推销,投资者等等。 我们刚开始业务是因为我们认为我们的产品很棒并且有需求。 我们从将产品提供给我们的朋友开始:没有人把产品退还给我们,这是一个好兆头!

随之而来的所有其他事情,背后都没有真正的战略。 但是,始终专注于产品始终是正确的:其功能和可持续性对我们而言至关重要。

品牌从一开始就可持续发展吗?

我们所有人都想尽可能地保持可持续发展,但是当您刚刚创立一个品牌并且仅处理少量商品时,您可以做的事情有限。

因此,起初,我们必须与我们能负担得起的产品以及市场上可以得到的产品一起工作:但是我们从一开始就决定使用天然的植物纤维。 因此,我们的第一版是用常规棉制成的,仅仅几年后,我们就有能力开发自己的材料:高密度有机棉和大麻。 然后,四年前,我们发明了 香蕉.

起点是建立循环供应链的想法:如何将工厂变成产品,然后又重新变成工厂?

我们的供应链在亚洲。 所以问题是,什么是可持续的亚洲纤维? 我们发现,在亚洲有将香蕉纤维用于纺织品的历史:但是问题是,因为没有一种将其加工成细纱的方法,所以它仅用于真正坚固的东西,例如绳索用于航运业。 但是,我们与合作伙伴一起找到了一种处理方法。

Bananatex是一种“开源”结构:这是什么意思?

这意味着我们很高兴与任何对可持续发展有浓厚兴趣的品牌分享它,即使它们是竞争对手。 如果有人想与我们一起开发新的东西,我们愿意接受。 我们确实认为合作胜于竞争。

来自各行各业的反馈已不胜枚举。 时装品牌希望为服装制作更轻的版本。 家具品牌希望制作更重的版本; 汽车品牌希望探索在汽车中使用Bananatex的可能性!

您是如何发展公司的?

我们根本不做广告,我们永远做不到。 相反,我们专注于创建重要的项目(例如Bananatex)和 与媒体谈谈,这是我想的公关。

我们正在努力建立一个对精良产品感兴趣的有意识的人的社区。 我们确实有一个 Instagram的网页 我们策划,但我们主要是通过我们的时事通讯QWSTION Circle直接与人们交谈,我们在其中涵盖了对我们重要的事情:从可持续发展方面的创新到设计师所聆听的音乐,因为也许这也对人们有所启发。

QWSTION面临的最大挑战是什么?

在经济上运作的事物通常与在生态上运作的事物相反:这导致了一种制度,该制度惩罚可持续发展的公司,并奖励那些实际上没有运作的公司。 系统需要更改。

事物应该以其实际价格出售,因为目前它们还不是。 例如,如果您花40欧元购买尼龙背包,与有机棉背包相比,这似乎很划算。 但这不是真的,因为在某个时候,我们将不得不将其从垃圾填埋场挖出来或从海洋中捞出来,整个社会都会为此付出代价。 所以政客需要制定类似的政策 碳税,向消费者展示什么真正便宜:什么不是真正便宜。

您会给刚开始从事电子商务的人有什么建议?

我认为确保产品为社会做出有意义的贡献非常重要。 如果您做对了,其他所有内容都会随之而来。

Ethical Ecommerce Interviews: QWSTION on Creating Their Own Sustainable Fabric

This is the second in a series of interviews with ethical online entrepreneurs: we hope they’ll be helpful and inspirational for anyone trying to find their way in business. Let us know your thoughts in the comments below!

Our second interviewee is Hannes Schoenegger, co-founder of QWSTION. As well as their collections of sustainably and ethically crafted bags, the brand have developed their very own sustainable fabric: Bananatex.

What inspired you to start QWSTION?

I founded QWSTION with four of my friends back in 2008. We were all working in different fields, but we all did a lot of travelling, and we were looking for a bag that would meet our needs: something functional, but which could also be used for business meetings. Way back in 2008, if you had a functional bag it’d look like you’d just come from a mountain when you entered a business meeting! So we decided to make our own backpack.

How did you go about setting up the business?

We didn’t set it up like you set businesses up nowadays: with business plans, pitches, investors, all of that. We just started the business because we thought our product was great and there was a demand for it. We started by giving the product to our friends: no one gave it back, which we took as a good sign!

And everything else followed, there was no real strategy behind it. But it always felt right to focus on the product: its functionality and its sustainability were the things that mattered to us.

Was the brand sustainable from the start?

All of us wanted to be as sustainable as possible, but when you’ve just started a brand and you’re only dealing with small volumes, there’s a limited amount you can do.

So at first, we had to work with what we could afford, and what we could get in the market: but we made the decision to work with natural, plant-based fibres from the outset. So our first editions were made of conventional cotton, and just a few years later we had the capacity to develop our own materials: high-density organic cotton and hemp. Then, four years ago, we invented Bananatex.

The starting point was this idea of a circular supply chain: how could a plant be turned into a product, and back into a plant again?

Our supply chain was in Asia. So the question was, what is a sustainable Asian fibre? We found out that there’s a history of using the banana fibre for textiles in Asia: but the problem was that—because there wasn’t a way of processing it into a fine yarn—it had only been used for really sturdy things, like ropes for the shipping industry. But together with our partners, we found a way to process it.

Bananatex is an “open source” fabric: what does that mean?

It means that we’re happy to share it with any brand that has a serious interest in sustainability: even if they’re a competitor. And if someone wants to develop something new out of it with us, we’re open to that. We really think that cooperation is better than competition.

The feedback has been overwhelming from all sorts of industries. Fashion brands want to make lighter versions of it for clothing; furniture brands want to make a heavier version; automobile brands want to explore the possibilities of using Bananatex in cars!

How have you grown the company?

We don’t advertise at all, we never have. Instead, we focus on creating projects that matter—like Bananatex—and talk to the media about that, which is PR I suppose.

And we’re trying to build a community of conscious people who are interested in well-made products. We do have an Instagram page that we curate, but we mainly talk to people directly through our newsletter, The QWSTION Circle, where we cover the things that matter to us: from innovations in sustainability to the music our designers are listening to, because maybe that’s inspiring for people too.

What are the biggest challenges QWSTION has faced?

The things that work economically are very often the opposite of the things that work ecologically: that results in a system which punishes companies that work sustainably, and rewards those that really don’t. The system needs to change.

Things should be sold for their real price, because at the moment they really aren’t. For example, if you go and buy a nylon backpack for €40, that might seem a bargain compared to an organic cotton backpack. But it’s not really, because at some point we’re going to have to dig it out of a landfill or fish it out of the ocean, and the whole of society will pay. So politicians need to enact policies like carbon taxing, to show consumers what’s really cheap: and what really isn’t.

What advice would you give to someone who’s just starting out in ecommerce?

I think it’s really important to make sure the product makes a meaningful contribution to society. If you get that right, everything else will follow.