道德电子商务访谈:零废物俱乐部开展零废物业务

这是对有道德的在线企业家进行的一系列采访中的第一篇:我们希望他们对任何试图找到自己的生意之路的人有所帮助和鼓舞。 在下面的评论中让我们知道您的想法!

我们的第一位受访者是Pawan Saunya, 零废物俱乐部:为零废物生活创造可持续(和负担得起)的生活必需品。

是什么促使您创立零浪费俱乐部?

这是2009年的纪录片 愚蠢的时代:它显示了人类消费对环境的影响,以及如果我们不尝试更改它,整个系统将在三十年后崩溃。 因此,我推迟了在大学里设立零废物俱乐部的工作,我真的很感激到目前为止它已经取得了成功。

您如何着眼于“零浪费”的理念来开展业务?

我实际上并不认为100%的“零浪费”应该是目标:作为一家企业,甚至只是人类,您总是会对世界产生某种影响。 我认为应尽可能减少影响。

但是第一步是考虑可以与您合作使用的最可持续的材料来生产产品:竹子是一种非常环保的选择,因为它生长速度非常快,并且不需要任何农药。

然后,您可以选择可持续供应商:寻找像这样的认证非常重要 BSCISEDEX。 在网上寻找供应商比亲自赶出去更快,更容易,更便宜,更好。可以使用一些站点,例如 Alibaba印度市场,但即使您只是Google“竹子供应商”,也会出现数百个选项。

您支付给中国工匠的工资是地区最低工资的两倍。 这很难吗?

从官僚主义的角度来看,这非常简单:我们只是在寻找能够为员工提供高薪的供应商。 那里有好人:您只需要做一些研究。

从业务的角度来看,这变得更加困难:我想说这会使公司多花5%的费用,有时我们确实不得不牺牲交货时间。 那里有供应商可以在XNUMX天之内下订单,但这意味着他们会烧掉他们的工人,或者雇用更多的工人而减少他们的工资。

您如何发展业务?

我们做的第一件事是在伦敦的瑜伽与素食节上获得50英镑的展台。 我花了一个月的时间为其准备产品,我认为我们赚了126英镑。 这显然不是一笔财富,但它使我们意识到人们确实接受了我们的想法。

如今,我们专注于批发。 这很简单:仅在Google商店中存储“零废物批发商”,然后我们就会弹出窗口! 我们还有一个内部销售人员,可以积极地接触商店。

您面临的最大挑战是什么?

我们曾经出售食品,直到意识到我们对“零浪费食品”的概念撒谎了。 客户看不到这么多影响:食物必须从我们的仓库运到包装仓库,运输仓库再到房子。 因此,我们决定停止出售它。 确实很难:我们损失了大量收入和一些忠实的客户,但这是正确的做法。

您在斯里兰卡的一个佛教国家长大。 它是否影响了您的业务方式?

我实际上每天冥想两个小时。 我认为进行精神练习以控制自己真的很重要。 尤其是当您开始创业时,您必须保持谦虚并保持专注:也许您必须与父母住在一起几年以降低成本,或者也许您必须拿低薪水。 如果没有自我控制,您可能会继续追逐那些看似闪亮但没有真正价值的事物。

告诉我们您使用的技术。

我们一直在使用 Squarespace,之所以如此出色是因为它内置了分析功能SEO,几乎是您创业时所需的一切。 但是我们正在建立批发网站 Shopify,因为它具有更多的商务功能。

我们还使用:

您会给刚开始从事电子商务的人有什么建议?

首先,考虑一下为什么要这样做:您要解决的问题吗? 如果是这样,实际上可能比开始创业有更好的解决方法!

在一开始时,不要太着重于在线销售:在贸易展览会和活动上找到您的客户真的很容易,与他们交谈可以帮助您弄清楚他们想要什么。 例如,如果您在纯素食产品市场,则只需搜索“纯素食展览会”,然后查看附近是否有活动:然后预定摊位,然后看一下进展情况。 您从那里遇到的人那里得到的反馈将帮助您决定下一步应该采取的步骤。

您认为未来会是什么样:电子商务和零浪费俱乐部?

从长远来看,COVID肯定会增加在线购物,而像亚马逊这样的大型零售商当然会从中受益最大。 我还认为VR内的电子商务将是巨大的:我已经尝试了几次,而且令人恐惧的是您如何被吸收。 二十年后,这将是一个陌生的世界。

对于我们来说,我们的目标是种植100,000万棵树。 我们经历 伊甸园重新造林,并将植树的成本纳入我们出售的每件商品中。 这使我们变得更加昂贵:但是我们很高兴能受到打击。

Ethical Ecommerce Interviews: Zero Waste Club on Running a Zero Waste Business

This is the first in a series of interviews with ethical online entrepreneurs: we hope they’ll be helpful and inspirational for anyone trying to find their way in business. Let us know your thoughts in the comments below!

Our first interviewee is Pawan Saunya, co-founder of Zero Waste Club: creating sustainable (and affordable) essentials for zero waste living.

What inspired you to start Zero Waste Club?

It was a 2009 documentary called The Age of Stupid: it showed how much human consumption impacts the environment, and how the whole system could collapse in thirty years’ time if we don’t try and change it. So I deferred my place at university to set up Zero Waste Club, and I’m really grateful that it’s worked out so far.

How did you go about setting up the business with a “zero waste” philosophy in mind?

I don’t actually think 100% “zero waste” should be the goal: as a business, even as just a human being, you’re always going to have some kind of impact on the world. I think reducing your impact as much as possible should be the goal.

But the first step is to think of the most sustainable materials you can work with to create your products: bamboo is a really eco-friendly option because it grows so fast and doesn’t require any pesticides.

Then, you shortlist sustainable suppliers: it’s really important to look for certifications like the BSCI and Sedex. It’s faster, easier, cheaper and better to find suppliers online rather than flying out in person: there’s a few sites you can use, like Alibaba and IndiaMART, but even if you just google “bamboo supplier” hundreds of options will appear.

You pay your Chinese artisans double the regional minimum wage. Has this been difficult?

From a bureaucracy point of view, it’s been pretty simple: we just look for suppliers that pay their employees well. There are good people out there: you just have to do some research.

From a business point of view it’s been harder: I’d say it costs the company about 5% extra, and sometimes we do have to sacrifice lead time. There are suppliers out there who can turn orders around in fifteen days, but this means they burn their workers out, or hire more workers and pay them less.

How have you grown the business?

The first thing we did was get a stand for £50 at the Yoga & Vegan Festival in London. I worked for like a month to prepare the products for it, and I think we made £126. It obviously wasn’t a fortune, but it made us realise that people were really receptive to our idea.

Nowadays we’re focusing on wholesaling. It’s pretty simple: stores just google “zero waste wholesalers,” and we pop up! We also have an internal salesperson who actively reaches out to stores.

What are the biggest challenges you’ve faced?

We used to sell food, until we realised we were lying to ourselves about the concept of “zero waste food.” There are so many impacts the customer doesn't see: the food had to travel from our warehouse, to a packing warehouse, to a shipping warehouse, to their house. So we decided to stop selling it. It was really hard: we lost a significant amount of revenue, and some loyal customers, but it was the right thing to do.

You grew up in Sri Lanka, which is a predominantly Buddhist country. Has it affected your approach to business?

I do actually meditate for two hours a day. I think it’s really important to have a spiritual practice to gain control of yourself. Especially if you’re starting a business, you have to remain humble and keep focused: maybe you have to live with your parents for a few years to keep costs low, or maybe you have to take a low salary. Without self control, you might keep running after those things that look shiny, but don’t have real value.

Tell us about the tech you use.

We’ve been using Squarespace, which has been phenomenal because it has inbuilt analytics, SEO, pretty much everything you need when starting a business. But we’re building our wholesale site on Shopify, because it has more commerce functionality.

We also use:

  • Squarespace’s email marketing: we’ve found it so much easier than Mailchimp
  • Xero accounting, which integrates really well with your site
  • Monday.com: an organisational tool which lets you see the status of products that are coming in, and assign tasks
  • WeChat is essential if you’re working with Chinese suppliers!

What advice would you give to someone who’s just starting out in ecommerce?

First, think about why you’re doing it: is there a problem you’re trying to solve? If so, there might actually be a better way to tackle it than starting a business!

And don’t be so focused on selling online at the start: it’s really easy to find your customers at trade shows and events, and talking to them will help you figure out what they want. For example, if you’re in the vegan product market, just search for “vegan trade shows” and see if there’s one happening near you: then book a stall and see how it goes. The feedback you get from the people you meet there will help you decide what steps you should take next.

What do you think the future will look like: for ecommerce, and for Zero Waste Club?

COVID will definitely increase online shopping in the long run, and the big retailers, like Amazon, will of course benefit the most. I also think ecommerce within VR is going to be massive: I’ve tried it a few times, and it’s scary how absorbed you can get. It’s going to be a strange world in twenty years.

As for us, our goal is to plant 100,000 trees. We go through Eden Reforestation, and incorporate the cost of planting a tree into each item we sell. It makes us more expensive: but we’re happy to take that hit.