道德的电子商务访谈:Mayamiko,从慈善机构转变为企业

我们与两家慈善机构的创始人Paola Masperi进行了交谈 Mayamiko信托 和道德的女装标签 Mayamiko。 该品牌背后的慈善机构对马拉维和非洲其他地区的处境不利的人进行了裁缝等创新和可转让技能的培训,然后通过商业和金融教育研讨会以及小额信贷支持他们使用这些技能。

是什么促使您创立Mayamiko?

我最初于2004年在马拉维工作,参与了一个通过技术支持初等教育的项目。 我建立了许多友谊和专业伙伴关系,随着时间的流逝,我真正了解了这个国家以及女性在该国所面临的问题。

您是否看到许多可能的商业或慈善创立者在非洲开展项目而没有对该国的了解?

这无时无刻不在发生,而不仅仅是在非洲! 人们的意思很好,真的想提供帮助,但是根据您通过阅读或研究获得的知识在世界的另一端开发一个概念根本行不通。

这些国家的当地人比您仅通过阅读所学到的知识更多:社会背景,财务状况,细微差别。 如果您想在发展中国家开展项目,则必须意识到自己 服务 给那里的人们,而您只是想带出您所能承受的,无论是工具,机会还是技术。 您需要一种倾听的心态,在我们做得很好的领域中,这就是对我们有用的方法:聆听当地女性告诉我们的需求。

例如,女性告诉我们的一件事是,裁缝和缝制由于具有灵活性而对她们如此有吸引力。 一些年轻女性很高兴在周一至周五参加工作坊,但其他许多女性则担负着照顾自己的责任,这意味着每天去工作场所都不适合她们的生活。 我们意识到他们真正想要的不仅仅是一份工作:这是一项技能,以及以一种对他们有用的方式来开展业务的工具。

因此,我们要根据环境调整我们的方法,而不仅仅是说:“这就是我们的工作方式,如果您想与我们合作,这就是您需要做的。”

您为什么将Mayamiko从一家慈善机构转变为一家企业?

我很清楚,Mayamiko的培训工作必须纯粹是慈善事业,但是我知道,要为慈善事业提供资金,我们还需要成为一家能够自我维持的企业。 我已经看到太多伟大的项目,这些项目严重依赖外部资金,并且只要资金持续就可以持续。 然后社区几乎比以前更糟了,因为他们在该项目和基础架构上投入了大量资金。

您必须摆脱困境:如果我有一天因为某种原因而消失,我是否创造了可以在没有我的情况下继续进行的工作? 这就是我认为业务可以成为有益力量的地方。

企业可以采取哪些最有影响力的道德规范?

您无法做任何事情,尤其是在刚起步时,尤其是在时尚等行业中。 您只看挑战的规模,却不知道从哪里开始:人员,材料,流程,业务模型。 很大

我认为您需要将其视为一个系统。 这就是我的处理方式:我已经列出了业务的所有影响以及解决该问题所需的努力,并问自己:我现在能解决什么? 以后我要解决什么? 对我来说最重要的是什么? 您先确定事情的优先级,然后就可以开始研究它们了。

告诉我们您从一开始如何发展Mayamiko,以及现在如何寻找并与客户互动。

首先,我们是其他标签的生产车间。 那是一次非常宝贵的经验:它教会了我什么是可能的,什么是困难的,哪些是行之有效的,等等。 最后,很明显,对我们来说,成为自己的品牌会更明智,在这里我们可以控制创意元素和生产。

因此,非常胆小,在2013年底,我们测试了一个非常基本,免费, Shopify 站点,以查看物流是否有效以及人们是否对我们足够信任,可以向我们购买。 我们只是在卖一些非常基本的东西:配件,手拿包,笔记本电脑套等等。 那证明了这个概念,并开始告诉我们我们的客户可能是谁:对带有故事的产品感兴趣的人。 再次,非常怯tim的是,一年后,我们推出了首个胶囊系列。 从那以后,我们一直在发展并推出一个系列。

对我们来说,建立社区是最重要的事情。 我们试图缓慢发展,并与社区保持真正联系:这是关于数量过多的质量。 但是,在一个我们所有人都有多少追随者的判断世界中,我常常想知道:我做对了吗? 这样够好吗?

您如何建立社区?

主要通过社交媒体和新闻通讯。 但是,这些年来,我们也进行了一些弹出式窗口,一年三到四次,它们是与客户面对面互动的绝佳机会:不仅可以看到他们对产品的反应,而且还有它们的实际外观。 您可以通过站点数据获得它们的图片,但是在现实生活中看到它们则完全不同。

在这些活动中,赚钱或销售绝对不是真正的事情;它是在营造社区精神。 在线上,您失去了这种人脉关系。

Mayamiko面临的最大挑战是什么?

对于企业家而言,正确的关键事情之一就是专注。 您拥有一个干净的板岩,并且几乎可以填满所有东西:企业可以进入许多不同的方向,这在当时看来都是正确的。

具有企业家的心态意味着要看到这些机会,但是当您看到太多机会时,这可能会变得棘手。 通常,当我追求这些领先优势时,我会发现自己失去了注意力并分散了精力,而如果我继续关注奖金,我可能会更快或更理想地实现目标。

您必须每天练习一次。 当收件箱中弹出某些内容,并且您认为这听起来不错时,请问问自己:这与我的愿景保持一致吗? 这可以从其他业务领域吸收能量吗? 我的客户对此有何看法?

告诉我们您使用的技术。

我们使用 Shopify:这并不完美,但确实可以做到! 我们有几个他们的应用程序,该模型对我们非常有用,因为我们可以逐步找到解决客户痛点的解决方案,而不用投资定制的基础架构。

但是,尽管这是最简单的技术,但对我们来说却是最大的技术是WhatsApp。 对于大多数人来说,这是一个非常低的障碍,因为大多数人已经在手机上使用了它。 我不记得上一次与马拉维团队交换电子邮件的情况,但是我们每天都在谈论WhatApp。

您会给刚开始从事电子商务的人有什么建议?

直接面向消费者。 如果没有大笔资金流向转售商和批发商等中介机构,您就可以负担得起种植商和制造商更好的价格,同时仍然为客户提供一个包容的价格点。

您认为电子商务的未来会是什么样?

许多人已经说过这一点,但是COVID只是加速了多年来一直在发生的趋势,尤其是电子商务的增长。 因此,我认为将您的品牌与其他在线产品区分开来是很重要的,因为人们在网上没有您产品的实际体验。

这就是品牌价值和讲故事的地方。 人们购买产品是因为他们喜欢他们的感受:制造产品的人是否受到了好评? 所用的材料对地球是否友善? 您需要确保您对消息的了解非常明确。

然后,您需要找到和培养那些分享您的价值观的人,而不是追逐不同的趋势导向,通过客户获取策略,因为这些人将与您同在。 尽管它们可能很有趣,但我们不希望有很多床头柜:我们需要长期的合作关系!

Ethical Ecommerce Interviews: Mayamiko on Transforming From a Charity Into a Business

We spoke to Paola Masperi, founder of both charity Mayamiko Trust and ethical womenswear label Mayamiko. The charity behind the brand trains disadvantaged people in Malawi and other parts of Africa in creative and transferable skills like tailoring, and then supports them to use those skills through business and finance education workshops and micro-financing.

What inspired you to start Mayamiko?

I first went to work in Malawi in 2004, on a project supporting primary education with technology. I made lots of friendships and professional partnerships, and, over time, I really got to understand the country and the problems women were facing there.

Have you seen many would-be business or charity founders starting projects in Africa without that understanding of the country?

That happens all the time, and not just in Africa! People mean very well and really want to help, but developing a concept on the other side of the world based on knowledge you’ve acquired through reading or researching simply doesn’t work.

The people on the ground in these countries know more than you could ever learn through reading alone: the social context, the financial situation, the nuances. If you want to start a project in a developing country, you have to realise that you’re of service to the people there, and that you’re just bringing what you can, whether that’s tools or opportunities or techniques. You need a listening mindset, and in the areas that we’ve done really well in, that’s what’s worked for us: listening to what local women were telling us that they needed.

For example, one of the things the women told us was that tailoring and sewing was so appealing to them because of the flexibility that it offered. Some of the younger women were happy to come to a workshop Monday to Friday, but many of the other women had caring responsibilities, which meant that going to a place of work every day didn’t fit in with their life. We realised what they really wanted wasn’t just a job: it was a skill, and the tools to make a business out of it in a way that worked for them.

So it’s on us to adapt our methods to the environment rather than just going in and saying: “this is how we work, and if you want to work with us then this is what you need to do.”

Why did you transform Mayamiko from a charity into a business?

It was very clear in my mind that the training aspect of Mayamiko had to be purely charitable, but I knew that to fund the charity we also needed to be a self-sustaining business. I’ve seen too many great projects that were heavily dependent on external funding, and which lasted as long as the funding lasted. And then the community was almost in a worse position than before, because they’d invested so much in this project and infrastructure.

You have to take yourself out of the equation: if I disappear one day, for whatever reason, have I created something that can carry on without me? That’s where I think business can be a force for good.

What are the most impactful ethical practices a business can put in place?

You can’t do everything, especially when you’re just starting out, and especially in an industry like fashion. You look at the sheer size of the challenge and have no idea where to start: people, materials, processes, business models. It’s massive.

I think you need to look at it as a system. That’s how I’ve approached it: I’ve laid out all the impacts of the business and the efforts needed to address it and asked myself: what can I address now? What will I address later? What means the most to me? You prioritise things, and then you can start chipping away at them.

Tell us about how you grew Mayamiko at the very start, versus how you find and engage with your customers now.

To begin with, we were a production workshop for other labels. That was a really valuable experience: it taught me about what was possible, what was difficult, what worked well, and so on. In the end, it was clear that it would be more sensible for us to become our own brand, where we could be in control of the creative element as well as production.

So, very, very timidly, at the end of 2013, we tested a very basic, free, Shopify site to see whether the logistics worked and whether people trusted us enough to buy from us. We were just selling very basic things: accessories, clutch bags, laptop covers, that kind of stuff. That proved the concept, and started to tell us who our customers could be: the kind of people who are interested in products with stories. Off the back of that, again very timidly, we launched our first capsule collection a year later. We’ve been growing and launching a collection every year since.

Building a community has been the most significant thing for us. We’ve tried to grow slowly and really stay in touch with our community: it’s about quality of over sheer quantity. But in a world where we’re all judged by how many followers we have, I often wonder: am I doing it right? Is this good enough?

How have you gone about fostering a community?

Mostly through social media and newsletters. But we’ve also done a few pop-ups over the years, three or four a year, and they’re a fabulous opportunity to interact with your customers face-to-face: not only to see how they react to the products, but also what they actually look like. You get a picture of them through the site data, but it’s quite a different thing to see them in real life.

It’s never really about the money or sales made at these events: it’s about creating a spirit of community. Online, you lose that human connection.

What are the biggest challenges Mayamiko has faced?

For an entrepreneur, one of the key things to get right is your focus. You have a clean slate, and you could fill it with almost anything: there are so many different directions the business can go in, which all seem right at the time.

Having an entrepreneurial mindset means seeing these opportunities, but it can get tricky when you see too many. As a rule, I found myself losing focus and dispersing energy when I pursued these leads, whereas if I’d stayed with my eyes on the prize I could have got to my objective faster, or in a better way.

You have to practise this every day. When something pops up in your inbox and you think it sounds like a good idea, ask yourself: how does this align with my vision? What other area of the business could this take energy from? What would my customers think about this?

Tell us about the tech you use.

We use Shopify: it’s not perfect, but it does the job! We have several of their apps, and that model is great for us because we can gradually find solutions to our customer pain points instead of investing in a custom-made infrastructure.

But the technology that’s made the biggest difference for us, although it’s the simplest of them all, is WhatsApp. It’s a very low barrier for people, as most people have it on their phone already. I can’t remember the last time I exchanged an email with my team in Malawi, but we talk on WhatApp every day.

What advice would you give to someone who’s just starting out in ecommerce?

Go direct to consumer. Without a chunk of money going to intermediaries like resellers and wholesalers, you can afford to pay your growers and makers better prices, while still having an inclusive price point for your customers.

What do you think the future will look like for ecommerce?

This has been said by many already, but COVID has simply accelerated trends that have been happening for years, particularly the growth of ecommerce. And so I think differentiating your brand from others online, where people don’t have a physical experience of your product, is going to be really important.

This is where brand values and storytelling come into play. People buy products because they like how they make them feel: so were the people who made it treated well? Were the materials used kind to the earth? You need to make sure you’re really clear with your messaging.

And then you need to find and nurture these people who share your values, rather than chasing different trend-led, passing customer acquisition strategies, because those are the ones who are going to stay with you. We don’t want lots of one night stands, although they might be fun: we want long-term relationships!